DETAILED OFFICIAL ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 are pending and under consideration on the merits.
Examiner Note
It is noted that all references hereinafter to Applicant’s specification are to the published application US 2025/0226538 A1, unless stated otherwise. Further, it is noted that italicized text in parentheses recited in any rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102 or 35 U.S.C. 103 indicates the element of the claimed invention to which the preceding prior art element corresponds. Additionally, any italicized text utilized hereinafter is to be interpreted as emphasis placed thereupon.
Claim Objections
Claims 8 and 15 are objected to because of the following informality:
Regarding claims 8 and 15, “a plurality of battery cells arranged in in a plurality of cell rows” constitutes a typographical error, which hinders the readability of the claims. In order to overcome the objection, the following amendment is respectfully suggested for each claim: “a plurality of battery cells arranged in [[in]] a plurality of cell rows.”
Regarding claim 15, “…for electrical connection to a battery cell of a battery assembly” constitutes inconsistent antecedent basis relative to “a battery assembly” already being introduced earlier within claim 15, which hinders the readability of the claim. In order to overcome the objection, the following amendment is respectfully suggested for each claim: “…for electrical connection to a battery cell of [[a]] the battery assembly.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4, 11, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 4, 11, and 18, each recite “…and the contact plate is formed from a second material.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claims 4, 11, and 18 are dependent upon claims 3, 10, and 17, respectively, where claims 3, 10, and 17 each recite “…at least one contact plate of the plurality of contact plates.” Therefore, it is unclear if the contact plate species in claims 4, 11, and 18 is referring to a single instance of this element. For the purposes of examination, claims 4, 11, and 18 are each interpreted as instead reciting ““…and the at least one contact plate is formed from a second material.”
Appropriate action is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 7-9, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hughes et al. (US 2016/0172642 A1; “Hughes”).
Regarding claim 1, Hughes discloses a current collector of a battery assembly of a vehicle [0047, FIGs. 4-6] (see below for Figure 1. Annotated FIG. 4 of Hughes) comprising a plurality of bus bars (a plurality of contact plates) [element 404, 0034, FIG. 4], each having a contactor at each end to electrically couple adjacent cells in parallel [0034, 0046, FIG. 4] of a cell group or of adjacent cell groups [0026, 0030, 0032-0034], thereby, in totality, reading on each contact plate having a contactor at each end of the contact plate configured for electrical connection to a battery cell of a battery assembly, as claimed.
The plurality of bus bars are arranged to connect battery cells arranged along a same cell row, of a cell group or of adjacent cell groups, in parallel pairs (the plurality of contact plates are arranged to connect battery cells arranged along a same cell row of the battery assembly in parallel) [0034-0036, 0046, FIG. 4].
Figure 1. Annotated FIG. 4 of Hughes
Regarding claim 2, in view of the rejection of claim 1 above, Hughes further discloses that at least one contactor arm extends between adjacent bus bars to electrically connect adjacent bus bars, thereby reading on the current collector defined by each and every limitation of claim 2 [0034, FIG. 4] (see above for Figure 1. Annotated FIG. 4 of Hughes).
Regarding claim 7, in view of the rejection of claim 1 above, Hughes further discloses that two adjacent bus bars electrically connect battery cells in the same row (two adjacent contact plates of the plurality of contact plates are configured to electrically connect battery cells in the same cell row) [0034-0036, FIG. 4].
Regarding claim 8, Hughes discloses a vehicle battery with a battery cell module (a battery cell module of a vehicle) [element 302, 0047, FIG. 3-6] including a plurality of battery cells arranged in a plurality of cell rows [0032, 0034, FIG. 4]. The battery cell module further comprises a current collector assembly (a current collector assembly) [FIGs. 4-6] (see below for Figure 2. Annotated FIG. 4 of Hughes) electrically connected to the plurality of battery cells [0034, FIG. 4], of which further comprises two current transfer terminals/interconnect terminals (a first module terminal and a second module terminal) [element 408, 0037, 0045, FIG. 4] that provide current output from the battery cell module [0037], and a plurality of bus bars (a plurality of contact plates) [element 404, 0034, FIG. 4]. Each bus bar has a contactor at each end to electrically couple adjacent cells in parallel [0034, 0046, FIG. 4] of a cell group or of adjacent cell groups (each contact plate having a contactor at each end of the contact plate configured for electrical connection to a battery cell of a battery assembly) [0026, 0030, 0032-0034], wherein the bus bars further electrically couple the parallel pairs with one another [0036]. In totality, the current collector assembly, with its electrical connection, would necessarily be configured to direct a current flow from a first module terminal to a second module terminal, as claimed, absent showing of factually supported objective evidence to the contrary. See MPEP 2112(V); MPEP 2112.01(I) and (II); and MPEP 2145.
The plurality of bus bars are arranged to connect battery cells arranged along a same cell row, of a cell group or of adjacent cell groups, in parallel pairs (the plurality of contact plates are arranged to connect battery cells arranged along a same cell row of the battery assembly in parallel) [0034-0036, 0046, FIG. 4].
Figure 2. Annotated FIG. 4 of Hughes
Regarding claim 9, in view of the rejection of claim 8 above, Hughes further discloses that at least one contactor arm extends between adjacent bus bars to electrically connect adjacent bus bars, thereby reading on the current collector defined by each and every limitation of claim 2 [0034, FIG. 4] (see above for Figure 2. Annotated FIG. 4 of Hughes).
Regarding claim 14, in view of the rejection of claim 8 above, Hughes further discloses that two adjacent bus bars electrically connect battery cells in the same row (two adjacent contact plates of the plurality of contact plates are configured to electrically connect battery cells in the same cell row) [0034-0036, FIG. 4].
Claims 15-16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Friedrich et al. (US 2023/0187753 A1; “Friedrich”).
Regarding claim 15, Friedrich discloses a vehicle (a vehicle) [element 100, 0009, 0063, FIG. 1a] comprising a vehicle body [FIG. 1a], an electric drive motor (a propulsion system) [0003, 0009, 0063], and an energy store (a battery assembly) [element 110, 0063-0066, FIGs. 1a-5b], wherein the electric drive motor would necessarily drive a movement of the vehicle, as claimed, absent showing of factually supported objective evidence to the contrary. See MPEP 2112(V); MPEP 2112.01(I) and (II); and MPEP 2145. The electric drive motor is operated with electrical energy from the energy store (a battery assembly operably connected to the propulsion system to power the propulsion system) [0063].
The energy store comprises a plurality of storage cells (a plurality of battery cells) [0066, FIGs. 2a-4a] arranged in rows (arranged in a plurality of cell rows) [0069-0071, FIGs. 2a-4a], and a current collector assembly (a current collector assembly) [FIG. 4a] (see below for Figure 3. Annotated FIG. 4a of Friedrich) that allows for electrical connection of the storage cells to one another (electrically connected to the plurality of battery cells) [0086-0087, 0091] and directs the flow of current from one terminal to another terminal that are disposed on the same transverse edge of the energy store (configured to direct a current flow from a first module terminal to a second module terminal) [0032, 0076-0077, 0090, FIG. 3].
The current collector assembly includes a plurality of cell connectors [elements 421 and 422; 0090-0091, FIG. 4a] and connection arrangements [elements 401, 402, and 403; 0092, FIG. 4a], thereby, in totality, reading on a plurality of contact plates. Each cell connector and connection arrangement has a contactor at each end to provide electrical connection to a storage cell in the energy store (each contact plate having a contactor at each end of the contact plate configured for electrical connection to a battery cell of a battery assembly) [0085-0092, FIG. 4a] (see below for Figure 3. Annotated FIG. 4a of Friedrich). The cell connectors and connection arrangements are arranged to connect storage cells along a same cell row of the energy store in parallel (the plurality of contact plates are arranged to connect battery cells arranged along a same cell row of the battery assembly in parallel) [0019, 0021, 0045, 0087, 0091, FIGs 4a and 4b]. The first and second terminals are disposed on the same transverse edge of the energy store (the first module terminal and the second module terminal are disposed at a same lateral side of the battery assembly) [0032, 0076-0077, 0090, FIG. 3].
Figure 3. Annotated FIG. 4a of Friedrich
Regarding claim 16, in view of the rejection of claim 15 above, Friedrich further discloses at least one contactor arm extending between adjacent cell connectors, between adjacent connection arrangements, and between a cell connector adjacent to a connection arrangement, to electrically connect the adjacent cell connectors and connection arrangements (at least one contactor arm extending between adjacent contact plates of the plurality of contact plates to electrically connect the adjacent contact plates) [0085-0092, FIG. 4a] (see above for Figure 3. Annotated FIG. 4a of Friedrich).
Regarding claim 20, in view of the rejection of claim 15 above, Friedrich further discloses two adjacent contact plates electrically connect storage cells in the same row [0049, 0085, 0090, FIGs. 4a and 4b] (see below for Figure 4. Annotated FIG. 4a of Friedrich – Adjacent Contact Plates).
Figure 4. Annotated FIG. 4a of Friedrich – Adjacent Contact Plates
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-6 and 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hughes as applied to claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) above, in view of Harris, III (US 2018/0097322 A1; “Harris, III”).
Regarding claim 3, Hughes discloses the current collector set forth above in the rejection of claim 1.
Hughes remains silent regarding a cover plate is installed to at least one contact plate of the plurality of contact plates.
Harris, III is directed towards a vehicle battery system and bus bars for forming current-carrying electrical connections [0002, 0005-0008, 0033]. Harris, III teaches that the bus bars include multiple rigid sections [element 105, 0026, FIG. 2] with arms [element 107, 0026, FIGs. 1A, 1C] and a flexible section on top of two rigid sections [element 110, 0026, FIG. 2]. The rigid sections are made of aluminum and the flexible sections are made of copper [0028], so that the rigid sections are made of a material that is more rigid in comparison to the material of the flexible sections [0028].
Hughes and Harris, III each constitute prior art which is directly analogous to the claimed invention – ------contact plates. In view of the combined teachings of the foregoing prior art, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the bus bars of Hughes to additionally include the flexible section of Harris, III such that it is disposed on top of the contactor at each end, and wherein the bus bar is made of aluminum, like that of the rigid sections of Harris, III, and the flexible section is made of copper, thereby preventing unwanted or inadvertent electrical connections or contacts [Harris, III, 0030], and so that the bus bar is made of a material that is more rigid in comparison to the material of the flexible section [Harris, III, 0028], where the flexible section accommodates relative movement, contraction, or expansion of the bus bar [Harris, III, 0032, 0035].
In accordance with the aforesaid modifications, the bus bars of modified Hughes would have a flexible section on top of the contactor at each end of the bus bars (a cover plate installed to at least one contact plate of the plurality of contact plates), wherein the bus bar is made of aluminum and the flexible section is made of copper.
Regarding claim 4, the rejection of claim 3 above teaches the current collector defined by claim 4. In view of the modification set forth in ¶38 above, the flexible section is made of copper (formed from a first material) and the bus bar is made of aluminum (formed from a second material different from the first material).
Regarding claim 5, the rejection of claim 3 above teaches the cover plate defined by claim 5. In view of the modification set forth in ¶38 above, the flexible section is made of copper (formed from a copper material).
Regarding claim 6, Hughes discloses the current collector set forth above in the rejection of claim 1.
Hughes remains silent regarding the plurality of contact plates are formed from an aluminum material.
Harris, III is directed towards a vehicle battery system and bus bars for forming current-carrying electrical connections [0002, 0005-0008, 0033]. Harris, III teaches that the bus bars include multiple rigid sections [element 105, 0026, FIG. 2] with arms [element 107, 0026, FIGs. 1A, 1C] and a flexible section on top of two rigid sections [element 110, 0026, FIG. 2]. The rigid sections are made of aluminum and the flexible sections are made of copper [0028], so that the rigid sections are made of a material that is more rigid in comparison to the material of the flexible sections [0028].
Hughes and Harris, III each constitute prior art which is directly analogous to the claimed invention – ------contact plates. In view of the combined teachings of the foregoing prior art, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the bus bars, inclusive of the contactor at each end, of Hughes so that they are made of aluminum (formed from an aluminum material), thereby allowing for a rigid structure capable of carrying current [Harris, III, 0028].
Regarding claim 10, Hughes discloses the current collector set forth above in the rejection of claim 8.
Hughes remains silent regarding a cover plate is installed to at least one contact plate of the plurality of contact plates.
Harris, III is directed towards a vehicle battery system and bus bars for forming current-carrying electrical connections [0002, 0005-0008, 0033]. Harris, III teaches that the bus bars include multiple rigid sections [element 105, 0026, FIG. 2] with arms [element 107, 0026, FIGs. 1A, 1C] and a flexible section on top of two rigid sections [element 110, 0026, FIG. 2]. The rigid sections are made of aluminum and the flexible sections are made of copper [0028], so that the rigid sections are made of a material that is more rigid in comparison to the material of the flexible sections [0028].
Hughes and Harris, III each constitute prior art which is directly analogous to the claimed invention – ------contact plates. In view of the combined teachings of the foregoing prior art, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the bus bars of Hughes to additionally include the flexible section of Harris, III such that it is on top of the contactor at each end, and wherein the bus bar is made of aluminum, like that of the rigid sections of Harris, III, and the flexible section is made of copper, thereby preventing unwanted or inadvertent electrical connections or contacts [Harris, III, 0030], and so that the bus bar is made of a material that is more rigid in comparison to the material of the flexible section [Harris, III, 0028], thereby accommodating relative movement, contraction, or expansion of the bus bar [Harris, III, 0032, 0035].
In accordance with the aforesaid modifications, the bus bars of modified Hughes would have a flexible section on top of the contactor at each end of the bus bars (a cover plate installed to at least one contact plate of the plurality of contact plates), wherein the bus bar is made of aluminum and the flexible section is made of copper.
Regarding claim 11, the rejection of claim 10 above teaches the current collector defined by claim 11. In view of the modification set forth in ¶49 above, the flexible section is made of copper (formed from a first material) and the bus bar is made of aluminum (formed from a second material different from the first material).
Regarding claim 12, the rejection of claim 10 above teaches the cover plate defined by claim 12. In view of the modification set forth in ¶49 above, the flexible section is made of copper (formed from a copper material).
Regarding claim 13, Hughes discloses the current collector set forth above in the rejection of claim 8.
Hughes remains silent regarding the plurality of contact plates are formed from an aluminum material.
Harris, III is directed towards a vehicle battery system and bus bars for forming current-carrying electrical connections [0002, 0005-0008, 0033]. Harris, III teaches that the bus bars include multiple rigid sections [element 105, 0026, FIG. 2] with arms [element 107, 0026, FIGs. 1A, 1C] and a flexible section on top of two rigid sections [element 110, 0026, FIG. 2]. The rigid sections are made of aluminum and the flexible sections are made of copper [0028], so that the rigid sections are made of a material that is more rigid in comparison to the material of the flexible sections [0028].
Hughes and Harris, III each constitute prior art which is directly analogous to the claimed invention – ------contact plates. In view of the combined teachings of the foregoing prior art, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the bus bars, inclusive of the contactor at each end, of Hughes so that they are made of aluminum (formed from an aluminum material), thereby allowing for a rigid structure capable of carrying current [Harris, III, 0028].
Claims 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Friedrich as applied to claim 15 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) above, in view of Harris, III (cited to above).
Regarding claim 17, Friedrich discloses the current collector set forth above in the rejection of claim 15.
Friedrich remains silent regarding a cover plate is installed to at least one contact plate of the plurality of contact plates.
Harris, III is directed towards a vehicle battery system and bus bars for forming current-carrying electrical connections [0002, 0005-0008, 0033]. Harris, III teaches that the bus bars include multiple rigid sections [element 105, 0026, FIG. 2] with arms [element 107, 0026, FIGs. 1A, 1C] and a flexible section on top of two rigid sections [element 110, 0026, FIG. 2]. The rigid sections are made of aluminum and the flexible sections are made of copper [0028], so that the rigid sections are made of a material that is more rigid in comparison to the material of the flexible sections [0028].
Friedrich and Harris, III each constitute prior art which is directly analogous to the claimed invention – ------contact plates. In view of the combined teachings of the foregoing prior art, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the cell connectors and connection arrangements of Friedrich to additionally include the flexible section of Harris, III such that it is disposed on top of the contactor at each end, and wherein the cell connectors and connection arrangements are made of aluminum, like that of the rigid sections of Harris, III, and the flexible section is made of copper, thereby preventing unwanted or inadvertent electrical connections or contacts [Harris, III, 0030], and so that the cell connectors and connection arrangements are made of a material that is more rigid in comparison to the material of the flexible section [Harris, III, 0028], where the flexible section accommodates relative movement, contraction, or expansion of the cell connectors and connection arrangements [Harris, III, 0032, 0035].
In accordance with the aforesaid modifications, the cell connectors and connection arrangements of modified Friedrich would have a flexible section on top of the contactor at each end (a cover plate installed to at least one contact plate of the plurality of contact plates), wherein the cell connectors and connection arrangements are made of aluminum and the flexible section is made of copper.
Regarding claim 18, the rejection of claim 17 above teaches the current collector defined by claim 18. In view of the modification set forth in ¶61 above, the flexible section is made of copper (formed from a first material) and the cell connectors and connection arrangements are made of aluminum (formed from a second material different from the first material).
Regarding claim 19, the rejection of claim 17 above teaches the current collector defined by claim 19. In view of the modification set forth in ¶61 above, the flexible section is made of copper (formed from a copper material) and the cell connectors and connection arrangements are made of aluminum (formed from an aluminum material).
Pertinent Prior Art
The following constitutes a list of prior art which are not relied upon herein, but are considered pertinent to the claimed invention and/or written description thereof. The prior art are purposely made of record hereinafter to facilitate compact/expedient prosecution, and consideration thereof is respectfully suggested.
Weis, US 2022/0140445 A1; teaches a battery cell module with cylindrical battery cells electrically and mechanically rigidly connected to one another via contact sheets and contact sheet connectors [0003, 0012, 0016, 0021, 0058-0062, 0067, FIGs. 1-2 and 4].
Zhang, US 2023/0238659 A1; is directed towards a busbar with multiple conductive units [element 100, 0017, FIGs. 1-2], with two end connection regions [0017], that connects cells in parallel [0018].
Conclusion
/JENNA X. COLTON/Examiner, Art Unit 1782
/AARON AUSTIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1782