DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
This Office Action is in response to amendments and arguments received on April 13, 2026. Claim(s)s 1-2 and 13-14 have/has been amended. Claims 1-24 remain pending. This communication is the second Office Action on the Merits.
Key to Interpreting this Office Action
For readability, all claim language has been bolded. Citations from prior art are provided at the end of each limitation in parenthesis. Any further explanations that were deemed necessary the by Examiner are provided at the end of each claim limitation. The Applicant is encouraged to contact the Examiner directly if there are any questions or concerns regarding the current Office Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 1-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
In regards to claim(s) 1 and 13, Applicant has amended to include:
obtaining, by a receiver, an ambient temperature of a vehicle and battery output power, the battery output power being actual power output of the vehicle battery;
This step is understood to be representative of Fig. 2, step S11. Applicant published disclosure [0055] and Fig. 2, step S11 describes battery output power as obtained from a Battery Management System (BMS). However, there is no Applicant support for a real-time power determination from the battery in Applicant disclosure during step S11. Determining actual power output of the vehicle battery requires an electrical current flow measurement, which is not disclosed in any way. This is therefore considered new matter. Corrective action or clarification is required.
At best, Applicant disclosure supports the BMS obtaining a SOC value of the battery as well as an ambient temperature, and calculating/determining/estimating a possible battery output power capability using SOC value of the battery and ambient temperature. Without an electrical current flow measurement, this is the only possibility. This conclusion is further supported, below.
Further in regards to claims 1 and 13, Applicant has amended to include:
upon concluding that the battery heating setting is on, controlling, by the controller, heating of the vehicle battery so that the battery output power is between a first reference power and a second reference power that is larger than the first reference power, wherein the battery output power increases as a battery temperature increases.
Applicant appears to be claiming the results of the battery heating, i.e., as the battery temperature increases, the battery output increases. While it is indeed a well-known phenomenon of battery technology that battery output power capability increases with increased temperature, (hence the understanding above) actual real-time power output is not determined by battery temperature. Further, this is not properly supported by Applicant disclosure in any meaningful way, and is therefore considered new matter. Corrective action or clarification is required.
In order to overcome the new matter rejections above, the Examiner requires applicant to cancel or remove the cited new matter, or to traverse this rejection with a detailed explanation of their position, including paragraph citations and/or drawing figures of how the cited limitations are fully supported by applicant‘s original disclosure.
Dependent claims of the rejected claims above are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) at least due to dependency on these claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the applicant regards as the invention.
In regards to claims 1 and 13: Applicant claims
obtaining, by a receiver, an ambient temperature of a vehicle and battery output power, the battery output power being actual power output of the vehicle battery;
and
upon concluding that the battery heating setting is on, controlling, by the controller, heating of the vehicle battery so that the battery output power is between a first reference power and a second reference power that is larger than the first reference power, wherein the battery output power increases as a battery temperature increases.
However, obtaining…. actual power output of the vehicle battery in view of Applicant disclosure is indefinite as to the metes and bounds of the term:
First, there appears to be a lack of structural support for obtaining…. actual power output of the vehicle battery. Applicant disclosure lacks any structural support (i.e. sensors, electrical current detectors, etc.) for a actual battery power output. Accordingly, how the actual battery power output is generated and is obtained from is unclear and indefinite.
Second, as claimed, battery output power appears to be an operational/measured amount, however Applicant disclosure [0031] states that the battery output power may be the maximum value of the battery output power within a reference time section, which appears to be a maximum threshold, not a measured amount. Ambiguity as to exactly what is being received by the receiver is unclear and indefinite.
Examiner Note: Applicant disclosure describes the known relationship of battery power output versus temperature. As best understood, battery output power is a determined/calculated/referenced or interpolated value based on battery temperature. However, battery output power is obtained in claim 1 prior to the introduction of battery temperature in claim 2, a necessary value when determining battery power output. Therefore, the Examiner’s best understanding of battery output power also introduces further issues of indefiniteness that Applicant should note, for the sake of compact prosecution.
Further in regards to claim 1: the metes and bounds of controlling, by the controller, heating of the vehicle battery so that the battery output power is between a first reference power and a second reference power is also unclear and indefinite because Applicant has not provided any clear connection between the claims and the specification as to how controlling heating of the vehicle battery affects battery output power. Corrective action or clarification is required.
In regards to claims 2 and 14: Applicant claims determining, by the controller, a maximum discharge power of the vehicle battery according to the reference temperature and the battery SOC; however, there is confusion as to if the maximum discharge power of the vehicle battery of claim 2 is the same as or different from the battery output power of claim 1, and how the metes and bounds of these terms differ. Corrective action or clarification is required.
All other dependent claims of the indefinite claims detailed above are also indefinite at least by virtue of depending on the indefinite claims detailed above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 8, 13 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu et al. (CN 113879179 A) herein Hu in view of Baglino et al. (US 20130002173 A1).
In regards to Claim 1, as best understood, Hu discloses the following:
1. A method of controlling heating of a vehicle battery, (see at least [0001] “battery heating control method and control system”) the method comprising:
obtaining, by a receiver, an ambient temperature of a vehicle (see at least [0009] “It obtains… the ambient temperature of the vehicle's surroundings”) and battery output power, the battery output power being actual power output of the vehicle battery; (see at least [n0006], [0015] “maximum discharge power of the battery”)
determining, by a controller communicatively connected to the receiver, whether the ambient temperature is lower than a predetermined ambient temperature threshold; (see at least Fig. 2 and Fig. 3, step(s) S1 and [0032], [0049] “Determine whether the ambient temperature is lower than the preset ambient temperature threshold T”)
upon concluding that the ambient temperature is lower than the predetermined ambient temperature threshold, determining, by the controller, whether a battery heating setting is on; (suggested at least at Fig. 1 and [0028] “The first step is to obtain the user-selected heating mode”, Fig. 2 and [0035] “S4. Heat the battery”, and Fig. 3 and [0052] “S4. heat the battery”)
Hu discloses determining a heating setting is on in Fig. 1, and then determining/concluding that ambient temperature is lower than the predetermined ambient temperature before initiating battery heating in Figs. 2 and 3. Hu does not explicitly disclose determining a heating setting is on upon concluding said ambient temperature determination.
However, this would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to reorder these two evaluations (i.e. an obvious rearrangement of parts) such that the controller of Hu determines whether ambient temperature is below the predetermined threshold, and then determine whether the battery heating setting is on because both conditions are simple Boolean gating conditions that must be satisfied in both Hu and in claim 1 before battery heating can commence, with a reasonable expectation of success, because reordering to check ambient temperature before determining a heating setting is a routine software control optimization order determination that may improve computational efficiency by reducing unnecessary evaluation in warm weather. Further, the results of this rearrangement would have been predictable.
Hu discloses the following:
and upon concluding that the battery heating setting is on, (see previous citations) controlling, by the controller, heating of the vehicle battery (Fig. 2, step S4) so that the battery output power is between a first reference power and a second reference power that is larger than the first reference power, (see at least Fig. 2, step S2 and [n0021] “S2. Determine whether the maximum discharge power of the battery is less than the preset first power threshold P1. If yes, execute S3; otherwise, execute S13.” And [0036] “S5. Determine whether the maximum discharge power of the battery is greater than or equal to the preset second power threshold P2”)
As best understood, Hu suggests the following:
wherein the battery output power increases as a battery temperature increases. (see at least [n0002] “the discharge current of the power battery will decrease as the temperature decreases” and [n0008] “the maximum discharge power of the battery is determined based on the battery temperature and the battery SOC”)
However, for the sake of compact prosecution, this feature is more explicitly taught by Baglino. (see at least [0031] “When the propulsion battery is so cold as to have limited output power capability, dissipation mode consumes as much of the available battery propulsion power as possible to expedite internal heating of the battery which in turn increases the power available from the battery” and [0036] “Controller 405 also receives a waste error signal e.sub.waste from a difference between a reference signal from a battery maximum determining process 415 and a feedback of the actual value from a battery sensing process 420. The reference and actual values can be any appropriate parameter, such as for example, battery voltage, current, or power.”)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill to include the features of Baglino with the invention of Hu, with a reasonable expectation of success, with the motivation of mitigating cold ambient performance degradation of the EV [because] cold weather operation of an EV poses additional design challenge as battery performance has a generally inverse relationship to temperature. (Baglino [0004])
In regards to Claim 8, as best understood, Hu discloses the following:
8. The method of claim 1, further including:
upon concluding that the ambient temperature is equal to or greater than the predetermined ambient temperature threshold, not executing the heating the vehicle battery by the controller; (see at least Fig. 2, step S1 “No” and step S13)
and upon concluding that the ambient temperature is lower than the predetermined ambient temperature threshold (see at least Fig. 2, step S1 “Yes”) and upon concluding that the battery heating setting is off, (suggested at least at Fig. 1 and [0028] “The first step is to obtain the user-selected heating mode”, as detailed in claim 1, above.) not executing the heating the vehicle battery by the controller. (see Fig. 1, step S13)
In regards to claims 13 and 20: Claims 13 and 20 are the apparatus performing the methods of claims 1 and 8, respectively, and are rejected the same or similar to claims 1 and 8, above.
Claims 2-3, 6-7, 9, 14-15, 18-19 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu in view of Baglino, as applied, and further in view of Kelty et al. (US 20090243538 A1) herein Kelty.
In regards to Claim 2, as best understood, Hu discloses the following:
2. The method of claim 1, further including:
obtaining, by the receiver, a reference temperature, (see at least [n0006] “battery temperature is greater than or equal to a preset optimal battery performance temperature t1") a battery temperature of the vehicle, (see at least [n0003] “battery heating is triggered according to the battery temperature… when the battery temperature is greater than a certain threshold or the battery SOC is less than a certain threshold, the vehicle controls the battery heating to be turned off”, see also [0009] “battery temperature”) and a battery State Of Charge (SOC) of the vehicle battery; (see at least [n0006] “battery SOC”)
As best understood, Hu does not explicitly disclose the following, which is taught by Kelty:
determining, by the controller, a maximum discharge power of the vehicle battery according to the reference temperature and the battery SOC; (see at least [0044] “system can be preprogrammed to select a battery preheating temperature which corresponds with improved discharge capacity… and improved discharge rates”, [0053] “maximum performance temperature is equivalent to a maximum driving range temperature” and claim 5 “modify the specified target preheated temperature to a modified target preheated temperature associated with a specified minimum impedance of the battery associated with a specified maximum discharge rate.”)
obtaining, by the receiver, a driving mode of the vehicle (see at least [0041] “driving range mode 406, a cost saving mode 408, and a performance mode 410”) and a predetermined power corresponding to the driving mode; (see at least [0044] “the increased driving range mode… system can be preprogrammed to select a battery preheating temperature which corresponds with improved discharge capacity” and “improved discharge rates are caused by a reduction in impedance. Improved discharge rate leads to faster vehicle acceleration.”)
determining, by the controller, whether the maximum discharge power of the vehicle battery is greater than predetermined power corresponding to the driving mode; (see Fig. 10, step 1004, wherein a specified target preheated temperature directly translates to a maximum discharge power, as best understood.)
determining, by the controller, the first reference power and the second reference power in response that the maximum discharge power of the vehicle battery is greater than the predetermined power corresponding to the driving mode; and controlling, by the controller, heating the vehicle battery so that the battery output power is between the first reference power and the second reference power. (as best understood, see [0044], as previously cited, see also [0052] “performance mode… preheats the battery to a temperature that corresponds to a minimum impedance. Such a minimum can be predicted using curve-fitting in some embodiments. In additional embodiments, the minimum is determined on specified information, such as a factory recommended minimum impedance.” And [0053] “a specified target preheat temperature that is associated with performance, and the present subject matter controls temperature of a battery system to match the specified target preheat temperature.”)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the features of Kelty with the invention of Hu, with a reasonable expectation of success, with the motivation of improving the driving distance a vehicle is capable of, (Kelty, [0044]) improving the number of charge and discharge cycles that one or more batteries can be charged and discharged through during the lifetime of the one or more batteries (Kelty, [0049]) and to improve the ability of the batteries to maintain capacity during construction, transportation, inventory, repair and other vehicles uses not related to the end user's driving and otherwise operating the vehicle. (Kelty, [0051])
In regards to Claim 3, as best understood, Hu does not explicitly disclose the following, which is taught by Kelty:
3. The method of claim 2, wherein the controlling of the heating the vehicle battery so that the battery output power is between the first reference power and the second reference power includes:
determining whether the battery output power is less than the first reference power;
upon concluding that the battery output power is less than the first reference power, heating the vehicle battery; (as best understood, see [0044], as previously cited, see also [0052] “performance mode… preheats the battery to a temperature that corresponds to a minimum impedance. Such a minimum can be predicted using curve-fitting in some embodiments. In additional embodiments, the minimum is determined on specified information, such as a factory recommended minimum impedance.” and [0053] “a specified target preheat temperature that is associated with performance, and the present subject matter controls temperature of a battery system to match the specified target preheat temperature.”)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the features of Kelty with the invention of Hu, with a reasonable expectation of success, with the motivation of improving the driving distance a vehicle is capable of, (Kelty, [0044]) improving the number of charge and discharge cycles that one or more batteries can be charged and discharged through during the lifetime of the one or more batteries (Kelty, [0049]) and to improve the ability of the batteries to maintain capacity during construction, transportation, inventory, repair and other vehicles uses not related to the end user's driving and otherwise operating the vehicle. (Kelty, [0051])
during heating the vehicle battery, determining whether the battery temperature is equal to or greater than a predetermined battery temperature threshold; (see Fig. 10, step 1004)
upon concluding that the battery temperature is equal to or greater than the predetermined battery temperature threshold, stopping the heating of the vehicle battery; upon concluding that the battery temperature is lower than the predetermined battery temperature threshold, determining whether the battery output power is equal to or greater than the second reference power; and upon concluding that the battery output power is equal to or greater than the second reference power, stopping the heating of the vehicle battery. (see Fig. 10, step 1004)
In regards to Claim 6, as best understood, Hu does not explicitly disclose the following, which is taught by Kelty:
6. The method of claim 2, further including:
in response that the maximum discharge power of the vehicle battery is equal to or less than the predetermined power corresponding to the driving mode, heating the vehicle battery by the controller; and controlling, by the controller, heating of the vehicle battery so that the battery output power is within the second reference power by use of the maximum discharge power of the vehicle battery as the second reference power. (as best understood, see [0044], as previously cited, see also [0052] “performance mode… preheats the battery to a temperature that corresponds to a minimum impedance. Such a minimum can be predicted using curve-fitting in some embodiments. In additional embodiments, the minimum is determined on specified information, such as a factory recommended minimum impedance.” and [0053] “a specified target preheat temperature that is associated with performance, and the present subject matter controls temperature of a battery system to match the specified target preheat temperature.”)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the features of Kelty with the invention of Hu, with a reasonable expectation of success, with the motivation of improving the driving distance a vehicle is capable of, (Kelty, [0044]) improving the number of charge and discharge cycles that one or more batteries can be charged and discharged through during the lifetime of the one or more batteries (Kelty, [0049]) and to improve the ability of the batteries to maintain capacity during construction, transportation, inventory, repair and other vehicles uses not related to the end user's driving and otherwise operating the vehicle. (Kelty, [0051])
In regards to Claim 7, as best understood, Hu does not explicitly disclose the following, which is taught by Kelty:
7. The method of claim 6, wherein the controlling of the heating of the vehicle battery so that the battery output power is within the second reference power includes:
during heating the vehicle battery, determining, by the controller, whether the battery temperature is equal to or greater than a predetermined battery temperature threshold; upon concluding that the battery temperature is equal to or greater than the predetermined battery temperature threshold, stopping the heating of the vehicle battery by the controller; upon concluding that the battery temperature is lower than the predetermined battery temperature threshold, determining, by the controller, whether the battery output power is equal to or greater than the second reference power; and upon concluding that the battery output power is equal to or greater than the second reference power, stopping the heating of the vehicle battery by the controller. (as best understood, see [0044], as previously cited, see also [0052] “performance mode… preheats the battery to a temperature that corresponds to a minimum impedance. Such a minimum can be predicted using curve-fitting in some embodiments. In additional embodiments, the minimum is determined on specified information, such as a factory recommended minimum impedance.” and [0053] “a specified target preheat temperature that is associated with performance, and the present subject matter controls temperature of a battery system to match the specified target preheat temperature.”)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the features of Kelty with the invention of Hu, with a reasonable expectation of success, with the motivation of improving the driving distance a vehicle is capable of, (Kelty, [0044]) improving the number of charge and discharge cycles that one or more batteries can be charged and discharged through during the lifetime of the one or more batteries (Kelty, [0049]) and to improve the ability of the batteries to maintain capacity during construction, transportation, inventory, repair and other vehicles uses not related to the end user's driving and otherwise operating the vehicle. (Kelty, [0051])
In regards to claim 9, as best understood, Hu does not explicitly disclose the following, which is taught by Kelty:
9. The method of claim 1, wherein the battery output power is a maximum value of the battery output power within a reference time section. (see at least Fig. 10, item 1006, 1008 and [0027]-[0029] “scheduled drive start time”)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the features of Kelty with the invention of Hu, with a reasonable expectation of success, with the motivation of improving the driving distance a vehicle is capable of, (Kelty, [0044]) improving the number of charge and discharge cycles that one or more batteries can be charged and discharged through during the lifetime of the one or more batteries (Kelty, [0049]) and to improve the ability of the batteries to maintain capacity during construction, transportation, inventory, repair and other vehicles uses not related to the end user's driving and otherwise operating the vehicle. (Kelty, [0051])
In regards to claims 14-15, 18-19 and 21: Claims 14-15, 18-19 and 21 are the apparatus performing the methods of claims 2-3, 6-7 and 9, respectively, and are rejected the same or similar to claims 2-3, 6-7 and 9, above.
Claims 10-11 and 22-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu in view of Baglino and Kelty, as applied, and further in view of Dan et al. (US 20190363408 A1) herein Dan.
In regards to claim 10, as best understood, Hu does not explicitly disclose the following, which is taught by Dan:
10. The method of claim 7, further including:
after stopping the heating of the vehicle battery, determining, by the controller, whether the battery output power is less than the second reference power; (see at least Fig. 4 and [0080] “In step 107, it is determined whether the heating circuit satisfies any one of predetermined stopping conditions. If the heating circuit satisfies any one of the predetermined stopping conditions, step 108 is performed.”
in response that the battery output power is less than the second reference power, determining, by the controller, a difference in average battery output powers of adjacent predetermined time sections; (see at least [0022] “average current value refers to an average value of current sampling values over a period of time”, [0023] “current output value required for n.sup.th cycle is calculated according to an average current value of the n.sup.th cycle, an average current value of (n−1).sup.th cycle, an average current value of (n−2).sup.th cycle and a preset current value, wherein n is equal to or greater than 3.”)
and increasing or decreasing, by the controller, battery warming and heating power based on the difference. (see at least [0024] “Pulse width Modulation (PWM) signal is outputted to a switch device of the heating circuit according to a pre-calibrated PWM control parameter corresponding to the current output value so that a difference between an actual current value in the heating circuit and the preset current value is less than a preset threshold.”)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the features of Dan with the invention of Hu, with a reasonable expectation of success, with the motivation of heating a power battery pack to a temperature within the allowable operating temperature range when a power battery pack has a temperature lower than a lower limit of an allowable operating temperature range such that the power battery pack cannot work and needs to be heated before it resumes its operations. (Dan, [0003])
In regards to claim 11, as best understood, Hu does not explicitly disclose the following, which is taught by Dan:
11. The method of claim 10, further including:
in response that a difference between average battery output power of one predetermined time section and average battery output power of a next one predetermined time section is greater than zero, increasing, by the controller, the battery warming and heating power by the difference; and in response that the difference between the average battery output power of one predetermined time section and the average battery output power of the next one predetermined time section is equal to or less than zero, decreasing, by the controller, the battery warming and heating power by the difference. (see at least [0024] “Pulse width Modulation (PWM) signal is outputted to a switch device of the heating circuit according to a pre-calibrated PWM control parameter corresponding to the current output value so that a difference between an actual current value in the heating circuit and the preset current value is less than a preset threshold.”)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the features of Dan with the invention of Hu, with a reasonable expectation of success, with the motivation of heating a power battery pack to a temperature within the allowable operating temperature range when a power battery pack has a temperature lower than a lower limit of an allowable operating temperature range such that the power battery pack cannot work and needs to be heated before it resumes its operations. (Dan, [0003])
In regards to claims 22-23: Claims 22-23 are the apparatus performing the methods of claims 10-11, respectively, and are rejected the same or similar to claims 10-11, above.
In regards to claim 24, as best understood, Hu does not explicitly disclose the following, which is taught by Dan:
24. The apparatus of claim 23, wherein the controller is further configured to:
during heating the vehicle battery, determine whether the battery temperature is equal to or greater than a predetermined battery temperature threshold; and upon concluding that the battery temperature is equal to or greater than the predetermined battery temperature threshold, stop the heating of the vehicle battery. (see at least [0083] “predetermined stopping condition may further include: surface temperature of the IGBT is greater than a set threshold T.sub.set.”)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the features of Dan with the invention of Hu, with a reasonable expectation of success, with the motivation of heating a power battery pack to a temperature within the allowable operating temperature range when a power battery pack has a temperature lower than a lower limit of an allowable operating temperature range such that the power battery pack cannot work and needs to be heated before it resumes its operations. (Dan, [0003])
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu in view of Kelty as applied, in further view of Dan et al. (US 20190363408 A1) herein Dan.
In regards to claim 12, as best understood, Hu does not explicitly disclose the following, which is taught by Kelty:
12. The method of claim 9, further including:
during heating the vehicle battery, determining, by the controller, whether the battery temperature is equal to or greater than a predetermined battery temperature threshold; and upon concluding that the battery temperature is equal to or greater than the predetermined battery temperature threshold, stopping the heating of the vehicle battery by the controller. (see at least [0083] “predetermined stopping condition may further include: surface temperature of the IGBT is greater than a set threshold T.sub.set.”)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the features of Dan with the invention of Hu, with a reasonable expectation of success, with the motivation of heating a power battery pack to a temperature within the allowable operating temperature range when a power battery pack has a temperature lower than a lower limit of an allowable operating temperature range such that the power battery pack cannot work and needs to be heated before it resumes its operations. (Dan, [0003])
Allowable Subject Matter
As best understood, claims 4-5 and 16-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Applicant is reminded that this is in view of the prior art as best understood only, the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections outlined above remain outstanding.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments and arguments made in accordance with 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) have been fully considered, but are not fully persuasive.
In response to Applicant arguments on page 10 and 11 of 14 that the battery output power is the output power actually supplied from the battery to the vehicle load during operation, which is detected by the BMS and transmitted to the receiver (see para. [0097]), the Examiner respectfully disagrees. Applicant statements are not supported in any way by Applicant disclosure [0097], or anywhere else in Applicant disclosure. Therefore these rejections have been maintained.
Applicant’s amendments and arguments made in accordance with 35 U.S.C. § 102/103 have been fully considered. However, with respect to the previous claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 102/103, applicant has amended the independent claim and these amendments have changed the scope of the original application and the Office has supplied new grounds for rejection attached above in this FINAL office action and therefore the prior arguments are considered moot.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Jason Roberson, whose telephone number is (571) 272-7793. The examiner can normally be reached from Monday thru Friday between 8:00 AM and 4:30 PM. The examiner may also be reached through e-mail at Jason.Roberson@USPTO.GOV, or via FAX at (571) 273-7793. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor Navid Z Mehdizadeh can be reached on (571) 272-7691.
Another resource that is available to applicants is the Patient Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Information regarding the status of an application can be obtained from the PAIR system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAX. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have any questions on access to the Private PAIR system, please feel free to contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll free).
Applicants are invited to contact the Office to schedule either an in-person or a telephone interview to discuss and resolve the issues set forth in this Office Action. Although an interview is not required, the Office believes that an interview can be of use to resolve any issues related to a patent application in an efficient and prompt manner.
Sincerely,
/JASON R ROBERSON/
Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3669
June 25, 2026
/NAVID Z. MEHDIZADEH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3669