DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-6 and 15-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 7, 9-13, 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al (US20220225151), in view of Back et al (US20230363047).
Regarding claim 1, the cited reference Zhang discloses an apparatus comprising one or more processors and memory storing instructions (¶0466 discloses that the communications apparatus 2000 may include a memory 2001, configured to store a computer program; and a processor 2002, configured to execute the computer program stored in the memory 2001) that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the apparatus at least to perform a process comprising: receiving, by a wireless device, one or more radio resource control (RRC) configuration parameters (¶0116 discloses UE is configured with DRX. ¶0188 discloses that configuration signaling may be RRC signaling) indicating: a discontinuous reception (DRX) on-duration timer (¶0116 discloses the UE is configured with DRX, a status of the UE may be classified into a discontinuous reception active state or active state (DRX active) … When any one of the following timers runs, the UE is in the DRX active time: a DRX-on durationtimer); and at least one occasion for transmission of a report, wherein the report is at least oneof a channel state information (CSI) report or a sounding reference signal (SRS) report (¶0004 discloses that if the UE is configured with discontinuous reception (DRX), a CSI measurement occasion (that is, an occasion for measuring a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS)) needs to be in the DRX active time for the UE to report channel state information (CSI). ¶0126 discloses that If the UE is configured with DRX, the most recent CSI measurement occasion occurs in DRX active time for CSI to be reported.” To be specific, if the UE is configured with DRX, a measurement occasion for CSI reporting (that is, an occasion for measuring a reference signal) needs to be in the DRX active time); starting the DRX on-duration timer (¶0120 discloses the UE first enters an on-duration, starts the DRX-on duration timer); and based on the receiving the PDU set before an offset prior to a first occasion of the at least one occasion, dropping transmission of the report via the first occasion (¶0127 discloses that if the UE is outside the DRX active time 4 ms before a reporting symbol, the UE does not report CSI). However, Zhang does not explicitly teach receiving, while the DRX on-duration timer is running, a packet data unit (PDU) set comprising a plurality of PDUs.
In an analogous art Back teaches receiving, while the DRX on-duration timer is running, a packet data unit (PDU) set comprising a plurality of PDUs (¶0164 discloses that UEs having … DRX active times may receive all PDUs related to a specific service in the DRX active timer).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the method of Back to help optimize the use of resources and facilitate optimal scheduling resource allocation within the network.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Zhang and Back discloses all limitations of claim 1.
Back further discloses wherein the receiving the PDU set comprises at least one of: all PDUs of the plurality of PDUs of the PDU set are received; an end PDU of the PDU set is received, wherein the end PDU of the PDU set is a last PDU of the plurality of PDUs; an end of data burst indication is received, wherein the data burst indication corresponds to the PDU set; or no hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) acknowledgement (ACK) with a negative ACK (NACK) information, corresponding to at least one PDU of the plurality of PDUs, is generated (¶0164 discloses that UEs having … DRX active times may receive all PDUs related to a specific service in the DRX active timer).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Zhang and Back discloses all limitations of claim 1.
Back further discloses wherein wherein a PDU of the plurality of PDUs is at least one of: a medium
access control (MAC) PDU; a radio link control (RLC) PDU; a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) PDU; an MAC service data unit (SDU); an RLC SDU; or a PDCP SDU (¶0038 discloses that the data related to the destination may be multiplexed for generating the MAC PDU).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Zhang and Back discloses all limitations of claim 1. Zhang further discloses wherein the offset is based on a pre-defined gap((¶0227 and ¶0228 disclose configuring parameters such as a length and a relative time offset of the window…The relative time offset may be a time offset between the start time of the window and a first time domain position, or a time offset between an end time of the window and a first time domain position).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Zhang and Back discloses all limitations of claim 1. Zhang further discloses wherein the report is at least one of: a periodic sounding reference signal (SRS); a semi-persistent SRS; a channel state information (CSI) report on physical uplink control channel (PUCCH); or a semi-persistent CSI report on physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) (¶0314 discloses perform CSI reporting on P PUCCH resources).
Regarding claim 11, the claim is drawn to an apparatus performing substantially the same features of the method of claim 1. Therefore, the claim is subject to the same rejection as claim 1.
Regarding claim 12, the cited reference Zhang discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of a device (¶0466 discloses that the communications apparatus 2000 may include a memory 2001, configured to store a computer program; and a processor 2002, configured to execute the computer program stored in the memory 2001) to perform substantially the same features of the method of claim 1. Therefore, the claim is subject to the same rejection as claim 1.
Regarding claim 13, the claim is drawn to non-transitory computer-readable medium performing substantially the same features of the method of claim 2. Therefore, the claim is subject to the same rejection as claim 2.
Regarding claim 18, the claim is drawn to non-transitory computer-readable medium performing substantially the same features of the method of claim 7. Therefore, the claim is
subject to the same rejection as claim 7.
Regarding claim 20, the claim is drawn to non-transitory computer-readable medium performing substantially the same features of the method of claim 10. Therefore, the claim is subject to the same rejection as claim 10.
Claims 1 and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bao et al (US20210410063), in view of Back et al (US20230363047).
Regarding claim 1, the cited reference Bao discloses an apparatus comprising one or more processors and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the apparatus at least to perform (¶0018 discloses that UE includes: a receiver; a memory; and a processor communicatively coupled to the receiver and the memory, where the processor is configured to operate in a discontinuous reception mode where ¶0084 discloses the memory 211 stores the software 212) a process comprising: receiving, by a wireless device, one or more radio resource control (RRC) configuration parameters (¶0130 discloses that the UE may receive a DRX configuration …The DRX configuration may include parameters) indicating: a discontinuous reception (DRX) on-duration timer (¶0130 discloses DRX configuration may include parameters of … a DRX ON duration timer); and at least one occasion for transmission of a report, wherein the report is at least one of a channel state information (CSI) report or a sounding reference signal (SRS) report (¶0131 discloses that with DRX configured, the UE may report a CSI report if the UE receives at least one CSI-RS transmission occasion for channel measurement and a CSI-RS … occasion in the active time where ¶0130 discloses that the DRX configuration may include parameters of a DRX cycle…The DRX cycle parameter indicates a duration of one ON time (active time, i.e., time in active mode)); starting the DRX on-duration timer (¶0131 discloses that with DRX configured, the UE may report a CSI report if the UE receives at least one CSI-RS transmission occasion for channel measurement occasion in the active time where ¶0128 discloses that the active time includes times: that an ON duration timer is running); and based on the receiving the PDU set before an offset prior to a first occasion of the at least one occasion, dropping transmission of the report via the first occasion (¶0131 discloses that with DRX configured, the UE may report a CSI report if the UE receives at least one CSI-RS transmission occasion for channel measurement and a CSI-RS … occasion in the active time no later than the CSI reference resource and may drop the report otherwise). However, Bao does not explicitly teach receiving, while the DRX on-duration timer is running, a packet data unit (PDU) set comprising a plurality of PDUs.
In an analogous art Back teaches receiving, while the DRX on-duration timer is running, a packet data unit (PDU) set comprising a plurality of PDUs (¶0164 discloses that UEs having … DRX active times may receive all PDUs related to a specific service in the DRX active timer).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the method of Back to help optimize the use of resources and facilitate optimal scheduling resource allocation within the network.
Regarding claim 11, the claim is drawn to an apparatus performing substantially the same features of the method of claim 1. Therefore, the claim is subject to the same rejection as claim 1.
Regarding claim 12, the cited reference Zhang discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of a device (¶0018 discloses that UE includes: a receiver; a memory; and a processor communicatively coupled to the receiver and the memory, where the processor is configured to operate in a discontinuous reception mode where ¶0084 discloses the memory 211 stores the software 212) to perform substantially the same features of the method of claim 1. Therefore, the claim is subject to the same rejection as claim 1.
Claims 3, 8, 14, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al (US20220225151), in view of Back et al (US20230363047), in further view of Wang et al (US20220095374).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Zhang and Back discloses all limitations of claim 2. However, the combination does not explicitly teach a higher layer of the wireless device sends the end of data burst indication to a lower layer of the wireless device, wherein the higher layer of the wireless device is at least one of a radio link control (RLC) layer or a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) layer; and the lower layer of the wireless device is at least one of a physical layer or medium access control (MAC) layer.
In an analogous art Wang teaches a higher layer of the wireless device sends the end of data burst indication to a lower layer of the wireless device, wherein the higher layer of the wireless device is at least one of a radio link control (RLC) layer or a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) layer; and the lower layer of the wireless device is at least one of a physical layer or medium access control (MAC) layer (See Figure 1 below which discloses data transmission from higher layer (PDCP layer to a lower layer (MAC layer)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the method of Wang to use Open Systems Interconnection (OSI) standard which provides a layered hierarchy between an end user and a physical device through which different systems can communicate.
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Zhang and Back discloses all limitations of claim 1. However, the combination does not explicitly teach wherein a PDU of the plurality of PDUs: comprises one or more transport blocks (TBs); or is received via one or more physical downlink shared channels (PDSCH)s.
In an analogous art Wang teaches wherein a PDU of the plurality of PDUs: comprises one or more transport blocks (TBs); or is received via one or more physical downlink shared channels (PDSCH)s (¶0004 discloses different transport blocks (e.g., Protocol Data Units, PDUs)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the method of Wang to use transport blocks because transport blocks allow for the efficient transmission of data, reducing latency and improving user experience.
Regarding claim 14, the claim is drawn to non-transitory computer-readable medium performing substantially the same features of the method of claim 3. Therefore, the claim is subject to the same rejection as claim 3.
Regarding claim 19, the claim is drawn to non-transitory computer-readable medium performing substantially the same features of the method of claim 8. Therefore, the claim is subject to the same rejection as claim 8.
Conclusion
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Yemane Mesfin can be reached on (571)272-3927. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
Respectfully submitted,
/ABDELILLAH ELMEJJARMI/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2462