DETAILED ACTION
This action is filed in response to the amendment filed on 8/06/2026.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 8/06/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding the rejections under 35 USC 101, applicant first argues the identification steps of the independent claims are not mental processes because they rely, “on specific, quantifiable physical threshold comparisons.” Examiner notes making comparisons is a mental process that can practically be performed in the human mind or with pen and paper. The applicant also argues the comparisons comprise a large amount of data and occurs on a computer. The courts do not distinguish between mental processes that are performed entirely in the human mind and mental processes that require a human to use a physical aid (e.g., pen and paper or a slide rule) to perform the claim limitation. Nor do the courts distinguish between claims that recite mental processes performed by humans and claims that recite mental processes performed on a computer. As the Federal Circuit has explained, "[c]ourts have examined claims that required the use of a computer and still found that the underlying, patent-ineligible invention could be performed via pen and paper or in a person' s mind." Versata Dev. Group v. SAP Am., Inc., 793 F.3d 1306, 1335, 115 USPQ2d 1681, 1702 (Fed. Cir. 2015). See also Intellectual Ventures I LLC v. Symantec Corp., 838 F.3d 1307, 1318, 120 USPQ2d 1353, 1360 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (‘‘[W]ith the exception of generic computer-implemented steps, there is nothing in the claims themselves that foreclose them from being performed by a human, mentally or with pen and paper.' ' ). See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2).III. Regarding the instant application, although the size of the data set being received and analyzed may be large, and the use of a generic computer would surely speed up the analysis, there is nothing inherent to the claim that would prevent the abstract limitations from being performed by a human. For at least these reasons, Applicant' s argument is not persuasive.
Applicant lastly argues that the step of determining aerosol emission sources as an improvement to the technical field. Examiner notes as claimed, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, determining an emission source is recited with such a high level of generality that it can be interpreted as a mental process. Examiner notes as cited in MPEP 2106.05(a) “It is important to note, the judicial exception alone cannot provide the improvement. The improvement can be provided by one or more additional elements.” Here, as the determination of emission sources is an abstract idea it cannot provide the improvement.
All 35 USC 101 rejections are maintained. All prior art rejections are also maintained and the rationales for rejection are fully enumerated in the sections below.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are:
Claim 8: a depolarization ratio determining module; a cloud type identifying module; an aerosol identifying module
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. Examiner has found it would be reasonable to interpret the structure of the claim 8 modules to be programs in a computer in light of the specification [0036]-[0037].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101. The claimed invention is directed to the abstract concept of performing mental steps without significantly more. Claim 1 and similarly Claim 8 recite the following abstract concepts in BOLD of:
A method for identifying a type of an atmospheric aerosol, wherein the method is executed by a computer system including a processor and a memory, comprising:
determining a depolarization ratio and an aerosol extinction coefficient of an atmospheric area to be identified according to a lidar signal and a relative humidity profile of the atmospheric area to be identified;
identifying a cloud type of the atmospheric area to be identified according to the lidar signal and the relative humidity profile; and
identifying a type of the atmospheric aerosol in the atmospheric area to be identified based on the cloud type, the depolarization ratio and the aerosol extinction coefficient;
determining aerosol emission sources and an aerosol long-distance transmission process to provide air pollution control policies according to the type of the atmospheric aerosol;
wherein identifying the type of the atmospheric aerosol in the atmospheric area to be identified based on the cloud type, the depolarization ratio and the aerosol extinction coefficient, includes:
identifying a fog type of the atmospheric area to be identified according to the aerosol extinction coefficient when the cloud type is a cloudless type; and
identifying the type of the atmospheric aerosol in the atmospheric area to be identified based on the fog type and the depolarization ratio;
wherein the depolarization ratio is a particulate depolarization ratio, and identifying the type of the atmospheric aerosol in the atmospheric area to be identified based on the fog type and the depolarization ratio comprises:
comparing the particulate depolarization ratio with a preset first particulate standard
value when the fog type is a fogless type; and
determining that the type of the atmospheric aerosol in the atmospheric area to be identified is a dust aerosol when the depolarization ratio of the atmospheric area is greater than the preset first particulate standard value;
wherein after comparing the particulate depolarization ratio with the preset first particulate standard value when the fog type is the fogless type, the method comprises:
comparing the particulate depolarization ratio with a preset second particulate standard value when the particulate depolarization ratio is less than or equal to the preset first particulate standard value; and
determining that the type of the atmospheric aerosol in the atmospheric area to be identified is a mixed aerosol when the particulate depolarization ratio is greater than the preset second particulate standard value; or determining that the type of the atmospheric aerosol in the atmospheric area to be identified is an artificially polluted aerosol when the particulate depolarization ratio is less than or equal to the preset second particulate standard value.
Under Step 1 of the eligibility analysis, we determine whether the claims are to a statutory category by considering whether the claimed subject matter falls within the four statutory categories of patentable subject matter identified by 35 U.S.C. 101: process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter.
Claims 1-14 are considered to be in a statutory category as Claims 1-7 are drawn to a method, Claims 8-14 are drawn to a device, and Claims 15-20 are drawn to a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium.
Under Step 2A, Prong One, we consider whether the claim recites a judicial exception (abstract idea). In the above claim, the highlighted portion constitutes an abstract idea because, under a broadest reasonable interpretation, it recites limitations that fall into/recite abstract idea exceptions. Specifically, under the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance, it falls into the grouping of subject matter that, when recited as such in a claim limitation, covers performing mathematics or mental steps. The step of determining a depolarization ratio and an aerosol extinction coefficient of an atmospheric area to be identified according to a lidar signal and a relative humidity profile could either be considered as performing mathematics or a mental process depending on one's interpretation of the limitation, while the steps of identifying a cloud type and identifying a type of the atmospheric aerosol, identifying a fog type, and the comparison steps can all be interpreted as mental processes that can be performed in the human mind.
Next, under Step 2A, Prong Two, we consider whether the claim that recites a judicial exception is integrated into a practical application. In this step, we evaluate whether the claim recites additional elements that integrate the exception into a practical application of that exception.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because there is no improvement to another technology or technical field; improvements to the functioning of the computer itself; a particular machine; effecting a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing. Examiner notes that the claimed methods and system are not tied to a particular machine or apparatus thus they do not represent an improvement to another technology or technical field. Similarly there are no other meaningful limitations linking the use to a particular technological environment. Finally, there is nothing in the claims that indicates an improvement to the functioning of the computer itself or transform a particular article to a new state.
Under Step 2B, we consider whether the additional elements are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because Claim 1 recites no additional elements and claim 8 recites functional language such as “a cloud type identification module” that indicate a field of use but not a particular machine or any practical applications.
Furthermore as recited in MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)III.(C) “Claims can recite a mental process even if they are claimed as being performed on a computer. The Supreme Court recognized this in Benson, determining that a mathematical algorithm for converting binary coded decimal to pure binary within a computer’s shift register was an abstract idea. The Court concluded that the algorithm could be performed purely mentally even though the claimed procedures "can be carried out in existing computers long in use, no new machinery being necessary." 409 U.S at 67, 175 USPQ at 675. See also Mortgage Grader, 811 F.3d at 1324, 117 USPQ2d at 1699 (concluding that concept of "anonymous loan shopping" recited in a computer system claim is an abstract idea because it could be "performed by humans without a computer").”
Claims 5-7, 9, 13-15, and 19-20 further limit the abstract ideas without integrating the abstract concept into a practical application or including additional limitations that can be considered significantly more than the abstract idea:
Claims 6-7, 14, and 20 further limit the mental processes of Claim 1 without significantly more.
Claims 9 and 15 teach general computing elements generic computer elements that are not considered significantly more than the abstract idea. As recited in the MPEP, 2106.05(b), merely adding a generic computer, generic computer components, or a programmed computer to perform generic computer functions does not automatically overcome an eligibility rejection. Alice Corp. Pty. Ltd. v. CLS Bank Int'l, 134 S. Ct. 2347, 2359-60, 110 USPQ2d 1976, 1984 (2014). See also OIP Techs. v. Amazon.com, 788 F.3d 1359, 1364, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1093-94.
Claims 5, 13, and 19 teach selecting a particular data type to be manipulated which is insignificant extra solution activity and not significantly more than the abstract ideas. See MPEP 2106.05(g)(3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5-7, 9, 13-15, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang (CN112698354A) in view of Wang (CN111551961A) and in further view of Ma (CN112364940) and Pantazis (WO2020025984A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Huang teaches a method for identifying a type of an atmospheric aerosol(e.g. see [0009] “The main objective of this application is to provide a method and system for identifying atmospheric aerosols and clouds, based on a method for identifying aerosol and cloud types using dual-band polarization lidar observations, in order to solve the problems of misjudgment and complexity in current lidar cloud and aerosol identification algorithms, and to improve the accuracy of identifying aerosol and cloud types”), wherein the method is executed by a computer system including a processor and a memory (e.g. see [0125]), comprising:
determining a depolarization ratio according to a lidar signal (e.g. see [0024] “Secondary classification based on depolarization ratio: Receive lidar correction data, analyze the lidar correction data to obtain the 532nm and 355nm depolarization ratio δ”);
identifying a cloud type of the atmospheric area to be identified according to the lidar signal (e.g. see [ 0043] “This technology can collect raw lidar data on aerosols and cloud types based on a ground-based dual band polarization lidar system “) and
identifying a type of the atmospheric aerosol in the atmospheric area to be identified based on the cloud type and the depolarization ratio (e.g. [0101-0102] “The analysis yielded the depolarization ratio δ<sub>532</sub>/δ<sub>355</sub> threshold values for dust, anthropogenic pollutants, dust + anthropogenic pollutants, water clouds, ice clouds, and mixed phase clouds. [n0102] By combining six types—ice clouds, mixed-phase clouds, water clouds, dust aerosols, anthropogenic pollutants, and a mixture of both—the specific types of atmospheric aerosols and clouds used in this application for lidar are determined” ),
determining aerosol emission sources (e.g. see [0044]),
wherein identifying the type of the atmospheric aerosol in the atmospheric area to be identified based on the cloud type, the depolarization ratio and the aerosol extinction coefficient, includes: determining a cloud type as cloudless (e.g. see [0087] “Aerosol identification and judgment: When the color ratio CR<sub>532nm/355nm</sub> and the attenuated backscattering coefficient ABC<sub>532</sub> meet the preset threshold, the aerosol and cloud type are determined to be aerosols”), and identifying the type of the atmospheric aerosol in the atmospheric area to be identified based on the depolarization ratio (e.g. see [0093-0094]) “S5: Secondary classification based on depolarization ratio: Receive lidar correction data, analyze the lidar correction data to obtain the 532nm and 355nm depolarization ratio δ<sub>532</sub>/ δ<sub>355</sub> of the particle to be identified, and upload it; [n0094] obtain the depolarization ratio δ<sub>532</sub>/δ<sub>355</sub> and compare it with the preset threshold condition for the depolarization ratio to obtain the specific types of aerosols and clouds”),
wherein the depolarization ratio is a particulate depolarization ratio, and identifying the type of the atmospheric aerosol in the atmospheric area to be identified based on the fog type and the depolarization ratio comprises: determining that the type of the atmospheric aerosol in the atmospheric area to be identified is a dust aerosol when the depolarization ratio of the atmospheric area is greater than the preset first particulate standard value (e.g. see [0096-0097] “The preset threshold values for the depolarization ratio are different for aerosols and clouds, as shown in Figure 2. [n0097] Aerosols: The depolarization ratio δ<sub>532</sub>/δ<sub>355</sub> is divided into three ranges, with limit values of 0.8, 1.1 and 2.5 respectively. Based on the analysis of lidar correction data, when the depolarization ratio δ<sub>532</sub>/δ<sub>355</sub> of the particles to be identified at 532nm and 355nm meets the corresponding ratio, they can be identified as dust, mixed layer and anthropogenic pollutant, respectively”),
wherein after comparing the particulate depolarization ratio with the preset first particulate standard value when the fog type is the fogless type, the method comprises:
comparing the particulate depolarization ratio with a preset second particulate standard value when the particulate depolarization ratio is less than or equal to the preset first particulate standard value; and determining that the type of the atmospheric aerosol in the atmospheric area to be identified is a mixed aerosol when the particulate depolarization ratio is greater than the preset second particulate standard value (e.g. see [0044] “based on the above analysis results of aerosols and cloud types, this technology can specifically classify and judge them as follows: receiving lidar correction data, analyzing the lidar correction data to obtain the depolarization ratios δ<sub>532</sub>/δ<sub>355</sub> of the particles to be identified at 532nm and 355nm and uploading them; and obtaining the depolarization ratios δ<sub>532</sub>/δ<sub>355</sub> and comparing them with the preset threshold conditions for the depolarization ratios to obtain the specific types of aerosols and clouds respectively. From this, the specific types of aerosols and clouds can be classified, and a comprehensive classification of six types can be obtained: ice clouds, mixed phase clouds, water clouds, dust aerosols, anthropogenic pollutants, and a mixture of the two, thereby improving the accuracy of identifying aerosol and cloud types”);
or determining that the type of the atmospheric aerosol in the atmospheric area to be identified is an artificially polluted aerosol when the particulate depolarization ratio is less than or equal to the preset second particulate standard value.
Huang does not explicitly disclose determining a depolarization ratio and an aerosol extinction coefficient of an atmospheric area to be identified according to a lidar signal and a relative humidity profile of the atmospheric area to be identified; identifying a cloud type of the atmospheric area to be identified according to the lidar signal and the relative humidity profile; and identifying a type of the atmospheric aerosol in the atmospheric area to be identified based on the cloud type, the depolarization ratio and the aerosol extinction coefficient.
In the same field of endeavor, Wang teaches determining a depolarization ratio and an aerosol extinction coefficient of an atmospheric area to be identified according to a lidar signal (e.g. see [0011] “S1: Optical parameters of inverted aerosols were observed using multi-wavelength lidar, including: extinction coefficients (α<sub>355</sub>, α<sub>532</sub>) at wavelengths of 355 and 532 nm, backscattering coefficients (β<sub>355</sub>, β<sub>532</sub>, β<sub>1064</sub>) at wavelengths of 355, 532 and 1064 nm, lidar ratio and depolarization ratio at 532 nm”) and a relative humidity profile of the atmospheric area to be identified (e.g. see [0013] “Using radiosonde data to obtain the atmospheric relative humidity profile and combining it with the aerosol optical parameter observations”);
identifying a cloud type of the atmospheric area to be identified according to the lidar signal and the relative humidity profile (e.g. see [0066-0068] “Using radiosonde data to obtain the atmospheric relative humidity profile and combining it with the aerosol optical parameter observations (β<sub>355</sub>, β<sub>532</sub>, β<sub>1064</sub>, α<sub>355</sub>, α<sub>532</sub>) from step S1, calculate the hygroscopic enhancement factor of the aerosol optical parameters and the optical parameter correction values after considering relative humidity.[0067]Step S4: Select the dual-modal log-normal distribution as the spectral distribution model for the three types of aerosols, establish a T-matrix scattering model that considers the shape of aerosol particles, and establish a lookup table that correlates the spectral distribution parameters of different types of aerosols with the optical parameters of aerosols by combining long-term ground-based Aeronet observation data. [0068]Step S5: Based on the aerosol type, aerosol optical parameter correction values and lookup table obtained from steps S2, S3 and S4, the vertical distribution of aerosol spectral distribution parameters is obtained by inversion. On this basis, the vertical profiles of cloud condensation nucleus number concentrations under different supersaturation ratios are further calculated”); and
identifying a type of the atmospheric aerosol in the atmospheric area to be identified based on the cloud type, the depolarization ratio and the aerosol extinction coefficient (e.g. see [0064-0068]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to combine the cloud and aerosol type identification method of Huang with the extinction coefficient and humidity profile embodiments of Wang for the purpose of identifying the cloud and aerosol types with the advantage of additional data used to improve the accuracy of the identifications.
While Huang teaches determining aerosol emissions sources, Huang as modified by Wang does not explicitly disclose determining aerosol emission sources and an aerosol long-distance transmission process to provide air pollution control policies according to the type of the atmospheric aerosol.
In the same field of endeavor, Ma teaches determining aerosol emission sources and an aerosol long-distance transmission process to provide air pollution control policies according to the type of the atmospheric aerosol (e.g., see [pg. 2 paragraph 2] “The source of the atmospheric pollution is to effectively control atmospheric pollution, and to ensure environmental safety and sustainable development,” and [pg. 3 paragraph 14 – pg. 15 paragraph 1] “according to the collected historical sample data, performing statistical classification according to the type of the pollution source, obtaining the condition probability of each type of pollution source under the specific condition. As a further improvement of the present invention, the collecting method of the historical sample data, comprising: inquiring each detection point log in the target area; obtaining daily pollution source information; meteorological parameter and geographic information,”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to combine the emission sources of Huang as modified by Wang with the long distance transmission and pollution control policies of Ma for the purpose of identifying pollutants with the advantage of proactively combating pollution.
Huang as modified by Wang and Ma does not explicitly disclose Huang as modified by Wang does not explicitly disclose identifying a fog type of the atmospheric area to be identified according to the aerosol extinction coefficient when the cloud type is a cloudless type; and identifying the type of the atmospheric aerosol in the atmospheric area to be identified based on the fog type and the depolarization ratio,
comparing the particulate depolarization ratio with a preset first particulate standard value when the fog type is a fogless type.
In the same field of endeavor, Pantazis discloses identifying a fog type of the atmospheric area to be identified according to the aerosol extinction coefficient when the cloud type is a cloudless type (e.g. see [pg. 4 lines 32-36] “receiving a plurality of lidar return signals, each of said signals providing return signal parameters (p) comprising a Range Squared Corrected lidar Signal (RCS) that is the received power P’(k,R) after atmospheric and electronic noise background (BG) correction, a range (R) dependent variable extinction coefficient,” and [pg. 39 lines 45-47] “The same 3D scanning lidar and the above-mentioned techniques and data, can be used to characterize the atmospheric conditions (type of fog, haze, etc.), plus the visibility”); and
identifying the type of the atmospheric aerosol in the atmospheric area to be identified based on the fog type and the depolarization ratio (e.g. see [Table 1 on pg. 11] and [pg. 9 lines 28-31] “an important characteristic of the invention is the employment of a lidar ratio C(L,R)= a.sub.aer(7,R)/p.sub.aer(7,R) that is being set at a predetermined value that corresponds to the type of atmospheric layer being detected. A classification of these variable atmospheric layers and variable values of a, b and C is presented in Table 1 herein below”),
comparing the particulate depolarization ratio with a preset first particulate standard value when the fog type is a fogless type (e.g. see [Table 1 on pg.11] and [pg. 26 lines 20-26] “Layers, can also be colored as well, through the production of the optical depth (x) (Eq. 8) of each layer and a categorization can be made, according to Table 1 at any wavelength that the lidar system is transmitting (Figs. 2a, 2b, 4b). In this way, a layering can be made also, with the cooperation of the “Weather Phenomena” algorithm as illustrated in Figs. 5d. It is also practical for depolarization capability lidars to color the different kinds of aerosol at any distance and a profile of the aerosol layering depth of each kind, can be made, for reasons of being handy to use and visualize.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to combine the aerosol and cloud type identification of Huang as modified by Wang with the fog identification of Pantazis for the purpose of identifying aerosols with the advantage of additional atmospheric information top improve the accuracy of any classification.
Regarding Claim 5, Huang, Wang, Ma, and Pantazis teach the limitations of Claim 1. Huang does not explicitly disclose when the type of the atmospheric aerosol is determined to be a particulate type, inverting a mass concentration profile of the particulate-type aerosol in the atmospheric area according to the aerosol extinction coefficient of the atmospheric area to be identified.
In the same field of endeavor, Wang teaches when the type of the atmospheric aerosol is determined to be a particulate type, inverting a mass concentration profile of the particulate-type aerosol in the atmospheric area according to the aerosol extinction coefficient of the atmospheric area to be identified (e.g. see [0010-0012] “A method for inverting the vertical profile of cloud condensation nucleus number concentration based on multi-wavelength lidar includes the following steps: [0011] S1: Optical parameters of inverted aerosols were observed using multi-wavelength lidar, including: extinction coefficients (α<sub>355</sub>, α<sub>532</sub>) at wavelengths of 355 and 532 nm, backscattering coefficients (β<sub>355</sub>, β<sub>532</sub>, β<sub>1064</sub>) at wavelengths of 355, 532 and 1064 nm, lidar ratio and depolarization ratio at 532 nm. [0012] S2: Use the lidar ratio and depolarization ratio obtained in step S1 to determine the type of aerosol”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill of the art before the effective filling date to combine the aerosol determination method of Huang with the inverted profile of Wang for the purpose of identifying aerosols with the advantage of additional atmospheric information top improve the accuracy of any classification.
Regarding Claim 6, Huang, Wang, Ma, and Pantazis teach the limitations of Claim 1. Huang does not explicitly disclose determining whether the atmospheric area is a foggy type according to the relative humidity profile when the cloud type is the cloudless type.
In the same field of endeavor, Wang teaches determining whether the atmospheric area is a foggy type according to the relative humidity profile when the cloud type is the cloudless type (e.g. see[0029-0032] “Furthermore, the aerosol type determination criteria in step S2 are as follows: the lidar ratio and depolarization ratio ranges at 532nm for urban industrial aerosols (Type 1), biomass combustion aerosols (Type 2), and dust aerosols (Type 3) are 45-70sr and 0-6%, 55-70sr and 2-10%, and 30-50sr and 15-30%, respectively.[0030] Furthermore, step S3 requires calculating the hygroscopic enhancement factor of the aerosol optical parameters, using the following formula:n[0032]RH is the relative humidity obtained from radiosonde data, r is the dry radius of the particle, ξ(RH,r) represents the aerosol optical parameters when the dry aerosol radius is r and the relative humidity is RH, and RH<sub>ref</sub> is selected as the reference relative humidity to represent a relatively dry atmospheric environment,” and [0053-0054] “The optical parameter values were calculated using the T-matrix scattering model, taking into account the differences in scattering characteristics between spherical and non-spherical aerosol particles. This overcame the error caused by using only the Mie scattering model and improved the accuracy of the CCN number concentration inversion results for different types of aerosols. [0054] (2) The measured aerosol optical parameters were corrected to dry aerosol optical parameters by using the calculated hygroscopic enhancement factor, thus correcting the influence of aerosol hygroscopicity on the CCN number concentration inversion results under high atmospheric relative humidity.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to combine the cloud and aerosol type identification method of Huang with the humidity profile embodiments of Wang for the purpose of identifying the cloud and aerosol types with the advantage of additional data used to improve the accuracy of the identifications.
Huang as modified by Wang does not explicitly disclose comparing the aerosol extinction coefficient with a preset first fog concentration standard value when the atmospheric area is the foggy type; and determining that the fog type of the atmospheric area to be identified is a dense fog type when the aerosol extinction coefficient is greater than the preset first fog concentration standard value; or determining that the fog type of the atmospheric area to be identified is a mist type when the aerosol extinction coefficient is less than or equal to the preset first fog concentration standard value.
In the same field of endeavor, Pantazis teaches comparing the aerosol extinction coefficient with a preset first fog concentration standard value when the atmospheric area is the foggy type; and determining that the fog type of the atmospheric area to be identified is a dense fog type when the aerosol extinction coefficient is greater than the preset first fog concentration standard value (e.g. see [Table 1 on pg. 11] and [pg. 9 lines 28-31] “an important characteristic of the invention is the employment of a lidar ratio C(L,R)= a.sub.aer(7,R)/p.sub.aer(7,R) that is being set at a predetermined value that corresponds to the type of atmospheric layer being detected. A classification of these variable atmospheric layers and variable values of a, b and C is presented in Table 1 herein below”); or
determining that the fog type of the atmospheric area to be identified is a mist type when the aerosol extinction coefficient is less than or equal to the preset first fog concentration standard value.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to combine the aerosol and cloud type identification of Huang as modified by Wang with the fog identification of Pantazis for the purpose of identifying aerosols with the advantage of additional atmospheric information top improve the accuracy of any classification.
Regarding Claim 7, Huang, Wang, Ma and Pantazis teach the limitations of Claim 1. Huang further discloses comparing the atmospheric volume depolarization ratio (e.g. see [0060] “in this application, the particle volume depolarization ratio is the total depolarization ratio of atmospheric molecules and particles, and its value is a parameter of particle shape. The volume depolarization ratio (VDR) is defined by the ratio of the parallel component to the perpendicular component of the backscattered signal”) with a preset atmospheric volume standard value when the cloud type is a cloudy type; and
determining that the cloud type of the atmospheric area to be identified is an ice cloud type when the atmospheric volume depolarization ratio is greater than the preset atmospheric volume standard value (e.g. see [0039-0042] “Preferably, the cloud and aerosol identification and judgment module further includes: [n0040]Depolarization ratio secondary classification module: This module receives lidar correction data, analyzes the lidar correction data to derive the 532nm and 355nm depolarization ratios δ<sub>532</sub>/δ<sub>355</sub> for the particles to be identified, and uploads the results; and b[n0041]Obtain the depolarization ratio δ<sub>532</sub>/δ<sub>355</sub> and compare it with the preset threshold condition for the depolarization ratio to obtain the specific types of aerosols and clouds,” and [0075] “This technical solution, based on extensive experiments, integrates six types of clouds: ice clouds, mixed-phase clouds, water clouds, dust aerosols, anthropogenic pollutants, and mixtures of both, to arrive at the lidar atmospheric aerosol and cloud identification method in this application”); or
determining that the cloud type of the atmospheric area to be identified is a water cloud type when the atmospheric volume depolarization ratio is less than or equal to the preset atmospheric volume standard value (e.g. see [0075] “This technical solution, based on extensive experiments, integrates six types of clouds: ice clouds, mixed-phase clouds, water clouds, dust aerosols, anthropogenic pollutants, and mixtures of both, to arrive at the lidar atmospheric aerosol and cloud identification method in this application.”).
Regarding Claim 9, Huang, Wang, Ma, and Pantazis teach the limitations of Claim 1. Huang further discloses a device for identifying a device for identifying a type of an atmospheric aerosol, comprising: a memory, a processor, and a program for identifying the type of the atmospheric aerosol stored in the memory and operable on the processor, wherein the program for identifying the type of the atmospheric aerosol is configured to implement the method for identifying the type of the atmospheric aerosol (e.g. see [0125] “Through the above description of the embodiments, those skilled in the art can clearly understand that the methods of the above embodiments can be implemented by means of software plus necessary general-purpose hardware platforms. Of course, they can also be implemented by hardware, but in many cases the former is a better implementation method. Based on this understanding, the technical solution of the present invention, or the part that contributes to the prior art, can be embodied in the form of a software product. This computer software product is stored in a storage medium (such as ROM/RAM, magnetic disk, optical disk) and includes several instructions to cause a terminal (which may be a mobile phone, computer, server, air conditioner, or network device, etc.) to execute the methods described in the various embodiments of the present invention.”).
Regarding Claim 13, Huang, Wang, Ma, and Pantazis teach the limitations of Claim 9. Huang does not explicitly disclose when the type of the atmospheric aerosol is determined to be a particulate type, inverting a mass concentration profile of the particulate-type aerosol in the atmospheric area according to the aerosol extinction coefficient of the atmospheric area to be identified.
In the same field of endeavor, Wang teaches when the type of the atmospheric aerosol is determined to be a particulate type, inverting a mass concentration profile of the particulate-type aerosol in the atmospheric area according to the aerosol extinction coefficient of the atmospheric area to be identified (e.g. see [0010-0012] “A method for inverting the vertical profile of cloud condensation nucleus number concentration based on multi-wavelength lidar includes the following steps: [0011] S1: Optical parameters of inverted aerosols were observed using multi-wavelength lidar, including: extinction coefficients (α<sub>355</sub>, α<sub>532</sub>) at wavelengths of 355 and 532 nm, backscattering coefficients (β<sub>355</sub>, β<sub>532</sub>, β<sub>1064</sub>) at wavelengths of 355, 532 and 1064 nm, lidar ratio and depolarization ratio at 532 nm. [0012] S2: Use the lidar ratio and depolarization ratio obtained in step S1 to determine the type of aerosol”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill of the art before the effective filling date to combine the aerosol determination method of Huang with the inverted profile of Wang for the purpose of identifying aerosols with the advantage of additional atmospheric information top improve the accuracy of any classification.
Regarding Claim 14, Huang, Wang, Ma, and Pantazis teach the limitations of Claim 9. Huang does not explicitly disclose determining whether the atmospheric area is a foggy type according to the relative humidity profile when the cloud type is the cloudless type.
In the same field of endeavor, Wang teaches determining whether the atmospheric area is a foggy type according to the relative humidity profile when the cloud type is the cloudless type (e.g. see[0029-0032] “Furthermore, the aerosol type determination criteria in step S2 are as follows: the lidar ratio and depolarization ratio ranges at 532nm for urban industrial aerosols (Type 1), biomass combustion aerosols (Type 2), and dust aerosols (Type 3) are 45-70sr and 0-6%, 55-70sr and 2-10%, and 30-50sr and 15-30%, respectively.[0030] Furthermore, step S3 requires calculating the hygroscopic enhancement factor of the aerosol optical parameters, using the following formula:n[0032]RH is the relative humidity obtained from radiosonde data, r is the dry radius of the particle, ξ(RH,r) represents the aerosol optical parameters when the dry aerosol radius is r and the relative humidity is RH, and RH<sub>ref</sub> is selected as the reference relative humidity to represent a relatively dry atmospheric environment,” and [0053-0054] “The optical parameter values were calculated using the T-matrix scattering model, taking into account the differences in scattering characteristics between spherical and non-spherical aerosol particles. This overcame the error caused by using only the Mie scattering model and improved the accuracy of the CCN number concentration inversion results for different types of aerosols. [0054] (2) The measured aerosol optical parameters were corrected to dry aerosol optical parameters by using the calculated hygroscopic enhancement factor, thus correcting the influence of aerosol hygroscopicity on the CCN number concentration inversion results under high atmospheric relative humidity.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to combine the cloud and aerosol type identification method of Huang with the humidity profile embodiments of Wang for the purpose of identifying the cloud and aerosol types with the advantage of additional data used to improve the accuracy of the identifications.
Huang as modified by Wang does not explicitly disclose comparing the aerosol extinction coefficient with a preset first fog concentration standard value when the atmospheric area is the foggy type; and determining that the fog type of the atmospheric area to be identified is a dense fog type when the aerosol extinction coefficient is greater than the preset first fog concentration standard value; or determining that the fog type of the atmospheric area to be identified is a mist type when the aerosol extinction coefficient is less than or equal to the preset first fog concentration standard value.
In the same field of endeavor, Pantazis teaches comparing the aerosol extinction coefficient with a preset first fog concentration standard value when the atmospheric area is the foggy type; and determining that the fog type of the atmospheric area to be identified is a dense fog type when the aerosol extinction coefficient is greater than the preset first fog concentration standard value (e.g. see [Table 1 on pg. 11] and [pg. 9 lines 28-31] “an important characteristic of the invention is the employment of a lidar ratio C(L,R)= a.sub.aer(7,R)/p.sub.aer(7,R) that is being set at a predetermined value that corresponds to the type of atmospheric layer being detected. A classification of these variable atmospheric layers and variable values of a, b and C is presented in Table 1 herein below”); or
determining that the fog type of the atmospheric area to be identified is a mist type when the aerosol extinction coefficient is less than or equal to the preset first fog concentration standard value.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to combine the aerosol and cloud type identification of Huang as modified by Wang with the fog identification of Pantazis for the purpose of identifying aerosols with the advantage of additional atmospheric information top improve the accuracy of any classification.
Regarding Claim 15, Huang, Wang, Ma, and Pantazis teach the limitations of Claim 1. Huang further discloses a non-transitory computer readable storage medium, wherein a program for identifying a type of atmospheric aerosol is stored on the storage medium, and when being executed by a processor, the program performs the method for identifying the type of the atmospheric aerosol e.g. see [0125] “Through the above description of the embodiments, those skilled in the art can clearly understand that the methods of the above embodiments can be implemented by means of software plus necessary general-purpose hardware platforms. Of course, they can also be implemented by hardware, but in many cases the former is a better implementation method. Based on this understanding, the technical solution of the present invention, or the part that contributes to the prior art, can be embodied in the form of a software product. This computer software product is stored in a storage medium (such as ROM/RAM, magnetic disk, optical disk) and includes several instructions to cause a terminal (which may be a mobile phone, computer, server, air conditioner, or network device, etc.) to execute the methods described in the various embodiments of the present invention.”).
Regarding Claim 19, Huang, Wang, Ma, and Pantazis teach the limitations of Claim 15. Huang does not explicitly disclose when the type of the atmospheric aerosol is determined to be a particulate type, inverting a mass concentration profile of the particulate-type aerosol in the atmospheric area according to the aerosol extinction coefficient of the atmospheric area to be identified.
In the same field of endeavor, Wang teaches when the type of the atmospheric aerosol is determined to be a particulate type, inverting a mass concentration profile of the particulate-type aerosol in the atmospheric area according to the aerosol extinction coefficient of the atmospheric area to be identified (e.g. see [0010-0012] “A method for inverting the vertical profile of cloud condensation nucleus number concentration based on multi-wavelength lidar includes the following steps: [0011] S1: Optical parameters of inverted aerosols were observed using multi-wavelength lidar, including: extinction coefficients (α<sub>355</sub>, α<sub>532</sub>) at wavelengths of 355 and 532 nm, backscattering coefficients (β<sub>355</sub>, β<sub>532</sub>, β<sub>1064</sub>) at wavelengths of 355, 532 and 1064 nm, lidar ratio and depolarization ratio at 532 nm. [0012] S2: Use the lidar ratio and depolarization ratio obtained in step S1 to determine the type of aerosol”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill of the art before the effective filling date to combine the aerosol determination method of Huang with the inverted profile of Wang for the purpose of identifying aerosols with the advantage of additional atmospheric information top improve the accuracy of any classification.
Regarding Claim 20, Huang, Wang, Ma, and Pantazis teach the limitations of Claim 15. Huang does not explicitly disclose determining whether the atmospheric area is a foggy type according to the relative humidity profile when the cloud type is the cloudless type.
In the same field of endeavor, Wang teaches determining whether the atmospheric area is a foggy type according to the relative humidity profile when the cloud type is the cloudless type (e.g. see[0029-0032] “Furthermore, the aerosol type determination criteria in step S2 are as follows: the lidar ratio and depolarization ratio ranges at 532nm for urban industrial aerosols (Type 1), biomass combustion aerosols (Type 2), and dust aerosols (Type 3) are 45-70sr and 0-6%, 55-70sr and 2-10%, and 30-50sr and 15-30%, respectively.[0030] Furthermore, step S3 requires calculating the hygroscopic enhancement factor of the aerosol optical parameters, using the following formula:n[0032]RH is the relative humidity obtained from radiosonde data, r is the dry radius of the particle, ξ(RH,r) represents the aerosol optical parameters when the dry aerosol radius is r and the relative humidity is RH, and RH<sub>ref</sub> is selected as the reference relative humidity to represent a relatively dry atmospheric environment,” and [0053-0054] “The optical parameter values were calculated using the T-matrix scattering model, taking into account the differences in scattering characteristics between spherical and non-spherical aerosol particles. This overcame the error caused by using only the Mie scattering model and improved the accuracy of the CCN number concentration inversion results for different types of aerosols. [0054] (2) The measured aerosol optical parameters were corrected to dry aerosol optical parameters by using the calculated hygroscopic enhancement factor, thus correcting the influence of aerosol hygroscopicity on the CCN number concentration inversion results under high atmospheric relative humidity.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to combine the cloud and aerosol type identification method of Huang with the humidity profile embodiments of Wang for the purpose of identifying the cloud and aerosol types with the advantage of additional data used to improve the accuracy of the identifications.
Huang as modified by Wang does not explicitly disclose comparing the aerosol extinction coefficient with a preset first fog concentration standard value when the atmospheric area is the foggy type; and determining that the fog type of the atmospheric area to be identified is a dense fog type when the aerosol extinction coefficient is greater than the preset first fog concentration standard value; or determining that the fog type of the atmospheric area to be identified is a mist type when the aerosol extinction coefficient is less than or equal to the preset first fog concentration standard value.
In the same field of endeavor, Pantazis teaches comparing the aerosol extinction coefficient with a preset first fog concentration standard value when the atmospheric area is the foggy type; and determining that the fog type of the atmospheric area to be identified is a dense fog type when the aerosol extinction coefficient is greater than the preset first fog concentration standard value (e.g. see [Table 1 on pg. 11] and [pg. 9 lines 28-31] “an important characteristic of the invention is the employment of a lidar ratio C(L,R)= a.sub.aer(7,R)/p.sub.aer(7,R) that is being set at a predetermined value that corresponds to the type of atmospheric layer being detected. A classification of these variable atmospheric layers and variable values of a, b and C is presented in Table 1 herein below”); or
determining that the fog type of the atmospheric area to be identified is a mist type when the aerosol extinction coefficient is less than or equal to the preset first fog concentration standard value.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to combine the aerosol and cloud type identification of Huang as modified by Wang with the fog identification of Pantazis for the purpose of identifying aerosols with the advantage of additional atmospheric information top improve the accuracy of any classification.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NYLA GAVIA/Examiner, Art Unit 2857
/Catherine T. Rastovski/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2857