DETAILED ACTION
Claims filed 11-19-2025. Claims 3, 16, 21 canceled. Claims 23-25 new.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-5, 7, 10-12, 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Eva 2021/0160601
Regarding claim 1, Eva discloses an audio device (Figs 1-6, audio device 100, para [36]) comprising:
a body (Figs 1, 5-6 body/enclosure 110, para [36]),
a slot recessed from an outer surface of the body (Figs 3-4 shows a slot where eyelet 142, sealing member 144, and endpiece 146, para [43-44]), and
a coupler (Figs 1-6, sealing member 144, endpiece 146, eyelet 142, para [42-46] in the slot), the coupler including at least one protrusion for selectively engaging an accessory attachment for an accessory (Fig 4, para [43, 45-46] discloses the handle assembly is prepared by sliding eyelet 142 onto an end of handle 140, where sealing member 144 is inserted into groove 143 in eyelet 142. Groove 143, it goes around the entirety of eyelet 142 to secure sealing member 144 to eyelet 142. Endpiece 146 is attached to the end of handle 140 to secure the endpiece 146 and eyelet 142 onto that end of the handle. The same process can be repeated for the other end of handle 140. Endpiece 146 can be attached using any suitable coupling means, such as using at least one of a retention member (e.g., a pin through endpiece 146 and the end of handle 140. Endpieces 146 have been engaged with acoustic enclosure 150 of audio device).
Regarding claim 4, Eva discloses the audio device of claim 1, wherein the coupler includes at least two protrusions (Fig 3 shows coupler/sliding eyelet 142, sealing member 144, endpiece 146 are secured in the protrusions for securing the handle 140 and audio device).
Regarding claim 5, Eva discloses the audio device of claim 1, wherein the coupler includes a metal or a metal alloy (para [42] discloses coupler/handle assembly includes handle 140, eyelet 142, sealing member 144, and endpiece 146. Para [42] discloses eyelet 142 via handle 140 can be constructed of metal or any other suitable material. Para [48] discloses eyelet 142, endpieces 146 can be constructed of metal or any suitable material. In some implementations, the sealing member 144 is integral with eyelet 142, which could be achieved, e.g., using a multi-material formation process to provide different durometers for the eyelet portion and sealing member portion of the integral part).
Regarding claim 7, Referred to Applicant’s Fig 8 and para [46] a port for an accessory connector in an audio device.
Eva discloses the audio device of claim 1, wherein the coupler is located in a port (Fig 6, a port/opening in enclosure 110 of audio device 100 where endpiece 146 sealing member 144 and eyelet 142 inserted) and is recessed from an outer surface of the body (Abstract, Fig 6 shows, para [44-45, 47-48]).
Regarding claim 10, Eva discloses the audio device of claim 1, wherein when coupled (Figs 1-6, coupler 142, 144, 146, the accessory (handle 140) enables transport of the audio device (Figs 1-6 audio device 100).
Regarding claim 11, Eva discloses the audio device of claim 1, wherein the coupler enables at least two distinct types of accessory (handler 140) to selectively engage with the audio device (audio device 100, para [50] discloses the proportions sizes and shapes of the audio device 100 and the handle assembly can be modified according to various implementations to fit a variety of products).
Regarding claim 12, Eva discloses the audio device of claim 1, wherein the slot includes a compliant material along at least one surface thereof, wherein interaction between the accessory attachment and the compliant material aids in retention of the accessory attachment by the coupler
(para [45] discloses coupler 142, 144, 146 pressed through respective openings in upper enclosure 110 such the sealing member 114 pass through the opening to secure the eyelets 142 to the housing as shown in Figs 3-4, and 6. Each endpiece 146 is secured in the housing due to contact with the corresponding eyelet 142. This configuration provides flexibility in the attachment/installation process, as the required tolerances of the eyelet 142, the housing opening, and sealing member 144 can be increased due to the ability of sealing member 144 to compress when pushed through the corresponding opening in the upper enclosure 110).
Regarding claim 24, Eva discloses the audio device of claim 23, wherein the slot in the at least one complementary coupler includes a notch or recess configured to:
engage the at least one protrusion and prevent unintentional movement of the
accessory attachment (Figs 3-4, 6, para [6, 13, 45-46] teaches after endpieces 146 have been engaged with acoustic enclosure 150, eyelets 142 can be pressed through their respective openings in upper enclosure 110 such that sealing members 144 pass through the opening to secure the eyelets 142 to the housing as shown in FIGS. 3, 4, and 6. As is also shown, each endpiece 146 is secured in the housing due to contact with the corresponding eyelet 142. This configuration provides flexibility in the attachment/installation process, as the required tolerances of the eyelet 142, housing opening, and sealing member 144 can be increased due to the ability of sealing member 144 to compress when pushed through the housing opening. Once sealing members 144 are pressed through the corresponding openings in the upper enclosure 110, in this implementation, it is very difficult to remove the eyelets 142, especially without using a tool. Thus, each sealing member 144 effectively prevents (e.g., without using considerable force or a tool) its corresponding eyelet 142 from disconnecting from the housing), and
enable multi-step actuation of the accessory attachment (para [43-47, 49]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 6, 8, 13-14, 17-23, 25, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eva 2021/0160601 in view of Brousseau 2020/0186901
Regarding claim 2, Eva discloses the audio device of claim 1, wherein the coupler provides a detent against removal of the accessory attachment when engaged (Figs 3-4, 6, para [6, 13, 45-46] discloses after endpieces 146 have been engaged with acoustic enclosure 150, eyelets 142 can be pressed through their respective openings in upper enclosure 110 such that sealing members 144 pass through the opening to secure the eyelets 142 to the housing as shown in FIGS. 3, 4, and 6. As is also shown, each endpiece 146 is secured in the housing due to contact with the corresponding eyelet 142. This configuration provides flexibility in the attachment/installation process, as the required tolerances of the eyelet 142, housing opening, and sealing member 144 can be increased due to the ability of sealing member 144 to compress when pushed through the housing opening. Once sealing members 144 are pressed through the corresponding openings in the upper enclosure 110, in this implementation, it is very difficult to remove the eyelets 142, especially without using a tool. Thus, each sealing member 144 effectively prevents (e.g., without using considerable force or a tool) its corresponding eyelet 142 from disconnecting from the housing), and enable multi-step actuation of the accessory attachment (para [43-47, 49]).
Eva does not explicitly disclose wherein the at least one protrusion requires multi-step actuation to overcome the detent, wherein one step in the multi-step actuation includes rotation.
Brousseau teaches wherein the at least one protrusion requires multi-step actuation to overcome the detent, wherein one step in the multi-step actuation includes rotation (para [25] teaches a locking mechanism includes a switch. The switch includes a lever, and a pivot body. The lever is rotatable about pivot axis of the pivot body between a first, unlocked position in which the loudspeaker is pivotable relative to the mounting and a second locked position in which movement of the loudspeaker relative to the mounting bracket is inhibited. Para [76-77, 81-82, 102-103, 106] teaches the loudspeaker 102 can be reoriented or removed from the mounting bracket 104 by pressing on the latch 902 to displace it towards its associated mounting member 900 to release the lever 700, the lever 700 can then be rotated back to the unlocked position (FIG. 10A). The support arms 202 may be biased slightly inwards, such that, as the lever 700 is rotated towards the unlocked position, the support arms 202 push on the switch 512 to keep the cam surface 802 engaged with the cam pin 804. Alternatively or additionally, a surface of the switch 512 opposite the pivot body 702 can be provided with a second cam surface 810 (see also FIG. 8A) that is configured to ride along a cam feature 812 (e.g., a second cam pin, FIG. 8A) on the baffle 300 or yoke 502 to move the switch 512 away from the corresponding support arm 202 as it is displaced toward the unlocked position. Once in the unlocked position, the loudspeaker 102 can be rotated relative to the mounting bracket 104 to change the pitch angle, or, to remove the loudspeaker 102, the free ends 210 (FIG. 2) of the support arms 202 can be pressed towards each other to disengage the pivot pins 212 from pin receptacles 402, and then the loudspeaker 102 can be pulled away from the mounting bracket 104).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Brousseau in Eva’s invention, provides a rotatable lever for locking and unlocking movement of a loudspeaker relative to a mounting bracket, this could be accomplished by linear motion as well as rotational motion. Overall there are a lot of mechanisms that could be used to lock the pitch using the same lock pin/lock features concept. See Brousseau’s para [106]
Regarding claim 6, Eva does not explicitly disclose the audio device of claim 1, wherein the coupler enables toolless attachment and removal of the accessory attachment.
Brousseau teaches wherein the coupler enables toolless attachment and removal of the accessory attachment (para [75, 76] teaches the support arms 202 can removed from the loudspeaker 102 by displacing the free ends of the arms 202 towards each other to disengage the pivot pins 212 from the pin receptacles 402. Para [82] teaches the loudspeaker 102 can be reoriented or removed from the mounting bracket 104 by pressing on the latch 902 to displace it towards it associated mounting member 900 to release the lever 700, the lever 700 can then be rotated back to the unlocked position (Fig 10A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Brousseau in Eva’s invention, the loudspeaker can be reoriented or removed from the mounting bracket by pressing on the latch without using any tool.
Regarding claim 8, Eva discloses sealing member 144 provides other benefits, such as ingress protection (IP) (e.g. from solid particles, such as dust, liquids, such as water) and drop protection. Para [46]. The handler assembly 140 is secured to housing opening/port using sealing member 144, para [43-44] and Fig 6.
Eva does not explicitly discloses the audio device of claim 7, wherein the port complies with an ingress protection (IP) rating for the audio device, wherein the IP rating is at least IP 67.
Thus, one of the ordinary skills in the art could have modified the prior art by adding an ingress protection (IP) rating 67 in the port/opening of the housing of the audio device so as to provide sealing against dust and water so as to protect the port/opening of the housing.
Regarding claim 13, Eva discloses an accessory (Figs 1-6, handle 140, para [34-36]) for an audio device (Fig 1, audio device 100, para [36]) the accessory (Figs 1. 5-6, accessory/handle 140) comprising:
a main body (Figs 5-6 main body/enclosure 110, para [36]); and an accessory attachment (Figs 1-6, sealing member 144, endpiece 146, eyelet 142, para [42-46]) coupled with the main body (Figs 1-6 enclosure 100) and configured to selectively engage a coupler on the audio device (audio device 100, para [37]).
Eva does not explicitly discloses wherein the accessory attachment is configured for toolless engagement and disengagement with the coupler, wherein the accessory attachment is configured to engage and disengage with the coupler via a rotational motion.
Brousseau teaches wherein the accessory attachment is configured for toolless engagement and disengagement with the coupler (para [75-76, 79-80, 82] teaches the loudspeaker 102 can be reoriented or removed from the mounting bracket 104 by pressing on the latch 902 to displace it towards it associated mounting member 900 to release the lever 700, the lever 700 can then be rotated back to the unlocked position (Fig 10A) or to remove the loudspeaker 102 the free ends 210 (Fig 2) of the support arms 202 can be pressed towards each other to disengage the pivot pins 212 from pin receptacles 402, and then the loudspeaker 102 can be pulled away from the mounting bracket 104).
wherein the accessory attachment is configured to engage and disengage with the coupler via a rotational motion (Figs 2-4, accessory attachment/mounting bracket 104 includes a mounting plate 200 and a pair of support arms 202 for supporting the loudspeaker 102, the support arms 202 are inserted in the bracket passthroughs 306 with their pivot pins 212 aligned with corresponding slot ones of the pin alignment slots 308 as shown in Figs 4A-4D. As the loudspeaker 102 is moved along the support arms 202, the pivot pins 212, guided by the tapered walls of the pin alignment slots 308, will ride up the ramp features 400 and snap into place in the pin receptacles 402, as shown in FIGS. 4C & 4D. Once the pivot pins 212 are engaged in the pin receptacles 402, the support arms 202 will be unable to travel any further toward the front surface of baffle 300. In this position, the support arms 202 can only be removed from the loudspeaker 102 by displacing the free ends of the arms 202 towards each other to disengage the pivot pins 212 from the pin receptacles 402, para [75, 95]); Figs 5, 7, 10A-10B and [79] teaches the loudspeaker includes a switch. Each locking mechanism 510 includes a switch 512 and a switch lock 514. Once the loudspeaker 102 is oriented at the desired pitch, the user can actuate the locking mechanisms 510 to hold it in place. The locking mechanisms 510 will both lock the pitch angle and secure the mounting bracket 104 in the loudspeaker 102 by pushing the lock pins 214 deeper into the locking holes 602 (FIG. 6), [80-82] teaches the switch 512 includes a lever 700 and a pivot body 702. The lever 700 is rotated to the locked position. The loudspeaker 102 can be reoriented or removed from the mounting bracket 104 by pressing on the latch 902 to displace it towards it associated mounting member 900 to release the lever 700, the lever 700 can then be rotated back to the unlocked position (Fig 10A), Para [75-77, 81-82, 102-103, 106] teaches the loudspeaker 102 can be reoriented or removed from the mounting bracket 104 by pressing on the latch 902 to displace it towards its associated mounting member 900 to release the lever 700, the lever 700 can then be rotated back to the unlocked position (FIG. 10A). The support arms 202 may be biased slightly inwards, such that, as the lever 700 is rotated towards the unlocked position, the support arms 202 push on the switch 512 to keep the cam surface 802 engaged with the cam pin 804. Alternatively or additionally, a surface of the switch 512 opposite the pivot body 702 can be provided with a second cam surface 810 (see also FIG. 8A) that is configured to ride along a cam feature 812 (e.g., a second cam pin, FIG. 8A) on the baffle 300 or yoke 502 to move the switch 512 away from the corresponding support arm 202 as it is displaced toward the unlocked position. Once in the unlocked position, the loudspeaker 102 can be rotated relative to the mounting bracket 104 to change the pitch angle, or, to remove the loudspeaker 102, the free ends 210 (FIG. 2) of the support arms 202 can be pressed towards each other to disengage the pivot pins 212 from pin receptacles 402, and then the loudspeaker 102 can be pulled away from the mounting bracket 104).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Brousseau in Eva’s invention, provides a rotatable lever for locking and unlocking movement of a loudspeaker relative to a mounting bracket, this could be accomplished by linear motion as well as rotational motion. Overall there are a lot of mechanisms that could be used to lock the pitch using the same lock pin/lock features concept. See Brousseau’s para [106].
Regarding claim 14, Eva discloses the accessory of claim 13, wherein the main body (Fig 1, main body 110, para [36] includes an arcuate feature (para [50] discloses the audio device main body can be any sizes and shapes) and wherein the accessory attachment (accessory attachment/handle 140 includes an eyelet coupler (Fig 5 para [34, 43-45] discloses the handle assembly is prepared by sliding eyelet 142 connected with the arcuate feature).
Regarding claim 17, Eva discloses the accessory of claim 13, wherein the accessory attachment includes at least one complementary coupler for selectively engaging the coupler and maintaining connection with the audio device during at least one of transport or use of the audio device (Fig 4, para [43, 45-46] discloses the handle assembly is prepared by sliding eyelet 142 onto an end of handle 140, where sealing member 144 is inserted into groove 143 in eyelet 142. Groove 143, it goes around the entirety of eyelet 142 to secure sealing member 144 to eyelet 142. Endpiece 146 is attached to the end of handle 140 to secure the endpiece 146 and eyelet 142 onto that end of the handle. The same process can be repeated for the other end of handle 140. Endpiece 146 can be attached using any suitable coupling means, such as using at least one of a retention member (e.g., a pin through endpiece 146 and the end of handle 140. Endpieces 146 have been engaged with acoustic enclosure 150 of audio device).
Regarding claim 18, Eva discloses an audio device Fig 1, audio device 100, para [36]) comprising
a body (Figs 5-6 main body/enclosure 110, para [36]),
a slot recessed from an outer surface of the body (Figs 3-4 shows a slot where eyelet 142, sealing member 144, and endpiece 146, para [43-44]),
a coupler Figs 1-6, sealing member 144, endpiece 146, eyelet 142, para [42-46] in the slot), the coupler including at least one protrusion (Fig 4, para [43, 45-46] discloses the handle assembly is prepared by sliding eyelet 142 onto an end of handle 140, where sealing member 144 is inserted into groove 143 in eyelet 142. Groove 143, it goes around the entirety of eyelet 142 to secure sealing member 144 to eyelet 142. Endpiece 146 is attached to the end of handle 140 to secure the endpiece 146 and eyelet 142 onto that end of the handle. The same process can be repeated for the other end of handle 140. Endpiece 146 can be attached using any suitable coupling means, such as using at least one of a retention member (e.g., a pin through endpiece 146 and the end of handle 140. Endpieces 146 have been engaged with acoustic enclosure 150 of audio device).
an accessory including an accessory attachment (Figs 1-6, sealing member 144, endpiece 146, eyelet 142, para [42-46] via coupler) connected with the coupler, the
accessory attachment enabling selective engagement of the coupler (Figs 1-6); and
(Referred to Applicant’s specification’s para [62] the modular nature of the accessory attachment 70 and slot 120 interface that enables at least two distinct types of accessory 60 to selectively engage with the audio device 10. For example, distinct accessory 60 can be exchanged with the slot 120 in a manner of seconds without the need for a tool.
Eva does not explicitly disclose another accessory including an accessory attachment configured to connect with the coupler, wherein only one of the accessory or the another accessory is configured to connect with the coupler at a time.
Brousseau teaches another accessory including an accessory attachment configured to connect with the coupler, wherein only one of the accessory or the another accessory is configured to connect with the coupler at a time (para [75-76, 79-80, 82] teaches the loudspeaker 102 can be reoriented or removed from the mounting bracket 104 by pressing on the latch 902 to displace it towards it associated mounting member 900 to release the lever 700, the lever 700 can then be rotated back to the unlocked position (Fig 10A) or to remove the loudspeaker 102 the free ends 210 (Fig 2) of the support arms 202 can be pressed towards each other to disengage the pivot pins 212 from pin receptacles 402, and then the loudspeaker 102 can be pulled away from the mounting bracket 104).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Brousseau in Eva’s invention, provides a rotatable lever for locking and unlocking movement of a loudspeaker relative to a mounting bracket, this could be accomplished by linear motion as well as rotational motion. Overall there are a lot of mechanisms that could be used to lock the pitch using the same lock pin/lock features concept. See Brousseau’s para [106].
Regarding claim 19, Eva discloses the audio device of claim 18, wherein the coupler provides a detent against removal of the accessory attachment when engaged
(Figs 3-4, 6, para [6, 13, 45-46] discloses after endpieces 146 have been engaged with acoustic enclosure 150, eyelets 142 can be pressed through their respective openings in upper enclosure 110 such that sealing members 144 pass through the opening to secure the eyelets 142 to the housing as shown in FIGS. 3, 4, and 6. As is also shown, each endpiece 146 is secured in the housing due to contact with the corresponding eyelet 142. This configuration provides flexibility in the attachment/installation process, as the required tolerances of the eyelet 142, housing opening, and sealing member 144 can be increased due to the ability of sealing member 144 to compress when pushed through the housing opening. Once sealing members 144 are pressed through the corresponding openings in the upper enclosure 110, in this implementation, it is very difficult to remove the eyelets 142, especially without using a tool. Thus, each sealing member 144 effectively prevents (e.g., without using considerable force or a tool) its corresponding eyelet 142 from disconnecting from the housing), and
enable multi-step actuation of the accessory attachment (para [43-48, 49]).
Eva does not explicitly discloses wherein the at least one protrusion requires multi-step actuation to overcome the detent.
Brousseau teaches wherein the at least one protrusion requires multi-step actuation to overcome the detent.
(para [25] teaches a locking mechanism includes a switch. The switch includes a lever, and a pivot body. The lever is rotatable about pivot axis of the pivot body between a first, unlocked position in which the loudspeaker is pivotable relative to the mounting and a second locked position in which movement of the loudspeaker relative to the mounting bracket is inhibited. Para [76-77, 81-82, 102-103, 106] teaches the loudspeaker 102 can be reoriented or removed from the mounting bracket 104 by pressing on the latch 902 to displace it towards its associated mounting member 900 to release the lever 700, the lever 700 can then be rotated back to the unlocked position (FIG. 10A). The support arms 202 may be biased slightly inwards, such that, as the lever 700 is rotated towards the unlocked position, the support arms 202 push on the switch 512 to keep the cam surface 802 engaged with the cam pin 804. Alternatively or additionally, a surface of the switch 512 opposite the pivot body 702 can be provided with a second cam surface 810 (see also FIG. 8A) that is configured to ride along a cam feature 812 (e.g., a second cam pin, FIG. 8A) on the baffle 300 or yoke 502 to move the switch 512 away from the corresponding support arm 202 as it is displaced toward the unlocked position. Once in the unlocked position, the loudspeaker 102 can be rotated relative to the mounting bracket 104 to change the pitch angle, or, to remove the loudspeaker 102, the free ends 210 (FIG. 2) of the support arms 202 can be pressed towards each other to disengage the pivot pins 212 from pin receptacles 402, and then the loudspeaker 102 can be pulled away from the mounting bracket 104).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Brousseau in Eva’s invention, provides a rotatable lever for locking and unlocking movement of a loudspeaker relative to a mounting bracket, this could be accomplished by linear motion as well as rotational motion. Overall there are a lot of mechanisms that could be used to lock the pitch using the same lock pin/lock features concept. See Brousseau’s para [106]
Regarding claim 20, Eva does not explicitly disclose the claimed limitation as recited in claim 20.
Brousseau teaches the audio device of claim 18, wherein the accessory is configured for toolless engagement and disengagement with the coupler (para [75-76, 79-80, 82] the loudspeaker 102 can be reoriented or removed from the mounting bracket 104 by pressing on the latch 902 to displace it towards it associated mounting member 900 to release the lever 700, the lever 700 can then be rotated back to the unlocked position (Fig 10A) or to remove the loudspeaker 102 the free ends 210 (Fig 2) of the support arms 202 can be pressed towards each other to disengage the pivot pins 212 from pin receptacles 402, and then the loudspeaker 102 can be pulled away from the mounting bracket 104). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Brousseau in Eva’s invention, in order to remove the handle from the loudspeaker by pressing on the latch.
Regarding claim 22, Eva discloses the audio device of claim 18, further comprising at least one driver (Fig 2, driver/one or more transducers (e.g., electro-acoustic transducers, para [38]) and a set of passive radiators in the body (Fig 2, para [41] passive radiators 152. In this implementation, three passive radiators 152 are employed).
Regarding claim 23, Eva discloses the audio device of claim 1, wherein the accessory attachment includes at least one complementary coupler for selectively engaging the coupler and maintaining connection with the audio device during at least one of transport or use of the audio device (Fig 4, para [43, 45-46] discloses the handle assembly is prepared by sliding eyelet 142 onto an end of handle 140, where sealing member 144 is inserted into groove 143 in eyelet 142. Groove 143, it goes around the entirety of eyelet 142 to secure sealing member 144 to eyelet 142. Endpiece 146 is attached to the end of handle 140 to secure the endpiece 146 and eyelet 142 onto that end of the handle. The same process can be repeated for the other end of handle 140. Endpiece 146 can be attached using any suitable coupling means, such as using at least one of a retention member (e.g., a pin through endpiece 146 and the end of handle 140. Endpieces 146 have been engaged with acoustic enclosure 150 of audio device).
Eva does not explicitly disclose wherein the at least one complementary coupler includes a slot including at least one turn for engaging the at least one protrusion in a rotational coupling.
Brousseau teaches wherein the at least one complementary coupler includes a slot including at least one turn for engaging the at least one protrusion in a rotational coupling (Figs 2-4, accessory attachment/mounting bracket 104 includes a mounting plate 200 and a pair of support arms 202 for supporting the loudspeaker 102, the support arms 202 are inserted in the bracket passthroughs 306 with their pivot pins 212 aligned with corresponding slot ones of the pin alignment slots 308 as shown in Figs 4A-4D. As the loudspeaker 102 is moved along the support arms 202, the pivot pins 212, guided by the tapered walls of the pin alignment slots 308, will ride up the ramp features 400 and snap into place in the pin receptacles 402, as shown in FIGS. 4C & 4D. Once the pivot pins 212 are engaged in the pin receptacles 402, the support arms 202 will be unable to travel any further toward the front surface of baffle 300. In this position, the support arms 202 can only be removed from the loudspeaker 102 by displacing the free ends of the arms 202 towards each other to disengage the pivot pins 212 from the pin receptacles 402, para [75, 95]); Figs 5, 7, 10A-10B and [79] teaches the loudspeaker includes a switch. Each locking mechanism 510 includes a switch 512 and a switch lock 514. Once the loudspeaker 102 is oriented at the desired pitch, the user can actuate the locking mechanisms 510 to hold it in place. The locking mechanisms 510 will both lock the pitch angle and secure the mounting bracket 104 in the loudspeaker 102 by pushing the lock pins 214 deeper into the locking holes 602 (FIG. 6), [80-82] teaches the switch 512 includes a lever 700 and a pivot body 702. The lever 700 is rotated to the locked position. The loudspeaker 102 can be reoriented or removed from the mounting bracket 104 by pressing on the latch 902 to displace it towards it associated mounting member 900 to release the lever 700, the lever 700 can then be rotated back to the unlocked position (Fig 10A), Para [75-77, 81-82, 102-103, 106] teaches the loudspeaker 102 can be reoriented or removed from the mounting bracket 104 by pressing on the latch 902 to displace it towards its associated mounting member 900 to release the lever 700, the lever 700 can then be rotated back to the unlocked position (FIG. 10A). The support arms 202 may be biased slightly inwards, such that, as the lever 700 is rotated towards the unlocked position, the support arms 202 push on the switch 512 to keep the cam surface 802 engaged with the rt 804. Alternatively or additionally, a surface of the switch 512 opposite the pivot body 702 can be provided with a second cam surface 810 (see also FIG. 8A) that is configured to ride along a cam feature 812 (e.g., a second cam pin, FIG. 8A) on the baffle 300 or yoke 502 to move the switch 512 away from the corresponding support arm 202 as it is displaced toward the unlocked position. Once in the unlocked position, the loudspeaker 102 can be rotated relative to the mounting bracket 104 to change the pitch angle, or, to remove the loudspeaker 102, the free ends 210 (FIG. 2) of the support arms 202 can be pressed towards each other to disengage the pivot pins 212 from pin receptacles 402, and then the loudspeaker 102 can be pulled away from the mounting bracket 104). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Eva as modified by Brousseau in Chen’s invention, provides a rotatable lever for locking and unlocking movement of a loudspeaker relative to a mounting bracket, this could be accomplished by linear motion as well as rotational motion. Overall there are a lot of mechanisms that could be used to lock the pitch using the same lock pin/lock features concept. See Brousseau’s para [106]
Regarding claim 25, Eva discloses sealing member 144 provides other benefits, such as ingress protection (IP) (e.g. from solid particles, such as dust, liquids, such as water) and drop protection. Para [46]. The handler assembly 140 is secured to housing opening/port using sealing member 144, para [43-44] and Fig 6.
Eva does not explicitly discloses the audio device of claim 12, wherein the compliant material provides an ingress protection (IP) seal at a bottom of the slot.
Thus, one of the ordinary skills in the art could have modified the prior art by adding an ingress protection (IP) rating at a bottom of the slot so as to provide sealing against dust and water so as to protect audio device.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eva 2021/0160601 in view of Brousseau 2020/0186901 further in view of Adelmann 2017/0222683
Regarding claim 15, Eva discloses the accessory of claim 13, wherein the eyelet includes a rigid core material and a compliant cover material (para [42, 48] discloses eyelets 142 can be constructed of plastic, metal, wood or any other suitable material),
Eva does not explicitly disclose wherein the compliant cover material aids in impact protection for the audio device.
Adelmann teaches wherein the compliant cover material aids in impact protection for the audio device (para [28, 43] teaches compliant materials such as rubber, TPE, silicone, or the like may be used. Soft, compliant, or compressible materials may be attached to front member, [31] teaches protective case 100 may be made of any suitable material and/or any combination thereof.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Adelmann in Eva’s invention, in order to protect the devices from damage due to exposure to shock, impact, dropping, puncture, dust, and/or other potentially damaging forces or element. See Adelmann’s para [3, 29].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 9 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 9 objected because the prior art Eva 2021/0160601 in view of Brousseau 2020/0186901 fails to teach the claimed limitation, “the audio device of claim 7, further comprising a removable plug configured to fill the port and provide aesthetic continuity in the outer surface of the body”.
Conclusion
/JULIE X DANG/Examiner, Art Unit 2692
/CAROLYN R EDWARDS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2692