Response to Arguments
Examiner used reference 2023/0412800 and related citations but used the name Mahajan instead of Wu, name has been corrected to Wu.
Applicant's arguments filed 12/22/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues the prior art does not describe 7. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the second filter includes at least one of a Sample Adaptive Offset (SAO) filter or an Adaptive Loop Filter (ALF).
Examiner disagrees as the art discloses 7. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the second filter includes at least one of a Sample Adaptive Offset (SAO) filter or an Adaptive Loop Filter (ALF) (Fig. 1: SOA filter 120).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-6, 8-9, 11-14, 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wu et al. US 2023/0412800 from IDS
Wu discloses:
1. and under similar rationale 20. An apparatus for video decoding, the apparatus comprising: at least one memory configured; and at least one processor coupled to the at least one memory, the at least one processor configured to (Fig. 18): apply a first filter to a plurality of sub-blocks of a block of video data to generate a filtered plurality of sub-blocks, the plurality of sub-blocks being less than an entirety of sub-blocks within the block (Fig. 1: deblocking filter 110; Fig. 2: sub-blocks 281-4; 0040-2); apply the first filter to at least one line of pixels in an additional sub-block of the block to generate a filtered portion of the additional sub-block, wherein the at least one line of pixels in the additional sub-block is filtered using the first filter without filtering an entirety of the additional sub-block using the first filter, and wherein the additional sub-block is adjacent to at least one of the plurality of sub-blocks (Fig. 6; 0050: Likewise, after the deblocking filter 110 finishes processing the block 168, a filtered block is generated, which consists of two completely filtered sub-blocks 281 and 283, as well as two partially filtered sub-blocks 282 and 284. It is to be noted that, when the deblocking filter 110 finishes processing the block 168, the sub-blocks 272 and 274 are completely filtered); and apply a second filter to the filtered plurality of sub-blocks and the filtered portion of the additional sub-block to generate a second filtered plurality of sub-blocks (Fig. 6: 0050), wherein the second filter is one of a sample adaptive offset (SAO) filter or an adaptive loop filter (ALF) (Fig. 1: SAO filter 120).
2. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one line of pixels in the additional sub-block includes a plurality lines of pixels in the block that are adjacent to one another (Fig. 12: 1211).
3. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the second filter is an M-tap filter, wherein the at least one line of pixels in the additional sub-block includes an amount of lines of pixels that is based on M (0055; 0064).
5. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the first filter is an N-tap filter, wherein the at least one line of pixels in the additional sub-block includes an amount of lines of pixels that is based on N and a sub-block size (0009; 0062).
6. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the first filter includes a deblocking (DB) filter (Fig. 1: deblocking filter 110).
7. (Currently Amended) The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the first filter includes the SAO filter, and wherein the second filter includes the ALF (Fig. 1: SAO Filter 120, ALF filter 130).
8. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the second filter includes at least one of a Constrained Directional Enhancement Filter (CDEF) or a Loop Restoration (LR) Filter (Fig. 1: 120; 0090).
9. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the additional sub-block is horizontally adjacent to the at least one of the plurality of sub-blocks, wherein the at least one line of pixels in the additional sub-block is adjacent to a vertical boundary between the additional sub-block and at least the one of the plurality of sub-blocks (Fig. 9).
11. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is configured to: store a partially-filtered portion of the block in a neighboring block buffer, wherein the partially-filtered portion of the block is partially filtered using the first filter (0050; Fig. 15; 0111-3); and apply at least one filter to the partially-filtered portion of the block from the neighboring block buffer and to a second block that neighbors the block to filter the second block (0050; Fig. 15; 0111-3).
12. The apparatus of claim 11, wherein the partially-filtered portion of the block is part of the additional sub-block (0050; Fig. 15; 0111-3).
13. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is configured to: apply a third filter to the filtered plurality of sub-blocks and the filtered portion of the additional sub-block to generate a third-filtered plurality of sub-blocks (Fig. 1: ALF 130).
14. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is configured to: apply the second filter to a second set of at least one line of pixels in the additional sub-block of the block to generate a second filtered portion of the additional sub-block, wherein the second set of at least one line of pixels in the additional sub-block is filtered using the second filter without filtering an entirety of the additional sub-block using the second filter (0050-5; Fig. 1: 110, 120, 130); and apply a third filter to the second filtered plurality of sub-blocks and the second filtered portion of the additional sub-block to generate a third filtered plurality of sub-blocks (0050-5; Fig. 1: 110, 120, 130).
16. The apparatus of claim 1, further comprising: a video encoder configured to encode the video data, wherein the at least one processor is configured to receive the video data from the video encoder before applying the first filter to the plurality of sub-blocks of the block (Fig. 13; 0092; Fig 1;).
17. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is configured to: output block data for storage in the at least one memory, wherein the output block data is based on the second filtered plurality of sub-blocks (Fig. 1: data bus 125; memory 180; 0061).
18. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is configured to: display output block data using a display, wherein the output block data is based on the second filtered plurality of sub-blocks (Fig. 1; 0050; 0034; Fig. 14: display 1455).
19. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the apparatus includes at least one of a head-mounted display (HMD), a mobile handset, or a wireless communication device (0144).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 10, 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. US 2023/0412800 from IDS in view of Young US 2019/0124339
Wu discloses:
4. The apparatus of claim 3,
Wu does not explicitly disclose the following however, Young teaches wherein the amount of lines of pixels is (M−1)/2 (0093).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill before the effective filing date to modify the reference(s) as above in order to filter a pixel can use other adjacent pixels such that the pixel to be filtered is centered in the adjacent pixels (Young 0093)
10. The apparatus of claim 1,
Wu does not explicitly disclose the following however, Young teaches wherein the additional sub-block and each of the plurality of sub-blocks have a size of 4 pixels by 4 pixels (Fig 10A&B; 0044; Fig. 7; 0058; 0076).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill before the effective filing date to modify the reference(s) as above in order to use of upsampling for certain edges as described herein can improve the gain for the image data over that achievable using the other filtering described herein depending on the transform kernel used (Young 0076)
15. The apparatus of claim 1,
Wu does not explicitly disclose the following however, Young teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to: rescale pixel data of at least one of the video data, the filtered plurality of sub-blocks, the filtered portion of the additional sub-block, or the second filtered plurality of sub-blocks (Fig. 8; 0096).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill before the effective filing date to modify the reference(s) as above in order to use of upsampling for certain edges as described herein can improve the gain for the image data over that achievable using the other filtering described herein depending on the transform kernel used (Young 0076)
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOSEPH W BECKER/Examiner, Art Unit 2483