DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the application filed on 11/24/2025.
Claims 10 is previously cancelled.
Claims 1, 5-7, 16 and 17 are amended.
Claims 1-9, and 11-18 are currently pending and have been examined.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/24/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the 101 rejection applicant argues that the claims teach a technological solution to a technological problem of how to display content when proximity based errors conditions have been met with respect to a detected object.
Examiner respectfully disagrees, the claims are drawn to accessing account data, and the error conditions represent mere instruction to apply the exception to a computer environment. See MPEP 2106.05(f)(1) (Whether the claim recites only the idea of a solution or outcome i.e., the claim fails to recite details of how a solution to a problem is accomplished. The recitation of claim limitations that attempt to cover any solution to an identified problem with no restriction on how the result is accomplished and no description of the mechanism for accomplishing the result, does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more because this type of recitation is equivalent to the words "apply it".
For at least the reasons stated above applicant’s arguments regarding 35 U.S.C 101 are not percussive.
Regarding the prior art rejection.
Applicant argues the current are does not teach the newly amended claim limitations.
Examiner asserts that the Zhou reference teaches the newly amended claim limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-9, 11-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
In the instant case, claims 1, 16 and 17 are directed to a method, system, and non-transitory computer-readable recording medium.
For the purposes of this analysis, representative claim 17 is addressed. Claim 17 recites “accessing a financial account” which is a grouped under “Certain methods of organizing human activity — fundamental economic practices” in prong one of step 2A (MPEP 2106.04(a)). Abstract ideas are in bold below,
at a computer system that is in communication with a display generation component and with one or more input devices including a proximity sensor:
while displaying a user interface corresponding to a request for account information:
detecting, via the one or more input devices, input corresponding to an attempt to complete the request for account information, wherein detecting the input includes detecting, via the proximity sensor, an object; and
in response to detecting the input corresponding to the attempt to complete the request for account information:
in accordance with a determination that a set of one or more proximity-based error conditions have been met, wherein the determination that the set of one or more proximity-based error conditions have been met includes determining a proximity of the computer system to the object detected via the proximity sensor, displaying, via the display generation component, one or more indications indicating how to complete the request for account information; and
in accordance with a determination that the attempt to complete the request for information has been successful, forgoing displaying, via the display generation component, the one or more indications indicating how to complete the request for account information.
The additional elements of claim 1 such as “at a computer system that is in communication with a display generation component and with one or more input devices including a proximity sensor:”, “while displaying a user interface corresponding to a request for account information: detecting, via the one or more input devices, …, wherein detecting the input includes detecting, via the proximity sensor, an object;”, “in accordance with a determination that a set of one or more proximity-based error conditions have been met, wherein the determination that the set of one or more proximity-based error conditions have been met includes determining a proximity of the computer system to the object detected via the proximity sensor, displaying, via the display generation component,…;”, “…forgoing displaying, via the display generation component,…” represent the use of a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea and/or does no more than generally link the abstract idea to a particular field of use.
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration into a practical application, the additional elements amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the abstract idea of using generic computer components. The claim elements when considered separately and in an ordered combination, do not add significantly more than implementing the abstract idea of accessing a financial account.
Hence, claim 1, 16 and 17 are not patent eligible.
Claim 2 recites “the account information includes identification information”, “…corresponding to the attempt to complete the request for account information includes detecting an identification card” However, this does no more than describe the abstract idea. The additional elements of “detecting the input …” does no more than use a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea and do no more than generally link the abstract idea to a particular field of use. Therefore, as it is no more than apply it does not improve the functioning of a computer, or improve other technology or technical field.
Claim 3 recites “the account information includes payment information”, “…corresponding to the attempt to complete the request for account information includes detecting an identification card” However, this does no more than describe the abstract idea. The additional elements of “detecting the input …”” does no more than use a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea and do no more than generally link the abstract idea to a particular field of use. Therefore, as it is no more than apply it does not improve the functioning of a computer, or improve other technology or technical field.
Claim 4 recites “the one or more indications indicating how to complete the request for account information” However, this does no more than describe the abstract idea. The additional elements of “in response to detecting the input corresponding to the attempt to complete the request for account information, and in accordance with a determination that the set of one or more proximity- based error conditions have not been met, forgo displaying, via the display generation component, …” does no more than use a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea and do no more than generally link the abstract idea to a particular field of use. Therefore, as it is no more than apply it does not improve the functioning of a computer, or improve other technology or technical field.
Claim 5 recites the additional elements of “wherein the one or more input devices include a proximity sensor, and wherein the set of one or more proximity-based error conditions include a condition that is met when the proximity sensor detects an object.” does no more than use a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea and do no more than generally link the abstract idea to a particular field of use. Therefore, as it is no more than apply it does not improve the functioning of a computer, or improve other technology or technical field.
Claim 6 recites the additional elements of “wherein the one or more input devices include a proximity sensor, and wherein the set of one or more proximity-based error conditions include a condition that is met when the proximity sensor detects multiple instances of an object coming into and out of proximity within a predetermined time period.” does no more than use a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea and do no more than generally link the abstract idea to a particular field of use. Therefore, as it is no more than apply it does not improve the functioning of a computer, or improve other technology or technical field.
Claim 7 recites the additional elements of “wherein the one or more input devices include a proximity sensor, and wherein the set of one or more proximity-based error conditions include a condition that is met when the proximity sensor detects an object for a predetermined time period.” does no more than use a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea and do no more than generally link the abstract idea to a particular field of use. Therefore, as it is no more than apply it does not improve the functioning of a computer, or improve other technology or technical field.
Claim 8 recites the additional elements of “wherein the set of one or more proximity-based error conditions include a condition that is met when the computer system detects a payment card chip without receiving account information.” does no more than use a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea and do no more than generally link the abstract idea to a particular field of use. Therefore, as it is no more than apply it does not improve the functioning of a computer, or improve other technology or technical field.
Claim 9 recites “…within the user interface corresponding to the request for account information” However, this does no more than describe the abstract idea. The additional elements of “in response to detecting the input corresponding to the attempt to complete the request for account information, and in accordance with the determination that the set of one or more proximity-based error conditions have been met, shifting a display location of the user interface object on the display generation component…” does no more than use a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea and do no more than generally link the abstract idea to a particular field of use. Therefore, as it is no more than apply it does not improve the functioning of a computer, or improve other technology or technical field.
Claim 11 recites “wherein the one or more indications indicating how to complete the request for account information include an indication of where to place an account card to complete the request for account information” However, this does no more than describe the abstract idea.
Claim 12 recites “wherein the indication of where to place the account card to complete the request for account information includes an indication of an orientation of the account card.” However, this does no more than describe the abstract idea.
Claim 13 recites “wherein the one or more indications indicating how to complete the request for account information include an indication to hold an account card ….” However, this does no more than describe the abstract idea. The additional elements of “…within a predetermined distance of the computer system for a predetermined duration” does no more than use a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea and do no more than generally link the abstract idea to a particular field of use. Therefore, as it is no more than apply it does not improve the functioning of a computer, or improve other technology or technical field.
Claim 14 recites “wherein the one or more indications indicating how to complete the request for account information include an indication to hold an account card …” However, this does no more than describe the abstract idea. The additional elements of “…within a predetermined distance of the computer system.” does no more than use a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea and do no more than generally link the abstract idea to a particular field of use. Therefore, as it is no more than apply it does not improve the functioning of a computer, or improve other technology or technical field.
Claim 15 recites the additional elements of “wherein the indication to hold the account card within a predetermined distance of the computer system includes an indication to hold the account card against the computer system.” does no more than use a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea and do no more than generally link the abstract idea to a particular field of use. Therefore, as it is no more than apply it does not improve the functioning of a computer, or improve other technology or technical field.
Claim 18 recites “in response to detecting the input corresponding to the attempt to complete the request for account information, and in accordance with the determination that the attempt to complete the request for account information has been successful, …, one or more indications that the request for account information has been completed.” However, this does no more than describe the abstract idea. The additional elements of “…displaying, via the display generation component…” does no more than use a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea and do no more than generally link the abstract idea to a particular field of use. Therefore, as it is no more than apply it does not improve the functioning of a computer, or improve other technology or technical field.
The claims as a whole do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself. This is because the claims do not affect an improvement to another technology or technical field, the claims do not amount to an improvement to the functioning of a computer system itself, and the claims do not move beyond a general link of the use of an abstract idea to a particular technological environment.
Accordingly, there are no meaningful limitations in the claims that transform the judicial exception into a patent eligible application such that the claims amount to significantly more than the judicial exception itself.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-7, 9, and 16- 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miri et al (US 2018/0061179 A1) in view of Zhou (US 2022/0180351 A1).
Regarding Claims 1, 16 and 17
Miri teaches:
A computer system that is configured to communicate with a display generation component and with one or more input devices, the computer system comprising: one or more processors; and (See at least Miri [0043] FIG. 1 is a flowchart of an example process or method of operating the system of the present disclosure. In various embodiments, the process is represented by a set of instructions stored in one or more memories and executed by one or more processors.
memory storing one or more programs configured to be executed by the one or more processors, the one or more programs including instructions for: (See at least Miri [0052] Specifically, one or more processors of the financial institution device executing one or more sets of instructions stored by one or more memory devices of the financial institution device (i.e., the financial institution device logic 212 of FIG. 2) operates with the card reader of the financial institution device to identify relevant information associated with the user which is stored on or otherwise indicated by the swiped or inserted financial institution card.
while displaying a user interface corresponding to a request for account information: detecting, via the one or more input devices, input corresponding to an attempt to complete the request for account information; and (See at least Miri [0055] While not shown in FIG. 1, if the financial institution device is unable to confirm that the user inputted amount of funds are available to be transferred from the financial institution, the financial institution device displays one or more error messages to the user, such as an error message instructing the user to input another amount of funds. In certain embodiments, after displaying a designated quantity of error messages, after a designated period of time without a response from the user, or after a designated quantity of a user inputting unavailable amounts of funds to be transferred, the financial institution device cancels or otherwise aborts the transaction.
in response to detecting the input corresponding to the attempt to complete the request for account information: in accordance with a determination that a set of one or more proximity-based error conditions have been met, displaying, via the display generation component, one or more indications indicating how to complete the request for account information; and (See at least Miri [0053] and [0057]: [0053] While not shown in FIG. 1, if the financial institution device is unable to authenticate the user, the financial institution device displays one or more error messages to the user, such as an error message instructing the user to enter different authenticating information. In certain embodiments, after displaying a designated quantity of error messages, after a designated period of time without a response from the user, or after a designated quantity of failed attempts to authenticate the user, the financial institution device cancels or otherwise aborts the transaction. [0057] Following the activation of the wireless interface of the financial institution device, as indicated in block 114 of FIG. 1 and FIG. 3, the financial institution device displays one or more messages informing the user to activate or launch an application on the mobile device (220 of FIG. 2) and to then cause the mobile device to tap or otherwise engage a designated portion of the financial institution device (or otherwise place the mobile device a designated distance from a designated portion of the financial institution device). While not shown in FIG. 1, if the user fails to activate or launch the application on the mobile device and/or fails to cause the mobile device to tap or otherwise engage a designated portion of the financial institution device (or otherwise place the mobile device a designated distance from a designated portion of the financial institution device), the financial institution device displays one or more error messages or reminder messages to the user. In certain embodiments, after displaying a designated quantity of error or reminder messages or after a designated period of time without a response from the user, the financial institution device cancels or otherwise aborts the transaction.
in accordance with a determination that the attempt to complete the request for information has been successful, forgoing displaying, via the display generation component, the one or more indications indicating how to complete the request for account information. (See at least Miri (See at least Miri [0053] and [0057]: [0053] While not shown in FIG. 1, if the financial institution device is unable to authenticate the user, the financial institution device displays one or more error messages to the user, such as an error message instructing the user to enter different authenticating information. In certain embodiments, after displaying a designated quantity of error messages, after a designated period of time without a response from the user, or after a designated quantity of failed attempts to authenticate the user, the financial institution device cancels or otherwise aborts the transaction. [0057] Following the activation of the wireless interface of the financial institution device, as indicated in block 114 of FIG. 1 and FIG. 3, the financial institution device displays one or more messages informing the user to activate or launch an application on the mobile device (220 of FIG. 2) and to then cause the mobile device to tap or otherwise engage a designated portion of the financial institution device (or otherwise place the mobile device a designated distance from a designated portion of the financial institution device). While not shown in FIG. 1, if the user fails to activate or launch the application on the mobile device and/or fails to cause the mobile device to tap or otherwise engage a designated portion of the financial institution device (or otherwise place the mobile device a designated distance from a designated portion of the financial institution device), the financial institution device displays one or more error messages or reminder messages to the user. In certain embodiments, after displaying a designated quantity of error or reminder messages or after a designated period of time without a response from the user, the financial institution device cancels or otherwise aborts the transaction.
However Miri does not specifically teach: including a proximity sensor, wherein detecting the input includes detecting, via the proximity sensor, an object; and wherein the determination that the set of one or more proximity-based error conditions have been met includes determining a proximity of the computer system to the object detected via the proximity sensor,
However Zhou teaches:
including a proximity sensor, (See at least Zhou [0050] An embodiment of this application provides a communications system. The communications system may include one or more electronic devices and a card reader, and proximity-based (proximity-based) contactless transaction or communication may be implemented between the one or more electronic devices and the card reader. The one or more electronic devices may be configured to manage near field communication with the card reader.
wherein detecting the input includes detecting, via the proximity sensor, an object; (See at least Zhou [0051] The NFC communications module 400 may be any appropriate proximity-based communication mechanism (communication mechanism), and may implement proximity-based contactless communication between the electronic device 101 and the NFC card reader 102.
wherein the determination that the set of one or more proximity-based error conditions have been met includes determining a proximity of the computer system to the object detected via the proximity sensor, (See at least Zhou [0054] In some other embodiments, the communications system 100 may further include a verification server 106. The verification server 106 is configured to provide payment verification of an NFC transaction, and send a verification result to the NFC card reader 102 through the communications network 104. The NFC card reader 102 may send a payment success or payment failure message to the electronic device 102 based on the verification result. In some other embodiments, after verification, the verification server 106 may also send the payment success or payment failure message to the electronic device 101 through the communications network 104, and then the electronic device prompts the user in an appropriate manner (for example, displaying the message on a display, or vibrating or ringing). In this way, the electronic device 101 (for example, a mobile phone) may learn of a payment result of the NFC transaction in time through, for example, a mobile cellular network, so that the user of the electronic device 101 performs subsequent different processing. For example, after receiving a payment failure message, the mobile phone may prompt the user of the message, and the user may first hold the mobile phone away from the NFC card reader 102, and then approach the NFC card reader 102 again to try to make another NFC payment. For another example, after receiving the payment failure message, the electronic device 101 may first prompt the user on the display. The user opens the application “Huawei Pay”, selects an emulation card from the application, and then approaches the NFC card reader 102 again to try to make another NFC payment.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method for transferring funds for a financial institution device to a cashless wagering account accessible via a mobile device of Miri in view of with the Method for automatically selecting NFC emulation card as taught by Zhou in order to improve NFC payment efficiency. (Zhou abstract)
Regarding Claim 3
Miri teaches:
the account information includes payment information; and (See at least Miri [0127] In one embodiment, the mobile device application enables the player to select an amount to be transferred from a listing of available amounts of funds to be transferred from the cashless wagering account to the EGM. For example, as seen in FIG. 4D, the mobile device application 420 of the mobile device 410 proceeds with displaying a listing of available, selectable amounts to be transferred from the cashless wagering account to the EGM 430d.
detecting the input corresponding to the attempt to complete the request for account information includes detecting a payment card. (See at least Miri [0053] and [0084]: [0053] While not shown in FIG. 1, if the financial institution device is unable to authenticate the user, the financial institution device displays one or more error messages to the user, such as an error message instructing the user to enter different authenticating information. In certain embodiments, after displaying a designated quantity of error messages, after a designated period of time without a response from the user, or after a designated quantity of failed attempts to authenticate the user, the financial institution device cancels or otherwise aborts the transaction. And [0084] Following the user causing the mobile device to engage the financial institution device (e.g., the user taps the mobile device to a card reader or other designated location(s) of the financial institution device), the mobile device application communicates, via a wireless communication protocol, the previously stored authorization token and the requested action to be performed, such as a confirmation of the inputted transaction to the financial institution device or to a component associated with the financial institution device. For example, upon the user tapping the mobile device to a card reader or other designated location(s) of the financial institution device, the mobile device application sends the stored authorization token and the requested action to a component of a cashless wagering system located inside the financial institution device.
Regarding Claim 4
Miri teaches:
in accordance with a determination that the set of one or more proximity- based error conditions have not been met, forgo displaying, via the display generation component, the one or more indications indicating how to complete the request for account information. (See at least Miri [0053] In certain embodiments, after displaying a designated quantity of error messages, after a designated period of time without a response from the user, or after a designated quantity of failed attempts to authenticate the user, the financial institution device cancels or otherwise aborts the transaction.
Regarding Claim 5
Miri teaches:
wherein the set of one or more proximity-based error conditions include a condition that is met when the proximity sensor detects an object. (See at least Miri [0078] In certain embodiments, following the user causing the mobile device to engage the financial institution device (e.g., the user taps the mobile device to a card reader or other designated location(s) of the financial institution device), the mobile device application communicates, via a wireless communication protocol, the provided identifying information and the requested action to be performed to the financial institution device or to a component associated with the financial institution device. For example, upon the user tapping the mobile device to (or otherwise placing the mobile device a designated distance from) a wireless communication interface on the financial institution device, such as a card reader or other designated location(s) of the financial institution device, the mobile device application sends the identifying information and the requested action to a component of a gaming establishment management system located inside the financial institution device, such as a component of a cashless wagering system.
Regarding Claim 6
However Miri does not specifically teach: wherein the set of one or more proximity-based error conditions include a condition that is met when the proximity sensor detects multiple instances of an object coming into and out of proximity within a predetermined time period.
However Zhou teaches:
wherein the set of one or more proximity-based error conditions include a condition that is met when the proximity sensor detects multiple instances of an object coming into and out of proximity within a predetermined time period. (See at least Zhou [0054] In some other embodiments, the communications system 100 may further include a verification server 106. The verification server 106 is configured to provide payment verification of an NFC transaction, and send a verification result to the NFC card reader 102 through the communications network 104. The NFC card reader 102 may send a payment success or payment failure message to the electronic device 102 based on the verification result. In some other embodiments, after verification, the verification server 106 may also send the payment success or payment failure message to the electronic device 101 through the communications network 104, and then the electronic device prompts the user in an appropriate manner (for example, displaying the message on a display, or vibrating or ringing). In this way, the electronic device 101 (for example, a mobile phone) may learn of a payment result of the NFC transaction in time through, for example, a mobile cellular network, so that the user of the electronic device 101 performs subsequent different processing. For example, after receiving a payment failure message, the mobile phone may prompt the user of the message, and the user may first hold the mobile phone away from the NFC card reader 102, and then approach the NFC card reader 102 again to try to make another NFC payment. For another example, after receiving the payment failure message, the electronic device 101 may first prompt the user on the display. The user opens the application “Huawei Pay”, selects an emulation card from the application, and then approaches the NFC card reader 102 again to try to make another NFC payment.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method for transferring funds for a financial institution device to a cashless wagering account accessible via a mobile device of Miri in view of with the Method for automatically selecting NFC emulation card as taught by Zhou in order to improve NFC payment efficiency. (Zhou abstract)
Regarding Claim 7
Miri teaches:
wherein the set of one or more proximity-based error conditions include a condition that is met when the proximity sensor detects an object for a predetermined time period. (See at least Miri [0054] if the user fails to input an amount of funds to be transferred, the financial institution device displays one or more error messages to the user, such as an error message instructing the user to enter an amount of funds. In certain embodiments, after displaying a designated quantity of error messages, or after a designated period of time without a response from the user, the financial institution device cancels or otherwise aborts the transaction.
Regarding Claim 9
Miri teaches:
in response to detecting the input corresponding to the attempt to complete the request for account information, and in accordance with the determination that the set of one or more proximity-based error conditions have been met, shifting a display location of the user interface object on the display generation component, within the user interface corresponding to the request for account information. (See at least Miri [0065] In another embodiment, the component of a gaming establishment management system, such as the component of the cashless wagering system located inside the financial institution device additionally or alternatively communicates one or more completed transaction confirmations to the mobile device application. In this embodiment, as indicated by block 124 of FIG. 1 and FIG. 3, the mobile device application displays an acknowledgement to the user of the completed transaction at least in the form of an updated cashless wagering account balance. For example, as seen in FIG. 4B, the mobile device application 420 of the mobile device 410 proceeds with displaying an acknowledgement to the user of the completed transfer of $450.00 and the updated cashless wagering account balance of $450.45 430b.
Regarding Claim 18
Miri teaches:
in response to detecting the input corresponding to the attempt to complete the request for account information, and in accordance with the determination that the attempt to complete the request for account information has been successful, displaying, via the display generation component, one or more indications that the request for account information has been completed. (See at least Miri [0065] In another embodiment, the component of a gaming establishment management system, such as the component of the cashless wagering system located inside the financial institution device additionally or alternatively communicates one or more completed transaction confirmations to the mobile device application. In this embodiment, as indicated by block 124 of FIG. 1 and FIG. 3, the mobile device application displays an acknowledgement to the user of the completed transaction at least in the form of an updated cashless wagering account balance. For example, as seen in FIG. 4B, the mobile device application 420 of the mobile device 410 proceeds with displaying an acknowledgement to the user of the completed transfer of $450.00 and the updated cashless wagering account balance of $450.45 430b.
Claims 2, 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miri et al (US 2018/0061179 A1) in view of Zhou (US 2022/0180351 A1) And further in view of Smith (US 2010/0230486 A1)
Regarding Claim 2
Miri teaches:
detecting the input corresponding to the attempt to complete the request for account information includes detecting an identification card. (See at least Miri [0084] Following the user causing the mobile device to engage the financial institution device (e.g., the user taps the mobile device to a card reader or other designated location(s) of the financial institution device), the mobile device application communicates, via a wireless communication protocol, the previously stored authorization token and the requested action to be performed, such as a confirmation of the inputted transaction to the financial institution device or to a component associated with the financial institution device. For example, upon the user tapping the mobile device to a card reader or other designated location(s) of the financial institution device, the mobile device application sends the stored authorization token and the requested action to a component of a cashless wagering system located inside the financial institution device.
However, Miri does not specifically teach: the account information includes identification information;
However, Smith teaches”
the account information includes identification information; [0358] By providing function call mapping data in the configuration data for the specific client, the application server is operative to send the same application instructions to different financial channels (i.e., types of clients) which is mapped at the client responsive to the configuration data to the applicable software function available at the client. For example, an ATM may include a software function operative to acquire an account number from a card, whereas a home PC may only be able to provide an account number through inputs from the keyboard. In this described exemplary embodiment, the application instructions may specify the generic resource application instruction "GetAccountNumber" which is mapped responsive to the configuration data at the ATM to one or more software functions capable of placing a card reader of the ATM in a mode to read the account number from a card and to prompt a user to insert or swipe the card. For a home PC the same generic resource application instruction "get account number" may be mapped by a web server responsive to the configuration data to a software function operative to acquire the account number from a user. For example, such a software function accessed by the web server may be operative to generate or access an HTML web page which is sent using the web server to a browser of a home PC and which prompts a user to input an account number using the keyboard of the home PC.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method for transferring funds for a financial institution device to a cashless wagering account accessible via a mobile device of Miri in view of with the automated banking machine as taught by Smith in order to allow temporary usage of a machine application that enables the machine to perform an authorized banking transaction requiring operation of the card reader. (Smith abstract))
Regarding Claim 11
Miri does not specifically teach: wherein the one or more indications indicating how to complete the request for account information include an indication of where to place an account card to complete the request for account information.
However, Smith teaches
wherein the one or more indications indicating how to complete the request for account information include an indication of where to place an account card to complete the request for account information. [0358] By providing function call mapping data in the configuration data for the specific client, the application server is operative to send the same application instructions to different financial channels (i.e., types of clients) which is mapped at the client responsive to the configuration data to the applicable software function available at the client. For example, an ATM may include a software function operative to acquire an account number from a card, whereas a home PC may only be able to provide an account number through inputs from the keyboard. In this described exemplary embodiment, the application instructions may specify the generic resource application instruction "GetAccountNumber" which is mapped responsive to the configuration data at the ATM to one or more software functions capable of placing a card reader of the ATM in a mode to read the account number from a card and to prompt a user to insert or swipe the card. For a home PC the same generic resource application instruction "get account number" may be mapped by a web server responsive to the configuration data to a software function operative to acquire the account number from a user. For example, such a software function accessed by the web server may be operative to generate or access an HTML web page which is sent using the web server to a browser of a home PC and which prompts a user to input an account number using the keyboard of the home PC.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method for transferring funds for a financial institution device to a cashless wagering account accessible via a mobile device of Miri in view of with the automated banking machine as taught by Smith in order to allow temporary usage of a machine application that enables the machine to perform an authorized banking transaction requiring operation of the card reader. (Smith abstract))
Regarding Claim 12
Miri does not specifically teach: wherein the one or more indications indicating how to complete the request for account information include an indication to hold an account card within a predetermined distance of the computer system for a predetermined duration.
However, Smith teaches
wherein the one or more indications indicating how to complete the request for account information include an indication to hold an account card within a predetermined distance of the computer system for a predetermined duration. [0358] By providing function call mapping data in the configuration data for the specific client, the application server is operative to send the same application instructions to different financial channels (i.e., types of clients) which is mapped at the client responsive to the configuration data to the applicable software function available at the client. For example, an ATM may include a software function operative to acquire an account number from a card, whereas a home PC may only be able to provide an account number through inputs from the keyboard. In this described exemplary embodiment, the application instructions may specify the generic resource application instruction "GetAccountNumber" which is mapped responsive to the configuration data at the ATM to one or more software functions capable of placing a card reader of the ATM in a mode to read the account number from a card and to prompt a user to insert or swipe the card. For a home PC the same generic resource application instruction "get account number" may be mapped by a web server responsive to the configuration data to a software function operative to acquire the account number from a user. For example, such a software function accessed by the web server may be operative to generate or access an HTML web page which is sent using the web server to a browser of a home PC and which prompts a user to input an account number using the keyboard of the home PC.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method for transferring funds for a financial institution device to a cashless wagering account accessible via a mobile device of Miri in view of with the automated banking machine as taught by Smith in order to allow temporary usage of a machine application that enables the machine to perform an authorized banking transaction requiring operation of the card reader. (Smith abstract))
Claims 8, and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miri et al (US 2018/0061179 A1) in view of Zhou (US 2022/0180351 A1) And further in view of Ho et al (US 11,423, 392 B1)
Regarding Claim 8
Miri does not specifically teach: wherein the set of one or more proximity-based error conditions include a condition that is met when the computer system detects a payment card chip without receiving account information.
However, Ho teaches
wherein the set of one or more proximity-based error conditions include a condition that is met when the computer system detects a payment card chip without receiving account information. (col 3 lines 47-54) When deactivated or in an inactive state, the account associated with the card is not allowed to complete a transaction. When activated, the account associated with the card may be used in various transactions, such as a payment transaction. Thus, even when deactivated, transactions involving the contactless card may be attempted (e.g., a card swipe or dip). However, these transactions are denied because the account associated with the card is not activated.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method for transferring funds for a financial institution device to a cashless wagering account accessible via a mobile device of Miri in view of with the method for information verification using a contactless card as taught by Ho in order to based on a contactless communication between the contactless card and the customer device, approving the application for the new product or service based on the indication of the match. (Ho abstract))
Regarding Claim 13
Miri does not specifically teach: wherein the one or more indications indicating how to complete the request for account information include an indication to hold an account card within a predetermined distance of the computer system for a predetermined duration.
However, Ho teaches
wherein the one or more indications indicating how to complete the request for account information include an indication to hold an account card within a predetermined distance of the computer system for a predetermined duration. (Col 22 lines 16-27) The images 700 also include a third depiction 703 of the customer device 102 displaying a verification request. In this example, the merchant application 155 is embedded within the webpage or mobile application of the e-commerce retailer such that the verification request prompts the customer to tap the contactless card 104 to the customer device 104 in order to verify that the user of the customer device 102 is in possession of the physical contactless card 104 that is associated with the entered transaction card information. In this example, the third depiction 703 of the customer device 102 is an example of the user-facing GUI related to the processes 404, 405, and 411 of method 400.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method for transferring funds for a financial institution device to a cashless wagering account accessible via a mobile device of Miri in view of with the method for information verification using a contactless card as taught by Ho in order to based on a contactless communication between the contactless card and the customer device, approving the application for the new product or service based on the indication of the match. (Ho abstract))
Regarding Claim 14
Miri does not specifically teach: wherein the one or more indications indicating how to complete the request for account information include an indication to hold an account card within a predetermined distance of the computer system.
However, Ho teaches
wherein the one or more indications indicating how to complete the request for account information include an indication to hold an account card within a predetermined distance of the computer system. (Col 22 lines 16-27) The images 700 also include a third depiction 703 of the customer device 102 displaying a verification request. In this example, the merchant application 155 is embedded within the webpage or mobile application of the e-commerce retailer such that the verification request prompts the customer to tap the contactless card 104 to the customer device 104 in order to verify that the user of the customer device 102 is in possession of the physical contactless card 104 that is associated with the entered transaction card information. In this example, the third depiction 703 of the customer device 102 is an example of the user-facing GUI related to the processes 404, 405, and 411 of method 400.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method for transferring funds for a financial institution device to a cashless wagering account accessible via a mobile device of Miri in view of with the method for information verification using a contactless card as taught by Ho in order to based on a contactless communication between the contactless card and the customer device, approving the application for the new product or service based on the indication of the match. (Ho abstract))
Regarding Claim 15
Miri does not specifically teach: wherein the indication to hold the account card within a predetermined distance of the computer system includes an indication to hold the account card against the computer system.
However, Ho teaches
wherein the indication to hold the account card within a predetermined distance of the computer system includes an indication to hold the account card against the computer system. (Col 22 lines 16-27) The images 700 also include a third depiction 703 of the customer device 102 displaying a verification request. In this example, the merchant application 155 is embedded within the webpage or mobile application of the e-commerce retailer such that the verification request prompts the customer to tap the contactless card 104 to the customer device 104 in order to verify that the user of the customer device 102 is in possession of the physical contactless card 104 that is associated with the entered transaction card information. In this example, the third depiction 703 of the customer device 102 is an example of the user-facing GUI related to the processes 404, 405, and 411 of method 400.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method for transferring funds for a financial institution device to a cashless wagering account accessible via a mobile device of Miri in view of with the method for information verification using a contactless card as taught by Ho in order to based on a contactless communication between the contactless card and the customer device, approving the application for the new product or service based on the indication of the match. (Ho abstract))
Prior Art of Record Not Currently Relied Upon
Gupta (US 2021/0304164 A1) Teaches: Card pre-staging automated teller machine.
Steinecker (US 2008/0257957) Teaches: Method for personalized e-commerce and information communications.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GREGORY M JAMES/Examiner, Art Unit 3692
/CLIFFORD B MADAMBA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3692