DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Applicant argued in the remark that a content streaming device that is coupled to a customer premises equipment (CPE) device associated with a service provider; determining, by the authentication intermediary, that the first application authentication request originated from a network associated with a subscription of the service provider.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Talbert US 2013/0067509 discloses a content streaming device that is coupled to a customer premises equipment (CPE) device associated with a service provider (0066 A first QAM tuner 310 and TS processor 332 may extract a television channel requested by streaming application 410 ); a first application authentication request ( 0054] Process 500 may include registering and/or authenticating a personal access device (e.g., a user device 142) at which streaming application 410 , i.e. first application authentication request , is installed (block 510). );
determining, by the authentication intermediary, that the first application authentication request originated from a network associated with a subscription of the service provider ( [0055] In general, authenticating the personal access device, i.e. , by the authentication intermediary, may include determining whether the personal access device is authorized to receive television channels from content provider 110. Authenticating the personal access device may include determining whether the personal access device is communicating with local router 140 that is associated with the account corresponding to the customer premises 130. In one implementation, streaming application 410 may include a device discovery mechanism to automatically locate a streamer component 134, that is within range of streaming application 410. The device discovery mechanism may, for example, contact content provider 110 to determine if any authorized streamer components 134 are active on the public IP address associated with streaming application 410. Alternatively, or additionally, authentication may also include an entitlement determination in which, for example, streaming application 410 may contact content provider 110 to determine the subscribed channels for the account associated with customer premises 130).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2,3,5,6,8-15, and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Das et al US 2018/0234478 in view of Mestanov et al US 2015/0381611 in view of HICK et al US 2015/0195594 and Talbert US 2013/0067509.
As per claim 1, Das discloses A method, comprising:
receiving, by an authentication intermediary executing on a computing device from a content streaming application executing on a content streaming device, a first application authentication request (fig.6, 0045 receiving, from an application, a request for a stream identifier token, 0057 authenticate the application 502, i.e. a content streaming application, upon receiving a request for exclusive access to a stream );
sending, by the authentication intermediary to a front-end authentication system, an authentication request that requests an authentication action for the content streaming application ( 0045 sending, to the application, a token associated with the file, 0057 authenticate the application 502, i.e. a content streaming application, upon receiving a request for exclusive access to a stream );
receiving, by the authentication intermediary from the front-end authentication system, an authentication message that identifies user entry of subscriber authentication credentials, the authentication message including a service provider authentication request ( 0045 receiving, from the application, i.e. from the front-end authentication system, a request for access to a stream, the request comprising the token, determining that a stream is available, the stream comprising one or more erase blocks on a storage device, i.e. service provider, and sending, to the application, a stream identifier associated with the stream, and removing the stream identifier from a pool of available stream identifiers, thereby ensuring exclusive access to the stream by the application. 0048 FIG. 7, the file system 504 may be configured to return to the application 502 an aliased stream identifier, such as an aliased stream identifier handle. and 0057 the application 502 may use the same stream identifier token each time it sends a request , i.e. the authentication message including a service provider authentication request, to the file system 504 for a stream identifier);
fig.8 discloses Application 802, streaming application, File system 804, front-end, Disk Stack 808, and Device 810, i.e. service provider.
Das does not disclose user entry of subscriber authentication credential in the uniform resource locator (URL) of a service provider login web page.
preventing, by the authentication intermediary, the service provider login web page from being presented on a display device; sending, by the authentication intermediary to a service provider back-end authentication system, the service provider authentication request; receiving, by the authentication intermediary from the service provider back-end authentication system, a service provider authentication response; and
sending, by the authentication intermediary to the front-end authentication system, a message that includes the service provider authentication response; a content streaming device that is coupled to a customer premises equipment (CPE) device associated with a service provider; determining, by the authentication intermediary, that the first application authentication request originated from a network associated with a subscription of the service provider.
However, Mestanov discloses
preventing, by the authentication intermediary, the service provider to the a first application request(fig.3, the 2 authenticator does not provide any login web page to the 1supplicant and 0003 relays messages between the Supplicant , i.e. a display device and the Authentication server and the mobile station (i.e., the Supplicant in the case of EAP-SIM); [0046] In step 9, the Authentication Server 3 generates a RADIUS Access Challenge/EAP-Request/SIM/Challenge message, including RAND challenges and message authentication code attribute (AT_MAC), wherein the message authentication code is prevented to be displayed in the 2 authenticator step 9. and forwards to the Authenticator, In step 10, the Authenticator forwards the EAP-Request/SIM/Challenge message to the Supplicant wherein the Subpplicant does not display the EAP-Request/SIM/Challenge );
sending, by the authentication intermediary to a service provider back-end authentication system, the service provider authentication request (fig.3, in step 13, the 2 authenticator, i.e. the authentication intermediary, sends the RADIUS access request to the 3 authenticator server, i.e. back-end authentication system);
receiving, by the authentication intermediary from the service provider back-end authentication system, a service provider authentication response ( fig.3, in step 14, the RADIUS access accept /EAP success is received by the 2 Authenticator); and
sending, by the authentication intermediary to the front-end authentication system, a message that includes the service provider authentication response ( fig.3, in step 14, which also carries keying material—Pairwise Master Key (PMK). The PMK is intended for the Authenticator only and it is not forwarded to the Supplicant, but the Supplicant can derive the same key autonomously. In step 15, the 2 Authenticator i.e. by the authentication intermediary, forwards the EAP-Success message to the Supplicant and stores the PMK. ).
Das and Mestanov are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of access control.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Das to incorporate the teachings of Mestanov and provide authentication and authorization server.
Doing so would provide a secure protocol, thereby increasing security in the authentication and authorization process communication.
The combination fails to disclose user entry of subscriber authentication credential in the uniform resource locator (URL) of a service provider login web page; a content streaming device that is coupled to a customer premises equipment (CPE) device associated with a service provider; determining, by the authentication intermediary, that the first application authentication request originated from a network associated with a subscription of the service provider.
Hicks discloses user entry of subscriber authentication credential in the uniform resource locator (URL) of a service provider login web page (0028 the user 110 may be provided with an activation web address (e.g., activation URL) for entering the registration code 124. Alternatively, the generated registration code 124 may be a machine-readable code ); preventing, by the authentication intermediary, the service provider login web page from being presented on a display device (0027 the software application operating on the device 120 may display a list of service providers and prompt the user to select his/her provider the method 300 may generate an activation or registration code 124 associated with the user ID 122 and the service provider information. And fig.1, user enters URL and code on the second screen device wherein the URL is displayed in the USE 110, the code playing is prevented to display in the content provider network);
Das and Mestanov and Hicks are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of access control.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Das to incorporate the teachings of Mestanov, in view of Hicks and provide authentication and authorization server.
Doing so would provide a secure protocol, thereby increasing security in the authentication and authorization process communication.
The combination fails to disclose a content streaming device that is coupled to a customer premises equipment (CPE) device associated with a service provider; determining, by the authentication intermediary, that the first application authentication request originated from a network associated with a subscription of the service provider.
However, Talbert discloses Talbert US 2013/0067509 discloses a content streaming device that is coupled to a customer premises equipment (CPE) device associated with a service provider (0066 A first QAM tuner 310 and TS processor 332 may extract a television channel requested by streaming application 410 ); a first application authentication request ( 0054] Process 500 may include registering and/or authenticating a personal access device (e.g., a user device 142) at which streaming application 410 , i.e. first application authentication request , is installed (block 510). );
determining, by the authentication intermediary, that the first application authentication request originated from a network associated with a subscription of the service provider ( [0055] In general, authenticating the personal access device, i.e. , by the authentication intermediary, may include determining whether the personal access device is authorized to receive television channels from content provider 110. Authenticating the personal access device may include determining whether the personal access device is communicating with local router 140 that is associated with the account corresponding to the customer premises 130. In one implementation, streaming application 410 may include a device discovery mechanism to automatically locate a streamer component 134, that is within range of streaming application 410. The device discovery mechanism may, for example, contact content provider 110 to determine if any authorized streamer components 134 are active on the public IP address associated with streaming application 410. Alternatively, or additionally, authentication may also include an entitlement determination in which, for example, streaming application 410 may contact content provider 110 to determine the subscribed channels for the account associated with customer premises 130).
Das and Mestanov and Hicks and Talbert are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of access control.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Das to incorporate the teachings of Mestanov, in view of Hicks , including the teaching of Talbert, and provide authentication and authorization server.
Doing so would provide a secure protocol, thereby increasing security in the authentication and authorization process communication.
As per claim 2. Das and Mestanov and Hicks and Talbert disclose the method of claim 1, Hicks discloses
wherein the first application authentication request comprises an access token associated with the content streaming application, the service provider providing content streaming services to a plurality of subscribers ([0020] The authentication process may also feature a token time to live ("TTL") variable set by a distributor for the service provider status 128. One skilled in the art will understand that the TTL may refer to a technique to limit the "lifetime" of data available over a network. Accordingly, a TTL variable may be implemented as a counter or timestamp attached to or embedded in the service provider status 128. Once the predetermined event count or lifespan has elapsed, the service provider status 128 may be considered expired. For instance, the TTL for the service provider status 128 may be set to 30 days, and upon expiration, the user 110 may be requested to resubmit his/her login credentials.).
As per claim 3. Das and Mestanov and Hicks and Talbert discloses the method of claim 2, Hicks discloses wherein the authentication request includes the access token ( [0020] The authentication process may also feature a token time to live ("TTL") variable set by a distributor for the service provider status 128. One skilled in the art will understand that the TTL may refer to a technique to limit the "lifetime" of data available over a network. Accordingly, a TTL variable may be implemented as a counter or timestamp attached to or embedded in the service provider status 128. Once the predetermined event count or lifespan has elapsed, the service provider status 128 may be considered expired. For instance, the TTL for the service provider status 128 may be set to 30 days, and upon expiration, the user 110 may be requested to resubmit his/her login credentials.).
As per claim 5. Das and Mestanov and Hicks and Talbert discloses The method of claim 1, Talbert discloses wherein determining that the first application authentication request originated from the network associated with the subscription of the service provider comprises accessing data in the first application authentication request that indicates that the first application authentication request originated from the network associated with the subscription of the service provider ( [0054] Process 500 may include registering and/or authenticating a personal access device (e.g., a user device 142) at which streaming application 410 is installed (block 510). Registering the personal access device may include, for example, associating the personal access device with customer premises 130 associated with the user of the personal access device. Registration may be an event that is performed only when streaming application 410 is initially installed or executed on the personal access device.
[0055] In general, authenticating the personal access device may include determining whether the personal access device is authorized to receive television channels from content provider 110. Authenticating the personal access device may include determining whether the personal access device is communicating with local router 140 that is associated with the account corresponding to the customer premises 130. In one implementation, streaming application 410 may include a device discovery mechanism to automatically locate a streamer component 134 that is within range of streaming application 410. The device discovery mechanism may, for example, contact content provider 110 to determine if any authorized streamer components 134 are active on the public IP address associated with streaming application 410. Alternatively, or additionally, authentication may also include an entitlement determination in which, for example, streaming application 410 may contact content provider 110 to determine the subscribed channels for the account associated with customer premises 130.
[0056] Process 500 may further include receiving selection of a channel to view (block 520). For example, through a graphical interface presented by streaming application 410, the user may enter a television channel number, select a television channel or program from an on-screen program guide, or in some other way indicate content in which the user is interested. The selection of the channel may be transmitted to streamer component 134 (e.g., through channel selection information 430).
As per claim 6. Das and Mestanov and Hicks and Talbert discloses The method of claim 1, Talbert discloses wherein determining that the first application authentication request originated from the network associated with [[a]] the subscription of the service provider comprises :extracting, by the authentication intermediary, from the first application authentication request, CPE information associated with the CPE device through which the first application authentication request traversed; sending, by the authentication intermediary to a service provider subscriber determiner, the CPE information; and receiving, by the authentication intermediary from the service provider subscriber determiner, information that indicates that the first application authentication request originated from the network associated with the subscription of the service provider ([0054] Process 500 may include registering and/or authenticating a personal access device (e.g., a user device 142) at which streaming application 410 is installed (block 510). Registering the personal access device may include, for example, associating the personal access device with customer premises 130 associated with the user of the personal access device. Registration may be an event that is performed only when streaming application 410 is initially installed or executed on the personal access device.
[0055] In general, authenticating the personal access device may include determining whether the personal access device is authorized to receive television channels from content provider 110. Authenticating the personal access device may include determining whether the personal access device is communicating with local router 140 that is associated with the account corresponding to the customer premises 130. In one implementation, streaming application 410 may include a device discovery mechanism to automatically locate a streamer component 134 that is within range of streaming application 410. The device discovery mechanism may, for example, contact content provider 110 to determine if any authorized streamer components 134 are active on the public IP address associated with streaming application 410. Alternatively, or additionally, authentication may also include an entitlement determination in which, for example, streaming application 410 may contact content provider 110 to determine the subscribed channels for the account associated with customer premises 130.
[0056] Process 500 may further include receiving selection of a channel to view (block 520). For example, through a graphical interface presented by streaming application 410, the user may enter a television channel number, select a television channel or program from an on-screen program guide, or in some other way indicate content in which the user is interested. The selection of the channel may be transmitted to streamer component 134 (e.g., through channel selection information 430)).
As per claim 8. Das and Mestanov and Hicks and Talbert disclose the method of claim 1, Hicks discloses further comprising:
prior to sending the authentication request to the front-end authentication system, in response to the first application authentication request, requesting, by the authentication intermediary from the front-end authentication system, a registration code for the content streaming application (0011 a streaming media application (e.g., viewer) with an authentication flow on a web-enabled device via a registration web page, or uniform resource locator ("URL"). As will be described in greater detail below, the exemplary embodiments may generate pairings of registration URLs and registration codes. In addition, the embodiments may perform linking of the registration codes to a security assertion markup language ("SAML") assertion. SAML may be defined as a data format for exchanging authentication and authorization information between users (e.g., an identity provider) and a service provider. Furthermore, the embodiments may provide information related to the authentication state for a user. The exemplary embodiments may utilize customizable databases to store records including SAML assertion and registration codes. ); and
receiving, by the authentication intermediary from the front-end authentication system, a registration code message that includes presentation information for presentation to a user of the content streaming application, the presentation information comprising a registration code and a URL identifying a location of a second screen application via which the registration code is to be entered (0023 the unique registration code 124 may be generated by the content provider 130 and stored within the database 136 of the provider 130. Furthermore, the stored unique registration code 124 may be paired with the user ID 122 of the user 110. Upon validating the pairing of the registration code 124 and the user ID 122 in the database 136, the content provider 130 may request login credentials from the user 110 via the GUI 200. The login credentials associated with the user's service provider may be authorized by the service provider or a third party authorization platform. Thus, once the user 110 has been authenticated by the code pairing and authorized by the service provider, the content provider 130 may provide the delivering content (e.g., streaming media) to the user 110 via the software application on the user device 120. ).
As per claim 9. Das and Mestanov and Hicks and Talbert discloses The method of claim 8, further Hicks discloses comprising:
disregarding, by the authentication intermediary, the URL identifying the location of the second screen application ( 0011 a streaming media application (e.g., viewer) with an authentication flow on a web-enabled device via a registration web page, or uniform resource locator ("URL"). As will be described in greater detail below, the exemplary embodiments may generate pairings of registration URLs and registration codes. In addition, the embodiments may perform linking of the registration codes to a security assertion markup language ("SAML") assertion. SAML may be defined as a data format for exchanging authentication and authorization information between users (e.g., an identity provider) and a service provider. Furthermore, the embodiments may provide information related to the authentication state for a user. The exemplary embodiments may utilize customizable databases to store records including SAML assertion and registration codes.);
extracting, by the authentication intermediary, the registration code from the registration code message ( 0012 authenticating and authorizing a user 110 to receive multimedia content from a content provider 130. The term authentication used herein may refer to verifying whether the user 110 has an active subscription with a particular service provider. Furthermore, the term authorization used herein may also refer to verifying whether certain media content is available to the user 110 from the service provider. It may be noted that the term service provider may include multi-channel video programming distributors ("MVPDs") (e.g., cable television providers, satellite television providers, etc.) while the content provider 130 may refer to a source of multimedia content (e.g., television programming) that may be available from the service provider of the user 110.); and
in lieu of sending the presentation information to the content streaming application, sending, by the authentication intermediary to the front-end authentication system, the authentication request that requests the authentication action for the content streaming application, the authentication request including the registration code (0019 the system 100 may utilize the user ID 122, registration code 124, device type indicator 126, and service provider status 128 to authenticate and authorize the user 110 to receive content from the service provider. If the user 110 is not authenticated, the content provider 130 may inform the user 110 via a displayed message the device 120 (e.g., on a login page) and request user credentials. If the user 110 is not authorized, the content provider 130 may inform the user 110 via the device 120 that certain content is not available to the user 110 based on the user's subscription package with the service provider. [0020] The authentication process may also feature a token time to live ("TTL") variable set by a distributor for the service provider status 128. One skilled in the art will understand that the TTL may refer to a technique to limit the "lifetime" of data available over a network. Accordingly, a TTL variable may be implemented as a counter or timestamp attached to or embedded in the service provider status 128. Once the predetermined event count or lifespan has elapsed, the service provider status 128 may be considered expired. For instance, the TTL for the service provider status 128 may be set to 30 days, and upon expiration, the user 110 may be requested to resubmit his/her login credentials).
As per claim 10. Das and Mestanov and Hicks and Talbert discloses The method of claim 1, Mestanov discloses further comprising:
parsing, by the authentication intermediary, the authentication message to identify a response destination to which the service provider authentication response is to be sent ( 0016 An authentication message comprising a signaled identity of the wireless device requesting authentication is intercepted by the network node, and the signaled identity is extracted from the authentication message, whereupon a determination is made whether the signaled identity is an alias or not. When the device identity is an alias, at least one further authentication message is manipulated to cause signaling of a permanent device identity in a subsequent authentication message.);
storing, by the authentication intermediary, the response destination; and wherein sending, by the authentication intermediary to the front-end authentication system, the message that includes the service provider authentication response comprises sending, by the authentication intermediary to the response destination, the message that includes the service provider authentication response (0062 a network communication unit 602, a processing unit 606 and a memory 609. The network communication unit 602 is configured to exchange authentication data with a wireless device being authenticated, and to exchange authentication data with a back-end authentication server. The processor 606 is configured to allow/reject access for a wireless device being authenticated based on the received authentication data, and to intercept and alter authentication messages. The memory 609 is configured to store computer-readable instructions, which are configured to implement the methods described herein, when being executed by the processor 606. Furthermore, the network node 2 comprises at least one computer program product 608 stored in the memory 609, and the computer program product comprises a computer program 610 provided with coded instructions, which when executed in the processing unit 606 causes the network node 2 to perform the actions e.g. of the procedure ).
As per claim 11. Das and Mestanov and Hicks and Talbert discloses The method of claim 10, Das discloses wherein the response destination is an application programming interface (API) endpoint (0040an application programming interface (API) to the application 502. For example, the application 502, via an API provided by the file system 504, may be configured to tag a file with a particular stream ID. In addition, the application 502, via an API provided by the file system 504, may be configured to perform stream management, such as, for example, determining how many streams can be written to simultaneously, what stream IDs are available, and the ability to close a given stream. Further, the application 502, via an API provided by the file system 504, may be configured to determine a number of parameters associated with the stream such as, for example, the optimal write size associated with the stream. ).
As per claim 12. Das and Mestanov and Hicks and Talbert discloses The method of claim 1, Hicks discloses wherein the authentication intermediary is not a web browser, and wherein sending, by the authentication intermediary to the front-end authentication system, the message that includes the service provider authentication response (0011 a streaming media application (e.g., viewer) with an authentication flow on a web-enabled device via a registration web page, or uniform resource locator ("URL"). As will be described in greater detail below, the exemplary embodiments may generate pairings of registration URLs and registration codes. In addition, the embodiments may perform linking of the registration codes to a security assertion markup language ("SAML") assertion. SAML may be defined as a data format for exchanging authentication and authorization information between users (e.g., an identity provider) and a service provider. Furthermore, the embodiments may provide information related to the authentication state for a user. The exemplary embodiments may utilize customizable databases to store records including SAML assertion and registration codes. ) further comprises:
formatting, by the authentication intermediary, the message as a web browser-originated message such that the message appears to the front-end authentication system that the authentication intermediary is a web browser (0012 authenticating and authorizing a user 110 to receive multimedia content from a content provider 130. The term authentication used herein may refer to verifying whether the user 110 has an active subscription with a particular service provider. Furthermore, the term authorization used herein may also refer to verifying whether certain media content is available to the user 110 from the service provider. It may be noted that the term service provider may include multi-channel video programming distributors ("MVPDs") (e.g., cable television providers, satellite television providers, etc.) while the content provider 130 may refer to a source of multimedia content (e.g., television programming) that may be available from the service provider of the user 110.).
As per claim 13. Das and Mestanov and Hicks and Talbert discloses The method of claim 1, Hicks discloses wherein receiving the authentication message that identifies the URL of the service provider login web page further comprises:
receiving, by the authentication intermediary from the front-end authentication system, a hypertext transfer protocol (HTTP) redirect request that includes the authentication message that identifies the URL of the service provider login web page for user entry of the subscriber authentication credentials, the authentication message including the service provider authentication request ( [0029] In step 350, the method 300 may receive user activation input from the user 110. As noted above, the user activation input may be in the form of an alphanumeric code entered into a specific activation URL onto the second screen device 140 (e.g., personal computer, mobile telephone) capable of accessing the URL on the web browsing application 142. Alternatively, in the case of a QR coded registration code 124, the user activation input may be automatically provided simply by the user 110 scanning the QR code and being directed to an activation site via the second screen device 140 (e.g., mobile web browser).); and
wherein preventing, by the authentication intermediary, the service provider login web page from being presented on the display device further comprises disregarding the HTTP redirect request to redirect to the URL of the service provider login web page (0028] In step 340, the method 300 may generate an activation or registration code 124 associated with the user ID 122 and the service provider information. This registration code 124 may be transmitted back to the user 110 via the user device 120. In addition, the user 110 may be provided with an activation web address (e.g., activation URL) for entering the registration code 124. Alternatively, the generated registration code 124 may be a machine-readable code, such as a unique QR code. Within this embodiment, the user 110 may read the registration code 124 using personal imaging device, such as a mobile telephone operating a QR code reader or barcode scanner. The QR coded registration code 124 may automatically direct the user 110 the proper activation URL, and/or automatically validate the pairing of the user ID 122 with the registration code 124).
As per claim 14. Das and Mestanov and Hicks and Talbert disclose The method of claim 1, Hicks discloses further comprising:
sending, by the authentication intermediary to the content streaming application, information indicating that the content streaming application has been authenticated(0023 the unique registration code 124 may be generated by the content provider 130 and stored within the database 136 of the provider 130. Furthermore, the stored unique registration code 124 may be paired with the user ID 122 of the user 110. Upon validating the pairing of the registration code 124 and the user ID 122 in the database 136, the content provider 130 may request login credentials from the user 110 via the GUI 200. The login credentials associated with the user's service provider may be authorized by the service provider or a third party authorization platform. Thus, once the user 110 has been authenticated by the code pairing and authorized by the service provider, the content provider 130 may provide the delivering content (e.g., streaming media) to the user 110 via the software application on the user device 120. ).
As per claim 15, this claim is rejected based on the same rational set forth in the claim 1.
As per claim 17, this claim is rejected based on the same rational set forth in the claim 8.
As per claim 18, this claim is rejected based on the same rational set forth in the claim 10.
As per claim 19, this claim is rejected based on the same rational set forth in the claim 1.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 7,16 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims into all the independent claims.
Conclusion
/ABU S SHOLEMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2496