1. Claims 1-4, 6-9, 11-14 and 16-19 have been amended. Claims 1-20 have been examined.
Response to Arguments
2. Applicant argues, “Although Fukada describes node A decrypting a message using a secret key and obtaining, from the decrypted message, a session key from the authentication server, Fukada does not disclose that the secret key is a binding key obtained from a backend server, or that node A obtains the binding key by receiving an encrypted message, decrypting the encrypted message using a device key, and extracting the binding key from the message. Rather, Fukada merely states that the session key is encrypted by the authentication server using a secret key.” (note Remarks, page 15).
Examiner disagrees. Applicant’s Specification provides no explicit definitions for “binding key” and “device key”. There is no specific, consensus definition of the terms in the art. Examiner applies the broadest, reasonable interpretation of the ordinary, dictionary meaning of the words:
binding key – a key bound to something or a key that binds something
device key – a key used by a device or a key specific to a device
Fukada discloses the distribution of a session key, Ks, that has been encrypted with a key specific to the receiving device, Kas. Node A uses Kas to decrypt the message and extract Ks (note paragraphs [0062] and [0100]).
Kas is a key that is specific to Node A and used by Node A to encrypt and decrypt messages with authentication server S (note paragraph [0053]). Clearly, Kas is a device key. Ks is a session key created by the authentication server S and is for communication between nodes A and B. In other words, Ks, is “bound” to a session and “binds” nodes A and B together. Thus, Ks is a “binding key”.
Therefore, Node A of Fukada decrypting a message with Kas to extract Ks teaches “decrypting…the first encrypted message using a device key” and “extracting…the binding key from the first decrypted message” as required by the claims.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to “the second encrypted messages including session keys for secure communications” in claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection for claim 1 does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Interpretation
4. This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “backend system that provides keys” in claims 6 and 16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
6. Claims 6-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 6-10 recite the opposite use of “binding key” and “device key” as is found throughout the Specification (e.g. Fig. 1 and paragraphs [0040]-[0046) and is claimed in claim 1. For example, claim 6 recites “a procedure for obtaining, from the backend system, a device key”, “decrypt the first encrypted message using the binding key” and “extract the device key from the first decrypted message”.
However, in the Specification (note paragraph [0045]) and claim 1, the backend system provisions a binding key that is encrypted with a device key. For convenience, Examiner will treat claims 6-10 as reciting “binding key” and “device key” in a manner consistent with claim 1 and the Specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claims 1, 3-6 and 8-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Buffard et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2022/0094695; hereafter “Buffard”), and further in view of Fukuda (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2012/0106735) , and further in view of Lewis et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2014/0301550; hereafter “Lewis”).
For claims 1 and 6, Buffard teaches a method and an apparatus for use in a vehicle subsystem assembly (note Fig. 1 and paragraph [0027], ECUs) within a system that comprises i) a backend system that provides keys for symmetric encryption in vehicles (note Fig. 1 and paragraphs [0027] and [0053], sub-system 104 generates security keys), ii) an electronic control unit (ECU) communicatively coupled to the backend system (note Fig. 1 and paragraph [0027], main ECU), and iii) the vehicle subsystem assembly communicatively coupled to the ECU via an Ethernet link (note Fig. 1, Ethernet), the apparatus comprising:
an Ethernet communication interface configured to communicate with the ECU via the Ethernet link (note Fig. 1 and paragraph [0068], ECUs may communicate via Ethernet);
a memory configured to-store a first identifier of the vehicle subsystem assembly and a device key (note paragraphs [0051] and [0067], ECU memory stores unique identifier, keys and authentication data);
decryption circuitry (note paragraph [0068], decryption component); and
a controller coupled to i) the Ethernet communication interface, ii) the memory, and iii) the decryption circuitry (note paragraph [0069], processors), the controller configured to:
control the Ethernet communication interface to transmit the first identifier of the vehicle subsystem assembly to the ECU (note paragraph [0051], ECUs transmit their identifier to the main ECU) via the Ethernet link (note Fig. 1, ECUs are connected to main ECU via Ethernet) as part of a procedure for obtaining, from the backend system, a binding key for secure communications with the ECU via the Ethernet link (note paragraphs [0049] and [0053], transmitting the ECU identifier is part of a method for obtaining a security key generated by security sub-system server),
after the Ethernet communication interface transmits the first identifier, receive a first encrypted message from the ECU via the Ethernet link and the Ethernet communication interface as part of the procedure for obtaining the binding key (note paragraphs [0055] and [0072], ECUs received signed security keys message from main ECU),
use the binding key in connection with secure communications between the vehicle subsystem assembly and the ECU (note paragraphs [0035] and [0055], security keys are used for secure communication between the ECUs).
Buffard differs from the claimed invention in that they fail to teach:
control the decryption circuitry to decrypt the first encrypted message using the device key to generate a first decrypted message,
determine whether the first decrypted message includes a second identifier that matches the first identifier;
extract the binding key from the first decrypted message; and
in response to determining that the first decrypted message includes the second identifier that matches the first identifier, use the binding key for decrypting second encrypted messages received from the ECU.
Fukuda teaches:
control the [Ethernet] communication interface to transmit the first identifier [of the vehicle subsystem assembly to the ECU] (note paragraphs [0056] and [0082], node A transmits a nonce Nas and identification information IDa to node B) [via the Ethernet link] as part of a procedure for obtaining, from the backend system, a binding key for secure communications with the [ECU via the Ethernet link] (note paragraph [0053], transmitting identifier is part of a method for obtaining a session key for nodes A and B generated by authentication server S),
after the [Ethernet] communication interface transmits the first identifier, receive a first encrypted message from the [ECU via the Ethernet link and the Ethernet] communication interface as part of the procedure for obtaining the binding key (note paragraph [0061], node A receives an encrypted message from node B),
control the decryption circuitry to decrypt the first encrypted message using the device key to generate a first decrypted message (note paragraphs [0062] and [0100], node A decrypts the encrypted message with Kas, i.e. the device key),
determine whether the first decrypted message includes a second identifier that matches the first identifier (note paragraphs [0062]-[0064] and [0101]-[0102], node A determines if message MAC including identifier Nas matches first stored Nas);
extract the binding key from the decrypted message (note paragraphs [0062] and [0100], session key Ks, i.e. binding key, is extracted from the message); and
in response to determining that the first decrypted message includes the second identifier that matches the first identifier, use the binding key for decrypting second encrypted messages received from [the ECU] (note paragraphs [0104] and [0106], in response to MAC is valid, session key Ks is used for communication between node A and node B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the clamed invention to combine the secure ECU communication of Buffard and the encryption key distribution of Fukuda to form a combination where a security sub-system (i.e. authentication server) distributes symmetric encryption keys to a main ECU (i.e. node B) and subsystem ECUs (i.e. node A). One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to modify the secure vehicle communication of Buffard with the key distribution of Fukuda because it would allow both nodes to receive a session key with a MAC value encrypted for each node that assures authenticity (note paragraphs [0006] and [0009] of Fukuda).
The combination of Buffard and Fukuda differ from the claimed invention in that they fail to teach:
the second encrypted messages including session keys for secure communications with the ECU via the Ethernet link
Lewis teaches:
the binding key for decrypting second encrypted messages received from the ECU via the Ethernet link, the second encrypted messages including session keys for secure communications with the ECU via the Ethernet link (note paragraph [0037], a message encrypted with KAB,Auth is received from the ECU that contains session key KS)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the clamed invention to combine the combination of Buffard and Fukuda and the distribution of a session key using a shared key of Lewis. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to modify the combination of Buffard and Fukuda to use the key shared between two nodes to transmit new session keys as taught by Lewis because it would make it more difficult for an attacker to learn the current session key if the key is changed in a secure manner after short intervals (note paragraph [0036] of Lewis).
For claims 11 and 16, the combination of Buffard, Fukuda and Lewis teaches an apparatus for use in a vehicle subsystem assembly (note Fig. 1 and paragraph [0027] of Buffard, ECUs) within a system that comprises i) a backend system that provides keys for symmetric encryption in vehicles (note Fig. 1 and paragraphs [0027] and [0053] of Buffard, sub-system 104 generates security keys), ii) an electronic control unit (ECU) communicatively coupled to the backend system (note Fig. 1 and paragraph [0027] of Buffard, main ECU), and iii) the vehicle subsystem assembly communicatively coupled to the ECU via an Ethernet link (note Fig. 1 of Buffard, Ethernet), the apparatus comprising:
an Ethernet communication interface configured to communicate with the vehicle subsystem assembly via the Ethernet link (note Fig. 1 and paragraph [0068] of Buffard, ECUs may communicate via Ethernet);
another communication interface configured to communicate with a computer system separate from the vehicle subsystem assembly, the computer system being communicatively coupled to the backend system (note Fig. 1 and paragraphs [0027]-[0028] of Buffard, interface to network coupled to security sub-system 104);
a memory (note paragraph [0067] of Buffard, memory); and
a controller coupled to i) the Ethernet communication interface, ii) the other communication interface, and iii) the memory, (note paragraph [0069] of Buffard, processors) the controller configured to:
receive a first identifier of the vehicle subsystem assembly from the vehicle subsystem assembly (note paragraphs [0056] and [0082] of Fukuda, node B receives a nonce Nas and identification information IDa from node A) via the Ethernet link and the Ethernet communication interface (note Fig. 1 of Buffard, ECUs are connected to main ECU via Ethernet) as part of a procedure for i) obtaining a binding key for secure communications with the vehicle subsystem assembly via the Ethernet link and ii) providing the binding key to the vehicle subsystem assembly (note paragraph [0053] of Fukuda, transmitting identifier is part of a method for obtaining a session key, i.e. binding key, for nodes A and B generated by authentication server S),
control the other communication interface to transmit the first identifier to the computer system (note paragraph [0057] of Fukuda, node B sends Ida and Nas to the authentication server S) as part of the procedure for i) obtaining the binding key and ii) providing the binding key to the vehicle subsystem assembly,
in response to transmitting the first identifier to the computer system, receive the binding key from the backend system via the other communication interface (note paragraph [0059] of Fukuda, node B receives the session key Ks, i.e. the binding key, from the authentication server) as part of the procedure for i) obtaining the binding key and ii) providing the binding key to the vehicle subsystem assembly,
store the binding key in the memory (note paragraph [0112], the session key Ks is stored in memory),
in response to transmitting the first identifier to the computer system, receive a first encrypted message from the backend system via the other communication interface (note paragraph [0059] of Fukuda, node B receives a message that is encrypted with Kas) as part of the procedure for i) obtaining the binding key and ii) providing the binding key to the vehicle subsystem assembly, the first encrypted message including the binding key, the binding key originating from the backend system (note paragraph [0058] of Fukuda, authentication server generates the session key Ks),
control the Ethernet communication interface (note Fig. 1 of Buffard, ECUs are connected to main ECU via Ethernet) to transmit the first encrypted message to the vehicle subsystem assembly (note paragraph [0061] of Fukuda, node B transfers to the node A the encrypted message) via the Ethernet link as part of the procedure for i) obtaining the binding key and ii) providing the binding key to the vehicle subsystem assembly, and
use the binding key to generate second encrypted messages to be transmitted to the vehicle subsystem assembly via the Ethernet link(note paragraphs [0035] and [0055] of Buffard, security keys are used for secure communication between the ECUs; paragraphs [0104] and [0106] of Fukuda, in response to MAC is valid, session key Ks is used for communication between node A and node B), the second encrypted messages including session keys to secure communications with the vehicle subsystem assembly via the Ethernet link (note paragraph [0037] of Lewis, a message encrypted with KAB,Auth is received from the ECU that contains session key KS).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the clamed invention to combine the secure ECU communication of Buffard and the encryption key distribution of Fukuda to form a combination where a security sub-system (i.e. authentication server) distributes symmetric encryption keys to a main ECU (i.e. node B) and subsystem ECUs (i.e. node A). One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to modify the secure vehicle communication of Buffard with the key distribution of Fukuda because it would allow both nodes to receive a session key with a MAC value encrypted for each node that assures authenticity (note paragraphs [0006] and [0009] of Fukuda).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the clamed invention to combine the combination of Buffard and Fukuda and the distribution of a session key using a shared key of Lewis. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to modify the combination of Buffard and Fukuda to use the key shared between two nodes to transmit new session keys as taught by Lewis because it would make it more difficult for an attacker to learn the current session key if the key is changed in a secure manner after short intervals (note paragraph [0036] of Lewis).
For claims 3, 8, 12 and 17, the combination of Buffard, Fukuda and Lewis teaches claims 1, 6, 11 and 16, further comprising:
after receiving the first encrypted message (note paragraph [0035] of Lewis, secret key KAB,Auth was received in a prior execution of key establishment), receive one of the second encrypted messages from the ECU via the Ethernet link and via the Ethernet communication link (note paragraph [0037] of Lewis, a message encrypted with KAB,Auth is received from the ECU that contains session key KS); and
control the decryption circuity to decrypt the one of the second encrypted messages using the binding key to generate a second decrypted message, extract a third key from the second decrypted message (note paragraph [0037] of Lewis, the message is decrypted with KAB,Auth to extract session key KS), and
control the encryption circuity to encrypt data to be transmitted to the ECU via the Ethernet link using the third key (note paragraph [0038] of Lewis, session key KS is used in encryption and decryption between ECU and sensor).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the clamed invention to combine the combination of Buffard and Fukuda and the distribution of a session key using a shared key of Lewis. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to modify the combination of Buffard and Fukuda to use the key shared between two nodes to transmit new session keys as taught by Lewis because it would make it more difficult for an attacker to learn the current session key if the key is changed in a secure manner after short intervals (note paragraph [0036] of Lewis).
For claims 4, 9, 13 and 18, the combination of Buffard, Fukuda and Lewis teaches claims 3, 8, 12 and 17, wherein the controller is further configured to:
control the decryption circuitry to decrypt data received from the ECU via the Ethernet link using the third key (note paragraph [0038] of Lewis, session key KS is used in encryption and decryption between ECU and sensor).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the clamed invention to combine the combination of Buffard and Fukuda and the distribution of a session key using a shared key of Lewis. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to modify the combination of Buffard and Fukuda to use the key shared between two nodes to transmit new session keys as taught by Lewis because it would make it more difficult for an attacker to learn the current session key if the key is changed in a secure manner after short intervals (note paragraph [0036] of Lewis).
For claims 5, 10, 15 and 20, the combination of Buffard, Fukuda and Lewis teaches claims 1, 6, 11 and 16, wherein the ECU and the vehicle subsystem assembly are included within an in-vehicle communication network (note Fig. 1 and paragraph [0027] of Buffard, ECU are part of Ethernet network).
For clams 14 and 19, the combination of Buffard, Fukuda and Lewis teaches claims 11 and 16, further comprising decryption circuitry, wherein the controller is further configured to:
receive the binding key in a third encrypted message from the backend system (note paragraphs [0058]-[0059] of Fukuda, node B receives Ks in a second message that is encrypted with Kbs); and
control the decryption circuitry to decrypt the third encrypted message using a device key stored in the memory (note paragraph [0108] of Fukuda, decryption unit of node B decrypts the message with the stored Kbs).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the clamed invention to combine the secure ECU communication of Buffard and the encryption key distribution of Fukuda to form a combination where a security sub-system (i.e. authentication server) distributes symmetric encryption keys to a main ECU (i.e. node B) and subsystem ECUs (i.e. node A). One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to modify the secure vehicle communication of Buffard with the key distribution of Fukuda because it would allow both nodes to receive a session key with a MAC value encrypted for each node that assures authenticity (note paragraphs [0006] and [0009] of Fukuda).
8. Claims 2 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Buffard, Fukuda and Lewis as applied to claims 1 and 6 above, and further in view of Takemori et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2019/0199524; hereafter “Takemori”).
For claims 2 and 7, the combination of Buffard and Fukuda teaches claims 1 and 6, wherein the controller is further configured to:
generate a challenge number (note paragraph [0079] of Fukuda, node A uses a nonce creation unit to create a nonce Nas);
control the Ethernet communication interface (note Fig. 1 of Buffard, ECUs are connected to main ECU via Ethernet) to transmit the challenge number to the ECU via the Ethernet link in connection with transmitting the first identifier to the ECU as part of the procedure for obtaining the binding key (note paragraphs [0056] and [0082] of Fukuda, node A transmits a nonce Nas and identification information IDa to node B); and
determine whether the first decrypted message includes the challenge number (note paragraphs [0062]-[0064] and [0101]-[0102] of Fukuda, node A determines if message MAC including identifier Nas matches first stored Nas);
use the binding key in connection with secure communications between the vehicle subsystem assembly and the ECU further in response to determining that the decrypted message includes the challenge number (note paragraphs [0104] and [0106] of Fukuda, in response to MAC is valid, session key Ks is used for communication between node A and node B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the clamed invention to combine the secure ECU communication of Buffard and the encryption key distribution of Fukuda to form a combination where a security sub-system (i.e. authentication server) distributes symmetric encryption keys to a main ECU (i.e. node B) and subsystem ECUs (i.e. node A). One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to modify the secure vehicle communication of Buffard with the key distribution of Fukuda because it would allow both nodes to receive a session key with a MAC value encrypted for each node that assures authenticity (note paragraphs [0006] and [0009] of Fukuda).
The combination of Buffard, Fukuda and Lewis differ from the claimed invention in that they fail to explicitly teach:
randomly or pseudorandomly generate a challenge number;
Takemori teaches:
randomly or pseudorandomly generate a challenge number (note paragraph [0209], generate a random number to use as a nonce);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the clamed invention to combine the combination of Buffard, Fukuda and Lewis and the random number nonce of Takemori. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to modify the combination of Buffard, Fukuda and Lewis to use the shared key between two nodes to transmit new session keys as taught by Takemori because using a random number would make it more difficult for an attacker to guess at the nonce used by the ECU for message verification.
Conclusion
9. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
DAVID J. PEARSON
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2407
/David J Pearson/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2407