DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 1/9/24. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4, 6, 10, 11, 13, 14, 16, 19. 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lin et al. (US Publication 2023/0327753) disclosed 63/324,212.
Regarding claims 1, 11 and 20, Lin teaches an apparatus and a method for power management at a user equipment (UE), the method comprising: (i.e. fig. 2 shows a UE (201) comprising a processor, memory and transceiver for executing programmed instructions; see paragraph 21, 22)
establishing, by the UE, a radio resource control (RRC) connection with a non-terrestrial network (NTN)-based public land mobile network (PLMN); (i.e. fig. 1 shows prior art operation of a UE that is registered and connected to a first NTN PLMN; see paragraphs 17 - 20)
monitoring at least one PLMN search timer comprising a first timer for performing an NTN-based PLMN search and a second timer for performing a terrestrial network (TN)-based PLMN search; (i.e. fig. 1 shows when the UE is connected to the first PLMN NTN a timer (T) is monitored, wherein upon expiry a search for a higher priority NTN PLMN is performed; see paragraphs 17 - 20)
performing a PLMN search for identifying a PLMN with a higher priority than the connected NTN-based PLMN upon determining that the PLMN search timer has lapsed; (i.e. fig. 1 shows when the timer expires a search for a higher priority NTN PLMN is performed; see paragraphs 17 - 20)
and
establishing a RRC connection with the PLMN with the higher priority than the connected NTN-based PLMN. (i.e. fig. 1 shows a higher priority PLMN NTN may be connected to if discovered after expiry of timer; see paragraphs 17 - 20) (See Also; UE connection to core network on the non-access stratum layer is performed via RRC connection; see paragraph 24)
Regarding claims 3 and 13, Lin teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the performing of the PLMN search comprises: receiving one or more network-related parameters from the connected NTN- based PLMN; and performing the PLMN search based at least on the one or more received network- related parameters. (i.e. Lin discloses the UE may receive ephemeral and coverage based parameters to utilize in searching for a higher priority PLMN; see paragraphs 26, 27)
Regarding claims 4 and 14, Lin teaches the method of claim 3, wherein the one or more network-related parameters comprises at least one of a frequency, a band, a cell identifier, or a PLMN identifier. (i.e. Lin discloses the UE may receive ephemeral and coverage based parameters to utilize in searching for a higher priority PLMN in a SIB32, this inherently includes information regarding frequency bands and network identifiers; see paragraphs 26, 27)
Regarding claims 6 and 16, Lin teaches the method of claim 5, wherein a priority of the identified NTN-based PLMN is based at least on a signal strength and one or more network services. (i.e. Lin teaches priority levels of the different NTN PLMN is based upon service types of the PLMNs (HPLMN, EHPLMN VHPLMN, etc.); see paragraph 26, 27)
Regarding claims 10 and 19, Lin teaches the method of claim 3, wherein the one or more network-related parameters comprises at least one of a frequency, a band, a cell identifier, or a PLMN identifier. (i.e. Lin discloses the UE may receive ephemeral and coverage based parameters to utilize in searching for a higher priority PLMN in a SIB32, this inherently includes information regarding frequency bands and network identifiers; see paragraphs 26, 27)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 5, 12, 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Lin et al. (US Publication 2023/0327753) in view of Cheng et al. (US Publication 2021/0068013).
Regarding claim 2 and 12, Lin discloses all the recited limitations of claim 1 and 11 as described previously from which claim 2 and 12 depend. Lin does not teach wherein the determining of whether to perform the PLMN search comprises: determining whether to perform the PLMN search for identifying a TN-based PLMN or an NTN-based PLMN which is assigned a higher priority as compared to the connected NTN-based PLMN. (i.e. Lin teaches the purpose of NTN networks is to deliver 5G/NR service via space (satellite) or air (airborne platform) Therefore, NTN complements terrestrial networks (TNs) with network coverage in remote areas over sea and land where terrestrial coverage is absent; paragraph 3)
Cheng teaches wherein the determining of whether to perform the PLMN search comprises: determining whether to perform the PLMN search for identifying a TN-based PLMN or an NTN-based PLMN which is assigned a higher priority as compared to the connected NTN-based PLMN. (i.e. Cheng discloses a TN/ NTN PLMN prior selection process wherein a TN can be a higher priority due to power consumption and latency. However, there are also different NTN priority levels, which may be set by manual configuration; see paragraph 22)
It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the time the invention was filed to have a NTN/TN selection process of Cheng into Lin. As the concept of a User Equipment (UE) monitoring a timer and, upon expiration, searching for a higher priority Public Land Mobile Network (PLMN) is standard in 2G/3G/4G/5G (e.g., Automatic Network Selection, HPLMN search). NTN is a new technology in 3GPP (Release 17+), and it is immediately obvious to differentiate the search process between the two, because their characteristics (propagation delay, coverage area) are vastly different. Both Lin and Cheng support NTN network selection based upon priority levels.
A person with ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make the modification to Lin to improve power saving and improve performance as NTN connections usually require high energy to maintain communication with satellites over vast distances while terrestrial networks (cellular towers) are usually more power-efficient and have higher and lower latency respectively.
Regarding claim 5 and 15, Lin discloses all the recited limitations of claim 1 and 11 as described previously from which claim 5 and 15 depend. Lin does not teach wherein the performing of the PLMN search comprises identifying a TN-based PLMN or an NTN-based PLMN having a priority higher than the connected NTN-based PLMN. (i.e. Lin discloses the PLMN search comprises a search for a higher priority NTN-PLMN; see paragraph 20) (See Also: Lin discloses the purpose of NTN networks is to complement terrestrial networks (TNs) with network coverage in remote areas over sea and land where terrestrial coverage is absent; paragraph 3)
Cheng teaches wherein the performing of the PLMN search comprises identifying a TN-based PLMN or an NTN-based PLMN having a priority higher than the connected NTN-based PLMN. (i.e. Cheng discloses a TN/ NTN PLMN prior selection process wherein a TN can be a higher priority due to power consumption and latency. However, there are also different NTN priority levels, which may be set by manual configuration; see paragraph 22)
It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the time the invention was filed to have a NTN/TN selection process of Cheng into Lin. As the concept of a User Equipment (UE) monitoring a timer and, upon expiration, searching for a higher priority Public Land Mobile Network (PLMN) is standard in 2G/3G/4G/5G (e.g., Automatic Network Selection, HPLMN search). NTN is a new technology in 3GPP (Release 17+), and it is immediately obvious to differentiate the search process between the two, because their characteristics (propagation delay, coverage area) are vastly different. Both Lin and Cheng support NTN network selection based upon priority levels.
A person with ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make the modification to Lin to improve power saving and improve performance as NTN connections usually require high energy to maintain communication with satellites over vast distances while terrestrial networks (cellular towers) are usually more power-efficient and have higher and lower latency respectively.
Claims 7, 9, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Lin et al. (US Publication 2023/0327753) in view of Zhang et al. (US Publication 2022/0279390).
Regarding claim 7, Lin discloses all the recited limitations of claim 1 as described previously from which claim 7 depend. Lin does not teach wherein the method further comprising: determining a current location of the UE based on at least one a cell ID, global positioning system (GPS) coordinates, a tracking area code (TAC), a PLMN ID, and neighbour cell information, wherein the performing of the PLMN search comprises performing the PLMN search upon determining that a distance between a initial location of the UE and the current location of the UE is greater than a predetermined threshold distance value.
Zhang teaches wherein the method further comprising: determining a current location of the UE based on at least one a cell ID, global positioning system (GPS) coordinates, a tracking area code (TAC), a PLMN ID, and neighbour cell information, wherein the performing of the PLMN search comprises performing the PLMN search upon determining that a distance between a initial location of the UE and the current location of the UE is greater than a predetermined threshold distance value. (i.e. Zhang discloses a PLMN priority may be based upon a difference between an initial and final position (displacement) exceeding a threshold value; see paragraph 17) (i.e. the locations may be determined by GPS; see paragraph 64)
It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the time the invention was filed to use the priority selection of Zhang into Lin. Both Lin and Cheng support NTN network selection based upon priority levels.
A person with ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make the modification to Lin to improve power saving and improve performance as NTN connections usually require high energy to maintain communication with satellites over vast distances while terrestrial networks (cellular towers) are usually more power-efficient and have higher and lower latency respectively.
Regarding claim 9 and 18, Lin discloses all the recited limitations of claim 1 and 11 as described previously from which claims 9 and 18 depend. Lin does not teach wherein the method further comprising: wherein the performing of the PLMN search comprises performing the PLMN search upon determining that a distance between a initial location of the UE and the current location of the UE is greater than a predetermined threshold distance value.
Zhang teaches wherein the method further comprising: wherein the performing of the PLMN search comprises performing the PLMN search upon determining that a distance between a initial location of the UE and the current location of the UE is greater than a predetermined threshold distance value. (i.e. Zhang discloses a PLMN priority may be based upon a difference between an initial and final position (displacement) exceeding a threshold value; see paragraph 17)
It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the time the invention was filed to use the priority selection of Zhang into Lin. Both Lin and Cheng support NTN network selection based upon priority levels.
A person with ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make the modification to Lin to improve power saving and improve performance as NTN connections usually require high energy to maintain communication with satellites over vast distances while terrestrial networks (cellular towers) are usually more power-efficient and have higher and lower latency respectively.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8 and 17 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
ROBERT J. LOPATA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2471
/ROBERT J LOPATA/
February 18, 2026Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2471