DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
The indicated allowability of claims 10 and 14 (currently claims 1, 6, and 11 is withdrawn in view of the newly discovered reference(s) to Xu et al. (US 2023/0007600). Rejections based on the newly cited reference(s) follow.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 11-13, 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TSAI et al. (US 2023/0051117) in view of XU et al. (US 2023/0007600).
Regarding claim 1, Tsai discloses a communication method, comprising:
determining, by a terminal device, a first paging occasion (PO) for a paging physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) carrying first information (p. [0061], lines 6-end; p. [0062]; p. [0165]; the UE may be configured with DRX cycle(s) and several parameters for the determination of a PO (i.e., paging occasion), the UE receives a paging DCI including a TRS/CSI-RS availability indication (i.e., first information) on the PO, the paging DCI is received via the PDCCH – p. [0062]), wherein the first information indicates a first transmission occasion set for an available tracking reference signal (TRS) or an available channel-state information reference signal (CSI-RS) (p. [0163], [0165], [0167]; the paging DCI includes an indication regarding the availability of TRS/CSI-RS at the configured TRS/CSI-RS occasion(s)); and
receiving, by the terminal device, the first information according to the first PO (p. [0061], lines 6-end; p. [0062]; p. [0165]; the UE receives the paging DCI on the determined PO).
But, Tsai does not particularly disclose receiving, by the terminal device, third information, the third information indicating power-saving information of a third PO for a paging PDCCH carrying a paging message; and receiving, by the terminal device, the paging message according to the third PO.
However, Xu teaches receiving, by the terminal device, third information, the third information indicating power-saving information of a third PO for a paging PDCCH carrying a paging message; and receiving, by the terminal device, the paging message according to the third PO (p. [0056]-[0057]; To improve power saving performance of wireless communication devise, a paging early indication (i.e., third information) is transmitted before a paging occasion (i.e., third PO) from a base station to a UE to indicate the UE whether the UE is being paged. As shows in Fig. 4, UE 115 may be configured to received a PEI 410 before paging occasion 430. Receiving the PEI before the paging occasion may allow the UE to determine whether UE is being paged during paging occasion or not. If the PEI indicates that UE is being paged, the UE may wakeup to process the PDCCCH/PDSCH transmissions during the paging occasion (i.e., receiving the paging message)). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Tsai with the teachings of Xu, since such a modification would reduce unnecessary paging and/or paging receptions of the UE, thus improving the power savings performance of the wireless communication devices.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Tsai and Xu disclose the method of claim 1, Tsai discloses wherein determining, by the terminal device, the first PO for the paging PDCCH carrying the first information, comprises: receiving, by the terminal device, second information, the second information indicating a transmission occasion set for the paging PDCCH carrying the first information; and determining, by the terminal device, the first PO according to the second information (p. [0061], lines 6-end; p. [0062]; p. [0165]; the UE may be configured with DRX cycle(s) and several parameters (i.e., second information) for the determination of a PO (i.e., paging occasion)).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Tsai and Xu disclose the method of claim 2, Tsai discloses wherein the second information comprises a transmission cycle and a time offset parameter of the paging PDCCH carrying the first information (p. [0061]; the UE is configured with DRX cycles and other parameters (i.e., second information) for determining POs).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Tsai and Xu disclose the method of claim 1, Tsai discloses wherein the first information comprises a valid time of the first transmission occasion set (p. [0236]-[0237], [0240], [0256]-[0257]).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Tsai and Xu disclose the method of claim 1, Tsai discloses wherein receiving, by the terminal device, the first information according to the first PO comprises:
receiving, by the terminal device, on the first PO, downlink control information (DCI) carried in the paging PDCCH carrying the first information, the first information being carried in the DCI (p. [0061], lines 6-end; p. [0062]; p. [0165]; the UE receives the paging DCI carrying the TRS/CSI-RS availability indication (i.e., first information) on the determined PO, the paging DCI is received via the PDCCH);
wherein the DCI comprises a short-message indication information field and a short- message information field (Fig. 2; p. [0062]; when the UE receives the paging DCI, the UE checks a short message indicator field, figure 2 shows the paging DCI including a short message indicator filed and a short message field); and
wherein the first information is represented by the short-message information field (p. [0169]; the TRS/CSI-RS availability indication may be indicated in a short message of the paging DCI); or is represented by an information field in the DCI other than the short-message indication information field and the short-message information field.
Regarding claim 6, Tsai discloses a terminal device (Fig. 12; p. [0584]-[0585]), comprising a transceiver (p. [0586]) and a processor (p. [0591]), the processor is configured to call and run a program from a memory to:
determine a first paging occasion (PO) for a paging physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) carrying first information (p. [0061], lines 6-end; p. [0062]; p. [0165]; the UE may be configured with DRX cycle(s) and several parameters for the determination of a PO (i.e., paging occasion), the UE receives a paging DCI including a TRS/CSI-RS availability indication (i.e., first information) on the PO, the paging DCI is received via the PDCCH – p. [0062]), wherein the first information indicates a first transmission occasion set for an available tracking reference signal (TRS) or an available channel-state information reference signal (CSI-RS) (p. [0163], [0165], [0167]; the paging DCI includes an indication regarding the availability of TRS/CSI-RS at the configured TRS/CSI-RS occasion(s)); and
receive, through the transceiver, the first information according to the first PO (p. [0061], lines 6-end; p. [0062]; p. [0165]; the UE receives the paging DCI on the determined PO).
But, Tsai does not particularly disclose receive, through the transceiver, third information, the third information indicating power-saving information of a third PO for a paging PDCCH carrying a paging message; and receive the paging message according to the third PO.
However, Xu teaches receive, through the transceiver, third information, the third information indicating power-saving information of a third PO for a paging PDCCH carrying a paging message; and receive the paging message according to the third PO (p. [0056]-[0057]; To improve power saving performance of wireless communication devise, a paging early indication (i.e., third information) is transmitted before a paging occasion (i.e., third PO) from a base station to a UE to indicate the UE whether the UE is being paged. As shows in Fig. 4, UE 115 may be configured to received a PEI 410 before paging occasion 430. Receiving the PEI before the paging occasion may allow the UE to determine whether UE is being paged during paging occasion or not. If the PEI indicates that UE is being paged, the UE may wakeup to process the PDCCCH/PDSCH transmissions during the paging occasion (i.e., receiving the paging message)). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Tsai with the teachings of Xu, since such a modification would reduce unnecessary paging and/or paging receptions of the UE, thus improving the power savings performance of the wireless communication devices.
Regarding claim 11, Tsai discloses a network device (Fig. 12; p. [0584]-[0585]; i.e., network node/BS), comprising a transceiver (p. [0586]) and a processor (p. [0591)), the processor is configured to call and run a program from a memory to:
transmit, through the transceiver, on a first paging occasion (PO), a paging physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) to a terminal device (p. [0062], [0165]; UE monitors the PDCCH to receive paging DCI transmitted by the NW/BS, the UE receives the paging DCI on a PO), wherein first information is carried in the paging PDCCH (p. [0062], [0165]; UE monitors the PDCCH to receive paging DCI including a TRS/CSI-RS availability indication (i.e., first information)), and the first information indicates a first transmission occasion set for an available tracking reference signal (TRS) or an available channel-state information reference signal (CSI-RS) (p. [0163], [0165], [0167]; the paging DCI includes an indication (i.e., first information) regarding the availability of TRS/CSI-RS at the configured TRS/CSI-RS occasion(s)).
But, Tsai does not particularly disclose transmit, through the transceiver, third information, the third information indicating power-saving information of a third PO for a paging PDCCH carrying a paging message; and transmit the paging message on the third PO.
However, Xu teaches transmit, through the transceiver, third information, the third information indicating power-saving information of a third PO for a paging PDCCH carrying a paging message; and transmit the paging message on the third PO (p. [0056]-[0057]; To improve power saving performance of wireless communication devise, a paging early indication (i.e., third information) is transmitted before a paging occasion (i.e., third PO) from a base station to a UE to indicate the UE whether the UE is being paged. As shows in Fig. 4, UE 115 may be configured to received a PEI 410 before paging occasion 430. Receiving the PEI before the paging occasion may allow the UE to determine whether UE is being paged during paging occasion or not. If the PEI indicates that UE is being paged, the UE may wakeup to process the PDCCCH/PDSCH transmissions during the paging occasion (i.e., receiving the paging message)). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Tsai with the teachings of Xu, since such a modification would reduce unnecessary paging and/or paging receptions of the UE, thus improving the power savings performance of the wireless communication devices.
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Tsai and Xu disclose the network device of claim 11, Tsai discloses wherein the processor is further configured to transmit, through the transceiver, second information, the second information indicating a transmission occasion set for the paging PDCCH carrying the first information (p. [0061], lines 6-end; p. [0062]; p. [0165]; the UE may be configured with DRX cycle(s) and several parameters (i.e., second information) for the determination of a PO)
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Tsai and Xu disclose the network device of claim 11, Tsai discloses wherein the processor is further configured to transmit, through the transceiver, the available TRS or the available CSI-RS (Fig. 6 shows where the available TRS/CSI-RSI is transmitted by the network).
Regarding claim 16, Tsai discloses a chip comprising a processor (p.[0591]), the processor is configured to call and run a program from a memory (p. [0590]) to enable a terminal device installed with the chip to implement a communication method comprising:
determining a first paging occasion (PO) for a paging physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) carrying first information (p. [0061], lines 6-end; p. [0062]; p. [0165]; the UE may be configured with DRX cycle(s) and several parameters for the determination of a PO (i.e., paging occasion), the UE receives a paging DCI including a TRS/CSI-RS availability indication (i.e., first information) on the PO, the paging DCI is received via the PDCCH – p. [0062]), wherein the first information indicates a first transmission occasion set for an available tracking reference signal (TRS) or an available channel-state information reference signal (CSI-RS) (p. [0163], [0165], [0167]; the paging DCI includes an indication regarding the availability of TRS/CSI-RS at the configured TRS/CSI-RS occasion(s)); and
receiving the first information according to the first PO (p. [0061], lines 6-end; p. [0062]; p. [0165]; the UE receives the paging DCI on the determined PO).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Tsai and Xu disclose the chip of claim 16, Tsai discloses wherein determining the first PO for the paging PDCCH carrying the first information, comprises: receiving, by the terminal device, second information, the second information indicating a transmission occasion set for the paging PDCCH carrying the first information; and determining, by the terminal device, the first PO according to the second information (p. [0061], lines 6-end; p. [0062]; p. [0165]; the UE may be configured with DRX cycle(s) and several parameters (i.e., second information) for the determination of a PO (i.e., paging occasion)).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Tsai and Xu disclose the chip of claim 16, Tsai discloses wherein the first information comprises a valid time of the first transmission occasion set (p. [0236]-[0237], [0240], [0256]-[0257]).
Regarding claim 19, Tsai discloses the chip of claim 16, wherein receiving, by the terminal device, the first information according to the first PO comprises:
receiving on the first PO, downlink control information (DCI) carried in the paging PDCCH carrying the first information, the first information being carried in the DCI (p. [0061], lines 6-end; p. [0062]; p. [0165]; the UE receives the paging DCI carrying the TRS/CSI-RS availability indication (i.e., first information) on the determined PO, the paging DCI is received via the PDCCH);
wherein the DCI comprises a short-message indication information field and a short- message information field (Fig. 2; p. [0062]; when the UE receives the paging DCI, the UE checks a short message indicator field, figure 2 shows the paging DCI including a short message indicator filed and a short message field); and
wherein the first information is represented by the short-message information field (p. [0169]; the TRS/CSI-RS availability indication may be indicated in a short message of the paging DCI); or is represented by an information field in the DCI other than the short-message indication information field and the short-message information field.
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Tsai and Xu disclose the chip of claim 16, Tsai discloses wherein the method further comprises: determining, according to a state of the terminal device, whether the first information is carried in DCI in the paging PDCCH (p. [0163], [0165], [0166]); and determining that the first information is carried in the DCI in the paging PDCCH, in a case that the terminal device is in an idle state or an inactive state (p. [0165]-[0166]); or determining that the first information is not comprised in the DCI in the paging PDCCH, in a case that the terminal device is in a connected state.
Claims 9, 15, and 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TSAI et al. in views of XU et al., and LIAO et al. (US 2022/0303089).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Tsai and Xu disclose the terminal device of claim 6, but does not particularly disclose wherein the processor is further configured to determine, according to the first information, the first transmission occasion set; and receive, through the transceiver, the available TRS or the available CSI-RS according to the first transmission occasion set.
However, Liao teaches wherein the processor is further configured to determine, according to the first information, the first transmission occasion set; and receive, through the transceiver, the available TRS or the available CSI-RS according to the first transmission occasion set (p. [0008], [0044]; TRS availability information (i.e., first information) is signaled from the network via a paging downlink control information (DCI), the availability information indicates whether a TRS is present on the configured TRS occasions, the idle/inactive UE receives the TRS on the configured occasions until the PO of the next I-DRX cycle). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the combination of Tsai and Xu with the teachings of Liao, since such a modification would allow the terminal to receive the TRS on the TRS occasions that indicate that the TRS is available/present based on the availability information (i.e., first information), thus providing power savings for the terminal.
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Tsai and Xu disclose the network device of claim 11, but does not particularly disclose wherein the first information is carried in the third information.
However, Liao teaches wherein the first information is carried in the third information (p. [0008], [0031], [0042]; TRS availability information (i.e., first information) may be signaled from the wireless communication network via a paging early indication (PEI) (i.e., third information)). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the combination of Tsai and Xu with the teachings of Liao, in order to provide TRS availability information to idle mode or inactive mode UEs together with a power saving signal information, thus enhancing power savings (p. [0006]-[0008]).
Regarding claim 22, the combination of Tsai and Xu disclose the method of claim 1, but does not particularly disclose wherein the first information is carried in the third information.
However, Liao teaches wherein the first information is carried in the third information (p. [0008], [0031], [0042]; TRS availability information (i.e., first information) may be signaled from the wireless communication network via a paging early indication (PEI) (i.e., third information)). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the combination of Tsai and Xu with the teachings of Liao, in order to provide TRS availability information to idle mode or inactive mode UEs together with a power saving signal information, thus enhancing power savings (p. [0006]-[0008]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-8, and 21 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/MARISOL FIGUEROA/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2643