DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The prior art documents submitted by applicant in the Information Disclosure Statements filed on January 09, 2024 have all been considered and made of record (note the attached copies of form PTO-1449).
Drawings
Six (6) sheets of drawings were filed on January 09, 2024.
Specification
Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become
aware in the specification.
Inventorship
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, and 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Simard et al (US11022520B2), hereafter Simard.
Regarding Claim 1, Simard discloses A universal connector/adaptor (UCA) (Figure 1A (200. Column 4 lines 61-65) Removeable Connector cartridge) for adapting devices under test (DUTs) (Abstract) to one or more test devices (Figure 1 (100) optical test instrument), comprising:
an outer portion (Figure 1B (200) connector cartridge) comprising a hollow inside (Figure 1B) and a support structure (232 in figures 3A. Column 6 lines 22-26. Connecting and securing means ) extending from a first side of the outer portion (220 in figure 1A), wherein a second side of the outer portion (214 in figure 1A) opposite the first side is to connect with any of the one or more test devices (Figure 1) (The applicants specification teaches the support structure may include a locking mechanism in the form of latching or clamping mechanism. Paragraph [0029]); and a detachable inner portion (Figure 1B (224) connector receptacle) detachably connected to the hollow inside of the outer portion (via (252 and 254) First and second connectors) (Figure 1B. Column 7 lines 49-52), the detachable inner portion comprising a nose (257 in figures 3A and 3B. The detachable inner portion 224 is connected to first and second connectors 252 and 254. 252 has a nose (257) that extend through the second side of the outer portion 214) which extends through the second side of the outer portion (Figures 3A and 3B), the detachable inner portion being shaped to receive and hold a specific DUT from the support structure on the first side (220) of the outer portion (200) and to connect the specific DUT to any of the one or more test devices (Column 4 lines 61-65) via the nose on the second side of the outer portion (Column 7 lines 46-49) .
Regarding Claim 2, Simard discloses a universal connector/adaptor for adapting devices under test (DUTs) to one or more test devices of claim 1. Simard further discloses the outer portion (200 in Figure 1B) comprises:
a top outer portion (210); and a bottom outer portion (212) connected to the top outer portion, wherein the support structure (224) extends from the bottom outer portion on the first side (220 in figure 1A) of the outer portion. The applicant’s specification explicitly states that the directions terms ‘top’ and ‘bottom’ are used herein for the sake of convenience…and are not intended to necessarily have any separate directional meaning regarding the construction of universal connector/adapter (Paragraph [0028]). Therefore, Simard discloses a device with functionally and structurally equivalent components.
Regarding Claim 7, Simard discloses a universal connector/adaptor for adapting devices under test (DUTs) to one or more test devices of claim 1. Simard further discloses the specific DUT comprises at least one of a fiber optic cable, an end connector of a fiber optic, an end of a fiber optic cable, or a chuck to hold a fiber optic cable (Abstract. Column 2 lines11-15).
Regarding Claim 8, Simard discloses a universal connector/adaptor for adapting devices under test (DUTs) to one or more test devices of claim 1. Simard further discloses a universal connector/adaptor for adapting devices under test (DUTs) to one or more test devices of claim 1. Simard further discloses the specific DUT comprises at least one of a ferrule, a bare fiber chuck, or a fiber array unit (FAU) (Column 7 lines 38-44).
Regarding Claim 9, Simard discloses a universal connector/adaptor for adapting devices under test (DUTs) to one or more test devices of claim 1. Simard further discloses each of the one or more test devices comprise a device to perform at least one of cleaning, polishing, finishing, inspecting, examining, or testing a DUT (Column 1 line 61-Column 2 line 3).
Regarding Claim 10, Simard discloses a universal connector/adaptor for adapting devices under test (DUTs) to one or more test devices of claim 1. Simard further discloses each of the one or more test devices comprise a device to perform at least one of cleaning, polishing, finishing, inspecting, examining, or testing at least one of an end connector of a fiber optic cable, an end of a fiber optic cable, or a fiber optic cable (Column 4 lines 60-63).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Simard et al (US11022520B2), hereafter Simard, as applied to claim 1 above.
Regarding Claim 3, Simard discloses a universal connector/adaptor for adapting devices under test (DUTs) to one or more test devices of claim 1. Simard further discloses outer portion (200) comprises: the top outer portion (210 in figure 1B) connected to the bottom outer portion (212 in figure 1B), wherein the top outer portion and the bottom outer portion open and close such that the detachable inner portion may be attached and detached from the hollow inside of the outer portion (Figure 1B. Column 6 lines 12-15). Simard fails to explicitly disclose a hinge connecting the top outer portion to the bottom outer portion but teaches other closing means or arrangements are possible, for example, it can be considered for the optical connector cartridge (200) to be left partially open on its side or to close it with another lateral sidewall section (Column 6 lines 12-15). Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to selection a hinge as the closing means. A person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the benefit of using a hinge to keep the two parts of the outer portion connected and aligned during the opening and closing process. Additionally, the applicant’s specification explicitly states that the directions terms ‘top’ and ‘bottom’ are used herein for the sake of convenience…and are not intended to necessarily have any separate directional meaning regarding the construction of universal connector/adapter (Paragraph [0028]). Therefore, Simard discloses a device with functionally and structurally equivalent components.
Regarding Claim 4, Simard discloses a universal connector/adaptor for adapting devices under test (DUTs) to one or more test devices of claim 1. Simard further discloses a connection (Column 6 lines 9-15) between the top outer portion (210 in figure 1B) and the bottom outer portion (212 in figure 1B), wherein the connection allows the top outer portion and the bottom outer portion to open and close such that the detachable inner portion may be attached and detached from the hollow inside of the outer portion (Colum 7 lines 49-52). Simard fails to explicitly disclose a frictional connection but teaches other closing means or arrangements (Column 6 lines 12-15). Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to implement a frictional connection because a frictional connection is a standard well-known mechanical assembly technique for securing housing components. Implementing a frictional connection to secure the portion would achieve the predictable results of maintain closure while still allowing for the “open and close” functionality required to swap inner portions. Additionally, the applicant’s specification explicitly states that the directions terms ‘top’ and ‘bottom’ are used herein for the sake of convenience…and are not intended to necessarily have any separate directional meaning regarding the construction of universal connector/adapter (Paragraph [0028]). Therefore, Simard discloses a device with functionally and structurally equivalent components.
Claims 5-6 and 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Simard et al (US11022520B2), hereafter Simard, and further in view of Barnes et al (US8459877B2), hereafter Barnes.
Regarding Claims 5 and 6, Simard discloses a universal connector/adaptor for adapting devices under test (DUTs) to one or more test devices of claim 1. Simard further discloses a detachable inner portion (224 in figure 1B) with a top (228 in figure 3B) and bottom (226 in figure 3B) portion that detachably connected to the top out portions and bottom outer portions (Figure 3B). Wherein the bottom inner portion (228 in figure 3B) is further shaped to receive and hold the specific DUT from the support structure (232 in figure 3B) on the first side (220 in figure 1A) of the outer portion and to connect the specific DUT to any of the one or more test devices via the nose (226 in figure 1B and 3B) on the second side of the outer portion. Simard fails to teach the inner portion as two separate portions top and bottom portions.
Barnes teaches a detachable inner portion (Figure 6) comprises: a top inner portion (14 in figure 5) to detachably connect to the top outer portion (Figure 13); and a bottom inner portion (12 figure 5) to detachably connect to the bottom outer portion (Figure 12).
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the detachable inner portion of Simard by bifurcating it into separate top and bottom inner portions taught by Barnes. A person on ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to implement the multi-part inner portion of Barnes into the system of Simard to facilitate easier maintenance, allow for independent replacement of worn components and increase the versatility of the adaptor when interfacing with different DUT geometries. The combination utilizes well-known mechanical structures for their established functions to achieve a predictable result. Additionally, the applicant’s specification explicitly states that the directions terms ‘top’ and ‘bottom’ are used herein for the sake of convenience…and are not intended to necessarily have any separate directional meaning regarding the construction of universal connector/adapter (Paragraph [0028]). Therefore, Simard discloses a device with functionally and structurally equivalent components.
Regarding Claim 11, Simard discloses universal connector/adaptor (UCA) system (Figure 1A (200) (Column 4 lines 61-65) for adapting devices under test (DUTs) (abstract) to a plurality of test devices (Column 4 lines 49-65), comprising:
an outer portion (Figure 1B (200) connector cartridge) comprising a hollow inside (Figure 1B) and a support structure (232 in figures 3A and 3B) extending from a first side of the outer portion (220 in figure 1A), wherein a second side of the outer portion (214 in figure 1A) opposite the first side is to connect with any of the plurality of test devices (Figure 1. Column 4 lines 49-65); and detachable (Column 7 lines 49-52) inner portions (224, 254 and 252 in figure 1B), wherein: each detachable inner portions is to detachably connect to the hollow inside (Figure 1B) of the outer portion (210 in figure 1B), the detachable inner portions comprises a nose (252 in figure 1A) which extends through the second side (214 in figure 1A) of the outer portion (210), detachable inner portions (224) is shaped to receive and hold a specific DUT (Column 7 lines 45-49) from the support structure (232 in figure 4B) on the first side (220) of the outer portion (210) and to connect the specific DUT to any of the plurality of test devices (Column 4 lines 61-65)via the nose on the second side of the outer portion. Simard fails to disclose a plurality of inner portions, each with a nose extending through the second side of the outer portion.
Barnes teaches a plurality of inner portions (12 and 14 in figure 5), each with a nose extending through the second side (Figures 12 and 13) of the outer portion (50 in figure 8)
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the UCA system of Simard to include the plurality of detachable/interchangeable inner portions as taught by Barnes. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate multiple interchangeable inner portions to increase the versatility of the test interface, allowing a single universal outer cartridge to accommodate various DUT geometries and connector standards.
Regarding Claim 12, Simard/ Barnes teaches A universal connector/adaptor (UCA) system for adapting devices under test (DUTs) to a plurality of test devices of Claim 11. Simard further discloses the outer portion (200 in Figure 1B) comprises:
a top outer portion (210); and a bottom outer portion (212) connected to the top outer portion, wherein the support structure (232 in figure 3A) extends from the bottom outer portion on the first side (220 in figure 1A) of the outer portion. The applicant’s specification explicitly states that the directions terms ‘top’ and ‘bottom’ are used herein for the sake of convenience…and are not intended to necessarily have any separate directional meaning regarding the construction of universal connector/adapter (Paragraph [0028]). Therefore, Simard discloses a device with functionally and structurally equivalent components.
Regarding Claim 13, Simard/ Barnes teaches A universal connector/adaptor (UCA)
system for adapting devices under test (DUTs) to a plurality of test devices of Claim 11. Simard further discloses outer portion (200) comprises: the top outer portion (210 in figure 1B) connected to the bottom outer portion (212 in figure 1B), wherein the top outer portion and the bottom outer portion open and close such that the detachable (Column 7 lines 49-52) inner portion may be attached and detached from the hollow inside of the outer portion (Figure 1B. Column 6 lines 12-15).
Simard/Barnes fails to explicitly disclose a hinge connecting the top outer portion to the bottom outer portion but teaches other closing means or arrangements are possible, for example, it can be considered for the optical connector cartridge (200) to be left partially open on its side or to close it with another lateral sidewall section (Column 6 lines 12-15).
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to selection a hinge as the closing means. A person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the benefit of using a hinge to keep the two parts of the outer portion connected and aligned during the opening and closing process. Additionally, the applicant’s specification explicitly states that the directions terms ‘top’ and ‘bottom’ are used herein for the sake of convenience…and are not intended to necessarily have any separate directional meaning regarding the construction of universal connector/adapter (Paragraph [0028]). Therefore, Simard discloses a device with functionally and structurally equivalent components.
Simard fails to disclose the plurality of inner portions.
Barnes teaches a plurality of inner portion (12 and 14 in figure 5 are the upper and lower portions of the optical fiber handler 10. Which are seated inside of 52 and 54 in figures 12 and 13. Column 4 lines 24-30).
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the UCA system of Simard to include the plurality of detachable/interchangeable inner portions as taught by Barnes. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate multiple interchangeable inner portions to increase the versatility of the test interface, allowing a single universal outer cartridge to accommodate various DUT geometries and connector standards.
Regarding Claim 14, Simard/ Barnes teaches A universal connector/adaptor (UCA) system for adapting devices under test (DUTs) to a plurality of test devices of Claim 11. Simard further discloses a connection (Column 6 lines 9-15) between the top outer portion (210 in figure 1B) and the bottom outer portion (212 in figure 1B), wherein the connection allows the top outer portion and the bottom outer portion to open and close such that the detachable inner portion may be attached and detached from the hollow inside of the outer portion (Colum 7 lines 49-52).
Simard fails to discloses a plurality inner portions.
Barnes teaches a plurality inner portions (12 and 14 in figure 5 are the upper and lower portions of the optical fiber handler 10. Which are seated inside of 52 and 54 in figures 12 and 13).
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the UCA system of Simard to include the plurality of detachable/interchangeable inner portions as taught by Barnes. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate multiple interchangeable inner portions to increase the versatility of the test interface, allowing a single universal outer cartridge to accommodate various DUT geometries and connector standards.
Additionally, the applicant’s specification explicitly states that the directions terms ‘top’ and ‘bottom’ are used herein for the sake of convenience…and are not intended to necessarily have any separate directional meaning regarding the construction of universal connector/adapter (Paragraph [0028]). Therefore, Simard discloses a device with functionally and structurally equivalent components.
Simard fails to disclose a frictional connection but teaches other closing means or arrangements (Column 6 lines 12-15).
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the closing means of Simard to include a frictional connection. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to utilize a frictional connected to provide a secure, simple, and rapid method for fastening outer portions together, allowing for quick assembly and disassembly of the interchangeable inner portions.
Regarding Claims 15 and 16, Simard/ Barnes teaches A universal connector/adaptor (UCA) system for adapting devices under test (DUTs) to a plurality of test devices of Claim 11. Simard further discloses a detachable (Column 7 lines 49-52) inner portion (224 in figure 1B) with a top (228 in figure 3B) and bottom (226 in figure 3B) portion that detachably connected to the top out portions and bottom outer portions (Figure 3B). Wherein the bottom inner portion (228 in figure 3B) is further shaped to receive and hold the specific DUT from the support structure (232 in figure 3B) on the first side (220 in figure 1A) of the outer portion and to connect the specific DUT to any of the one or more test devices via the nose (226 in figure 1B and 3B) on the second side of the outer portion. Simard fails to disclose a plurality of detachable/interchangeable inner portions as two separate portions top and bottom portions.
Barnes teaches a plurality of inner portions (12 and 14 in figure 5) comprises: a top inner portion (14 in figure 5) to detachably connect to the top outer portion (Figure 13); and a bottom inner portion (12 figure 5) to detachably connect to the bottom outer portion (Figure 12. Column 4 lines 24-30).
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the detachable inner portion of Simard by bifurcating it into separate top and bottom inner portions taught by Barnes. A person on ordinary skill int eh art would have been motivated to implement the multi-part inner portion of Barnes into the system of Simard to facilitate easier maintenance, allow for independent replacement of worn components and increase the versatility of the adaptor when interfacing with different DUT geometries. The combination utilizes well-known mechanical structures for their established functions to achieve a predictable result. Additionally, the applicant’s specification explicitly states that the directions terms ‘top’ and ‘bottom’ are used herein for the sake of convenience…and are not intended to necessarily have any separate directional meaning regarding the construction of universal connector/adapter (Paragraph [0028]). Therefore, Simard discloses a device with functionally and structurally equivalent components.
Regarding Claim 17, Simard/ Barnes teaches A universal connector/adaptor (UCA) system for adapting devices under test (DUTs) to a plurality of test devices of Claim 11. Simard further discloses the specific DUT comprises at least one of a fiber optic cable, an end connector of a fiber optic, an end of a fiber optic cable, or a chuck to hold a fiber optic cable (Abstract. Column 2 lines11-15).
Regarding Claim 18, Simard/ Barnes teaches A universal connector/adaptor (UCA) system for adapting devices under test (DUTs) to a plurality of test devices of Claim 11. Simard further discloses a universal connector/adaptor for adapting devices under test (DUTs) to one or more test devices of claim 1. Simard further discloses the specific DUT comprises at least one of a ferrule, a bare fiber chuck, or a fiber array unit (FAU) (Column 7 lines 38-44).
Regarding Claim 19, Simard/ Barnes teaches A universal connector/adaptor (UCA) system for adapting devices under test (DUTs) to a plurality of test devices of Claim 11. Simard further discloses each of the plurality of test devices comprise a device to perform at least one of cleaning, polishing, finishing, inspecting, examining, or testing a DUT (Column 1 line 61-Column 2 line 3).
Regarding Claim 20, Simard discloses A universal connector/adaptor (UCA) system ((Figure 1A (200). (Column 4 lines 61-65 ) for adapting a plurality of fiber optic cables (Column 7 lines 39-44) to connect to a plurality of test devices (Column 4 lines 61-65), comprising: an outer portion (200 in figure 1B) comprising a top outer portion(210 in figure 1B), a bottom outer portion(212 in figure 1B), and a support structure (232 in figure 3A) , wherein the top and bottom outer portions are connected (Column 6 lines 9-15) and close together to form a hollow inside(Figure 1B), wherein the support structure extends from the bottom outer portion on a first side of the outer portion(232 in figure 3A), and wherein a second side (214 in Figure 1A) of the outer portion opposite the first side is to connect with any of the plurality of test devices (Column 4 lines 61-65 and inner portions( 224 in figure 3B), wherein: each of the inner portions is to detachably connect to the hollow inside of the outer portion(Figure 1B), each of the inner portions comprises a nose which extends through the second side of the outer portion (226 in figures 1B and 3B), and each inner portions is shaped to receive and hold a specific fiber optic cable from the support structure on the first side of the outer portion and to connect the specific fiber optic cable to any of the plurality of test devices via the nose on the second side of the outer portion(Column 7 lines 46-49). Simard further teaches other closing means or arrangements are possible, for example, it can be considered for the optical connector cartridge (200) to be left partially open on its side or to close it with another lateral sidewall section (Column 6 lines 12-15).
Simard fails to explicitly disclose a hinge connecting the top outer portion to the bottom outer portion and a plurality of detachable/interchangeable inner portions.
Barnes a plurality of inner portions (12 and 14 in figure 5 are the upper and lower portions of the optical fiber handler 10. Which are seated inside of 52 and 54 in figures 12 and 13. . Column 4 lines 24-30).
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to selection a hinge as the closing means. A person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the benefit of using a hinge to keep the two parts of the outer portion connected and aligned during the opening and closing process. Additionally, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the UCA system of Simard to include the plurality of detachable/interchangeable inner portions as taught by Barnes. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate multiple interchangeable inner portions to increase the versatility of the test interface, allowing a single universal outer cartridge to accommodate various DUT geometries and connector standards.
Furthermore, the applicant’s specification explicitly states that the directions terms ‘top’ and ‘bottom’ are used herein for the sake of convenience…and are not intended to necessarily have any separate directional meaning regarding the construction of universal connector/adapter (Paragraph [0028]). Therefore, Simard discloses a device with functionally and structurally equivalent components.
Conclusion
/TAJANAE NICOLE GREEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2874
/UYEN CHAU N LE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2874