Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The amendment submitted 12/01/2025 has been entered. Claims 1-5, 7-12, 14-15, and 17-20 remain pending. Claims 6, 13, and 16 have been cancelled.
The amendments to the claims have overcome each and every rejection made under 35 USC 112 in Final Rejection mailed 09/11/2025 and those rejections are hereby withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/01/2025 have been fully considered and were found persuasive. However, the amendments to the claims have changed the scope of the claims necessitating new grounds of rejection. Please see new grounds of rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-9, 11-12, 14-15, 17-18, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 9828915 to Miranda in view of US 10933481 to Dyson in further view of DE 19944923 to Brandl.
(a) Regarding claim 1:
(i) Miranda discloses a method for manufacturing a blade for a gas turbine (see abstract; blade 26, Fig 2), the method comprising:
forming a blade body including an airfoil (airfoil 32, Fig 3) that extends in a chord or axial direction between a leading edge and a trailing edge (36 and 40, respectively, Fig 3),
the airfoil having an outer surface (outer surface 76 of substrate 74, Fig 8) that defines a pressure side surface and a suction side surface meeting at the leading edge and the trailing edge (pressure side surface 58 and suction side surface 60, Fig 3);
forming a groove (recesses 68 including bottom surface 70 and micro-channels 30, Figs 5/8; space receiving preform 80, Fig 6) in the outer surface of the airfoil in at least one of the pressure side surface and the suction side surface (Figs 5-6/8; Col 7 Lns 23-27) adjacent to the trailing edge (Figs 5-6);
forming a fluid passage (inlet passages 64, Figs 6/8) extending between an internal cavity of the blade body (plenum 84, Fig 6) and the groove (Figs 6/8).
positioning a cover (preform 80, Figs 5-6/8) on the blade body such that it covers the groove (Figs 5-6/8) and such that an outer surface of the cover forms a continuous surface with the outer surface of the airfoil (Figs 6/8), and such that a central axis of the fluid passage intersects the cover (Figs 6/8); and
joining the cover to the airfoil so that the cover and the groove define a cooling channel (micro-channels 30, Figs 5-6/8).
(ii) Miranda suggests (channels 64 appearing inclined relative to a groove, e.g. channel 64 to the left of line of reference marker 80 in Figure 6 appears inclined with groove, but is not sufficiently clear) does not explicitly disclose the fluid passage being inclined relative to the groove.
(iii) Dyson is also in the field of cooling passages (see title) and teaches:
forming a groove (metering end 224, Fig 7-10; diffuser area 226, Figs 7/10; diffuser section 242, Figs 8-9/11-13/15);
forming a fluid passage (metering section 222, Figs 7-10/12/14-16) extending between an internal cavity (cooling chamber 216, Figs 7-10/14-16) and the groove (Figs 7-10/12/14-15);
the fluid passage being inclined relative to the groove (Figs 7-10/12/15; angle β, Fig 8);
positioning a cover (cap element 250, Figs 7-10/12/15) that covers the groove (Figs 7-10/12/15), and
such that a central axis of the fluid passage intersects the cover (Figs 7-10/12/15).
(iv) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the fluid passage as disclosed by Miranda to be inclined as taught by Dyson for the purpose of reducing overall coolant usage thereby increasing turbine efficiency while maintaining acceptable part temperature (Col 1 Lns 49-50), spreading coolant better, benefitting packaging, and creating high heat transfer on the surface (Col 9 Lns 45-52), extending part life through reductions in metal temperature and decreased likelihood of TBC spallation, reduce the likelihood of unplanned outages, and increase the duration of time in which parts need to be repaired (Col 12 Lns 6-13).
(v) Miranda as modified by Dyson does not teach wherein the groove and an inner surface of the cover are formed with at least one of projections and recesses, and the projections and recesses of the groove and the cover face each other, and the projections and recesses of the groove and the cover spaced apart in the width direction of the cover.
(vi) Brandl is also in the field of gas turbine blades (see title) and teaches a groove (cavities 9, Figs 10C/19-20) and a cover (wall on pressure side 3 defining cavity 9, Fig 10C; closure 41, Fig 19), wherein the groove and an inner surface of the cover are formed with at least one of projections and recesses (Fig 10C), and the projections and recesses of the groove and the cover face each other (Fig 10C), and the projections and recesses of the groove and the cover spaced apart in a width direction of the cover (Fig 10C).
(vii) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the groove and cover as taught by the combined teachings of Miranda as modified by Dyson as further modified by Brandl with the above aforementioned projections and recesses as taught by Brandl for the purpose of locally adjusting the heat transfer (Par 0047) and increasing cooling effectiveness (Par 0055).
(b) Regarding claim 2:
(i) Miranda as modified by Dyson as further modified by Brandl teaches the method of claim 1.
(ii) Miranda further discloses wherein forming the blade body includes casting the blade body (Col 5 Lns 40-41).
(c) Regarding claim 3:
(i) Miranda as modified by Dyson as further modified by Brandl teaches the method of claim 1.
(ii) Miranda further discloses wherein the groove is formed when forming the blade body (Col 5 Lns 40-41), or wherein the groove is formed by applying a subtractive manufacturing process to the outer surface of the airfoil after forming the blade body (Col 5 Lns 42-48).
(d) Regarding claim 4:
(i) Miranda as modified by Dyson as further modified by Brandl teaches the method of claim 1.
(ii) Miranda further discloses wherein the airfoil is formed to have the inner surface (inner surface 78, Figs 6/8) defining an inner cavity (plenum 84, Fig 6), wherein a wall thickness of the airfoil is measured from the inner surface to the outer surface of the airfoil (distance between inner surface 78 and outer surface 76, Figs 6/8).
(e) Regarding claim 5:
(i) Miranda as modified by Dyson as further modified by Brandl teaches the method of claim 4.
(ii) Miranda further discloses wherein the wall thickness is within a range between 1.5 and 4 times of a depth of the groove measured from the outer surface of the airfoil to a bottom of the groove (reasonably disclosed in Figs 6/8).
(f) Regarding claim 7:
(i) Miranda as modified by Dyson as further modified by Brandl teaches the method of claim 1.
(ii) Miranda further discloses wherein the groove is formed with a support (bottom surface 70, Fig 8) defining a support surface (bottom surface 70 supports preform 80, Fig 8) being oriented such that a normal vector to the support surface has a component perpendicular to a region of the outer surface of the airfoil adjacent to the groove (Fig 8).
(g) Regarding claim 8:
(i) Miranda as modified by Dyson as further modified by Brandl teaches the method of claim 7.
(ii) Miranda further discloses wherein the support is formed by a step in a sidewall of the groove (Fig 8), the support surface connecting two laterally spaced portions of the sidewall (Figs 5-6/8).
(h) Regarding claim 9:
(i) Miranda as modified by Dyson as further modified by Brandl teaches the method of claim 1.
(ii) Brandl further teaches:
wherein the cover includes a spacer (pins 42, Fig 19) protruding from an inner surface of the cover (Fig 19), and
wherein positioning the cover on the blade body includes introducing the spacer into the groove so that the spacer contacts a bottom or a support surface of the groove (Fig 19, Par 0055) to hold the outer surface of the cover in a position in which it forms a continuous surface with the outer surface of the airfoil (Fig 19).
(i) Regarding claim 11:
(i) Miranda as modified by Dyson as further modified by Brandl teaches the method of claim 1.
(ii) Miranda further discloses wherein the cover has a thickness in a range between 0.5 mm and 2.0 mm (0.125mm to 12.7 mm, preferably 0.5 mm; Col 8 Lns 64-67).
(j) Regarding claim 12:
(i) Miranda as modified by Dyson as further modified by Brandl teaches the method of claim 1.
(ii) Miranda further discloses wherein joining the cover to the blade body includes material bonding (Col 9 Lns 5-14).
(k) Regarding claim 14:
(i) Miranda discloses a blade for a gas turbine (see abstract; blade 26, Fig 2), comprising:
a blade body including an airfoil (airfoil 32, Fig 3) that extends in a chord or axial direction between a leading edge and a trailing edge (36 and 40, respectively, Fig 3),
the airfoil having an outer surface (outer surface 76 of substrate 74, Fig 8) that defines a pressure side surface and a suction side surface meeting at the leading edge and the trailing edge (pressure side surface 58 and suction side surface 60, Fig 3),
wherein a groove (recesses 68 including bottom surface 70 and micro-channels 30, Figs 5/8; space receiving preform 80, Fig 6) is formed in at least one of the pressure side surface and the suction side surface of the airfoil (Figs 5-6/8; Col 7 Lns 23-27);
a fluid passage (inlet passages 64, Figs 6/8) extending between an internal cavity of the blade body (plenum 84, Fig 6) and the groove (Figs 6/8);
a cover (preform 80, Figs 5-6/8) positioned such that it covers the groove (Figs 5-6/8) and such that an outer surface of the cover forms a continuous surface with the outer surface of the airfoil (Figs 6/8), wherein a central axis of the fluid passage intersects the cover (Figs 6/8); and
wherein the cover is joined to the airfoil (Col 9 Lns 5-14), and
wherein the cover and the groove define a cooling channel (micro-channels 30, Figs 5-6/8).
(ii) Miranda suggests (channels 64 appearing inclined relative to a groove, e.g. channel 64 to the left of line of reference marker 80 in Figure 6 appears inclined with groove, but is not sufficiently clear) does not explicitly disclose the fluid passage being inclined relative to the groove.
(iii) Dyson is also in the field of cooling passages (see title) and teaches:
a groove (metering end 224, Fig 7-10; diffuser area 226, Figs 7/10; diffuser section 242, Figs 8-9/11-13/15);
a fluid passage (metering section 222, Figs 7-10/12/14-16) extending between an internal cavity (cooling chamber 216, Figs 7-10/14-16) and the groove (Figs 7-10/12/14-15);
the fluid passage being inclined relative to the groove (Figs 7-10/12/15; angle β, Fig 8);
a cover (cap element 250, Figs 7-10/12/15) that covers the groove (Figs 7-10/12/15), and
wherein a central axis of the fluid passage intersects the cover (Figs 7-10/12/15).
(iv) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the fluid passage as disclosed by Miranda to be inclined as taught by Dyson for the purpose of reducing overall coolant usage thereby increasing turbine efficiency while maintaining acceptable part temperature (Col 1 Lns 49-50), spreading coolant better, benefitting packaging, and creating high heat transfer on the surface (Col 9 Lns 45-52), extending part life through reductions in metal temperature and decreased likelihood of TBC spallation, reduce the likelihood of unplanned outages, and increase the duration of time in which parts need to be repaired (Col 12 Lns 6-13).
(v) Miranda as modified by Dyson does not teach wherein the groove and an inner surface of the cover are formed with at least one of projections and recesses, and the projections and recesses of the groove and the cover face each other, and the projections and recesses of the groove and the cover spaced apart in the width direction of the cover.
(vi) Brandl is also in the field of gas turbine blades (see title) and teaches a groove (cavities 9, Figs 10C/19-20) and a cover (wall on pressure side 3 defining cavity 9, Fig 10C; closure 41, Fig 19), wherein the groove and an inner surface of the cover are formed with at least one of projections and recesses (Fig 10C), and the projections and recesses of the groove and the cover face each other (Fig 10C), and the projections and recesses of the groove and the cover spaced apart in a width direction of the cover (Fig 10C).
(vii) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the groove and cover as taught by the combined teachings of Miranda as modified by Dyson as further modified by Brandl with the above aforementioned projections and recesses as taught by Brandl for the purpose of locally adjusting the heat transfer (Par 0047) and increasing cooling effectiveness (Par 0055).
(l) Regarding claim 15:
(i) Miranda discloses the blade of claim 14.
(ii) Miranda further discloses:
wherein the airfoil is formed to have an inner surface (inner surface 78, Figs 6/8) defining an inner cavity (plenum 84, Fig 6),
wherein a wall thickness of the airfoil is measured from the inner surface to the outer surface of the airfoil (distance between inner surface 78 and outer surface 78, Figs 6/8),
wherein the wall thickness is within a range between 1.5 and 4 times of a depth of the groove measured from the outer surface of the airfoil to a bottom of the groove (reasonably disclosed in Figs 6/8).
(m) Regarding claim 17:
(i) Miranda as modified by Dyson as further modified by Brandl teaches the blade of claim 14.
(ii) Miranda further discloses wherein the groove is formed with a support (bottom surface 70, Fig 8) defining a support surface (bottom surface 70 supports preform 80, Fig 8) being oriented such that a normal vector to the support surface has a component perpendicular to a region of the outer surface of the blade body adjacent to the groove (Fig 8).
(n) Regarding claim 18:
(i) Miranda as modified by Dyson as further modified by Brandl teaches the blade of claim 17.
(ii) Miranda further discloses wherein the support is formed by a step in a sidewall of the groove (Fig 8), the support surface connecting two laterally spaced portions of the sidewall (Figs 5-6/8).
(o) Regarding claim 20:
(i) Miranda as modified by Dyson as further modified by Brandl teaches the blade of claim 14.
(ii) Brandl further teaches wherein the cover includes a spacer protruding from an inner surface of the cover (pins 42, Fig 19, Par 0055).
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 9828915 to Miranda in view of US 10933481 to Dyson in further view of DE 19944923 to Brandl as applied to claim 17 above, and further in view of US 9540934 to Kuwabara.
(a) Regarding claim 19:
(i) Miranda as modified by Dyson as further modified by Brandl teaches the blade of claim 17.
(ii) Miranda further discloses wherein the support is formed by respective end portions of opposing sidewalls of the groove (sidewalls comprising bottom surface 76, Figs 6/8),
wherein the support surface is formed by a surface of each sidewall (bottom surface 76, Figs 6/8),
(iii) Miranda does not disclose wherein the surfaces of the sidewalls, at least in the end portions, define a cross-section of the groove that tapers towards a bottom of the groove.
(iv) Kuwabara is also in the field of gas turbines (see title) and teaches a blade (36, Fig 6) comprising:
a groove (47/47a, Figs 4-5) and a cover (cover 48/48a and weld beads 49, Figs 4-5),
the groove comprising a support (first channel portion 471, Figs 4-5),
the support is formed by respective end portions of opposing sidewalls of the groove (sidewalls of first channel portion 471, Figs 4-5),
wherein a support surface is formed by a surface of each sidewall (outer angled surfaces of sidewalls of first channel portion 471, Figs 4-5),
wherein the surfaces of the sidewalls, at least in the end portions, define a cross-section of the groove that tapers towards a bottom of the groove (surfaces shown as tapering inward from surface 452, Figs 4-5).
(v) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the surfaces of the sidewalls as disclosed by Miranda with the above aforementioned surfaces of the sidewalls as taught by Kuwabara for the purpose of fitting the cover to the groove (Col 7 Lns 56-57).
(iii) Kuwabara is also in the field of gas turbine engines (see title) and teaches:
wherein a groove (channel portion 47 including first channel portion 471 and second channel portion 472, Fig 4) and a cover (cover portion 48, Fig 4),
wherein the cover includes a spacer (outer peripheral surface side turbulator 482, Fig 4; or both of outer peripheral surface side turbulator 482 and side turbulator 482, Fig 5) protruding from an inner surface of the cover (Figs 4-5), and
(iv) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the cover as disclosed by Miranda with the above aforementioned spacer as taught by Kuwabara for the purpose of disturbing a flow of the cooling air so as to destroy a boundary layer of the cooling air thereby increasing flow rate near a surface and improving heat conductivity which reduces the amount of cooling air needed and improves the efficiency of the gas turbine engine (Col 2 Lns 56-64; Col 3 Lns 59-60 and Col 4 Lns 1-13).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 9828915 to Miranda in view of US 10933481 to Dyson in further view of DE 19944923 to Brandl as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 8601691 to Rebak in even further view of US 9151179 to Lacy.
(a) Regarding claim 10:
(i) Miranda as modified by Dyson as further modified by Brandl teaches the method of claim 1.
(ii) Miranda does not disclose:
introducing a spacing structure into the groove,
wherein positioning the cover on the blade body includes positioning the cover on the spacing structure so that the spacing structure holds the cover in a position in which the outer surface of the cover forms a continuous surface with the outer surface of the airfoil; and
thermally or chemically removing the spacing structure after joining the cover to the blade body.
(iii) Rebak is also in the field of gas turbine engines (see background) and teaches a method of forming a cooling channel (see abstract) comprising:
forming a groove (grooves 132, Fig 3),
introducing a spacing structure into the groove (sacrificial filler 32, Figs 5-6),
positioning a cover (permanent filler 33, Figs 6) on the blade body including the step of positioning the cover on the spacing structure so that the spacing structure holds the cover in a position in which the outer surface of the cover forms a continuous surface with the outer surface of the airfoil (Fig 6); and
removing the spacing structure after joining the cover to the blade body (Col 5 Lns 15-37; Col 8 Lns 28-33).
(iv) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method as disclosed by Miranda with the above aforementioned spacing structure as taught by Rebak for the purpose of locating the cover to define a cooling channel having a well defined depth, providing support to a coating during it deposition, and avoiding a difficult and time consuming leaching process (Col 1 Lns 52-53; Col 2 Lns 2-8; and Col 12 Lns 9-15)
(v) Miranda as modified by Dyson as further modified by Brandl as even further modified by Rebak does not teach introducing a liquid solvent into the cooling channel, wherein the liquid solvent dissolves the spacing structure.
(vi) Lacy is also in the field of turbine engines (see abstract) and teaches a cooling channel (recesses 274, Fig 20) comprising a spacing structure (filler material 276, Fig 20), introducing a liquid solvent (Col 13 Lns 52-54) into the cooling channel, wherein the liquid solvent dissolves the spacing structure (Col 13 Lns 52-54, Figs 20-21).
(vii) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method as taught by the combined teachings of Miranda as modified by Dyson as further modified by Brandl as even further modified by Rebak with the above aforementioned step of introducing a liquid solvent into the cooling channel as taught by Lacy for the purpose of removing the spacing structure and allowing for the use of metal-based spacing structures (Col 13 Lns 32-34/52-54).
Conclusion
/JUSTIN A PRUITT/Examiner, Art Unit 3745
/NATHANIEL E WIEHE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3745