Detailed Action
Claims 1-22 are currently pending.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because there are no matching descriptions for Figures 3F and 3G of applicant’s drawings filed 5/30/2024.
Appropriate correction is required.
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Interpretation
For the purposes of examination, demyelination and “dysmyelination” as claimed are considered distinct processes, wherein the former refers to the undoing or destruction of functional myelin sheaths (multiple sclerosis, etc.) whereas the latter refers to the incomplete formation or malformation of the myelin sheaths (X-linked adrenoleukodystrophy, adult Refsum disease, etc.).
Claim Objections
Claims 4 and 6-18 are objected to because “The method of anyone of claim 1” should instead read “ The method of claim 1”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)
Claims 1-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because the specification, while being enabling for alleviating “a disease, disorder, or condition associated with or suspected of being associated with dysmyelination”, does not reasonably provide enablement for the treatment, which includes the prevention and inhibition, of any of such diseases including Pitt-Hopkins Syndrome (PTHS). The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to practice the invention commensurate in scope with these claims.
In In re Wands, 8 USPQ2d 1400 (1988), factors to be considered in determining whether a disclosure meets the enablement requirement of 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph, have need described. They are:
1. the nature of the invention,
2. the state of the prior art,
3. the predictability or lack thereof in the art,
4. the amount of direction or guidance present,
5. the presence or absence of working examples,
6. the breadth of the claims,
7. the quantity of experimentation needed, and
8. the level of the skill in the art.
The nature of the invention (1) and breadth of the claims (6)
The nature of the invention and breadth of Claims 1-22 is the treatment, including prevention and inhibition, of a disease, disorder, or condition associated with or suspected of being associated with dysmyelination including PTHS. Page 10 of the specification provides that the term the term "treating" can include reversing, alleviating, inhibiting the progression of, preventing or reducing the likelihood of the disease, disorder, or condition to which such term applies, or one or more symptoms or manifestations of such disease, disorder or condition.”
The state of the prior art (2) and the predictability or lack thereof in the art (3)
Sweatt (Experimental & Molecular Medicine (2013) 45, e21, 1-15) teaches “Pitt–Hopkins Syndrome (PTHS) is a rare disorder characterized by intellectual disability (ID), ‘atypical’ autistic characteristics, and hyperventilation. PTHS is caused by heterozygous hypomorphic or null mutation or deletion of the transcription factor 4 (TCF4) gene on human chromosome 18” (Page 1). Applicant describes the same on Page 1 of the specification. Sobetirome is a thyromimetic drug that binds TRbeta1 and is not implicated in chromosomal or SNP mutations which cause the disease. Therefore, Sweatt’s description of the etiology of PTHS precludes sobetirome from “preventing” the genus of diseases as claimed because its onset is caused by genetic factors rather than caused directly by TRbeta1 activity.
It is unclear how such diseases broadly related to dysmyelination, which are often caused by genetic factors, can be prevented by therapeutics which address symptoms following the initiation of the disease.
The amount of direction or guidance present (4) and the presence or absence of working examples (5)
Example 1, Page 22+, details the treatment of mice in a PTHS model. However, the model describes “restoring” myelination defects, not preventing such defects. Further, no explication of how sobetirome would remedy the gene deletion or mutation causing downregulation of TCF4 is provided.
The quantity of experimentation needed (7)
The quantity of experimentation needed is extremely difficult, novel, and undue experimentation; the ability of the method to prevent or inhibit PTHS or diseases related to dysmyelination is nearly impossible to determine and not at all enabled by the experiments disclosed in the specifications of the application.
The level of the skill in the art (8)
The level of skill in the art is high; however, even to a person of high skill in the pharmaceutical arts, sobetirome would not be expected to prevent diseases caused by genetic factors.
Thus, the specification fails to provide sufficient support of the broad use of the method of the instant claims for “treating” the claimed diseases.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 1-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 22 recite “sobetirome…or derivative thereof”. The term “derivative” is undefined in applicant’s specification. “Derivative” is unclear and fails to establish the metes and bounds of the claim because there is no clear limitation defining what is and is not considered a derivative. How much structural modification is acceptable before a compound is no longer considered a “derivative” of sobetirome? Claims 2-21 are rejected by virtue of dependency.
Claim 5 recites the limitation “the one or more conditions associated with Pitt-Hopkins Syndrome”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim because the claims upon which Claim 5 depends do not describe “one or more conditions”. Therefore it is unclear what “the” refers to in the rejected claim.
Claim 5 recites “seizures (epilepsy)”. It is unclear whether the parenthetical is further limiting the preceding term “seizures” or is merely exemplary of a type of seizures. Applicant must delete the parenthetical or clearly incorporate it as a limitation of the claim.
Claims 19 and 21 recite “unknown pro-myelinating compound” and “unknown muscarinic receptor antagonist”. The word unknown makes the metes and bounds of the secondary therapeutic explicitly unclear because one of ordinary skill in the art cannot know whether such a therapeutic is known to function as claimed if it is by definition “unknown.”
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor regards as the invention. “The use of sobetirome” is ambiguous, describing a compound or possibly a method of use. Use is not a category of invention. Applicant is requested to clearly distinguish a category of invention under 35 USC 101 for each claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(d)
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 21 describes “any known…muscarinic receptor antagonist” which is the same scope as Claim 20, upon which 21 depends. Therefore, Claim 21 does not further limit the scope of the genus of therapeutic agent which is described in Claim 20.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim does not fall clearly into at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because a use claim is not considered a method for lack of distinct steps. Rather, the claims as presented can be drawn to two distinct categories of invention: composition of matter and method. Further, "use" claims that do not clearly purport to claim a process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter fail to comply with 35 U.S.C. 101. In re Moreton, 288 F.2d 708, 709, 129 USPQ 227, 228 (CCPA 1961) ("one cannot claim a new use per se, because it is not among the categories of patentable inventions specified in 35 U.S.C. § 101"). See MPEP 2173.05(q).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 11-17, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hartley (WO2014178931).
Hartley teaches a method of treating X-linked adrenoleukodystrophy, adult Refsum disease or Krabbe disease, neurodevelopmental disorders, comprising administering sobetirome (Claims 1-7). Adult Refsum disease, for example, commonly occurs in childhood/adolescence and progresses into adulthood (Page 4). Sobetirome is administered via the claimed routes once or multiple times daily (Page 16). Regarding Claim 17, the limitation “wherein the prodrug of sobetirome comprises Sob-AM2” merely limits the prodrug form but does not limit the agent of Claim 1 to a prodrug. Therefore, Claim 17 further limits Claim 1 in that the acceptable agent to be administered is “sobetirome or a prodrug, wherein the prodrug is Sob-AM2, or a derivative thereof”. Hartley teaches sobetirome and therefore reads on Claim 17.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 11-19, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hartley (WO2014178931).
Hartley teaches a method of treating X-linked adrenoleukodystrophy, adult Refsum disease or Krabbe disease, neurodevelopmental disorders, comprising administering sobetirome (Claims 1-7). Adult Refsum disease, for example, commonly occurs in childhood/adolescence and progresses into adulthood (Page 4). Sobetirome is administered via the claimed routes once or multiple times daily (Page 16). Regarding Claim 17, the limitation “wherein the prodrug of sobetirome comprises Sob-AM2” merely limits the prodrug form but does not limit the agent of Claim 1 to a prodrug. Therefore, Claim 17 further limits Claim 1 in that the acceptable agent to be administered is “sobetirome or a prodrug, wherein the prodrug is Sob-AM2, or a derivative thereof”. Hartley teaches sobetirome and therefore reads on Claim 17.
Regarding Claims 18-19, Hartley teaches remyelination comprises administering T3 (Page 1). Remyelination with sobetirome in diseases with insufficient myelination or underdeveloped myelin sheaths is contemplated too (Page 2, Lines 1-11). Therefore, one of skill in the art seeking to treat diseases associated with dysmyelination or insufficient myelination would administer T3 with sobetirome as suggested by Hartley and expect success in recovering myelin sheath function because both T3 and sobetirome are taught to be use for this purpose. Further, in a related disease, multiple sclerosis, both agents are administered to reverse demyelination and promote remyelination of healthy sheaths (Page 24).
Claims 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hartley as applied to Claims 1-3, 11-19, and 22 in further view of Abiraman (The Journal of Neuroscience, February 25, 2015 • 35(8):3676–3688).
The teachings of Hartley are set forth above and incorporated by reference herein.
Hartley does not discuss the use of a muscarinic receptor antagonist.
Abiraman teaches “[u]sing solifenacin, an FDA-approved drug, we show that adjunct therapy increased the rate of myelination” and “[s]olifenacin promotes hOPC differentiation and myelination” (Pages 3676 and 3684).
In re Kerkhoven (205 USPQ 1069, 626 F2d 846) teaches “It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition which is to be used for the very same purpose.” See MPEP 2144.06. The compounds of Hartley and Abiraman are all directed toward the healthy remyelination of insufficiently myelinated or dysmyelinated sheaths. Therefore, it is prima facie obvious to form a composition comprising the examined compound and solfenacin to promote healthy myelination in diseases described in Hartley associated with dysmyelination. One of skill in the art would expect success in treating the diseases with both agents because insufficient myelination is corrected by both sobetirome and solifenacin.
Claims 4-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hartley as applied to Claims 1-3, 11-19, and 22 in further view of Phan (Nature Neuroscience volume 23, pages375–385 (2020)).
The teachings of Hartley are set forth above and incorporated by reference herein.
Hartley does not teach the role of myelination in PTHS.
Phan teaches “reduced myelination in the PTHS mouse model was due directly to Tcf4 mutation” and “defects in myelination are a primary pathophysiology in PTHS” (Pages 383-384). Further, “Tcf4 mutation leads to deficits in myelination” (Page 376).
One of ordinary skill in the art seeking to treat PTHS and symptoms resulting therefrom as described in examined Claim 5, informed by Hartley teaching sobetirome promotes healthy myelination in diseases associated with de- or dysmyelination and Phan teaching PTHS’s primary pathophysiology is related to myelination defects, would seek to use sobetirome to correct the undermyelination experienced by those afflicted by PTHS. The same artisan would expect success in doing so because of the related pathologies of the specific diseases described in Hartley and Phan as well as sobetirome’s known therapeutic uses in promoting healthy myelination of axon sheaths before the effective filing date of the examined claims.
Regarding Claims 6-10, one of skill in the art would expect success in treating any one of the TCF4 mutant subpopulations because disruption of TCF4, whether through chromosomal deletion, SNP nonsense mutation, gene deletion, is expected to lead “to deficits in myelination” as taught above.
Double Patenting
NONPROVISIONAL:
1. Claims 1-16 and 18-22 are rejected on the grounds of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 1-8 of U.S. Patent No. 9701650 (hereinafter referred to as Scanlan) in view of Hartley (WO2014178931), Abiraman (TheJournalofNeuroscience, February 25, 2015 • 35(8):3676–3688), and Phan (Nature Neuroscience volume 23, pages375–385 (2020)).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both applications are directed to a sobetirome and prodrugs thereof for the treatment of dysmyelinating diseases.
Regarding the claims directed to compositions of matter, In AbbVie Inc. v. Kennedy Institute of Rheumatology Trust, 764 F.3d 1366, 112 USPQ2d 1001 (Fed. Cir. 2014), the court explained that it is also proper to look at the disclosed utility in the reference disclosure to determine the overall question of obviousness in a nonstatutory double patenting context. See Sun Pharm. Indus., Ltd. v. Eli Lilly & Co., 611 F.3d 1381, 95 USPQ2d 1797 (Fed. Cir. 2010). See MPEP 804 (II) (B) (1).
Scanlan teaches a sobetirome prodrug (Claim 1). The prodrug is used in treating X-linked ALD, a dysmyelinating disease (Col 2, Lines 64+). Another neurodegenerative disease to be treated is adult Refsum disease with onset in childhood or adolescence (Col 4, Lines 22-33). Routes of administration include oral, intravenous, and others (Col 10, Lines 38-51; Col 28). Administration may be hourly (multiple times per day) or daily (Col 28, Lines 17-30).
Scanlan fails to teach co-administration with pro-myelinating agents or muscarinic receptor antagonists, specific treatment of PTHS, and TCF4 mutation in PTHS.
Regarding Claims 18-19, Hartley teaches remyelination comprises administering T3 (Page 1). Remyelination with sobetirome in diseases with insufficient myelination or underdeveloped myelin sheaths is contemplated too (Page 2, Lines 1-11). Diseases include X-linked ALD, adult Refsum disease, and Krabbe disease (Claims 1-7). Therefore, one of skill in the art seeking to treat diseases associated with dysmyelination or insufficient myelination would administer T3 with sobetirome as suggested by Hartley and expect success in recovering myelin sheath function because both T3 and sobetirome are taught to be use for this purpose. Further, in a related disease, multiple sclerosis, both agents are administered to reverse demyelination and promote remyelination of healthy sheaths (Page 24).
Abiraman teaches “[u]sing solifenacin, an FDA-approved drug, we show that adjunct therapy increased the rate of myelination” and “[s]olifenacin promotes hOPC differentiation and myelination” (Pages 3676 and 3684).
In re Kerkhoven (205 USPQ 1069, 626 F2d 846) teaches “It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition which is to be used for the very same purpose.” See MPEP 2144.06. The compounds of Scanlan, Hartley, and Abiraman are all directed toward the healthy remyelination of insufficiently myelinated or dysmyelinated sheaths. Therefore, it is prima facie obvious to form a composition comprising the examined compound, T3, and solfenacin to promote healthy myelination in diseases described in Scanlan and Hartley associated with dysmyelination. One of skill in the art would expect success in treating the diseases with both agents because insufficient myelination is corrected by sobetirome, T3, and solifenacin.
Phan teaches “reduced myelination in the PTHS mouse model was due directly to Tcf4 mutation” and “defects in myelination are a primary pathophysiology in PTHS” (Pages 383-384). Further, “Tcf4 mutation leads to deficits in myelination” (Page 376).
One of ordinary skill in the art seeking to treat PTHS and symptoms resulting therefrom as described in examined Claim 5, informed by Scanlan teaching sobetirome promotes healthy myelination in diseases associated with de- or dysmyelination and Phan teaching PTHS’s primary pathophysiology is related to myelination defects, would seek to use sobetirome to correct the dysmyelination experienced by those afflicted by PTHS. The same artisan would expect success in doing so because of the related pathologies of the specific diseases described in Scanlan, Hartley, and Phan as well as sobetirome’s known therapeutic uses in promoting healthy myelination of axon sheaths before the effective filing date of the examined claims.
Regarding Claims 6-10, one of skill in the art would expect success in treating any one of the TCF4 mutant subpopulations because disruption of TCF4, whether through chromosomal deletion, SNP nonsense mutation, gene deletion, is expected to lead to “to deficits in myelination” as taught above.
Since both claim sets teach administering sobetirome or prodrugs thereof for the treatment of diseases associated with dysmyelination, the examiner maintains that the aforementioned claims of the instant application are substantially overlapping in scope as discussed hereinabove and are prima facie obvious over the cited claims of Scanlan.
2. Claims 1-16 and 18-22 are rejected on the grounds of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 1-11 of U.S. Patent No. 10392356 (hereinafter referred to as Scanlan) in view of Hartley (WO2014178931), Abiraman (TheJournalofNeuroscience, February 25, 2015 • 35(8):3676–3688), and Phan (Nature Neuroscience volume 23, pages375–385 (2020)).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both applications are directed to a sobetirome and prodrugs thereof for the treatment of dysmyelinating diseases.
Regarding the claims directed to compositions of matter, In AbbVie Inc. v. Kennedy Institute of Rheumatology Trust, 764 F.3d 1366, 112 USPQ2d 1001 (Fed. Cir. 2014), the court explained that it is also proper to look at the disclosed utility in the reference disclosure to determine the overall question of obviousness in a nonstatutory double patenting context. See Sun Pharm. Indus., Ltd. v. Eli Lilly & Co., 611 F.3d 1381, 95 USPQ2d 1797 (Fed. Cir. 2010). See MPEP 804 (II) (B) (1).
Scanlan teaches a sobetirome prodrug (Claim 1). The prodrug is used in treating X-linked ALD, a dysmyelinating disease (Col 2, Lines 64+). Another neurodegenerative disease to be treated is adult Refsum disease with onset in childhood or adolescence (Col 4, Lines 22-33). Routes of administration include oral, intravenous, and others (Col 10, Lines 38-51; Col 29, Lines 13-33). Administration may be hourly (multiple times per day) or daily (Col 29, Lines 33-47).
Scanlan fails to teach co-administration with pro-myelinating agents or muscarinic receptor antagonists, specific treatment of PTHS, and TCF4 mutation in PTHS.
Regarding Claims 18-19, Hartley teaches remyelination comprises administering T3 (Page 1). Remyelination with sobetirome in diseases with insufficient myelination or underdeveloped myelin sheaths is contemplated too (Page 2, Lines 1-11). Diseases include X-linked ALD, adult Refsum disease, and Krabbe disease (Claims 1-7). Therefore, one of skill in the art seeking to treat diseases associated with dysmyelination or insufficient myelination would administer T3 with sobetirome as suggested by Hartley and expect success in recovering myelin sheath function because both T3 and sobetirome are taught to be use for this purpose. Further, in a related disease, multiple sclerosis, both agents are administered to reverse demyelination and promote remyelination of healthy sheaths (Page 24).
Abiraman teaches “[u]sing solifenacin, an FDA-approved drug, we show that adjunct therapy increased the rate of myelination” and “[s]olifenacin promotes hOPC differentiation and myelination” (Pages 3676 and 3684).
In re Kerkhoven (205 USPQ 1069, 626 F2d 846) teaches “It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition which is to be used for the very same purpose.” See MPEP 2144.06. The compounds of Scanlan, Hartley, and Abiraman are all directed toward the healthy remyelination of insufficiently myelinated or dysmyelinated sheaths. Therefore, it is prima facie obvious to form a composition comprising the examined compound, T3, and solfenacin to promote healthy myelination in diseases described in Scanlan and Hartley associated with dysmyelination. One of skill in the art would expect success in treating the diseases with both agents because insufficient myelination is corrected by sobetirome, T3, and solifenacin.
Phan teaches “reduced myelination in the PTHS mouse model was due directly to Tcf4 mutation” and “defects in myelination are a primary pathophysiology in PTHS” (Pages 383-384). Further, “Tcf4 mutation leads to deficits in myelination” (Page 376).
One of ordinary skill in the art seeking to treat PTHS and symptoms resulting therefrom as described in examined Claim 5, informed by Scanlan teaching sobetirome promotes healthy myelination in diseases associated with de- or dysmyelination and Phan teaching PTHS’s primary pathophysiology is related to myelination defects, would seek to use sobetirome to correct the dysmyelination experienced by those afflicted by PTHS. The same artisan would expect success in doing so because of the related pathologies of the specific diseases described in Scanlan, Hartley, and Phan as well as sobetirome’s known therapeutic uses in promoting healthy myelination of axon sheaths before the effective filing date of the examined claims.
Regarding Claims 6-10, one of skill in the art would expect success in treating any one of the TCF4 mutant subpopulations because disruption of TCF4, whether through chromosomal deletion, SNP nonsense mutation, gene deletion, is expected to lead to “to deficits in myelination” as taught above.
Since both claim sets teach administering sobetirome or prodrugs thereof for the treatment of diseases associated with dysmyelination, the examiner maintains that the aforementioned claims of the instant application are substantially overlapping in scope as discussed hereinabove and are prima facie obvious over the cited claims of Scanlan.
3. Claims 1-10, 14-16, and 18-22 are rejected on the grounds of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 1-11 of U.S. Patent No. 11104654 (hereinafter referred to as Scanlan).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both applications are directed to a sobetirome and prodrugs thereof for the treatment of dysmyelinating diseases.
Scanlan teaches a sobetirome prodrug (Claim 1). The prodrug is used in treating X-linked ALD, a dysmyelinating disease (Col 2, Lines 64+).
Scanlan fails to teach co-administration with pro-myelinating agents or muscarinic receptor antagonists, specific treatment of PTHS, and TCF4 mutation in PTHS.
Regarding Claims 14-16 and 18-19, Hartley teaches a method of treating X-linked adrenoleukodystrophy, a neurodevelopmental disorder, comprising administering sobetirome (Claims 1-7). Sobetirome is administered via the claimed routes once or multiple times daily (Page 16). Hartley teaches remyelination comprises administering T3 (Page 1). Remyelination with sobetirome in diseases with insufficient myelination or underdeveloped myelin sheaths is contemplated too (Page 2, Lines 1-11). Diseases include X-linked ALD, adult Refsum disease, and Krabbe disease (Claims 1-7). Therefore, one of skill in the art seeking to treat diseases associated with dysmyelination or insufficient myelination would administer T3 with sobetirome as suggested by Hartley and expect success in recovering myelin sheath function because both T3 and sobetirome are taught to be use for this purpose. Further, in a related disease, multiple sclerosis, both agents are administered to reverse demyelination and promote remyelination of healthy sheaths (Page 24).
Abiraman teaches “[u]sing solifenacin, an FDA-approved drug, we show that adjunct therapy increased the rate of myelination” and “[s]olifenacin promotes hOPC differentiation and myelination” (Pages 3676 and 3684).
In re Kerkhoven (205 USPQ 1069, 626 F2d 846) teaches “It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition which is to be used for the very same purpose.” See MPEP 2144.06. The compounds of Scanlan, Hartley, and Abiraman are all directed toward the healthy remyelination of insufficiently myelinated or dysmyelinated sheaths. Therefore, it is prima facie obvious to form a composition comprising the examined compound, T3, and solfenacin to promote healthy myelination in diseases described in Scanlan and Hartley associated with dysmyelination. One of skill in the art would expect success in treating the diseases with both agents because insufficient myelination is corrected by sobetirome, T3, and solifenacin.
Phan teaches “reduced myelination in the PTHS mouse model was due directly to Tcf4 mutation” and “defects in myelination are a primary pathophysiology in PTHS” (Pages 383-384). Further, “Tcf4 mutation leads to deficits in myelination” (Page 376).
One of ordinary skill in the art seeking to treat PTHS and symptoms resulting therefrom as described in examined Claim 5, informed by Scanlan teaching sobetirome promotes healthy myelination in diseases associated with de- or dysmyelination and Phan teaching PTHS’s primary pathophysiology is related to myelination defects, would seek to use sobetirome to correct the dysmyelination experienced by those afflicted by PTHS. The same artisan would expect success in doing so because of the related pathologies of the specific diseases described in Scanlan, Hartley, and Phan as well as sobetirome’s known therapeutic uses in promoting healthy myelination of axon sheaths before the effective filing date of the examined claims.
Regarding Claims 6-10, one of skill in the art would expect success in treating any one of the TCF4 mutant subpopulations because disruption of TCF4, whether through chromosomal deletion, SNP nonsense mutation, gene deletion, is expected to lead to “to deficits in myelination” as taught above.
Since both claim sets teach administering sobetirome or prodrugs thereof for the treatment of diseases associated with dysmyelination, the examiner maintains that the aforementioned claims of the instant application are substantially overlapping in scope as discussed hereinabove and are prima facie obvious over the cited claims of Scanlan.
4. Claims 1-14 and 17-22 are rejected on the grounds of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 1-11 of U.S. Patent No. 11325886 (hereinafter referred to as Scanlan).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both applications are directed to a sobetirome and prodrugs thereof for the treatment of dysmyelinating diseases.
Regarding the claims directed to compositions of matter, In AbbVie Inc. v. Kennedy Institute of Rheumatology Trust, 764 F.3d 1366, 112 USPQ2d 1001 (Fed. Cir. 2014), the court explained that it is also proper to look at the disclosed utility in the reference disclosure to determine the overall question of obviousness in a nonstatutory double patenting context. See Sun Pharm. Indus., Ltd. v. Eli Lilly & Co., 611 F.3d 1381, 95 USPQ2d 1797 (Fed. Cir. 2010). See MPEP 804 (II) (B) (1).
Scanlan teaches sobetirome prodrug Sob-AM2:
(Claim 12). The prodrug is used in treating X-linked ALD or adult Refsum disease, dysmyelinating diseases (Col 13-14). Adult Refsum disease has onset in childhood or adolescence (Col 23, Lines 14-24). Routes of administration include oral, intravenous, and others (Col 16, Lines 5-11).
Scanlan fails to teach co-administration with pro-myelinating agents or muscarinic receptor antagonists, specific treatment of PTHS, and TCF4 mutation in PTHS.
Regarding Claims 18-19, Hartley teaches remyelination comprises administering T3 (Page 1). Remyelination with sobetirome in diseases with insufficient myelination or underdeveloped myelin sheaths is contemplated too (Page 2, Lines 1-11). Diseases include X-linked ALD, adult Refsum disease, and Krabbe disease (Claims 1-7). Therefore, one of skill in the art seeking to treat diseases associated with dysmyelination or insufficient myelination would administer T3 with sobetirome as suggested by Hartley and expect success in recovering myelin sheath function because both T3 and sobetirome are taught to be use for this purpose. Further, in a related disease, multiple sclerosis, both agents are administered to reverse demyelination and promote remyelination of healthy sheaths (Page 24).
Abiraman teaches “[u]sing solifenacin, an FDA-approved drug, we show that adjunct therapy increased the rate of myelination” and “[s]olifenacin promotes hOPC differentiation and myelination” (Pages 3676 and 3684).
In re Kerkhoven (205 USPQ 1069, 626 F2d 846) teaches “It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition which is to be used for the very same purpose.” See MPEP 2144.06. The compounds of Scanlan, Hartley, and Abiraman are all directed toward the healthy remyelination of insufficiently myelinated or dysmyelinated sheaths. Therefore, it is prima facie obvious to form a composition comprising the examined compound, T3, and solfenacin to promote healthy myelination in diseases described in Scanlan and Hartley associated with dysmyelination. One of skill in the art would expect success in treating the diseases with both agents because insufficient myelination is corrected by sobetirome, T3, and solifenacin.
Phan teaches “reduced myelination in the PTHS mouse model was due directly to Tcf4 mutation” and “defects in myelination are a primary pathophysiology in PTHS” (Pages 383-384). Further, “Tcf4 mutation leads to deficits in myelination” (Page 376).
One of ordinary skill in the art seeking to treat PTHS and symptoms resulting therefrom as described in examined Claim 5, informed by Scanlan teaching sobetirome promotes healthy myelination in diseases associated with de- or dysmyelination and Phan teaching PTHS’s primary pathophysiology is related to myelination defects, would seek to use sobetirome to correct the dysmyelination experienced by those afflicted by PTHS. The same artisan would expect success in doing so because of the related pathologies of the specific diseases described in Scanlan, Hartley, and Phan as well as sobetirome’s known therapeutic uses in promoting healthy myelination of axon sheaths before the effective filing date of the examined claims.
Regarding Claims 6-10, one of skill in the art would expect success in treating any one of the TCF4 mutant subpopulations because disruption of TCF4, whether through chromosomal deletion, SNP nonsense mutation, gene deletion, is expected to lead to “to deficits in myelination” as taught above.
Since both claim sets teach administering sobetirome or prodrugs thereof for the treatment of diseases associated with dysmyelination, the examiner maintains that the aforementioned claims of the instant application are substantially overlapping in scope as discussed hereinabove and are prima facie obvious over the cited claims of Scanlan.
Conclusion
No claim is allowable.
Inquiries
/RICHARD GRANT PECKHAM/Examiner, Art Unit 1627
/Kortney L. Klinkel/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1627