DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) were submitted on 01/09/2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
In this case, the term “the present disclosure relates” should be amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Bioinspired redox-coupled conversion reaction in FeOOH-acetate hybrid nanoplatelets for Na ion battery by Bum Chul Park et al.
With respect to claim 1, Park et al. teach an anode active material for a sodium secondary battery, which has a layered crystal structure and is formed of nanoplatelets containing iron oxide having organic anions, and in which the nanoplatelets are provided in plural numbers and formed in a stacking structure spaced apart at a first interval (Park et al.: Pages 1-3).
With respect to claim 2, Park et al. teach the anode active material for a sodium secondary battery, wherein the iron oxide includes FeOOH or Fe3O4, and the organic anions include an acetate (CHCOO-)-based compound (Park et al.: Pages 1-3).
With respect to claim 3, Park et al. teach the anode active material for a sodium secondary battery, wherein the organic anions include an acetate group, and the acetate group is connected to the iron oxide by bidentate bridging (Park et al.: Pages 1-3).
With respect to claim 4, Park et al. teach the anode active material for a sodium secondary battery, wherein the nanoplatelets include a lepidocrocite-type structure (Park et al.: Pages 1-3).
With respect to claim 5, Park et al. teach the anode active material for a sodium secondary battery, wherein the nanoplatelets are 1.8 to 2 times the lattice spacing of orthorhombic lepidocrocite (Park et al.: Pages 1-3).
With respect to claim 6, Park et al. teach the anode active material for a sodium secondary battery, wherein the layered crystal structure has lattice constants of a=3.035±0.003 Å, b=22.86±0.02 Å, and c=3.8120±0.001 Å (Park et al.: Pages 1-3).
With respect to claim 7, Park et al. teach the anode active material for a sodium secondary battery, wherein the first spacing is 1.14 nm to 1.29 nm as a spacing between (101) planes (Park et al.: Pages 1-3).
With respect to claim 8, Park et al. teach the anode active material for a sodium secondary battery, wherein FeOOH nanoparticles are reversibly converted into Fe.sub.3O.sub.4 nanoparticles in the charge/discharge process, the FeOOH nanoparticles and Fe.sub.3O.sub.4 nanoparticles each have an average diameter of 10 nm or less, and the crystallinity of the Fe.sub.3O.sub.4 nanoparticles is higher than that of the FeOOH nanoparticles (Park et al.: Page 5 right column bottom).
With respect to claim 9, Park et al. teach the anode active material for a sodium secondary battery, wherein the nanoplatelets have a disk-shaped morphology, and the nanoplatelets have a width of 27±5 nm and an axial thickness of 19±6 nm (Park et al.: Pages 1-3).
With respect to claim 10, Park et al. teach the anode active material for a sodium secondary battery, wherein the anode active material for a sodium secondary battery includes a repeatedly stacked nanoplatelet structure and perform intercalation of sodium ions and a biotic-reaction-type conversion reaction (Park et al.: Pages 1-3).
With respect to claim 11, Park et al. teach the anode active material for a sodium secondary battery, wherein the anode active material includes an iron oxide having an acetate group, the iron oxide is FeOOH nanoparticles or Fe.sub.3O.sub.4 nanoparticles, the anode active material is reduced from FeOOH nanoparticles to Fe.sub.3O.sub.4 nanoparticles during charging, the acetate group is oxidized, and bicarbonate is formed by the oxidation of the acetate group so that it acts as a host for storing sodium ions (Park et al.: Pages 1-3).
With respect to claim 12, Park et al. teach the anode active material for a sodium secondary battery, wherein the acetate group is oxidized to produce bicarbonate ions (HCO.sup.3−), and the bicarbonate ions act as a host for storing sodium ions to produce any one or more of sodium hydrogen carbonate (NaHCO.sub.3) and sodium carbonate (Na.sub.2CO.sub.3) (Park et al.: Pages 1-3).
With respect to claim 13, Park et al. teach a sodium secondary battery comprising: an anode containing the anode active material for a sodium secondary battery according to claim 1; and a cathode containing sodium, wherein the anode contains Na.sub.2CO.sub.3 or Na.sub.2O in the surface thereof, and Na.sub.2CO.sub.3 is provided in a larger amount than Na.sub.2O (Park et al.: Pages 1-3).
With respect to claim 14, Park et al. teach the sodium secondary battery of claim 13, wherein the anode active material includes iron oxide having an acetate group, the iron oxide is FeOOH nanoparticles or Fe.sub.3O.sub.4 nanoparticles, the anode active material is reduced from FeOOH nanoparticles to Fe.sub.3O.sub.4 nanoparticles during charging, the acetate group is oxidized to produce bicarbonate ions (HCO.sup.3−), and the bicarbonate ions act as a host for storing sodium ions to produce any one or more of sodium hydrogen carbonate (NaHCO.sub.3) and sodium carbonate (Na.sub.2CO.sub.3) (Park et al.: Pages 1-3).
Conclusion
/LINGWEN R ZENG/Examiner, Art Unit 1723 9/16/2026