DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Response to Amendment
Applicant`s remarks, see pages 8-9, filed 04/27/2026, with respect to rejections of claims 1-13 and 17-19 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) for failing to disclose corresponding structure that supports claim limitations that invoked 35 U.S.C. 112(f), submitted in the non-final office action dated 01/27/2026, have been fully considered and are persuasive due to amendments in accordance with Examiner’s suggested corrections of not reciting terms that invoke interpretations under 35 U.S.C. 112(f). Thus, these rejections of claims 1-13 and 17-19 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) have been withdrawn.
Applicant`s remarks, see pages 8-9, filed 04/27/2026, with respect to rejections of claims 1-13 and 17-19 under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) for failing to disclose corresponding structure that supports claim limitations that invoked 35 U.S.C. 112(f), submitted in the non-final office action dated 01/27/2026, have been fully considered and are persuasive due to amendments in accordance with Examiner’s suggested corrections of not reciting terms that invoke interpretations under 35 U.S.C. 112(f). Thus, these rejections of claims 1-13 and 17-19 under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) have been withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 9, filed 04/27/2026, with respect to claims 1-20, have been fully considered, but are not persuasive. The applicant states on page 9, “Applicant respectfully disagrees with the rejections. However, in the interest of furthering prosecution, Applicant has amended independent claims 1, 14, and 19.”
Upon further consideration, the Office recommends that the applicant bodily incorporate the details of the “first optical model” and “second optical model” as disclosed in the specification, paragraphs [0066-0067], into the claim language of independent claims 1, 14, and 19, in order to enhance the furthering of prosecution.
Based on the breadth of the claim language, the combination of prior art by ZHANG (US 20170191945 A1), hereinafter referenced as ZHANG in view of WATHEN (US 20200072746 A1), hereinafter referenced as WATHEN teach the limitations of claim 1 as detailed below.
Regarding claim 1, ZHANG teaches a semiconductor measurement apparatus comprising:
a pattern generator (Fig. 1B, #102 called inspection measurement sub-system, Paragraph [0052]) configured to scatter light in a predetermined wavelength band to produce a light pattern (Fig. 1B, Paragraph [ 0052] – ZHANG discloses inspection measurement sub-system 102 [wherein inspection measurement sub-system is a pattern generator] may direct optical radiation to the sample 104 such that one or more defects are detectable based on detected radiation emanating from the sample 104 (e.g. reflected radiation, scattered radiation, diffracted radiation, luminescent radiation, or the like). See also Paragraph [0055].)
a stage (Fig. 1B, #132 called a sample stage, Paragraph [0060]) arranged to receive the light pattern from the pattern generator (Fig. 1B, #102 called inspection measurement sub-system, Paragraph [0052]),
wherein the stage is configured to support a sample in a position to reflect the light pattern (Fig. 1B, Paragraph [0060] – ZHANG discloses the sample 104 is disposed on a sample stage 132 suitable for securing the sample 104 during scanning. In another embodiment, the sample stage 132 is an actuatable stage. For example, the sample stage 132 may include, but is not limited to, one or more translational stages suitable for selectably translating the sample 104 along one or more linear directions (e.g., x-direction, y-direction and/or z-direction).);
an image sensor (Fig. 1B, #126 called a detector, Paragraph [0058]) positioned to receive the light pattern reflected from the sample (Fig. 1B, Paragraph [0058] – ZHANG discloses a detector 126 may receive radiation reflected or scattered (e.g. via specular reflection, diffuse reflection, and the like) from the sample 104.)
and to generate an original image representing a diffractive pattern of the light pattern reflected from the sample (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0058] – ZHANG discloses a detector 126 may receive an image of the sample 104 provided by elements in the collection pathway 128 (e.g. the objective lens 124, the one or more lenses 130, or the like). ZHANG further discloses a detector 126 may receive one or more diffracted orders of radiation from the sample 104 (e.g. 0-order diffraction, ±1 order diffraction, ±2 order diffraction, and the like). See also Fig, 8, Paragraph [0100].);
and a controller (Fig. 1B, #106 called a controller, Paragraph [0054] – ZHANG discloses the inspection system 100 includes a controller 106 coupled to the inspection measurement sub-system 102) configured to:
generate a prediction image for light reflected in the measurement region and incident on the image sensor (Fig. 12, Paragraph [0121] – ZHANG discloses method 1200 includes a step 1204 of estimating a PSF of the inspection system. For example, step 1204 may include estimating [wherein estimating is prediction] a separate PSF for each test image based on the corresponding illumination aperture used to generate the test image. Please also see Paragraph [0058].)
by applying a convolution operation to the first optical model and the second optical model (Fig. 3, Paragraph [0069] – ZHANG discloses the systematic distortions by the imaging system may be described by a point spread function (PSF). The PSF may be characterized as an image of a point source by the imaging system, which is typically a blur pattern. In this regard, an image provided by an imaging system may be modeled as a convolution of the true distribution (e.g. an ideal image) and the PSF.),
compare the prediction image generated by the controller with the original image generated by the image sensor (Fig. 7, Paragraph [0098] – ZHANG discloses the reference image may be stored within the memory device 110 of controller 106. Paragraph [0099] – ZHANG further discloses step 206 includes a step 706 of generating a difference image between the reconstructed test image [wherein test image is the original image] and the reconstructed reference image [wherein reference image is the prediction image].),
Although ZHANG further teaches and generate a result image displaying patterns in the measurement region of the sample (Fig. 8, Paragraph [0098] – ZHANG discloses an inspection system (e.g. inspection system 100, or the like) may detect defects on a sample by generating a difference image [wherein a difference image is a result image] between a test image of the sample under inspection and a reference image).
ZHANG fails to explicitly teach generate a first optical model, wherein the first optical model corresponds to a first function representing optical characteristics of the speckled light pattern including the plurality of planar waves, generate a second optical model, wherein the second optical model corresponds to a second function representing optical characteristics of a measurement region of the sample that reflects the speckled light pattern including the plurality of planar waves, the speckled light pattern.
However, WATHEN explicitly teaches generate a first optical model (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0028] – WATHEN discloses the average speckle diameter may be defined as λ*z/d, where λ is the wavelength, z is the distance from the scattering medium 110 to the detector, and d is the optical input wave 110 beam diameter. Based on these parameters, various characteristics may be determined, such as, a character size of a speckle, an inter-speckle separation distance, and a speckle diameter.),
wherein the first optical model corresponds to a first function representing optical characteristics of the speckled light pattern including the plurality of planar waves (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0028] – WATHEN discloses the speckle pattern may be comprised of a plurality of speckles that have measurable characteristics with respect to, for example, the “size” of each speckle. WATHEN discloses the average speckle diameter may be defined as λ*z/d, where λ is the wavelength, z is the distance from the scattering medium 110 to the detector, and d is the optical input wave 110 beam diameter. Based on these parameters, various characteristics may be determined, such as, a character size of a speckle, an inter-speckle separation distance, and a speckle diameter.),
generate a second optical model (Fig. 3, Paragraph [0030] – WATHEN discloses an array of smaller collectors 251 for respective photoreceivers may be distributed across the planar surface 252 of an optical receiver 250. WATHEN further discloses the collectors 251 may be disposed in a grid configuration, where the size and spacing (e.g., pitch) of the collectors 251 may be defined based on characteristics of the speckle pattern, such as, for example, the size of a speckle, an inter-speckle separation distance, or a speckle diameter, which may be average or mean values.),
wherein the second optical model corresponds to a second function representing optical characteristics of a measurement region of the sample that reflects the speckled light pattern including the plurality of planar waves (Fig. 3, Paragraph [0030] – WATHEN discloses an array of smaller collectors 251 for respective photoreceivers may be distributed across the planar surface 252 of an optical receiver 250. WATHEN further discloses the collectors 251 may be disposed in a grid configuration, where the size and spacing (e.g., pitch) of the collectors 251 may be defined based on characteristics of the speckle pattern, such as, for example, the size of a speckle, an inter-speckle separation distance, or a speckle diameter, which may be average or mean values.),
the speckled light pattern (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0026] – WATHEN discloses due to the various modes of light introduced by interaction with the scattering medium 110, if the scattered wave 120 is directed to a planar surface, such as the receiving surface of an optical receiver, the scattered wave 120 creates a speckle pattern 130. The speckle pattern 130 may be caused by the multiple modes of light of the scattered wave 120 interfering with each other both constructively and destructively. See also Fig. 3, Paragraph [0030].).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of ZHANG of having a semiconductor measurement apparatus comprising: a pattern generator configured to scatter light in a predetermined wavelength band to produce a light pattern including a plurality of planar waves moving in different directions; a stage arranged to receive the light pattern from the pattern generator, wherein the stage is configured to support a sample in a position to reflect the light pattern; an image sensor positioned to receive the light pattern reflected from the sample and to generate an original image representing a diffractive pattern of the light pattern reflected from the sample; and a controller configured to: generate a prediction image for light reflected in the measurement region and incident on the image sensor by applying a convolution operation to the first optical model and the second optical model, compare the prediction image generated by the controller with the original image generated by the image sensor, and generate a result image displaying patterns in the measurement region of the sample, with the teachings of WATHEN of having generate a first optical model, wherein the first optical model corresponds to a first function representing optical characteristics of the speckled light pattern including the plurality of planar waves, generate a second optical model, wherein the second optical model corresponds to a second function representing optical characteristics of a measurement region of the sample that reflects the speckled light pattern including the plurality of planar waves, the speckled light pattern.
Wherein having ZHANG’s semiconductor measurement apparatus wherein having generate a first optical model, wherein the first optical model corresponds to a first function representing optical characteristics of the speckled light pattern including the plurality of planar waves, generate a second optical model, wherein the second optical model corresponds to a second function representing optical characteristics of a measurement region of the sample that reflects the speckled light pattern including the plurality of planar waves, further comprising the speckled light pattern.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to obtain a semiconductor measurement apparatus configured to receive a speckle pattern output in order to facilitate defect detection and provide enhanced resolution or an enhanced signal to noise ratio of defects, since both ZHANG and WATHEN relate to optical measurement and detection systems, wherein ZHANG has systems and methods for inspecting a sample for defects using super-resolution image reconstruction which may provide, but is not limited to providing, enhanced resolution or an enhanced signal to noise ratio (SNR) of defects, while WATHEN’s systems, apparatuses, and methods are described herein that employ an optical receiver comprising an array of photoreceivers configured to receive portions of a speckle pattern; such an array of photoreceivers may be used to reduce or overcome issues with receiving a speckle pattern output from a scattering medium having a low SNR (signal-to-noise ratio). Please see ZHANG (US 20170191945 A1), Paragraph [0039], and WATHEN (US 20200072746 A1), Paragraph [0023].
Based on the breadth of the claim language, the combination of prior art by ZHANG (US 20170191945 A1), hereinafter referenced as ZHANG in view of WATHEN (US 20200072746 A1), hereinafter referenced as WATHEN teach the limitations of claim 14 as detailed below.
Regarding claim 14, ZHANG teaches a semiconductor measurement apparatus (Fig. 1A, #100 called an inspection system, Paragraph [0051] – ZHANG discloses the inspection system 100 includes an inspection measurement sub-system 102 to interrogate a sample 104) comprising:
a stage (Fig. 1B, #132 called a sample stage, Paragraph [0060]) configured to adjust a position of the sample (Fig. 1B, Paragraph [0060] – ZHANG discloses the sample 104 is disposed on a sample stage 132 suitable for securing the sample 104 during scanning. In another embodiment, the sample stage 132 is an actuatable stage. For example, the sample stage 132 may include, but is not limited to, one or more translational stages suitable for selectably translating the sample 104 along one or more linear directions (e.g., x-direction, y-direction and/or z-direction)) so that light is reflected in a selection region, wherein the selection region is a partial region of the sample (Fig. 1B, Paragraph [0065] – ZHANG discloses portions of the reconstructed test image may be analyzed and compared to repeated portions of the test image, a reference image, design data, or the like for the detection of defects within the test image.);
an image sensor (Fig. 1B, #126 called a detector, Paragraph [0058]) configured to generate an original image (Fig. 8, image 804 called a test image, Paragraph [0100]) in response to the light reflected from the selection region (Fig. 1B, Paragraph [0053] – ZHANG discloses radiation collected by one or more detectors may associated with a single illuminated spot on the sample and may represent a single pixel of an image of the sample 104. In this regard, an image of the sample 104 may be generated by acquiring data from an array of sample locations. Further, the inspection measurement sub-system 102 may operate as a scatterometry-based inspection system in which radiation from the sample is analyzed at a pupil plane to characterize the angular distribution of radiation from the sample 104 (e.g. associated with scattering and/or diffraction of radiation by the sample 104).);
and a controller (Fig. 1B, #106 called a controller, Paragraph [0054] – ZHANG discloses the inspection system 100 includes a controller 106 coupled to the inspection measurement sub-system 102) configured to:
Although ZHANG further teaches and generate a prediction image for estimating diffractive characteristics of light incident on the image sensor (Fig. 12, Paragraph [0121] – ZHANG discloses method 1200 includes a step 1204 of estimating a PSF of the inspection system. For example, step 1204 may include estimating [wherein estimating is prediction] a separate PSF for each test image based on the corresponding illumination aperture used to generate the test image. Please also see Paragraph [0058].)
by applying a convolution operation to the first optical model and the second optical model (Fig. 3, Paragraph [0069] – ZHANG discloses the systematic distortions by the imaging system may be described by a point spread function (PSF). The PSF may be characterized as an image of a point source by the imaging system, which is typically a blur pattern. In this regard, an image provided by an imaging system may be modeled as a convolution of the true distribution (e.g. an ideal image) and the PSF.).
ZHANG fails to explicitly teach a pattern generator configured to emit light including a plurality of planar waves oriented in different directions to a sample by scattering coherent light; generate a first optical model, wherein the first optical model corresponds to a first function representing optical characteristics of light including the plurality of planar waves emitted by the pattern generator, generate a second optical model, wherein the second optical model corresponds to a second function representing optical characteristics of the selection region that reflects light including the plurality of planar waves emitted by the pattern generator,
However, WATHEN explicitly teaches a pattern generator (Fig. 2, #205 called scattering medium, Paragraph [0029]) configured to emit light (Fig. 2, Paragraph [0029] – WATHEN discloses due to refractions and reflections of light within the scattering medium 205 and the interference that occurs within and after leaving the scattering medium 205, a speckle pattern may be formed on the planar surface 215)
including a plurality of planar waves (Fig. 2, #210 called paths of light, Paragraph [0029]) oriented in different directions to a sample by scattering coherent light (Fig. 2, Paragraph [0029] – WATHEN discloses when the optical input wave 200 exits the scattering medium 205, multiple interfering paths of light 210 [wherein paths of light 210 is a plurality of planar waves] are formed that are received by the planar surface 215 [wherein the planar surface 215 is a sample].);
generate a first optical model (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0028] – WATHEN discloses the average speckle diameter may be defined as λ*z/d, where λ is the wavelength, z is the distance from the scattering medium 110 to the detector, and d is the optical input wave 110 beam diameter. Based on these parameters, various characteristics may be determined, such as, a character size of a speckle, an inter-speckle separation distance, and a speckle diameter.),
wherein the first optical model corresponds to a first function representing optical characteristics of light including the plurality of planar waves emitted by the pattern generator (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0028] – WATHEN discloses the speckle pattern may be comprised of a plurality of speckles that have measurable characteristics with respect to, for example, the “size” of each speckle. WATHEN discloses the average speckle diameter may be defined as λ*z/d, where λ is the wavelength, z is the distance from the scattering medium 110 to the detector, and d is the optical input wave 110 beam diameter. Based on these parameters, various characteristics may be determined, such as, a character size of a speckle, an inter-speckle separation distance, and a speckle diameter.),
generate a second optical model (Fig. 3, Paragraph [0030] – WATHEN discloses an array of smaller collectors 251 for respective photoreceivers may be distributed across the planar surface 252 of an optical receiver 250. WATHEN further discloses the collectors 251 may be disposed in a grid configuration, where the size and spacing (e.g., pitch) of the collectors 251 may be defined based on characteristics of the speckle pattern, such as, for example, the size of a speckle, an inter-speckle separation distance, or a speckle diameter, which may be average or mean values.),
wherein the second optical model corresponds to a second function representing optical characteristics of the selection region that reflects light including the plurality of planar waves emitted by the pattern generator (Fig. 3, Paragraph [0030] – WATHEN discloses an array of smaller collectors 251 for respective photoreceivers may be distributed across the planar surface 252 of an optical receiver 250. WATHEN further discloses the collectors 251 may be disposed in a grid configuration, where the size and spacing (e.g., pitch) of the collectors 251 may be defined based on characteristics of the speckle pattern, such as, for example, the size of a speckle, an inter-speckle separation distance, or a speckle diameter, which may be average or mean values.),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of ZHANG of having a semiconductor measurement apparatus comprising: a stage configured to adjust a position of the sample so that light is reflected in a selection region, wherein the selection region is a partial region of the sample; an image sensor configured to generate an original image in response to the light reflected from the selection region; and a controller configured to: and generate a prediction image for estimating diffractive characteristics of light incident on the image sensor by applying a convolution operation to the first optical model and the second optical model, with the teachings of WATHEN of having a pattern generator configured to emit light including a plurality of planar waves oriented in different directions to a sample by scattering coherent light; generate a first optical model, wherein the first optical model corresponds to a first function representing optical characteristics of light including the plurality of planar waves emitted by the pattern generator, generate a second optical model, wherein the second optical model corresponds to a second function representing optical characteristics of the selection region that reflects light including the plurality of planar waves emitted by the pattern generator.
Wherein having ZHANG’s semiconductor measurement apparatus wherein having a pattern generator configured to emit light including a plurality of planar waves oriented in different directions to a sample by scattering coherent light; generate a first optical model, wherein the first optical model corresponds to a first function representing optical characteristics of light including the plurality of planar waves emitted by the pattern generator, generate a second optical model, wherein the second optical model corresponds to a second function representing optical characteristics of the selection region that reflects light including the plurality of planar waves emitted by the pattern generator.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to obtain a semiconductor measurement apparatus configured to receive a speckle pattern output in order to facilitate defect detection and provide enhanced resolution or an enhanced signal to noise ratio of defects, since both ZHANG and WATHEN relate to optical measurement and detection systems, wherein ZHANG has systems and methods for inspecting a sample for defects using super-resolution image reconstruction which may provide, but is not limited to providing, enhanced resolution or an enhanced signal to noise ratio (SNR) of defects, while WATHEN’s systems, apparatuses, and methods are described herein that employ an optical receiver comprising an array of photoreceivers configured to receive portions of a speckle pattern; such an array of photoreceivers may be used to reduce or overcome issues with receiving a speckle pattern output from a scattering medium having a low SNR (signal-to-noise ratio). Please see ZHANG (US 20170191945 A1), Paragraph [0039], and WATHEN (US 20200072746 A1), Paragraph [0023].
Based on the breadth of the claim language, the combination of prior art by ZHANG (US 20170191945 A1), hereinafter referenced as ZHANG in view of WATHEN (US 20200072746 A1), hereinafter referenced as WATHEN in further view of MA (US 20220179321 A1), hereinafter referenced as MA, teach the limitations of claim 19 as detailed below.
Regarding claim 19, ZHANG teaches a semiconductor measurement apparatus (Fig. 1A, #100 called an inspection system, Paragraph [0051] – ZHANG discloses the inspection system 100 includes an inspection measurement sub-system 102 to interrogate a sample 104) comprising:
a stage (Fig. 1B, #132 called a sample stage, Paragraph [0060]) in which a sample (Fig. 1B, #104 called a sample, Paragraph [0060])
for reflecting the light output from the speckle lighting is disposed (Fig. 1B, Paragraph [0060] – ZHANG discloses the sample 104 is disposed on a sample stage 132 suitable for securing the sample 104 during scanning. In another embodiment, the sample stage 132 is an actuatable stage. Paragraph [0058] – ZHANG further discloses a detector 126 may receive radiation reflected or scattered (e.g. via specular reflection, diffuse reflection, and the like) from the sample 104.);
an image sensor (Fig. 1B, #126 called a detector, Paragraph [0058]) configured to generate an original image (Fig. 8, image 804 called a test image, Paragraph [0100]) in response to light reflected from a partial region of the sample (Fig. 1B, Paragraph [0053] – ZHANG discloses radiation collected by one or more detectors may associated with a single illuminated spot on the sample and may represent a single pixel of an image of the sample 104. In this regard, an image of the sample 104 may be generated by acquiring data from an array of sample locations. Further, the inspection measurement sub-system 102 may operate as a scatterometry-based inspection system in which radiation from the sample is analyzed at a pupil plane to characterize the angular distribution of radiation from the sample 104 (e.g. associated with scattering and/or diffraction of radiation by the sample 104));
and a controller (Fig. 1B, #106 called a controller, Paragraph [0054] – ZHANG discloses the inspection system 100 includes a controller 106 coupled to the inspection measurement sub-system 102) configured to:
generate a prediction image, for estimating a diffractive pattern of light incident on the image sensor (Fig. 1B, #126 called a detector, Fig. 12, Paragraph [0121] – ZHANG discloses the method 1200 includes a step 1204 of estimating a PSF of the inspection system. For example, step 1204 may include estimating [wherein estimating is prediction] a separate PSF for each test image based on the corresponding illumination aperture used to generate the test image. Please also see Paragraph [0058]),
Although ZHANG explicitly teaches and obtain a result image (Fig. 7, Paragraph [0098] – ZHANG discloses an inspection system (e.g. inspection system 100, or the like) may detect defects on a sample by generating a difference image [wherein a difference image is a result image] between a test image of the sample under inspection and a reference image) representing the partial region of the sample (Fig. 1B, Paragraph [0065] – ZHANG discloses portions of the reconstructed test image may be analyzed and compared to repeated portions of the test image, a reference image, design data, or the like for the detection of defects within the test image.)
ZHANG fails to explicitly teach a speckle lighting configured to output light including a plurality of planar waves oriented in different directions; generate a first optical model, wherein the first optical model corresponds to a first function representing optical characteristics of light including the plurality of planar waves output by the speckle lighting, generate a second optical model, wherein the second optical model corresponds to a second function representing optical characteristics of the light reflected from the sample,
However, WATHEN explicitly teaches a speckle lighting (Fig. 2, #205 called scattering medium, Paragraph [0029]) configured to output light (Fig. 2, Paragraph [0029] – WATHEN discloses due to refractions and reflections of light within the scattering medium 205 and the interference that occurs within and after leaving the scattering medium 205, a speckle pattern may be formed on the planar surface 215)
including a plurality of planar waves (Fig. 2, #210 called paths of light, Paragraph [0029]) oriented in different directions (Fig. 2, Paragraph [0029] – WATHEN discloses when the optical input wave 200 exits the scattering medium 205, multiple interfering paths of light 210 [wherein paths of light 210 is a plurality of planar waves] are formed that are received by the planar surface 215.);
generate a first optical model (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0028] – WATHEN discloses the average speckle diameter may be defined as λ*z/d, where λ is the wavelength, z is the distance from the scattering medium 110 to the detector, and d is the optical input wave 110 beam diameter. Based on these parameters, various characteristics may be determined, such as, a character size of a speckle, an inter-speckle separation distance, and a speckle diameter.),
wherein the first optical model corresponds to a first function representing optical characteristics of light including the plurality of planar waves output by the speckle lighting (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0028] – WATHEN discloses the speckle pattern may be comprised of a plurality of speckles that have measurable characteristics with respect to, for example, the “size” of each speckle. WATHEN discloses the average speckle diameter may be defined as λ*z/d, where λ is the wavelength, z is the distance from the scattering medium 110 to the detector, and d is the optical input wave 110 beam diameter. Based on these parameters, various characteristics may be determined, such as, a character size of a speckle, an inter-speckle separation distance, and a speckle diameter.),
generate a second optical model (Fig. 3, Paragraph [0030] – WATHEN discloses an array of smaller collectors 251 for respective photoreceivers may be distributed across the planar surface 252 of an optical receiver 250. WATHEN further discloses the collectors 251 may be disposed in a grid configuration, where the size and spacing (e.g., pitch) of the collectors 251 may be defined based on characteristics of the speckle pattern, such as, for example, the size of a speckle, an inter-speckle separation distance, or a speckle diameter, which may be average or mean values.),
wherein the second optical model corresponds to a second function representing optical characteristics of the light reflected from the sample (Fig. 3, Paragraph [0030] – WATHEN discloses an array of smaller collectors 251 for respective photoreceivers may be distributed across the planar surface 252 of an optical receiver 250. WATHEN further discloses the collectors 251 may be disposed in a grid configuration, where the size and spacing (e.g., pitch) of the collectors 251 may be defined based on characteristics of the speckle pattern, such as, for example, the size of a speckle, an inter-speckle separation distance, or a speckle diameter, which may be average or mean values.),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of ZHANG of having a semiconductor measurement apparatus comprising: a stage in which a sample for reflecting the light output from the speckle lighting is disposed; an image sensor configured to generate an original image in response to light reflected from a partial region of the sample; and a controller configured to: generate a prediction image, for estimating a diffractive pattern of light incident on the image sensor, and obtain a result image representing the partial region of the sample, with the teachings of WATHEN having a speckle lighting configured to output light including a plurality of planar waves oriented in different directions; generate a first optical model, wherein the first optical model corresponds to a first function representing optical characteristics of light including the plurality of planar waves output by the speckle lighting, generate a second optical model, wherein the second optical model corresponds to a second function representing optical characteristics of the light reflected from the sample.
Wherein having ZHANG’s semiconductor measurement apparatus wherein having having a speckle lighting configured to output light including a plurality of planar waves oriented in different directions; generate a first optical model, wherein the first optical model corresponds to a first function representing optical characteristics of light including the plurality of planar waves output by the speckle lighting, generate a second optical model, wherein the second optical model corresponds to a second function representing optical characteristics of the light reflected from the sample.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to obtain a semiconductor measurement apparatus configured to receive a speckle pattern output in order to facilitate defect detection and provide enhanced resolution or an enhanced signal to noise ratio of defects, since both ZHANG and WATHEN relate to optical measurement and detection systems, wherein ZHANG has systems and methods for inspecting a sample for defects using super-resolution image reconstruction which may provide, but is not limited to providing, enhanced resolution or an enhanced signal to noise ratio (SNR) of defects, while WATHEN’s systems, apparatuses, and methods are described herein that employ an optical receiver comprising an array of photoreceivers configured to receive portions of a speckle pattern; such an array of photoreceivers may be used to reduce or overcome issues with receiving a speckle pattern output from a scattering medium having a low SNR (signal-to-noise ratio). Please see ZHANG (US 20170191945 A1), Paragraph [0039], and WATHEN (US 20200072746 A1), Paragraph [0023].
ZHANG in view of WATHEN fail to explicitly teach by executing a forward propagation operation with the first optical model and the second optical model, execute a backward propagation operation for adjusting the first optical model and the second optical model based on a difference between the prediction image and the original image, by repeatedly executing the forward propagation operation and the backward propagation operation.
However, MA explicitly teaches by executing a forward propagation operation (Figs. 4A-4C, Paragraph [0088] – Ma discloses predicting the printed pattern by forward propagation of outputs (e.g., x, y, z, etc. in FIGS. 4A-4C) of the first model and the machine learning model)
with the first optical model (Fig. 2, #31 called a source model, Paragraph [0063]) and the second optical model (Fig. 2, #32 called a projection optics model, Paragraph [0063]),
execute a backward propagation operation (Figs. 4A-4C, Paragraph [0086] – MA discloses back propagation may be performed and a gradient-decent method may be employed)
for adjusting the first optical model and the second optical model (Figs. 4A-4C, Paragraph [0088] – MA discloses during backward propagation, following differentials may be computed and used to adjust first and second set of parameters)
based on a difference between the prediction image and the original image (Figs. 4A-4C, Paragraph [0088] – MA discloses determining the difference (e.g., loss in FIG. 4A-4C) between the measured pattern [wherein measured pattern is the original image] and the predicted pattern (e.g., output) [wherein the predicted pattern is the prediction image] of the patterning process model; determining a differential of the difference (e.g., d(loss)) with respect to the first set of parameters (e.g., c.sub.i, param.sub.i, z.sub.i, u.sub.i, w.sub.i, etc.) and the set of second parameters; and determining values of the first set of parameters and the second set of parameters by backward propagation of the outputs of the first model and the machine learning model based on the differential of the difference.),
by repeatedly executing the forward propagation operation and the backward propagation operation (Fig. 4A, Paragraph [0082] – MA discloses after several iterations, a global or local optimum values of the parameters are obtained such that the difference in prediction and measurements is minimized).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of ZHANG in view of WATHEN of having a semiconductor measurement apparatus comprising: a speckle lighting configured to output light including a plurality of planar waves oriented in different directions; a stage in which a sample for reflecting the light output from the speckle lighting is disposed; an image sensor configured to generate an original image in response to light reflected from a partial region of the sample; and a controller configured to: generate a first optical model, wherein the first optical model corresponds to a first function representing optical characteristics of light including the plurality of planar waves output by the speckle lighting, generate a second optical model, wherein the second optical model corresponds to a second function representing optical characteristics of the light reflected from the sample, generate a prediction image, for estimating a diffractive pattern of light incident on the image sensor, and obtain a result image representing the partial region of the sample, with the teachings of MA of having by executing a forward propagation operation with the first optical model and the second optical model, execute a backward propagation operation for adjusting the first optical model and the second optical model based on a difference between the prediction image and the original image, and by repeatedly executing the forward propagation operation and the backward propagation operation.
Wherein ZHANG’s semiconductor measurement apparatus wherein having generate a prediction image, for estimating a diffractive pattern of light incident on the image sensor, by executing a forward propagation operation with the first optical model and the second optical model, execute a backward propagation operation for adjusting the first optical model and the second optical model based on a difference between the prediction image and the original image, and obtain a result image representing the partial region of the sample by repeatedly executing the forward propagation operation and the backward propagation operation.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to obtain a semiconductor measurement apparatus that an improved way to measure characteristics of a pattern that will be printed on a substrate, and make accurate predictions of metrology images, thereby saving metrology time and resources, since both ZHANG and MA relate to optical measurement and detection systems, wherein ZHANG has systems and methods for inspecting a sample for defects using super-resolution image reconstruction which may provide, but is not limited to providing, enhanced resolution or an enhanced signal to noise ratio (SNR) of defects, while MA discloses patterning process models employed to predict a pattern that will be printed on the substrate, wherein fast and accurate models serve to improve device performance (e.g., yield), enhance process windows, patterning recipes, and/or increase complexity of design pattern. Please see ZHANG (US 20170191945 A1), Paragraph [0039], and MA (US 20220179321 A1), Paragraphs [0008, 0069].
The office respectfully advises the applicant to amend claims to overcome the prior arts of record.
Claim Interpretation
Claims 1, 14, and 19 recite limitations that use words like “means” (or “step”) or similar terms with functional language but do not invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f):
Claim 1; recites the limitation, “a stage arranged to receive…,” [Line 6].
Claim 2; recites the limitation, “a mirror configured to…,” [Line 2].
Claim 14; recites the limitation, “a stage configured to adjust…,” [Line 5].
Claim 19; recites the limitation, “a stage in which a sample for…,” [Line 4].
Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
(i) “a stage….” has a structure associated with it a platform that holds the specimen or sample.
(iii) “a mirror…” has a structure associated with it wherein it is a physical object with reflective properties.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 8, 9, 14, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHANG (US 20170191945 A1), hereinafter referenced as ZHANG in view of WATHEN (US 20200072746 A1), hereinafter referenced as WATHEN.
Regarding claim 1, ZHANG teaches a semiconductor measurement apparatus comprising:
a pattern generator (Fig. 1B, #102 called inspection measurement sub-system, Paragraph [0052]) configured to scatter light in a predetermined wavelength band to produce a light pattern (Fig. 1B, Paragraph [ 0052] – ZHANG discloses inspection measurement sub-system 102 [wherein inspection measurement sub-system is a pattern generator] may direct optical radiation to the sample 104 such that one or more defects are detectable based on detected radiation emanating from the sample 104 (e.g. reflected radiation, scattered radiation, diffracted radiation, luminescent radiation, or the like). See also Paragraph [0055].)
a stage (Fig. 1B, #132 called a sample stage, Paragraph [0060]) arranged to receive the light pattern from the pattern generator (Fig. 1B, #102 called inspection measurement sub-system, Paragraph [0052]),
wherein the stage is configured to support a sample in a position to reflect the light pattern (Fig. 1B, Paragraph [0060] – ZHANG discloses the sample 104 is disposed on a sample stage 132 suitable for securing the sample 104 during scanning. In another embodiment, the sample stage 132 is an actuatable stage. For example, the sample stage 132 may include, but is not limited to, one or more translational stages suitable for selectably translating the sample 104 along one or more linear directions (e.g., x-direction, y-direction and/or z-direction).);
an image sensor (Fig. 1B, #126 called a detector, Paragraph [0058]) positioned to receive the light pattern reflected from the sample (Fig. 1B, Paragraph [0058] – ZHANG discloses a detector 126 may receive radiation reflected or scattered (e.g. via specular reflection, diffuse reflection, and the like) from the sample 104.)
and to generate an original image representing a diffractive pattern of the light pattern reflected from the sample (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0058] – ZHANG discloses a detector 126 may receive an image of the sample 104 provided by elements in the collection pathway 128 (e.g. the objective lens 124, the one or more lenses 130, or the like). ZHANG further discloses a detector 126 may receive one or more diffracted orders of radiation from the sample 104 (e.g. 0-order diffraction, ±1 order diffraction, ±2 order diffraction, and the like). See also Fig, 8, Paragraph [0100].);
and a controller (Fig. 1B, #106 called a controller, Paragraph [0054] – ZHANG discloses the inspection system 100 includes a controller 106 coupled to the inspection measurement sub-system 102) configured to:
generate a prediction image for light reflected in the measurement region and incident on the image sensor (Fig. 12, Paragraph [0121] – ZHANG discloses method 1200 includes a step 1204 of estimating a PSF of the inspection system. For example, step 1204 may include estimating [wherein estimating is prediction] a separate PSF for each test image based on the corresponding illumination aperture used to generate the test image. Please also see Paragraph [0058].)
by applying a convolution operation to the first optical model and the second optical model (Fig. 3, Paragraph [0069] – ZHANG discloses the systematic distortions by the imaging system may be described by a point spread function (PSF). The PSF may be characterized as an image of a point source by the imaging system, which is typically a blur pattern. In this regard, an image provided by an imaging system may be modeled as a convolution of the true distribution (e.g. an ideal image) and the PSF.),
compare the prediction image generated by the controller with the original image generated by the image sensor (Fig. 7, Paragraph [0098] – ZHANG discloses the reference image may be stored within the memory device 110 of controller 106. Paragraph [0099] – ZHANG further discloses step 206 includes a step 706 of generating a difference image between the reconstructed test image [wherein test image is the original image] and the reconstructed reference image [wherein reference image is the prediction image].),
Although ZHANG further teaches and generate a result image displaying patterns in the measurement region of the sample (Fig. 8, Paragraph [0098] – ZHANG discloses an inspection system (e.g. inspection system 100, or the like) may detect defects on a sample by generating a difference image [wherein a difference image is a result image] between a test image of the sample under inspection and a reference image).
ZHANG fails to explicitly teach generate a first optical model, wherein the first optical model corresponds to a first function representing optical characteristics of the speckled light pattern including the plurality of planar waves, generate a second optical model, wherein the second optical model corresponds to a second function representing optical characteristics of a measurement region of the sample that reflects the speckled light pattern including the plurality of planar waves, the speckled light pattern.
However, WATHEN explicitly teaches generate a first optical model (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0028] – WATHEN discloses the average speckle diameter may be defined as λ*z/d, where λ is the wavelength, z is the distance from the scattering medium 110 to the detector, and d is the optical input wave 110 beam diameter. Based on these parameters, various characteristics may be determined, such as, a character size of a speckle, an inter-speckle separation distance, and a speckle diameter.),
wherein the first optical model corresponds to a first function representing optical characteristics of the speckled light pattern including the plurality of planar waves (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0028] – WATHEN discloses the speckle pattern may be comprised of a plurality of speckles that have measurable characteristics with respect to, for example, the “size” of each speckle. WATHEN discloses the average speckle diameter may be defined as λ*z/d, where λ is the wavelength, z is the distance from the scattering medium 110 to the detector, and d is the optical input wave 110 beam diameter. Based on these parameters, various characteristics may be determined, such as, a character size of a speckle, an inter-speckle separation distance, and a speckle diameter.),
generate a second optical model (Fig. 3, Paragraph [0030] – WATHEN discloses an array of smaller collectors 251 for respective photoreceivers may be distributed across the planar surface 252 of an optical receiver 250. WATHEN further discloses the collectors 251 may be disposed in a grid configuration, where the size and spacing (e.g., pitch) of the collectors 251 may be defined based on characteristics of the speckle pattern, such as, for example, the size of a speckle, an inter-speckle separation distance, or a speckle diameter, which may be average or mean values.),
wherein the second optical model corresponds to a second function representing optical characteristics of a measurement region of the sample that reflects the speckled light pattern including the plurality of planar waves (Fig. 3, Paragraph [0030] – WATHEN discloses an array of smaller collectors 251 for respective photoreceivers may be distributed across the planar surface 252 of an optical receiver 250. WATHEN further discloses the collectors 251 may be disposed in a grid configuration, where the size and spacing (e.g., pitch) of the collectors 251 may be defined based on characteristics of the speckle pattern, such as, for example, the size of a speckle, an inter-speckle separation distance, or a speckle diameter, which may be average or mean values.),
the speckled light pattern (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0026] – Wathen discloses due to the various modes of light introduced by interaction with the scattering medium 110, if the scattered wave 120 is directed to a planar surface, such as the receiving surface of an optical receiver, the scattered wave 120 creates a speckle pattern 130. The speckle pattern 130 may be caused by the multiple modes of light of the scattered wave 120 interfering with each other both constructively and destructively. See also Fig. 3, Paragraph [0030].).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of ZHANG of having a semiconductor measurement apparatus comprising: a pattern generator configured to scatter light in a predetermined wavelength band to produce a light pattern including a plurality of planar waves moving in different directions; a stage arranged to receive the light pattern from the pattern generator, wherein the stage is configured to support a sample in a position to reflect the light pattern; an image sensor positioned to receive the light pattern reflected from the sample and to generate an original image representing a diffractive pattern of the light pattern reflected from the sample; and a controller configured to: generate a prediction image for light reflected in the measurement region and incident on the image sensor by applying a convolution operation to the first optical model and the second optical model, compare the prediction image generated by the controller with the original image generated by the image sensor, and generate a result image displaying patterns in the measurement region of the sample, with the teachings of WATHEN of having generate a first optical model, wherein the first optical model corresponds to a first function representing optical characteristics of the speckled light pattern including the plurality of planar waves, generate a second optical model, wherein the second optical model corresponds to a second function representing optical characteristics of a measurement region of the sample that reflects the speckled light pattern including the plurality of planar waves, the speckled light pattern.
Wherein having ZHANG’s semiconductor measurement apparatus wherein having generate a first optical model, wherein the first optical model corresponds to a first function representing optical characteristics of the speckled light pattern including the plurality of planar waves, generate a second optical model, wherein the second optical model corresponds to a second function representing optical characteristics of a measurement region of the sample that reflects the speckled light pattern including the plurality of planar waves, further comprising the speckled light pattern.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to obtain a semiconductor measurement apparatus configured to receive a speckle pattern output in order to facilitate defect detection and provide enhanced resolution or an enhanced signal to noise ratio of defects, since both ZHANG and WATHEN relate to optical measurement and detection systems, wherein ZHANG has systems and methods for inspecting a sample for defects using super-resolution image reconstruction which may provide, but is not limited to providing, enhanced resolution or an enhanced signal to noise ratio (SNR) of defects, while WATHEN’s systems, apparatuses, and methods are described herein that employ an optical receiver comprising an array of photoreceivers configured to receive portions of a speckle pattern; such an array of photoreceivers may be used to reduce or overcome issues with receiving a speckle pattern output from a scattering medium having a low SNR (signal-to-noise ratio). Please see ZHANG (US 20170191945 A1), Paragraph [0039], and WATHEN (US 20200072746 A1), Paragraph [0023].
Regarding claim 2, ZHANG in view of WATHEN teach the semiconductor measurement apparatus of claim 1,
ZHANG fails to explicitly teach further comprising: a mirror configured to reflect the speckled light pattern from the sample to the image sensor.
However, WATHEN explicitly teaches further comprising: a mirror (Fig. 4, #420 called optics assembly, Paragraph [0033] – WATHEN discloses the optics assembly 420 may be comprised of a collection of devices, such as polarizers, modulators, mirrors, splitters, and the like)
configured to reflect the speckled light pattern from the sample to the image sensor (Figs. 4 & 6, Paragraph [0043] – WATHEN discloses the object beam 432 is directed, for example, via optics including mirrors and the like, to interact with the object 433 such that a scattered output 434 is created. WATHEN further discloses each photoreceiver including the photoreceiver 630 may receive a portion of the scattered output 434 as a portion of a speckle pattern formed by the scattered output 434.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of ZHANG in view of WATHEN of having a semiconductor measurement apparatus comprising: a pattern generator configured to scatter light in a predetermined wavelength band to produce a speckled light pattern including a plurality of planar waves moving in different directions; a stage arranged to receive the speckled light pattern from the pattern generator, wherein the stage is configured to support a sample in a position to reflect the speckled light pattern; an image sensor positioned to receive the speckled light pattern reflected from the sample and to generate an original image representing a diffractive pattern of the speckled light pattern reflected from the sample; with the teachings of WATHEN of having further comprising: a mirror configured to reflect the speckled light pattern from the sample to the image sensor.
Wherein having ZHANG’s semiconductor measurement apparatus further comprising: a mirror configured to reflect the speckled light pattern from the sample to the image sensor.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to obtain a semiconductor measurement apparatus configured to receive a speckle pattern output in order to facilitate defect detection and provide enhanced resolution or an enhanced signal to noise ratio of defects, since both ZHANG and WATHEN relate to optical measurement and detection systems, wherein ZHANG has systems and methods for inspecting a sample for defects using super-resolution image reconstruction which may provide, but is not limited to providing, enhanced resolution or an enhanced signal to noise ratio (SNR) of defects, while WATHEN’s systems, apparatuses, and methods are described herein that employ an optical receiver comprising an array of photoreceivers configured to receive portions of a speckle pattern; such an array of photoreceivers may be used to reduce or overcome issues with receiving a speckle pattern output from a scattering medium having a low SNR (signal-to-noise ratio). Please see ZHANG (US 20170191945 A1), Paragraph [0039], and WATHEN (US 20200072746 A1), Paragraph [0023].
Regarding claim 3, ZHANG in view of WATHEN teach the semiconductor measurement apparatus of claim 1,
ZHANG further teaches wherein the predetermined wavelength band includes at least one of an ultraviolet wavelength band, an extreme ultraviolet wavelength band, and a visible light wavelength band (Fig. 1B, Paragraph [0055]- Zhang discloses the inspection measurement sub-system 102 includes an illumination source 112 to generate an illumination beam 114. Zhang further discloses the illumination beam 114 may include one or more selected wavelengths of light including, but not limited to, ultraviolet (UV) radiation, visible radiation, or infrared (IR) radiation.).
Regarding claim 4, ZHANG in view of WATHEN teach the semiconductor measurement apparatus of claim 1,
ZHANG fails to explicitly teach wherein the speckled light pattern includes a plurality of planar waves oriented in different directions.
However, WATHEN explicitly teaches wherein the speckled light pattern (Fig. 1, #130 called speckle pattern, Paragraph [0026] – Wathen discloses the scattered wave 120 creates a speckle pattern 130)
includes a plurality of planar waves (Fig. 2, #210 called paths of light, Paragraph [0029]) oriented in different directions (Fig. 2, Paragraph [0029] – Wathen discloses when the optical input wave 200 exits the scattering medium 205, multiple interfering paths of light 210 [wherein paths of light 210 is a plurality of planar waves] are formed that are received by the planar surface 215.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of ZHANG in view of WATHEN of having a semiconductor measurement apparatus comprising: a pattern generator configured to scatter light in a predetermined wavelength band to produce a speckled light pattern including a plurality of planar waves moving in different directions; with the teachings of WATHEN of having wherein the speckled light pattern includes a plurality of planar waves oriented in different directions.
Wherein having ZHANG’s semiconductor measurement apparatus wherein the speckled light pattern includes a plurality of planar waves oriented in different directions.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to obtain a semiconductor measurement apparatus configured to receive a speckle pattern output in order to facilitate defect detection and provide enhanced resolution or an enhanced signal to noise ratio of defects, since both ZHANG and WATHEN relate to optical measurement and detection systems, wherein ZHANG has systems and methods for inspecting a sample for defects using super-resolution image reconstruction which may provide, but is not limited to providing, enhanced resolution or an enhanced signal to noise ratio (SNR) of defects, while WATHEN’s systems, apparatuses, and methods are described herein that employ an optical receiver comprising an array of photoreceivers configured to receive portions of a speckle pattern; such an array of photoreceivers may be used to reduce or overcome issues with receiving a speckle pattern output from a scattering medium having a low SNR (signal-to-noise ratio). Please see ZHANG (US 20170191945 A1), Paragraph [0039], and WATHEN (US 20200072746 A1), Paragraph [0023].
Regarding claim 8, ZHANG in view of WATHEN teach the semiconductor measurement apparatus of claim 1,
ZHANG further teaches wherein the result image is an image (Fig. 7, Paragraph [0098] – ZHANG discloses an inspection system (e.g. inspection system 100, or the like) may detect defects on a sample by generating a difference image [wherein a difference image is a result image] between a test image of the sample under inspection and a reference image)
representing a shape of patterns formed in the measurement region of the sample (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0108] – ZHANG discloses that design data may include what is known as a “floorplan,” which contains placement information for pattern elements on the sample 104.).
Regarding claim 9, ZHANG in view of WATHEN teach the semiconductor measurement apparatus of claim 1,
ZHANG further teaches wherein the controller (Fig. 1B, #106 called a controller, Paragraph [0054]) is configured to move the stage (Fig. 1B, #132 called a sample stage, Paragraph [0060] – ZHANG discloses the sample stage 132 is an actuatable stage. For example, the sample stage 132 may include, but is not limited to, one or more translational stages suitable for selectably translating the sample 104 along one or more linear directions (e.g., x-direction, y-direction and/or z-direction))
so that the light pattern is reflected from a plurality of unit regions in the measurement region of the sample (Fig. 1B, Paragraph [0065] – ZHANG discloses portions of the reconstructed test image may be analyzed and compared to repeated portions of the test image, a reference image, design data, or the like for the detection of defects within the test image.),
and the image sensor (Fig. 1B, #126 called a detector, Paragraph [0058]) is configured to generate a plurality of original images corresponding to the plurality of unit regions (Paragraph [0047] – ZHANG discloses patch images [wherein patch images are original images] associated with localized areas [wherein localized areas are unit regions] around detected defects on a sample may be reconstructed. For example, an inspection system may generate one or more patch images, each having an expected defect and a portion of the image surrounding the defect, for defect classification.),
Although ZHANG explicitly teaches and the controller (Fig. 1B, #106 called a controller, Paragraph [0054]) is configured to generate a plurality of prediction images for light reflected from the plurality of unit regions and being incident on the image sensor (Fig. 1B, #126 called a detector, Fig. 12, Paragraph [0121] – ZHANG discloses the method 1200 includes a step 1204 of estimating a PSF of the inspection system. For example, step 1204 may include estimating [wherein estimating is prediction] a separate PSF for each test image based on the corresponding illumination aperture used to generate the test image. Please also see Paragraph [0058]).
ZHANG fails to explicitly teach the speckled light pattern.
However, WATHEN explicitly teaches the speckled light pattern (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0026] – WATHEN then discloses due to the various modes of light introduced by interaction with the scattering medium 110, if the scattered wave 120 is directed to a planar surface, such as the receiving surface of an optical receiver, the scattered wave 120 creates a speckle pattern 130. The speckle pattern 130 may be caused by the multiple modes of light of the scattered wave 120 interfering with each other both constructively and destructively. See also Fig. 3, Paragraph [0030].).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of ZHANG in view of WATHEN of having a semiconductor measurement apparatus comprising: a pattern generator configured to scatter light in a predetermined wavelength band to produce a speckled light pattern including a plurality of planar waves moving in different directions; with the teachings of WATHEN of having the speckled light pattern.
Wherein having ZHANG’s semiconductor measurement apparatus further comprising the speckled light pattern.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to obtain a semiconductor measurement apparatus configured to receive a speckle pattern output in order to facilitate defect detection and provide enhanced resolution or an enhanced signal to noise ratio of defects, since both ZHANG and WATHEN relate to optical measurement and detection systems, wherein ZHANG has systems and methods for inspecting a sample for defects using super-resolution image reconstruction which may provide, but is not limited to providing, enhanced resolution or an enhanced signal to noise ratio (SNR) of defects, while WATHEN’s systems, apparatuses, and methods are described herein that employ an optical receiver comprising an array of photoreceivers configured to receive portions of a speckle pattern; such an array of photoreceivers may be used to reduce or overcome issues with receiving a speckle pattern output from a scattering medium having a low SNR (signal-to-noise ratio). Please see ZHANG (US 20170191945 A1), Paragraph [0039], and WATHEN (US 20200072746 A1), Paragraph [0023].
Regarding claim 14, ZHANG teaches a semiconductor measurement apparatus (Fig. 1A, #100 called an inspection system, Paragraph [0051] – ZHANG discloses the inspection system 100 includes an inspection measurement sub-system 102 to interrogate a sample 104) comprising:
a stage (Fig. 1B, #132 called a sample stage, Paragraph [0060]) configured to adjust a position of the sample (Fig. 1B, Paragraph [0060] – ZHANG discloses the sample 104 is disposed on a sample stage 132 suitable for securing the sample 104 during scanning. In another embodiment, the sample stage 132 is an actuatable stage. For example, the sample stage 132 may include, but is not limited to, one or more translational stages suitable for selectably translating the sample 104 along one or more linear directions (e.g., x-direction, y-direction and/or z-direction)) so that light is reflected in a selection region, wherein the selection region is a partial region of the sample (Fig. 1B, Paragraph [0065] – ZHANG discloses portions of the reconstructed test image may be analyzed and compared to repeated portions of the test image, a reference image, design data, or the like for the detection of defects within the test image.);
an image sensor (Fig. 1B, #126 called a detector, Paragraph [0058]) configured to generate an original image (Fig. 8, image 804 called a test image, Paragraph [0100]) in response to the light reflected from the selection region (Fig. 1B, Paragraph [0053] – ZHANG discloses radiation collected by one or more detectors may associated with a single illuminated spot on the sample and may represent a single pixel of an image of the sample 104. In this regard, an image of the sample 104 may be generated by acquiring data from an array of sample locations. Further, the inspection measurement sub-system 102 may operate as a scatterometry-based inspection system in which radiation from the sample is analyzed at a pupil plane to characterize the angular distribution of radiation from the sample 104 (e.g. associated with scattering and/or diffraction of radiation by the sample 104).);
and a controller (Fig. 1B, #106 called a controller, Paragraph [0054] – ZHANG discloses the inspection system 100 includes a controller 106 coupled to the inspection measurement sub-system 102) configured to:
Although ZHANG further teaches and generate a prediction image for estimating diffractive characteristics of light incident on the image sensor (Fig. 12, Paragraph [0121] – ZHANG discloses method 1200 includes a step 1204 of estimating a PSF of the inspection system. For example, step 1204 may include estimating [wherein estimating is prediction] a separate PSF for each test image based on the corresponding illumination aperture used to generate the test image. Please also see Paragraph [0058].)
by applying a convolution operation to the first optical model and the second optical model (Fig. 3, Paragraph [0069] – ZHANG discloses the systematic distortions by the imaging system may be described by a point spread function (PSF). The PSF may be characterized as an image of a point source by the imaging system, which is typically a blur pattern. In this regard, an image provided by an imaging system may be modeled as a convolution of the true distribution (e.g. an ideal image) and the PSF.).
ZHANG fails to explicitly teach a pattern generator configured to emit light including a plurality of planar waves oriented in different directions to a sample by scattering coherent light; generate a first optical model, wherein the first optical model corresponds to a first function representing optical characteristics of light including the plurality of planar waves emitted by the pattern generator, generate a second optical model, wherein the second optical model corresponds to a second function representing optical characteristics of the selection region that reflects light including the plurality of planar waves emitted by the pattern generator,
However, WATHEN explicitly teaches a pattern generator (Fig. 2, #205 called scattering medium, Paragraph [0029]) configured to emit light (Fig. 2, Paragraph [0029] – WATHEN discloses due to refractions and reflections of light within the scattering medium 205 and the interference that occurs within and after leaving the scattering medium 205, a speckle pattern may be formed on the planar surface 215)
including a plurality of planar waves (Fig. 2, #210 called paths of light, Paragraph [0029]) oriented in different directions to a sample by scattering coherent light (Fig. 2, Paragraph [0029] – WATHEN discloses when the optical input wave 200 exits the scattering medium 205, multiple interfering paths of light 210 [wherein paths of light 210 is a plurality of planar waves] are formed that are received by the planar surface 215 [wherein the planar surface 215 is a sample].);
generate a first optical model (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0028] – WATHEN discloses the average speckle diameter may be defined as λ*z/d, where λ is the wavelength, z is the distance from the scattering medium 110 to the detector, and d is the optical input wave 110 beam diameter. Based on these parameters, various characteristics may be determined, such as, a character size of a speckle, an inter-speckle separation distance, and a speckle diameter.),
wherein the first optical model corresponds to a first function representing optical characteristics of light including the plurality of planar waves emitted by the pattern generator (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0028] – WATHEN discloses the speckle pattern may be comprised of a plurality of speckles that have measurable characteristics with respect to, for example, the “size” of each speckle. WATHEN discloses the average speckle diameter may be defined as λ*z/d, where λ is the wavelength, z is the distance from the scattering medium 110 to the detector, and d is the optical input wave 110 beam diameter. Based on these parameters, various characteristics may be determined, such as, a character size of a speckle, an inter-speckle separation distance, and a speckle diameter.),
generate a second optical model (Fig. 3, Paragraph [0030] – WATHEN discloses an array of smaller collectors 251 for respective photoreceivers may be distributed across the planar surface 252 of an optical receiver 250. WATHEN further discloses the collectors 251 may be disposed in a grid configuration, where the size and spacing (e.g., pitch) of the collectors 251 may be defined based on characteristics of the speckle pattern, such as, for example, the size of a speckle, an inter-speckle separation distance, or a speckle diameter, which may be average or mean values.),
wherein the second optical model corresponds to a second function representing optical characteristics of the selection region that reflects light including the plurality of planar waves emitted by the pattern generator (Fig. 3, Paragraph [0030] – WATHEN discloses an array of smaller collectors 251 for respective photoreceivers may be distributed across the planar surface 252 of an optical receiver 250. WATHEN further discloses the collectors 251 may be disposed in a grid configuration, where the size and spacing (e.g., pitch) of the collectors 251 may be defined based on characteristics of the speckle pattern, such as, for example, the size of a speckle, an inter-speckle separation distance, or a speckle diameter, which may be average or mean values.),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of ZHANG of having a semiconductor measurement apparatus comprising: a stage configured to adjust a position of the sample so that light is reflected in a selection region, wherein the selection region is a partial region of the sample; an image sensor configured to generate an original image in response to the light reflected from the selection region; and a controller configured to: and generate a prediction image for estimating diffractive characteristics of light incident on the image sensor by applying a convolution operation to the first optical model and the second optical model, with the teachings of WATHEN of having a pattern generator configured to emit light including a plurality of planar waves oriented in different directions to a sample by scattering coherent light; generate a first optical model, wherein the first optical model corresponds to a first function representing optical characteristics of light including the plurality of planar waves emitted by the pattern generator, generate a second optical model, wherein the second optical model corresponds to a second function representing optical characteristics of the selection region that reflects light including the plurality of planar waves emitted by the pattern generator.
Wherein having ZHANG’s semiconductor measurement apparatus wherein having a pattern generator configured to emit light including a plurality of planar waves oriented in different directions to a sample by scattering coherent light; generate a first optical model, wherein the first optical model corresponds to a first function representing optical characteristics of light including the plurality of planar waves emitted by the pattern generator, generate a second optical model, wherein the second optical model corresponds to a second function representing optical characteristics of the selection region that reflects light including the plurality of planar waves emitted by the pattern generator.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to obtain a semiconductor measurement apparatus configured to receive a speckle pattern output in order to facilitate defect detection and provide enhanced resolution or an enhanced signal to noise ratio of defects, since both ZHANG and WATHEN relate to optical measurement and detection systems, wherein ZHANG has systems and methods for inspecting a sample for defects using super-resolution image reconstruction which may provide, but is not limited to providing, enhanced resolution or an enhanced signal to noise ratio (SNR) of defects, while WATHEN’s systems, apparatuses, and methods are described herein that employ an optical receiver comprising an array of photoreceivers configured to receive portions of a speckle pattern; such an array of photoreceivers may be used to reduce or overcome issues with receiving a speckle pattern output from a scattering medium having a low SNR (signal-to-noise ratio). Please see ZHANG (US 20170191945 A1), Paragraph [0039], and WATHEN (US 20200072746 A1), Paragraph [0023].
Regarding claim 16, ZHANG in view of WATHEN teach the semiconductor measurement apparatus of claim 14,
ZHANG further teaches wherein the original image (Fig. 8, image 804 called a test image, Paragraph [0100]) is an image representing a diffractive pattern of light (Paragraph [0053] – ZHANG discloses an image of the sample 104 may be generated by acquiring data from an array of sample locations. Further, the inspection measurement sub-system 102 may operate as a scatterometry-based inspection system in which radiation from the sample is analyzed at a pupil plane to characterize the angular distribution of radiation from the sample 104 (e.g. associated with scattering and/or diffraction of radiation by the sample 104).).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHANG (US 20170191945 A1), hereinafter referenced as ZHANG in view of WATHEN (US 20200072746 A1), hereinafter referenced as WATHEN, further in view of BOONZAJER FLAES (US 20170269482 A1), hereinafter referenced as BOONZAJER FLAES.
Regarding claim 10, ZHANG in view of WATHEN teach the semiconductor measurement apparatus of claim 9,
ZHANG in view of WATHEN fail to explicitly teach wherein at least two unit regions of the plurality of unit regions overlap.
However, BOONZAJER FLAES explicitly teaches wherein at least two unit regions of the plurality of unit regions overlap (Figs. 5a-5c, Paragraph [0080] – BOONZAJER FLAES discloses more than two diffraction patterns may be captured, as required. FIG. 5(c) shows two examples where a target areas Ti and T2 are each covered by a series of displaced radiation spots S(1) to S(N), all mutually displaced in X and/or Y directions but all overlapping significantly one or more of their neighbors.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of ZHANG in view of WATHEN of having a semiconductor measurement apparatus comprising: a pattern generator configured to scatter light in a predetermined wavelength band to produce a speckled light pattern including a plurality of planar waves moving in different directions; a stage arranged to receive the speckled light pattern from the pattern generator, and a controller configured to: generate a result image displaying patterns in the measurement region of the sample; with the teachings of BOONZAJER FLAES having wherein at least two unit regions of the plurality of unit regions overlap.
Wherein having ZHANG’s semiconductor measurement apparatus further comprising wherein at least two unit regions of the plurality of unit regions overlap.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to obtain a semiconductor measurement apparatus that utilizes image reconstruction wherein phase information is retrieved from a plurality of captured images in order to facilitate defect detection and provide enhanced resolution, since both ZHANG and BOONZAJER FLAES relate to optical measurement and detection systems, wherein ZHANG has systems and methods for inspecting a sample for defects using super-resolution image reconstruction which may provide, but is not limited to providing, enhanced resolution or an enhanced signal to noise ratio (SNR) of defects, while BOONZAJER FLAES relates to inspection apparatus and methods usable for acquiring data describing target structures that enables robust image reconstruction from a set of interference pattern illuminations of a target. Please see ZHANG (US 20170191945 A1), Paragraph [0039], and BOONZAJER FLAES (US 20170269482 A1), Paragraph [0017].
Claims 11 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHANG (US 20170191945 A1), hereinafter referenced as ZHANG in view of WATHEN (US 20200072746 A1), hereinafter referenced as WATHEN, further in view of BOONZAJER FLAES (US 20170269482 A1), hereinafter referenced as BOONZAJER FLAES, further in view of MA (US 20220179321 A1), hereinafter referenced as MA.
Regarding claim 11, ZHANG in view of WATHEN in further in view of BOONZAJER FLAES teach the semiconductor measurement apparatus of claim 10,
Although ZHANG further teaches wherein the controller (Fig. 1B, #106 called a controller, Paragraph [0054]),
ZHANG in view of WATHEN in further in view of BOONZAJER FLAES fail to explicitly teach wherein the controller is configured to: optimize the first optical model and the second optical model so that a difference between the plurality of prediction images and the plurality of original images is minimized and consistency between the plurality of prediction images is recognized, and generate a plurality of result images for the plurality of unit regions, using the optimized first optical model and the optimized second optical model.
However, MA explicitly teaches wherein the controller (Fig. 22, #104/105 called processors [wherein processor is the controller], Paragraph [0145]) is configured to: optimize the first optical model and the second optical model (Fig. 22, Paragraph [0145] – MA discloses processors (e.g., 104/105) can be configured to: calibrate the process model by adjusting values of model parameters of the process model. Figs. 4A-4C, Paragraph [0088] – MA further discloses during backward propagation, following differentials may be computed and used to adjust first and second set of parameters.)
so that a difference between the plurality of prediction images and the plurality of original images is minimized and consistency between the plurality of prediction images is recognized (Fig. 4A, Paragraph [0082] – MA discloses after several iterations, a global or local optimum values of the parameters are obtained such that the difference in prediction and measurements is minimized. Paragraph [0128] – MA further discloses the calibrated model may be overfitted so that it makes good predictions with respect to the measurement data.)
and generate a plurality of result images (Fig. 14, Paragraph [0160] – MA discloses calibrating a process model such that the process model generates a simulated image that (i) minimizes an intensity difference or a frequency difference between the simulated image and the reference image 3002, and (ii) satisfies the gradient constraint 3004),
for the plurality of unit regions (Figs. 16-17, Paragraph [0145] – MA discloses the system includes a metrology tool (e.g., SEM tool in FIGS. 16 and 17) configured to obtain measurement data 2002 at a plurality of measurement locations on a pattern.)
using the optimized first optical model (Fig. 2, #31 called a source model, Paragraph [0063]) and the optimized second optical model (Fig. 2, #32 called a projection optics model, Paragraph [0063]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of ZHANG in view of WATHEN in further in view of BOONZAJER FLAES of having a semiconductor measurement apparatus comprising: a controller configured to: generate a first optical model, wherein the first optical model corresponds to a first function representing optical characteristics of the speckled light pattern including the plurality of planar waves, generate a second optical model, wherein the second optical model corresponds to a second function representing optical characteristics of a measurement region of the sample that reflects the speckled light pattern including the plurality of planar waves, generate a prediction image for light reflected in the measurement region and incident on the image sensor, with the teachings of MA having wherein the controller is configured to: optimize the first optical model and the second optical model so that a difference between the plurality of prediction images and the plurality of original images is minimized and consistency between the plurality of prediction images is recognized, and generate a plurality of result images for the plurality of unit regions, using the optimized first optical model and the optimized second optical model.
Wherein having ZHANG’s semiconductor measurement apparatus wherein the controller is configured to: optimize the first optical model and the second optical model so that a difference between the plurality of prediction images and the plurality of original images is minimized and consistency between the plurality of prediction images is recognized, and generate a plurality of result images for the plurality of unit regions, using the optimized first optical model and the optimized second optical model.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to obtain a semiconductor measurement apparatus that has an improved way to measure characteristics of a pattern that will be printed on a substrate, and make accurate predictions of metrology images, thereby saving metrology time and resources, since both ZHANG and MA relate to optical measurement and detection systems, wherein ZHANG has systems and methods for inspecting a sample for defects using super-resolution image reconstruction which may provide, but is not limited to providing, enhanced resolution or an enhanced signal to noise ratio (SNR) of defects, while MA discloses patterning process models employed to predict a pattern that will be printed on the substrate, wherein fast and accurate models serve to improve device performance (e.g., yield), enhance process windows, patterning recipes, and/or increase complexity of design pattern. Please see ZHANG (US 20170191945 A1), Paragraph [0039], and MA (US 20220179321 A1), Paragraphs [0008, 0069].
Regarding claim 13, ZHANG in view of WATHEN teach the semiconductor measurement apparatus of claim 1,
Although ZHANG explicitly teaches the pattern generator (Fig. 1B, #102 called inspection measurement sub-system, Paragraph [0052]), the stage (Fig. 1B, #132 called a sample stage, Paragraph [0060]), and the image sensor (Fig. 1B, #126 called a detector, Paragraph [0058]).
ZHANG in view of WATHEN fail to explicitly teach further comprising: a housing having a space in which the pattern generator, the stage, and the image sensor are disposed;
However, MA explicitly teaches further comprising: a housing (Fig. 25, #220 called enclosing structure, Paragraph [0256]) having a space in which the pattern generator, the stage, and the image sensor are disposed (Fig. 25, Paragraph [0256] – MA discloses FIG. 25 shows the apparatus LA in more detail, including the source collector module SO, the illumination system IL, and the projection system PS. The source collector module SO is constructed and arranged such that a vacuum environment can be maintained in an enclosing structure 220 of the source collector module SO.);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of ZHANG in view of WATHEN of having a semiconductor measurement apparatus comprising: a pattern generator configured to scatter light in a predetermined wavelength band to produce a speckled light pattern including a plurality of planar waves moving in different directions; a stage arranged to receive the speckled light pattern from the pattern generator; an image sensor positioned to receive the speckled light pattern reflected from the sample, with the teachings of MA having further comprising: a housing having a space in which the the pattern generator, the stage, and the image sensor are disposed.
Wherein having ZHANG’s semiconductor measurement apparatus wherein, further comprising: a housing having a space in which the pattern generator, the stage, and the image sensor are disposed.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to obtain a semiconductor measurement apparatus that has an improved way to measure characteristics of a pattern that will be printed on a substrate, and make accurate predictions of metrology images, thereby saving metrology time and resources, since both ZHANG and MA relate to optical measurement and detection systems, wherein ZHANG has systems and methods for inspecting a sample for defects using super-resolution image reconstruction which may provide, but is not limited to providing, enhanced resolution or an enhanced signal to noise ratio (SNR) of defects, while MA discloses patterning process models employed to predict a pattern that will be printed on the substrate, wherein fast and accurate models serve to improve device performance (e.g., yield), enhance process windows, patterning recipes, and/or increase complexity of design pattern. Please see ZHANG (US 20170191945 A1), Paragraph [0039], and MA (US 20220179321 A1), Paragraphs [0008, 0069].
ZHANG in view of WATHEN, further in view of MA fail to explicitly teach and a pump configured to maintain the space in a vacuum state.
However, BOONZAJER FLAES explicitly teaches and a pump (Fig. 3, #442 called vacuum pump, Paragraph [0071]) configured to maintain the space in a vacuum state (Fig. 3, #442 called vacuum pump, Paragraph [0071] – BOONZAJER FLAES discloses the atmosphere within inspection chamber 440 is maintained near vacuum by vacuum pump 442, so that EUV radiation can pass without undue attenuation through the atmosphere.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of ZHANG in view of WATHEN of having a semiconductor measurement apparatus comprising: a pattern generator configured to scatter light in a predetermined wavelength band to produce a speckled light pattern including a plurality of planar waves moving in different directions; a stage arranged to receive the speckled light pattern from the pattern generator; an image sensor positioned to receive the speckled light pattern reflected from the sample, with the teachings of BOONZAJER FLAES of having and a pump configured to maintain the space in a vacuum state.
Wherein having ZHANG’s semiconductor measurement apparatus wherein having and a pump configured to maintain the space in a vacuum state.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to obtain a semiconductor measurement apparatus that utilizes image reconstruction wherein phase information is retrieved from a plurality of captured images in order to facilitate defect detection and provide enhanced resolution, since both ZHANG and BOONZAJER FLAES relate to optical measurement and detection systems, wherein ZHANG has systems and methods for inspecting a sample for defects using super-resolution image reconstruction which may provide, but is not limited to providing, enhanced resolution or an enhanced signal to noise ratio (SNR) of defects, while BOONZAJER FLAES relates to inspection apparatus and methods usable for acquiring data describing target structures that enables robust image reconstruction from a set of interference pattern illuminations of a target. Please see ZHANG (US 20170191945 A1), Paragraph [0039], and BOONZAJER FLAES (US 20170269482 A1), Paragraph [0017].
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHANG (US 20170191945 A1), hereinafter referenced as ZHANG in view of WATHEN (US 20200072746 A1), hereinafter referenced as WATHEN, further in view of ZALEVSKY (US 20170004623 A1), hereinafter referenced as ZALEVSKY.
Regarding claim 15, ZHANG in view of WATHEN teach the semiconductor measurement apparatus of claim 14,
ZHANG fails to explicitly teach wherein the pattern generator includes at least one of an optical lattice structure, a scattering element, and a wavefront modulator.
However, WATHEN explicitly teaches wherein the pattern generator includes (Fig. 2, #205 called scattering medium, Paragraph [0029]).
WATHEN further teaches an optical lattice structure (Fig. 3, #251 called collectors, paragraph [0030] – WATHEN discloses an array of smaller collectors 251 for respective photoreceivers may be distributed across the planar surface 252 of an optical receiver 250. WATHEN further discloses the collectors 251 may be disposed in a grid configuration [wherein a grid configuration is an optical lattice structure], where size and spacing (e.g., pitch) of the collectors 251 may be defined based on characteristics of the speckle pattern.),
a scattering element (Fig. 2, #205 called scattering medium, Paragraph [0029] – WATHEN discloses when the optical input wave 200 exits the scattering medium 205, multiple interfering paths of light 210 are formed that are received by the planar surface 215)
and a wavefront modulator (Fig. 4, #420 called optics assembly, Paragraph [0033] – WATHEN discloses the optics assembly 420 may be comprised of a collection of devices, such as polarizers, modulators, mirrors, splitters, and the like that together are configured to perform the functionalities of the optics assembly 420 as described herein.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of ZHANG in view of WATHEN of having a semiconductor measurement apparatus comprising: a pattern generator configured to scatter light in a predetermined wavelength band to produce a speckled light pattern including a plurality of planar waves moving in different directions; with the teachings of WATHEN of having wherein the pattern generator includes at least one of an optical lattice structure, a scattering element, and a wavefront modulator.
Wherein having ZHANG’s semiconductor measurement apparatus, wherein the pattern generator includes an optical lattice structure, a scattering element, and a wavefront modulator.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to obtain a semiconductor measurement apparatus configured to receive a speckle pattern output in order to facilitate defect detection and provide enhanced resolution or an enhanced signal to noise ratio of defects, since both ZHANG and WATHEN relate to optical measurement and detection systems, wherein ZHANG has systems and methods for inspecting a sample for defects using super-resolution image reconstruction which may provide, but is not limited to providing, enhanced resolution or an enhanced signal to noise ratio (SNR) of defects, while WATHEN’s systems, apparatuses, and methods are described herein that employ an optical receiver comprising an array of photoreceivers configured to receive portions of a speckle pattern; such an array of photoreceivers may be used to reduce or overcome issues with receiving a speckle pattern output from a scattering medium having a low SNR (signal-to-noise ratio). Please see ZHANG (US 20170191945 A1), Paragraph [0039], and WATHEN (US 20200072746 A1), Paragraph [0023].
ZHANG in view of WATHEN fail to explicitly teach a diffractive optical element.
However, ZALEVSKY explicitly teaches a diffractive optical element (Fig. 6A, #12D called diffractive element, Paragraph [0132] – ZALEVSKY discloses Fig. 6A exemplifies a mapping system 80 in which a diffractive element 12D is accommodated in the optical path of speckle pattern propagating towards the object. Diffractive optical element can be configured as an adjustor 25 implementing reduction of contrast (relative brightness) for planes differently distanced from the light source.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of ZHANG in view of WATHEN of having a semiconductor measurement apparatus comprising: a pattern generator configured to scatter light in a predetermined wavelength band to produce a speckled light pattern including a plurality of planar waves moving in different directions; with the teachings of ZALEVSKY of having a diffractive optical element.
Wherein having ZHANG’s semiconductor measurement apparatus wherein the pattern generator includes at least one of a diffractive optical element.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to obtain a semiconductor measurement apparatus that utilizes image reconstruction in order to facilitate defect detection and provide enhanced resolution, since both ZHANG and ZALEVSKY relate to optical measurement and object reconstruction systems, wherein ZHANG has systems and methods for inspecting a sample for defects using super-resolution image reconstruction which may provide, but is not limited to providing, enhanced resolution or an enhanced signal to noise ratio (SNR) of defects, while ZALEVSKY provides a novel technique allowing a real-time and very accurate mapping of 3-D objects, which can advantageously be used to provide data input to a Man Machine Interface. Please see ZHANG (US 20170191945 A1), Paragraph [0039], and ZALEVSKY (US 20170004623 A1), Paragraph [0026-0027].
Claims 5-7, 12, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHANG (US 20170191945 A1), hereinafter referenced as ZHANG in view of WATHEN (US 20200072746 A1), hereinafter referenced as WATHEN, further in view of MA (US 20220179321 A1), hereinafter referenced as MA.
Regarding claim 5, ZHANG in view of WATHEN teach the semiconductor measurement apparatus of claim 1,
ZHANG in view of WATHEN fail to explicitly teach wherein the controller is configured to optimize each of the first optical model and the second optical model by executing a backward propagation operation using a difference between the prediction image and the original image.
However, MA explicitly teaches wherein the controller (Fig. 22, #104/105 called processors [wherein processor is the controller], Paragraph [0145])
is configured to optimize each of the first optical model and the second optical model (Fig. 22, Paragraph [0145] – MA discloses processors (e.g., 104/105) can be configured to: calibrate the process model by adjusting values of model parameters of the process model. Figs. 4A-4C, Paragraph [0088] – MA further discloses during backward propagation, following differentials may be computed and used to adjust first and second set of parameters.)
by executing a backward propagation operation (Figs. 4A-4C, Paragraph [0086] – MA discloses back propagation may be performed and a gradient-decent method may be employed)
using a difference between the prediction image and the original image (Figs. 4A-4C, Paragraph [0088] – MA discloses determining the difference (e.g., loss in FIG. 4A-4C) between the measured pattern [wherein measured pattern is the original image] and the predicted pattern (e.g., output) [wherein the predicted pattern is the prediction image] of the patterning process model; determining a differential of the difference (e.g., d(loss)) with respect to the first set of parameters (e.g., c.sub.i, param.sub.i, z.sub.i, u.sub.i, w.sub.i, etc.) and the set of second parameters; and determining values of the first set of parameters and the second set of parameters by backward propagation of the outputs of the first model and the machine learning model based on the differential of the difference.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of ZHANG IN VIEW OF WATHEN of having a semiconductor measurement apparatus comprising: a controller configured to: generate a first optical model, generate a second optical model, generate a prediction image for light reflected in the measurement region and incident on the image sensor by applying a convolution operation to the first optical model and the second optical model, compare the prediction image generated by the controller with the original image generated by the image sensor, with the teachings of MA having wherein the controller is configured to optimize each of the first optical model and the second optical model by executing a backward propagation operation using a difference between the prediction image and the original image.
Wherein having ZHANG’s semiconductor measurement apparatus wherein, the controller is configured to optimize each of the first optical model and the second optical model by executing a backward propagation operation using a difference between the prediction image and the original image.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to obtain a semiconductor measurement apparatus that an improved way to measure characteristics of a pattern that will be printed on a substrate, and make accurate predictions of metrology images, thereby saving metrology time and resources, since both ZHANG and MA relate to optical measurement and detection systems, wherein ZHANG has systems and methods for inspecting a sample for defects using super-resolution image reconstruction which may provide, but is not limited to providing, enhanced resolution or an enhanced signal to noise ratio (SNR) of defects, while MA discloses patterning process models employed to predict a pattern that will be printed on the substrate, wherein fast and accurate models serve to improve device performance (e.g., yield), enhance process windows, patterning recipes, and/or increase complexity of design pattern. Please see ZHANG (US 20170191945 A1), Paragraph [0039], and MA (US 20220179321 A1), Paragraphs [0008, 0069].
Regarding claim 6, ZHANG in view of WATHEN teach the semiconductor measurement apparatus of claim 1,
ZHANG in view of WATHEN fail to explicitly teach wherein the controller is configured to optimize each of the first optical model and the second optical model to minimize a difference between the prediction image and the original image, and wherein the result image is generated using the optimized first optical model and the optimized second optical model.
However, MA explicitly teaches wherein the controller (Fig. 22, #104/105 called processors [wherein processor is the controller], Paragraph [0145]) is configured to optimize each of the first optical model and the second optical model (Fig. 22, Paragraph [0145] – MA discloses processors (e.g., 104/105) can be configured to: calibrate the process model by adjusting values of model parameters of the process model. Figs. 4A-4C, Paragraph [0088] – Ma further discloses during backward propagation, following differentials may be computed and used to adjust first and second set of parameters.)
to minimize a difference between the prediction image and the original image (Fig. 4A, Paragraph [0082] – MA discloses after several iterations, a global or local optimum values of the parameters are obtained such that the difference in prediction and measurements is minimized.),
and wherein the result image is generated (Fig. 14, Paragraph [0160] – MA discloses calibrating a process model such that the process model generates a simulated image that (i) minimizes an intensity difference or a frequency difference between the simulated image and the reference image 3002, and (ii) satisfies the gradient constraint 3004) using the optimized first optical model (Fig. 2, #31 called a source model, Paragraph [0063]) and the optimized second optical model (Fig. 2, #32 called a projection optics model, Paragraph [0063]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of ZHANG IN VIEW OF WATHEN of having a semiconductor measurement apparatus comprising: a controller configured to: generate a first optical model, generate a second optical model, generate a prediction image for light reflected in the measurement region and incident on the image sensor by applying a convolution operation to the first optical model and the second optical model, compare the prediction image generated by the controller with the original image generated by the image sensor, with the teachings of MA having wherein the controller is configured to optimize each of the first optical model and the second optical model to minimize a difference between the prediction image and the original image, and wherein the result image is generated using the optimized first optical model and the optimized second optical model.
Wherein having ZHANG’s semiconductor measurement apparatus wherein the controller is configured to optimize each of the first optical model and the second optical model to minimize a difference between the prediction image and the original image, and wherein the result image is generated using the optimized first optical model and the optimized second optical model.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to obtain a semiconductor measurement apparatus that an improved way to measure characteristics of a pattern that will be printed on a substrate, and make accurate predictions of metrology images, thereby saving metrology time and resources, since both ZHANG and MA relate to optical measurement and detection systems, wherein ZHANG has systems and methods for inspecting a sample for defects using super-resolution image reconstruction which may provide, but is not limited to providing, enhanced resolution or an enhanced signal to noise ratio (SNR) of defects, while MA discloses patterning process models employed to predict a pattern that will be printed on the substrate, wherein fast and accurate models serve to improve device performance (e.g., yield), enhance process windows, patterning recipes, and/or increase complexity of design pattern. Please see ZHANG (US 20170191945 A1), Paragraph [0039], and MA (US 20220179321 A1), Paragraphs [0008, 0069].
Regarding claim 7, ZHANG in view of WATHEN teach the semiconductor measurement apparatus of claim 6,
ZHANG further teaches wherein the controller (Fig. 1B, #106 called a controller, Paragraph [0054] – ZHANG discloses the inspection system 100 includes a controller 106 coupled to the inspection measurement sub-system 102) is configured to:
obtain a phase image of light incident on the image sensor (Fig. 1B, #126 called a detector [wherein a detector is the image sensor], Paragraph [0058] – ZHANG discloses a detector 126 may receive an image of the sample 104 provided by elements in the collection pathway 128 (e.g. the objective lens 124, the one or more lenses 130, or the like). By way of another example, a detector 126 may receive radiation reflected or scattered (e.g. via specular reflection, diffuse reflection, and the like) from the sample 104. Fig. 12, Paragraph [0121] – ZHANG further discloses the method 1200 includes a step 1204 of estimating a PSF of the inspection system. For example, step 1204 may include estimating a separate PSF for each test image based on the corresponding illumination aperture used to generate the test image.)
using the optimized first optical model (Fig. 1C illustrates optical characteristics of the light pattern, illumination pathway 116, Paragraph [0061]), the optimized second optical model (Figs. 1C illustrates optical characteristics of a measurement region of the sample, collection pathway 128, Paragraph [0061]), or both the optimized first optical model and the optimized second optical model (Fig. 3, Paragraph [0074] – ZHANG discloses step 302 may include generating an estimate of the PSF based on a Fourier transform of a linear combination of the illumination aperture (e.g. corresponding to a spatial distribution of illumination provided by the illumination source 112) and the collection aperture of the illumination system),
and determine physical properties of a layer included in the measurement region of the sample, a height of patterns formed in the measurement region of the sample, or both the physical properties and the height of the patterns (Fig. 10, Paragraph [0107] – ZHANG discloses design data may include characteristics of individual components and/or layers on the sample 104 (e.g. an insulator, a conductor, a semiconductor, a well, a substrate, or the like), a connectivity relationship between layers on the sample 104, or a physical layout of components and connections (e.g. wires) on the sample 104. In this regard, design data may include a plurality of design pattern elements corresponding to printed pattern elements on the sample 104. Please also see Paragraphs [0108-0110]),
using the phase image (Fig. 10, Paragraph [0104] – ZHANG discloses FIG. 10 is an image 1000 illustrating a map of sample features 1002 based on design data overlaid with defects 1004 detected based on a difference image generated using a reconstructed reference image and a reconstructed test image with a sparse-distribution regularization parameter.).
Regarding claim 12, ZHANG in view of WATHEN teach the semiconductor measurement apparatus of claim 9,
ZHANG in view of WATHEN fail to explicitly teach wherein the controller is configured to apply different second optical models to at least two unit regions of the plurality of unit regions.
However, MA explicitly teaches wherein the controller (Fig. 22, #104/105 called processors [wherein processor is the controller], Paragraph [0145])
is configured to apply different second optical models (Fig. 4C, Paragraph [0087] – MA discloses the process model is configured to include (i) one or more models including physical terms (e.g., variables of the patterning process) of the patterning process and (ii) one or more machine learning models (CNNs))
to at least two unit regions of the plurality of unit regions (Figs. 16-17, Paragraph [0145] – Ma discloses the system includes a metrology tool (e.g., SEM tool in FIGS. 16 and 17) configured to obtain measurement data 2002 at a plurality of measurement locations on a pattern.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of ZHANG IN VIEW OF WATHEN of having a semiconductor measurement apparatus comprising: a controller configured to: generate a first optical model, generate a second optical model, generate a prediction image for light reflected in the measurement region and incident on the image sensor by applying a convolution operation to the first optical model and the second optical model, with the teachings of MA having wherein the controller is configured to apply different second optical models to at least two unit regions of the plurality of unit regions.
Wherein having ZHANG’s semiconductor measurement apparatus wherein the controller is configured to apply different second optical models to at least two unit regions of the plurality of unit regions.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to obtain a semiconductor measurement apparatus that an improved way to measure characteristics of a pattern that will be printed on a substrate, and make accurate predictions of metrology images, thereby saving metrology time and resources, since both ZHANG and MA relate to optical measurement and detection systems, wherein ZHANG has systems and methods for inspecting a sample for defects using super-resolution image reconstruction which may provide, but is not limited to providing, enhanced resolution or an enhanced signal to noise ratio (SNR) of defects, while MA discloses patterning process models employed to predict a pattern that will be printed on the substrate, wherein fast and accurate models serve to improve device performance (e.g., yield), enhance process windows, patterning recipes, and/or increase complexity of design pattern. Please see ZHANG (US 20170191945 A1), Paragraph [0039], and MA (US 20220179321 A1), Paragraphs [0008, 0069].
Regarding claim 17, ZHANG in view of WATHEN teach the semiconductor measurement apparatus of claim 9,
ZHANG further teaches wherein the controller (Fig. 1B, #106 called a controller, Paragraph [0054] - ZHANG discloses the inspection system 100 includes a controller 106 coupled to the inspection measurement sub-system 102) is configured to:
and generate a result image (Fig. 7, Paragraph [0098] – ZHANG discloses an inspection system (e.g. inspection system 100, or the like) may detect defects on a sample by generating a difference image [wherein a difference image is a result image] between a test image of the sample under inspection and a reference image)
representing a shape of structures included in the selection region (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0108] – ZHANG discloses that design data may include what is known as a “floorplan,” which contains placement information for pattern elements on the sample 104.)
using the first optical model (Fig. 1C illustrates optical characteristics of the light pattern, illumination pathway 116, Paragraph [0061]),
the second optical model (Figs. 1C illustrates optical characteristics of a measurement region of the sample, collection pathway 128, Paragraph [0061]),
or both the first optical model and the second optical model (Fig. 3, Paragraph [0074] – ZHANG discloses step 302 may include generating an estimate of the PSF based on a Fourier transform of a linear combination of the illumination aperture (e.g. corresponding to a spatial distribution of illumination provided by the illumination source 112) and the collection aperture of the illumination system.).
ZHANG in view of WATHEN fail to explicitly teach optimize the first optical model and the second optical model using a difference between the prediction image and the original image,
However, MA explicitly teaches optimize the first optical model and the second optical model (Fig. 22, Paragraph [0145] – MA discloses processors (e.g., 104/105) can be configured to: calibrate the process model by adjusting values of model parameters of the process model. Figs. 4A-4C, Paragraph [0088] – MA further discloses during backward propagation, following differentials may be computed and used to adjust first and second set of parameters)
using a difference between the prediction image and the original image (Fig. 4A, Paragraph [0082] – MA discloses after several iterations, a global or local optimum values of the parameters are obtained such that the difference in prediction and measurements is minimized.),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of ZHANG IN VIEW OF WATHEN of having a semiconductor measurement apparatus comprising: a controller configured to: generate a first optical model, generate a second optical model, generate a prediction image for light reflected in the measurement region and incident on the image sensor by applying a convolution operation to the first optical model and the second optical model, with the teachings of MA having optimize the first optical model and the second optical model using a difference between the prediction image and the original image.
Wherein having ZHANG’s semiconductor measurement apparatus wherein having optimize the first optical model and the second optical model using a difference between the prediction image and the original image.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to obtain a semiconductor measurement apparatus that an improved way to measure characteristics of a pattern that will be printed on a substrate, and make accurate predictions of metrology images, thereby saving metrology time and resources, since both ZHANG and MA relate to optical measurement and detection systems, wherein ZHANG has systems and methods for inspecting a sample for defects using super-resolution image reconstruction which may provide, but is not limited to providing, enhanced resolution or an enhanced signal to noise ratio (SNR) of defects, while MA discloses patterning process models employed to predict a pattern that will be printed on the substrate, wherein fast and accurate models serve to improve device performance (e.g., yield), enhance process windows, patterning recipes, and/or increase complexity of design pattern. Please see ZHANG (US 20170191945 A1), Paragraph [0039], and MA (US 20220179321 A1), Paragraphs [0008, 0069].
Regarding claim 18, ZHANG in view of WATHEN teach the semiconductor measurement apparatus of claim 9,
ZHANG in view of WATHEN fail to explicitly teach wherein the controller is configured to determine initial values of each optical model of the first optical model and the second optical model.
However, MA explicitly teaches wherein the controller (Fig. 22, #104/105 called processors [wherein processor is the controller], Paragraph [0145])
is configured to determine initial values of each optical model of the first optical model and the second optical model (Fig. 22, Paragraph [0085] – MA discloses initial values of the first set of parameters and the second set of parameters may be assigned to start the simulation process. Paragraph [0145] – MA further discloses processors (e.g., 104/105) can be configured to: calibrate the process model by adjusting values of model parameters of the process model).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of ZHANG IN VIEW OF WATHEN of having a semiconductor measurement apparatus comprising: a controller configured to: generate a first optical model, generate a second optical model, generate a prediction image for light reflected in the measurement region and incident on the image sensor by applying a convolution operation to the first optical model and the second optical model, with the teachings of MA having wherein the controller is configured to determine initial values of each optical model of the first optical model and the second optical model.
Wherein having ZHANG’s semiconductor measurement apparatus wherein the controller is configured to determine initial values of each optical model of the first optical model and the second optical model.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to obtain a semiconductor measurement apparatus that an improved way to measure characteristics of a pattern that will be printed on a substrate, and make accurate predictions of metrology images, thereby saving metrology time and resources, since both ZHANG and MA relate to optical measurement and detection systems, wherein ZHANG has systems and methods for inspecting a sample for defects using super-resolution image reconstruction which may provide, but is not limited to providing, enhanced resolution or an enhanced signal to noise ratio (SNR) of defects, while MA discloses patterning process models employed to predict a pattern that will be printed on the substrate, wherein fast and accurate models serve to improve device performance (e.g., yield), enhance process windows, patterning recipes, and/or increase complexity of design pattern. Please see ZHANG (US 20170191945 A1), Paragraph [0039], and MA (US 20220179321 A1), Paragraphs [0008, 0069].
Regarding claim 19, ZHANG teaches a semiconductor measurement apparatus (Fig. 1A, #100 called an inspection system, Paragraph [0051] – ZHANG discloses the inspection system 100 includes an inspection measurement sub-system 102 to interrogate a sample 104) comprising:
a stage (Fig. 1B, #132 called a sample stage, Paragraph [0060]) in which a sample (Fig. 1B, #104 called a sample, Paragraph [0060])
for reflecting the light output from the speckle lighting is disposed (Fig. 1B, Paragraph [0060] – ZHANG discloses the sample 104 is disposed on a sample stage 132 suitable for securing the sample 104 during scanning. In another embodiment, the sample stage 132 is an actuatable stage. Paragraph [0058] – ZHANG further discloses a detector 126 may receive radiation reflected or scattered (e.g. via specular reflection, diffuse reflection, and the like) from the sample 104.);
an image sensor (Fig. 1B, #126 called a detector, Paragraph [0058]) configured to generate an original image (Fig. 8, image 804 called a test image, Paragraph [0100]) in response to light reflected from a partial region of the sample (Fig. 1B, Paragraph [0053] – ZHANG discloses radiation collected by one or more detectors may associated with a single illuminated spot on the sample and may represent a single pixel of an image of the sample 104. In this regard, an image of the sample 104 may be generated by acquiring data from an array of sample locations. Further, the inspection measurement sub-system 102 may operate as a scatterometry-based inspection system in which radiation from the sample is analyzed at a pupil plane to characterize the angular distribution of radiation from the sample 104 (e.g. associated with scattering and/or diffraction of radiation by the sample 104));
and a controller (Fig. 1B, #106 called a controller, Paragraph [0054] – ZHANG discloses the inspection system 100 includes a controller 106 coupled to the inspection measurement sub-system 102) configured to:
generate a prediction image, for estimating a diffractive pattern of light incident on the image sensor (Fig. 1B, #126 called a detector, Fig. 12, Paragraph [0121] – ZHANG discloses the method 1200 includes a step 1204 of estimating a PSF of the inspection system. For example, step 1204 may include estimating [wherein estimating is prediction] a separate PSF for each test image based on the corresponding illumination aperture used to generate the test image. Please also see Paragraph [0058]),
Although ZHANG explicitly teaches and obtain a result image (Fig. 7, Paragraph [0098] – ZHANG discloses an inspection system (e.g. inspection system 100, or the like) may detect defects on a sample by generating a difference image [wherein a difference image is a result image] between a test image of the sample under inspection and a reference image) representing the partial region of the sample (Fig. 1B, Paragraph [0065] – ZHANG discloses portions of the reconstructed test image may be analyzed and compared to repeated portions of the test image, a reference image, design data, or the like for the detection of defects within the test image.)
ZHANG fails to explicitly teach a speckle lighting configured to output light including a plurality of planar waves oriented in different directions; generate a first optical model, wherein the first optical model corresponds to a first function representing optical characteristics of light including the plurality of planar waves output by the speckle lighting, generate a second optical model, wherein the second optical model corresponds to a second function representing optical characteristics of the light reflected from the sample,
However, WATHEN explicitly teaches a speckle lighting (Fig. 2, #205 called scattering medium, Paragraph [0029]) configured to output light (Fig. 2, Paragraph [0029] – WATHEN discloses due to refractions and reflections of light within the scattering medium 205 and the interference that occurs within and after leaving the scattering medium 205, a speckle pattern may be formed on the planar surface 215)
including a plurality of planar waves (Fig. 2, #210 called paths of light, Paragraph [0029]) oriented in different directions (Fig. 2, Paragraph [0029] – WATHEN discloses when the optical input wave 200 exits the scattering medium 205, multiple interfering paths of light 210 [wherein paths of light 210 is a plurality of planar waves] are formed that are received by the planar surface 215.);
generate a first optical model (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0028] – WATHEN discloses the average speckle diameter may be defined as λ*z/d, where λ is the wavelength, z is the distance from the scattering medium 110 to the detector, and d is the optical input wave 110 beam diameter. Based on these parameters, various characteristics may be determined, such as, a character size of a speckle, an inter-speckle separation distance, and a speckle diameter.),
wherein the first optical model corresponds to a first function representing optical characteristics of light including the plurality of planar waves output by the speckle lighting (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0028] – WATHEN discloses the speckle pattern may be comprised of a plurality of speckles that have measurable characteristics with respect to, for example, the “size” of each speckle. WATHEN discloses the average speckle diameter may be defined as λ*z/d, where λ is the wavelength, z is the distance from the scattering medium 110 to the detector, and d is the optical input wave 110 beam diameter. Based on these parameters, various characteristics may be determined, such as, a character size of a speckle, an inter-speckle separation distance, and a speckle diameter.),
generate a second optical model (Fig. 3, Paragraph [0030] – WATHEN discloses an array of smaller collectors 251 for respective photoreceivers may be distributed across the planar surface 252 of an optical receiver 250. WATHEN further discloses the collectors 251 may be disposed in a grid configuration, where the size and spacing (e.g., pitch) of the collectors 251 may be defined based on characteristics of the speckle pattern, such as, for example, the size of a speckle, an inter-speckle separation distance, or a speckle diameter, which may be average or mean values.),
wherein the second optical model corresponds to a second function representing optical characteristics of the light reflected from the sample (Fig. 3, Paragraph [0030] – WATHEN discloses an array of smaller collectors 251 for respective photoreceivers may be distributed across the planar surface 252 of an optical receiver 250. WATHEN further discloses the collectors 251 may be disposed in a grid configuration, where the size and spacing (e.g., pitch) of the collectors 251 may be defined based on characteristics of the speckle pattern, such as, for example, the size of a speckle, an inter-speckle separation distance, or a speckle diameter, which may be average or mean values.),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of ZHANG of having a semiconductor measurement apparatus comprising: a stage in which a sample for reflecting the light output from the speckle lighting is disposed; an image sensor configured to generate an original image in response to light reflected from a partial region of the sample; and a controller configured to: generate a prediction image, for estimating a diffractive pattern of light incident on the image sensor, and obtain a result image representing the partial region of the sample, with the teachings of WATHEN having a speckle lighting configured to output light including a plurality of planar waves oriented in different directions; generate a first optical model, wherein the first optical model corresponds to a first function representing optical characteristics of light including the plurality of planar waves output by the speckle lighting, generate a second optical model, wherein the second optical model corresponds to a second function representing optical characteristics of the light reflected from the sample.
Wherein having ZHANG’s semiconductor measurement apparatus wherein having having a speckle lighting configured to output light including a plurality of planar waves oriented in different directions; generate a first optical model, wherein the first optical model corresponds to a first function representing optical characteristics of light including the plurality of planar waves output by the speckle lighting, generate a second optical model, wherein the second optical model corresponds to a second function representing optical characteristics of the light reflected from the sample.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to obtain a semiconductor measurement apparatus configured to receive a speckle pattern output in order to facilitate defect detection and provide enhanced resolution or an enhanced signal to noise ratio of defects, since both ZHANG and WATHEN relate to optical measurement and detection systems, wherein ZHANG has systems and methods for inspecting a sample for defects using super-resolution image reconstruction which may provide, but is not limited to providing, enhanced resolution or an enhanced signal to noise ratio (SNR) of defects, while WATHEN’s systems, apparatuses, and methods are described herein that employ an optical receiver comprising an array of photoreceivers configured to receive portions of a speckle pattern; such an array of photoreceivers may be used to reduce or overcome issues with receiving a speckle pattern output from a scattering medium having a low SNR (signal-to-noise ratio). Please see ZHANG (US 20170191945 A1), Paragraph [0039], and WATHEN (US 20200072746 A1), Paragraph [0023].
ZHANG in view of WATHEN fail to explicitly teach by executing a forward propagation operation with the first optical model and the second optical model, execute a backward propagation operation for adjusting the first optical model and the second optical model based on a difference between the prediction image and the original image, by repeatedly executing the forward propagation operation and the backward propagation operation.
However, MA explicitly teaches by executing a forward propagation operation (Figs. 4A-4C, Paragraph [0088] – Ma discloses predicting the printed pattern by forward propagation of outputs (e.g., x, y, z, etc. in FIGS. 4A-4C) of the first model and the machine learning model)
with the first optical model (Fig. 2, #31 called a source model, Paragraph [0063]) and the second optical model (Fig. 2, #32 called a projection optics model, Paragraph [0063]),
execute a backward propagation operation (Figs. 4A-4C, Paragraph [0086] – MA discloses back propagation may be performed and a gradient-decent method may be employed)
for adjusting the first optical model and the second optical model (Figs. 4A-4C, Paragraph [0088] – MA discloses during backward propagation, following differentials may be computed and used to adjust first and second set of parameters)
based on a difference between the prediction image and the original image (Figs. 4A-4C, Paragraph [0088] – MA discloses determining the difference (e.g., loss in FIG. 4A-4C) between the measured pattern [wherein measured pattern is the original image] and the predicted pattern (e.g., output) [wherein the predicted pattern is the prediction image] of the patterning process model; determining a differential of the difference (e.g., d(loss)) with respect to the first set of parameters (e.g., c.sub.i, param.sub.i, z.sub.i, u.sub.i, w.sub.i, etc.) and the set of second parameters; and determining values of the first set of parameters and the second set of parameters by backward propagation of the outputs of the first model and the machine learning model based on the differential of the difference.),
by repeatedly executing the forward propagation operation and the backward propagation operation (Fig. 4A, Paragraph [0082] – MA discloses after several iterations, a global or local optimum values of the parameters are obtained such that the difference in prediction and measurements is minimized).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of ZHANG in view of WATHEN of having a semiconductor measurement apparatus comprising: a speckle lighting configured to output light including a plurality of planar waves oriented in different directions; a stage in which a sample for reflecting the light output from the speckle lighting is disposed; an image sensor configured to generate an original image in response to light reflected from a partial region of the sample; and a controller configured to: generate a first optical model, wherein the first optical model corresponds to a first function representing optical characteristics of light including the plurality of planar waves output by the speckle lighting, generate a second optical model, wherein the second optical model corresponds to a second function representing optical characteristics of the light reflected from the sample, generate a prediction image, for estimating a diffractive pattern of light incident on the image sensor, and obtain a result image representing the partial region of the sample, with the teachings of MA of having by executing a forward propagation operation with the first optical model and the second optical model, execute a backward propagation operation for adjusting the first optical model and the second optical model based on a difference between the prediction image and the original image, and by repeatedly executing the forward propagation operation and the backward propagation operation.
Wherein ZHANG’s semiconductor measurement apparatus wherein having generate a prediction image, for estimating a diffractive pattern of light incident on the image sensor, by executing a forward propagation operation with the first optical model and the second optical model, execute a backward propagation operation for adjusting the first optical model and the second optical model based on a difference between the prediction image and the original image, and obtain a result image representing the partial region of the sample by repeatedly executing the forward propagation operation and the backward propagation operation.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to obtain a semiconductor measurement apparatus that an improved way to measure characteristics of a pattern that will be printed on a substrate, and make accurate predictions of metrology images, thereby saving metrology time and resources, since both ZHANG and MA relate to optical measurement and detection systems, wherein ZHANG has systems and methods for inspecting a sample for defects using super-resolution image reconstruction which may provide, but is not limited to providing, enhanced resolution or an enhanced signal to noise ratio (SNR) of defects, while MA discloses patterning process models employed to predict a pattern that will be printed on the substrate, wherein fast and accurate models serve to improve device performance (e.g., yield), enhance process windows, patterning recipes, and/or increase complexity of design pattern. Please see ZHANG (US 20170191945 A1), Paragraph [0039], and MA (US 20220179321 A1), Paragraphs [0008, 0069].
Regarding claim 20, ZHANG in view of WATHEN further in view of MA teach the semiconductor measurement apparatus of claim 19,
ZHANG further teaches wherein the controller (Fig. 1B, #106 called a controller, Paragraph [0054]) is configured to:
determine fidelity of the prediction image (Fig. 8, Paragraph [0100] – Zhang discloses image 806 represents a difference image based on a difference between image 802 and image 804)
by applying the prediction image (Fig. 8, image 802 called reference image, Paragraph [0100]) and the original image (Fig. 8, image 804 called test image, Paragraph [0100]) to a cost function (Figs. 8 & 9, Paragraph [0101] – Zhang discloses when defect detection is based on a difference image, the test image is reconstructed with an additional sparse-distribution regularization term. Paragraph [0102] – Zhang further discloses a test image may be, but is not required to be, reconstructed using sparsity-inspired regularized Richardson-Lucy (SRRL) deconvolution based on a cost function including a sparse distribution regularization term),
ZHANG in view of WATHEN fail to explicitly teach and repeatedly execute the forward propagation operation and the backward propagation operation until the fidelity is equal to or smaller than a predetermined threshold.
However, MA explicitly teaches and repeatedly execute the forward propagation operation and the backward propagation operation until the fidelity is equal to or smaller than a predetermined threshold (Fig. 4A, Paragraph [0082] – MA discloses after several iterations, a global or local optimum values of the parameters are obtained such that the difference in prediction and measurements is minimized.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of ZHANG in view of WATHEN further in view of MA of having a semiconductor measurement apparatus comprising: a speckle lighting configured to output light including a plurality of planar waves oriented in different directions; a stage in which a sample for reflecting the light output from the speckle lighting is disposed; an image sensor configured to generate an original image in response to light reflected from a partial region of the sample; and a controller configured to: generate a prediction image, with the teachings of MA of having and repeatedly execute the forward propagation operation and the backward propagation operation until the fidelity is equal to or smaller than a predetermined threshold.
Wherein ZHANG’s semiconductor measurement apparatus wherein having and repeatedly execute the forward propagation operation and the backward propagation operation until the fidelity is equal to or smaller than a predetermined threshold.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to obtain a semiconductor measurement apparatus that an improved way to measure characteristics of a pattern that will be printed on a substrate, and make accurate predictions of metrology images, thereby saving metrology time and resources, since both ZHANG and MA relate to optical measurement and detection systems, wherein ZHANG has systems and methods for inspecting a sample for defects using super-resolution image reconstruction which may provide, but is not limited to providing, enhanced resolution or an enhanced signal to noise ratio (SNR) of defects, while MA discloses patterning process models employed to predict a pattern that will be printed on the substrate, wherein fast and accurate models serve to improve device performance (e.g., yield), enhance process windows, patterning recipes, and/or increase complexity of design pattern. Please see ZHANG (US 20170191945 A1), Paragraph [0039], and MA (US 20220179321 A1), Paragraphs [0008, 0069].
Conclusion
Listed below are the prior arts made of record and not relied upon but are considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
SCHLUTE et al. (US 20240035811 A1) - A measurement apparatus (1) for measuring a shape of a surface (2) of a test object (3), in particular an optical surface (2) by interferometry, has: an illumination device (4) with an illumination source (5) for generating an illumination wave (6), an interferometer device (7) with a splitting element (8) for splitting the illumination wave into a test wave (9) directed at the surface (2) and into a reference wave (10), and for combining the returning test wave (9), having interacted with the surface to be measured, with the reference wave (10), a registration device (11) for registering and evaluating an interference pattern to determine a deviation of the measured surface shape from a target shape, and a control device (12) configured to split the surface (2) to be measured into a plurality of individual areas (13) to be measured… Fig. 1, Abstract.
MURRAY et al. (US 20190234911 A1) - A method for high resolution photoacoustic imaging in scattering media using structured illumination may include illuminating a sample of an absorption object with structured illumination, including illuminating the sample with multiple different speckle patterns at different times. The method may also include detecting multiple photoacoustic signals generated by the absorption object in response to illumination with the different speckle patterns to generate multiple photoacoustic responses. The method may also include reconstructing an absorber distribution of the absorption object by exploiting joint sparsity of sound sources in the plurality of photoacoustic responses.… Fig. 1, Abstract.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BEZAWIT NOLAWI SHIMELES/Examiner, Art Unit 2673
/CHINEYERE WILLS-BURNS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2673