DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 14 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Miller et al. (U.S. PGPub 2013/0070666), hereinafter referred to as Miller.
Regarding claim 1, Miller discloses a non-processing non-geosynchronous orbit (NGSO) satellite (Satellite 105 may support a non-processed, bent pipe architecture; See [0065]) comprising:
a feeder link (FL) system having:
a FL receiver (RX; See Fig. 1) to receive, from a currently active gateway radio unit (GW- RU) via a FL antenna, analog forward direct-to-device (DtD) signals and a control signal (receive multiplexed signal from a gateway destined for a plurality of terminals, interpreted as the DtD signals and a beam hopping frame definition, interpreted as the control signal; See Fig. 9, #910, [0052] and [0120]); and
a FL transmitter (TX; See Fig. 1) to transmit analog return DtD signals to the currently active GW-RU via the FL antenna (receive multiple access composite signal derived from a plurality of terminals to be transmitted to the gateway; See Figs. 1 and 9, #914 and [0121]); and
a user link (UL) system having:
a transmit digital beamformer (TX beam forming RHP or LHP; See Fig. 8A and [0073]) coupled with the FL receiver to:
form a plurality of forward user beams based on a beam-hopping beamforming (BHBF) schema determined based on the control signal (The beam hopping timeslot definitions included within a beam hopping frame definition may be automatically repeated until a new beam hopping frame definition is received or an interrupt is signaled, allowing for dynamic changes to the transmit and receive coverage area and beam locations. Timeslot definitions and/or weight matrices may also include location data used to create one or more receive beams, one or more transmit beams, or both. For example, the location data may include the set of all complex weight vectors used to generate the active beams for the timeslot; See [0052] and [0118]); and
transmit at least a portion of the forward DtD signals to user terminals in cell coverage areas serviced by the plurality of forward user beams via a UL beamforming antenna (Downlink signals are transmitted from the satellite to receiving user terminals via the TX beam forming RHP; See Fig. 8A and [0098]); and
a receive digital beamformer (RX beam forming RHP or LHP; See Fig. 8A and [0073]) coupled with the FL transmitter to:
form a plurality of return user beams based on the BHBF schema (a satellite-based receive phased array including a receive beam forming network (e.g., BFN 410 of FIG. 4) may be configured to create one or more receive beams on the satellite for the duration of the timeslot dwell time; See [0121]); and
receive at least a portion of the return DtD signals from user terminals in cell coverage areas serviced by the plurality of return user beams via the UL beamforming antenna (receive multiple access composite signal derived from a plurality of terminals; See Fig. 9, #914 and [0121]).
Regarding claim 2, Miller further discloses the NGSO satellite of claim 1, wherein: the FL receiver is to receive the forward DtD signals as an analog feeder uplink waveform segmented into uplink resource block channels (URBCs), each URBC corresponding to a respective subchannel of a feeder uplink (these K pathways can be used to flexibly and programmably allocate capacity between the forward direction (GW to user terminals) and the return direction (user terminals to GW). The allocation is flexible in that that the total resources can be split amongst forward and return in any proportion desired resulting in any desired ratio between forward and return channel capacity, wherein there are a number of frequency channels; See [0063], [0131] and [0135]); and the FL transmitter is to transmit the return DtD signals as an analog feeder downlink waveform segmented into downlink resource block channels (DRBCs), each DRBC corresponding to a respective subchannel of a feeder downlink (these K pathways can be used to flexibly and programmably allocate capacity between the forward direction (GW to user terminals) and the return direction (user terminals to GW). The allocation is flexible in that that the total resources can be split amongst forward and return in any proportion desired resulting in any desired ratio between forward and return channel capacity, wherein there are a number of frequency channels; See [0063], [0131] and [0135]).
Regarding claim 14, Miller further discloses the NGSO satellite of claim 1, wherein:
the FL system further comprises the FL antenna (phased array of antenna elements; See [0014]); and
the UL system further comprises the UL beamforming antenna (phased array of antenna elements; See [0014]).
Regarding claim 16, Miller discloses a method for non-terrestrial network communications via a non- processing non-geosynchronous orbit (NGSO) satellite (Satellite 105 may support a non-processed, bent pipe architecture; See [0065]), the method comprising:
in a forward direction:
receiving, by the satellite from a GW-RU, forward direct-to-device (DtD) signals and a control signal via an analog feeder uplink waveform (receive multiplexed signal from a gateway destined for a plurality of terminals, interpreted as the DtD signals and a beam hopping frame definition, interpreted as the control signal; See Fig. 9, #910, [0052] and [0120]);
forming a plurality of forward user beams based on beam-hopping beamforming (BHBF) schema determined based on the control signal (The beam hopping timeslot definitions included within a beam hopping frame definition may be automatically repeated until a new beam hopping frame definition is received or an interrupt is signaled, allowing for dynamic changes to the transmit and receive coverage area and beam locations. Timeslot definitions and/or weight matrices may also include location data used to create one or more receive beams, one or more transmit beams, or both. For example, the location data may include the set of all complex weight vectors used to generate the active beams for the timeslot; See [0052] and [0118]); and
transmitting at least a portion of the forward DtD signals from the satellite to user terminals in cell coverage areas serviced by the plurality of forward user beams (Downlink signals are transmitted from the satellite to receiving user terminals via the TX beam forming RHP; See Fig. 8A and [0098]); and
in a return direction:
forming a plurality of return user beams based on the BHBF schema (a satellite-based receive phased array including a receive beam forming network (e.g., BFN 410 of FIG. 4) may be configured to create one or more receive beams on the satellite for the duration of the timeslot dwell time; See [0121]);
receiving return DtD signals from user terminals in cell coverage areas serviced by the plurality of return user beams (receive multiple access composite signal derived from a plurality of terminals to be transmitted to the gateway; See Fig. 9, #914 and [0121]); and
transmitting the return DtD signals by the satellite to the GW-RU via an analog feeder downlink waveform (receive multiple access composite signal derived from a plurality of terminals to be transmitted to the gateway; See Figs. 1 and 9, #914 and [0121]).
Regarding claim 17, Miller further discloses the method of claim 16, wherein:
the analog feeder uplink waveform is segmented into uplink resource block channels (URBCs), each URBC corresponding to a respective subchannel of a feeder uplink (these K pathways can be used to flexibly and programmably allocate capacity between the forward direction (GW to user terminals) and the return direction (user terminals to GW). The allocation is flexible in that that the total resources can be split amongst forward and return in any proportion desired resulting in any desired ratio between forward and return channel capacity, wherein there are a number of frequency channels; See [0063], [0131] and [0135]), each forward DtD signal received via a respective one of the URBCs (wherein the K pathways are associated with the respective channels; See [0063], [0131] and [0135]); and
the analog feeder downlink waveform is segmented into downlink resource block channels (DRBCs), each DRBC corresponding to a respective subchannel of a feeder downlink (these K pathways can be used to flexibly and programmably allocate capacity between the forward direction (GW to user terminals) and the return direction (user terminals to GW). The allocation is flexible in that that the total resources can be split amongst forward and return in any proportion desired resulting in any desired ratio between forward and return channel capacity, wherein there are a number of frequency channels; See [0063], [0131] and [0135]), each forward DtD signal received via a respective one of the URBCs (wherein the K pathways are associated with the respective channels; See [0063], [0131] and [0135]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 3 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miller as applied to claims 2 and 17 above, and further in view of Hsieh et al. (U.S. PGPub 2021/0297149), hereinafter referred to as Hsieh.
Regarding claim 3, Miller fails to teach the NGSO satellite of claim 2, wherein: each forward DtD signal and each return DtD signal is formatted for compatibility with a cellular physical waveform and networking protocol; and each URBC and each DRBC has a frequency dimension corresponding to a resource block allocation defined by the cellular networking protocol.
Hsieh teaches wherein: each forward DtD signal and each return DtD signal is formatted for compatibility with a cellular physical waveform and networking protocol (cellular network; See [0094]); and each URBC and each DRBC has a frequency dimension corresponding to a resource block allocation defined by the cellular networking protocol (The minimum resource unit for allocation and/or assignment by the NTN device 300 to a particular UE device, i.e. a resource block, corresponds to a specific downlink/uplink time slot (e.g., one subframe, etc.) and/or a specific downlink/uplink frequency subband (e.g., twelve adjacent subcarriers, etc.).; See [0102]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the apparatus of Miller to include wherein: each forward DtD signal and each return DtD signal is formatted for compatibility with a cellular physical waveform and networking protocol; and each URBC and each DRBC has a frequency dimension corresponding to a resource block allocation defined by the cellular networking protocol taught by Hsieh in order to optimize resource utilization.
Regarding claim 18, Miller fails to teach the method of claim 17, wherein: each forward DtD signal and each return DtD signal is formatted for compatibility with a cellular physical waveform and networking protocol; and each URBC and each DRBC has a frequency dimension corresponding to a resource block allocation defined by the cellular networking protocol.
Hsieh teaches wherein: each forward DtD signal and each return DtD signal is formatted for compatibility with a cellular physical waveform and networking protocol (cellular network; See [0094]); and each URBC and each DRBC has a frequency dimension corresponding to a resource block allocation defined by the cellular networking protocol (The minimum resource unit for allocation and/or assignment by the NTN device 300 to a particular UE device, i.e. a resource block, corresponds to a specific downlink/uplink time slot (e.g., one subframe, etc.) and/or a specific downlink/uplink frequency subband (e.g., twelve adjacent subcarriers, etc.).; See [0102]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the method of Miller to include wherein: each forward DtD signal and each return DtD signal is formatted for compatibility with a cellular physical waveform and networking protocol; and each URBC and each DRBC has a frequency dimension corresponding to a resource block allocation defined by the cellular networking protocol taught by Hsieh in order to optimize resource utilization.
Claims 4, 9-10 and 19-20 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Miller in view of Suh et al. (U.S. PGPub 2025/0080282), hereinafter referred to as Suh.
Regarding claim 4, Miller fails to teach the NGSO satellite of claim 2, wherein: the analog feeder uplink waveform is further segmented into a control channel corresponding to an associated subchannel of the feeder uplink separate from the URBCs; and the FL receiver is to receive the control signal via the control channel.
Suh teaches the analog feeder uplink waveform is further segmented into a control channel corresponding to an associated subchannel of the feeder uplink separate from the URBCs (PUCCH is separate from a data channel; See [0182]); and the FL receiver is to receive the control signal via the control channel (it is well known that control signals are received on control channels as opposed to data channels; See [0182]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the apparatus of Miller to include wherein: the analog feeder uplink waveform is further segmented into a control channel corresponding to an associated subchannel of the feeder uplink separate from the URBCs; and the FL receiver is to receive the control signal via the control channel taught by Suh in order to optimize communication.
Regarding claim 9, Miller fails to teach the NGSO satellite of claim 1, wherein the satellite is one of a plurality of satellites of a satellite constellation, and further comprising: an inter-satellite link (ISL) system having: an ISL receiver to receive ISL signals via one or more ISLs via one or more ISL antennas from one or more others of the plurality of satellites; and an ISL transmitter to transmit ISL signals via the one or more ISLs via the ISL antenna to one or more others of the plurality of satellites.
Suh teaches wherein the satellite is one of a plurality of satellites of a satellite constellation (See Fig. 2A, #211 and #212), and further comprising: an inter-satellite link (ISL) system (ISL; See Fig. 2A and [0085]) having: an ISL receiver to receive ISL signals via one or more ISLs via one or more ISL antennas from one or more others of the plurality of satellites (The satellite 211 may be connected to the satellite 212, and an inter-satellite link (ISL) may be established between the satellite 211 and the satellite 212. The ISL may operate in an RF frequency band or an optical band, suggesting that a receiver is used for receiving the communications between the two satellites; See Fig. 2A and [0085]); and an ISL transmitter to transmit ISL signals via the one or more ISLs via the ISL antenna to one or more others of the plurality of satellites (The satellite 211 may be connected to the satellite 212, and an inter-satellite link (ISL) may be established between the satellite 211 and the satellite 212. The ISL may operate in an RF frequency band or an optical band, suggesting that a transmitter is used for sending the communications between the two satellites; See Fig. 2A and [0085]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the apparatus of Miller to include wherein the satellite is one of a plurality of satellites of a satellite constellation, and further comprising: an inter-satellite link (ISL) system having: an ISL receiver to receive ISL signals via one or more ISLs via one or more ISL antennas from one or more others of the plurality of satellites; and an ISL transmitter to transmit ISL signals via the one or more ISLs via the ISL antenna to one or more others of the plurality of satellites taught by Suh in order to optimize communication.
Regarding claim 10, Miller still fails to teach the NGSO satellite of claim 9, wherein the ISL system further comprises the one or more ISL antennas.
Suh teaches wherein the ISL system further comprises the one or more ISL antennas (The satellite 211 may be connected to the satellite 212, and an inter-satellite link (ISL) may be established between the satellite 211 and the satellite 212. The ISL may operate in an RF frequency band or an optical band, suggesting that an antenna is used for sending and receiving the communications between the two satellites; See Fig. 2A and [0085]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the apparatus of Miller to include wherein the ISL system further comprises the one or more ISL antennas taught by Suh in order to optimize communication.
Regarding claim 19, Miller fails to teach the method of claim 17, wherein: the analog feeder uplink waveform is further segmented into a control channel corresponding to an associated subchannel of the feeder uplink separate from the URBCs; and the control signal is received via the control channel.
Suh teaches the analog feeder uplink waveform is further segmented into a control channel corresponding to an associated subchannel of the feeder uplink separate from the URBCs (PUCCH is separate from a data channel; See [0182]); and the control signal is received via the control channel (it is well known that control signals are received on control channels as opposed to data channels; See [0182]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the apparatus of Miller to include wherein: the analog feeder uplink waveform is further segmented into a control channel corresponding to an associated subchannel of the feeder uplink separate from the URBCs; and the control signal is received via the control channel taught by Suh in order to optimize communication.
Regarding claim 20, Miller fails to teach the method of claim 16, wherein the satellite is a first satellite of a plurality of satellites of a satellite constellation, and further comprising: receiving an inter-satellite link (ISL) signal by the satellite either from the GW- RU via the analog feeder uplink waveform or from one of the plurality of return user beams, the ISL signal for transmission to a second satellite of the satellite constellation via an ISL between the first and second satellites; and routing the ISL signal for transmission to the second satellite via the ISL based on routing information received via the control signal.
Suh teaches wherein the satellite is a first satellite of a plurality of satellites of a satellite constellation (See Fig. 2A, #211 and #212), and further comprising: receiving an inter-satellite link (ISL) signal by the satellite either from the GW- RU via the analog feeder uplink waveform or from one of the plurality of return user beams, the ISL signal for transmission to a second satellite of the satellite constellation via an ISL between the first and second satellites; and routing the ISL signal for transmission to the second satellite via the ISL based on routing information received via the control signal (The satellite 211 may be connected to the satellite 212, and an inter-satellite link (ISL) may be established between the satellite 211 and the satellite 212. The ISL may operate in an RF frequency band or an optical band, suggesting that an transmissions are sent and received between the two satellites; See Fig. 2A and [0085]).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miller as in view of Hu et al. (U.S. PGPub 2024/0298283), hereinafter referred to as Hu.
Regarding claim 15, Miller teaches a satellite-based network comprising:
a satellite of the NGSO satellite of claim 1 (See rejection of claim 1 above) and wherein the NGSO satellite is a transparent-mode relay (Satellite 105 may support a non-processed, bent pipe architecture; See [0065]).
Miller fails to teach a satellite-based non-terrestrial network (NTN) comprising: a satellite constellation comprising a plurality of instances of the NGSO satellite of claim 1 traversing orbital paths in at least one orbital plane; and a plurality of gateway radio units (GW-RUs) in communication with the satellite constellation and with ground-based NodeBs that facilitate communications between the GW- RUs and a cellular core network, and the NodeBs perform waveform processing on the forward DtD signals, the return DtD signals, and the control signal.
Hu teaches a satellite-based non-terrestrial network (NTN) (NTN scenario based on a transparent payload satellite; See Fig. 5) comprising: a satellite constellation comprising a plurality of instances of the NGSO satellite of claim 1 traversing orbital paths in at least one orbital plane (two satellites communicating via an inter-satellite link; See Fig. 5); and a plurality of gateway radio units (GW-RUs) in communication with the satellite constellation and with ground-based NodeBs that facilitate communications between the GW- RUs and a cellular core network (one or more gateways, wherein the data network comprises the NodeBs; See Fig. 5 and [0048]), and the NodeBs perform waveform processing on the forward DtD signals, the return DtD signals, and the control signal (For the transparent payload satellite, it only provides the functions of radio frequency filtering, frequency conversion and amplification, and only transparent forwarding of signals is provided without changing the waveform signals forwarded by the transparent payload satellite. NTN scenario based on the transparent payload satellite, the gateway communicates with the satellite through a feeder link, and the satellite communicates with the terminal through a service link. In FIG. 4 and FIG. 5, the gateway is configured to connect the satellite to the terrestrial common network (e.g. a data network). The feeder link is a link used for the communication between the gateway and the satellite. The service link is a link used for the communication between the terminal and the satellite, wherein it is well known that in transparent mode, the network devices perform the processing of the signals instead of the satellite; See [0050]-[0051]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the network of Miller to include a satellite-based non-terrestrial network (NTN) comprising: a satellite constellation comprising a plurality of instances of the NGSO satellite of claim 1 traversing orbital paths in at least one orbital plane; and a plurality of gateway radio units (GW-RUs) in communication with the satellite constellation and with ground-based NodeBs that facilitate communications between the GW- RUs and a cellular core network, and the NodeBs perform waveform processing on the forward DtD signals, the return DtD signals, and the control signal taught by Hu in order to optimize communication.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-8 and 11-13 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claims 5-6 appear to be novel and inventive because prior art fails to show or teach the NGSO satellite of claim 4, further comprising: a control system comprising a control processor coupled with a control receiver to receive the control signal from the FL receiver, a BHBF data store having the BHBF schema stored thereon, and a telemetry tracking and control (TT&C) block to generate TT&C information, wherein the control receiver is at least to direct the transmit digital beamformer to form the plurality of forward user beams, and to direct the receive digital beamformer to form the plurality of return user beams based on the control signal, the BHBF schema, and the TT&C information.
Claim 7 appears to be novel and inventive because prior art fails to show or teach the NGSO satellite of claim 2, wherein: the analog feeder uplink waveform is received in a first polarization orientation; the analog feeder downlink waveform is received in a second polarization orientation concurrently with receiving the analog feeder uplink waveform; and the second polarization orientation is orthogonal to the first polarization orientation.
Claim 8 appears to be novel and inventive because prior art fails to show or teach the NGSO satellite of claim 2, wherein: a first portion of the analog feeder uplink waveform is received in a first polarization orientation and segmented into a first portion of the URBCs, and a second portion of the analog feeder uplink waveform is received in a second polarization orientation concurrently with receiving the first portion of the analog feeder uplink waveform and segmented into a second portion of the URBCs, and the second polarization orientation is orthogonal to the first polarization orientation.
Claims 11-12 appear to be novel and inventive because prior art fails to show or teach the NGSO satellite of claim 9, further comprising: a router coupled with the ISL system to perform ISL routing based on routing information received via the control signal by: routing a received ISL signal, responsive to receiving the received ISL signal from the ISL receiver, either to the transmit digital beamformer for transmission via the UL beamforming antenna or to the ISL transmitter; and routing a transmit ISL signal to the ISL transmitter for transmission to another of the plurality of satellites via another of the ISLs responsive to receiving the transmit ISL signal from any of the FL receiver, the receive digital beamformer, or the ISL receiver.
Claim 13 appears to be novel and inventive because prior art fails to show or teach the NGSO satellite of claim 1, wherein: the FL antenna comprises a plurality of FL antennas configured so that: in a first timeframe, the currently active GW-RU is a first GW-RU having line-of- sight to the satellite as the satellite traverses an orbital path, and a first of the plurality of FL antennas is in communication with the first GW-RU; in a second timeframe, the currently active GW-RU is a second GW-RU having line-of-sight to the satellite as the satellite traverses the orbital path, and a second of the plurality of FL antennas is in communication with the second GW-RU; and in a transition timeframe between the first timeframe and the second timeframe, while the currently active GW-RU continues to be the first GW-RU and the first of the plurality of FL antennas continues to be in communication with the first GW-RU, the second GW-RU also has line-of-sight to the satellite, and the second of the plurality of FL antennas establishes communication with the second GW-RU.
Conclusion
Additional prior art made of record and not relied upon but considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure can be found on the PTO-892 (Notice of References Cited) form.
Any response to this action should be mailed to:
Commissioner for Patents,
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
Hand delivered responses should be brought to:
Customer Service Window
Randolph Building
401 Dulany Street
Alexandria, VA 22314
/ASHLEY SHIVERS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477 1/10/2026