DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 21-27 in the reply filed on 07/17/2026 is acknowledged.
Double Patenting
Claims 21-27 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 10,555,095 and claims 1-28 of U.S. Patent No. 11,910,164. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are claiming an implantable hearing prosthesis system comprising:
an implantable hearing prosthesis configured to be at least partially implanted in a recipient, and a stand-alone hearing aid adapter or an adapter configured to be coupled to a hearing device and to transcutaneously send processed sound signals from the hearing device to the implantable hearing prosthesis, wherein the adapter is a separate component from the implantable hearing prosthesis and the hearing device, and wherein the adapter is configured to couple to the hearing device. The limitations in claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 10,555,095 and claims 1-28 of U.S. Patent No. 11,910,164 cover the limitations in claims 21-27.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 21-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sacha (US 2005/0033384).
Regarding claim 21, as broadly claimed, Sacha teaches an implantable hearing prosthesis system comprising an implantable hearing prosthesis (33, 41, 43, 45, figures 1, 3, 6, 16, 17) configured to be at least partially implanted in a recipient, and an adapter (25, 27, 29, 31 and/or 3, 5, 9, 19, 67, 69) configured to be coupled to a hearing device (9, 19, 37, 39 and/or 3, 7, 9, 11, 13, 19, 21, figures 1, 3, 4, 5, 7, 8, 9, 10) and to transcutaneously send processed sound signals from the hearing device to the implantable hearing prosthesis (33, 41, 43, 45, figures 1, 3, 6, 16, 17, paragraphs [0013], [0017], [0021], [0050] and [0056]-[0057]), wherein the adapter (25, 27, 29, 31) is a separate component from the implantable hearing prosthesis and the hearing device (figures 1, 3, 4, 5, 7, 8, 9, 16), and wherein the adapter is configured to couple to the hearing device (figures 1, 3, 4, 5, 7, 8, 9).
Regarding claim 22, Sacha teaches the implantable hearing prosthesis system, wherein the adapter (25, 27, 29, 31 and/or 3, 5, 9, 19, 67, 69) is configured to wirelessly send the processed sound signals to the implantable hearing prosthesis (paragraphs [0017], [0055]-[0057] and [0062]).
Regarding claim 23, Sacha teaches the implantable hearing prosthesis system, wherein the implantable hearing prosthesis is configured to deliver stimulation signals to the recipient to evoke perception of sound by the recipient (paragraphs [0013], [0021], [0050], [0058], [0060] and [0062]).
Regarding claim 24, Sacha teaches the hearing device (3, 21 and/or 37, 39) that is configured to be positioned on an outer ear of the recipient (figures 1, 3, 4, 5, 7, 8, 9, 10).
Regarding claim 25, Sacha teaches the adapter (25, 27, 29, 31) that comprises a connector configured to mechanically mate with the hearing device (3, 7, 9, 11, 13, 19, figures 1, 3, 7, 8, 9 and paragraphs [0055]-[0057]).
Regarding claims 26-27, Sacha teaches the adapter (25, 27, 29, 31 and/or 3, 5, 9, 19, 67, 69) that is configured to receive output signals from the hearing device and generate the processed sound signals based on the output signals (figures 1, 3, 6, 8, 9, 17, paragraphs [0013], [0017], [0021], [0050] and [0056]-[0057]), wherein the adapter is configured to filter the output signals to generate filtered signals, and generate the processed sound signals based on the filtered signals (paragraph [0060]).
Claims 21-24 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chung (US 2005/0209657).
Regarding claim 21, Chung teaches an implantable hearing prosthesis system comprising an implantable hearing prosthesis (13, 15, figures 2b, 2e) configured to be at least partially implanted in a recipient, and an adapter (11, 40, 41, 43, 45, 47, 80, 81, 83, 84, 85, 86, 103, 113, 203, 213, figures 2b, 2e, and 3a-3b) configured to be coupled to a hearing device (30, 31, 33, 35, 37, 38, 70, 71, 73, 75, 76, 77, 101, 111, 201, 211, figures 2b, 2e and 3a-3b) and to transcutaneously send processed sound signals from the hearing device to the implantable hearing prosthesis (paragraphs [0047] and [0078]), wherein the adapter (11, 40, 41, 43, 45, 47, 80, 81, 83, 84, 85, 86, 103, 113, 203, 213, figures 2b, 2e and 3a-3b) is a separate component from the implantable hearing prosthesis (13, 15) and the hearing device (30, 31, 33, 35, 37, 38, 70, 71, 73, 75, 76, 77, 101, 111, 201, 211, figures 2b, 2e and 3a-3b), and wherein the adapter is configured to couple to the hearing device (figures 2b, 2e, and 3a-3b).
Regarding claim 22, Chung teaches the implantable hearing prosthesis system, wherein the adapter (11, 40, 41, 43, 45, 47, 80, 81, 83, 84, 85, 86, figures 2b, 2e) is configured to wirelessly send the processed sound signals to the implantable hearing prosthesis (13, 15, figures 2b, 2e, paragraph [0053]).
Regarding claim 23, Chung teaches the implantable hearing prosthesis system, wherein the implantable hearing prosthesis (13, 15) is configured to deliver stimulation signals to the recipient to evoke perception of sound by the recipient (paragraph [0047]).
Regarding claim 24, Chung teaches the hearing device (101, 111, 201, 211) that is configured to be positioned on an outer ear of the recipient (figures 3a, 3b, paragraphs [0056] and [0058]).
Regarding claim 26, Chung teaches the adapter (11, 40, 41, 43, 45, 47, 80, 81, 83, 84, 85, 86, 103, 113, 203, 213, figures 2b, 2e, and 3a-3b) that is configured to receive output signals from the hearing device and generate the processed sound signals based on the output signals (paragraphs [0047] and [0078]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chung (US 2005/0209657).
Chung shows the adapter (11, 40, 41, 43, 45, 47, 80, 81, 83, 84, 85, 86, 103, 113, 203, 213, figures 2b, 2e, and 3a-3b) that comprises a connection (38, 112, 221, figures 2b, 3a, 3b) being configured to connect with the hearing device (101, 111, 201, 211, figures 2b, 3a, 3b). Chung does not specifically disclose a connector configured to mechanically mate with the hearing aid. However, providing a connector between the parts and/or cases in a hearing system is known in the art.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to provide any connector for the connection between the adapter and the hearing device in the system of Chung such as providing the adapter comprising a connector configured to mechanically mate with the hearing device for providing a better connector between the parts and/or cases in the system
Claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chung (US 2005/0209657) in view of Sacha (US 2005/0033384).
Chung teaches the adapter that is configured to receive output signals and generate the processed sound signals based on the output signals. Chung does not specifically teach that the adapter is configured to filter the output signals to generate the filtered signal as claimed. However, providing the adapter being configured to filter the output signals to generate the filtered signals and generate the processed sound signals based on the filtered signals is known in the art.
Sacha teaches a cochlear implant system comprising an adapter that is configured to filter the output signals to generate filtered signals and generate the processed sound signals based on the filtered signals (figures 1, 3, 5, 6, 16, 17 and see paragraph [0060]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to provide the adapter being configured to filter the output signals from the hearing device to generate filtered signals and generate the processed sound signals based on the filtered signals, as taught by Sacha, in the system of Chung for better sending and processing the signals in the implantable hearing prosthesis system.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Roehrlein et al. (US 2016/0375243) teaches a hearing assistance system comprising an implantable cochlear stimulator including a position element, a hearing assistance device including a battery and sound processor circuitry that converts electrical signals from a microphone into stimulation data, and a headpiece including a battery and a magnet that is magnetically attracted to the position element.
Goorevich et al. (US 2017/0359661) teaches a hearing prosthesis comprising sound input elements configured to receive sound signals, an electric sound processing path configured to convert at least a first portion of the sound signals into one or more output signals for use in delivering electrical stimulation to a recipient, and an acoustic sound processing path configured to convert at least a second portion of the sound signals into one or more output signals for use in delivering acoustical stimulation to a recipient.
/HUYEN D LE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2694 HL
September 17, 2026