DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1 and 3-12 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to abstract idea without significantly more. The claim(s) recite(s) a mathematical concepts (formulas calculation and data manipulations), a mental processes (concepts performed in the human mind, such as evaluation, comparison, and decision making) and abstract. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the claims directed to the mental process and abstract. The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because these additional elements are generic work devices and output display devices for present a routine information to a user, well understood, routine, and conventional in the art. Below is the analysis:
Claim 1 recited “A position information display method, comprising: acquiring position information indicating positions of a plurality of work devices; generating range information indicating a first range in which the positions are distributed on a predetermined map, wherein generating the range information includes extracting a condition range, which satisfies a predetermined condition, as the first range from a second range included in the predetermined map, the predetermined condition being set based on whether distances between the positions of the plurality of work devices that each individually move meet a threshold; calculating a scale for outputting display information including the first range, in map information representing the predetermined map, to a predetermined display region of a display device; and outputting the display information indicating the distribution of the positions in the first range based on the position information, the range information, and the scale.”
Step 2A prong one: Yes, the claim is abstract idea for the following limitation:
. “A position information display method, comprising: acquiring position information indicating positions of a plurality of work devices;” is the step of gather data information which is directed to abstract.
. “generating range information indicating a first range in which the positions are distributed on a predetermined map” is the step of provide the range information which is directed to mental process and abstract.
. “wherein generating the range information includes extracting a condition range, which satisfies a predetermined condition, as the first range from a second range included in the predetermined map” is the step of selecting a region on the map base on the rule which is directed to mental process and abstract.
. “extracting a condition range …..the predetermined condition being set based on whether distances between the positions of the plurality of work devices that each individually move meet a threshold” is the step of calculating the distance of each device move to satisfy the threshold which is directed to mathematic concepts and abstract.
. “calculating a scale for outputting display information including the first range, in map information representing the predetermined map, to a predetermined display region of a display device” is the step of calculating for scaling display on the display device which is direct to mathematic concepts and abstract.
. “outputting the display information indicating the distribution of the positions in the first range based on the position information, the range information, and the scale.” is the step of present the result information on the display which is directed to mental process and abstract.
Step 2A prong two: Yes, the claim is abstract idea because the claim do not recite any additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. The claims is using generic work devices and output display devices for present a routine information to a user, well understood, routine, and conventional in the art.
Regarding claims 3-11 are further depend on claim 1 and the limitation do not recited any significantly more than the abstract idea as cited above for claim 1, therefore claims 3-11 are also reject for the same reason.
Claim 3 recited “The position information display method according to claim 1, wherein is calculated the scale such that the display information, including a third range which is arranged to surround the first range, which has a distance from any of end portions of the predetermined display region to the first range which is longer than a predetermined threshold value, and which has a peripheral shape having a similarity relationship with a shape of the predetermined display region, is output to the predetermined display region.” is direct mathematic and abstract and do not add any technological improvement.
Claim 4 recited “he position information display method according to claim 1, further comprising: acquiring operation information indicating operation states of the plurality of work devices, and wherein generating of the range information includes extracting, as the first range, a first condition range in which the positions of the work devices corresponding to the operation states which satisfy a predetermined first condition among the plurality of work devices are distributed on the predetermined map.” is directed to mental process and abstract and do not add any technological improvement.
Claim 5 recited “The position information display method according to claim 4, wherein the predetermined first condition is satisfied based on the operation states of the work devices being in operation.” is directed to mental process and abstract and do not add any technological improvement.
Claim 6 recited “The position information display method according to claim 1, wherein generating of the range information includes extracting, as the first range, a range in which work regions where the plurality of work devices have performed work from the second range.” is direct mathematic and abstract and do not add any technological improvement.
Claim 7 recited “The position information display method according to claim 1, wherein generating of the range information includes extracting, as the first range, an input range represented by input range information which is externally input from the second range.” is directed to mental process and abstract and do not add any technological improvement.
Claim 8 recited “The position information display method according to claim 1, wherein generating of the range information includes: generating trajectory information indicating a trajectory of a movement of a predetermined one of the work devices based on the position information of the predetermined work device, and extracting, as the first range, a range including the trajectory and a position of the predetermined work device from the second range.” is directed to mental process and abstract and do not add any technological improvement.
Claim 9 recited “The position information display method according to claim 1, wherein calculating includes: clustering the plurality of work devices into a plurality of clusters based on a predetermined clustering condition, setting, in the predetermined display region, partial display regions to which the range information indicating ranges of distribution of the positions of the plurality of clustered work devices are output for the plurality of clusters, respectively, and generating the range information of the plurality of clustered work devices for the plurality of clusters, respectively.” is directed to mental process and abstract and do not add any technological improvement.
Claim 10 recited “The position information display method according to claim 9, wherein outputting includes outputting, for the plurality of clusters, respectively, the display information including the range to the partial display regions based on the position information, the range information, and the scale of the plurality of clustered work devices.” is directed to mental process and abstract and do not add any technological improvement.
Claim 11 “The position information display method according to claim 9, wherein clustering condition includes: clustering a first work device and a second work device among the plurality of work devices into a same cluster among the plurality of clusters when a distance between the first work device and the second work device is shorter than a predetermined threshold value, and clustering the first work device and the second work device into different clusters among the plurality of clusters when the distance is equal to or longer than the predetermined threshold value.” is direct mathematic and abstract and do not add any technological improvement.
4. Claim 12 recited “A position information display system, comprising: an acquirer configured to acquire position information that indicates positions of a plurality of work devices; a calculator configured to: generate range information that indicates a first range in which the positions are distributed on a predetermined map, wherein generating the range information includes extracting a condition range, which satisfies a predetermined condition, as the first range from a second range included in the predetermined map, the predetermined condition being set based on whether distances between the positions of the plurality of work devices that each individually move meet a threshold; and calculate a scale for outputting display information including the first range, in map information representing the predetermined map, to a predetermined display region of a display device; and an output section configured to output the display information that indicates the distribution of the positions in the first range based on the position information, the range information, and the scale.”
Step 2A prong one: Yes, the claim is abstract idea for the following limitation:
. “A position information display system, comprising: an acquirer configured to acquire position information that indicates positions of a plurality of work devices;” is the step of gather data information which is directed to abstract.
. “a calculator configured to: generate range information that indicates a first range in which the positions are distributed on a predetermined map,” is the step of calculating for the range information which is directed to mathematic concepts and abstract.
. “wherein generating the range information includes extracting a condition range, which satisfies a predetermined condition, as the first range from a second range included in the predetermined map” is the step of selecting a region on the map base on the rule which is directed to mental process and abstract.
. “extracting a condition range…….the predetermined condition being set based on whether distances between the positions of the plurality of work devices that each individually move meet a threshold” is the step of calculating the distance of each device move to satisfy the threshold which is directed to mathematic concepts and abstract.
. “calculate a scale for outputting display information including the first range, in map information representing the predetermined map, to a predetermined display region of a display device” is the step of calculating for scaling display on the display device which is direct to mathematic concepts and abstract.
. “an output section configured to output the display information that indicates the distribution of the positions in the first range based on the position information, the range information, and the scale.” is the step of present the result information on the display which is directed to mental process and abstract.
Step 2A prong two: Yes, the claim is abstract idea because the claim do not recite any additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. The claims is using generic work devices and output display devices for present a routine information to a user, well understood, routine, and conventional in the art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-5 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamashita et al. US 20190050092 in view of Kentley et al. US 20170120803.
Regarding claim 1, Yamashita et al. teach A position information display method, comprising: acquiring position information indicating positions of a plurality of work devices; (Yamashita et al. US 20190050092 abstract; paragraphs [0003]-[0004]; [0007]-[0011]; [0020]-[0024]; [0026]-[0028]; [0031]-[0039]; [0053]-[0063]; [0067]-[0076]; [0079]-[0082]; [0087]; figures 1-8;)
According to another aspect of the disclosure, there is provided a display control method including: acquiring location information items representing locations of each of a plurality of vehicles and a plurality of status information items representing statuses of each of the plurality of vehicles, the plurality of vehicles registered in advance in association with a user using a user terminal; receiving a display condition set by the user; and displaying a map image on the user terminal such that an icon image representing a vehicle whose status information item satisfies the display condition is positioned at the center of the map image and a position of the icon image of the vehicle in the map image corresponds to the location of the vehicle represented by the location information item (Yamashita et al. par. 9).
According to the cited passages and figures, examiner interpreted a plurality of vehicles as a plurality of work devices.
generating range information indicating a first range in which the positions are distributed on a predetermined map; calculating a scale for outputting display information including the first range, in map information representing the predetermined map, to a predetermined display region of a display device; and outputting the display information indicating the distribution of the positions in the first range based on the position information, the range information, and the scale.
In the case where the number of vehicles T selected by the user's checking on their display checkboxes 215 is two or more, 3. In the example of FIG. 7, the display control unit 114 displays a mark representing the center point B on the map image 211; however, it may not display that mark (Yamashita et al. par. 71). In this case, the display control unit 114 sets a range including the locations of all of the vehicles T selected by the user, as the display range of the map image 211. Also, the display control unit 114 sets such a maximum scale which a range including the locations of all of the vehicles T selected by the user can fit on the vehicle display screen (i.e. the largest scale), as the scale of the map image 211 (Yamashita et al. par. 72 and see figure 3).
wherein generating the range information includes extracting a condition range, which satisfies a predetermined condition, as the first range from a second range included in the predetermined map,
FIG. 7 is a front view illustrating the display unit 21 displaying a vehicle display screen after display condition setting. The vehicle display screen of FIG. 7 is displayed in the case where display conditions are set on the vehicle display screen of FIG. 3 and a plurality of vehicles T satisfying the display conditions is extracted (Yamashita et al. par. 68). The display control unit 114 extracts the plurality of vehicles T satisfying the display conditions, and displays the vehicle information 214 of the plurality of extracted vehicles T included in the vehicle list 213, in a display mode different from that of the vehicle information 214 of the other vehicles T (in FIG. 7, corresponding areas are displayed in a different color). The method of changing the display mode of the vehicle information 214 is the same as that of the first embodiment (Yamashita et al. par. 69).
According to the cited passages and figures, examiner interpret figure 7 as the first range display all the vehicles with the velocity equal to 30 or higher on the map image 211. Examiner interpret figure 4 as the second range display the particular vehicle with velocity 45 on the map image 211.
Yamashita et al. do not explicitly teach the predetermined condition being set based on whether distances between the positions of the plurality of work devices that each individually move meet a threshold.
Kentley et al. teach the predetermined condition being set based whether distances between on the positions of the plurality of work devices that each individually move meet a threshold; (Kentley et al. US 20170120803 paragraphs [0058]-[0065]; [0072]-[0083]; [0108]] –[0111]; [0132]; [0184]; abstract; )
At a stage 276 a predicted next location of the object in the environment may be calculated based on the predicted rate of motion 281. The stage 276 may generate data representing the predicted next location 283 (kentley et al. par. 80). At a stage 278, probabilities of impact between the object and the autonomous vehicle may be predicted based on the predicted next location 283 and the autonomous vehicle trajectory 273. The stage 278 may generate data representing the probabilities of impact 285 (Kentley et al. par. 81). At a stage 280, subsets of thresholds (e.g., a location or a distance in the environment) to activate different escalating functions of subsets of safety systems of the autonomous vehicle may be calculated based on the probabilities of impact 285. At least one subset of the thresholds being associated with the activation of different escalating functions of a safety system of the autonomous vehicle. The stage 280 may generate data representing one or more threshold subsets 287. In some examples, the subsets of thresholds may constitute a location relative to the autonomous vehicle or may constitute a distance relative to the autonomous vehicle. For example, a threshold may be a function of a location or a range of locations relative to a reference location (e.g., the autonomous vehicle). Further, a threshold may be a function of distance relative to an object and the autonomous vehicle, or between any objects or object locations, including distances between predicted object locations (Kentley et al. par. 82).
According to the cited passages and figures examiner interpret objects as the work devices, subsets of threshold as the predetermined condition, object locations as the positions. Therefore, the paragraph 82 above clearly disclose the distance between any objects or object locations is same as distances between the positions of the plurality of work devices. Also, examiner interprets an object moving with a distance that satisfy a threshold to maintain a relative distance between any objects or object locations.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to substitute the distance threshold as taught by Kentley et al. reference into the system of Yamashita et al. reference and the result of the substitution would be predictable for determine a location and distance between any objects within an environment.
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Yamashita et al. and Kentley et al. disclose The position information display method according to claim 1, further comprising: acquiring operation information indicating operation states of the plurality of work devices, and wherein generating of the range information includes extracting, as the first range, a first condition range in which the positions of the work devices corresponding to the operation states which satisfy a predetermined first condition among the plurality of work devices are distributed on the predetermined map.
FIG. 7 is a front view illustrating the display unit 21 displaying a vehicle display screen after display condition setting. The vehicle display screen of FIG. 7 is displayed in the case where display conditions are set on the vehicle display screen of FIG. 3 and a plurality of vehicles T satisfying the display conditions is extracted (Yamashita et al. par. 68). The display control unit 114 extracts the plurality of vehicles T satisfying the display conditions, and displays the vehicle information 214 of the plurality of extracted vehicles T included in the vehicle list 213, in a display mode different from that of the vehicle information 214 of the other vehicles T (in FIG. 7, corresponding areas are displayed in a different color). The method of changing the display mode of the vehicle information 214 is the same as that of the first embodiment (Yamashita et al. par. 69).
According to the cited passages and figures, examiner interpret figure 7 as the first range display all the vehicles with the velocity equal to 30 or higher on the map image 211. Examiner interpret the velocity as the first condition.
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Yamashita et al. and Kentley et al. disclose The position information display method according to claim 4, wherein the predetermined first condition is satisfied based on the operation states of the work devices being in operation.
FIG. 7 is a front view illustrating the display unit 21 displaying a vehicle display screen after display condition setting. The vehicle display screen of FIG. 7 is displayed in the case where display conditions are set on the vehicle display screen of FIG. 3 and a plurality of vehicles T satisfying the display conditions is extracted (Yamashita et al. par. 68). The display control unit 114 extracts the plurality of vehicles T satisfying the display conditions, and displays the vehicle information 214 of the plurality of extracted vehicles T included in the vehicle list 213, in a display mode different from that of the vehicle information 214 of the other vehicles T (in FIG. 7, corresponding areas are displayed in a different color). The method of changing the display mode of the vehicle information 214 is the same as that of the first embodiment (Yamashita et al. par. 69).
According to the cited passages and figures, examiner interpret figure 7 as the first range display all the vehicles with the velocity equal to 30 or higher on the map image 211. Examiner interpret the velocity as the first condition.
Regarding claim 12, Yamashita et al. teach A position information display system, comprising: an acquirer configured to acquire position information that indicates positions of a plurality of work devices; (Yamashita et al. US 20190050092 abstract; paragraphs [0003]-[0004]; [0007]-[0011]; [0020]-[0024]; [0026]-[0028]; [0031]-[0039]; [0053]-[0063]; [0067]-[0076]; [0079]-[0082]; [0087]; figures 1-8;)
According to another aspect of the disclosure, there is provided a display control method including: acquiring location information items representing locations of each of a plurality of vehicles and a plurality of status information items representing statuses of each of the plurality of vehicles, the plurality of vehicles registered in advance in association with a user using a user terminal; receiving a display condition set by the user; and displaying a map image on the user terminal such that an icon image representing a vehicle whose status information item satisfies the display condition is positioned at the center of the map image and a position of the icon image of the vehicle in the map image corresponds to the location of the vehicle represented by the location information item (Yamashita et al. par. 9).
According to the cited passages and figures, examiner interpret a plurality of vehicles as a plurality of work devices.
a calculator that to: generate range information indicating that indicates a first range in which the positions are distributed on a predetermined map, and calculate a scale for outputting display information including the first range, in map information representing the predetermined map, to a predetermined display region of a display device; and an output section configured to output the display information that indicates the distribution of the positions in the first range based on the position information, the range information, and the scale.
In the case where the number of vehicles T selected by the user's checking on their display checkboxes 215 is two or more, 3. In the example of FIG. 7, the display control unit 114 displays a mark representing the center point B on the map image 211; however, it may not display that mark (Yamashita et al. par. 71). In this case, the display control unit 114 sets a range including the locations of all of the vehicles T selected by the user, as the display range of the map image 211. Also, the display control unit 114 sets such a maximum scale which a range including the locations of all of the vehicles T selected by the user can fit on the vehicle display screen (i.e. the largest scale), as the scale of the map image 211 (Yamashita et al. par. 72 and see figure 3).
According to the cited passages and figures, examiner interpret a display control unit 114 include a calculator function to display the range of the map image 211.
wherein generating the range information includes extracting a condition range, which satisfies a predetermined condition, as the first range from a second range included in the predetermined map,
FIG. 7 is a front view illustrating the display unit 21 displaying a vehicle display screen after display condition setting. The vehicle display screen of FIG. 7 is displayed in the case where display conditions are set on the vehicle display screen of FIG. 3 and a plurality of vehicles T satisfying the display conditions is extracted (Yamashita et al. par. 68). The display control unit 114 extracts the plurality of vehicles T satisfying the display conditions, and displays the vehicle information 214 of the plurality of extracted vehicles T included in the vehicle list 213, in a display mode different from that of the vehicle information 214 of the other vehicles T (in FIG. 7, corresponding areas are displayed in a different color). The method of changing the display mode of the vehicle information 214 is the same as that of the first embodiment (Yamashita et al. par. 69).
According to the cited passages and figures, examiner interpret figure 7 as the first range display all the vehicles with the velocity equal to 30 or higher on the map image 211. Examiner interpret figure 4 as the second range display the particular vehicle with velocity 45 on the map image 211.
Yamashita et al. do not explicitly teach the predetermined condition being set based on whether distances between the positions of the plurality of work devices that each individually move meet a threshold.
Kentley et al. teach the predetermined condition being set based on whether distances between the positions of the plurality of work devices that each individually move meet a threshold; (Kentley et al. US 20170120803 paragraphs [0058]-[0065]; [0072]-[0083]; [0108]] –[0111]; [0132]; [0184]; abstract; )
At a stage 276 a predicted next location of the object in the environment may be calculated based on the predicted rate of motion 281. The stage 276 may generate data representing the predicted next location 283 (kentley et al. par. 80). At a stage 278, probabilities of impact between the object and the autonomous vehicle may be predicted based on the predicted next location 283 and the autonomous vehicle trajectory 273. The stage 278 may generate data representing the probabilities of impact 285 (Kentley et al. par. 81). At a stage 280, subsets of thresholds (e.g., a location or a distance in the environment) to activate different escalating functions of subsets of safety systems of the autonomous vehicle may be calculated based on the probabilities of impact 285. At least one subset of the thresholds being associated with the activation of different escalating functions of a safety system of the autonomous vehicle. The stage 280 may generate data representing one or more threshold subsets 287. In some examples, the subsets of thresholds may constitute a location relative to the autonomous vehicle or may constitute a distance relative to the autonomous vehicle. For example, a threshold may be a function of a location or a range of locations relative to a reference location (e.g., the autonomous vehicle). Further, a threshold may be a function of distance relative to an object and the autonomous vehicle, or between any objects or object locations, including distances between predicted object locations (Kentley et al. par. 82).
According to the cited passages and figures examiner interpret objects as the work devices, subsets of threshold as the predetermined condition, object locations as the positions. Therefore, the paragraph 82 above clearly disclose the distance between any objects or object locations is same as distances between the positions of the plurality of work devices. Also, examiner interprets an object moving with a distance that satisfy a threshold to maintain a relative distance between any objects or object locations.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to substitute the distance threshold as taught by Kentley et al. reference into the system of Yamashita et al. reference and the result of the substitution would be predictable for determine a location and distance between any objects within an environment.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamashita et al. US 20190050092 in view of Kentley et al. US 20170120803 and further in view of Okada US 20050278115.
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Yamashita et al. and Kentley et al. teach all the limitation in the claim 1.
The combination of Yamashita et al. and Kentley et al. do not explicitly teach The position information display method according to claim 1, wherein is calculated the scale such that the display information, including a third range which is arranged to surround the first range, which has a distance from any of end portions of the predetermined display region to the first range which is longer than a predetermined threshold value, and which has a peripheral shape having a similarity relationship with a shape of the predetermined display region, is output to the predetermined display region.
Okada teaches The position information display method according to claim 1, wherein is calculated the scale such that the display information, including a third range which is arranged to surround the first range, which has a distance from any of end portions of the predetermined display region to the first range which is longer than a predetermined threshold value, and which has a peripheral shape having a similarity relationship with a shape of the predetermined display region, is output to the predetermined display region. (Okada US 20050278115 abstract; paragraphs [0038]-[0041]; [0048]-[0052] figures 1-8;)
It should be noted that the map data in the database 5 may represent a set of maps on various predetermined scales. In this case, the set of maps includes a small-scale map of a large area, intermediate-scale maps of intermediate areas, and a detailed large-scale map of a small area. The details of a place at and around a crossing can be shown in a detailed large-scale map of a small area (Okada par. 39). The guide point deciding block 11 predetermines a large-area indication deciding frame F1 and a detailed indication deciding frame F2 virtually extending in the screen of the display device 6. As shown in FIG. 3, the large-area indication deciding frame F1 and the detailed indication deciding frame F2 are rectangular. In FIG. 3, the large-area indication deciding frame F1 and the detailed indication deciding frame F2 are denoted by the white broken lines. On the other hand, the recommended route is denoted by the black thick line, and the current vehicle's position is denoted by the letter "A". The detailed indication deciding frame F2 is basically located in the large-area indication deciding frame F1. Thus, the detailed indication deciding frame F2 is smaller than the large-area indication deciding frame F1. In FIG. 3, the lower side of the detailed indication deciding frame F2 overlaps a portion of the lower side of the large-area indication deciding frame F1. In this case, it is preferable that the current vehicle's position "A" is located at the center of the lower sides of the large-area indication deciding frame F1 and the detailed indication deciding frame F2 (Okada par. 48).
According to the cited passages and figures, examiner interpret the display frame F1 as a third range and the display frame F2 as a first range. Examiner interpret a distance from the display frame F2 denoted as broken line to outer solid black thick line greater than a minimum distance of the display frame F1 denoted as broken lines to outer solid black thick line.
Therefore, it would have been obviously to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to provide a simple substitution of variety of different of display scale from Okada reference into Yamashita et al. and Kentley et al. reference and the results of substitution would have been predictable of display a map image.
Claims 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamashita et al. US 20190050092 in view of Kentley et al. US 20170120803 and further in view of Tomita et al. US 20200064863.
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Yamashita et al. and Kentley et al. teach all the limitation in the claim 1.
The combination of Yamashita et al. and Kentley et al. do not explicitly teach The position information display method according to claim 1, wherein generating of the range information includes extracting, as the first range, a range in which work regions where the plurality of work devices have performed work from the second range.
Tomita et al. teach The position information display method according to claim 1, wherein generating of the range information includes extracting, as the first range, a range in which work regions where the plurality of work devices have performed work from the second range. (Tomita et al. US 20200064863 abstract; paragraphs [0015]-[0022]; [0058]-[0069]; [0074]-[0075]; [0083]-[0087]; [0090]; [0102]-[0108]; [0159] figures 1-30)
A work vehicle automatic traveling system, for a plurality of work vehicles that carry out work travel cooperatively in a work site while exchanging data, includes: a host vehicle position calculating unit that calculates a host vehicle position; a route managing unit that calculates a travel route element set, the travel route element set being an aggregate of multiple travel route elements constituting a travel route covering the area to be worked, and stores the travel route element set so as to be capable of readout; and a route element selecting unit that selects a next travel route element, which is to be traveled next, sequentially from the travel route element set, on the basis of the host vehicle position and a work travel state of another vehicle (Tomita et al. par. 18). A travel route element that has already been selected, i.e., a travel route element for which work has been completed is, as a rule, prohibited from being selected. Thus as illustrated in FIG. 10, if, for example, route number 11 or route number 17, which have priority levels of 1, are already-worked sites (already-harvested sites), the harvester 1 located at route number 14 selects the travel route element having a route number of 18, which has a priority level of 2, as the travel route element to be traveled next (Tomita et al. par. 104).
According to the cited passages and figures, examiner interpret the priority level 1 illustrate in the figure 10 as the first range that work vehicle already complete the work. The priority level 2 as the second range that work vehicle will perform next.
Therefore, it would have been obviously to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to provide a simple substitution of displaying the work site priority and route the agricultural machine vehicle will perform the work from Tomita et al. reference into Yamashita et al. and Kentley et al. reference and the results of substitution would have been predictable of display work plan priority.
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Yamashita et al., Kentley et al. and Tomita et al. disclose The position information display method according to claim 1, wherein generating of the range information includes extracting, as the first range, an input range represented by input range information which is externally input from the second range.
The communication terminal 4 includes a communication control unit 40, a touch panel 41, and so on, and functions as a computer system, a user interface function for inputting conditions required for autonomous travel realized by the control unit 5, and so on. By using the communication control unit 40, the communication terminal 4 can exchange data with a management computer 100 over a wireless connection or the Internet, and can also exchange data with the control unit 5 of the harvester 1 using a wireless LAN, a wired LAN, or another communication method. The management computer 100 is a computer system installed in a management center KS in a remote location, and functions as a cloud computer. The management computer 100 stores information sent from farmers, agricultural associations, agriculture industry groups, and so on, and can also send information in response to requests. FIG. 6 illustrates a work site information storage unit 101 and a work plan managing unit 102 as units that realize such server functions. The communication terminal 4 processes data on the basis of external data obtained from the management computer 100, the control unit 5 of the harvester 1, and so on through the communication control unit 40, and on the basis of input data such as user instructions (conditions necessary for autonomous travel) input through the touch panel 41. Results of this data processing are displayed in a display panel unit of the touch panel 41, and can also be sent from the communication terminal 4 to the management computer 100, the control unit 5 of the harvester 1, and so on through the communication control unit 40 (Tomita et al. par. 75). A travel route element that has already been selected, i.e., a travel route element for which work has been completed is, as a rule, prohibited from being selected. Thus as illustrated in FIG. 10, if, for example, route number 11 or route number 17, which have priority levels of 1, are already-worked sites (already-harvested sites), the harvester 1 located at route number 14 selects the travel route element having a route number of 18, which has a priority level of 2, as the travel route element to be traveled next (Tomita et al. par. 104).
According to the cited passages and figures, examiner interpret user input an instruction on the communication terminal 4 to the work vehicle travel in the predetermine route associate with priority as show in the figure 10.
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Yamashita et al., Kentley et al. and Tomita et al. disclose The position information display method according to claim 1, wherein generating of the range information includes: generating trajectory information indicating a trajectory of a movement of a predetermined one of the work devices based on the position information of the predetermined work device, and extracting, as the first range, a range including the trajectory and a position of the predetermined work device from the second range.
The state of the communication terminal 4 can, through an artificial switching operation, be switched to an animated display state indicating autonomous travel routes or traditional travel routes, a state of displaying the above-described parameters/fine adjustments, and so on. This animated display animates the travel trajectory of the harvester 1 traveling along the autonomous travel routes or traditional travel routes, which are travel routes in the autonomous travel or traditional travel in which the overall travel route has been determined in advance, and displays the animation in a display panel unit of the touch panel 41. Using this animated display, the driver can intuitively confirm the travel routes to be traveled on before the travel starts (Tomita et al. par. 84).
Claims 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamashita et al. US 20190050092 in view of Kentley et al. US 20170120803 and further in view of Rupp et al. US 20160071410.
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Yamashita et al. and Kentley et al. teach all the limitation in the claim 1.
The combination of Yamashita et al. and Kentley et al. do not explicitly teach The position information display method according to claim 1, wherein calculating includes: clustering the plurality of work devices into a plurality of clusters based on a predetermined clustering condition, setting, in the predetermined display region, partial display regions to which the range information indicating ranges of distribution of the positions of the plurality of clustered work devices are output for the plurality of clusters, respectively, and generating the range information of the plurality of clustered work devices for the plurality of clusters, respectively.
Rupp et al. teach The position information display method according to claim 1, wherein calculating includes: clustering the plurality of work devices into a plurality of clusters based on a predetermined clustering condition, setting, in the predetermined display region, (Rupp et al. US 20160071410 abstract; paragraphs [0080]-[0083]; [0092]-[0094]; [0258]; [0335]; figures 1-13;)
Each geographic region may be associated with varying groups of user devices utilized in the primary steps of the computing system 10 of FIG. 1. For example, a common first user device is associated with operation within geographic regions 1 and 2. As another example, a unique second user device is associated with operation within geographic region 2 and a unique third user device is associated with operation within geographic region 3 (Rupp et al. par. 80).
According to the cited passages and figures, examiner interpret the user device 1-1A and 1-2A in region 1, user device 2-1A and 2-2A in region 2 and user device 3-1A and 3-2A as the plurality working devices. Examiner interpret varying groups of user devices as the plurality of clusters.
partial display regions to which the range information indicating ranges of distribution of the positions of the plurality of clustered work devices are output for the plurality of clusters, respectively, and generating the range information of the plurality of clustered work devices for the plurality of clusters, respectively.
FIG. 3 is a diagram illustrating an embodiment of a geographic region divided into any number of sub-geographic regions. Hereafter, a sub-geographic region may be referred to interchangeably as a geographic sub-region. For example, geographic region 1 includes geographic sub-regions 1-1, 1-2, 1-3, 1-4, etc. (Rupp et al. par. 81). FIG. 5 is a schematic block diagram of another embodiment of a computing system that includes the wireless location network 18, the wireless communication network 1, the network 24, the application unit 16, the storage unit 36, and the user device 14 that is associated with geographic region 1-1. Within the geographic region 1-1 are the user device 1-1A (e.g., embedded control electronics of a farming tractor) and the user device 1-1C (e.g., a smart phone utilized by an operator of the farming tractor) (Rupp et al. par. 92). Having generated the yield data 1, the application unit 16 sends the yield data 1 to one or more of a primary user device (e.g., user device 14) and the harvest apparatus set 490. For example, the application unit sends, via the network 24 and the wireless communication network 1, the yield data 1 to the user device 1-1C for transfer to the harvest apparatus set 490 for further processing and/or visualization by at least one of the user device 1-1A and the user device 1-1C. For instance, the user device 1-1C displays a map of the geographic region 1 where the map overlays the yield data (e.g., varying colors represent varying levels of yield) (Rupp et al. par. 335).
According to the cited passages and figures, examiner interpret the sub-geographic region 1-1 as a partial display regions.
Therefore, it would have been obviously to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to provide a simple substitution of grouping the work vehicle within a same region from Rupp et al. reference into Yamashita et al. and Kentley et al. reference and the results of substitution would have been predictable of display the group of work vehicles within a group and sub-groups.
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Yamashita et al., Kentley et al. and Rupp et al. disclose The position information display method according to claim 9, wherein outputting includes outputting, for the plurality of clusters,
Each geographic region may be associated with varying groups of user devices utilized in the primary steps of the computing system 10 of FIG. 1. For example, a common first user device is associated with operation within geographic regions 1 and 2. As another example, a unique second user device is associated with operation within geographic region 2 and a unique third user device is associated with operation within geographic region 3 (Rupp et al. par. 80).
According to the cited passages and figures, examiner interpret varying groups of user devices as the plurality of clusters.
respectively, the display information including the range to the partial display regions based on the position information, the range information, and the scale of the plurality of clustered work devices.
FIG. 7 is a front view illustrating the display unit 21 displaying a vehicle display screen after display condition setting. The vehicle display screen of FIG. 7 is displayed in the case where display conditions are set on the vehicle display screen of FIG. 3 and a plurality of vehicles T satisfying the display conditions is extracted (Yamashita et al. par. 68). The display control unit 114 extracts the plurality of vehicles T satisfying the display conditions, and displays the vehicle information 214 of the plurality of extracted vehicles T included in the vehicle list 213, in a display mode different from that of the vehicle information 214 of the other vehicles T (in FIG. 7, corresponding areas are displayed in a different color). The method of changing the display mode of the vehicle information 214 is the same as that of the first embodiment (Yamashita et al. par. 69).
According to the cited passages and figures, examiner interpret each icon 212 show in the map image 211 at the different positions and location in the figure 3 of Yamashita et al. reference as the group of work vehicle. Figure 4 of Yamashita et al. reference show the partial display with different scale.
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Yamashita et al., Kentley et al. and Rupp et al. disclose The position information display method according to claim 9, wherein clustering condition includes: clustering a first work device and a second work device among the plurality of work devices into a same cluster among the plurality of clusters when a distance between the first work device and the second work device is shorter than a predetermined threshold value, and clustering the first work device and the second work device into different clusters among the plurality of clusters when the distance is equal to or longer than the predetermined threshold value.
Each geographic region may be associated with varying groups of user devices utilized in the primary steps of the computing system 10 of FIG. 1. For example, a common first user device is associated with operation within geographic regions 1 and 2. As another example, a unique second user device is associated with operation within geographic region 2 and a unique third user device is associated with operation within geographic region 3 (Rupp et al. par. 80). Having identified the group of geographic regions with the similar traits, the application unit 16 selects one of the geographic regions for further data collection. The selecting may be based on one or more of a random selection, a round-robin approach, proximity of the geographic region to a farming resource (e.g., to a tractor, a farmer), and availability of the geographic region to the farming resource (e.g., ready for scouting). For example, the application unit 16 selects geographic region 1-3 when a distance between the geographic region 1-3 and the user device 1-2A is favorable (e.g., less than a distance threshold level) (Rupp et al. par. 258).
According to the cited passages and figures, examiner interpret the user device 1-1A and 1-2A in region 1, user device 2-1A and 2-2A in region 2 and user device 3-1A and 3-2A as the plurality working devices. Examiner interpret those user devices are in the same region is favorable less than a distance threshold level. Therefore those user devices are in the same group and those user devices fall outside the region assign as a different group.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/29/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In the remark applicant argues in substance:
Applicant argument: Applicant argues that Yamashita et al. and Zaizen et al. failed to teach or disclose “the predetermined condition being set based on whether distances between the positions of the plurality of work devices that each individually move meet a threshold” as cited in the claims 1 and 12.
Examiner response: The presented arguments are rendered moot in view of the new ground rejection necessitated by amendments initiated by applicant. Please see above rejections.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THANG D TRAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2686
/BRIAN A ZIMMERMAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2686