Priority
Benefit of earlier filing date of 01/09/2023 of provisional application No. 63479116 is acknowledged as required by 35 U.S.C. 119.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Kloepfer et al. (US 7226046 B2) hereinafter Kloepfer.
Regarding claim 1, Kloepfer teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. below) a multi-purpose tool comprising: a tool body; a tool insert slidably inserted into the tool body; a vise mechanism including a first jaw attached to the tool body and a second jaw attached to the tool insert, the first jaw and the second jaw being operable to open and close relative to one another via movement of the tool insert relative to the tool body; and a lift mechanism reconfigurably attachable to one or more of the tool body or the tool insert, the lift mechanism being operable to extend and contract relative to the tool body (for lifting 23 relative to 100; par. 54: “The workpiece 100 may be separate from the workpiece 23”).
Regarding claim 2, Kloepfer teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) a handle (gripping lever 16) mechanically attached to the tool insert, the handle being manipulable to cause slidable movement of the tool insert within the tool body (par. 13).
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Walchak (US 7168181 B2).
Regarding claim 1, Walchak teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. below) a multi-purpose tool comprising: a tool body; a tool insert (14, 20) slidably inserted into the tool body; a vise mechanism including a first jaw (18) attached to the tool body and a second jaw (12) attached to the tool insert, the first jaw and the second jaw being operable to open and close relative to one another via movement of the tool insert relative to the tool body (par. 8: for “supporting a bottom edge portion of a siding piece to be clamped”); and a lift mechanism (lift mechanism comprises at least 32, 38, 28, 40) reconfigurably attachable to one or more of the tool body or the tool insert, the lift mechanism being operable to extend and contract relative to the tool body (par. 11-15).
Regarding claim 2, Walchak teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) a handle (advancement handle 42) mechanically attached to the tool insert, the handle being manipulable to cause slidable movement of the tool insert within the tool body (par, 16, 18: “releasably engaging the slide bar 14 and when engaged”).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Fairchild (US 11964638 B2).
Regarding claim 17, Fairchild teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. below) a multi-purpose tool comprising: a tool body (tool body comprises foot 66, panels 68); a tool insert (two horizontal pivot parts) slidably inserted into the tool body; and a set of lift arms (lower 62) reconfigurably attachable to the tool body in multiple configurations, the multiple configurations including: a first configuration (Fig. 1) in which the set of lift arms (lower 62) and a set of extension arms (upper 62) are attached to a lift platform in a scissor configuration and are operable to extend the lift platform relative to the tool body; and a second configuration (Fig. 5) in which the set of lift arms and the set of extension arms are attached to the lift platform in a substantially parallel position and are operable to extend the lift platform relative to the tool body.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11-16 are allowed.
Claims 3-10 and 18-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Guenthere (US 0490112 A) teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. below) a multi-purpose tool comprising: a tool body (right side F); a tool insert (left side F and screw G) slidably inserted into the tool body (screw G of tool insert (left side F) slidably inserted into a hole of right side F); a vise mechanism including a first jaw (right side F1) attached to the tool body and a second jaw (left side F1) attached to the tool insert, the first jaw and the second jaw being operable to open and close relative to one another via movement of the tool insert relative to the tool body; and a lift mechanism reconfigurably attachable to one or more of the tool body or the tool insert (connected to both of the tool body and the tool insert).
Weissenborn (US 20100164158 A1) teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. below) a vise on a lifting mechanism.
Zhao (CN 106969930 B) and Liu (CN 204019206 U) teach (reproduced and annotated Figs. below) a vise on a scissor lifting mechanism.
Schwanegel (US 0978067 A) teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. below) a combination of vise and jack.
Russell (US 5433356 A) teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. below) a vise connectable to a hitch mount of a truck.
MAHDI H. NEJAD
Examiner
Art Unit 3723
/MAHDI H NEJAD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723