DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to an application filed on 01/09/2024 in which claims 1-30 are pending.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7, 18 and 21 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 11-12, 25 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hashem et al. (US 2002/0122403), hereinafter “Hashem”.
As to claim 1, Hashem teaches an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) (Hashem, Fig. 1, [0044], Fig. 3, [0050], a wireless device 12 for wireless communication), comprising:
one or more memories (Hashem, Fig. 3, [0052], the wireless device includes memory storing code to perform the described functions); and
one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories (Hashem, Fig. 3, [0050], [0052], the wireless device includes a processor that comprises the memory to perform the functions of the wireless device), configured to cause the UE to:
transmit mobility history information associated with the UE (Hashem, Fig. 5, [0062], “device 12 can determine its own degree of mobility and provide this determination to base station 14”, [0071], “the operational profile can indicate that a device is a nomadic device by storing a mobility history of the device. This mobility history is used to predict an initial operational characteristic of the device as stationary or mobile”); and
receive radio resource management information that is based at least in part on the mobility history information (Hashem, [0086], “This portion of the total code is managed and assigned by RRM 44 to each device 12 communicating with the corresponding base station 14. The spreading code is the portion of the total code assigned to a particular wireless device 12 by RRM 44 and is used to identify communications received from wireless device 12. It is the spreading code portion of the total code which is assigned as orthogonal codes to wireless device 12 communicating in a SCDMA mode”. Fig. 6, [0066], [0068], [0071], the mobility history is used to determine the operational characteristic of the wireless as stationary or mobile and the SCDMA or ACDMA. The wireless device receives information from the RRM (portion of the total code, spreading code) based on the SCDMA mode, where the SCDMA was determined based on the mobility history of the wireless device. Additionally, [0090], the RRM assigns time slots to the wireless device, [0095], “managing code reuse and/or time slot assignments in the above-described manner, separation of wireless devices using SCDMA codes versus ACDMA codes is simpler…assigning time slots in a manner which groups SCDMA communicating devices within one or more time slots to increase capacity within those time slots”. Time slots are assigned to the wireless device based on the SCDMA and the ACDMA modes, which are based on the history mobility), wherein the UE is associated with a virtual UE (Hashem, [0024], the wireless devices are grouped based on ACDMA and SCDMA for the purposes of time slot assignment. Fig. 6, the ACDMA and SCDMA is based on the mobility of the wireless device), and wherein the radio resource management information is a same radio resource management information for each UE of a plurality of UEs associated with the virtual UE (Hashem, [0090], “RRM 44 assigns time slots for uplink communication from wireless device 12 to base station 14 within cell 46. Each time slot supports communication from one or more wireless devices 12”, [0095], “managing code reuse and/or time slot assignments in the above-described manner, separation of wireless devices using SCDMA codes versus ACDMA codes is simpler…assigning time slots in a manner which groups SCDMA communicating devices within one or more time slots to increase capacity within those time slots”. Figs. 10-11 show that a single slot is assigned to multiple wireless devices in the same group (i.e. SCDMA communicating devices). See also [0024]).
As to claim 11, Hashem teaches an apparatus for wireless communication at a network node (Hashem, Fig. 1, [0044], Fig. 4, [0054], a base station 14 for wireless communication), comprising:
one or more memories (Hashem, Fig. 4, [0057], the base station includes a storage unit storing code to perform the described functions); and
one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories (Hashem, Fig. 4, [0054], [0057], the base station includes a central processing unit that includes the memory to perform the functions of the base station), configured to cause the network node to:
receive mobility history information associated with each UE (Hashem, Fig. 5, [0062], “device 12 can determine its own degree of mobility and provide this determination to base station 14”, [0071], “the operational profile can indicate that a device is a nomadic device by storing a mobility history of the device. This mobility history is used to predict an initial operational characteristic of the device as stationary or mobile”) of a plurality of UEs associated with a virtual UE (Hashem, [0024], the wireless devices are grouped based on ACDMA and SCDMA for the purposes of time slot assignment. Fig. 6, the ACDMA and SCDMA is based on the mobility of the wireless device, Fig. 5, [0062], [0066], “base stations 14 can determine the degree of mobility of devices 12 and/or devices 12 can determine their own degree of mobility”); and
transmit radio resource management information that is based at least in part on the mobility history information (Hashem, [0086], “This portion of the total code is managed and assigned by RRM 44 to each device 12 communicating with the corresponding base station 14. The spreading code is the portion of the total code assigned to a particular wireless device 12 by RRM 44 and is used to identify communications received from wireless device 12. It is the spreading code portion of the total code which is assigned as orthogonal codes to wireless device 12 communicating in a SCDMA mode”. Fig. 6, [0066], [0068], [0071], the mobility history is used to determine the operational characteristic of the wireless as stationary or mobile and the SCDMA or ACDMA. The wireless device receives information from the RRM (portion of the total code, spreading code) based on the SCDMA mode, where the SCDMA was determined based on the mobility history of the wireless device. Additionally, [0090], the RRM assigns time slots to the wireless device, [0095], “managing code reuse and/or time slot assignments in the above-described manner, separation of wireless devices using SCDMA codes versus ACDMA codes is simpler…assigning time slots in a manner which groups SCDMA communicating devices within one or more time slots to increase capacity within those time slots”. Time slots are assigned to the wireless device based on the SCDMA and the ACDMA modes, which are based on the history mobility. [0081], RRM 44 can be included within the physical confines of base station 14), wherein the radio resource management information is a same radio resource management information for each UE of a plurality of UEs associated with the virtual UE (Hashem, [0090], “RRM 44 assigns time slots for uplink communication from wireless device 12 to base station 14 within cell 46. Each time slot supports communication from one or more wireless devices 12”, [0095], “managing code reuse and/or time slot assignments in the above-described manner, separation of wireless devices using SCDMA codes versus ACDMA codes is simpler…assigning time slots in a manner which groups SCDMA communicating devices within one or more time slots to increase capacity within those time slots”. Figs. 10-11 show that a single slot is assigned to multiple wireless devices in the same group (i.e. SCDMA communicating devices). See also [0024]).
As to claim 12, Hashem teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the network node to transmit an indication of network planning information (Hashem, [0086], “This portion of the total code is managed and assigned by RRM 44 to each device 12 communicating with the corresponding base station 14. The spreading code is the portion of the total code assigned to a particular wireless device 12 by RRM 44 and is used to identify communications received from wireless device 12”. [0090], the RRM assigns time slots to the wireless device, [0095], “managing code reuse and/or time slot assignments in the above-described manner, separation of wireless devices using SCDMA codes versus ACDMA codes is simpler…assigning time slots in a manner which groups SCDMA communicating devices within one or more time slots to increase capacity within those time slots”. Time slots are assigned to the wireless device based on the SCDMA and the ACDMA modes, which are based on the history mobility) or machine-learning-based mobility information that is in accordance with the radio resource management information.
As to claim 25, Hashem teaches a method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE) (Hashem, Fig. 1, [0044], Fig. 3, [0050], a wireless device 12 for wireless communication), comprising:
transmitting mobility history information associated with the UE (Hashem, Fig. 5, [0062], “device 12 can determine its own degree of mobility and provide this determination to base station 14”, [0071], “the operational profile can indicate that a device is a nomadic device by storing a mobility history of the device. This mobility history is used to predict an initial operational characteristic of the device as stationary or mobile”); and
receiving radio resource management information that is based at least in part on the mobility history information (Hashem, [0086], “This portion of the total code is managed and assigned by RRM 44 to each device 12 communicating with the corresponding base station 14. The spreading code is the portion of the total code assigned to a particular wireless device 12 by RRM 44 and is used to identify communications received from wireless device 12. It is the spreading code portion of the total code which is assigned as orthogonal codes to wireless device 12 communicating in a SCDMA mode”. Fig. 6, [0066], [0068], [0071], the mobility history is used to determine the operational characteristic of the wireless as stationary or mobile and the SCDMA or ACDMA. The wireless device receives information from the RRM (portion of the total code, spreading code) based on the SCDMA mode, where the SCDMA was determined based on the mobility history of the wireless device. Additionally, [0090], the RRM assigns time slots to the wireless device, [0095], “managing code reuse and/or time slot assignments in the above-described manner, separation of wireless devices using SCDMA codes versus ACDMA codes is simpler…assigning time slots in a manner which groups SCDMA communicating devices within one or more time slots to increase capacity within those time slots”. Time slots are assigned to the wireless device based on the SCDMA and the ACDMA modes, which are based on the history mobility, wherein the UE is associated with a virtual UE (Hashem, [0024], the wireless devices are grouped based on ACDMA and SCDMA for the purposes of time slot assignment. Fig. 6, the ACDMA and SCDMA is based on the mobility of the wireless device), and wherein the radio resource management information is a same radio resource management information for each UE of a plurality of UEs associated with the virtual UE (Hashem, [0090], “RRM 44 assigns time slots for uplink communication from wireless device 12 to base station 14 within cell 46. Each time slot supports communication from one or more wireless devices 12”, [0095], “managing code reuse and/or time slot assignments in the above-described manner, separation of wireless devices using SCDMA codes versus ACDMA codes is simpler…assigning time slots in a manner which groups SCDMA communicating devices within one or more time slots to increase capacity within those time slots”. Figs. 10-11 show that a single slot is assigned to multiple wireless devices in the same group (i.e. SCDMA communicating devices). See also [0024]).
As to claim 29, Hashem teaches a method of wireless communication performed by a network node (Hashem, Fig. 1, [0044], Fig. 4, [0054], a base station 14 for wireless communication), comprising:
receiving mobility history information associated with each UE (Hashem, Fig. 5, [0062], “device 12 can determine its own degree of mobility and provide this determination to base station 14”, [0071], “the operational profile can indicate that a device is a nomadic device by storing a mobility history of the device. This mobility history is used to predict an initial operational characteristic of the device as stationary or mobile”) of a plurality of UEs associated with a virtual UE (Hashem, [0024], the wireless devices are grouped based on ACDMA and SCDMA for the purposes of time slot assignment. Fig. 6, the ACDMA and SCDMA is based on the mobility of the wireless device, Fig. 5, [0062], [0066], “base stations 14 can determine the degree of mobility of devices 12 and/or devices 12 can determine their own degree of mobility”; and
transmitting radio resource management information that is based at least in part on the mobility history information (Hashem, [0086], “This portion of the total code is managed and assigned by RRM 44 to each device 12 communicating with the corresponding base station 14. The spreading code is the portion of the total code assigned to a particular wireless device 12 by RRM 44 and is used to identify communications received from wireless device 12. It is the spreading code portion of the total code which is assigned as orthogonal codes to wireless device 12 communicating in a SCDMA mode”. Fig. 6, [0066], [0068], [0071], the mobility history is used to determine the operational characteristic of the wireless as stationary or mobile and the SCDMA or ACDMA. The wireless device receives information from the RRM (portion of the total code, spreading code) based on the SCDMA mode, where the SCDMA was determined based on the mobility history of the wireless device. Additionally, [0090], the RRM assigns time slots to the wireless device, [0095], “managing code reuse and/or time slot assignments in the above-described manner, separation of wireless devices using SCDMA codes versus ACDMA codes is simpler…assigning time slots in a manner which groups SCDMA communicating devices within one or more time slots to increase capacity within those time slots”. Time slots are assigned to the wireless device based on the SCDMA and the ACDMA modes, which are based on the history mobility. [0081], RRM 44 can be included within the physical confines of base station 14), wherein the radio resource management information is a same radio resource management information for each UE of a plurality of UEs associated with the virtual UE (Hashem, [0090], “RRM 44 assigns time slots for uplink communication from wireless device 12 to base station 14 within cell 46. Each time slot supports communication from one or more wireless devices 12”, [0095], “managing code reuse and/or time slot assignments in the above-described manner, separation of wireless devices using SCDMA codes versus ACDMA codes is simpler…assigning time slots in a manner which groups SCDMA communicating devices within one or more time slots to increase capacity within those time slots”. Figs. 10-11 show that a single slot is assigned to multiple wireless devices in the same group (i.e. SCDMA communicating devices). See also [0024]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-4, 13-15, 23, 26 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hashem et al. (US 2002/0122403), hereinafter “Hashem” in view of Mildh et al. (US 2015/0296426), hereinafter “Mildh”.
Hashem teaches the claimed limitations as stated above. Hashem does not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 2, wherein the plurality of UEs are associated with the virtual UE in accordance with at least one of a vicinity of the plurality of UEs or a trajectory of movement of the plurality of UEs.
As to claim 2, Mildh teaches wherein the plurality of UEs are associated with the virtual UE in accordance with at least one of a vicinity of the plurality of UEs or a trajectory of movement of the plurality of UEs (Mildh, Fig. 2, [0063]-[0064], the wireless terminals 2a-c are assigned to a mobility group 9, which share mobility characteristics, i.e. they move in essentially the same way, e.g. in terms of position and/or direction and speed).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Hashem to have the features, as taught by Mildh in order to manage to a set of wireless terminals being in the same vehicle, such as a car, bus, train, etc. (Mildh, [0065]).
Hashem teaches the claimed limitations as stated above. Hashem does not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 3, wherein the vicinity of the plurality of UEs or the trajectory of movement of the plurality of UEs is based at least in part on the plurality of UEs communicating with a same cell.
As to claim 3, Mildh teaches wherein the vicinity of the plurality of UEs or the trajectory of movement of the plurality of UEs is based at least in part on the plurality of UEs communicating with a same cell (Mildh, Fig. 2, [0054], [0059], [0063], the wireless terminals 2a-c in the mobility group 9, which share mobility characteristics (i.e. position, direction, movement), communicate with the same cell 5a).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Hashem to have the features, as taught by Mildh in order to manage to a set of wireless terminals being in the same vehicle, such as a car, bus, train, etc. (Mildh, [0065]).
Hashem teaches the claimed limitations as stated above. Hashem does not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 4, the vicinity of the plurality of UEs or the trajectory of movement of the plurality of UEs is in accordance with at least one of UE history information associated with one or more UEs of the plurality of UEs, a list of cells associated with one or more handovers performed by one or more UEs of the plurality of UEs, or a minimization of drive test associated with one or more UEs of the plurality of UEs.
As to claim 4, Mildh teaches wherein the vicinity of the plurality of UEs or the trajectory of movement of the plurality of UEs is in accordance with at least one of UE history information associated with one or more UEs of the plurality of UEs (Mildh, Fig. 2, [0012], “The mobility group history data may comprise at least one of: duration of the mobility group being connected to the source network node, duration of the mobility group staying together, movement speed of the mobility group”), a list of cells associated with one or more handovers performed by one or more UEs of the plurality of UEs (Mildh, Fig. 2, [0012], “The mobility group history data may comprise at least one of:…visited cells of the mobility group”), or a minimization of drive test associated with one or more UEs of the plurality of UEs.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Hashem to have the features, as taught by Mildh in order to manage to a set of wireless terminals being in the same vehicle, such as a car, bus, train, etc. (Mildh, [0065]).
Hashem teaches the claimed limitations as stated above. Hashem does not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 13, wherein the plurality of UEs are associated with the virtual UE in accordance with at least one of a vicinity of the plurality of UEs or a trajectory of movement of the plurality of UEs.
As to claim 13, Mildh teaches wherein the plurality of UEs are associated with the virtual UE in accordance with at least one of a vicinity of the plurality of UEs or a trajectory of movement of the plurality of UEs (Mildh, Fig. 2, [0063]-[0064], the wireless terminals 2a-c are assigned to a mobility group 9, which share mobility characteristics, i.e. they move in essentially the same way, e.g. in terms of position and/or direction and speed).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Hashem to have the features, as taught by Mildh in order to manage to a set of wireless terminals being in the same vehicle, such as a car, bus, train, etc. (Mildh, [0065]).
Hashem teaches the claimed limitations as stated above. Hashem does not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 14, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the network node to identify the vicinity of the plurality of UEs or the trajectory of movement of the plurality of UEs based at least in part on the plurality of UEs communicating with a same cell.
As to claim 14, Mildh teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the network node to identify the vicinity of the plurality of UEs or the trajectory of movement of the plurality of UEs based at least in part on the plurality of UEs communicating with a same cell (Mildh, [0006], “The method is performed in the source network node and comprises: determining that a first wireless device belongs to a mobility group, wherein the mobility group comprises at least two wireless devices served by the source network node determined to share mobility characteristics”. Fig. 2, [0054], [0059], [0063], the wireless terminals 2a-c in the mobility group 9, which share mobility characteristics (i.e. position, direction, movement), communicate with the same cell 5a).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Hashem to have the features, as taught by Mildh in order to manage to a set of wireless terminals being in the same vehicle, such as a car, bus, train, etc. (Mildh, [0065]).
Hashem teaches the claimed limitations as stated above. Hashem does not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 15, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the network node to identify the vicinity of the plurality of UEs or the trajectory of movement of the plurality of UEs in accordance with at least one of UE history information for one or more UEs of the plurality of UEs, a list of cells associated with a handover performed by one or more UEs of the plurality of UEs, or a minimization of drive test associated with one or more UEs of the plurality of UEs.
As to claim 15, Mildh teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the network node to identify the vicinity of the plurality of UEs or the trajectory of movement of the plurality of UEs (Mildh, [0024], “receiving at least one message from the source network node, wherein the at least one message indicates that a first wireless device and a second wireless device both belong to a mobility group determined to share mobility characteristics”) in accordance with at least one of UE history information for one or more UEs of the plurality of UEs (Mildh, Fig. 2, [0012], “The mobility group history data may comprise at least one of: duration of the mobility group being connected to the source network node, duration of the mobility group staying together, movement speed of the mobility group”), a list of cells associated with a handover performed by one or more UEs of the plurality of UEs (Mildh, Fig. 2, [0012], “The mobility group history data may comprise at least one of:…visited cells of the mobility group”), or a minimization of drive test associated with one or more UEs of the plurality of UEs.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Hashem to have the features, as taught by Mildh in order to manage to a set of wireless terminals being in the same vehicle, such as a car, bus, train, etc. (Mildh, [0065]).
Hashem teaches the claimed limitations as stated above. Hashem does not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 23, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to identify that the plurality of UEs are to be associated with the virtual UE based at least in part on mobility information received from each UE of the plurality of UEs.
As to claim 23, Mildh teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to identify that the plurality of UEs are to be associated with the virtual UE based at least in part on mobility information received from each UE of the plurality of UEs (Mildh, Fig. 2, [0063], “The first wireless terminal 2a, second wireless terminal 2b and the third wireless terminal 2c share mobility characteristics, i.e. they move in essentially the same way, e.g. in terms of position and/or direction and speed. This is detected in the cellular network and the wireless terminals 2a-c are assigned to a mobility group 9 to simplify network operations related to the wireless terminals 2a-c of the mobility group 9”, [0064], “The mobility group 9 can be defined using any one or more wireless device specific parameters, such as timing advance values, position (e.g. using triangulation or satellite positioning such as global positioning system (GPS)), speed, direction and relative position of the wireless terminals”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Hashem to have the features, as taught by Mildh in order to manage to a set of wireless terminals being in the same vehicle, such as a car, bus, train, etc. (Mildh, [0065]).
Hashem teaches the claimed limitations as stated above. Hashem does not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 26, wherein the plurality of UEs are associated with the virtual UE in accordance with at least one of a vicinity of the plurality of UEs or a trajectory of movement of the plurality of UEs.
As to claim 26, Mildh teaches wherein the plurality of UEs are associated with the virtual UE in accordance with at least one of a vicinity of the plurality of UEs or a trajectory of movement of the plurality of UEs (Mildh, Fig. 2, [0063]-[0064], the wireless terminals 2a-c are assigned to a mobility group 9, which share mobility characteristics, i.e. they move in essentially the same way, e.g. in terms of position and/or direction and speed).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Hashem to have the features, as taught by Mildh in order to manage to a set of wireless terminals being in the same vehicle, such as a car, bus, train, etc. (Mildh, [0065]).
Hashem teaches the claimed limitations as stated above. Hashem does not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 30, wherein the plurality of UEs are associated with the virtual UE in accordance with at least one of a vicinity of the plurality of UEs or a trajectory of movement of the plurality of UEs.
As to claim 30, Mildh teaches wherein the plurality of UEs are associated with the virtual UE in accordance with at least one of a vicinity of the plurality of UEs or a trajectory of movement of the plurality of UEs (Mildh, Fig. 2, [0063]-[0064], the wireless terminals 2a-c are assigned to a mobility group 9, which share mobility characteristics, i.e. they move in essentially the same way, e.g. in terms of position and/or direction and speed).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Hashem to have the features, as taught by Mildh in order to manage to a set of wireless terminals being in the same vehicle, such as a car, bus, train, etc. (Mildh, [0065]).
Claims 5, 16 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hashem et al. (US 2002/0122403), hereinafter “Hashem” in view of Zourob et al. (US 2025/0024343), hereinafter “Zourob”.
Hashem teaches the claimed limitations as stated above. Hashem does not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 5, wherein the radio resource management information indicates for each UE of the plurality of UEs to reduce a radio resource management measurement requirement or to reduce a quantity of objects to be measured.
As to claim 5, Zourob teaches wherein the radio resource management information indicates for each UE of the plurality of UEs (Zourob, Fig. 2, [0053], “Meaning that the second User Equipment will report to the BS the number of first User Equipments on board, and the BS may treat the second User Equipment and its identified first User Equipments as a one single UE with a big demand of resources; virtual UE”, Fig. 3, [0101], the RRM settings are determined for the second UE and the one or more first UEs) to reduce a radio resource management measurement requirement or to reduce a quantity of objects to be measured (Zourob, Fig. 2, [0058], “If the virtual UE is approaching a BS that is not guaranteed to have enough resources to cover all the UEs within the virtual UE, the NW can prepare for that ahead of time using different scheduling mechanisms”, [0059], “allow the NW to plan RRM not only across two BSs, but across all BSs that the device will go through based on the information from the third-party applications. During this period, either the device can skip the RRM measurements altogether or perform them at a reduced rate based on its data's sensitivity to latency (sensors vs smart phones) or when being at the edges of a cell for handover related issues. The BS can control the frequency of measurements in that case”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Hashem to have the features, as taught by Zourob in order for a network to prepare ahead of time for a virtual UE approaching a BS which has not guaranteed to have enough resources to cover all the UE withing the virtual UE, by using different scheduling mechanisms (Zourob, [0058]).
Hashem teaches the claimed limitations as stated above. Hashem does not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 16, wherein the radio resource management information indicates for each UE of the plurality of UEs to reduce a radio resource management measurement requirement or to reduce a quantity of objects to be measured.
As to claim 16, Zourob teaches wherein the radio resource management information indicates for each UE of the plurality of UEs (Zourob, Fig. 2, [0053], “Meaning that the second User Equipment will report to the BS the number of first User Equipments on board, and the BS may treat the second User Equipment and its identified first User Equipments as a one single UE with a big demand of resources; virtual UE”, Fig. 3, [0101], the RRM settings are determined for the second UE and the one or more first UEs) to reduce a radio resource management measurement requirement or to reduce a quantity of objects to be measured (Zourob, Fig. 2, [0058], “If the virtual UE is approaching a BS that is not guaranteed to have enough resources to cover all the UEs within the virtual UE, the NW can prepare for that ahead of time using different scheduling mechanisms”, [0059], “allow the NW to plan RRM not only across two BSs, but across all BSs that the device will go through based on the information from the third-party applications. During this period, either the device can skip the RRM measurements altogether or perform them at a reduced rate based on its data's sensitivity to latency (sensors vs smart phones) or when being at the edges of a cell for handover related issues. The BS can control the frequency of measurements in that case”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Hashem to have the features, as taught by Zourob in order for a network to prepare ahead of time for a virtual UE approaching a BS which has not guaranteed to have enough resources to cover all the UE withing the virtual UE, by using different scheduling mechanisms (Zourob, [0058]).
Hashem teaches the claimed limitations as stated above. Hashem does not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 27, wherein the radio resource management information indicates for each UE of the plurality of UEs to reduce a radio resource management measurement requirement or to reduce a quantity of objects to be measured.
As to claim 27, Zourob teaches wherein the radio resource management information indicates for each UE of the plurality of UEs (Zourob, Fig. 2, [0053], “Meaning that the second User Equipment will report to the BS the number of first User Equipments on board, and the BS may treat the second User Equipment and its identified first User Equipments as a one single UE with a big demand of resources; virtual UE”, Fig. 3, [0101], the RRM settings are determined for the second UE and the one or more first UEs) to reduce a radio resource management measurement requirement or to reduce a quantity of objects to be measured (Zourob, Fig. 2, [0058], “If the virtual UE is approaching a BS that is not guaranteed to have enough resources to cover all the UEs within the virtual UE, the NW can prepare for that ahead of time using different scheduling mechanisms”, [0059], “allow the NW to plan RRM not only across two BSs, but across all BSs that the device will go through based on the information from the third-party applications. During this period, either the device can skip the RRM measurements altogether or perform them at a reduced rate based on its data's sensitivity to latency (sensors vs smart phones) or when being at the edges of a cell for handover related issues. The BS can control the frequency of measurements in that case”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Hashem to have the features, as taught by Zourob in order for a network to prepare ahead of time for a virtual UE approaching a BS which has not guaranteed to have enough resources to cover all the UE withing the virtual UE, by using different scheduling mechanisms (Zourob, [0058]).
Claims 6, 17 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hashem et al. (US 2002/0122403), hereinafter “Hashem” in view of Kim et al. (US 2021/0105643), hereinafter “Kim”.
Hashem teaches the claimed limitations as stated above. Hashem does not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 6, wherein the radio resource management information indicates for each UE of the plurality of UEs to perform a radio resource management measurement for a cell having a high priority.
As to claim 6, Kim teaches wherein the radio resource management information indicates for each UE of the plurality of UEs (Kim, [0222], Fig. 2A, the UEs collect information and is transmitted to a gNB) to perform a radio resource management measurement for a cell having a high priority (Kim, Fig. 2D, [0269], “when the UE 2d-05 receives frequency priority information through system information or a dedicated signaling message and a frequency having a higher priority than that of the serving cell on which the UE 2d-05 currently camps exists among frequencies in which the frequency priority information is configured, the UE 2d-05 may need to perform a normal RRM measurement operation on the corresponding frequency… Also, the gNB 2d-10 may selectively configure whether to always perform a normal RRM measurement operation on the frequency having the higher priority, through the dedicated signaling”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Hashem to have the features, as taught by Kim in order to efficiently reduce power consumption of a UE by proposing a criterion for relaxed measurement for each parameter provided for radio resource management (RRM) measurement for each of intra-frequencies measurement and inter-frequencies measurement. (Kim, [0219]).
Hashem teaches the claimed limitations as stated above. Hashem does not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 17, wherein the radio resource management information indicates for each UE of the plurality of UEs to perform a radio resource management measurement for a cell having a high priority.
As to claim 17, Kim teaches wherein the radio resource management information indicates for each UE of the plurality of UEs (Kim, [0222], Fig. 2A, the UEs collect information and is transmitted to a gNB) to perform a radio resource management measurement for a cell having a high priority (Kim, Fig. 2D, [0269], “when the UE 2d-05 receives frequency priority information through system information or a dedicated signaling message and a frequency having a higher priority than that of the serving cell on which the UE 2d-05 currently camps exists among frequencies in which the frequency priority information is configured, the UE 2d-05 may need to perform a normal RRM measurement operation on the corresponding frequency… Also, the gNB 2d-10 may selectively configure whether to always perform a normal RRM measurement operation on the frequency having the higher priority, through the dedicated signaling”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Hashem to have the features, as taught by Kim in order to efficiently reduce power consumption of a UE by proposing a criterion for relaxed measurement for each parameter provided for radio resource management (RRM) measurement for each of intra-frequencies measurement and inter-frequencies measurement. (Kim, [0219]).
Hashem teaches the claimed limitations as stated above. Hashem does not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 28, wherein the radio resource management information indicates for each UE of the plurality of UEs to perform a radio resource management measurement for a cell having a high priority.
As to claim 28, Kim teaches wherein the radio resource management information indicates for each UE of the plurality of UEs (Kim, [0222], Fig. 2A, the UEs collect information and is transmitted to a gNB) to perform a radio resource management measurement for a cell having a high priority (Kim, Fig. 2D, [0269], “when the UE 2d-05 receives frequency priority information through system information or a dedicated signaling message and a frequency having a higher priority than that of the serving cell on which the UE 2d-05 currently camps exists among frequencies in which the frequency priority information is configured, the UE 2d-05 may need to perform a normal RRM measurement operation on the corresponding frequency… Also, the gNB 2d-10 may selectively configure whether to always perform a normal RRM measurement operation on the frequency having the higher priority, through the dedicated signaling”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Hashem to have the features, as taught by Kim in order to efficiently reduce power consumption of a UE by proposing a criterion for relaxed measurement for each parameter provided for radio resource management (RRM) measurement for each of intra-frequencies measurement and inter-frequencies measurement. (Kim, [0219]).
Claims 8, 10, 19 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hashem et al. (US 2002/0122403), hereinafter “Hashem” in view of Fukuta (US 2012/0172045).
Hashem teaches the claimed limitations as stated above. Hashem does not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 8, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to:
receive an indication to tag a geographic location associated with a measurement or a handover performed by the UE; and
tag the geographic location associated with the measurement or the handover performed by the UE.
As to claim 8, Fukuta teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to:
receive an indication to tag a geographic location associated with a measurement or a handover performed by the UE (Fukuta, Fig. 7, [0123], “In step S107, the radio base station 100A transmits a location information request requesting the transmission of information about the location measurement results to the radio terminal 200A”. [0121], “In step S105, the radio base station 100A decides whether or not it is necessary that the radio terminal 200A is made to perform a handover based on the measurement report received from the radio terminal 200A in step S104”. The location information request is received by the radio terminal in order to provide location information after a handover decision (step S105) and the measurement report has been transmitted (step S104)); and
tag the geographic location associated with the measurement or the handover performed by the UE (Fukuta, Fig. 7, [0124], “the radio terminal 200A performs location measurement in step S109, and at the same time, transmits a location information report indicating the location measurement results to the radio base station 100A”. The location information is determined after the handover decision (step S105) and the measurement report (S104)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Hashem to have the features, as taught by Fukuta in order to prevent the occurrence of a process load and communication delay due to useless handover, when a radio relay station is used (Fukuta, [0010]).
Hashem teaches the claimed limitations as stated above. Hashem does not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 10, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to receive an indication to perform a handover, wherein the indication to perform the handover is based at least in part on the mobility history information.
As to claim 10, Fukuta teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to receive an indication to perform a handover (Fukuta, Fig. 7, [0137], “If the difference between the relative distance 1 and the relative distance 2 in step S122 is equal to or less than the threshold value, then in step S124, the radio base station 100A determines a handover from the radio base station 100A to the relay node 300A, and transmits a command for a handover from the radio base station 100A to the relay node 300A to the radio terminal 200A”), wherein the indication to perform the handover is based at least in part on the mobility history information (Fukuta, Fig. 7, [0136]-[0137], the difference between the relative distance 1 and relative distance 2 is used to device the handover and transmit the command for handover. The relative distance 1 is maintained in step S111 and the relative distance 2 is based on the later steps S119-S120).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Hashem to have the features, as taught by Fukuta in order to prevent the occurrence of a process load and communication delay due to useless handover, when a radio relay station is used (Fukuta, [0010]).
Hashem teaches the claimed limitations as stated above. Hashem does not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 19, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the network node to transmit an indication for each UE of the plurality of UEs associated with the virtual UE to tag a geographic location associated with a measurement or a handover performed by the UE.
As to claim 19, Fukuta teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the network node to transmit an indication for each UE of the plurality of UEs associated with the virtual UE to tag a geographic location associated with a measurement or a handover performed by the UE (Fukuta, Fig. 7, [0123], “In step S107, the radio base station 100A transmits a location information request requesting the transmission of information about the location measurement results to the radio terminal 200A”. [0121], “In step S105, the radio base station 100A decides whether or not it is necessary that the radio terminal 200A is made to perform a handover based on the measurement report received from the radio terminal 200A in step S104”. The location information request is received by the radio terminal in order to provide location information after a handover decision (step S105) and the measurement report has been transmitted (step S104)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Hashem to have the features, as taught by Fukuta in order to prevent the occurrence of a process load and communication delay due to useless handover, when a radio relay station is used (Fukuta, [0010]).
Hashem teaches the claimed limitations as stated above. Hashem does not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 22, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the network node to transmit an indication for one or more UEs of the plurality of UEs associated with the virtual UE to perform a handover, wherein the indication to perform the handover is based at least in part on the mobility history information.
As to claim 22, Fukuta teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the network node to transmit an indication for one or more UEs of the plurality of UEs associated with the virtual UE to perform a handover (Fukuta, Fig. 7, [0137], “If the difference between the relative distance 1 and the relative distance 2 in step S122 is equal to or less than the threshold value, then in step S124, the radio base station 100A determines a handover from the radio base station 100A to the relay node 300A, and transmits a command for a handover from the radio base station 100A to the relay node 300A to the radio terminal 200A”), wherein the indication to perform the handover is based at least in part on the mobility history information (Fukuta, Fig. 7, [0136]-[0137], the difference between the relative distance 1 and relative distance 2 is used to device the handover and transmit the command for handover. The relative distance 1 is maintained in step S111 and the relative distance 2 is based on the later steps S119-S120).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Hashem to have the features, as taught by Fukuta in order to prevent the occurrence of a process load and communication delay due to useless handover, when a radio relay station is used (Fukuta, [0010]).
Claims 9 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hashem et al. (US 2002/0122403), hereinafter “Hashem” in view of Yiu et al. (US 2015/0111581), hereinafter “Yiu”.
Hashem teaches the claimed limitations as stated above. Hashem does not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 9, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to report a time of stay associated with a cell, wherein the time of stay associated with the cell indicates a time period during which the UE has been connected to the cell.
As to claim 9, Yiu teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to report a time of stay associated with a cell (Yiu, [0020], “A user equipment (UE) can report mobility information to a network device, such as an evolved node B (eNB)”, [0021], “The mobility information can include a physical cell identifier (ID) and a time of stay for which the UE stays in a cell corresponding with the physical cell ID”), wherein the time of stay associated with the cell indicates a time period during which the UE has been connected to the cell (Yiu, [0021], “The time of stay for each physical cell ID can be represented in seconds”, [0022], “the mobility information can include a first physical cell ID of 412 and an associated time of stay of 5.2 seconds”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Hashem to have the features, as taught by Yiu in order to enhance handover performance (Yiu, [0050]).
Hashem teaches the claimed limitations as stated above. Hashem does not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 20, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the network node to receive a time of stay indication from one or more UEs of the plurality of UEs associated with the virtual UE, wherein the time of stay indication indicates a time period during which the one or more UEs have been connected to a cell.
As to claim 20, Yiu teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the network node to receive a time of stay indication from one or more UEs of the plurality of UEs associated with the virtual UE (Yiu, [0020], “A user equipment (UE) can report mobility information to a network device, such as an evolved node B (eNB)”, [0021], “The mobility information can include a physical cell identifier (ID) and a time of stay for which the UE stays in a cell corresponding with the physical cell ID”), wherein the time of stay indication indicates a time period during which the one or more UEs have been connected to a cell (Yiu, [0021], “The time of stay for each physical cell ID can be represented in seconds”, [0022], “the mobility information can include a first physical cell ID of 412 and an associated time of stay of 5.2 seconds”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Hashem to have the features, as taught by Yiu in order to enhance handover performance (Yiu, [0050]).
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hashem et al. (US 2002/0122403), hereinafter “Hashem” in view of Torvinen (US 2005/0037708).
Hashem teaches the claimed limitations as stated above. Hashem does not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 24, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to identify that the plurality of UEs are to be associated with the virtual UE based at least in part on an indication that each UE of the plurality of UEs is discoverable via Wi-Fi or Bluetooth.
As to claim 24, Torvinen teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to identify that the plurality of UEs are to be associated with the virtual UE based at least in part on an indication that each UE of the plurality of UEs is discoverable via Wi-Fi or Bluetooth (Torvinen, [0052], the manager forms groups based on the capability of the terminals to perform discovery via Bluetooth. [0054], “A capabilities exchange, for example, may have occurred during a participating terminal's initial request to join the tour group”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Hashem to have the features, as taught by Torvinen in order to enable management and guidance of a group in a concentrated manner during a session and facilitates sharing of data/software with the group (Torvinen, [0009]).
Conclusion
/RICARDO H CASTANEYRA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2473