DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks, filed 3/3/2026, with respect to the rejections under 35 USC 112(b) have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of claims 1-21 under 35 USC 112(b) has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 3/3/2026 with respect to the rejections under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's argument that Bleiber’s sensor to achieve control of the contact pressure on a weight joint in order “to provide a combined evaluation of temperature and pressure signals according to a pre-stored algorithm for quality determination” as in paragraph 0019, the fact that the inventor has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious. See Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985).
In response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971).
Claim Objections
Claim 22 is objected to because of the following informalities: The phrase “wherein the automatic welding machine is automatic welding machine for edge-side joining of an overlapping upper material sheet to a lower material sheet” is grammatically confusing due to the duplication of automatic welding machine. The examiner suggests deleting the duplication of “automatic welding machine” and amending the claim to recite “wherein the automatic welding machine is for edge-side joining of an overlapping upper material sheet to a lower material sheet.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“heating device for at least partially heating” in claim 1. The specification discloses that the corresponding structure is a hot air unit (or hot air nozzle) or a heating wedge. See also claim 18, which recites this corresponding structure as a dependent claim.
“a control unit” in claim 8, 9, 10, 11, 15, 16, 17 and 19. Paragraph 0030, 0043 and 0052 discloses the corresponding structure, teaching that:
[0030]As already described at the beginning, the automatic welding machine can comprise a display device. The display device can be configured to display an additional weight and/or a weight force of the pressure roller on ground based on the weight force measured by the weight sensor. An advantage of this embodiment can be that a comparison between an actual value and a target value for a welding task can be made in a simple manner. The display device can be an integrated display device that is integrated into the automatic welding machine. However, it can also be a remotely arranged display device. For example, the automatic welding machine can comprise a communication module and the measured values can be displayed via a smartphone or a computer screen. For example, if the weight of the additional weights has been measured, this can either be displayed directly. Alternatively or additionally, the weight force acting on the pressure roller can be calculated based on the measured weight of the additional weight and the known weight of the automatic welding machine without weight, as well as taking into account the weight distribution on the possibly one or more guide rollers and possibly one or more pressure rollers.
[0043]As shown in the embodiment illustrated in Fig. 1 and Fig. 2, the automatic welding machine 1 can further comprise a controller 27 (also referred to as control unit) and a display unit 28. In the present embodiment, the controller 27 and the display unit 28 are arranged on a top side of the automatic welding machine. However, it is to be understood that the controller 27 and/or display unit 28 can also be implemented as wireless units which are connected to the automatic welding machine via a communication interface. For example, a smartphone or tablet with corresponding software can be used as a display unit 28 or as an operating interface for a controller. An exemplary illustration of a controller 27 integrated into the automatic welding machine 1 with display unit 28 is shown in the enlarged top view Fig. 5.
[0052]In the following, aspects of an advantageous controller or control unit 27 are described. The control units described in the context of the present disclosure can be separate control units. However, one or more of the functions mentioned can also be implemented by a common control unit or a combination of control units. Preferably, the control unit is implemented in the form of a circuit with one or more microprocessors or microcontrollers in the automatic welding machine.
“a display device for displaying” in claim 12, 19. Paragraphs 0030 and 0043, cited above, discloses corresponding structures such as an integrated display, as well as a smartphone or tablet as the display unit, or a computer screen.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ralston (US 20170113404 A1) and Bleibler (US 20150284960 A1).
As to claim 1, Ralston discloses an automatic welding machine for thermal joining of material sheets (see the abstract, reciting “A machine for welding an overlapped region of two adjacent strips of material and a method of using the same.”), to be connected to one another in a materially bonded manner under the application of heat and subsequent application of pressure (paragraph 0058, disclosing “Welding of materials such as roofing membranes typically requires the application of both heat and pressure.”), comprising
a heating device (see paragraph 0068, disclosing “heated air generated by blower assembly 46”; see also “blower motor assembly 146”)) for at least partially heating the material sheets to be joined in a connection region;
a chassis (“housing 12”; “housing 112”) comprising a pressure roller (see “front pressure roller” and “rear pressure roller”) configured to apply pressure to the material sheets in the working direction behind the heating device;
a mount (including “bottom wall 12b”) for one or more additional weights (“one or more weights 22”) configured to increase a pressure on the pressure roller (see paragraph 0058 and 0088, below);
[0058] One or more weights 22 are selectively engageable with housing 12. Weight 22 is positioned adjacent one of front and rear walls 12c, 12d and rests on the portion of bottom wall 12b that extends outwardly beyond front and rear walls 12c, 12d. This can be seen in FIG. 7. Weight 22 may be secured in some manner to the adjacent front or rear wall 12c, 12d or to bottom wall 12b. Each of the one or more weights 22 may be of a different weight. For example, weight 22 may be anywhere from 2 lbs to 25 lbs in weight. The one or more weights 22 may be selectively engaged with housing 12 to change the overall weight of welding machine 10. Welding of materials such as roofing membranes typically requires the application of both heat and pressure. Adding one or more weights 22 to housing 12 changes the pressure that may be applied to roofing membranes by welding machine 10. As illustrated in FIG. 1, each weight 22 may define a slot 22a in an end wall thereof. Slot 22a may be used as a hand-hold for holding and manipulating weight 22.
…
[0088] Stepper motor 126 is operatively engaged, via drive belt 128 (FIG. 20), to a roller assembly 146. Drive belt 128, line drive belt 24g, is an air dam belt that traps hot air from welding nozzle 136 in the area of the membrane to be welded. This air dam belt aids in creating a clean weld. Roller assembly 125 includes a front roller 125a, a rear roller 125b, and a drive belt 126 that extends around front and rear rollers 125a, 125b. Drive belt 128 rotates front roller 125a and that motion is transferred to drive belt 125c and thereby to rear roller 125b. Front roller 125a is positioned in front of the planar member/second leg 149b of welding head 149. Rear roller 125b is positioned rearwardly of the planar member/second leg 149b. A weight 122 is provided within chamber 112g of housing 112. Weight 122 extends from proximate front wall 112c to proximate rear wall 112d and may be positioned in such a way that it is aligned along the same plane as front and rear rollers 125a, 125b. This arrangement of weight 122 relative to rollers 125a, 125b ensures that the weight is directed to those parts of welding machine 110 that apply pressure to an overlapped region of the material being welded.
Ralston does not disclose a weight sensor for measuring a weight force caused inter alia by the one or more additional weights in the mount, which acts at least partially on the pressure roller.
However, Bleibler discloses and/or makes obvious a weight sensor (at least one pressure sensor 133”) for measuring a weight force caused inter alia by the one or more additional weights in the mount, which acts at least partially on the pressure roller. See paragraph 0012, 0019 and 0051, disclosing:
[0012] A practical embodiment further provides for automatic quality control of the weld joints, resulting in reduced production time which is particularly cost-effective when taking into consideration the qualification required of workers carrying out such quality control inspections. One version of such embodiment provides for automatic measuring and evaluation of the welding temperature and the contact pressure of the welding equipment at several points on each thrust washer. It may be even more important to measure the contact pressure and temperature on cooling.
…
[0019] Furthermore, it should be pointed out that the suggested welding robot would ideally be equipped with means for automatic quality control of the weld joints, including in particular a temperature probe for measuring the welding temperature and at least one, but preferably several, pressure sensors for measuring the contact pressure on the material sheeting above one weldable element, as well as an evaluation device that is connected to the temperature probe and the pressure sensor, or each pressure sensor, to provide a combined evaluation of temperature and pressure signals according to a pre-stored algorithm for quality determination.
…
[0051] In the joining component 120, temperature control means for controlling the joining temperature 121, a timing device 122 and pressure control 123 for controlling the clamping pressure during joining are assigned to the induction welding device 14. Correspondingly, the quality control component 130 comprises a T-probe 131 and at least one pressure sensor 133, both of which may be connected to the temperature and pressure control devices 121, 123 in the joining component for implementation of temperature or pressure control. Aside from that, these sensors 131, 133 are connected to an evaluation device 134 for combined evaluation in accordance with a pre-stored quality determination algorithm.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized disclose a weight sensor for measuring a weight force caused inter alia by the one or more additional weights in the mount, which acts at least partially on the pressure roller such as the pressure sensor of Bleibler in order to achieve combined evaluation in accordance with a pre-stored quality determination algorithm.
As to claim 2, Ralston does not disclose wherein the weight sensor is arranged in the mount for the one or more additional weights, and wherein the weight sensor is configured to measure a weight force exerted by the one or more additional weights on the mount.
However, Bleibler as applied above discloses and/or makes obvious a weight sensor (at least one pressure sensor 133”) for measuring a weight force caused inter alia by the one or more additional weights in the mount, which acts at least partially on the pressure roller. Additionally, rearrangement of parts and changes in size/proportion and shape are very often obvious. MPEP 2144.04 IV A, B, VI C. In this case, an arrangement wherein the weight sensor is arranged in the mount for the one or more additional weights, and wherein the weight sensor is configured to measure a weight force exerted by the one or more additional weights on the mount would have been an obvious rearrangement of parts and change in size/proportion and shape.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized wherein the weight sensor is arranged in the mount for the one or more additional weights, and wherein the weight sensor is configured to measure a weight force exerted by the one or more additional weights on the mount as an obvious rearrangement of parts and change in size/proportion and shape of the weights of Ralston and weight sensor of Bleibler.
As to claim 3, Ralston discloses wherein the chassis comprises a mounting plate for the one or more additional weights (see for example “bottom plate 12b”, which paragraph 0058 discloses that the one or more weights rests upon)
Ralston does not disclose the weight sensor is arranged in the mounting plate.
However, Bleibler as applied above discloses and/or makes obvious a weight sensor (at least one pressure sensor 133”) for measuring a weight force caused inter alia by the one or more additional weights in the mount, which acts at least partially on the pressure roller. Additionally, rearrangement of parts and changes in size/proportion and shape are very often obvious. MPEP 2144.04 IV A, B, VI C. In this case, an arrangement wherein the chassis comprises a mounting plate for the one or more additional weights and the weight sensor is arranged in the mounting plate would have been an obvious rearrangement of parts and change in size/proportion and shape.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized the full limitation wherein the chassis comprises a mounting plate for the one or more additional weights and the weight sensor is arranged in the mounting plate as an obvious rearrangement of parts and change in size/proportion and shape of the weights and mounting plate of Ralston and weight sensor of Bleibler.
As to claim 4, Ralston discloses wherein the mounting plate is arranged above the pressure roller. See Figure 7, showing that bottom plate 12b is above bother pressure roller 32 and pressure roller 34.
As to claim 5, Ralston does not explicitly disclose the full limitation that the automatic welding machine comprises a plurality of additional weights configured to be stacked on top of each other on the mount.
Ralston does disclose that one or more weights may be used and supported by the bottom plate. See paragraph 0058, disclosing “One or more weights 22 are selectively engageable with housing 12. Weight 22 is positioned adjacent one of front and rear walls 12c, 12d and rests on the portion of bottom wall 12b that extends outwardly beyond front and rear walls 12c, 12d. This can be seen in FIG. 7.”. Additionally, rearrangement of parts and changes in size/proportion and shape are very often obvious. MPEP 2144.04 IV A, B, VI C. In this case, an arrangement wherein that the automatic welding machine comprises a plurality of additional weights configured to be stacked on top of each other on the mount would have been an obvious rearrangement of parts and change in size/proportion and shape.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized the full limitation that the automatic welding machine comprises a plurality of additional weights configured to be stacked on top of each other on the mount as an obvious rearrangement of parts and change in size/proportion and shape of the weights and mounting plate of Ralston.
As to claim 6, Ralston does not disclose wherein at least one of the additional weights comprises a raised contact surface and is configured to contact the weight sensor in the mount and to exert a weight force on the weight sensor.
However, rearrangement of parts and changes in size/proportion and shape are very often obvious. MPEP 2144.04 IV A, B, VI C. In this case, an arrangement wherein at least one of the additional weights comprises a raised contact surface and is configured to contact the weight sensor in the mount and to exert a weight force on the weight sensor would have been an obvious rearrangement of parts and change in size/proportion and shape.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized the full limitation wherein at least one of the additional weights comprises a raised contact surface and is configured to contact the weight sensor in the mount and to exert a weight force on the weight sensor as an obvious rearrangement of parts and change in size/proportion and shape of the weights and mounting plate of Ralston.
As to claim 7, Ralston does not disclose wherein the weight sensor is configured to measure the weight force between the chassis of the automatic welding machine and ground.
However, Bleibler as incorporated discloses weight sensors such as pressure sensor 133. This pressure sensor would be a weight sensor and would result in wherein the weight sensor is configured to measure a weight force between the chassis of the automatic welding machine and ground.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized wherein the weight sensor is configured to measure a weight force between the chassis of the automatic welding machine and ground such as by using the pressure sensor of Bleibler in order to achieve combined evaluation in accordance with a pre-stored quality determination algorithm.
As to claim 8, Ralston discloses a control unit. See paragraph 0060, disclosing control panel 30.
[0060] Although not illustrated herein, it will be understood that wiring is provided within welding machine 10 and this wiring connects stepper motor 26 to a control panel 30 provided on top wall 12a of housing 12. The operator will activated and deactivate stepper motor 26 by engaging appropriate controls on control panel 30. Stepper motor 26 may be activated in such a way that current may flow therethrough in a first direction or in a second direction. The specific direction is selected via controls on control panel 30. If current is caused to flow in the first direction through motor 26, then welding machine 10 will be caused to move in a forward direction (i.e., with front wheel 32 leading the way). If current is caused to flow in the second direction through motor 26, then welding machine 10 will be caused to move in a reverse direction (i.e., with rear wheel 34 leading the way). Movement of welding machine 10 in either of the forward or reverse directions is preceded by the operator engaging the appropriate control on control panel 30.
Ralston, however, does not disclose the full limitation of a control unit, wherein the control unit is configured to set a welding parameter based on the weight force measured by the weight sensor.
However, Bleibler discloses and makes obvious a control unit (evaluation device 134), wherein the control unit is configured to set a welding parameter based on the weight force measured by the weight sensor (pressure sensor 133). See paragraphs 0012, 0019, 0050-51, disclosing:
[0012] A practical embodiment further provides for automatic quality control of the weld joints, resulting in reduced production time which is particularly cost-effective when taking into consideration the qualification required of workers carrying out such quality control inspections. One version of such embodiment provides for automatic measuring and evaluation of the welding temperature and the contact pressure of the welding equipment at several points on each thrust washer. It may be even more important to measure the contact pressure and temperature on cooling.
…
[0019] Furthermore, it should be pointed out that the suggested welding robot would ideally be equipped with means for automatic quality control of the weld joints, including in particular a temperature probe for measuring the welding temperature and at least one, but preferably several, pressure sensors for measuring the contact pressure on the material sheeting above one weldable element, as well as an evaluation device that is connected to the temperature probe and the pressure sensor, or each pressure sensor, to provide a combined evaluation of temperature and pressure signals according to a pre-stored algorithm for quality determination.
…
[0050] The positioning component 110 comprises induction sensors 12f as gross detection means for finding elements that are invisible under the material sheeting (in this regard, see above, particularly the description of FIGS. 1 and 2), which are connected to a steering control 111 and a drive control 112 for automatically moving toward the detected elements. The positioning component 110 further comprises a fine detection means 113 which may also be designed as induction sensors (and particularly with several close-range induction sensors). After having moved to one of the invisible elements, these fine detection means precisely determine the alignment of the welding device of the welding robot for this element. The fine detection means 113 are connected to a detector signal input of a coordinates control unit 114 that moves the welding device and the clamping and cooling device to the optimum joining or clamping and cooling position with a corresponding drive control of associated linear guidance (FIGS. 4A and 6A) or a rotating table (FIG. 7A). A special fine positioning display 151 in the display component 150 is assigned to the fine detection means 113.
[0051] In the joining component 120, temperature control means for controlling the joining temperature 121, a timing device 122 and pressure control 123 for controlling the clamping pressure during joining are assigned to the induction welding device 14. Correspondingly, the quality control component 130 comprises a T-probe 131 and at least one pressure sensor 133, both of which may be connected to the temperature and pressure control devices 121, 123 in the joining component for implementation of temperature or pressure control. Aside from that, these sensors 131, 133 are connected to an evaluation device 134 for combined evaluation in accordance with a pre-stored quality determination algorithm.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized a control unit, wherein the control unit is configured to set a welding parameter based on the weight force measured by the weight sensor such as the evaluation unit 134 and pressure sensors 133 of Bleibler in order to achieve combined evaluation in accordance with a pre-stored quality determination algorithm.
As to claim 9, Ralston discloses wherein the automatic welding machine comprises a drive, and wherein the control unit is configured to set a drive speed of the drive. See paragraph 0071, disclosing:
[0071] The operator will engage control panel 30 to set the appropriate parameters for welding first overlapped region “C1”. These parameters may include the temperature to which the air supplied to welding plate 48b or welding plate 48b itself may be heated (a suitable temperature may be in the range of 500° C. for some thermoplastic roofing materials. The parameters may also include the speed at which the front and rear wheels 24a, 24b will be driven and thereby move welding machine 10 along the first overlapped region “C1”. The operator will also determine what size weights should be utilized for welding and will engage the appropriate weights 22 on welding machine 10.
Ralston, however, does not disclose wherein the control unit is configured to set a drive speed of the drive based on the weight force measured by the weight sensor.
However, Bleibler discloses and makes obvious wherein the welding machine comprises a drive (electric motor 12d) and wherein the control unit (evaluation device 134) is configured to set a drive speed (via steering controller 111 and drive controller 112) of the drive based on the weight force measured by the weight sensor (pressure sensor 133). See paragraphs 0012, 0019, 0050-51, disclosing:
[0012] A practical embodiment further provides for automatic quality control of the weld joints, resulting in reduced production time which is particularly cost-effective when taking into consideration the qualification required of workers carrying out such quality control inspections. One version of such embodiment provides for automatic measuring and evaluation of the welding temperature and the contact pressure of the welding equipment at several points on each thrust washer. It may be even more important to measure the contact pressure and temperature on cooling.
…
[0019] Furthermore, it should be pointed out that the suggested welding robot would ideally be equipped with means for automatic quality control of the weld joints, including in particular a temperature probe for measuring the welding temperature and at least one, but preferably several, pressure sensors for measuring the contact pressure on the material sheeting above one weldable element, as well as an evaluation device that is connected to the temperature probe and the pressure sensor, or each pressure sensor, to provide a combined evaluation of temperature and pressure signals according to a pre-stored algorithm for quality determination.
…
[0050] The positioning component 110 comprises induction sensors 12f as gross detection means for finding elements that are invisible under the material sheeting (in this regard, see above, particularly the description of FIGS. 1 and 2), which are connected to a steering control 111 and a drive control 112 for automatically moving toward the detected elements. The positioning component 110 further comprises a fine detection means 113 which may also be designed as induction sensors (and particularly with several close-range induction sensors). After having moved to one of the invisible elements, these fine detection means precisely determine the alignment of the welding device of the welding robot for this element. The fine detection means 113 are connected to a detector signal input of a coordinates control unit 114 that moves the welding device and the clamping and cooling device to the optimum joining or clamping and cooling position with a corresponding drive control of associated linear guidance (FIGS. 4A and 6A) or a rotating table (FIG. 7A). A special fine positioning display 151 in the display component 150 is assigned to the fine detection means 113.
[0051] In the joining component 120, temperature control means for controlling the joining temperature 121, a timing device 122 and pressure control 123 for controlling the clamping pressure during joining are assigned to the induction welding device 14. Correspondingly, the quality control component 130 comprises a T-probe 131 and at least one pressure sensor 133, both of which may be connected to the temperature and pressure control devices 121, 123 in the joining component for implementation of temperature or pressure control. Aside from that, these sensors 131, 133 are connected to an evaluation device 134 for combined evaluation in accordance with a pre-stored quality determination algorithm.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized wherein the automatic welding machine comprises a drive, and wherein the control unit is configured to set a drive speed of the drive such as the drive 12d, the drive control 112, the evaluation unit 134 and pressure sensors 133 of Bleibler in order to achieve combined evaluation in accordance with a pre-stored quality determination algorithm.
As to claim 10, Ralston discloses wherein the control unit is configured to adjust a heating power of the heating device. See paragraph 0071, disclosing:
[0071] The operator will engage control panel 30 to set the appropriate parameters for welding first overlapped region “C1”. These parameters may include the temperature to which the air supplied to welding plate 48b or welding plate 48b itself may be heated (a suitable temperature may be in the range of 500° C. for some thermoplastic roofing materials. The parameters may also include the speed at which the front and rear wheels 24a, 24b will be driven and thereby move welding machine 10 along the first overlapped region “C1”. The operator will also determine what size weights should be utilized for welding and will engage the appropriate weights 22 on welding machine 10.
Ralston does not disclose wherein the control unit is configured to adjust a heating power of the heating device based on the weight force measured by the weight sensor.
However, Bleibler discloses and makes obvious wherein the control unit is configured to adjust a heating power of the heating device (via temperature control means for controlling the joining temperature 121) based on the weight force measured by the weight sensor (pressure sensor 133). See paragraphs 0012, 0019, 0050-51, disclosing:
[0012] A practical embodiment further provides for automatic quality control of the weld joints, resulting in reduced production time which is particularly cost-effective when taking into consideration the qualification required of workers carrying out such quality control inspections. One version of such embodiment provides for automatic measuring and evaluation of the welding temperature and the contact pressure of the welding equipment at several points on each thrust washer. It may be even more important to measure the contact pressure and temperature on cooling.
…
[0019] Furthermore, it should be pointed out that the suggested welding robot would ideally be equipped with means for automatic quality control of the weld joints, including in particular a temperature probe for measuring the welding temperature and at least one, but preferably several, pressure sensors for measuring the contact pressure on the material sheeting above one weldable element, as well as an evaluation device that is connected to the temperature probe and the pressure sensor, or each pressure sensor, to provide a combined evaluation of temperature and pressure signals according to a pre-stored algorithm for quality determination.
…
[0050] The positioning component 110 comprises induction sensors 12f as gross detection means for finding elements that are invisible under the material sheeting (in this regard, see above, particularly the description of FIGS. 1 and 2), which are connected to a steering control 111 and a drive control 112 for automatically moving toward the detected elements. The positioning component 110 further comprises a fine detection means 113 which may also be designed as induction sensors (and particularly with several close-range induction sensors). After having moved to one of the invisible elements, these fine detection means precisely determine the alignment of the welding device of the welding robot for this element. The fine detection means 113 are connected to a detector signal input of a coordinates control unit 114 that moves the welding device and the clamping and cooling device to the optimum joining or clamping and cooling position with a corresponding drive control of associated linear guidance (FIGS. 4A and 6A) or a rotating table (FIG. 7A). A special fine positioning display 151 in the display component 150 is assigned to the fine detection means 113.
[0051] In the joining component 120, temperature control means for controlling the joining temperature 121, a timing device 122 and pressure control 123 for controlling the clamping pressure during joining are assigned to the induction welding device 14. Correspondingly, the quality control component 130 comprises a T-probe 131 and at least one pressure sensor 133, both of which may be connected to the temperature and pressure control devices 121, 123 in the joining component for implementation of temperature or pressure control. Aside from that, these sensors 131, 133 are connected to an evaluation device 134 for combined evaluation in accordance with a pre-stored quality determination algorithm.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized wherein the control unit is configured to adjust a heating power of the heating device based on the weight force measured by the weight sensor such as the temperature control means for controlling the joining temperature 121, the evaluation unit 134 and pressure sensors 133 of Bleibler in order to achieve combined evaluation in accordance with a pre-stored quality determination algorithm.
As to claim 11, Ralston discloses wherein the heating device comprises a hot air blower, and wherein the control unit is arranged to adjust an air flow. See paragraph 0066 and 0071, disclosing:
[0066] A first end of a hose 44 is engaged with a first end of nozzle 36 and extends through gap 38d defined between first and second mounting plates 38a, 38b. Hose 44 extends through an aperture 12p (FIG. 1) in top wall 12a of housing 12 and connects to a blower motor assembly 46 (FIG. 7). Assembly 46 is operatively engaged with control panel 30 and is activated and deactivated thereby. Blower motor assembly 46 is activated by engaging a control on control panel 30. Blower motor assembly 46 is provided to heat air which then flows through hose 44, through nozzle 36 and into a welding head 48 provided at a second end of nozzle 36. Air vents 50, 52 for blower motor assembly 46 are provided on first and second side walls 12e, 12f of housing 12.
…
[0071] The operator will engage control panel 30 to set the appropriate parameters for welding first overlapped region “C1”. These parameters may include the temperature to which the air supplied to welding plate 48b or welding plate 48b itself may be heated (a suitable temperature may be in the range of 500° C. for some thermoplastic roofing materials. The parameters may also include the speed at which the front and rear wheels 24a, 24b will be driven and thereby move welding machine 10 along the first overlapped region “C1”. The operator will also determine what size weights should be utilized for welding and will engage the appropriate weights 22 on welding machine 10.
Ralston does not disclose wherein the control unit is arranged to adjust an air flow based on the weight force measured by the weight sensor.
However, Bleibler discloses and makes obvious wherein the control unit is configured to adjust a heating power of the heating device (via temperature control means for controlling the joining temperature 121) based on the weight force measured by the weight sensor (pressure sensor 133). See paragraphs 0012, 0019, 0050-51, disclosing:
[0012] A practical embodiment further provides for automatic quality control of the weld joints, resulting in reduced production time which is particularly cost-effective when taking into consideration the qualification required of workers carrying out such quality control inspections. One version of such embodiment provides for automatic measuring and evaluation of the welding temperature and the contact pressure of the welding equipment at several points on each thrust washer. It may be even more important to measure the contact pressure and temperature on cooling.
…
[0019] Furthermore, it should be pointed out that the suggested welding robot would ideally be equipped with means for automatic quality control of the weld joints, including in particular a temperature probe for measuring the welding temperature and at least one, but preferably several, pressure sensors for measuring the contact pressure on the material sheeting above one weldable element, as well as an evaluation device that is connected to the temperature probe and the pressure sensor, or each pressure sensor, to provide a combined evaluation of temperature and pressure signals according to a pre-stored algorithm for quality determination.
…
[0050] The positioning component 110 comprises induction sensors 12f as gross detection means for finding elements that are invisible under the material sheeting (in this regard, see above, particularly the description of FIGS. 1 and 2), which are connected to a steering control 111 and a drive control 112 for automatically moving toward the detected elements. The positioning component 110 further comprises a fine detection means 113 which may also be designed as induction sensors (and particularly with several close-range induction sensors). After having moved to one of the invisible elements, these fine detection means precisely determine the alignment of the welding device of the welding robot for this element. The fine detection means 113 are connected to a detector signal input of a coordinates control unit 114 that moves the welding device and the clamping and cooling device to the optimum joining or clamping and cooling position with a corresponding drive control of associated linear guidance (FIGS. 4A and 6A) or a rotating table (FIG. 7A). A special fine positioning display 151 in the display component 150 is assigned to the fine detection means 113.
[0051] In the joining component 120, temperature control means for controlling the joining temperature 121, a timing device 122 and pressure control 123 for controlling the clamping pressure during joining are assigned to the induction welding device 14. Correspondingly, the quality control component 130 comprises a T-probe 131 and at least one pressure sensor 133, both of which may be connected to the temperature and pressure control devices 121, 123 in the joining component for implementation of temperature or pressure control. Aside from that, these sensors 131, 133 are connected to an evaluation device 134 for combined evaluation in accordance with a pre-stored quality determination algorithm.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized wherein the control unit is arranged to adjust an air flow (as in Ralston) by using a control means that controls based on the weight force measured by the weight sensor such as the temperature control means for controlling the joining temperature 121, the evaluation unit 134 and pressure sensors 133 of Bleibler in order to achieve combined evaluation in accordance with a pre-stored quality determination algorithm.
As to claim 12, Ralston does not disclose wherein the automatic welding machine further comprises a display device for displaying an additional weight and/or a weight force of the pressure roller on ground based on the weight force measured by the weight sensor.
However, Bleibler discloses and makes obvious wherein the automatic welding machine further comprises a display device for displaying (“the welding robot features in particular display means for displaying”) an additional weight and/or a weight force of the pressure roller on ground based on the weight force measured by the weight sensor. See paragraphs 0023 and 0045, below:
[0023] Particularly in the optional version with an electively semi-automatic operation, the welding robot features in particular display means for displaying the fine positioning of the welding device with regard to the weldable element and/or for displaying process parameters, such as welding temperature, contact pressure during welding, welding time, contact pressure during cooling, or cooling time. These display means enable even poorly qualified operators to carry out the welding process quickly and in precisely the correct position as well as with optimum joining parameters.
…
[0045] The first deviation in the welding robot 70′ is the incorporation of a display and control panel 78 with a joystick 78a, a display field 78b and an emergency stop switch 78c on the control unit 77. The control unit further comprises connection sockets 77a for additional (manual) welding devices. There is also a clamping and protection strip 72g at the front edge of the welding robot 70′ for clamping the waterproofing sheeting panels, upon which the welding robot moves during its operation, to the subsurface and for protecting the sensors 72f. A magnetic storage and output device 75a is designated separately as part of the clamping and cooling device 75.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized wherein the automatic welding machine further comprises a display device for displaying an additional weight and/or a weight force of the pressure roller on ground based on the weight force measured by the weight sensor such as by using the display of Bleibler in order to enable even poorly qualified operators to carry out the welding process quickly and in precisely the correct position as well as with optimum joining parameters.
As to claim 13, Ralston does not disclose wherein the automatic welding machine is configured to display one or more predefined values of predefined additional weights based on the weight force measured by the weight sensor.
However, Bleibler as applied above in claim 12 discloses and makes obvious wherein the automatic welding machine further comprises a display device for displaying (“the welding robot features in particular display means for displaying”) an additional weight and/or a weight force of the pressure roller on ground based on the weight force measured by the weight sensor. See paragraphs 0023 and 0045, below:
[0023] Particularly in the optional version with an electively semi-automatic operation, the welding robot features in particular display means for displaying the fine positioning of the welding device with regard to the weldable element and/or for displaying process parameters, such as welding temperature, contact pressure during welding, welding time, contact pressure during cooling, or cooling time. These display means enable even poorly qualified operators to carry out the welding process quickly and in precisely the correct position as well as with optimum joining parameters.
…
[0045] The first deviation in the welding robot 70′ is the incorporation of a display and control panel 78 with a joystick 78a, a display field 78b and an emergency stop switch 78c on the control unit 77. The control unit further comprises connection sockets 77a for additional (manual) welding devices. There is also a clamping and protection strip 72g at the front edge of the welding robot 70′ for clamping the waterproofing sheeting panels, upon which the welding robot moves during its operation, to the subsurface and for protecting the sensors 72f. A magnetic storage and output device 75a is designated separately as part of the clamping and cooling device 75.
Additionally, rearrangement of parts is often obvious. MPEP 2144.04 VI C. In this case, an arrangement modifying the display such that wherein the automatic welding machine is configured to display one or more predefined values of predefined additional weights based on the weight force measured by the weight sensor would have been an obvious rearrangement of parts because one or more predefined values of predefined additional weights is directly related to an additional weight and/or a weight force of the pressure roller on ground based on the weight force measured by the weight sensor.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized wherein the automatic welding machine is configured to display one or more predefined values of predefined additional weights based on the weight force measured by the weight sensor such as by using been an obvious rearrangement of parts of the display of Bleibler in order to enable even poorly qualified operators to carry out the welding process quickly and in precisely the correct position as well as with optimum joining parameters.
As to claim 14, Ralston does not disclose wherein the automatic welding machine is configured to display a number of predefined additional weights based on the weight force measured by the weight sensor.
However, Bleibler as applied above in claim 12 discloses and makes obvious wherein the automatic welding machine further comprises a display device for displaying (“the welding robot features in particular display means for displaying”) an additional weight and/or a weight force of the pressure roller on ground based on the weight force measured by the weight sensor. See paragraphs 0023 and 0045, below:
[0023] Particularly in the optional version with an electively semi-automatic operation, the welding robot features in particular display means for displaying the fine positioning of the welding device with regard to the weldable element and/or for displaying process parameters, such as welding temperature, contact pressure during welding, welding time, contact pressure during cooling, or cooling time. These display means enable even poorly qualified operators to carry out the welding process quickly and in precisely the correct position as well as with optimum joining parameters.
…
[0045] The first deviation in the welding robot 70′ is the incorporation of a display and control panel 78 with a joystick 78a, a display field 78b and an emergency stop switch 78c on the control unit 77. The control unit further comprises connection sockets 77a for additional (manual) welding devices. There is also a clamping and protection strip 72g at the front edge of the welding robot 70′ for clamping the waterproofing sheeting panels, upon which the welding robot moves during its operation, to the subsurface and for protecting the sensors 72f. A magnetic storage and output device 75a is designated separately as part of the clamping and cooling device 75.
Additionally, rearrangement of parts is often obvious. MPEP 2144.04 VI C. In this case, an arrangement modifying the display such that wherein the automatic welding machine is configured to display a number of predefined additional weights based on the weight force measured by the weight sensor would have been an obvious rearrangement of parts because one or more predefined values of predefined additional weights is directly related to an additional weight and/or a weight force of the pressure roller on ground based on the weight force measured by the weight sensor.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized wherein the automatic welding machine is configured to display a number of predefined additional weights based on the weight force measured by the weight sensor such as by using been an obvious rearrangement of parts of the display of Bleibler in order to enable even poorly qualified operators to carry out the welding process quickly and in precisely the correct position as well as with optimum joining parameters.
As to claim 15, Ralston discloses a control unit. See paragraph 0060, disclosing control panel 30 (cited above). Ralston does not disclose the full limitation of comprising a control unit adapted to detect a presence and/or values of the one or more additional weights in the mount over time, based on the weight force measured by the weight sensor.
However, Bleibler discloses and/or makes obvious comprising a control unit (evaluation device 134) adapted to detect a presence and/or values of the one or more additional weights in the mount over time (paragraph 0053, disclosing “a pressure detection device 124 and a time measuring device 125 for measuring the contact pressure during cooling of the weld joint and the interaction time of the contact pressure.” and “The data recorded by the recording means 124, 125 is displayed on a special display 152 of the display component 150, just like the welding temperature and the contact pressure during welding are shown on a display 153”), based on the weight force measured by the weight sensor (pressure sensor 133). See paragraphs 0012, 0019, 0050-51, disclosing:
[0012] A practical embodiment further provides for automatic quality control of the weld joints, resulting in reduced production time which is particularly cost-effective when taking into consideration the qualification required of workers carrying out such quality control inspections. One version of such embodiment provides for automatic measuring and evaluation of the welding temperature and the contact pressure of the welding equipment at several points on each thrust washer. It may be even more important to measure the contact pressure and temperature on cooling.
…
[0019] Furthermore, it should be pointed out that the suggested welding robot would ideally be equipped with means for automatic quality control of the weld joints, including in particular a temperature probe for measuring the welding temperature and at least one, but preferably several, pressure sensors for measuring the contact pressure on the material sheeting above one weldable element, as well as an evaluation device that is connected to the temperature probe and the pressure sensor, or each pressure sensor, to provide a combined evaluation of temperature and pressure signals according to a pre-stored algorithm for quality determination.
…
[0050] The positioning component 110 comprises induction sensors 12f as gross detection means for finding elements that are invisible under the material sheeting (in this regard, see above, particularly the description of FIGS. 1 and 2), which are connected to a steering control 111 and a drive control 112 for automatically moving toward the detected elements. The positioning component 110 further comprises a fine detection means 113 which may also be designed as induction sensors (and particularly with several close-range induction sensors). After having moved to one of the invisible elements, these fine detection means precisely determine the alignment of the welding device of the welding robot for this element. The fine detection means 113 are connected to a detector signal input of a coordinates control unit 114 that moves the welding device and the clamping and cooling device to the optimum joining or clamping and cooling position with a corresponding drive control of associated linear guidance (FIGS. 4A and 6A) or a rotating table (FIG. 7A). A special fine positioning display 151 in the display component 150 is assigned to the fine detection means 113.
[0051] In the joining component 120, temperature control means for controlling the joining temperature 121, a timing device 122 and pressure control 123 for controlling the clamping pressure during joining are assigned to the induction welding device 14. Correspondingly, the quality control component 130 comprises a T-probe 131 and at least one pressure sensor 133, both of which may be connected to the temperature and pressure control devices 121, 123 in the joining component for implementation of temperature or pressure control. Aside from that, these sensors 131, 133 are connected to an evaluation device 134 for combined evaluation in accordance with a pre-stored quality determination algorithm.
[0052] In the embodiment example, the joining component 130 further comprises a pressure detection device 124 and a time measuring device 125 for measuring the contact pressure during cooling of the weld joint and the interaction time of the contact pressure. The above-mentioned embodiment of the invention, where the contact pressure is achieved by placing suitable magnets on the weld joint, is specifically designed with sensory pressure measuring since, in the case of a faulty weld joint, the pressure value will deviate from the expected target value based on the magnet parameters. Here, contact and cooling times are determined by the time period from when the magnet is placed on the respective weld joint up to its removal. For practical purposes, correct measuring of this time period will also include monitoring of the temperature during cooling to avoid premature removal of the magnets from the weld joints. The data recorded by the recording means 124, 125 is displayed on a special display 152 of the display component 150, just like the welding temperature and the contact pressure during welding are shown on a display 153.
[0053] In the data processing/storage component 140, a data processing device 141, a data storage device 142 and a data output interface 143 are shown only generally; these form the essential functional sections of each component, and signal connections on the input side to the above-mentioned detection means are shown for the data processing device 141. As already mentioned earlier, the intention is not to provide a complete illustration or the statement that the data of all mentioned detection means must necessarily be processed and stored for post-processing.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized comprising a control unit adapted to detect a presence and/or values of the one or more additional weights in the mount over time, based on the weight force measured by the weight sensor such as the display 150, evaluation unit 134 and pressure sensors 133 of Bleibler in order to achieve combined evaluation in accordance with a pre-stored quality determination algorithm.
As to claim 16, Ralston discloses a control unit. See paragraph 0060, disclosing control panel 30 (cited above). Ralston does not disclose the full limitation of comprising a control unit configured to determine a total weight force based on a known weight of the automatic welding machine without additional weight and further based on the weight force measured by the weight sensor.
However, Bleibler discloses and/or makes obvious comprising a control unit (evaluation device 134) configured to determine a total weight force based on a known weight of the automatic welding machine without additional weight (paragraph 0053, disclosing “a pressure detection device 124 and a time measuring device 125 for measuring the contact pressure during cooling of the weld joint and the interaction time of the contact pressure.” and “The data recorded by the recording means 124, 125 is displayed on a special display 152 of the display component 150, just like the welding temperature and the contact pressure during welding are shown on a display 153”; this data would take into account the weight of the machine) and further based on the weight force measured by the weight sensor (pressure sensor 133). See paragraphs 0012, 0019, 0050-51, disclosing:
[0012] A practical embodiment further provides for automatic quality control of the weld joints, resulting in reduced production time which is particularly cost-effective when taking into consideration the qualification required of workers carrying out such quality control inspections. One version of such embodiment provides for automatic measuring and evaluation of the welding temperature and the contact pressure of the welding equipment at several points on each thrust washer. It may be even more important to measure the contact pressure and temperature on cooling.
…
[0019] Furthermore, it should be pointed out that the suggested welding robot would ideally be equipped with means for automatic quality control of the weld joints, including in particular a temperature probe for measuring the welding temperature and at least one, but preferably several, pressure sensors for measuring the contact pressure on the material sheeting above one weldable element, as well as an evaluation device that is connected to the temperature probe and the pressure sensor, or each pressure sensor, to provide a combined evaluation of temperature and pressure signals according to a pre-stored algorithm for quality determination.
…
[0050] The positioning component 110 comprises induction sensors 12f as gross detection means for finding elements that are invisible under the material sheeting (in this regard, see above, particularly the description of FIGS. 1 and 2), which are connected to a steering control 111 and a drive control 112 for automatically moving toward the detected elements. The positioning component 110 further comprises a fine detection means 113 which may also be designed as induction sensors (and particularly with several close-range induction sensors). After having moved to one of the invisible elements, these fine detection means precisely determine the alignment of the welding device of the welding robot for this element. The fine detection means 113 are connected to a detector signal input of a coordinates control unit 114 that moves the welding device and the clamping and cooling device to the optimum joining or clamping and cooling position with a corresponding drive control of associated linear guidance (FIGS. 4A and 6A) or a rotating table (FIG. 7A). A special fine positioning display 151 in the display component 150 is assigned to the fine detection means 113.
[0051] In the joining component 120, temperature control means for controlling the joining temperature 121, a timing device 122 and pressure control 123 for controlling the clamping pressure during joining are assigned to the induction welding device 14. Correspondingly, the quality control component 130 comprises a T-probe 131 and at least one pressure sensor 133, both of which may be connected to the temperature and pressure control devices 121, 123 in the joining component for implementation of temperature or pressure control. Aside from that, these sensors 131, 133 are connected to an evaluation device 134 for combined evaluation in accordance with a pre-stored quality determination algorithm.
[0052] In the embodiment example, the joining component 130 further comprises a pressure detection device 124 and a time measuring device 125 for measuring the contact pressure during cooling of the weld joint and the interaction time of the contact pressure. The above-mentioned embodiment of the invention, where the contact pressure is achieved by placing suitable magnets on the weld joint, is specifically designed with sensory pressure measuring since, in the case of a faulty weld joint, the pressure value will deviate from the expected target value based on the magnet parameters. Here, contact and cooling times are determined by the time period from when the magnet is placed on the respective weld joint up to its removal. For practical purposes, correct measuring of this time period will also include monitoring of the temperature during cooling to avoid premature removal of the magnets from the weld joints. The data recorded by the recording means 124, 125 is displayed on a special display 152 of the display component 150, just like the welding temperature and the contact pressure during welding are shown on a display 153.
[0053] In the data processing/storage component 140, a data processing device 141, a data storage device 142 and a data output interface 143 are shown only generally; these form the essential functional sections of each component, and signal connections on the input side to the above-mentioned detection means are shown for the data processing device 141. As already mentioned earlier, the intention is not to provide a complete illustration or the statement that the data of all mentioned detection means must necessarily be processed and stored for post-processing.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have the full limitation of comprising a control unit configured to determine a total weight force based on a known weight of the automatic welding machine without additional weight and further based on the weight force measured by the weight sensor such as the display 150, evaluation unit 134 and pressure sensors 133 of Bleibler in order to achieve combined evaluation in accordance with a pre-stored quality determination algorithm.
As to claim 17, Ralston discloses a control unit. See paragraph 0060, disclosing control panel 30 (cited above). Ralston does not disclose the full limitation of comprising a control unit configured to determine a total weight force acting on the pressure roller based on a known weight of the automatic welding machine without additional weight and further based on the weight force measured by the weight sensor.
However, Bleibler discloses and/or makes obvious comprising a control unit (evaluation device 134) configured to determine a total weight force acting on the pressure roller based on a known weight of the automatic welding machine without additional weight (paragraph 0053, disclosing “a pressure detection device 124 and a time measuring device 125 for measuring the contact pressure during cooling of the weld joint and the interaction time of the contact pressure.” and “The data recorded by the recording means 124, 125 is displayed on a special display 152 of the display component 150, just like the welding temperature and the contact pressure during welding are shown on a display 153”; this data would take into account the weight of the machine) and further based on the weight force measured by the weight sensor (pressure sensor 133). See paragraphs 0012, 0019, 0050-51, disclosing:
[0012] A practical embodiment further provides for automatic quality control of the weld joints, resulting in reduced production time which is particularly cost-effective when taking into consideration the qualification required of workers carrying out such quality control inspections. One version of such embodiment provides for automatic measuring and evaluation of the welding temperature and the contact pressure of the welding equipment at several points on each thrust washer. It may be even more important to measure the contact pressure and temperature on cooling.
…
[0019] Furthermore, it should be pointed out that the suggested welding robot would ideally be equipped with means for automatic quality control of the weld joints, including in particular a temperature probe for measuring the welding temperature and at least one, but preferably several, pressure sensors for measuring the contact pressure on the material sheeting above one weldable element, as well as an evaluation device that is connected to the temperature probe and the pressure sensor, or each pressure sensor, to provide a combined evaluation of temperature and pressure signals according to a pre-stored algorithm for quality determination.
…
[0050] The positioning component 110 comprises induction sensors 12f as gross detection means for finding elements that are invisible under the material sheeting (in this regard, see above, particularly the description of FIGS. 1 and 2), which are connected to a steering control 111 and a drive control 112 for automatically moving toward the detected elements. The positioning component 110 further comprises a fine detection means 113 which may also be designed as induction sensors (and particularly with several close-range induction sensors). After having moved to one of the invisible elements, these fine detection means precisely determine the alignment of the welding device of the welding robot for this element. The fine detection means 113 are connected to a detector signal input of a coordinates control unit 114 that moves the welding device and the clamping and cooling device to the optimum joining or clamping and cooling position with a corresponding drive control of associated linear guidance (FIGS. 4A and 6A) or a rotating table (FIG. 7A). A special fine positioning display 151 in the display component 150 is assigned to the fine detection means 113.
[0051] In the joining component 120, temperature control means for controlling the joining temperature 121, a timing device 122 and pressure control 123 for controlling the clamping pressure during joining are assigned to the induction welding device 14. Correspondingly, the quality control component 130 comprises a T-probe 131 and at least one pressure sensor 133, both of which may be connected to the temperature and pressure control devices 121, 123 in the joining component for implementation of temperature or pressure control. Aside from that, these sensors 131, 133 are connected to an evaluation device 134 for combined evaluation in accordance with a pre-stored quality determination algorithm.
[0052] In the embodiment example, the joining component 130 further comprises a pressure detection device 124 and a time measuring device 125 for measuring the contact pressure during cooling of the weld joint and the interaction time of the contact pressure. The above-mentioned embodiment of the invention, where the contact pressure is achieved by placing suitable magnets on the weld joint, is specifically designed with sensory pressure measuring since, in the case of a faulty weld joint, the pressure value will deviate from the expected target value based on the magnet parameters. Here, contact and cooling times are determined by the time period from when the magnet is placed on the respective weld joint up to its removal. For practical purposes, correct measuring of this time period will also include monitoring of the temperature during cooling to avoid premature removal of the magnets from the weld joints. The data recorded by the recording means 124, 125 is displayed on a special display 152 of the display component 150, just like the welding temperature and the contact pressure during welding are shown on a display 153.
[0053] In the data processing/storage component 140, a data processing device 141, a data storage device 142 and a data output interface 143 are shown only generally; these form the essential functional sections of each component, and signal connections on the input side to the above-mentioned detection means are shown for the data processing device 141. As already mentioned earlier, the intention is not to provide a complete illustration or the statement that the data of all mentioned detection means must necessarily be processed and stored for post-processing.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have the full limitation of comprising a control unit configured to determine a total weight force acting on the pressure roller based on a known weight of the automatic welding machine without additional weight and further based on the weight force measured by the weight sensor such as the display 150, evaluation unit 134 and pressure sensors 133 of Bleibler in order to achieve combined evaluation in accordance with a pre-stored quality determination algorithm.
As to claim 18, Ralston discloses wherein the heating device comprises an electrically heated welding wedge and/or a hot air blower. See paragraph 0066, disclosing:
[0066] A first end of a hose 44 is engaged with a first end of nozzle 36 and extends through gap 38d defined between first and second mounting plates 38a, 38b. Hose 44 extends through an aperture 12p (FIG. 1) in top wall 12a of housing 12 and connects to a blower motor assembly 46 (FIG. 7). Assembly 46 is operatively engaged with control panel 30 and is activated and deactivated thereby. Blower motor assembly 46 is activated by engaging a control on control panel 30. Blower motor assembly 46 is provided to heat air which then flows through hose 44, through nozzle 36 and into a welding head 48 provided at a second end of nozzle 36. Air vents 50, 52 for blower motor assembly 46 are provided on first and second side walls 12e, 12f of housing 12.
As to claim 19, Ralston discloses a control unit. See paragraph 0060, disclosing control panel 30 (cited above). Ralston also discloses that (b) movement speed and (c) hot air temperature are relevant control parameter (see paragraph 0071, disclosing “These parameters may include the temperature to which the air supplied to welding plate 48b or welding plate 48b itself may be heated (a suitable temperature may be in the range of 500° C. for some thermoplastic roofing materials. The parameters may also include the speed at which the front and rear wheels 24a, 24b will be driven and thereby move welding machine 10 along the first overlapped region “C1”.”)
Ralston does not disclose the full limitation of comprising a control unit configured to display one or more of (a) a mains voltage, (b) a movement speed, (c) a hot air temperature, (d) a heating wedge temperature, (e) a speed of a hot air blower on a display device and/or to record it over time.
However, Bleibler discloses and/or makes obvious comprising a control unit (evaluation device 134) configured to display one or more of (a) a mains voltage, (b) a movement speed, (c) a hot air temperature, (d) a heating wedge temperature, (e) a speed of a hot air blower on a display device (display component 150) and/or to record it over time (see paragraph 0053, disclosing “a pressure detection device 124 and a time measuring device 125 for measuring the contact pressure during cooling of the weld joint and the interaction time of the contact pressure.” and “The data recorded by the recording means 124, 125 is displayed on a special display 152 of the display component 150, just like the welding temperature and the contact pressure during welding are shown on a display 153”; this data would take into account the weight of the machine). See paragraphs 0012, 0019, 0050-53, disclosing:
[0012] A practical embodiment further provides for automatic quality control of the weld joints, resulting in reduced production time which is particularly cost-effective when taking into consideration the qualification required of workers carrying out such quality control inspections. One version of such embodiment provides for automatic measuring and evaluation of the welding temperature and the contact pressure of the welding equipment at several points on each thrust washer. It may be even more important to measure the contact pressure and temperature on cooling.
…
[0019] Furthermore, it should be pointed out that the suggested welding robot would ideally be equipped with means for automatic quality control of the weld joints, including in particular a temperature probe for measuring the welding temperature and at least one, but preferably several, pressure sensors for measuring the contact pressure on the material sheeting above one weldable element, as well as an evaluation device that is connected to the temperature probe and the pressure sensor, or each pressure sensor, to provide a combined evaluation of temperature and pressure signals according to a pre-stored algorithm for quality determination.
…
[0050] The positioning component 110 comprises induction sensors 12f as gross detection means for finding elements that are invisible under the material sheeting (in this regard, see above, particularly the description of FIGS. 1 and 2), which are connected to a steering control 111 and a drive control 112 for automatically moving toward the detected elements. The positioning component 110 further comprises a fine detection means 113 which may also be designed as induction sensors (and particularly with several close-range induction sensors). After having moved to one of the invisible elements, these fine detection means precisely determine the alignment of the welding device of the welding robot for this element. The fine detection means 113 are connected to a detector signal input of a coordinates control unit 114 that moves the welding device and the clamping and cooling device to the optimum joining or clamping and cooling position with a corresponding drive control of associated linear guidance (FIGS. 4A and 6A) or a rotating table (FIG. 7A). A special fine positioning display 151 in the display component 150 is assigned to the fine detection means 113.
[0051] In the joining component 120, temperature control means for controlling the joining temperature 121, a timing device 122 and pressure control 123 for controlling the clamping pressure during joining are assigned to the induction welding device 14. Correspondingly, the quality control component 130 comprises a T-probe 131 and at least one pressure sensor 133, both of which may be connected to the temperature and pressure control devices 121, 123 in the joining component for implementation of temperature or pressure control. Aside from that, these sensors 131, 133 are connected to an evaluation device 134 for combined evaluation in accordance with a pre-stored quality determination algorithm.
[0052] In the embodiment example, the joining component 130 further comprises a pressure detection device 124 and a time measuring device 125 for measuring the contact pressure during cooling of the weld joint and the interaction time of the contact pressure. The above-mentioned embodiment of the invention, where the contact pressure is achieved by placing suitable magnets on the weld joint, is specifically designed with sensory pressure measuring since, in the case of a faulty weld joint, the pressure value will deviate from the expected target value based on the magnet parameters. Here, contact and cooling times are determined by the time period from when the magnet is placed on the respective weld joint up to its removal. For practical purposes, correct measuring of this time period will also include monitoring of the temperature during cooling to avoid premature removal of the magnets from the weld joints. The data recorded by the recording means 124, 125 is displayed on a special display 152 of the display component 150, just like the welding temperature and the contact pressure during welding are shown on a display 153.
[0053] In the data processing/storage component 140, a data processing device 141, a data storage device 142 and a data output interface 143 are shown only generally; these form the essential functional sections of each component, and signal connections on the input side to the above-mentioned detection means are shown for the data processing device 141. As already mentioned earlier, the intention is not to provide a complete illustration or the statement that the data of all mentioned detection means must necessarily be processed and stored for post-processing.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have the full limitation of a control unit configured to display one or more of (a) a mains voltage, (b) a movement speed, (c) a hot air temperature, (d) a heating wedge temperature, (e) a speed of a hot air blower on a display device and/or to record it over time such as the display 150, evaluation unit 134 and pressure sensors 133 of Bleibler in order to achieve combined evaluation in accordance with a pre-stored quality determination algorithm.
As to claim 20, Ralston discloses a method for thermal joining of material sheets to be connected to one another in a materially bonded manner under the application of heat and subsequent application of pressure, comprising the steps of:
providing a portion of the an automatic welding machine of claim 1 (see also figures);
applying one or more additional weights, which are configured to increase a pressure on the pressure roller, on the mount of the automatic welding machine.
Ralston does not disclose the full limitation of providing an automatic welding machine according to claim 1; and does not disclose measuring a weight force caused inter alia by the one or more additional weights, which acts at least partially on the pressure roller.
As to an automatic welding machine of claim 1, Ralston discloses an automatic welding machine for thermal joining of material sheets, in particular for edge-side joining of an overlapping upper material sheet to a lower material sheet (see the abstract, reciting “A machine for welding an overlapped region of two adjacent strips of material and a method of using the same.”), to be connected to one another in a materially bonded manner under the application of heat and subsequent application of pressure (paragraph 0058, disclosing “Welding of materials such as roofing membranes typically requires the application of both heat and pressure.”), comprising
a heating device (see paragraph 0068, disclosing “heated air generated by blower assembly 46”; see also “blower motor assembly 146”)) for at least partially heating the material sheets to be joined in a connection region;
a chassis (“housing 12”; “housing 112”) comprising a pressure roller (see “front pressure roller” and “rear pressure roller”) configured to apply pressure to the material sheets in the working direction behind the heating device;
a mount (including “bottom wall 12b”) for one or more additional weights (“one or more weights 22”) configured to increase a pressure on the pressure roller (see paragraph 0058 and 0088, below);
[0058] One or more weights 22 are selectively engageable with housing 12. Weight 22 is positioned adjacent one of front and rear walls 12c, 12d and rests on the portion of bottom wall 12b that extends outwardly beyond front and rear walls 12c, 12d. This can be seen in FIG. 7. Weight 22 may be secured in some manner to the adjacent front or rear wall 12c, 12d or to bottom wall 12b. Each of the one or more weights 22 may be of a different weight. For example, weight 22 may be anywhere from 2 lbs to 25 lbs in weight. The one or more weights 22 may be selectively engaged with housing 12 to change the overall weight of welding machine 10. Welding of materials such as roofing membranes typically requires the application of both heat and pressure. Adding one or more weights 22 to housing 12 changes the pressure that may be applied to roofing membranes by welding machine 10. As illustrated in FIG. 1, each weight 22 may define a slot 22a in an end wall thereof. Slot 22a may be used as a hand-hold for holding and manipulating weight 22.
…
[0088] Stepper motor 126 is operatively engaged, via drive belt 128 (FIG. 20), to a roller assembly 146. Drive belt 128, line drive belt 24g, is an air dam belt that traps hot air from welding nozzle 136 in the area of the membrane to be welded. This air dam belt aids in creating a clean weld. Roller assembly 125 includes a front roller 125a, a rear roller 125b, and a drive belt 126 that extends around front and rear rollers 125a, 125b. Drive belt 128 rotates front roller 125a and that motion is transferred to drive belt 125c and thereby to rear roller 125b. Front roller 125a is positioned in front of the planar member/second leg 149b of welding head 149. Rear roller 125b is positioned rearwardly of the planar member/second leg 149b. A weight 122 is provided within chamber 112g of housing 112. Weight 122 extends from proximate front wall 112c to proximate rear wall 112d and may be positioned in such a way that it is aligned along the same plane as front and rear rollers 125a, 125b. This arrangement of weight 122 relative to rollers 125a, 125b ensures that the weight is directed to those parts of welding machine 110 that apply pressure to an overlapped region of the material being welded.
Ralston does not disclose a weight sensor for measuring a weight force caused inter alia by the one or more additional weights in the mount, which acts at least partially on the pressure roller.
However, Bleibler discloses and/or makes obvious a weight sensor (at least one pressure sensor 133”) for measuring a weight force caused inter alia by the one or more additional weights in the mount, which acts at least partially on the pressure roller, and therefore also makes obvious the step of measuring a weight force caused inter alia by the one or more additional weights, which acts at least partially on the pressure roller. See paragraph 0012, 0019 and 0051, disclosing:
[0012] A practical embodiment further provides for automatic quality control of the weld joints, resulting in reduced production time which is particularly cost-effective when taking into consideration the qualification required of workers carrying out such quality control inspections. One version of such embodiment provides for automatic measuring and evaluation of the welding temperature and the contact pressure of the welding equipment at several points on each thrust washer. It may be even more important to measure the contact pressure and temperature on cooling.
…
[0019] Furthermore, it should be pointed out that the suggested welding robot would ideally be equipped with means for automatic quality control of the weld joints, including in particular a temperature probe for measuring the welding temperature and at least one, but preferably several, pressure sensors for measuring the contact pressure on the material sheeting above one weldable element, as well as an evaluation device that is connected to the temperature probe and the pressure sensor, or each pressure sensor, to provide a combined evaluation of temperature and pressure signals according to a pre-stored algorithm for quality determination.
…
[0051] In the joining component 120, temperature control means for controlling the joining temperature 121, a timing device 122 and pressure control 123 for controlling the clamping pressure during joining are assigned to the induction welding device 14. Correspondingly, the quality control component 130 comprises a T-probe 131 and at least one pressure sensor 133, both of which may be connected to the temperature and pressure control devices 121, 123 in the joining component for implementation of temperature or pressure control. Aside from that, these sensors 131, 133 are connected to an evaluation device 134 for combined evaluation in accordance with a pre-stored quality determination algorithm.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized disclose a weight sensor for measuring a weight force caused inter alia by the one or more additional weights in the mount, which acts at least partially on the pressure roller such as the pressure sensor of Bleibler in order to achieve combined evaluation in accordance with a pre-stored quality determination algorithm.
As to claim 21, Ralston does not disclose wherein at least one of the additional weights comprises a raised contact surface and is configured to contact the weight sensor in the mount and to exert the weight force on the weight sensor.
However, rearrangement of parts and changes in size/proportion and shape are very often obvious. MPEP 2144.04 IV A, B, VI C. In this case, an arrangement wherein at least one of the additional weights comprises a raised contact surface and is configured to contact the weight sensor in the mount and to exert a weight force on the weight sensor would have been an obvious rearrangement of parts and change in size/proportion and shape.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized the full limitation wherein at least one of the additional weights comprises a raised contact surface and is configured to contact the weight sensor in the mount and to exert a weight force on the weight sensor as an obvious rearrangement of parts and change in size/proportion and shape of the weights and mounting plate of Ralston.
As to claim 22, Ralston discloses wherein the automatic welding machine is automatic welding machine for edge-side joining of an overlapping upper material sheet to a lower material sheet (see the abstract, reciting “A machine for welding an overlapped region of two adjacent strips of material and a method of using the same.”)
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The examiner can normally be reached M-F 10-6:30.
/GEORGE R KOCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1745
GRK