DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending and under consideration in this action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-5, 7, and 10-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CN 108232351 (“Chen”, machine translation used for citations).
Regarding claim 1, Chen teaches a method of recovering material from lithium-ion batteries (see e.g. paragraph [0003]). Chen teaches dissolving a cathode material containing metal with a leaching solution that includes an acid and a reducing agent (see e.g. paragraph [0010]). Oxalic acid is added to form a precipitate (see e.g. paragraph [0013]). The metal precipitate is then calcined to form a metal oxide (Id.).
Regarding claim 3, Chen teaches that the leaching solution can include sulfuric acid (see e.g. paragraph [0011]), and the reducing agent is hydrogen peroxide (see e.g. paragraph [0010]).
Regarding claim 4, Chen teaches that the dissolving, or leaching step, is performed at 50-100 °C, which includes the entirety of the claimed range (see e.g. paragraph [0010]).
Regarding claim 5, Chen teaches that the calcining is performed at 300-800 °C, which overlaps significantly with the claimed range (see e.g. paragraph [0013]).
Regarding claim 7, Chen teaches that the metal oxide comprises cobalt oxide (see e.g. paragraph [0013]).
Regarding claim 10, Chen teaches that, prior to oxalate addition, the pH is adjusted to between 3-5, which is within the claimed range (see e.g. paragraph [0013]).
Regarding claim 11, Chen teaches that the cathode material is isolated from other battery components by contacting with solvent (see e.g. paragraph [0009]).
Regarding claim 12, Chen teaches that the contacting step is performed at 30-100 °C, which includes the entirety of the claimed range (see e.g. paragraph [0009]).
Regarding claim 13, Chen teaches that prior to isolating the cathode material, a lithium-ion battery is dismantled (see e.g. paragraph [0009]).
Regarding claim 14, Chen teaches discharging the lithium-ion battery by immersion in an alkali solution (see e.g. paragraph [0008]).
Regarding claim 15, Chen teaches that the alkali solution is 1-7 M NaCl and 1-7 M KCl, which overlaps with the claimed range (see e.g. paragraph [0008]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 6, and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of KR20030004657 (“Song”, machine translation used for citations).
Regarding claim 2, Chen teaches the limitations of claim as set out above. Chen further teaches that the total acid concentration in the leaching solution is between 0.4-6 M, which overlaps with and contains the entire claimed range (see e.g. paragraph [0010]). However, although Chen teaches adding hydrogen peroxide as a reducing agent, Chen is silent as to the concentration of the hydrogen peroxide.
Song teaches a similar method for recovering metals from battery waste (see e.g. paragraphs [0011]-[0012]). Song further teaches that adding 0.5 M hydrogen peroxide is sufficient for dissolution of the metals (see e.g. paragraph [0054]). A 0.5 M hydrogen peroxide solution is about 2.4 vol%, which is within the claimed range. Accordingly, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use a 2.4 vol% solution of hydrogen peroxide in the method of Chen because Song teaches that this concentration can effectively leach the same metals from a mixture.
Regarding claim 6, Chen teaches calcining the cobalt oxalate to obtain cobalt oxide, but is silent as to the length of time necessary for calcination. However, Song teaches a similar method for oxalate precipitation of cobalt followed by calcination to get cobalt oxide (see e.g. paragraphs [0041]-[0042]). Song teaches that the calcination step can be performed for about 1 hour to convert the cobalt oxalate, which is within the claimed range (see e.g. paragraph [0041]).
Regarding claim 8, Chen is silent as to the purity of the resulting cobalt oxide. However, Song describes that this method of leaching, oxalic acid precipitation, and calcination can reach up to 99% purity, which is within the claimed range (see e.g. paragraph [0040]).
Regarding claim 9, Chen does not provide the diameter of the resulting particles. However, Chen describes that a substantially similar process, including leaching, oxalic acid precipitation, and calcination results in a powder, which is understood to have particles with a diameter less than 10 mm, and thus within the claimed range (see e.g. paragraph [0041]).
Claims 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of CN105199688 (“Wu”, machine translation used for citations).
Regarding claim 16, Chen teaches the limitations of claim 1 as set out above. Chen teaches that the method produces cobalt oxide particles, but does not teach the step of forming a drilling fluid comprising the metal oxide nanoparticles.
However, Wu teaches a drilling fluid composition (see e.g. paragraph [0002]). The drilling fluid of Wu includes metal oxide nanoparticles that can be cobalt oxide (see e.g. paragraph [0011]). Accordingly, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to form a drilling fluid as taught by Wu using the metal oxide particles obtained by the method of Chen in order to effectively use the recovered metal oxide particles.
Regarding claim 17, Wu teaches that the drilling fluid is a water based drilling fluid (see e.g. paragraph [0009]).
Regarding claim 18, Wu teaches that the method involves the reaction of 5.2 g of the metal nanoparticles with 2.3 g of N-isopropylacrylamide, which results in a particle having about 70% metal nanoparticle content (see e.g. paragraph [0025]). 4.1 g of this particle is then reacted with 1.8 g of polyethylene glycol and 0.7g of polytetrahydrofuran, resulting in a particle having 53% metal nanoparticle content (Id.). 3.5 g of this is then added to 150 mL of water with 4 wt% bentonite, resulting in a drilling fluid having a total metal nanoparticle content of about 1.4%, which is within the claimed range (Id.).
Regarding claim 19, Wu teaches that the drilling fluid is for use in a drilling operation (see e.g. paragraph [0007]).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Wu as applied to claim 19 above, and further in view of US11008821 (“Steger”).
Regarding claim 20, Chen in view of Wu teaches the composition as recited in claim 19. However, Wu does not teach recovering at least a portion of the drilling fluid and the metal oxide nanoparticles. However, Steger teaches using a drilling fluid in a drilling operation (see e.g. col. 1, lines 15-18). Steger teaches that the drilling fluid used can be recovered, which beneficially allows for reuse of the drilling fluid and additives added to the drilling fluid (see e.g. col. 1, lines 41-45). Accordingly, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of skill in the art to recover the drilling fluid and metal nanoparticles in the drilling fluid of Wu in order to beneficially allow reuse of the material as taught by Steger.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-16 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 6-20 of copending Application No. 18/407,947 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Regarding claim 1, claim 1 of the reference application recites the steps of dissolving a cathode material comprising a metal using a leaching solution comprising an acidic agent and a reducing agent; adding a second solution comprising oxalic acid and an oxalate salt to the first solution to precipitate a metal oxalate; and calcining the metal oxalate to form metal oxide nanoparticles. There do not appear to be any limitations recited in instant claim 1 that are not recited in claim 1 of the reference application.
Claims 2-16 of the instant application appear to be substantially identical to claims 6-20 of the reference application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/E.S.S./Examiner, Art Unit 1736
/ANTHONY J ZIMMER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1736