DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/09/2024 is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
Claims 1, 14, and 19 recite limitations that use words like “means” (or “step”) or similar terms with functional language but do not invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f):
Claim 1; recites the limitation, “a stage arranged to receive…,” [Line 5].
Claim 14; recites the limitation, “a stage configured to adjust…,” [Line 5].
Claim 19; recites the limitation, “a stage in which a sample for…,” [Line 4].
Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
(i) “a stage….” has a structure associated with it a platform that holds the specimen or sample.
Claims 1, 5-7, 11, 12, 14, and 17-19 recite limitations that use words like “means” (or “step”) or similar terms with functional language and do invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f):
Claim 1; recites the limitation, “a light source configured to output…,” [Line 2].
Claim 1; recites the limitation, “using a first optical model…,” [Line 11-12].
Claim 1; recites the limitation, “and a second optical model…,” [Line 12].
Claim 5; recites the limitation, “optimize each of the first optical model and the second optical model…,” [Line 2].
Claim 6; recites the limitation, “optimize each of the first optical model and the second optical model…,” [Line 2].
Claim 6; recites the limitation, “using the optimized first optical model and the optimized second optical model…,” [Line 4-5].
Claim 7; recites the limitation, “using the optimized first optical model, the optimized second optical model, or both the optimized first optical model and the optimized second optical model…,” [Line 3-5].
Claim 11; recites the limitation, “optimize the first optical model and the second optical model…,” [Line 3].
Claim 11; recites the limitation, “using the optimized first optical model and the optimized second optical model…,” [Line 7].
Claim 12; recites the limitation, “configured to apply different second optical models…,” [Line 2]
Claim 14; recites the limitation, “a light source configured to output…,” [Line 5].
Claim 17; recites the limitation, “using a first optical model…,” [Line 4].
Claim 17; recites the limitation, “and a second optical model representing …,” [Line 5].
Claim 17; recites the limitation, “optimize the first optical model and the second optical model …,” [Line 7].
Claim 17; recites the limitation, “using the first optical model, the second optical model, or both the first optical model and the second optical model…,” [Line 10-11].
Claim 18; recites the limitation, “each optical model of the first optical model and the second optical model …,” [Line 2-3].
Claim 19; recites the limitation, “with a first optical model…,” [Line 10].
Claim 19; recites the limitation, “and a second optical model…,” [Line 11-12].
Claim 19; recites the limitation, “adjusting the first optical model and the second optical model …,” [Line 13-14].
After a careful analysis, as disclosed above, and a careful review of the specification the following limitations in claims 1, 5-7, 11, 12, 14, and 17-19:
“a light source” (Fig. 1, #12, Paragraph [0024-0026] – “The light source 12 outputs light in a predetermined wavelength band, and may output light such as an extreme ultraviolet wavelength band, an ultraviolet wavelength band, and a visible light wavelength band. According to an example implementation, the light source 12 includes a plurality of light sources emitting light having different wavelength bands. For example, when the light source 12 outputs light in the extreme ultraviolet wavelength band, the light source 12 may output extreme ultraviolet light having a high energy density in a wavelength band of 13.5 nm. In this case, the light source 12 may include a plasma-based light source or a synchrotron radiation light source. The plasma-based light source refers to a light source that generates plasma and uses light emitted by the plasma, and may include a laser-produced plasma (LP) light source or a discharge-produced plasma (DPP) light source. For example, when the light source 12 includes a plasma-based light source, the light source 12 may include a condensing mirror such as an elliptical mirror or a spherical mirror, in order to increase energy density of extreme ultraviolet light. The light output from the light source 12 may be coherent light. Referring to FIG. 1, the light source 12 may output light having high spatial coherence by aligning a wave front.” Thus, a “light source” has sufficient structure wherein the light output is in a predetermined wavelength band that includes a plurality of light sources (extreme ultraviolet wavelength band, an ultraviolet wavelength band, a visible light wavelength band);
“first optical model” (Fig. 8, Fig. 9, #510 called first optical model, Paragraph [0062] – “The first optical model may be an optical model representing optical characteristics of light reflected from the pattern generator, and the second optical model may be an optical model representing optical characteristics of a unit region selected to update position information in operation S100. When there are no previously applied first and second optical models, that is, when the operation of the semiconductor measurement apparatus begins, the controller may generate the first optical model and the second optical model as any model.” Paragraph [0078] – “The controller may generate the prediction image 530 for predicting a diffractive pattern of light reflected from the first unit region by executing a predetermined operation with a first optical model 510 and a second optical model 520.” Paragraph [0084] – “The controller may select a second optical model 521 corresponding to the second unit region from the plurality of second optical models 520 to 523, and may generate a prediction image 530 for the second unit region using the second optical model 521 and the first optical model 510. For the second unit region, the controller may adjust the first optical model 510 and the second optical model 520 by repeating the backward propagation operation and the forward wave operation as described above until the prediction image 530 and the original image 540 match each other.” Thus, the first optical model does not have a sufficient structure associated with it.
“second optical model” (Fig. 8, Fig. 9, #520-523 called second optical models, Paragraph [0062] – “The first optical model may be an optical model representing optical characteristics of light reflected from the pattern generator, and the second optical model may be an optical model representing optical characteristics of a unit region selected to update position information in operation S100. When there are no previously applied first and second optical models, that is, when the operation of the semiconductor measurement apparatus begins, the controller may generate the first optical model and the second optical model as any model.” Paragraph [0078] – “The controller may generate the prediction image 530 for predicting a diffractive pattern of light reflected from the first unit region by executing a predetermined operation with a first optical model 510 and a second optical model 520.” Paragraph [0084] – “The controller may select a second optical model 521 corresponding to the second unit region from the plurality of second optical models 520 to 523, and may generate a prediction image 530 for the second unit region using the second optical model 521 and the first optical model 510. For the second unit region, the controller may adjust the first optical model 510 and the second optical model 520 by repeating the backward propagation operation and the forward wave operation as described above until the prediction image 530 and the original image 540 match each other.” Thus, the second optical model does not have a sufficient structure associated with it.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 5-7, 11, 12, and 17-19 along with their dependent claims 2-4, 8-10, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. As described above, the disclosure does not provide adequate structure to perform the claimed function in the recited limitations.
Claims 1, 5-7, 11, 12, and 17-19 recite limitations:
Claim 1; recites the limitation, “using a first optical model…,” [Line 11-12].
Claim 1; recites the limitation, “and a second optical model…,” [Line 12].
Claim 5; recites the limitation, “optimize each of the first optical model and the second optical model…,” [Line 2].
Claim 6; recites the limitation, “optimize each of the first optical model and the second optical model…,” [Line 2].
Claim 6; recites the limitation, “using the optimized first optical model and the optimized second optical model…,” [Line 4-5].
Claim 7; recites the limitation, “using the optimized first optical model, the optimized second optical model, or both the optimized first optical model and the optimized second optical model…,” [Line 3-5].
Claim 11; recites the limitation, “optimize the first optical model and the second optical model…,” [Line 3].
Claim 11; recites the limitation, “using the optimized first optical model and the optimized second optical model…,” [Line 7].
Claim 12; recites the limitation, “configured to apply different second optical models…,” [Line 2]
Claim 17; recites the limitation, “using a first optical model…,” [Line 4].
Claim 17; recites the limitation, “and a second optical model representing …,” [Line 5].
Claim 17; recites the limitation, “optimize the first optical model and the second optical model …,” [Line 7].
Claim 17; recites the limitation, “using the first optical model, the second optical model, or both the first optical model and the second optical model…,” [Line 10-11].
Claim 18; recites the limitation, “each optical model of the first optical model and the second optical model …,” [Line 2-3].
Claim 19; recites the limitation, “with a first optical model…,” [Line 10].
Claim 19; recites the limitation, “and a second optical model…,” [Line 11-12].
Claim 19; recites the limitation, “adjusting the first optical model and the second optical model …,” [Line 13-14].
The specification does not demonstrate that applicant has made an invention that achieves the claimed function because the invention is not described with sufficient detail such that one of ordinary skill in the art can reasonably conclude that the inventor had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 1, 5-7, 11, 12, and 17-19 along with their dependent claims 2-4, 8-10, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 5-7, 11, 12, and 17-19 recite limitations:
Claim 1; recites the limitation, “using a first optical model…,” [Line 11-12].
Claim 1; recites the limitation, “and a second optical model…,” [Line 12].
Claim 5; recites the limitation, “optimize each of the first optical model and the second optical model…,” [Line 2].
Claim 6; recites the limitation, “optimize each of the first optical model and the second optical model…,” [Line 2].
Claim 6; recites the limitation, “using the optimized first optical model and the optimized second optical model…,” [Line 4-5].
Claim 7; recites the limitation, “using the optimized first optical model, the optimized second optical model, or both the optimized first optical model and the optimized second optical model…,” [Line 3-5].
Claim 11; recites the limitation, “optimize the first optical model and the second optical model…,” [Line 3].
Claim 11; recites the limitation, “using the optimized first optical model and the optimized second optical model…,” [Line 7].
Claim 12; recites the limitation, “configured to apply different second optical models…,” [Line 2]
Claim 17; recites the limitation, “using a first optical model…,” [Line 4].
Claim 17; recites the limitation, “and a second optical model representing …,” [Line 5].
Claim 17; recites the limitation, “optimize the first optical model and the second optical model …,” [Line 7].
Claim 17; recites the limitation, “using the first optical model, the second optical model, or both the first optical model and the second optical model…,” [Line 10-11].
Claim 18; recites the limitation, “each optical model of the first optical model and the second optical model …,” [Line 2-3].
Claim 19; recites the limitation, “with a first optical model…,” [Line 10].
Claim 19; recites the limitation, “and a second optical model…,” [Line 11-12].
Claim 19; recites the limitation, “adjusting the first optical model and the second optical model …,” [Line 13-14].
Claims 1, 5-7, 11, 12, and 17-19 invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The specification is devoid of adequate structure to perform the claimed functions. The specification does not provide sufficient details such that one of ordinary skill in the art would understand which structure performed(s) the claimed function.
Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 8, 9, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (US 20170191945 A1), hereinafter referenced as Zhang in view of Wathen (US 20200072746 A1), hereinafter referenced as Wathen.
Regarding claim 1, Zhang teaches a semiconductor measurement apparatus (Fig. 1A, #100 called an inspection system, Paragraph [0051] – Zhang discloses the inspection system 100 includes an inspection measurement sub-system 102 to interrogate a sample 104) comprising:
a light source (Fig. 1B, #112 called illumination source, Paragraph [0055]) configured to output light in a predetermined wavelength band (Fig. 1B, Paragraph [0055]- Zhang discloses the inspection measurement sub-system 102 includes an illumination source 112 to generate an illumination beam 114. Zhang further discloses the illumination beam 114 may include one or more selected wavelengths of light including, but not limited to, ultraviolet (UV) radiation, visible radiation, or infrared (IR) radiation.);
a pattern generator (Fig. 1B, #102 called inspection measurement sub-system, Paragraph [0052]) configured to scatter the light output from the light source to produce a light pattern (Fig. 1B, Paragraph [ 0052] – Zhang discloses inspection measurement sub-system 102 [wherein inspection measurement sub-system is a pattern generator] may direct optical radiation to the sample 104 such that one or more defects are detectable based on detected radiation emanating from the sample 104 (e.g. reflected radiation, scattered radiation, diffracted radiation, luminescent radiation, or the like).);
a stage (Fig. 1B, #132 called a sample stage, Paragraph [0060]) arranged to receive the light pattern from the pattern generator (Fig. 1B, #102 called inspection measurement sub-system, Paragraph [0052]), wherein the stage is configured to support a sample in a position to reflect the light pattern (Fig. 1B, Paragraph [0060] – Zhang discloses the sample 104 is disposed on a sample stage 132 suitable for securing the sample 104 during scanning. In another embodiment, the sample stage 132 is an actuatable stage. For example, the sample stage 132 may include, but is not limited to, one or more translational stages suitable for selectably translating the sample 104 along one or more linear directions (e.g., x-direction, y-direction and/or z-direction).);
an image sensor (Fig. 1B, #126 called a detector, Paragraph [0058]) positioned to receive the light pattern reflected from the sample (Fig. 1B, Paragraph [0058] – Zhang discloses a detector 126 may receive radiation reflected or scattered (e.g. via specular reflection, diffuse reflection, and the like) from the sample 104.)
and to generate an original image (Fig. 8, image 804, Paragraph [0100] – Zhang discloses image 804 represents a reconstructed version of a test image of the sample to be inspected) representing a diffractive pattern of the light pattern reflected from the sample (Fig. 12, Paragraph [0119] – Zhang discloses in the case that multiple angles of illumination are simultaneously directed at the sample (e.g. through a fixed illumination aperture), the collection optics effectively combine the various diffracted orders associated with the multiple angles of illumination to generate the image);
and a controller (Fig. 1B, #106 called a controller, Paragraph [0054] – Zhang discloses the inspection system 100 includes a controller 106 coupled to the inspection measurement sub-system 102) configured to:
generate a prediction image for light incident on the image sensor (Fig. 1B, #126 called a detector, Fig. 12, Paragraph [0121] – Zhang discloses the method 1200 includes a step 1204 of estimating a PSF of the inspection system. For example, step 1204 may include estimating [wherein estimating is prediction] a separate PSF for each test image based on the corresponding illumination aperture used to generate the test image. Please also see Paragraph [0058])
using a first optical model representing optical characteristics of the light pattern (Fig. 1C illustrates optical characteristics of the light pattern, illumination pathway 116, Paragraph [0061] – Zhang discloses the illumination pathway 116 may utilize a first focusing element 134 to focus the illumination beam 114 onto the sample 104. Further, Fig. 4C, Paragraph [0076] – Zhang discloses in a general sense, the illumination and collection apertures may have any pattern.)
and a second optical model representing optical characteristics of a measurement region of the sample that reflects the light pattern (Figs. 1C illustrates optical characteristics of a measurement region of the sample, collection pathway 128, Paragraph [0061] – Zhang discloses the collection pathway 128 may utilize a second focusing element 136 to collect radiation from the sample 104. Further, Fig. 4C, Paragraph [0076] – Zhang discloses in a general sense, the illumination and collection apertures may have any pattern.),
compare the prediction image with the original image (Fig. 7, Paragraph [0099] – Zhang discloses step 206 includes a step 706 of generating a difference image between the reconstructed test image [wherein test image is the original image] and the reconstructed reference image [wherein reference image is the prediction image]),
Although Zhang explicitly teaches and generate a result image representing the measurement region (Fig. 7, Paragraph [0098] – Zhang discloses an inspection system (e.g. inspection system 100, or the like) may detect defects on a sample by generating a difference image [wherein a difference image is a result image] between a test image of the sample under inspection and a reference image).
Zhang fails to explicitly teach the speckled light pattern.
However, Wathen explicitly teaches the speckled light pattern (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0026] – Wathen discloses due to the various modes of light introduced by interaction with the scattering medium 110, if the scattered wave 120 is directed to a planar surface, such as the receiving surface of an optical receiver, the scattered wave 120 creates a speckle pattern 130. The speckle pattern 130 may be caused by the multiple modes of light of the scattered wave 120 interfering with each other both constructively and destructively. See also Fig. 3, Paragraph [0030].)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Zhang of having a semiconductor measurement apparatus comprising: a light source configured to output light in a predetermined wavelength band; a pattern generator configured to scatter the light output from the light source to produce a light pattern; a stage arranged to receive the light pattern from the pattern generator, wherein the stage is configured to support a sample in a position to reflect the light pattern; an image sensor positioned to receive the light pattern reflected from the sample and to generate an original image representing a diffractive pattern of the light pattern reflected from the sample, with the teachings of Wathen having the speckled light pattern.
Wherein having Zhang’s semiconductor measurement apparatus further comprising a speckled light pattern.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to obtain a semiconductor measurement apparatus configured to receive a speckle pattern output in order to facilitate defect detection and provide enhanced resolution or an enhanced signal to noise ratio of defects, since both Zhang and Wathen relate to optical measurement and detection systems, wherein Zhang has systems and methods for inspecting a sample for defects using super-resolution image reconstruction which may provide, but is not limited to providing, enhanced resolution or an enhanced signal to noise ratio (SNR) of defects, while Wathen’s systems, apparatuses, and methods are described herein that employ an optical receiver comprising an array of photoreceivers configured to receive portions of a speckle pattern; such an array of photoreceivers may be used to reduce or overcome issues with receiving a speckle pattern output from a scattering medium having a low SNR (signal-to-noise ratio). Please see Zhang (US 20170191945 A1), Paragraph [0039], and Wathen (US 20200072746 A1), Paragraph [0023].
Regarding claim 14, Zhang teaches a semiconductor measurement apparatus (Fig. 1A, #100 called an inspection system, Paragraph [0051] – Zhang discloses the inspection system 100 includes an inspection measurement sub-system 102 to interrogate a sample 104) comprising:
a stage (Fig. 1B, #132 called a sample stage, Paragraph [0060]) configured to adjust a position of the sample (Fig. 1B, Paragraph [0060] – Zhang discloses the sample 104 is disposed on a sample stage 132 suitable for securing the sample 104 during scanning. In another embodiment, the sample stage 132 is an actuatable stage. For example, the sample stage 132 may include, but is not limited to, one or more translational stages suitable for selectably translating the sample 104 along one or more linear directions (e.g., x-direction, y-direction and/or z-direction)) so that light is reflected in a selection region, wherein the selection region is a partial region of the sample (Fig. 1B, Paragraph [0065] – Zhang discloses portions of the reconstructed test image may be analyzed and compared to repeated portions of the test image, a reference image, design data, or the like for the detection of defects within the test image.);
and an image sensor (Fig. 1B, #126 called a detector, Paragraph [0058]) configured to generate an original image (Fig. 8, image 804 called a test image, Paragraph [0100]) in response to the light reflected from the selection region (Fig. 1B, Paragraph [0053] – Zhang discloses radiation collected by one or more detectors may associated with a single illuminated spot on the sample and may represent a single pixel of an image of the sample 104. In this regard, an image of the sample 104 may be generated by acquiring data from an array of sample locations. Further, the inspection measurement sub-system 102 may operate as a scatterometry-based inspection system in which radiation from the sample is analyzed at a pupil plane to characterize the angular distribution of radiation from the sample 104 (e.g. associated with scattering and/or diffraction of radiation by the sample 104).).
Although Zhang teaches a light source (Fig. 1B, #112 called an illumination source, Paragraph [0055] – Zhang discloses the inspection measurement sub-system 102 includes an illumination source 112 to generate an illumination beam 114. Zhang further discloses the illumination beam 114 may include one or more selected wavelengths of light including, but not limited to, ultraviolet (UV) radiation, visible radiation, or infrared (IR) radiation.); a pattern generator (Fig. 1B, #102 called inspection measurement sub-system, Paragraph [0052]).
Zhang fails to explicitly teach a light source configured to output coherent light; a pattern generator configured to emit light including a plurality of planar waves oriented in different directions to a sample by scattering the coherent light.
However, Wathen explicitly teaches a light source (Fig. 4, #410 called light source, Paragraph [0032]) configured to output coherent light (Fig. 4, Paragraph [0032] – Wathen discloses the light source 410 may be a laser configured to output coherent light (e.g., spatially coherent or temporally coherent) to the system 400 as the input beam 412.);
a pattern generator (Fig. 2, #205 called scattering medium, Paragraph [0029]) configured to emit light (Fig. 2, Paragraph [0029] – Wathen discloses due to refractions and reflections of light within the scattering medium 205 and the interference that occurs within and after leaving the scattering medium 205, a speckle pattern may be formed on the planar surface 215) including a plurality of planar waves (Fig. 2, #210 called paths of light, Paragraph [0029]) oriented in different directions to a sample by scattering the coherent light (Fig. 2, Paragraph [0029] – Wathen discloses when the optical input wave 200 exits the scattering medium 205, multiple interfering paths of light 210 [wherein paths of light 210 is a plurality of planar waves] are formed that are received by the planar surface 215 [wherein the planar surface 215 is a sample].).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Zhang of having a semiconductor measurement apparatus comprising: a stage configured to adjust a position of the sample so that light is reflected in a selection region, wherein the selection region is a partial region of the sample; and an image sensor configured to generate an original image in response to the light reflected from the selection region, with the teachings of Wathen having a light source configured to output coherent light; a pattern generator configured to emit light including a plurality of planar waves oriented in different directions to a sample by scattering the coherent light.
Wherein having Zhang’s semiconductor measurement apparatus further comprising a light source configured to output coherent light; a pattern generator configured to emit light including a plurality of planar waves oriented in different directions to a sample by scattering the coherent light.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to obtain a semiconductor measurement apparatus configured to receive a speckle pattern output in order to facilitate defect detection and provide enhanced resolution or an enhanced signal to noise ratio of defects, since both Zhang and Wathen relate to optical measurement and detection systems, wherein Zhang has systems and methods for inspecting a sample for defects using super-resolution image reconstruction which may provide, but is not limited to providing, enhanced resolution or an enhanced signal to noise ratio (SNR) of defects, while Wathen’s systems, apparatuses, and methods are described herein that employ an optical receiver comprising an array of photoreceivers configured to receive portions of a speckle pattern; such an array of photoreceivers may be used to reduce or overcome issues with receiving a speckle pattern output from a scattering medium having a low SNR (signal-to-noise ratio). Please see Zhang (US 20170191945 A1), Paragraph [0039], and Wathen (US 20200072746 A1), Paragraph [0023].
Regarding claim 2, Zhang in view of Wathen teach the semiconductor measurement apparatus of claim 1,
Although Zhang teaches the semiconductor measurement apparatus (Fig. 1A, #100 called an inspection system, Paragraph [0051]).
Zhang fails to explicitly teach further comprising: a mirror configured to reflect the speckled light pattern from the sample to the image sensor.
However, Wathen explicitly teaches further comprising: a mirror (Fig. 4, #420 called optics assembly, Paragraph [0033] – Wathen discloses the optics assembly 420 may be comprised of a collection of devices, such as polarizers, modulators, mirrors, splitters, and the like) configured to reflect the speckled light pattern from the sample to the image sensor (Figs. 4 & 6, Paragraph [0043] – Wathen discloses the object beam 432 is directed, for example, via optics including mirrors and the like, to interact with the object 433 such that a scattered output 434 is created. Wathen further discloses each photoreceiver including the photoreceiver 630 may receive a portion of the scattered output 434 as a portion of a speckle pattern formed by the scattered output 434.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Zhang in view of Wathen of having a semiconductor measurement apparatus comprising: a stage configured to adjust a position of the sample so that light is reflected in a selection region, wherein the selection region is a partial region of the sample; and an image sensor configured to generate an original image in response to the light reflected from the selection region, with the teachings of Wathen having further comprising: a mirror configured to reflect the speckled light pattern from the sample to the image sensor.
Wherein having Zhang’s semiconductor measurement apparatus further comprising: a mirror configured to reflect the speckled light pattern from the sample to the image sensor.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to obtain a semiconductor measurement apparatus configured to receive a speckle pattern output in order to facilitate defect detection and provide enhanced resolution or an enhanced signal to noise ratio of defects, since both Zhang and Wathen relate to optical measurement and detection systems, wherein Zhang has systems and methods for inspecting a sample for defects using super-resolution image reconstruction which may provide, but is not limited to providing, enhanced resolution or an enhanced signal to noise ratio (SNR) of defects, while Wathen’s systems, apparatuses, and methods are described herein that employ an optical receiver comprising an array of photoreceivers configured to receive portions of a speckle pattern; such an array of photoreceivers may be used to reduce or overcome issues with receiving a speckle pattern output from a scattering medium having a low SNR (signal-to-noise ratio). Please see Zhang (US 20170191945 A1), Paragraph [0039], and Wathen (US 20200072746 A1), Paragraph [0023].
Regarding claim 3, Zhang in view of Wathen teach the semiconductor measurement apparatus of claim 1,
Zhang further teaches wherein the wavelength band includes at least one of an ultraviolet band, an extreme ultraviolet wavelength band, and a visible light wavelength band (Fig. 1B, Paragraph [0055]- Zhang discloses the inspection measurement sub-system 102 includes an illumination source 112 to generate an illumination beam 114. Zhang further discloses the illumination beam 114 may include one or more selected wavelengths of light including, but not limited to, ultraviolet (UV) radiation, visible radiation, or infrared (IR) radiation.).
Regarding claim 4, Zhang in view of Wathen teach the semiconductor measurement apparatus of claim 1,
Although Zhang further teaches the semiconductor measurement apparatus (Fig. 1A, #100 called an inspection system, Paragraph [0051]).
Zhang fails to explicitly teach wherein the speckled light pattern includes a plurality of planar waves oriented in different directions.
However, Wathen explicitly teaches wherein the speckled light pattern (Fig. 1, #130 called speckle pattern, Paragraph [0026] – Wathen discloses the scattered wave 120 creates a speckle pattern 130) includes a plurality of planar waves (Fig. 2, #210 called paths of light, Paragraph [0029]) oriented in different directions (Fig. 2, Paragraph [0029] – Wathen discloses when the optical input wave 200 exits the scattering medium 205, multiple interfering paths of light 210 [wherein paths of light 210 is a plurality of planar waves] are formed that are received by the planar surface 215.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Zhang in view of Wathen of having a semiconductor measurement apparatus comprising: a stage configured to adjust a position of the sample so that light is reflected in a selection region, wherein the selection region is a partial region of the sample; and an image sensor configured to generate an original image in response to the light reflected from the selection region, with the teachings of Wathen having wherein the speckled light pattern includes a plurality of planar waves oriented in different directions.
Wherein having Zhang’s semiconductor measurement apparatus wherein, the speckled light pattern includes a plurality of planar waves oriented in different directions.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to obtain a semiconductor measurement apparatus configured to receive a speckle pattern output in order to facilitate defect detection and provide enhanced resolution or an enhanced signal to noise ratio of defects, since both Zhang and Wathen relate to optical measurement and detection systems, wherein Zhang has systems and methods for inspecting a sample for defects using super-resolution image reconstruction which may provide, but is not limited to providing, enhanced resolution or an enhanced signal to noise ratio (SNR) of defects, while Wathen’s systems, apparatuses, and methods are described herein that employ an optical receiver comprising an array of photoreceivers configured to receive portions of a speckle pattern; such an array of photoreceivers may be used to reduce or overcome issues with receiving a speckle pattern output from a scattering medium having a low SNR (signal-to-noise ratio). Please see Zhang (US 20170191945 A1), Paragraph [0039], and Wathen (US 20200072746 A1), Paragraph [0023].
Regarding claim 8, Zhang in view of Wathen teach the semiconductor measurement apparatus of claim 1,
Zhang further teaches wherein the result image is an image (Fig. 7, Paragraph [0098] – Zhang discloses an inspection system (e.g. inspection system 100, or the like) may detect defects on a sample by generating a difference image [wherein a difference image is a result image] between a test image of the sample under inspection and a reference image)
representing a shape of patterns formed in the measurement region of the sample (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0108] – Zhang discloses that design data may include what is known as a “floorplan,” which contains placement information for pattern elements on the sample 104.).
Regarding claim 9, Zhang in view of Wathen teach the semiconductor measurement apparatus of claim 1, Zhang further teaches wherein the controller (Fig. 1B, #106 called a controller, Paragraph [0054]) is configured to move the stage (Fig. 1B, #132 called a sample stage, Paragraph [0060] – Zhang discloses the sample stage 132 is an actuatable stage. For example, the sample stage 132 may include, but is not limited to, one or more translational stages suitable for selectably translating the sample 104 along one or more linear directions (e.g., x-direction, y-direction and/or z-direction))
so that the light pattern is reflected from a plurality of unit regions in the measurement region of the sample (Fig. 1B, Paragraph [0065] – Zhang discloses portions of the reconstructed test image may be analyzed and compared to repeated portions of the test image, a reference image, design data, or the like for the detection of defects within the test image.),
and the image sensor (Fig. 1B, #126 called a detector, Paragraph [0058]) is configured to generate a plurality of original images corresponding to the plurality of unit regions (Paragraph [0047] – Zhang discloses patch images [wherein patch images are original images] associated with localized areas [wherein localized areas are unit regions] around detected defects on a sample may be reconstructed. For example, an inspection system may generate one or more patch images, each having an expected defect and a portion of the image surrounding the defect, for defect classification.),
Although Zhang explicitly teaches and the controller (Fig. 1B, #106 called a controller, Paragraph [0054]) is configured to generate a plurality of prediction images for light reflected from the plurality of unit regions and being incident on the image sensor (Fig. 1B, #126 called a detector, Fig. 12, Paragraph [0121] – Zhang discloses the method 1200 includes a step 1204 of estimating a PSF of the inspection system. For example, step 1204 may include estimating [wherein estimating is prediction] a separate PSF for each test image based on the corresponding illumination aperture used to generate the test image. Please also see Paragraph [0058]).
Zhang fails to explicitly teach the speckled light pattern.
However, Wathen explicitly teaches the speckled light pattern (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0026] – Wathen discloses due to the various modes of light introduced by interaction with the scattering medium 110, if the scattered wave 120 is directed to a planar surface, such as the receiving surface of an optical receiver, the scattered wave 120 creates a speckle pattern 130. The speckle pattern 130 may be caused by the multiple modes of light of the scattered wave 120 interfering with each other both constructively and destructively. See also Fig. 3, Paragraph [0030].)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Zhang in view of Wathen of having a semiconductor measurement apparatus comprising: a stage configured to adjust a position of the sample so that light is reflected in a selection region, wherein the selection region is a partial region of the sample; and an image sensor configured to generate an original image in response to the light reflected from the selection region, with the teachings of Wathen having the speckled light pattern.
Wherein having Zhang’s semiconductor measurement apparatus further comprising a speckled light pattern.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to obtain a semiconductor measurement apparatus configured to receive a speckle pattern output in order to facilitate defect detection and provide enhanced resolution or an enhanced signal to noise ratio of defects, since both Zhang and Wathen relate to optical measurement and detection systems, wherein Zhang has systems and methods for inspecting a sample for defects using super-resolution image reconstruction which may provide, but is not limited to providing, enhanced resolution or an enhanced signal to noise ratio (SNR) of defects, while Wathen’s systems, apparatuses, and methods are described herein that employ an optical receiver comprising an array of photoreceivers configured to receive portions of a speckle pattern; such an array of photoreceivers may be used to reduce or overcome issues with receiving a speckle pattern output from a scattering medium having a low SNR (signal-to-noise ratio). Please see Zhang (US 20170191945 A1), Paragraph [0039], and Wathen (US 20200072746 A1), Paragraph [0023].
Regarding claim 16, Zhang in view of Wathen teach the semiconductor measurement apparatus of claim 14,
Zhang further teaches wherein the original image (Fig. 8, image 804 called a test image, Paragraph [0100]) is an image representing a diffractive pattern of light (Paragraph [0053] – Zhang discloses an image of the sample 104 may be generated by acquiring data from an array of sample locations. Further, the inspection measurement sub-system 102 may operate as a scatterometry-based inspection system in which radiation from the sample is analyzed at a pupil plane to characterize the angular distribution of radiation from the sample 104 (e.g. associated with scattering and/or diffraction of radiation by the sample 104).).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (US 20170191945 A1), hereinafter referenced as Zhang in view of Wathen (US 20200072746 A1), hereinafter referenced as Wathen, further in view of Boonzajer Flaes (US 20170269482 A1), hereinafter referenced as Boonzajer Flaes.
Regarding claim 10, Zhang in view of Wathen teach the semiconductor measurement apparatus of claim 9,
Although Zhang further teaches the semiconductor measurement apparatus (Fig. 1A, #100 called an inspection system, Paragraph [0051]).
Zhang fails to explicitly teach wherein at least two unit regions of the plurality of unit regions overlap.
However, Boonzajer Flaes explicitly teaches wherein at least two unit regions of the plurality of unit regions overlap (Figs. 5a-5c, Paragraph [0080] – Boonzajer Flaes discloses more than two diffraction patterns may be captured, as required. FIG. 5(c) shows two examples where a target areas Ti and T2 are each covered by a series of displaced radiation spots S(1) to S(N), all mutually displaced in X and/or Y directions but all overlapping significantly one or more of their neighbors.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Zhang in view of Wathen of having a semiconductor measurement apparatus comprising: a stage configured to adjust a position of the sample so that light is reflected in a selection region, wherein the selection region is a partial region of the sample; and an image sensor configured to generate an original image in response to the light reflected from the selection region, with the teachings of Boonzajer Flaes having wherein at least two unit regions of the plurality of unit regions overlap.
Wherein having Zhang’s semiconductor measurement apparatus further comprising wherein at least two unit regions of the plurality of unit regions overlap.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to obtain a semiconductor measurement apparatus that utilizes image reconstruction wherein phase information is retrieved from a plurality of captured images in order to facilitate defect detection and provide enhanced resolution, since both Zhang and Boonzajer Flaes relate to optical measurement and detection systems, wherein Zhang has systems and methods for inspecting a sample for defects using super-resolution image reconstruction which may provide, but is not limited to providing, enhanced resolution or an enhanced signal to noise ratio (SNR) of defects, while Boonzajer Flaes relates to inspection apparatus and methods usable for acquiring data describing target structures that enables robust image reconstruction from a set of interference pattern illuminations of a target. Please see Zhang (US 20170191945 A1), Paragraph [0039], and Boonzajer Flaes (US 20170269482 A1), Paragraph [0017].
Claims 11 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (US 20170191945 A1), hereinafter referenced as Zhang in view of Wathen (US 20200072746 A1), hereinafter referenced as Wathen, further in view of Boonzajer Flaes (US 20170269482 A1), hereinafter referenced as Boonzajer Flaes, further in view of Ma (US 20220179321 A1), hereinafter referenced as Ma.
Regarding claim 11, Zhang in view of Wathen and in further in view of Boonzajer Flaes teach the semiconductor measurement apparatus of claim 10,
Although Zhang further teaches wherein the controller (Fig. 1B, #106 called a controller, Paragraph [0054]).
Zhang in view of Wathen and in further in view of Boonzajer Flaes fails to explicitly teach wherein the controller is configured to: optimize the first optical model and the second optical model so that a difference between the plurality of prediction images and the plurality of original images is minimized and consistency between the plurality of prediction images is recognized, and generate a plurality of result images for the plurality of unit regions, using the optimized first optical model and the optimized second optical model.
However, Ma explicitly teaches wherein the controller (Fig. 22, #104/105 called processors [wherein processor is the controller], Paragraph [0145]) is configured to: optimize the first optical model and the second optical model (Fig. 22, Paragraph [0145] – Ma discloses processors (e.g., 104/105) can be configured to: calibrate the process model by adjusting values of model parameters of the process model. Figs. 4A-4C, Paragraph [0088] – Ma further discloses during backward propagation, following differentials may be computed and used to adjust first and second set of parameters.)
so that a difference between the plurality of prediction images and the plurality of original images is minimized and consistency between the plurality of prediction images is recognized (Fig. 4A, Paragraph [0082] – Ma discloses after several iterations, a global or local optimum values of the parameters are obtained such that the difference in prediction and measurements is minimized. Paragraph [0128] – Ma further discloses the calibrated model may be overfitted so that it makes good predictions with respect to the measurement data.)
and generate a plurality of result images (Fig. 14, Paragraph [0160] – Ma discloses calibrating a process model such that the process model generates a simulated image that (i) minimizes an intensity difference or a frequency difference between the simulated image and the reference image 3002, and (ii) satisfies the gradient constraint 3004),
for the plurality of unit regions (Figs. 16-17, Paragraph [0145] – Ma discloses the system includes a metrology tool (e.g., SEM tool in FIGS. 16 and 17) configured to obtain measurement data 2002 at a plurality of measurement locations on a pattern.)
using the optimized first optical model (Fig. 2, #31 called a source model, Paragraph [0063]) and the optimized second optical model (Fig. 2, #32 called a projection optics model, Paragraph [0063]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Zhang in view of Wathen and in further in view of Boonzajer Flaes of having a semiconductor measurement apparatus comprising: a stage configured to adjust a position of the sample so that light is reflected in a selection region, wherein the selection region is a partial region of the sample; and an image sensor configured to generate an original image in response to the light reflected from the selection region, with the teachings of Ma having wherein the controller is configured to: optimize the first optical model and the second optical model so that a difference between the plurality of prediction images and the plurality of original images is minimized and consistency between the plurality of prediction images is recognized, and generate a plurality of result images for the plurality of unit regions, using the optimized first optical model and the optimized second optical model.
Wherein having Zhang’s semiconductor measurement apparatus wherein, the controller is configured to: optimize the first optical model and the second optical model so that a difference between the plurality of prediction images and the plurality of original images is minimized and consistency between the plurality of prediction images is recognized, and generate a plurality of result images for the plurality of unit regions, using the optimized first optical model and the optimized second optical model.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to obtain a semiconductor measurement apparatus that has an improved way to measure characteristics of a pattern that will be printed on a substrate, and make accurate predictions of metrology images, thereby saving metrology time and resources, since both Zhang and Ma relate to optical measurement and detection systems, wherein Zhang has systems and methods for inspecting a sample for defects using super-resolution image reconstruction which may provide, but is not limited to providing, enhanced resolution or an enhanced signal to noise ratio (SNR) of defects, while Ma discloses patterning process models employed to predict a pattern that will be printed on the substrate, wherein fast and accurate models serve to improve device performance (e.g., yield), enhance process windows, patterning recipes, and/or increase complexity of design pattern. Please see Zhang (US 20170191945 A1), Paragraph [0039], and Ma (US 20220179321 A1), Paragraphs [0008, 0069].
Regarding claim 13, Zhang in view of Wathen teach the semiconductor measurement apparatus of claim 1,
Although Zhang explicitly teaches the light source (Fig. 1B, #112 called illumination source, Paragraph [0055]), the pattern generator (Fig. 1B, #102 called inspection measurement sub-system, Paragraph [0052]), the stage (Fig. 1B, #132 called a sample stage, Paragraph [0060]), and the image sensor (Fig. 1B, #126 called a detector, Paragraph [0058]).
Zhang in view of Wathen fails to explicitly teach further comprising: a housing having a space in which the light source, the pattern generator, the stage, and the image sensor are disposed.
However, Ma explicitly teaches a housing (Fig. 25, #220 called enclosing structure, Paragraph [0256]) having a space in which the light source, the pattern generator, the stage, and the image sensor are disposed (Fig. 25, Paragraph [0256] – Ma discloses FIG. 25 shows the apparatus LA in more detail, including the source collector module SO, the illumination system IL, and the projection system PS. The source collector module SO is constructed and arranged such that a vacuum environment can be maintained in an enclosing structure 220 of the source collector module SO.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Zhang in view of Wathen of having a semiconductor measurement apparatus comprising: a stage configured to adjust a position of the sample so that light is reflected in a selection region, wherein the selection region is a partial region of the sample; and an image sensor configured to generate an original image in response to the light reflected from the selection region, with the teachings of Ma having further comprising: a housing having a space in which the light source, the pattern generator, the stage, and the image sensor are disposed.
Wherein having Zhang’s semiconductor measurement apparatus wherein, further comprising: a housing having a space in which the light source, the pattern generator, the stage, and the image sensor are disposed.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to obtain a semiconductor measurement apparatus that has an improved way to measure characteristics of a pattern that will be printed on a substrate, and make accurate predictions of metrology images, thereby saving metrology time and resources, since both Zhang and Ma relate to optical measurement and detection systems, wherein Zhang has systems and methods for inspecting a sample for defects using super-resolution image reconstruction which may provide, but is not limited to providing, enhanced resolution or an enhanced signal to noise ratio (SNR) of defects, while Ma discloses patterning process models employed to predict a pattern that will be printed on the substrate, wherein fast and accurate models serve to improve device performance (e.g., yield), enhance process windows, patterning recipes, and/or increase complexity of design pattern. Please see Zhang (US 20170191945 A1), Paragraph [0039], and Ma (US 20220179321 A1), Paragraphs [0008, 0069].
Although Ma teaches configured to maintain the space in a vacuum state (Fig. 25, Paragraph [0256] – Ma discloses the source collector module SO is constructed and arranged such that a vacuum environment can be maintained in an enclosing structure 220 of the source collector module SO.).
Zhang in view of Wathen, further in view of Ma fails to explicitly teach and a pump configured to maintain the space in a vacuum state.
However, Boonzajer Flaes explicitly teaches and a pump (Fig. 3, #442 called vacuum pump, Paragraph [0071]) configured to maintain the space in a vacuum state (Fig. 3, #442 called vacuum pump, Paragraph [0071] – Boonzajer Flaes discloses the atmosphere within inspection chamber 440 is maintained near vacuum by vacuum pump 442, so that EUV radiation can pass without undue attenuation through the atmosphere.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Zhang in view of Wathen, further in view of Ma of having a semiconductor measurement apparatus comprising: a stage configured to adjust a position of the sample so that light is reflected in a selection region, wherein the selection region is a partial region of the sample; and an image sensor configured to generate an original image in response to the light reflected from the selection region, with the teachings of Boonzajer Flaes of having and a pump configured to maintain the space in a vacuum state.
Wherein having Zhang’s semiconductor measurement apparatus wherein having a pump configured to maintain the space in a vacuum state.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to obtain a semiconductor measurement apparatus that utilizes image reconstruction wherein phase information is retrieved from a plurality of captured images in order to facilitate defect detection and provide enhanced resolution, since both Zhang and Boonzajer Flaes relate to optical measurement and detection systems, wherein Zhang has systems and methods for inspecting a sample for defects using super-resolution image reconstruction which may provide, but is not limited to providing, enhanced resolution or an enhanced signal to noise ratio (SNR) of defects, while Boonzajer Flaes relates to inspection apparatus and methods usable for acquiring data describing target structures that enables robust image reconstruction from a set of interference pattern illuminations of a target. Please see Zhang (US 20170191945 A1), Paragraph [0039], and Boonzajer Flaes (US 20170269482 A1), Paragraph [0017].
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (US 20170191945 A1), hereinafter referenced as Zhang in view of Wathen (US 20200072746 A1), hereinafter referenced as Wathen, further in view of Zalevsky (US 20170004623 A1), hereinafter referenced as Zalevsky.
Regarding claim 15, Zhang in view of Wathen teach the semiconductor measurement apparatus of claim 14,
Although Zhang explicitly teaches the semiconductor measurement apparatus (Fig. 1A, #100 called an inspection system, Paragraph [0051]).
Zhang fails to explicitly teach wherein the pattern generator includes at least one of a diffractive optical element, an optical lattice structure, a scattering element, and a wavefront modulator.
However, Wathen explicitly teaches wherein the pattern generator includes (Fig. 2, #205 called scattering medium, Paragraph [0029]).
Wathen further teaches an optical lattice structure (Fig. 3, #251 called collectors, paragraph [0030] – Wathen discloses an array of smaller collectors 251 for respective photoreceivers may be distributed across the planar surface 252 of an optical receiver 250. Wathen further discloses the collectors 251 may be disposed in a grid configuration [wherein a grid configuration is an optical lattice structure], where size and spacing (e.g., pitch) of the collectors 251 may be defined based on characteristics of the speckle pattern.),
a scattering element (Fig. 2, #205 called scattering medium, Paragraph [0029] – Wathen discloses when the optical input wave 200 exits the scattering medium 205, multiple interfering paths of light 210 are formed that are received by the planar surface 215) and a wavefront modulator (Fig. 4, #420 called optics assembly, Paragraph [0033] – Wathen discloses the optics assembly 420 may be comprised of a collection of devices, such as polarizers, modulators, mirrors, splitters, and the like that together are configured to perform the functionalities of the optics assembly 420 as described herein.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of in view of Wathen of having a semiconductor measurement apparatus comprising: a light source configured to output coherent light; a pattern generator configured to emit light including a plurality of planar waves oriented in different directions to a sample by scattering the coherent light, with the teachings of Wathen having wherein the pattern generator includes an optical lattice structure, a scattering element, and a wavefront modulator.
Wherein having Zhang’s semiconductor measurement apparatus, wherein the pattern generator includes an optical lattice structure, a scattering element, and a wavefront modulator.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to obtain a semiconductor measurement apparatus configured to receive a speckle pattern output in order to facilitate defect detection and provide enhanced resolution or an enhanced signal to noise ratio of defects, since both Zhang and Wathen relate to optical measurement and detection systems, wherein Zhang has systems and methods for inspecting a sample for defects using super-resolution image reconstruction which may provide, but is not limited to providing, enhanced resolution or an enhanced signal to noise ratio (SNR) of defects, while Wathen’s systems, apparatuses, and methods are described herein that employ an optical receiver comprising an array of photoreceivers configured to receive portions of a speckle pattern; such an array of photoreceivers may be used to reduce or overcome issues with receiving a speckle pattern output from a scattering medium having a low SNR (signal-to-noise ratio). Please see Zhang (US 20170191945 A1), Paragraph [0039], and Wathen (US 20200072746 A1), Paragraph [0023].
Zhang in view of Wathen fail to explicitly teach at least one of a diffractive optical element.
However, Zalevsky explicitly teaches at least one of a diffractive optical element (Fig. 6A, #12D called diffractive element, Paragraph [0132] – Zalevsky discloses Fig. 6A exemplifies a mapping system 80 in which a diffractive element 12D is accommodated in the optical path of speckle pattern propagating towards the object. Diffractive optical element can be configured as an adjustor 25 implementing reduction of contrast (relative brightness) for planes differently distanced from the light source.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Zhang in view of Wathen of having a semiconductor measurement apparatus comprising: a light source configured to output coherent light; a pattern generator configured to emit light including a plurality of planar waves oriented in different directions to a sample by scattering the coherent light, with the teachings of Zalevsky having at least one of a diffractive optical element.
Wherein having Zhang’s semiconductor measurement apparatus, wherein the pattern generator includes at least one of a diffractive optical element.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to obtain a semiconductor measurement apparatus that utilizes image reconstruction in order to facilitate defect detection and provide enhanced resolution, since both Zhang and Zalevsky relate to optical measurement and object reconstruction systems, wherein Zhang has systems and methods for inspecting a sample for defects using super-resolution image reconstruction which may provide, but is not limited to providing, enhanced resolution or an enhanced signal to noise ratio (SNR) of defects, while Zalevsky provides a novel technique allowing a real-time and very accurate mapping of 3-D objects, which can advantageously be used to provide data input to a Man Machine Interface. Please see Zhang (US 20170191945 A1), Paragraph [0039], and Zalevsky (US 20170004623 A1), Paragraph [0026-0027].
Claims 5-7, 12, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (US 20170191945 A1), hereinafter referenced as Zhang in view of Wathen (US 20200072746 A1), hereinafter referenced as Wathen, further in view of Ma (US 20220179321 A1), hereinafter referenced as Ma.
Regarding claim 5, Zhang in view of Wathen teach the semiconductor measurement apparatus of claim 1, Zhang further teaches the semiconductor measurement apparatus (Fig. 1A, #100 called an inspection system, Paragraph [0051]).
Although Zhang teaches wherein the controller (Fig. 1B, #106 called a controller, Paragraph [0054] – Zhang discloses the inspection system 100 includes a controller 106 coupled to the inspection measurement sub-system 102).
Zhang in view of Wathen fails to explicitly teach wherein the controller is configured to optimize each of the first optical model and the second optical model by executing a backward propagation operation using a difference between the prediction image and the original image.
However, Ma explicitly teaches wherein the controller (Fig. 22, #104/105 called processors [wherein processor is the controller], Paragraph [0145]) is configured to optimize each of the first optical model and the second optical model (Fig. 22, Paragraph [0145] – Ma discloses processors (e.g., 104/105) can be configured to: calibrate the process model by adjusting values of model parameters of the process model. Figs. 4A-4C, Paragraph [0088] – Ma further discloses during backward propagation, following differentials may be computed and used to adjust first and second set of parameters.)
by executing a backward propagation operation (Figs. 4A-4C, Paragraph [0086] – Ma discloses back propagation may be performed and a gradient-decent method may be employed)
using a difference between the prediction image and the original image (Figs. 4A-4C, Paragraph [0088] – Ma discloses determining the difference (e.g., loss in FIG. 4A-4C) between the measured pattern [wherein measured pattern is the original image] and the predicted pattern (e.g., output) [wherein the predicted pattern is the prediction image] of the patterning process model; determining a differential of the difference (e.g., d(loss)) with respect to the first set of parameters (e.g., c.sub.i, param.sub.i, z.sub.i, u.sub.i, w.sub.i, etc.) and the set of second parameters; and determining values of the first set of parameters and the second set of parameters by backward propagation of the outputs of the first model and the machine learning model based on the differential of the difference.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Zhang in view of Wathen of having a semiconductor measurement apparatus comprising: a light source configured to output light in a predetermined wavelength band; a pattern generator configured to scatter the light output from the light source to produce a light pattern; a stage arranged to receive the light pattern from the pattern generator, wherein the stage is configured to support a sample in a position to reflect the light pattern, with the teachings of Ma having wherein the controller is configured to optimize each of the first optical model and the second optical model by executing a backward propagation operation using a difference between the prediction image and the original image.
Wherein having Zhang’s semiconductor measurement apparatus wherein, the controller is configured to optimize each of the first optical model and the second optical model by executing a backward propagation operation using a difference between the prediction image and the original image.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to obtain a semiconductor measurement apparatus that an improved way to measure characteristics of a pattern that will be printed on a substrate, and make accurate predictions of metrology images, thereby saving metrology time and resources, since both Zhang and Ma relate to optical measurement and detection systems, wherein Zhang has systems and methods for inspecting a sample for defects using super-resolution image reconstruction which may provide, but is not limited to providing, enhanced resolution or an enhanced signal to noise ratio (SNR) of defects, while Ma discloses patterning process models employed to predict a pattern that will be printed on the substrate, wherein fast and accurate models serve to improve device performance (e.g., yield), enhance process windows, patterning recipes, and/or increase complexity of design pattern. Please see Zhang (US 20170191945 A1), Paragraph [0039], and Ma (US 20220179321 A1), Paragraphs [0008, 0069].
Regarding claim 6, Zhang in view of Wathen teach the semiconductor measurement apparatus of claim 1, Zhang further teaches the semiconductor measurement apparatus (Fig. 1A, #100 called an inspection system, Paragraph [0051]).
Although Zhang teaches wherein the controller (Fig. 1B, #106 called a controller, Paragraph [0054] – Zhang discloses the inspection system 100 includes a controller 106 coupled to the inspection measurement sub-system 102).
Zhang in view of Wathen fails to explicitly teach wherein the controller is configured to optimize each of the first optical model and the second optical model to minimize a difference between the prediction image and the original image, and wherein the result image is generated using the optimized first optical model and the optimized second optical model.
However, Ma explicitly teaches wherein the controller (Fig. 22, #104/105 called processors [wherein processor is the controller], Paragraph [0145]) is configured to optimize each of the first optical model and the second optical model (Fig. 22, Paragraph [0145] – Ma discloses processors (e.g., 104/105) can be configured to: calibrate the process model by adjusting values of model parameters of the process model. Figs. 4A-4C, Paragraph [0088] – Ma further discloses during backward propagation, following differentials may be computed and used to adjust first and second set of parameters.)
to minimize a difference between the prediction image and the original image (Fig. 4A, Paragraph [0082] – Ma discloses after several iterations, a global or local optimum values of the parameters are obtained such that the difference in prediction and measurements is minimized.),
and wherein the result image is generated (Fig. 14, Paragraph [0160] – Ma discloses calibrating a process model such that the process model generates a simulated image that (i) minimizes an intensity difference or a frequency difference between the simulated image and the reference image 3002, and (ii) satisfies the gradient constraint 3004) using the optimized first optical model (Fig. 2, #31 called a source model, Paragraph [0063]) and the optimized second optical model (Fig. 2, #32 called a projection optics model, Paragraph [0063]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Zhang in view of Wathen of having a semiconductor measurement apparatus comprising: a light source configured to output light in a predetermined wavelength band; a pattern generator configured to scatter the light output from the light source to produce a light pattern; a stage arranged to receive the light pattern from the pattern generator, wherein the stage is configured to support a sample in a position to reflect the light pattern, with the teachings of Ma having wherein the controller is configured to optimize each of the first optical model and the second optical model to minimize a difference between the prediction image and the original image, and wherein the result image is generated using the optimized first optical model and the optimized second optical model.
Wherein having Zhang’s semiconductor measurement apparatus wherein, the controller is configured to optimize each of the first optical model and the second optical model to minimize a difference between the prediction image and the original image, and wherein the result image is generated using the optimized first optical model and the optimized second optical model.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to obtain a semiconductor measurement apparatus that an improved way to measure characteristics of a pattern that will be printed on a substrate, and make accurate predictions of metrology images, thereby saving metrology time and resources, since both Zhang and Ma relate to optical measurement and detection systems, wherein Zhang has systems and methods for inspecting a sample for defects using super-resolution image reconstruction which may provide, but is not limited to providing, enhanced resolution or an enhanced signal to noise ratio (SNR) of defects, while Ma discloses patterning process models employed to predict a pattern that will be printed on the substrate, wherein fast and accurate models serve to improve device performance (e.g., yield), enhance process windows, patterning recipes, and/or increase complexity of design pattern. Please see Zhang (US 20170191945 A1), Paragraph [0039], and Ma (US 20220179321 A1), Paragraphs [0008, 0069].
Regarding claim 7, Zhang in view of Wathen, further in view of Ma teach the semiconductor measurement apparatus of claim 6, Zhang further teaches the semiconductor measurement apparatus (Fig. 1A, #100 called an inspection system, Paragraph [0051])
wherein the controller (Fig. 1B, #106 called a controller, Paragraph [0054] – Zhang discloses the inspection system 100 includes a controller 106 coupled to the inspection measurement sub-system 102) is configured to:
obtain a phase image of light incident on the image sensor (Fig. 1B, #126 called a detector [wherein a detector is the image sensor], Paragraph [0058] – Zhang discloses a detector 126 may receive an image of the sample 104 provided by elements in the collection pathway 128 (e.g. the objective lens 124, the one or more lenses 130, or the like). By way of another example, a detector 126 may receive radiation reflected or scattered (e.g. via specular reflection, diffuse reflection, and the like) from the sample 104. Fig. 12, Paragraph [0121] – Zhang further discloses the method 1200 includes a step 1204 of estimating a PSF of the inspection system. For example, step 1204 may include estimating a separate PSF for each test image based on the corresponding illumination aperture used to generate the test image.)
using the optimized first optical model (Fig. 1C illustrates optical characteristics of the light pattern, illumination pathway 116, Paragraph [0061]), the optimized second optical model (Figs. 1C illustrates optical characteristics of a measurement region of the sample, collection pathway 128, Paragraph [0061]), or both the optimized first optical model and the optimized second optical model (Fig. 3, Paragraph [0074] – Zhang discloses step 302 may include generating an estimate of the PSF based on a Fourier transform of a linear combination of the illumination aperture (e.g. corresponding to a spatial distribution of illumination provided by the illumination source 112) and the collection aperture of the illumination system),
and determine physical properties of a layer included in the measurement region of the sample, a height of patterns formed in the measurement region of the sample, or both the physical properties and the height of the patterns (Fig. 10, Paragraph [0107] – Zhang discloses design data may include characteristics of individual components and/or layers on the sample 104 (e.g. an insulator, a conductor, a semiconductor, a well, a substrate, or the like), a connectivity relationship between layers on the sample 104, or a physical layout of components and connections (e.g. wires) on the sample 104. In this regard, design data may include a plurality of design pattern elements corresponding to printed pattern elements on the sample 104. Please also see Paragraphs [0108-0110]),
using the phase image (Fig. 10, Paragraph [0104] – Zhang discloses FIG. 10 is an image 1000 illustrating a map of sample features 1002 based on design data overlaid with defects 1004 detected based on a difference image generated using a reconstructed reference image and a reconstructed test image with a sparse-distribution regularization parameter.).
Regarding claim 12, Zhang in view of Wathen teach the semiconductor measurement apparatus of claim 9,
Although Zhang explicitly teaches wherein the controller (Fig. 1B, #106 called a controller, Paragraph [0054]).
Zhang fails to explicitly teach wherein the controller is configured to apply different second optical models to at least two unit regions of the plurality of unit regions.
However, Ma explicitly teaches wherein the controller (Fig. 22, #104/105 called processors [wherein processor is the controller], Paragraph [0145]) is configured to apply different second optical models (Fig. 4C, Paragraph [0087] – Ma discloses the process model is configured to include (i) one or more models including physical terms (e.g., variables of the patterning process) of the patterning process and (ii) one or more machine learning models (CNNs))
to at least two unit regions of the plurality of unit regions (Figs. 16-17, Paragraph [0145] – Ma discloses the system includes a metrology tool (e.g., SEM tool in FIGS. 16 and 17) configured to obtain measurement data 2002 at a plurality of measurement locations on a pattern.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Zhang in view of Wathen of having the semiconductor measurement apparatus of claim 9, with the teachings of Ma having wherein the controller is configured to apply different second optical models to at least two unit regions of the plurality of unit regions.
Wherein having Zhang’s semiconductor measurement apparatus wherein, the controller is configured to apply different second optical models to at least two unit regions of the plurality of unit regions.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to obtain a semiconductor measurement apparatus that an improved way to measure characteristics of a pattern that will be printed on a substrate, and make accurate predictions of metrology images, thereby saving metrology time and resources, since both Zhang and Ma relate to optical measurement and detection systems, wherein Zhang has systems and methods for inspecting a sample for defects using super-resolution image reconstruction which may provide, but is not limited to providing, enhanced resolution or an enhanced signal to noise ratio (SNR) of defects, while Ma discloses patterning process models employed to predict a pattern that will be printed on the substrate, wherein fast and accurate models serve to improve device performance (e.g., yield), enhance process windows, patterning recipes, and/or increase complexity of design pattern. Please see Zhang (US 20170191945 A1), Paragraph [0039], and Ma (US 20220179321 A1), Paragraphs [0008, 0069].
Regarding claim 17, Zhang in view of Wathen teach the semiconductor measurement apparatus of claim 16,
Zhang further teaches further comprising: a controller (Fig. 1B, #106 called a controller, Paragraph [0054] - Zhang discloses the inspection system 100 includes a controller 106 coupled to the inspection measurement sub-system 102) configured to:
generate a prediction image, for estimating diffractive characteristics of light incident on the image sensor (Fig. 1B, #126 called a detector, Fig. 12, Paragraph [0121] – Zhang discloses the method 1200 includes a step 1204 of estimating a PSF of the inspection system. For example, step 1204 may include estimating [wherein estimating is prediction] a separate PSF for each test image based on the corresponding illumination aperture used to generate the test image. Please also see Paragraph [0058])
using a first optical model representing optical characteristics of light emitted by the pattern generator (Fig. 1C illustrates optical characteristics of the light pattern, illumination pathway 116, Paragraph [0061] – Zhang discloses the illumination pathway 116 may utilize a first focusing element 134 to focus the illumination beam 114 onto the sample 104. Further, Fig. 4C, Paragraph [0076] – Zhang discloses in a general sense, the illumination and collection apertures may have any pattern)
and a second optical model representing optical characteristics of the selection region (Figs. 1C illustrates optical characteristics of a measurement region of the sample, collection pathway 128, Paragraph [0061] – Zhang discloses the collection pathway 128 may utilize a second focusing element 136 to collect radiation from the sample 104. Further, Fig. 4C, Paragraph [0076] – Zhang discloses in a general sense, the illumination and collection apertures may have any pattern.).
Zhang teaches and generate a result image (Fig. 7, Paragraph [0098] – Zhang discloses an inspection system (e.g. inspection system 100, or the like) may detect defects on a sample by generating a difference image [wherein a difference image is a result image] between a test image of the sample under inspection and a reference image)
representing a shape of structures included in the selection region (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0108] – Zhang discloses that design data may include what is known as a “floorplan,” which contains placement information for pattern elements on the sample 104.)
Although Zhang teaches using the first optical model (Fig. 1C illustrates optical characteristics of the light pattern, illumination pathway 116, Paragraph [0061]), the second optical model (Figs. 1C illustrates optical characteristics of a measurement region of the sample, collection pathway 128, Paragraph [0061]), or both the first optical model and the second optical model (Fig. 3, Paragraph [0074] – Zhang discloses step 302 may include generating an estimate of the PSF based on a Fourier transform of a linear combination of the illumination aperture (e.g. corresponding to a spatial distribution of illumination provided by the illumination source 112) and the collection aperture of the illumination system.).
Zhang fails to explicitly teach optimize the first optical model and the second optical model using a difference between the prediction image and the original image.
However, Ma explicitly teaches optimize the first optical model and the second optical model (Fig. 22, Paragraph [0145] – Ma discloses processors (e.g., 104/105) can be configured to: calibrate the process model by adjusting values of model parameters of the process model. Figs. 4A-4C, Paragraph [0088] – Ma further discloses during backward propagation, following differentials may be computed and used to adjust first and second set of parameters)
using a difference between the prediction image and the original image (Fig. 4A, Paragraph [0082] – Ma discloses after several iterations, a global or local optimum values of the parameters are obtained such that the difference in prediction and measurements is minimized.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Zhang of having the semiconductor measurement apparatus of claim 16, further comprising: a controller configured to: generate a prediction image, for estimating diffractive characteristics of light incident on the image sensor, using a first optical model representing optical characteristics of light emitted by the pattern generator and a second optical model representing optical characteristics of the selection region, and generate a result image representing a shape of structures included in the selection region using the first optical model, the second optical model, or both the first optical model and the second optical model, with the teachings of Ma having optimize the first optical model and the second optical model using a difference between the prediction image and the original image.
Wherein having Zhang’s semiconductor measurement apparatus, further comprising, wherein, a controller configured to: optimize the first optical model and the second optical model using a difference between the prediction image and the original image.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to obtain a semiconductor measurement apparatus that an improved way to measure characteristics of a pattern that will be printed on a substrate, and make accurate predictions of metrology images, thereby saving metrology time and resources, since both Zhang and Ma relate to optical measurement and detection systems, wherein Zhang has systems and methods for inspecting a sample for defects using super-resolution image reconstruction which may provide, but is not limited to providing, enhanced resolution or an enhanced signal to noise ratio (SNR) of defects, while Ma discloses patterning process models employed to predict a pattern that will be printed on the substrate, wherein fast and accurate models serve to improve device performance (e.g., yield), enhance process windows, patterning recipes, and/or increase complexity of design pattern. Please see Zhang (US 20170191945 A1), Paragraph [0039], and Ma (US 20220179321 A1), Paragraphs [0008, 0069].
Regarding claim 18, Zhang in view of Wathen teach the semiconductor measurement apparatus of claim 17,
Although Zhang further teaches wherein the controller (Fig. 1B, #106 called a controller, Paragraph [0054]).
Zhang fails to explicitly teach wherein the controller is configured to determine initial values of each optical model of the first optical model and the second optical model.
However, Ma explicitly teaches wherein the controller (Fig. 22, #104/105 called processors [wherein processor is the controller], Paragraph [0145]) is configured to determine initial values of each optical model of the first optical model and the second optical model (Fig. 22, Paragraph [0085] – Ma discloses initial values of the first set of parameters and the second set of parameters may be assigned to start the simulation process. Paragraph [0145] – Ma further discloses processors (e.g., 104/105) can be configured to: calibrate the process model by adjusting values of model parameters of the process model).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Zhang of having the semiconductor measurement apparatus of claim 17, with the teachings of Ma having wherein the controller is configured to determine initial values of each optical model of the first optical model and the second optical model.
Wherein having Zhang’s semiconductor measurement apparatus wherein, the controller is configured to determine initial values of each optical model of the first optical model and the second optical model.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to obtain a semiconductor measurement apparatus that an improved way to measure characteristics of a pattern that will be printed on a substrate, and make accurate predictions of metrology images, thereby saving metrology time and resources, since both Zhang and Ma relate to optical measurement and detection systems, wherein Zhang has systems and methods for inspecting a sample for defects using super-resolution image reconstruction which may provide, but is not limited to providing, enhanced resolution or an enhanced signal to noise ratio (SNR) of defects, while Ma discloses patterning process models employed to predict a pattern that will be printed on the substrate, wherein fast and accurate models serve to improve device performance (e.g., yield), enhance process windows, patterning recipes, and/or increase complexity of design pattern. Please see Zhang (US 20170191945 A1), Paragraph [0039], and Ma (US 20220179321 A1), Paragraphs [0008, 0069].
Regarding claim 19, Zhang teaches a semiconductor measurement apparatus (Fig. 1A, #100 called an inspection system, Paragraph [0051] – Zhang discloses the inspection system 100 includes an inspection measurement sub-system 102 to interrogate a sample 104) comprising:
a stage (Fig. 1B, #132 called a sample stage, Paragraph [0060]) in which a sample (Fig. 1B, #104 called a sample, Paragraph [0060]) for reflecting the light output from the speckle lighting is disposed (Fig. 1B, Paragraph [0060] – Zhang discloses the sample 104 is disposed on a sample stage 132 suitable for securing the sample 104 during scanning. In another embodiment, the sample stage 132 is an actuatable stage. Paragraph [0058] – Zhang further discloses a detector 126 may receive radiation reflected or scattered (e.g. via specular reflection, diffuse reflection, and the like) from the sample 104.);
an image sensor (Fig. 1B, #126 called a detector, Paragraph [0058]) configured to generate an original image (Fig. 8, image 804 called a test image, Paragraph [0100]) in response to light reflected from a partial region of the sample (Fig. 1B, Paragraph [0053] – Zhang discloses radiation collected by one or more detectors may associated with a single illuminated spot on the sample and may represent a single pixel of an image of the sample 104. In this regard, an image of the sample 104 may be generated by acquiring data from an array of sample locations. Further, the inspection measurement sub-system 102 may operate as a scatterometry-based inspection system in which radiation from the sample is analyzed at a pupil plane to characterize the angular distribution of radiation from the sample 104 (e.g. associated with scattering and/or diffraction of radiation by the sample 104));
and a controller (Fig. 1B, #106 called a controller, Paragraph [0054] – Zhang discloses the inspection system 100 includes a controller 106 coupled to the inspection measurement sub-system 102) configured to:
generate a prediction image, for estimating a diffractive pattern of light incident on the image sensor (Fig. 1B, #126 called a detector, Fig. 12, Paragraph [0121] – Zhang discloses the method 1200 includes a step 1204 of estimating a PSF of the inspection system. For example, step 1204 may include estimating [wherein estimating is prediction] a separate PSF for each test image based on the corresponding illumination aperture used to generate the test image. Please also see Paragraph [0058]),
Although Zhang teaches and obtain a result image (Fig. 7, Paragraph [0098] – Zhang discloses an inspection system (e.g. inspection system 100, or the like) may detect defects on a sample by generating a difference image [wherein a difference image is a result image] between a test image of the sample under inspection and a reference image) representing the partial region of the sample (Fig. 1B, Paragraph [0065] – Zhang discloses portions of the reconstructed test image may be analyzed and compared to repeated portions of the test image, a reference image, design data, or the like for the detection of defects within the test image.).
Zhang fails to explicitly teach a speckle lighting configured to output light including a plurality of planar waves oriented in different directions.
However, Wathen explicitly teaches a speckle lighting (Fig. 2, #205 called scattering medium, Paragraph [0029]) configured to output light (Fig. 2, Paragraph [0029] – Wathen discloses due to refractions and reflections of light within the scattering medium 205 and the interference that occurs within and after leaving the scattering medium 205, a speckle pattern may be formed on the planar surface 215) including a plurality of planar waves (Fig. 2, #210 called paths of light, Paragraph [0029]) oriented in different directions (Fig. 2, Paragraph [0029] – Wathen discloses when the optical input wave 200 exits the scattering medium 205, multiple interfering paths of light 210 [wherein paths of light 210 is a plurality of planar waves] are formed that are received by the planar surface 215.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Zhang of having a semiconductor measurement apparatus comprising: a stage in which a sample for reflecting the light output from the speckle lighting is disposed; an image sensor configured to generate an original image in response to light reflected from a partial region of the sample; and a controller configured to: generate a prediction image, for estimating a diffractive pattern of light incident on the image sensor, and obtain a result image representing the partial region of the sample, with the teachings of Wathen having a speckle lighting configured to output light including a plurality of planar waves oriented in different directions.
Wherein having Zhang’s semiconductor measurement apparatus further comprising a speckle lighting configured to output light including a plurality of planar waves oriented in different directions.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to obtain a semiconductor measurement apparatus configured to receive a speckle pattern output in order to facilitate defect detection and provide enhanced resolution or an enhanced signal to noise ratio of defects, since both Zhang and Wathen relate to optical measurement and detection systems, wherein Zhang has systems and methods for inspecting a sample for defects using super-resolution image reconstruction which may provide, but is not limited to providing, enhanced resolution or an enhanced signal to noise ratio (SNR) of defects, while Wathen’s systems, apparatuses, and methods are described herein that employ an optical receiver comprising an array of photoreceivers configured to receive portions of a speckle pattern; such an array of photoreceivers may be used to reduce or overcome issues with receiving a speckle pattern output from a scattering medium having a low SNR (signal-to-noise ratio). Please see Zhang (US 20170191945 A1), Paragraph [0039], and Wathen (US 20200072746 A1), Paragraph [0023].
Although Zhang in view of Wathen teaches generate a prediction image, for estimating a diffractive pattern of light incident on the image sensor ((Fig. 1B, #126 called a detector, Fig. 12, Paragraph [0121]), and obtain a result image representing the partial region of the sample (Fig. 7 & Fig. 1B, Paragraph [0065, 0098]).
Zhang in view of Wathen fails to explicitly teach by executing a forward propagation operation with a first optical model representing optical characteristics of light output by the speckle lighting and a second optical model representing optical characteristics of the light reflected from the sample, execute a backward propagation operation for adjusting the first optical model and the second optical model based on a difference between the prediction image and the original image, and obtain a result image representing the partial region of the sample by repeatedly executing the forward propagation operation and the backward propagation operation.
However, Ma explicitly teaches by executing a forward propagation operation (Figs. 4A-4C, Paragraph [0088] – Ma discloses predicting the printed pattern by forward propagation of outputs (e.g., x, y, z, etc. in FIGS. 4A-4C) of the first model and the machine learning model)
with a first optical model (Fig. 2, #31 called a source model, Paragraph [0063]) representing optical characteristics of light output by the speckle lighting (Fig. 2, Paragraph [0063] – Ma discloses source model 31 represents optical characteristics (including radiation intensity distribution and/or phase distribution) of the source. Paragraph [0062] – Ma further discloses a source provides illumination (i.e. light))
and a second optical model (Fig. 2, #32 called a projection optics model, Paragraph [0063]) representing optical characteristics of the light reflected from the sample (Fig. 2, Paragraph [0063] – Ma discloses a projection optics model 32 represents optical characteristics (including changes to the radiation intensity distribution and/or the phase distribution caused by the projection optics) of the projection optics. Paragraph [0062] – Ma further discloses projection optics direct and shapes the illumination via a patterning device and onto a substrate.),
execute a backward propagation operation (Figs. 4A-4C, Paragraph [0086] – Ma discloses back propagation may be performed and a gradient-decent method may be employed)
for adjusting the first optical model and the second optical model (Figs. 4A-4C, Paragraph [0088] – Ma discloses during backward propagation, following differentials may be computed and used to adjust first and second set of parameters)
based on a difference between the prediction image and the original image (Figs. 4A-4C, Paragraph [0088] – Ma discloses determining the difference (e.g., loss in FIG. 4A-4C) between the measured pattern [wherein measured pattern is the original image] and the predicted pattern (e.g., output) [wherein the predicted pattern is the prediction image] of the patterning process model; determining a differential of the difference (e.g., d(loss)) with respect to the first set of parameters (e.g., c.sub.i, param.sub.i, z.sub.i, u.sub.i, w.sub.i, etc.) and the set of second parameters; and determining values of the first set of parameters and the second set of parameters by backward propagation of the outputs of the first model and the machine learning model based on the differential of the difference.),
by repeatedly executing the forward propagation operation and the backward propagation operation (Fig. 4A, Paragraph [0082] – Ma discloses after several iterations, a global or local optimum values of the parameters are obtained such that the difference in prediction and measurements is minimized).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Zhang in view of Wathen of having a semiconductor measurement apparatus comprising: a speckle lighting configured to output light including a plurality of planar waves oriented in different directions; a stage in which a sample for reflecting the light output from the speckle lighting is disposed; an image sensor configured to generate an original image in response to light reflected from a partial region of the sample; and a controller configured to: generate a prediction image, for estimating a diffractive pattern of light incident on the image sensor, and obtain a result image representing the partial region of the sample, with the teachings of Ma having by executing a forward propagation operation with a first optical model representing optical characteristics of light output by the speckle lighting and a second optical model representing optical characteristics of the light reflected from the sample, execute a backward propagation operation for adjusting the first optical model and the second optical model based on a difference between the prediction image and the original image, and by repeatedly executing the forward propagation operation and the backward propagation operation.
Wherein having Zhang’s semiconductor measurement apparatus wherein the controller is further configured to: generate a prediction image, for estimating a diffractive pattern of light incident on the image sensor, by executing a forward propagation operation with a first optical model representing optical characteristics of light output by the speckle lighting and a second optical model representing optical characteristics of the light reflected from the sample, execute a backward propagation operation for adjusting the first optical model and the second optical model based on a difference between the prediction image and the original image, and obtain a result image representing the partial region of the sample by repeatedly executing the forward propagation operation and the backward propagation operation.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to obtain a semiconductor measurement apparatus that an improved way to measure characteristics of a pattern that will be printed on a substrate, and make accurate predictions of metrology images, thereby saving metrology time and resources, since both Zhang and Ma relate to optical measurement and detection systems, wherein Zhang has systems and methods for inspecting a sample for defects using super-resolution image reconstruction which may provide, but is not limited to providing, enhanced resolution or an enhanced signal to noise ratio (SNR) of defects, while Ma discloses patterning process models employed to predict a pattern that will be printed on the substrate, wherein fast and accurate models serve to improve device performance (e.g., yield), enhance process windows, patterning recipes, and/or increase complexity of design pattern. Please see Zhang (US 20170191945 A1), Paragraph [0039], and Ma (US 20220179321 A1), Paragraphs [0008, 0069].
Regarding claim 20, Zhang in view of Wathen teaches the semiconductor measurement apparatus of claim 19, Zhang further teaches wherein the controller (Fig. 1B, #106 called a controller, Paragraph [0054]) is configured to:
Although Zhang teaches determine fidelity of the prediction image (Fig. 8, Paragraph [0100] – Zhang discloses image 806 represents a difference image based on a difference between image 802 and image 804) by applying the prediction image (Fig. 8, image 802 called reference image, Paragraph [0100]) and the original image (Fig. 8, image 804 called test image, Paragraph [0100]) to a cost function (Figs. 8 & 9, Paragraph [0101] – Zhang discloses when defect detection is based on a difference image, the test image is reconstructed with an additional sparse-distribution regularization term. Paragraph [0102] – Zhang further discloses a test image may be, but is not required to be, reconstructed using sparsity-inspired regularized Richardson-Lucy (SRRL) deconvolution based on a cost function including a sparse distribution regularization term),
Zhang fails to explicitly teach and repeatedly execute the forward propagation operation and the backward propagation operation until the fidelity is equal to or smaller than a predetermined threshold.
However, Ma explicitly teaches and repeatedly execute the forward propagation operation and the backward propagation operation until the fidelity is equal to or smaller than a predetermined threshold (Fig. 4A, Paragraph [0082] – Ma discloses after several iterations, a global or local optimum values of the parameters are obtained such that the difference in prediction and measurements is minimized.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Zhang in view of Wathen of having the semiconductor measurement apparatus of claim 19, wherein the controller is configured to: determine fidelity of the prediction image by applying the prediction image and the original image to a cost function, with the teachings of Ma having and repeatedly execute the forward propagation operation and the backward propagation operation until the fidelity is equal to or smaller than a predetermined threshold.
Wherein having Zhang’s semiconductor measurement apparatus wherein, the controller is further configured to: repeatedly execute the forward propagation operation and the backward propagation operation until the fidelity is equal to or smaller than a predetermined threshold.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to obtain a semiconductor measurement apparatus that an improved way to measure characteristics of a pattern that will be printed on a substrate, and make accurate predictions of metrology images, thereby saving metrology time and resources, since both Zhang and Ma relate to optical measurement and detection systems, wherein Zhang has systems and methods for inspecting a sample for defects using super-resolution image reconstruction which may provide, but is not limited to providing, enhanced resolution or an enhanced signal to noise ratio (SNR) of defects, while Ma discloses patterning process models employed to predict a pattern that will be printed on the substrate, wherein fast and accurate models serve to improve device performance (e.g., yield), enhance process windows, patterning recipes, and/or increase complexity of design pattern. Please see Zhang (US 20170191945 A1), Paragraph [0039], and Ma (US 20220179321 A1), Paragraphs [0008, 0069].
Conclusion
Listed below are the prior arts made of record and not relied upon but are considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Moore et al. (US 20220260826 A1) - Described herein are systems and methods for assessing a biological sample. The methods include: characterizing a speckled pattern to be applied by a diffuser; positioning a biological sample relative to at least one coherent light source such that at least one coherent light source illuminates the biological sample; diffusing light produced by the at least one coherent light source; capturing a plurality of illuminated images with the embedded speckle pattern of the biological sample based on the diffused light; iteratively reconstructing the plurality of speckled illuminated images of the biological sample to recover an image stack of reconstructed images; stitching together each image in the image stack… Fig. 1, Abstract.
Konecky et al. (US 20210330202 A1) - Coherent light (e.g., laser light) is emitted into a tissue sample through an optical fiber. The tissue sample diffuses the coherent light. Different blood flow quantities generate different coherent light interference patterns. An image of a coherent light interference pattern is captured with an image sensor coupled to an optical fiber. The speckle contrast of the image quantifies coherent light interference pattern. The speckle contrast is determined and is mapped to blood flow quantities using one or more data models. A quantity of blood flow is identified in a tissue sample at least partially based on the speckle contrast value of the captured image… Figs. 2, 3, Abstract.
Oberlin et al. (US 20210251502 A1) - The present disclosure provides systems and methods for processing laser speckle signals. The method may comprise obtaining a laser speckle signal from a laser speckle pattern generated using at least one laser light source that is directed towards a tissue region of a subject and a reference signal corresponding to a movement of a biological material of or within the subject's body. The method may comprise computing one or more measurements using a first function corresponding to at least the laser speckle signal and a second function corresponding to the reference signal. The method may comprise generating an output signal… Fig. 2, 5, Abstract.
Fang et al. (US 20210118123 A1) - The present disclosure provides a material identification method and a device based on laser speckle and modal fusion, an electronic device and a non-transitory computer readable storage medium. The method includes: performing data acquisition on an object by using a structured light camera to obtain a color modal image, a depth modal image and an infrared modal image; preprocessing the color modal image, the depth modal image and the infrared modal image; and inputting the color modal image, the depth modal image and the infrared modal image preprocessed into a preset depth neural network for training, to learn a material characteristic from a speckle structure and a coupling relation between color modal and depth modal… Fig. 1, Abstract.
Zheng et al. (US 20200310099 A1) - An imaging system includes a sample mount for holding a sample, a light source configured to emit a light beam, a diffuser configured to transform the light beam into a speckle illumination beam, a mirror configured to reflect the speckle illumination beam toward the sample, a scanning mechanism configured to scan the mirror to a plurality of mirror angles such that the speckle illumination beam is incident on the sample at a plurality of angles of incidence, and an image sensor configured to acquire a plurality of images as the mirror is being scanned. Each respective image corresponds to a respective angle of incidence. The imaging system further includes a processor configured to process the plurality of images… Fig. 1, Abstract.
Wang et al. (US 20190318469 A1) - A system and method for detecting defects in an object includes illuminating the object with a coherent light, recording the speckle pattern of the coherent light reflected and/or scattered and/or transmitted from the object, and analyzing the speckle pattern using a trained artificial neural network to determine whether defects are present in the object and the types of defects. To train the neural network, sample objects having known types of defects or no defects are illuminated with a coherent light and the speckle patterns are recorded. The speckle patterns are labeled with the type of defects in the corresponding sample objects, and used as training data to train the network… Figs. 1, 2A-2C, Abstract.
Ekinci et al. (US 20190056655 A1) - Methods and a system for scanning scattering contrast inspection for the identification of defects in an actual pattern block on a sample as compared to a desired pattern block. Most of the information in the reciprocal space (spatial frequency domain) is omitted in order to increase the throughput. That information in the reciprocal space is captured which gives the highest defect information, namely contrast signal between the defective and defect-free structure. Deviations from the expected diffraction pattern allow rapid identification of defects on the actual pattern. The first method learns the correct reconstructed diffraction image by comparing the repetitive pattern blocks. The second method focuses on the appearance of predictable defects in the spatial frequency domain of the reconstructed diffraction image thereby defining regions of interest where the defects materialize… Figs. 1-3, Abstract.
Ou et al. (US 20160341945 A1) - Certain embodiments pertain to laser-based Fourier ptychographic (LFP) imaging systems, angle direction devices used in the LFP imaging systems, optical switches used in the LFP imaging systems, and LFP imaging methods. The LFP systems include an angle direction device for directing laser light to a sample plane at a plurality of illumination angles at different sample times. The LFP systems also include an optical system and a light detector. The optical system receives light issuing from the sample being imaged and propagates and focuses the light to the light detector acquiring raw intensity images… Fig. 2, Abstract.
Hudman et al. (US 20160209729 A1) - Methods, systems, apparatuses, and computer program products are provided for illuminating a scene with light containing speckle patterns. A plurality of instances of coherent light are generated in sequence. From each instance of coherent light of the plurality of instances of coherent light, a corresponding instance of illumination light is generated that contains a respective speckle pattern, thereby generating a plurality of instances of illumination light containing a plurality of respective speckle patterns. The plurality of speckle patterns are configured such that a summation of the plurality of speckle patterns forms a substantially uniform illumination pattern. The plurality of instances of illumination light are projected into an illumination environment in sequence.
Durduran et al. (US 20150182136 A1) - Speckle contrast optical tomography system provided with at least one point source and multiple detectors, means for providing different source positions, the point source having a coherence length of at least the source position-detector distance and means for arranging the source position-detector pairs over a sample to be inspected, the system being further provided with means for measuring the speckle contrast; the speckle contrast system of the invention thus capable of obtaining 3D images… Fig. 1, Abstract.
Shpunt et al. (US 20090096783 A1) - Apparatus (20) for 3D mapping of an object (28) includes an illumination assembly (30), including a coherent light source (32) and a diffuser (33), which are arranged to project a primary speckle pattern on the object. A single image capture assembly (38) is arranged to capture images of the primary speckle pattern on the object from a single, fixed location and angle relative to the illumination assembly. A processor (24) is coupled to process the images of the primary speckle pattern captured at the single, fixed angle so as to derive a 3D map of the object… Fig. 1, 3, Abstract.
/BEZAWIT NOLAWI SHIMELES/Examiner, Art Unit 2673
/CHINEYERE WILLS-BURNS/Supervisory Patent Examiner , Art Unit 2673