DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 06/24/2026 has been entered. Claims 13-19 remain pending in the application. Claims 21-26 have been entered but are seen as withdrawn since they depend on a withdrawn claim. Claims 1-12 have been cancelled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 13-19 have been considered and are seen as persusive. See new grounds for rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 13-17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by YANG et al. (US 20220370120) herein referred to as YANG
Regarding Claim 1, YANG discloses An apparatus (Figure 1A) comprising: an elongate tool body (Figure 1B, 102) comprising at least one lumen (Figure 1B, 114) and a distal portion (Figure 1B, 116); the elongate tool body comprising: a distal puncturing tip for puncturing an interatrial septum of a heart of a patient to create an opening (Paragraph [0039]; wherein distal puncturing tool can be apart of the elongated tool; Paragraph [0052]; wherein puncturing tool forms an initial puncture through septal wall tissue); And an inflatable balloon configured to be inflated via the lumen of the elongate tool body (Figure 3D, 176), wherein the inflatable balloon comprises: a distal outer surface configured for contacting the interatrial septum (Paragraph [0049]; wherein balloon contacts septal wall tissue to cryoablate it); and an ablation region of the distal outer surface of the inflatable balloon for ablating the interatrial septum when the inflatable balloon receives the ablation energy (Figure 3D, 180; Paragraph [0061]; wherein introduce a cooling agent, such as a refrigerant, into balloon lobes to ablate both sides of the septal wall to biostabilize the multi-cuspid interatrial shunt), wherein the ablation region is disposed on the distal outer surface of the inflatable balloon in a manner that the ablation region creates a multi cuspid ablation pattern when the inflatable balloon receives the ablation energy (Figure 3D, 180; Paragraph [0061]; wherein introduce a cooling agent, such as a refrigerant, into balloon lobes to ablate both sides of the septal wall to biostabilize the multi-cuspid interatrial shunt), and wherein the inflatable balloon is configured to advance through the opening and to dilate the opening causing tissue to tear along the multi cuspid ablation pattern (Paragraph [0061]; wherein clinician may advance the balloon at least partially through opening and inflate balloon; Paragraph [0052]; wherein dilation of the septum will cause a dilation puncture therefore tearing the tissue)
Regarding claim 14, Yang discloses the apparatus of claim 13, wherein the inflatable balloon comprises a dual-lobe balloon having a distal lobe and a proximal lobe with a waist in between the distal lobe and the proximal lobe (Figure 3D, 178A, 178B, 180), and wherein the waist is configured for dilating the opening causing the tissue to tear along the multicuspid ablation pattern (Figure 3D, 180; Paragraph [0061]; wherein each lobe is on either side of the septum wall and the middle portion is inflated, therefore dilating the opening which will cause the tissue to tear).
Regarding claim 16, Yang discloses the apparatus of claim 13, wherein the ablation region has a shape of a multi-armed star (Figure 4C).
Regarding claim 17, Yang discloses the apparatus of claim 16, wherein the ablation region has a shape of a three-armed star (Figure 4A).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Yang in further view of Wang et al. (US 20220233827) herein referred to as Wang
Regarding Claim 15, Yang disclose the apparatus of claim 14. However, Yang does not explicitly disclose wherein a diameter of the distal lobe and the proximal lobe is 15–30mm, and wherein a diameter of the waist is 5–15mm.
Wang discloses an apparatus (Figure 2) wherein a diameter of the distal lobe and the proximal lobe is 15–30mm (Paragraph [0073]; wherein the diameter of the balloon can range from 2 millimeters to about 40 millimeters), and wherein a diameter of the waist is 5–15mm (Figure 2; Paragraph [0073]; wherein the diameter of the balloon (D1 & D3) can range from 2 millimeters to about 40 millimeters therefore, the waist (D2) has to be smaller therefore, the waist can be less than 2 millimeters to less than 40 millimeters). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the diameters of the balloon taught by Govari in view of Arevalos to be within the range taught by Wang. The motivation being to allow for a diameter ratio between the larger and smaller diameters to be determined by clinical dosing needs (Wang, Paragraph [0076]).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Yang in view of Schuler et al. (US 20250049490) herein referred to as Schuler.
Regarding Claim 18, Yang disclose the apparatus of claim 13 wherein: the ablation energy comprises cryogenic energy ([Paragraph [0036]; wherein energy delivered is cryogenic ablation energy]). However, Yang does not explicitly disclose the inflatable balloon further comprises: an interior chamber for receiving a cryogenic agent; and an insulated region of the distal outer surface of the inflatable balloon for insulating the interatrial septum from cooling from the cryogenic agent.
Schuler discloses an apparatus (Figure 1) the inflatable balloon further comprises: an interior chamber for receiving a cryogenic agent (Paragraph [0095]; wherein inflatable balloon has a cooling chamber for the cryogenic agent); and an insulated region of the distal outer surface of the inflatable balloon for insulating the interatrial septum from cooling from the cryogenic agent (Paragraph [0564]; wherein the whole outer surface of the inflatable balloon is insulated therefore would allow for insulating of the interatrial septum from cooling). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the inflatable balloon taught by Govari and Arevalos to include the inflatable balloon teachings taught by Schuler. The motivation being cryotherapy may also cause permanent alteration to treated tissue, preventing the treated tissue from propagating or sourcing electrical signals, thereby reducing or eliminating atrial fibrillation (Schuler, Paragraph [0095]).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Yang in view of Falahatpisheh et al. (US 20250143781) herein referred to as Falahatpisheh.
Regarding Claim 19, Yang disclose the apparatus of claim 13. However, Yang does not explicitly disclose wherein: the ablation energy comprises electromagnetic energy, and the ablation region further comprises one or more electrodes shaped to create the multi cuspid ablation pattern when the one or more electrodes are energized with the ablation energy.
Falahatpisheh discloses an apparatus (Figure 1) wherein: the ablation energy comprises electromagnetic energy (Paragraph [0151]; wherein the ablation energy can comprise electromagnetic energy), and the ablation region further comprises one or more electrodes shaped to create the multi cuspid ablation pattern when the one or more electrodes are energized with the ablation energy (Paragraph [0137]; wherein energy delivery elements are electrodes and the energy can be delivered to the electrodes on device 200 of Figure 1 such that it has a basket shape creating a multi cuspid ablation pattern). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the ablation energy, cryoablation taught by Govari in view of Arevalos for electromagnetic energy. The motivation being a simple substitution of one know ablation energy, cryogenic for another, electromagnetic to achieve the predictable results of ablating tissue (MPEP 2143 (B)).
Conclusion
ALYSSA M. PAPE
Examiner
Art Unit 3794
/JOANNE M RODDEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3794