DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 8 and 17 are objected to because of the following informalities: Claims 8 and 17 recite the “lower extension”, which lacks antecedent basis, however, the claims appear to further define the rear bumper of claims 7 and 16. The examiner has assumed claim 8 to depend upon claim 7, and claim 17 to depend upon claim 16. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 10-14, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Chi (US 6,484,472 B2).
With respect to claim 1, Chi discloses a corner protection system comprising an edge panel 2 for covering a corner, and left and right panels 111, 151 for covering the left and right side of the corner, as shown in figures 1 and 2.
With respect to claim 2 and 11, Chi discloses said edge panel as able to fold between flat and right angle configurations, as shown in figure 1.
With respect to claims 3 and 12, Chi discloses relief slots 21, 22 in edge panel, as shown in figure 1.
With respect to claims 4 and 13, Chi discloses left and right rail panel sliders (not numbered), the six horizontal ridges are interpreted as “slider, as shown in figure 2.
With respect to claim 5 and 14, Chi discloses left and right panel anchors 20 for securing the left and right panels to the wall corner, as shown in figure 2.
With respect to claim 10, Chi discloses left and right overlaps 30, which overlap the left and right panels, respectively, as shown in figure 2.
With respect to claim 19, the limitations recited in this claim have all been addressed in the rejection of claims 2-5 and 11-14, see above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chi, as applied to claims 1 and 10, and further in view of Berfield (US 4,621,849 A).
Chi does not disclose a front frame bumper. Berfield does disclose a cart 11 with front frame 28 with front bumper 51, as shown in figures 3 and 7. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the front bumper and cart system of Berfield with the corner protection system of Chi in order to prevent damage to a wall corner and/or a shopping cart frame.
Claim(s) 7, 16, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chi, as applied to claims 1 and 10 above, and further in view of Nebolon et al. (US 7,225,903 B2).
Chi does not disclose a shopping cart with rear wheel bumper. Nebolon et al. does disclose a shopping cart 14 with rear wheel bumper 10, as shown in figure 4. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the rear wheel bumper on a cart of Nebolon et al. in combination with the corner protection system of Chi in order to protect the wall and cart from damage.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8, 9, 17, and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
As allowable subject matter has been indicated, applicant's reply must either comply with all formal requirements or specifically traverse each requirement not complied with. See 37 CFR 1.111(b) and MPEP § 707.07(a).
Conclusion
JEFFREY J. RESTIFO
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3613
/JEFFREY J RESTIFO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3613