DETAILED ACTION
Response to Election/Restrictions and Status of Claims
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, Claims 1-12, drawn to an additive manufacturing support, and wax form species i), drawn to a geometric shape, in the reply filed on June 22, 2026, is acknowledged.
Claims 13-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, Group II, drawn to a method of additively manufacturing a part, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 4 recites wherein “at least one ceramic support is moveable within the at least one aperture”.
The instant specification states “The plurality of ceramic supports 206a may reduce friction and allow for movement (e.g., rolling) of the portions of the green body part 200a or brown body part in contact therewith. As such, during debinding and/or sintering, the green body part 200a or brown body part may move with or across the plurality of ceramic supports 206a as the part is shrinking, thereby reducing deformation or damage to the part” (para. [0046]),
“The plurality of apertures 212a may be designed such that at least one of the plurality of ceramic supports 206a is moveable within a respective aperture of the plurality of apertures 212a. For example, at least one of the plurality of ceramic supports 206a may roll within the aperture as the green body part 200a or brown body part in contact therewith shrinks. Such movement of the ceramic supports 206a within the apertures 212a may allow for movement of the part during shrinkage” (para. [0048]), and
“Each of the plurality of ceramic supports 206a may be any suitable shape and size that allows for movement of and/or supports the portions of the green body part 200a or brown body part in contact therewith during debinding or sintering. For example, in embodiments, each of the plurality of ceramic supports 206a may comprise a spherical shape, as shown in FIG. 6, or a rectangular shape, as described herein. Spherical and/or rectangular ceramic supports may allow for movement of and/or support the part during debinding or sintering” (para. [0049]).
Examiner therefore interprets that a support which allows for movement during the shrinkage resulting from debinding or sintering reads on the claimed term ‘moveable’ and reads on ‘moveable within the at least one aperture’.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Where applicant acts as his or her own lexicographer to specifically define a term of a claim contrary to its ordinary meaning, the written description must clearly redefine the claim term and set forth the uncommon definition so as to put one reasonably skilled in the art on notice that the applicant intended to so redefine that claim term. Process Control Corp. v. HydReclaim Corp., 190 F.3d 1350, 1357, 52 USPQ2d 1029, 1033 (Fed. Cir. 1999). The term “skater” in claim 7 is used by the claim to mean a support structure which may move or roll during debinding or sintering (see specification, para. [0056]), while the accepted meaning is “a person who skates”. The term is indefinite because the specification does not clearly redefine the term.
Additionally, the specification recites “The ceramic skater 216b may be removed from the consolidated part after sintering, as described herein. In this manner, it will be understood that an interim body can be located between the green body part 200b and the additive manufacturing support 202b” (see specification, para. [0056]). Therefore, it is unclear if the interim body and the skater are the same component or not, and if the skater and/or interim body are considered part of the claimed additive manufacturing support structure, or is a separate feature to be used between the claimed additive manufacturing support and the green body part.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mark (cited by Applicant in IDS filed September 12, 2025, US 20180154574 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Mark discloses an additive manufacturing support (Fig. 4, Fig. 5D, Fig. 7), comprising:
soluble green body support, comprising a first and opposite second surface, composed of wax and comprising embedded ceramic spheres (para. [0120]-[0121]; Fig. 4; Fig. 5D, GS1 (green body support) with embedded SS1 (sintering support); para. [0158]; see also Image 1 below), and
sintering supports comprising ceramic powder within a polymer binder, embedded within the soluble green body support (Fig. 4, Fig. 5D, sintering supports (SH1); para. [0094] and [0153], ceramic sintering supports; para. [0111], ceramic powder in polymer binder for supports; see also Image 1 below).
Image 1: annotated Fig. 5D of Mark
Regarding Claim 2, Mark discloses wherein at least one ceramic support protrudes from at least one of the first surface or the second surface of the wax form (see Fig. 5D and Image 1 above, wherein SH1 structure protrudes from the top and bottom of GS1).
Regarding Claim 3, Mark discloses wherein ceramic spheres are embedded in the wax matrix (Fig. 5D, SS1 in matrix of GS1; para. [0120]), and one of ordinary skill in the art would understand there to be an aperture from which the ceramic sphere resided in the wax (the wax and the ceramic sphere cannot occupy the same space/volume), which reads on the claimed limitation wherein the wax form comprises at least one aperture within which the at least one ceramic support is disposed.
Further, the sintering supports (SH1) and the volume (wax) of the green body supports (GS1) would not occupy the same volume, and one of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate the sintering supports to be within apertures of the wax form/green body support (see Image 1 above).
Regarding Claim 4, Mark discloses wherein the at least one ceramic support is moveable (movement by shrinkage during debinding and sintering) within the at least one aperture (para. [0024]-[0025], wherein supports are designed to shrink upon debinding and/or sintering; [0120], wherein ceramic support becomes powder after debinding and sintering therefore moving via gravity to be removed; see claim interpretation above; see Fig. 5D and Fig. 7, wherein debinding would cause movement (powderization) of unconnected (SS1) embedded ceramic spheres; see claim interpretation above).
Regarding Claim 5, Mark discloses wherein the at least one ceramic support comprises a spherical shape or a rectangular shape (para. [0111], ceramic spheres; see also [0120] and [0131]; see para. [0151], rectangular support structures for easy removal).
Regarding Claim 6, Mark discloses wherein the at least one ceramic support comprises a plurality of ceramic supports (Fig. 4; Fig. 5D, plurality of SS1 and SH1 pieces).
Regarding Claim 7, Mark discloses a sliding release layer comprising ceramic particles in a binder, which is disposed on the sintering support layer, and therefore reads on a ceramic skater (para. [0024]; Fig. 4, layer SL1; see also SL2 disposed on SH1 in Fig. 5D; sliding release reads on ‘skater’ – see 112b rejection above).
Regarding Claim 8, Mark discloses wherein the wax form comprises a melting point greater than or equal to 40C (para. [0158], carnauba (about 82-86C), beeswax (about 62-64C), paraffin (about 46-68C)).
Regarding Claim 9, Mark discloses wherein the wax is paraffin wax (para. [0158]).
Regarding Claim 10, Mark discloses wherein the wax form comprises a geometric shape (see Fig. 5C, wax form (green body support) is rectangular; see also geometrically printed green body support in Fig. 5D).
Regarding Claim 11, Mark discloses wherein the ceramic support comprises alumina, aluminum nitride, zirconia, titania, silica, silicon nitride, silicon carbide, boron nitride, or a combination thereof (para. [0254], alumina; [0224], silica, zirconia).
Regarding Claim 12, Mark discloses a ceramic base plate and wherein the wax form and the at least one ceramic support are supported on the ceramic base plate (para. [0125], ceramic build plate 16; see Fig. 4).
Conclusion
Takeuchi (WO 2019111347 A1): teaches a support for an additively manufactured object comprising brown body supports embedded in a green body support matrix, whereby the green body matrix is removed during debinding (Abstract; Fig. 6; Fig. 11-13).
CATHERINE P. SMITH
Patent Examiner
Art Unit 1735
/CATHERINE P SMITH/ Examiner, Art Unit 1735
/KEITH WALKER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1735