Art Rejection
2. Claims 1-4, 10-13 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Raman, U.S. pat. Appl. Pub. No. 2012/0207175.
Per claim 1, Raman discloses a computer-implemented method, comprising:
a) establishing, by a first network endpoint 12, a connection with a second network endpoint 14 by transmitting a control packet including a first (flow) identifier associated with the connection and the first network endpoint 12 (see par 0014, 0024);
b) storing, by the first network endpoint in a first data structure (e.g., flow table 30) based on the first identifier (see par 0024), a first connection state associated with the connection, i.e., recording a selected queue in the flow table (see par 0029, step 48 in fig. 4), the first connection state including an indirection value (e.g., queue ID) indicating an index of a corresponding entry in a second (congestion table 56) data structure (see par 0032) ;
c) storing, by the first network endpoint in the second data structure 56 based on the indirection value (queue ID), a first congestion state associated with the connection (see par 0032); and
d) identifying, for a data flow associated with the first identifier, a congestion state corresponding to the data flow by:
i) obtaining the first connection state (assigned queue) by searching the first data structure (flow table) based on the first (flow identifier) (see par 0033, step 66 in fig. 6); and
ii) identifying the first congestion state by searching the second data structure (congestion table) (see par 0034, step 70 in fig. 6).
Raman does not explicitly identifying the first congestion state by searching the second data structure (congestion table) based on the indirection value (queue ID) indicated in the obtained first connection state. Raman however teaches assigning the flow to the previously assigned queue if the same queue does not get congested (see par 0034).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to also perform the congestion check on the flow with previously assigned queue because it would have enabled the system to assigning the flow to new queue when the previously assigned queue gets congested.
Per claim 2, Raman teaches determining whether to schedule the data back (to a queue) based on at least a status of the obtained first connection state, i.e. whether a previous flow filter/record exists for the identified flow (see par 0034).
Per claim 3, Raman teaches storing the first connection state in a first entry in the first data structure (flow table), the data structure comprising connection states associated with connections between the first network endpoint and at least the second network endpoint (see par 0024, 0029); and
storing the first congestion state in a second entry in the second data structure (congestion table), the second data structure comprising congestion states associated with the connections between the first network endpoint and at least the second network endpoint (see par 0032).
Per claim 4, Raman teaches that the first entry indicates at least the first identifier associated with the connection, one or more data packets pending to be transmitted, a first status associated with the connection (see par 0024, 0029), and a congestion index (queue ID) associated with the first congestion state stored in the second data structure (see par 0032).
Raman also teaches identifying the first congestion state by searching the second data structure (congestion table) further based on the congestion index indicated in the first entry (see par 0034).
Claims 10-13 and 18-19 are similar in scope as that of claims 1-4 and hence are rejected for the same rationale set forth for claims 1-4.
Allowable Subject Matter
3. Claims 5-9, 14-17 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Amendment
4. Applicant’s arguments filed January 26, 2026 with respect to claims 1-4, 10-13 and 18-19 have been considered but are deemed moot in view of new ground of rejection set forth above.
Conclusion
5. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new grounds of rejection. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See M.P.E.P. § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 C.F.R. § 1.136(a).
A SHORTENED STATUTORY PERIOD FOR RESPONSE TO THIS FINAL ACTION IS SET TO EXPIRE THREE MONTHS FROM THE DATE OF THIS ACTION. IN THE EVENT A FIRST RESPONSE IS FILED WITHIN TWO MONTHS OF THE MAILING DATE OF THIS FINAL ACTION AND THE ADVISORY ACTION IS NOT MAILED UNTIL AFTER THE END OF THE THREE-MONTH SHORTENED STATUTORY PERIOD, THEN THE SHORTENED STATUTORY PERIOD WILL EXPIRE ON THE DATE THE ADVISORY ACTION IS MAILED, AND ANY EXTENSION FEE PURSUANT TO 37 C.F.R. § 1.136(a) WILL BE CALCULATED FROM THE MAILING DATE OF THE ADVISORY ACTION. IN NO EVENT WILL THE STATUTORY PERIOD FOR RESPONSE EXPIRE LATER THAN SIX MONTHS FROM THE DATE OF THIS FINAL ACTION.
/Viet D Vu/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2455
8/3/26