Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper content of an abstract of the disclosure.
A patent abstract is a concise statement of the technical disclosure of the patent and should include that which is new in the art to which the invention pertains. The abstract should not refer to purported merits or speculative applications of the invention and should not compare the invention with the prior art.
If the patent is of a basic nature, the entire technical disclosure may be new in the art, and the abstract should be directed to the entire disclosure. If the patent is in the nature of an improvement in an old apparatus, process, product, or composition, the abstract should include the technical disclosure of the improvement. The abstract should also mention by way of example any preferred modifications or alternatives.
Where applicable, the abstract should include the following: (1) if a machine or apparatus, its organization and operation; (2) if an article, its method of making; (3) if a chemical compound, its identity and use; (4) if a mixture, its ingredients; (5) if a process, the steps.
Extensive mechanical and design details of an apparatus should not be included in the abstract. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. At instant, the abstract includes only 20 words.
See MPEP § 608.01(b) for guidelines for the preparation of patent abstracts.
Claim Objections
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Re claim 4, line 1: The phrase/word “adapted” should be replace with a positive phrase/word, such as, -- configured --; -- conformed --, etc.. The phrase/word “adapted” is vague and indefinite.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-7, 9-11, and 14-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by STEWART, III (US 2021/0244145), hereinafter Stewart.
Re claims 1 and 10: Stewart teaches and shows a card cover 120, comprising: a sleeve 1321; one or more display windows 128; and one or more obscuring portions, that is, display windows 126 operable to obscure card information, wherein the one or more obscuring portions further comprise one or more privacy filters wherein the one or more display windows comprise a transparent or semi-transparent material (see figs. 2-4; para. 0043 through 0045 and para. 0048).
Re claims 3 and 15: Stewart teaches and shows wherein the card information comprises at least one of characteristic wherein the characteristic comprises user’s photo or issuing agency logo, or the like (see para. 0043).
Re claims 4 and 5-7: Stewart teaches and shows the card cover is adapted to adhere to a card via static charge wherein the card cover is made with the plastic film (see para. 0045), that which would inherently conform to a static charge for retaining the card within the card cover and further comprising one or more attachments for securing the card cover to a card, wherein Stewart discloses that the card cover includes multiple panels (122, 124, 132, 134, 136, 138) wherein these multiple panels will inherently be attached to each other along the outer edge with adhesive means, including glue, adhesive paste, epoxy adhesive, epoxy resin, epoxy, or the like.
Re claim 9: Stewart teaches and shows wherein the sleeve comprises at least thermoplastic polymer, thermoplastic, plastic, or the like (see para. 0045).
Re claim 11: Stewart teaches and shows wherein the one or more display windows comprise an area of the sleeve, slot 130, where there is an absence of material (see fig. 3 and para. 0046).
Re claim 14: Stewart teaches and shows a card 100 (see fig. 1 and para. 0041), comprising: a top and a bottom located at opposite ends of a length along a longitudinal axis; a left side and a right side located at opposite ends of a width along a latitudinal axis; an anterior surface and a posterior surface; a card cover 120 comprising one or more display windows 128 for displaying public card information and one or more obscuring portions 126 for obscuring private card information, wherein: the private card information and the public card information are disposed on the anterior surface; the one or more display windows overlay the public card information; and the one or more obscuring portions overlay the private card information wherein the private information includes a user’s photo or issuing agency logo, or the like (see para. 0043).
Re claim 16: Stewart teaches and shows wherein the public information is disposed substantially in the center of the card along the longitudinal axis and is viewable through the one or more display windows (see fig. 2)
Re claim 17: Stewart teaches and shows wherein the card cover is integrated with the card (see figs. 4 and 6b).
Claim(s) 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Quach (US 7,549,643).
Re claims 12-13: Quach teaches and shows a card cover kit 200, comprising at least one card cover 210 and a deck of cards 110, wherein the card cover comprises a sleeve as shown in figures 2A-2B wherein the card “A diamond” slides from right to left of the sleeve in a card cover kit 200 ; one display windows as shown in figures 2A-2B wherein the card “A diamond” is seen through the window; and one obscuring portions operable to obscure card information, such as a solid non-transparent barrier 210, wherein the obscuring portions, the solid non-transparent barrier serves as a privacy filters and further wherein the deck of cards further comprises at least one playing cards 110 (see figs. 2A-2B; 3A; and 4A; and column 4, lines 1 through lines 61).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 8 and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art of record, taken alone or in combination thereof, fails to specifically teach or suggest a card cover including, among other limitation(s), the privacy filters comprise louvers; the card cover is sized to cover a French-suited English pattern playing card; and means for inserting a playing card within the card cover, as set forth in the independent claim 1.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Yow-Jiun Hu (US 3,381,398); Smith, III (US 5,700,036); Smith, III (US 5,743,568); Adams (US 7,658,332); Arduini (US 2012/0248700); and Williams (US D509,955) discloses a card cover.
/MICHAEL G LEE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2876