DETAILED ACTION
Claims Status
Claim(s) 1-13 is/are currently pending and presented for examination on the merits.
Specification
The use of trade name(s) or mark(s) used in commerce (e.g., RosetteSep), has been noted in this application. The term should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore the term should be capitalized wherever it appears or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the term.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
Claim Interpretation
Claim(s) 1-13 recite(s) “…administering to the subject an effective amount of cells, wherein the cells are obtained by a method comprising: (a) providing a culture of mesenchymal stem cells; (b) contacting the cell culture of step (a) with a polynucleotide comprising sequences encoding a Notch intracellular domain (NICD) wherein said polynucleotide does not encode a full-length notch protein; (c) selecting cells that comprise the polynucleotide of step (b); and (d) further culturing the selected cells of step (c)…” in claim(s) 1, 6, and 10. The broadest reasonable interpretation of the composition of “cells” administered encompasses the administration of any composition comprising MSCs engineered to express an NICD protein that is not part of a full-length Notch protein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claim(s) 1-13 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(2) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as obvious over WO 2011/097242 A2 (US PCT international Filing Date: 01Feb2011, Effective filing date: 02Feb2010; hereinafter “WO242”).
Regarding instant claim(s) 1-13, WO242 teaches a method of administering Notch+ mesenchymal stem cells (MSCs) to a subject in need thereof [e.g., abstract; pg. 12, lines 120; pg. 13, lines 18-23]. WO242 further teaches the Notch is NICD [e.g., pg. 23, 1-23], wherein NICD protein(s) comprise a cleaved Notch protein (e.g., not full-length Notch protein) [e.g., pg. 2, lines 29-31; pg. 17, lines 31; pg. 20, lines 1-4], and that NICD expression can be introduced using a viral expression vector (e.g., comprising a polynucleotide encoding the NICD protein that is not full-length) [e.g., pg. 10, lines 10-13]. The NICD expressing MSCs administered in the method of WO242 is/are the same as the NICD+ MSCs as obtained by the methods as required by claim(s) 1-13, are product considered to be product by process (e.g., the administered product is made by a specific process in the instant claims). Regarding the product by process limitations of instant claim(s) 1-13, none of the instant claimed processing steps to arrive at the instant claimed administered cell population (e.g., product) would lead one of ordinary skill in the art to reasonably expect the manufacture of a patentably distinct product from that of instant claims 1-13. Therefore, the product by process portions of instant claim(s) 1-13 are not considered patentably distinct from the product (e.g., NICD+ MSCs) as taught by WO242. MPEP 2113(I) provides “[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985)”. Regarding the helper T cell functional limitations of instant claim(s) 1-13, the (1) suppressing the function of Th1 cells wherein Th1 function comprises (a) activation of macrophages, (b) activation of cytotoxic T cells, (c) activation of B cells, or (d) stimulation of an inflammatory response; (2) augmenting Th2 function wherein Th2 function comprises (a) stimulation of B cell antibody production, (b) secretion of IL4, or (c) secretion of IL10; or (3) modulating the function of helper T cells (Th) wherein Th function comprises (a) activation of dendritic cells, (b) maturation of dendritic cells, or (c) surface expression of a costimulatory molecule are considered to flow naturally from the method comprising administration of NICD+ MSCs to a subject. Applicant is reminded that something old does not become patentable upon the discovery of a new property (see MPEP 2112(I)). Further, MPEP 2112(III) provides “Where applicant claims a composition in terms of a function, property or characteristic and the composition of the prior art is the same as that of the claim but the function is not explicitly disclosed by the reference, the examiner may make a rejection under both 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103. "There is nothing inconsistent in concurrent rejections for obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 and for anticipation under 35 U.S.C. 102." In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255 n.4, 195 USPQ 430, 433 n.4 (CCPA 1977). This same rationale should also apply to product, apparatus, and process claims claimed in terms of function, property or characteristic. Therefore, a 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 rejection is appropriate for these types of claims as well as for composition claims.”.
Double Patenting
Claim(s) 1, 10 is/are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim(s) 1, 4, 16 of copending Application No. PCT/US12/32504 (claims filed 4/6/2012; hereinafter “PCT504”). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Regarding instant claim(s) 1, 10, PCT504 claim(s) 1, 4, 16 teach(es) a genus of a method of suppressing T cell activation that is anticipated by the species of instant claims 1, 10 (see MPEP 2131.02(I)).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim(s) 1, 10 is/are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim(s) 1, 5 of U.S. Patent No. US RE46,382 E (hereinafter “RE382”). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Regarding instant claim(s) 1, 10, RE382 claim(s) 1, 5 teach(es) a genus of a method comprising the same active steps and same product (e.g., SB623 is a NICD+ MSC) that is anticipated by the species of instant claims 1-13 (see MPEP 2131.02(I)).
Claim(s) 1, 6, 10 is/are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim(s) 1, 5 of U.S. Patent No. US 10,543,234 B2 (hereinafter “US234”). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Regarding instant claim(s) 1, 6, 10, US234 claim(s) 1, 5 teach(es) a genus of a method comprising the same active steps and same product (e.g., SB623 is a NICD+ MSC) and the decrease (e.g., suppression) of Th1 cells or the increase (e.g., augmenting) of Th2 cells that is anticipated by the species of instant claims 1, 6, 10 (see MPEP 2131.02(I)).
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-10 is/are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim(s) 1-4, 7-10 of U.S. Patent No. US 11,903,972 B2 (hereinafter “US972”). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Regarding instant claim(s) 1-4, 10, US972 claim(s) 1-4 teach(es) a method of suppression the function of Th1 cells comprising administration of NICD+ MSCs, activation of macrophages, activation of cytotoxic T cells, and activation of B cells.
Regarding instant claim(s) 6-10, US972 claim(s) 7-10 teach(es) a method of augmenting Th2 cells comprising administration of NICD+ MSCs, activation of antibody production by B cells, secretion of IL4, and secretion of IL10.
Claim(s) 1,10 is/are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim(s) 1-2, 5 of U.S. Patent No. US 96,55,927 B2 (hereinafter “US927”). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Regarding instant claim(s) 1, 10, A001 claim(s) 1-2, 5 teach(es) a genus of a method of inhibiting (e.g., suppressing) T helper cells that is anticipated by the species of instant claims 1, 10 (see MPEP 2131.02(I)). It is noted that MSCs and “marrow adherent stem cells” are the same thing per the instant disclosure [e.g., ¶ 0012].
Claim(s) 1,10 is/are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim(s) 1-2, 5 of U.S. Patent No. US 8,785,190 B2 (hereinafter “US190”). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Regarding instant claim(s) 1, 10, A311 claim(s) 1, 5-6 teach(es) a genus of a method of inhibiting (e.g., suppressing) T helper cells comprising the same active steps and product (e.g., SB623 are NICD+ MSCs) that is anticipated by the species of instant claims 1, 10. It is noted that MSCs and “marrow adherent stem cells” are the same thing per the instant disclosure [e.g., ¶ 0012].
Conclusion
No claims are currently allowed.
/AMY M. CHATTIN/Examiner, Art Unit 1643
/GARY B NICKOL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1643