DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 01/06/26, with respect to the rejection of claims under 35 U.S.C. 102 and U.S.C. 103 as being anticipated by or unpatentable over Elizarov et al. (US 2011/0150714) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Applicant has amended claim 2 to recite “a plurality of connectors for providing selective connection between the vessel and a synthesis unit selector via a first line such that a predetermined amount of the received active product from the vessel may be directed to at least one synthesis component of the radiopharmaceutical production system via the synthesis unit selector, wherein the plurality of connectors separate a gas source and the vessel, and wherein the plurality of connectors provide selective connection between the gas source and the vessel via a prime loop” and then argued the highlighted feature(s) are not taught by the cited prior art. See pages 4-5 of Applicant’s Remarks. The Examiner agrees; therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(b) the invention was patented or described in a printed publication in this or a foreign country or in public use or on sale in this country, more than one year prior to the date of application for patent in the United States.
Claims 2 and 78 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(b) as being anticipated by Kiselev et al. (US 2003/0007588). Kiselev teaches a method and apparatus for production of a radiocompound.
Regarding claim 2 – As shown in Figure 1, Kiselev teaches a device comprising: a vessel (target box 11) for receiving an active product from a cyclotron; and a plurality of connectors (connectors provided in valve V1) for providing selective connection between the vessel (target box 11) and a synthesis unit selector (valve V2) via a first line such that a predetermined amount of the received active product from the vessel (target box 11) may be directed to at least one synthesis component (cartridges C2, C3) of the radiopharmaceutical production system via the synthesis unit selector (volve V2), wherein the plurality of connectors (connectors provided in valve V1) separate a gas source (helium source 43) and the vessel (target box 11), and wherein the plurality of connectors (connectors provided in valve V1) provide selective connection between the gas (helium source 43) source (via valve V3) and the vessel (target box 11) via a prime loop (L1).
Regarding claim 78 – The Examiner notes that the pump (13) of the device of Kiselev may be disconnected from the loop lines. The term “may be disconnected” as recited in the claim simply requires the capability to disassemble parts of the device.
Inventorship
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claim 3 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Kiselev et al. (US 2003/0007588).
Kiselev as disclosed in Paragraphs 5-7 above teaches every element of claim 3 except for the pump positioned between the vessel and synthesis unit selector. Kiselev teaches a pump (13) in the loop (L1) at a location positioned before the vessel (target box 11) and lines connecting the vessel with the synthesis unit selector to pump a predetermined amount of material from the vessel to the synthesis unit selector. The Examiner submits it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time to determine the optimum location for a pump in the system through routine optimization to deliver fluids given the finite number of locations available for placement of the pump in the system - including directly after the vessel which would place the pump between the vessel and synthesis unit selector. See MPEP 2144.05, Section II, "Routine Optimization" and MPEP 2143, Section I, E, "Obvious to Try".
Claim 76 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Kiselev et al. (US 2003/0007588) in view of Van Dam et al. (US 2008/0233018).
Kiselev as disclosed in Paragraphs 5-7 above teaches every element of claim 76 except for a camera. Van Dam teaches an automated system for the synthesis of radioactive compounds. The embodiments or portions of the system most relevant to the instant claims are shown in Figures 1A-10C and described in Paragraphs 0026-0157. As shown in Figures 1A and 2A, Van Dam teaches a synthesis system that includes a vessel for receiving an active product (vial 1010 in Figure 1A/F18 container at top left of Figure 2A), a connection between the vessel (vial 1010 in Figure 1A/F18 container at top left of Figure 2A) and a synthesis unit selector (trap chip 1005/exchange column Figure 2A) such that a predetermined amount of active product may be directed to at least one other synthesis component (chip 1000) of the radiopharmaceutical. Van Dam further discloses an observation camera in Paragraphs 0051 and 0120. The Examiner submits it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective date of the invention to combine the use of cameras from Van Dam with the system of Kiselev. One of ordinary skill in the art at the time would add the camera to Kiselev to monitor the reaction system as taught by Van Dam.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DWAYNE K HANDY/Examiner, Art Unit 1798 May 21, 2026
/CHARLES CAPOZZI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1798