DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of example I, the first container and second container are vials in the reply filed on 03 August 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the species overlap in structure, function and search considerations. This is not found persuasive because a connection between a first and second container being a breakable seal as in example II and the first and second containers are in the form of a dual-chambered syringe in example III are not overlapping in structure with the vials in example I. It would be improper to consider two containers that are not given structure in example II as the same as vials with no specified connection as in example I. Furthermore, the breakable seal of example II would change the scope of the search as it relates to mixing rather than the actual containers structure which makes distinct from the vials of example I and the syringe of example III. Example III is a completely different limitation that does not include vials at all and would change the structure of the first and second container to something else entirely that would not be in the same search category as the vials of example I. Because the structure of example II and example III do not overlap the species are distinct from each other as they would require search in a way that would not overlap in scope due to their obviously different structures.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim 20 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 03 August 2026. The amendment to claim 20 overcomes the election/restriction requirement and claim 20 will be examined on the merits with invention I claims 1-19.
Claims 16 and 17 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 03 August 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 13, 15 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by O’Hagan (US 2009/0220541).
Regarding claim 1, O’Hagan discloses a kit for administering an active ingredient to a subject to elicit a response (¶[0193]-[0196]), comprising:
a first container (¶[0175], [0178]-[0179], where the compositions can be located in a vial) having the active ingredient (Abstract, ¶[0021]-[0022], [0045], where the influenza antigen is the active ingredient that is stored in a vial); and
a second container (¶[0175], [0178]-[0179], where the compositions can be located in a vial which includes at least a second container as stated in paragraph 0175) having an adjuvant (Abstract, ¶[0045], [0051]-[0061], where the adjuvant can be one of multiple different compositions as shown in paragraphs 0051-0059, but are broadly characterized as oil-in-water emulsions);
wherein the first container and the second container are configured to permit for the active ingredient and the adjuvant to be admixed (¶[0060]-[0061], where the antigen and emulsions can be mixed at different stages of the process, ¶[0085] & [0164], where the active ingredient and adjuvant will be in admixture and that pharmaceutical compositions are typically in admixture) to prepare a compounded form for delivery of the active ingredient directly into tissue of the subject in a manner sufficient to elicit the response (¶[0060]-[0061], [0174], where the mixture can be prepared at a specific point during the process, and as stated in 0193-0197, is designed for delivery to a patient).
Regarding claim 3, O’Hagan discloses the kit of claim 1, O’Hagan discloses wherein the first container is temperature controlled (¶[0017], where the influenza portion may be temperature sensitive and cold adapted, ¶[0173], where the compositions and kits (which includes vials for the active and adjuvant) are specifically stored at between 2°C and 8°C).
Regarding claim 13, O’Hagan discloses the kit of claim 1, O’Hagan discloses further comprising a syringe with an injection needle for the delivery of the compounded form upon being prepared (¶[0176], where there is a syringe that can be used with a needle to insert contents for mixing as well as withdrawing contents for administration).
Regarding claim 15, O’Hagan discloses the kit of claim 1, O’Hagan discloses wherein the first container comprises a first vial and the second container comprises a second vial (¶[0175], where the separated components are different containers such as vials).
Regarding claim 20, O’Hagan discloses a method for administering an active ingredient to a subject to elicit a response (¶[0193]-[0197]), the method comprising steps of:
providing the kit of claim 1 (¶[0193]-[0196])
admixing the active ingredient and the adjuvant to prepare the compounded form ([0060]-[0061], where the antigen and emulsions can be mixed at different stages of the process, ¶[0085] & [0164], where the active ingredient and adjuvant will be in admixture and that pharmaceutical compositions are typically in admixture); and
administering the compounded form to the subject by injecting the compounded form directly into tissue of the subject (¶[0060]-[0061], [0174], where the mixture can be prepared at a specific point during the process, and as stated in 0193-0197, is designed for delivery to a patient).
Claim(s) 1-2, 14, and 18-19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Caubet (WO 2022/058432).
Regarding claim 1, Caubet discloses a kit for administering an active ingredient to a subject to elicit a response (Pg. 21, lines 5-18), comprising:
a first container having the active ingredient (Pg. 21, lines 8-9, where a first set of vials contains an allergen); and
a second container having an adjuvant (Pg. 21, lies 10-12, where a second vial contains a vasoconstrictor with an excipient, an anesthetic and an adjuvant);
wherein the first container and the second container are configured to permit for the active ingredient and the adjuvant to be admixed to prepare a compounded form for delivery of the active ingredient directly into tissue of the subject in a manner sufficient to elicit the response (Pg. 21, lines 13-18, where mixing a first and second vial is permitted and the dose of prepared allergen is administered to a patient).
Regarding claim 2, Caubet discloses the kit of claim 1, wherein the active ingredient includes an allergen selected from a group consisting of pollen, animal dander, venom, dust mite, food, autoantibody, and autologous tissue (Pg. 17, lines 5-12, where each of a pollen, animal dander, venom, dust mite, and food allergens are applicable, the group does not have to include every listed possible allergen as the limitation states).
Regarding claim 14, Caubet the kit of claim 1, further comprising a fourth container for admixing the active ingredient and the adjuvant to prepare the compounded form (Pg. 21, lines 8-14, where a third set of vials is provided for mixing a first and second vial to prepare a dose of allergen).
Regarding claim 18, Caubet discloses the kit of claim 1, wherein the physiological response is one of immune system modulation (Pg. 21, lines 5-7, where the kit is specifically for desensitizing or inducing tolerance to an allergen in an allergic patient).
Regarding claim 19, Caubet discloses the kit of claim 18, wherein the adjuvant is alum (Pg. 19, lines 25-33, where the adjuvant can be aluminum salts, Merriam Webster defines alum as “any of various hydrated salts usually consisting of aluminum sulfate with a second cation”, a skilled practitioner would understand aluminum salts as including alum, the disclosure of Caubet specifies at adjuvants and their uses have been used for “nearly a century”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over O’Hagan (US 2009/0220541) in view of Daines (US 2018/0042545).
Regarding claim 4, O’Hagan discloses the kit of claim 3, O’Hagan does not specifically teach wherein the first container is configured for storage of the active ingredient at a predetermined temperature for at least 24 hours.
Daines teaches a medical kit used for immunotherapy testing which includes vials for said testing. Daines teaches wherein the first container (¶[0069], where the kit 100 can be arranged in a thermos-mold 115 with a predetermined temperature for storage) is configured for storage of the active ingredient at a predetermined temperature (¶[0069], where a predetermined temperature is listed) for at least 24 hours (¶[0080], where prefilled syringes in the thermoform can be store/refrigerated for up to 72 hours).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the storage time of Daines from 0 to 72 hours to at least 24 hours since it has been held that “[i]n the case where the claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art’ a prima facie case of obviousness exists.” In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Further, applicant appears to have placed no criticality on the claimed range (see pp. [0012] indicating the storage is “a minimum of 12 hours and up to 24 hours or more”).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of O’Hagan and Daines teaches the kit of claim 4, O’Hagan further teaches wherein the predetermined temperature is between about 2°C and about 8°C (¶[0173], where the compositions and kits are store between 2°C and 8°C).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of O’Hagan and Daines teaches the kit of claim 4, the combination of O’Hagan and Daines further teaches wherein the first container is configured for storage of the active ingredient (¶[0069] from Daines) at the predetermined temperature (¶[0173] from O’Hagan) for at least 18 hours (¶[0080], where the overlapping range of 0 to 72 hours includes at least 18 hours).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of O’Hagan and Daines teaches the kit of claim 4, the combination of O’Hagan and Daines further teaches wherein the first container is configured for storage of the active ingredient (¶[0069] from Daines) at the predetermined temperature (¶[0173] from O’Hagan) for at least 12 hours (¶[0080], where the overlapping range of 0 to 72 hours includes at least 18 hours from Daines).
Regarding claim 8, O’Hagan discloses the kit of claim 3, O’Hagan does not specifically teach further comprising a third container configured for temperature control, the third container being insulated, including a cooling medium, and configured to hold both the first container and the second container.
Daines teaches a third container (Fig. 12, 176) configured for temperature control (¶[0080], where the container is a thermoform fitted with a cooling device), the third container being insulated (¶[0083], where an allergy kit can insulated or refrigerated, the packaging of 176 can similarly be insulated or refrigerated for the same benefits as the allergy kit, this other embodiment of Daines is usable for the container for the kit with a cooling device as the insulated or refrigerated part would only increase the potency of cooling or refrigerating 176), including a cooling medium (¶[0080], where the cooling medium can include an ice pack or dry ice), and configured to hold both the first container and the second container (¶[0080], where the container 176 can accommodate multiple syringes and at least a prescription in slot 181). Having insulation or refrigeration would improve the device of O’Hagan by keeping the compounds and ingredients of the kit at a cooled temperature for storage or when out of storage, movement. Using a cooling or refrigerating type packaging for drug skits is well known in the art as it is typically required to ensure the integrity of a drug, compound or component that will be delivered to a patient.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of O’Hagan to include a third container (Fig. 12, 176 from Daines) configured for temperature control (¶[0080], where the container is a thermoform fitted with a cooling device from Daines), the third container being insulated (¶[0083], where an allergy kit can insulated or refrigerated, the packaging of 176 can similarly be insulated or refrigerated for the same benefits as the allergy kit, this other embodiment of Daines is usable for the container for the kit with a cooling device as the insulated or refrigerated part would only increase the potency of cooling or refrigerating 176 from Daines), including a cooling medium (¶[0080], where the cooling medium can include an ice pack or dry ice from Daines), and configured to hold both the first container and the second container (¶[0080], where the container 176 can accommodate multiple syringes and at least a prescription in slot 181 from Daines).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of O’Hagan and Daines teaches the kit of claim 8, Daines further teaches wherein the cooling medium is at least one of water ice, dry ice, and a pre-refrigerated cooling gel pack (¶[0080], where the cooling medium can include an ice pack or dry ice, where dry ice is included as an option for the cooling medium).
Claim(s) 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over O’Hagan (US 2009/0220541).
Regarding claim 10, O’Hagan discloses the kit of claim 1, wherein amounts of the active ingredient in the first container and the adjuvant in the second container are configured to provide the adjuvant in an amount between about 5% and about 50% of a total of the compounded form upon an entirety of the active ingredient in the first container being mixed with an entirety of the adjuvant in the second container to form the compounded form (¶[0060], where the compound can be in the form of a 1:1 ratio with the range being from 5:1 to 1:5 which equates to 16.7% and 83.3%).
O’Hagan does not specifically teach providing the adjuvant in an amount between about 5% and 50%.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the compound ratio from between 16.7% and 83.3% to between 5% and 50% since it has been held that “[i]n the case where the claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art’ a prima facie case of obviousness exists.” In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Further, applicant appears to have placed no criticality on the claimed range (see ¶[0012] indicating the proportion is “about” the claimed range).
Regarding claim 11, O’Hagan discloses the kit of claim 10, wherein amounts of the active ingredient in the first container and the adjuvant in the second container are configured to provide the adjuvant in the amount between about 10% and about 40% of the total of the compounded form upon the entirety of the active ingredient in the first container being mixed with an entirety of the adjuvant in the second container to form the compounded form (¶[0060], where the mixture can be from 5:1 to 1:5 which is between 16.7% and 83.3% of the compound is the adjuvant, this mixing ratio is interchangeable in the disclosure of O’Hagan so the adjuvant or active compound can be between these values if the mixing required is in a range, this an overlapping range which includes part of the range about 10% and about 40%, the obviousness of this is stated in claim 10 above).
Regarding claim 12, O’Hagan discloses the kit of claim 10, wherein the amounts of the active ingredient in the first container and the adjuvant in the second container are configured to provide the adjuvant in the amount of about 30% of the total of the compounded form upon the entirety of the active ingredient in the first container being mixed with an entirety of the adjuvant in the second container to form the compounded form (¶[0060], where the mixture can be from 5:1 to 1:5 which is between 16.7% and 83.3% of the compound is the adjuvant, this mixing ratio is interchangeable in the disclosure of O’Hagan so the adjuvant or active compound can be between these values if the mixing required is in a range, this an overlapping range which includes about 30%, the obviousness of this is stated in claim 10 above).
Conclusion
/HADEN MATTHEW RITCHIE/Examiner, Art Unit 3783
/BHISMA MEHTA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3783