Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1, 10, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. There is no description on how to convert the fixed point output values to floating output values based on the output scaling factor.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim 19 recites a “computer readable medium” which appears to cover both transitory and non-transitory embodiments. The United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) is required to give claims their broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification during proceeding before the USPTO. See In re Zletz, 893 F.2d 319 (Fed. Cir. 1989) (during patent examination the pending claims must be interpreted as broadly as their terms reasonably allow). The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim drawn to a computer readable medium (also called machine readable medium and other such variations) typically covers forms of non-transitory tangible media and transitory propagating signals per se in view of the ordinary and customary meaning of computer readable media, particularly when the specification is silent. See MPEP 2111.01. When the broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim covers a signal per se, the claim must be rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as covering non-statutory subject matter. See ln re Nuijten, 500 F.3d 1346, 1356-57 (Fed. Cir. 2007) (transitory embodiments are not directed to statutory subject matter) and Interim Examination Instructions for Evaluating Subject Matter Eligibility under 35 U.S.C. 101 Aug. 24 2009; p. 2.
The Examiner suggests that the Applicant add the limitation “non-transitory” to the computer readable medium as recited in the claim(s) in order to properly render the claim(s) in statutory form in view of their broadest reasonable interpretation in light of the originally filed specification. The Examiner also suggests that the specification may be amended to include the term ‘non-transitory computer readable medium” disclosed in the claims and specification to avoid a potential objection to the specification for a lack of antecedent basis of the claimed terminology.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 7-8, 10, 15-16, 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patent 11755901-Deisher in view of US 20210064986 A1-Xi et al (Hereinafter referred to as “Xi:”).
Regarding claim 1, Deisher discloses a system (fig 6) comprising: a memory (Fig 6); and
a processor coupled to the memory (Fig. 6) and configured to:
a) obtain fixed-point output values from a layer of an artificial neural network (ANN) (column 2, lines 45-60, wherein quantizing the floating point values into integer values is interpreted as obtaining fixed point output values), wherein the layer includes fixed-point weights determined based on floating- point weights ([column 2, lines 45-60, wherein quantizing the floating point values into integer values is interpreted as obtaining fixed point output values based on floating point weights), and a weight scaling factor determined based on an output scaling factor (column 2, lines 45-67, wherein scaling factor)); ;
c) expand a range of floating-point output values (column 5, lines 25-30, column 6, lines 1-20); and
d) calculate a new output scaling factor based on the expanded range of floating- point output values (column 9, lines 45-65, wherein updated scaling factors); and
e) store the new output scaling factor to the memory (column 3, lines 50-60, storing scaling factors).
Xi fails to disclose converting the fixed-point output values to floating-point output values based on the output scaling factor
However, in the same field of endeavor, Xi discloses convert the fixed-point output values to floating-point output values based on the output scaling factor ([0071], wherein fixed points are converted into floating points)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system disclosed by Deisher to disclose convert the fixed-point output values to floating-point output values based on the output scaling factor as taught by Xi, to improving the overall performance and efficiency of the system ([0022], Xi).
Regarding claim 7, Deisher discloses the system of claim 1 wherein to obtain the fixed-point output values in step (a) the processor is further configured to input fixed-point input values to the ANN, configured with the fixed-point weights, to produce the fixed-point output values ([column 2, lines 45-60).
Regarding claim 8, Deisher discloses the system of claim 1 wherein before the processor obtains the fixed-point output values in step (a), the processor is further configured to determine the fixed-point weights, and wherein to determine the fixed-point weights, the processor is further configured to scale the floating- point weights based on the weight scaling factor (column 2, lines 45-67)).
Regarding claim 10, analyses are analogous to those presented for claim 1 and are applicable for claim 10.
Regarding claim 10, analyses are analogous to those presented for claim 1 and are applicable for claim 10.
Regarding claim 15, analyses are analogous to those presented for claim 7 and are applicable for claim 15.
Regarding claim 16, analyses are analogous to those presented for claim 8 and are applicable for claim 16.
Regarding claim 19, analyses are analogous to those presented for claim 1 and are applicable for claim 19.
Regarding claim 20, analyses are analogous to those presented for claim 1 and are applicable for claim 20.
Claim(s) 2-4, 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patent 11755901-Deisher in view of US 20210064986 A1-Xi et al (Hereinafter referred to as “Xi:”), in further view of Patent 12169769-Devangel et al (Hereinafter referred to s “Van”)
Regarding claim 2, Deisher discloses the system of claim 1 (See claim 1)
Deisher and Xi fail to disclose wherein before the processor converts the fixed-point output values to floating-point output values based on the output scaling factor in step (b), the processor is further configured to determine whether a saturation level of the fixed-point output values comprises an acceptable saturation.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Van discloses wherein before the processor converts the fixed-point output values to floating-point output values based on the output scaling factor in step (b), the processor is further configured to determine whether a saturation level of the fixed-point output values comprises an acceptable saturation (Fig 5, wherein determining the number of saturations).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system disclosed by Deisher and Xi to disclose wherein before the processor converts the fixed-point output values to floating-point output values based on the output scaling factor in step (b), the processor is further configured to determine whether a saturation level of the fixed-point output values comprises an acceptable saturation as taught by Van, to improving the overall performance and efficiency of the system ([0022], Xi).
Regarding claim 3, Van discloses the system of claim 2 wherein to determine that the saturation level comprises the acceptable saturation, the processor is further configured to accept the fixed-point weights and refrain from performing steps (b) through (e) (Fig 5).
Regarding claim 4, Van discloses the system of claim 2 wherein to determine that the saturation level does not comprise the acceptable saturation, the processor is further configured to proceed with steps (b) through (e) (fig 5).
Regarding claim 11, analyses are analogous to those presented for claim 2 and are applicable for claim 11.
Regarding claim 12, analyses are analogous to those presented for claim 3 and are applicable for claim 12.
Regarding claim 13, analyses are analogous to those presented for claim 4 and are applicable for claim 13.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-6, 9, 13-14, 17-18 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
LERON . BECK
Examiner
Art Unit 2487
/LERON BECK/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2487