DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 10, 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by EP 3594133 to Manyapu et al. (hereinafter “Manyapu”).
Regarding claim 1, Manyapu teaches a system comprising one or more piezoelectric assemblies (actuator (figure 28, #2806, wherein the actuator may be a piezoelectric device [0097]), wherein the one or more piezoelectric assemblies comprise a plurality of piezoelectric transducers (plurality of actuators, wherein the actuator may be a piezoelectric device [0095, 0097 and 0098]), and an amplifier circuitry (MDMS controller [0097]) coupled to the plurality of piezoelectric transducers and configured to provide an alternating-current (AC) voltage signal to one or more piezoelectric transducers of the plurality of piezoelectric transducers [0094 and 0097], based on a target configuration associated with removing regolith dust [0002, 0020, and 0097], wherein the one or more piezoelectric transducers are configured to vibrate based on a magnitude and a frequency of the AC voltage signal (figure 29 and [0097]).
Regarding claim 3, Manyapu further teaches that the one or more piezoelectric assemblies are included in a fabric of a protective suit [0096-0097, and 0104-0105], and that the target configuration is associated with removing the regolith dust from a surface of the protective suit [0020 and 0097].
Regarding claim 10, Manyapu further teaches that providing the AC voltage signal is based on one or more characteristics associated with the regolith dust, wherein the one or more characteristics comprise particle size [0020].
Regarding claim 13, Manyapu further teaches that at least one piezoelectric assembly of the one or more piezoelectric assemblies is of a mesh structure (see figure 14-15C, [0095]).
Regarding claim 14, Manyapu further teaches that the one or more piezoelectric assemblies are formed of a fabric material [0095].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 7-9, 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP 3594133 to Manyapu et al. (hereinafter “Manyapu”).
Regarding claim 4, Manyapu does not explicitly teach that the one or more piezoelectric assemblies are included in a garment wearable over a protective suit, and that the target configuration is associated with removing the regolith dust from a surface of the garment.
However, Manyapu teaches that the one or more piezoelectric assemblies can be included in spacesuits, gloves, mitts, and other types of devices that utilizes flexible-material or fabric-material such as dust protection systems for wearable communication, canopy surfaces, etc. [0105], and that the target configuration is associated with removing the regolith dust from a surface of a spacesuit [0020 and 0097].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system disclosed by Manyapu wherein the one or more piezoelectric assemblies are included in a garment wearable over a protective suit, and the target configuration is associated with removing the regolith dust from a surface of the garment, with a reasonable expectation of success, since Manyapu teaches that the one or more piezoelectric assemblies can be included in spacesuits, gloves, mitts, and other types of devices that utilizes flexible-material or fabric-material [0105], and that the target configuration is associated with removing the regolith dust from a surface of a spacesuit [0020 and 0097].
Regarding claim 7, Manyapu teaches that the amplifier circuitry (MDMS controller) is configured to provide the AC voltage signal based on removing the regolith dust from target locations associated with a protective suit (spacesuit) ([0020 and 0026] of Manyapu), and that the MDMS controller is configured to adjust the AC voltage signal from an input-signal source to optimize the dust mitigation based on target criteria associated with removing the regolith dust [0020].
Manyapu does not teach that the amplifier circuitry (MDMS controller) is configured to refrain from providing the AC voltage signal to one or more second piezoelectric transducers of the plurality of piezoelectric transducers, based on the target configuration.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system disclosed by Manyapu wherein the amplifier circuitry (MDMS controller) is configured to refrain from providing the AC voltage signal to one or more second piezoelectric transducers of the plurality of piezoelectric transducers, based on the target configuration, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of exclusively removing the regolith dust from specific target areas of the spacesuit.
Regarding claim 8, Manyapu teaches that the amplifier circuitry (MDMS controller) is configured to provide the AC voltage signal based on removing the regolith dust from target locations associated with a protective suit (spacesuit) ([0020 and 0026] of Manyapu). In addition, Manyapu teaches that the MDMS controller is configured to adjust the AC voltage signal from an input-signal source to optimize the dust mitigation based on target criteria associated with removing the regolith dust, and that the one or more piezoelectric transducers are configured to vibrate ([0020 and 0097] of Manyapu).
Manyapu does not teach that the amplifier circuitry (MDMS controller) is configured to provide a second AC voltage signal to one or more second piezoelectric transducers of the plurality of piezoelectric transducers, based on the target configuration, wherein the one or more second piezoelectric transducers are configured to vibrate based on a second magnitude and a second frequency of the AC voltage signal, and that providing the AC voltage signal and the second AC voltage signal is based on the target configuration associated with removing the regolith dust, wherein the target configuration comprises an order associated with activating the one or more piezoelectric transducers and the one or more second piezoelectric transducers.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system disclosed by Manyapu wherein the amplifier circuitry (MDMS controller) is configured to provide a second AC voltage signal to one or more second piezoelectric transducers of the plurality of piezoelectric transducers, based on the target configuration, wherein the one or more second piezoelectric transducers are configured to vibrate based on a second magnitude and a second frequency of the AC voltage signal, and that providing the AC voltage signal and the second AC voltage signal is based on the target configuration associated with removing the regolith dust, wherein the target configuration comprises an order associated with activating the one or more piezoelectric transducers and the one or more second piezoelectric transducers, with a reasonable expectation of success, since Manyapu teaches that the amplifier circuitry (MDMS controller) is configured to provide the AC voltage signal based on removing the regolith dust from target locations associated with a protective suit (spacesuit) ([0020 and 0026] of Manyapu), and that the MDMS controller is configured to adjust the AC voltage signal from an input-signal source to optimize the dust mitigation based on target criteria associated with removing the regolith dust, and that the one or more piezoelectric transducers are configured to vibrate ([0020 and 0097] of Manyapu).
Regarding claim 9, Manyapu further teaches that the MDMS controller is configured to adjust the AC voltage signal from an input-signal source to optimize the dust mitigation based on target criteria associated with removing the regolith dust such as the size, mass, dielectric proprieties, distribution, etc. [0020].
Manyapu does not explicitly teach that the target criteria comprise at least one of a removal level of the regolith dust, a target duration associated with removing the regolith dust, and a target power consumption.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system disclosed by Manyapu, wherein the target criteria comprise at least one of a removal level of the regolith dust, a target duration associated with removing the regolith dust, and a target power consumption, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of optimizing the dust removal, since Manyapu teaches that the MDMS controller is configured to adjust the AC voltage signal from input-signal source to optimize the dust mitigation based on target criteria associated with removing the regolith dust [0020].
Regarding claim 11, Manyapu further teaches that providing the AC voltage signal is based on removing the regolith dust from one or more target locations associated with a protective suit [0020 and 0026].
Manyapu does not teach that the one or more target locations are associated with at least one of a torso area of the protective suit, an arm sleeve of the protective suit, a leg sleeve of the protective suit, a boot associated with the protective suit, and a helmet associated with the protective suit.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system disclosed by Manyapu wherein the one or more target locations are associated with at least one of a torso area of the protective suit, an arm sleeve of the protective suit, a leg sleeve of the protective suit, a boot associated with the protective suit, and a helmet associated with the protective suit, with a reasonable expectation of success, since Manyapu teaches that the Multi-Use Dust Mitigation System includes a finger section, a hand section physically attached to the finger section, a fabric-material within both the finger section and hand section, a plurality of conductive-fibers within the fabric-material, and a plurality of input-nodes approximately adjacent to the fabric-material and a spacesuit in general [0011,and 0105].
Regarding claim 12, Manyapu further teaches that the MDMS controller is configured to adjust the AC voltage signal from input-signal source to optimize the dust mitigation based on target criteria associated with removing the regolith dust, and that the one or more piezoelectric transducers are configured to vibrate [0020 and 0097].
Manyapu does not teach that the AC voltage signal is based on a target sterilization level associated with sterilizing at least a portion of the regolith dust, and that the vibration of the one or more piezoelectric transducers sterilizes at least the portion of the regolith dust.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system disclosed by Manyapu wherein the AC voltage signal is based on a target sterilization level associated with sterilizing at least a portion of the regolith dust, and that the vibration of the one or more piezoelectric transducers sterilizes at least the portion of the regolith dust, with a reasonable expectation of success, since Manyapu teaches that the MDMS controller is configured to adjust the AC voltage signal from input-signal source to optimize the dust mitigation based on target criteria associated with removing the regolith dust, and that the one or more piezoelectric transducers are configured to vibrate [0020 and 0097].
Claims 2 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP 3594133 to Manyapu et al. (hereinafter “Manyapu”) in view of US 2003/0206642 to Menzies (hereinafter “Menzies”).
Regarding claim 2, Manyapu does not teach that the one or more piezoelectric assemblies are removably coupled to an exterior surface of a protective suit.
However, it was known in the art that piezoelectric transducers can be removably coupled to an exterior surface of a garment. For example, Menzies teaches a garment such as a vest comprising removable piezoelectric transducers [0019 and 0030].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system disclosed by Manyapu wherein the one or more piezoelectric assemblies are removably coupled to an exterior surface of the protective suit, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of facilitating maintenance of the transducers and/or the protective suit.
Regarding claim 17, Manyapu teaches a method comprising the steps of determining a target configuration associated with removing regolith dust, determining, based on the target configuration, a magnitude and a frequency of an alternating-current (AC) voltage signal to be applied to one or more piezoelectric transducers (actuator (figure 28, #2806, wherein the actuator may be a piezoelectric device [0097]), of a plurality of piezoelectric transducers (plurality of actuators, wherein the actuator may be a piezoelectric device [0095, 0097 and 0098]), wherein the plurality of piezoelectric transducers are comprised in one or more piezoelectric assemblies in the surface of a spacesuit [0097 and 0105], and providing, by an amplifier circuitry (MDMS controller [0097]), the AC voltage signal to the one or more piezoelectric transducers, based on the target configuration, wherein the one or more piezoelectric transducers vibrate based on the magnitude and the frequency of the AC voltage signal [0020 and 0097].
Manyapu does not teach that the one or more piezoelectric assemblies are removably coupled to a surface of the spacesuit.
However, it was known in the art that piezoelectric transducers can be removably coupled to an exterior surface of a garment. For example, Menzies teaches a garment such as a vest comprising removable piezoelectric transducers [0019 and 0030].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Manyapu wherein the one or more piezoelectric assemblies are removably coupled to a surface of the spacesuit, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of facilitating maintenance of the transducers and/or the spacesuit.
Regarding claim 18, Manyapu/Menzies further teaches that the MDMS controller is configured to adjust the AC voltage signal from an input-signal source to optimize the dust mitigation based on target criteria associated with removing the regolith dust such as the size, mass, dielectric proprieties, distribution, etc. ([0020]. Of Manyapu).
Manyapu/Menzies does not explicitly teach that the target criteria comprise at least one of a removal level of the regolith dust, a target duration associated with removing the regolith dust, and a target power consumption.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Manyapu/Menzies wherein the target criteria comprise at least one of a removal level of the regolith dust, a target duration associated with removing the regolith dust, and a target power consumption, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of optimizing the dust removal, since Manyapu teaches that the MDMS controller is configured to adjust the AC voltage signal from an input-signal source to optimize the dust mitigation based on target criteria associated with removing the regolith dust ([0020] of Manyapu).
Regarding claim 19, Manyapu/Menzies further teaches that providing the AC voltage signal is based on one or more characteristics associated with the regolith dust, wherein the one or more characteristics comprise particle size ([0020] of Manyapu).
Regarding claim 20, Manyapu/Menzies further teaches that providing the AC voltage signal is based on removing the regolith dust from one or more target locations associated with a protective suit ([0020 and 0026] of Manyapu). In addition, Manyapu teaches that the MDMS controller is configured to adjust the AC voltage signal from an input-signal source to optimize the dust mitigation based on target criteria associated with removing the regolith dust, and that the one or more piezoelectric transducers are configured to vibrate ([0020 and 0097] of Manyapu).
Manyapu/Menzies does not teach that the AC voltage signal is based on a target sterilization level associated with sterilizing at least a portion of the regolith dust, and that the vibration of the one or more piezoelectric transducers sterilizes at least the portion of the regolith dust.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Manyapu/Menzies wherein the AC voltage signal is based on a target sterilization level associated with sterilizing at least a portion of the regolith dust, and that the vibration of the one or more piezoelectric transducers sterilizes at least the portion of the regolith dust, with a reasonable expectation of success, since Manyapu teaches that the MDMS controller is configured to adjust the AC voltage signal from an input-signal source to optimize the dust mitigation based on target criteria associated with removing the regolith dust, and that the one or more piezoelectric transducers are configured to vibrate ([0020 and 0097] of Manyapu).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP 3594133 to Manyapu et al. (hereinafter “Manyapu”) in view of US 2018/0342976 to Pederson et al. (hereinafter “Pederson”).
Regarding claim 5, Manyapu further teaches that the one or more piezoelectric assemblies can be included in spacesuits for removing regolith dust from a surface of the spacesuits [0020, 0097, and 0105].
Manyapu does not teach a personal life support system removably electrically couplable to the protective suit, wherein the amplifier circuitry is comprised in a housing of the personal life support system.
Pederson teaches that spacesuits typically include several electrical systems, such as life support systems [0004].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system disclosed by Manyapu with a personal life support system removably electrically couplable to a protective suit, with a reasonable expectation of success, since Pederson teaches that spacesuits typically include several electrical systems, such as life support systems ([0004] of Pederson).
In addition, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system disclosed by Manyapu/Pederson wherein the amplifier circuitry is comprised in a housing of the personal life support system, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of saving space. Moreover, the rearrangement of parts is an obvious matter of design choice. Consult MPEP 2144.04 IV.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP 3594133 to Manyapu et al. (hereinafter “Manyapu”) in view of US 2020/0326537 to Busey et la. (hereinafter “Busey”).
Regarding claim 6, Manyapu further teaches that the MDMS controller can be any general electronic controller that can include a microcontroller, a CPU based processor, DSP, an ASIC, FPGA, or other similar device or system [0097].
Manyapu does not teach a vehicle, a space station, or habitat operable in a space environment, wherein the amplifier circuitry (MDMS controller) is comprised in at least one of the vehicle, the space station, or the habitat.
Busey teaches a system comprising a spacesuit, and a control module located at any location relative to the deployment location of the spacesuit ([0045], and figures 1-4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system disclosed by Manyapu with a vehicle, a space station, or habitat operable in a space environment, wherein the amplifier circuitry (MDMS controller) is comprised in at least one of the vehicle, the space station, or the habitat, with a reasonable expectation of success, since Busey teaches that it was known in the art to locate a control module which is in communication with the spacesuit at any location relative to the deployment location of the spacesuit ([0045], and figures 1-4 of Busey).
Claims 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP 3594133 to Manyapu et al. (hereinafter “Manyapu”) in view of US 2003/0206642 to Menzies (hereinafter “Menzies”), and in further view of US 2018/0342976 to Pederson et al. (hereinafter “Pederson”).
Regarding claim 15, Manyapu teaches a spacesuit comprising one or more piezoelectric assemblies (actuator (figure 28, #2806, wherein the actuator may be a piezoelectric device [0097]), wherein the one or more piezoelectric assemblies comprise a plurality of piezoelectric transducers (plurality of actuators, wherein the actuator may be a piezoelectric device [0095, 0097 and 0098]), and an amplifier circuitry (MDMS controller [0097]) coupled to the plurality of piezoelectric transducers and configured to provide an alternating-current (AC) voltage signal to one or more piezoelectric transducers of the plurality of piezoelectric transducers [0094 and 0097], based on a target configuration associated with removing regolith dust [0002, 0020, and 0097], wherein the one or more piezoelectric transducers are configured to vibrate based on a magnitude and a frequency of the AC voltage signal (figure 29 and [0097]).
Manyapu does not teach that the one or more piezoelectric assemblies are removably coupled to the surface of the spacesuit.
However, it was known in the art that piezoelectric transducers can be removably coupled to an exterior surface of a garment. For example, Menzies teaches a garment such as a vest comprising removable piezoelectric transducers [0019 and 0030].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system disclosed by Manyapu wherein the one or more piezoelectric assemblies are removably coupled to the surface of the spacesuit, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of facilitating maintenance of the transducers and/or the spacesuit.
Manyapu/Menzies does not teach a personal life support system, wherein the amplifier circuitry is comprised in the personal life support system or external to the spacesuit.
Pederson teaches that spacesuits typically include several electrical systems, such as life support systems [0004].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system disclosed by Manyapu with a personal life support system, with a reasonable expectation of success, since Pederson teaches that spacesuits typically include several electrical systems, such as life support systems ([0004] of Pederson).
In addition, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system disclosed by Manyapu/Menzies/Pederson wherein the amplifier circuitry is comprised in the personal life support system or external to the spacesuit, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of saving space. Moreover, the rearrangement of parts is an obvious matter of design choice. Consult MPEP 2144.04 IV.
Regarding claim 16, Manyapu/Menzies/Pederson teaches that the one or more piezoelectric assemblies are included in a fabric of a protective suit ([0096-0097, and 0104-0105] of Manyapu), and the target configuration is associated with removing the regolith dust from a surface of the protective suit ([0020 and 0097] of Manyapu).
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 6-10, 12-14 and 17-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1, 6-12 and 15-18 of copending Application No. 18/413,418 (reference application) (US 2025/0234787 to Ramon Mesa) (hereinafter “US’787”).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because US’787 claims a similar system comprising one or more piezoelectric assemblies, wherein the one or more piezoelectric assemblies comprise a plurality of piezoelectric transducers, and an amplifier circuitry coupled to the plurality of piezoelectric transducers and configured to provide an alternating-current (AC) voltage signal to one or more piezoelectric transducers of the plurality of piezoelectric transducers, based on a target configuration associated with removing regolith dust, wherein the one or more piezoelectric transducers are configured to vibrate based on a magnitude and a frequency of the AC voltage signal.
Moreover, US’787 claims a similar method comprising the steps of determining a target configuration associated with removing regolith dust, determining, based on the target configuration, a magnitude and a frequency of an alternating-current (AC) voltage signal to be applied to one or more piezoelectric transducers of a plurality of piezoelectric transducers, wherein the plurality of piezoelectric transducers are comprised in one or more piezoelectric assemblies removably coupled to a surface of a vehicle operable in a space environment, and providing, by amplifier circuitry, the AC voltage signal to the one or more piezoelectric transducers, based on the target configuration, wherein the one or more piezoelectric transducers vibrate based on the magnitude and the frequency of the AC voltage signal.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/A.I.R/Examiner, Art Unit 1714
/KAJ K OLSEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1714