DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ben Henda et al. (Pub. No. US 2022/0159460) and further in view of Lee et al. (Pub. No. US 2018/0270666).
Regarding claim 1. Ben Henda teaches a method performed by a first network entity in a wireless communication system (Ben Henda, the Abstract), the method comprising:
receiving, from a second network entity, an authentication acquisition response message including a subscription permanent identifier (SUPI) of a user equipment (UE) (Ben Henda, Fig. 4, pp [74], [96]: step 2, AUSF receives authentication get response message from UMD/ARPF);
transmitting, to a third network entity, an authentication response message including the temporary identifier, wherein the temporary identifier includes a variable filed which is generated as a random variable (Ben Henda, Fig. 4, pp [96]-[99], [270]: AUSF transmits Nausf_UEAuthentication_Authenticate Response to SEAF).
Ben Henda does not teach “generating a temporary identifier for the UE based on the SUPI”.
Lee teaches “generating a temporary identifier for the UE based on the SUPI” (Lee, pp [94], [123]: a globally unique temporary identifier GUTI is provided to a UE after registering with a network that includes information related to previously-accessed network slices so the UE might use it for privacy and security reason).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the affective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Ben Henda by incorporating teachings of Lee, method and system provide network access privacy including transmitting, receiving and exchanging messages between network devices and user equipment wherein the system provides encryption communication using keyed hash algorithm in communication messages/packets, or using a globally unique temporary identifier GUTI, e.g., registration messages and identifier information, to enhance the high privacy and most secured information via the wireless communication network thus to prevent and protect privacy and sensitive exchanged data and information in the wireless network.
Regarding claim 6. Ben Henda teaches a method performed by a second network entity in a wireless communication system (Ben Henda, the Abstract), the method comprising:
receiving, from a first network entity, an authentication acquisition request message including a subscription concealed identifier (SUCI) of a user equipment (UE) (Ben Henda, Fig. 4, pp [74], [96]: step 2, AUSF receives authentication get response message from UMD/ARPF);
identifying a subscription permanent identifier (SUPI) by de-concealing the SUCI (Ben Henda, pp [29], [146]-[147], [270]);
transmitting, to the first network entity, an authentication acquisition response message including the temporary identifier, wherein the temporary identifier includes a variable filed which is generated as a random variable (Ben Henda, Fig. 4, pp [96]-[99], [270]: AUSF transmits Nausf_UEAuthentication_Authenticate Response to SEAF).
Ben Henda does not teach “generating a temporary identifier for the UE based on the SUPI”.
Lee teaches “generating a temporary identifier for the UE based on the SUPI” (Lee, pp [94], [123]: a globally unique temporary identifier GUTI is provided to a UE after registering with a network that includes information related to previously-accessed network slices so the UE might use it for privacy and security reason).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the affective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Ben Henda by incorporating teachings of Lee, method and system provide network access privacy including transmitting, receiving and exchanging messages between network devices and user equipment wherein the system provides encryption communication using keyed hash algorithm in communication messages/packets, or using a globally unique temporary identifier GUTI, e.g., registration messages and identifier information, to enhance the high privacy and most secured information via the wireless communication network thus to prevent and protect privacy and sensitive exchanged data and information in the wireless network.
Regarding claim 11. Ben Henda teaches a first network entity in a wireless communication system (Ben Henda, the Abstract), the first network entity comprising:
a transceiver; and at least one processor coupled to the transceiver and configured to:
receive, from a second network entity, an authentication acquisition response message including a subscription permanent identifier (SUPI) of a user equipment (UE) (Ben Henda, Fig. 4, pp [74], [96]: step 2, AUSF receives authentication get response message from UMD/ARPF), and transmit, to a third network entity, an authentication response message including a variable filed which is generated as a random variable (Ben Henda, Fig. 4, pp [96]-[99], [270]: AUSF transmits Nausf_UEAuthentication_Authenticate Response to SEAF).
Ben Henda does not teach “generating a temporary identifier for the UE based on the SUPI”.
Lee teaches “generating a temporary identifier for the UE based on the SUPI” (Lee, pp [94], [123]: a globally unique temporary identifier GUTI is provided to a UE after registering with a network that includes information related to previously-accessed network slices so the UE might use it for privacy and security reason).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the affective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Ben Henda by incorporating teachings of Lee, method and system provide network access privacy including transmitting, receiving and exchanging messages between network devices and user equipment wherein the system provides encryption communication using keyed hash algorithm in communication messages/packets, or using a globally unique temporary identifier GUTI, e.g., registration messages and identifier information, to enhance the high privacy and most secured information via the wireless communication network thus to prevent and protect privacy and sensitive exchanged data and information in the wireless network.
Regarding claim 16. Ben Henda teaches a second network entity in a wireless communication system (Ben Henda, the Abstract), comprising:
a transceiver; and at least one processor coupled to the transceiver and configured to:
receive, from a first network entity, an authentication acquisition request message including a subscription concealed identifier (SUCI) of a user equipment (UE) (Ben Henda, Fig. 4, pp [74], [96]: step 2, AUSF receives authentication get response message from UMD/ARPF), identify a subscription permanent identifier (SUPI) by de-concealing the SUCI (Ben Henda, pp [29], [146]-[147], [270]), and transmit, to the first network entity, an authentication acquisition response message including a variable filed which is generated as a random variable (Ben Henda, Fig. 4, pp [96]-[99], [270]: AUSF transmits Nausf_UEAuthentication_Authenticate Response to SEAF).
Ben Henda does not teach “generating a temporary identifier for the UE based on the SUPI”.
Lee teaches “generating a temporary identifier for the UE based on the SUPI” (Lee, pp [94], [123]: a globally unique temporary identifier GUTI is provided to a UE after registering with a network that includes information related to previously-accessed network slices so the UE might use it for privacy and security reason).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the affective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Ben Henda by incorporating teachings of Lee, method and system provide network access privacy including transmitting, receiving and exchanging messages between network devices and user equipment wherein the system provides encryption communication using keyed hash algorithm in communication messages/packets, or using a globally unique temporary identifier GUTI, e.g., registration messages and identifier information, to enhance the high privacy and most secured information via the wireless communication network thus to prevent and protect privacy and sensitive exchanged data and information in the wireless network.
Regarding claim 2. Ben Henda, as modified by Lee, teaches the method of claim 1,
wherein the temporary identifier includes a mobile country code (MCC) field and a mobile network code (MNC) field (Ben Henda, pp [270]; Lee, Fig. 14, pp [123]: the GUTI includes MCC, MNC).
wherein the variable field is generated by a hash function (Lee, pp [112]-[115]: a keyed hash value is generated and used for transmission of secured information such as identifier information MCC and MNC), and
wherein a number of digits for the variable field is set to a predetermined number of digits (Lee, Fig. 14, pp [123]: the GUTI includes MCC, MNC and fields of GUMMEI 48 bits, M-TMSI 32 bits).
Regarding claim 3. Ben Henda, as modified by Lee, teaches the method of claim 1,
wherein the temporary identifier includes at least one of a region identifier field for a fourth network entity, a set identifier field for the fourth network entity, an identifier field of the fourth network entity, or a variable field (Lee, Fig. 14, pp [123]: the GUTI includes MCC, MNC and fields of GUMMEI 48 bits, M-TMSI 32 bits),
wherein the variable field is generated by a hash function or as a random variable (Lee, pp [112]-[115]: a keyed hash value is generated and used for transmission of secured information such as identifier information MCC and MNC; Fig. 14, pp [123]: the GUTI includes MCC, MNC and fields of GUMMEI 48 bits, M-TMSI 32 bits), and
wherein the fourth network entity includes an access and mobility management function (AMF) entity or a security anchor function (SEAF) entity (Lee, pp [107]; and Ben Henda, Fig. 7, pp [94], [99]).
Regarding claim 4. Ben Henda, as modified by Lee, teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the first network entity includes an authentication server function (AUSF) entity, wherein the second network entity includes a unified data manager (UDM) entity, and wherein the third network entity includes a security anchor function (SEAF) entity (Ben Henda, pp [144], [270]).
Regarding claim 5. Ben Henda, as modified by Lee, teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising:
generating authentication information based on the temporary identifier (Ben Henda, Fig. 4, pp [96]-[99], [270]; and Lee, pp [94], [123]);
performing authentication based on the temporary identifier (Ben Henda, Fig. 4, pp [96]-[99], [270]; and Lee, pp [94], [123]);
generating an authentication key based on the temporary identifier and the authentication information (Ben Henda, Figs. 6A-6B, pp [82], [91]-[92]; and Lee, pp [94], [123]); and
transmitting, to the third network entity, the generated authentication key (Ben Henda, Fig. 7, pp [96]-[99]).
Regarding claim 7. Ben Henda, as modified by Lee, teaches the method of claim 6, wherein the temporary identifier includes a mobile country code (MCC) field and a mobile network code (MNC) field (Lee, Fig. 14, pp [123]: the GUTI includes MCC, MNC and fields of GUMMEI 48 bits, M-TMSI 32 bits),
wherein the variable field is generated by a hash function (Lee, pp [112]-[115]: a keyed hash value is generated and used for transmission of secured information such as identifier information MCC and MNC; Fig. 14, pp [123]: the GUTI includes MCC, MNC and fields of GUMMEI 48 bits, M-TMSI 32 bits), and
wherein a number of digits for the variable field is set to a predetermined number of digits (Lee, Fig. 14, pp [123]: the GUTI includes MCC, MNC and fields of GUMMEI 48 bits, M-TMSI 32 bits).
Regarding claim 8. Ben Henda, as modified by Lee, teaches the method of claim 6, wherein the temporary identifier includes at least one of a region identifier field for a fourth network entity, a set identifier field for the fourth network entity, an identifier field of the fourth network entity, or a variable field, wherein the variable field is generated by a hash function or as a random variable (Lee, pp [112]-[115]: a keyed hash value is generated and used for transmission of secured information such as identifier information MCC and MNC; Fig. 14, pp [123]: the GUTI includes MCC, MNC and fields of GUMMEI 48 bits, M-TMSI 32 bits), and wherein the fourth network entity is an access and mobility management function (AMF) entity or a security anchor function (SEAF) entity (Lee, pp [107]; and Ben Henda, Fig. 7, pp [94], [99]).
Regarding claim 9. Ben Henda, as modified by Lee, teaches the method of claim 6, wherein the first network entity includes an authentication server function (AUSF) entity, and wherein the second network entity includes a unified data manager (UDM) (Ben Henda, entity [144], [270]).
Regarding claim 10. Ben Henda, as modified by Lee, teaches the method of claim 6, further comprising:
generating authentication information based on the temporary identifier (Ben Henda, Fig. 4, pp [96]-[99], [270]; and Lee, pp [94], [123]);
performing authentication based on the temporary identifier (Ben Henda, Fig. 4, pp [96]-[99], [270]; and Lee, pp [94], [123]);
generating an authentication key based on the temporary identifier and the authentication information (Ben Henda, Figs. 6A-6B, pp [82], [91]-[92]; and Lee, pp [94], [123]); and
transmitting, to the first network entity, the generated authentication key (Ben Henda, Fig. 7, pp [96]-[99]).
Regarding claim 12. Ben Henda, as modified by Lee, teaches the first network entity of claim 11, wherein the temporary identifier includes a mobile country code (MCC) field and a mobile network code (MNC) field (Ben Henda, pp [270]; and Lee, Fig. 14, pp [123]: the GUTI includes MCC, MNC and fields of GUMMEI 48 bits, M-TMSI 32 bits).
wherein the variable field is generated by a hash function (Lee, pp [112]-[115]: a keyed hash value is generated and used for transmission of secured information such as identifier information MCC and MNC; Fig. 14, pp [123]: the GUTI includes MCC, MNC and fields of GUMMEI 48 bits, M-TMSI 32 bits), and
wherein a number of digits for the variable field is set to a predetermined number of digits (Lee, Fig. 14, pp [123]: the GUTI includes MCC, MNC and fields of GUMMEI 48 bits, M-TMSI 32 bits).
Regarding claim 13. Ben Henda, as modified by Lee, teaches the first network entity of claim 11, wherein the temporary identifier includes at least one of a region identifier field for a fourth network entity, a set identifier field for the fourth network entity, an identifier field of the fourth network entity, or a variable field, wherein the variable field is generated by a hash function or as a random variable (Lee, pp [112]-[115]: a keyed hash value is generated and used for transmission of secured information such as identifier information MCC and MNC; Fig. 14, pp [123]: the GUTI includes MCC, MNC and fields of GUMMEI 48 bits, M-TMSI 32 bits), and wherein the fourth network entity is an access and mobility management function (AMF) entity or a security anchor function (SEAF) entity (Lee, pp [107]; and Ben Henda, Fig. 7, pp [94], [99]).
Regarding claim 14. Ben Henda, as modified by Lee, teaches the first network entity of claim 11, wherein the first network entity includes an authentication server function (AUSF) entity, wherein the second network entity includes a unified data manager (UDM) entity, and wherein the third network entity includes a security anchor function (SEAF) entity (Ben Henda, [144], [270]).
Regarding claim 15. Ben Henda, as modified by Lee, teaches the first network entity of claim 11, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: generate authentication information based on the temporary identifier (Ben Henda, Fig. 4, pp [96]-[99], [270]; and Lee, pp [94], [123]), perform authentication based on the temporary identifier (Ben Henda, Fig. 4, pp [96]-[99], [270]; and Lee, pp [94], [123]), generate an authentication key based on the temporary identifier and the authentication information (Ben Henda, Figs. 6A-6B, pp [82], [91]-[92]; and Lee, pp [94], [123]), and transmit, to the third network entity, the generated authentication key (Ben Henda, Fig. 7, pp [96]-[99]).
Regarding claim 17. Ben Henda, as modified by Lee, teaches the second network entity of claim 16, wherein the temporary identifier includes a mobile country code (MCC) field and a mobile network code (MNC) field (Ben Henda, pp [270]; and Lee, Fig. 14, pp [123]: the GUTI includes MCC, MNC and fields of GUMMEI 48 bits, M-TMSI 32 bits).
wherein the variable field is generated by a hash function (Lee, pp [112]-[115]: a keyed hash value is generated and used for transmission of secured information such as identifier information MCC and MNC; Fig. 14, pp [123]: the GUTI includes MCC, MNC and fields of GUMMEI 48 bits, M-TMSI 32 bits), and
wherein a number of digits for the variable field is set to a predetermined number of digits (Lee, Fig. 14, pp [123]: the GUTI includes MCC, MNC and fields of GUMMEI 48 bits, M-TMSI 32 bits).
Regarding claim 18. Ben Henda, as modified by Lee, teaches the second network entity of claim 16, wherein the temporary identifier includes at least one of a region identifier field for a fourth network entity, a set identifier field for the fourth network entity, an identifier field of the fourth network entity, or a variable field, wherein the variable field is generated by a hash function or as a random variable (Lee, pp [112]-[115]: a keyed hash value is generated and used for transmission of secured information such as identifier information MCC and MNC; Fig. 14, pp [123]: the GUTI includes MCC, MNC and fields of GUMMEI 48 bits, M-TMSI 32 bits), and wherein the fourth network entity is an access and mobility management function (AMF) entity or a security anchor function (SEAF) entity (Lee, pp [107]; and Ben Henda, Fig. 7, pp [94], [99]).
Regarding claim 19. Ben Henda, as modified by Lee, teaches the second network entity of claim 16, wherein the first network entity includes an authentication server function (AUSF) entity, and wherein the second network entity includes a unified data manager (UDM) entity (Ben Henda, pp [144], [270]).
Regarding claim 20. Ben Henda, as modified by Lee, teaches the second network entity of claim 16, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to:
generate authentication information based on the temporary identifier (Ben Henda, Fig. 4, pp [96]-[99], [270]; and Lee, pp [94], [123]), perform authentication based on the temporary identifier (Ben Henda, Fig. 4, pp [96]-[99], [270]; and Lee, pp [94], [123]), generate an authentication key based on the temporary identifier and the authentication information (Ben Henda, Figs. 6A-6B, pp [82], [91]-[92]; and Lee, pp [94], [123]), and transmit, to the first network entity, the generated authentication key (Ben Henda, Fig. 7, pp [96]-[99]).
Conclusion
/HUY C HO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2644