Detailed Action
Status of Claims
This FINAL communication is in response to application No. 18/408,423 filed on 02/06/2026. Claims 1-20 are currently pending and have been examined. Claims 1-20 have been rejected as follows.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted 03/04/2026 is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's amendment and/or arguments with respect to the Claim Objections,
and rejection of claims under 35 USC 112(b) as set forth in the office action of 11/25/2025 have been considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the Claim Objections, Claim Interpretation, and rejection of claims under 35 USC 112(b) as set forth in the office action of 11/25/2025 have been withdrawn.
Applicant's amendment and/or arguments with respect to the rejection of claims
under 35 USC 103 as set forth in the office action of 11/25/2025 have been
considered and:
The applicant claims that Shashua (US 10082798 B2) does not relate to an off-road vehicle or system, however the vehicle technology taught in Shashua can be applied to any vehicle. Therefore, it is considered relevant to this application.
Regarding the applicant’s second argument stating that Shashua does not teach an entry landmark defining a down hill section; examiner respectfully disagrees. In paragraph 64, Shashua states “The autonomous navigational response may include modifying a steering angle of the vehicle. The recognized landmark may include a stop line, a traffic light, a stop sign, or a curve along the road segment. The camera may be included in the vehicle.” In several other paragraphs, Shashua outlines a landmark can be any sort of traffic sign; to include a down hill sign which would indicate the start of a downhill entry section.
The applicant further argues that Shashua is not relevant because it relates to autonomous vehicles rather than a vehicle assistance system. Respectfully, the examiner disagrees as the autonomous controls and systems are often in conjunction with a user or driver and can therefore be considered an advanced assistance system.
The applicant also states that Gesang is not relevant due to it’s nature of relating to road traffic; the technology taught in Gesang can apply to any vehicle. Therefore, the examiner once again emphasizes the reference Gesang is relevant to this application.
The applicant argues that Zhang does not disclose a ramp travelling vehicle assistance function that provides different speed control modes which are automatically selectable depending on the determined slope state and location state. Gesang states “the preset decoupling curve can store curves showing the relationship between the distribution of driving torque and braking torque under different slopes and speeds. The distribution relationship between driving torque and braking torque corresponding to slope acceleration is different at different speeds and slopes. It can be understood that multiple preset decoupling curves can be stored in the vehicle”. This can be understood as several deceleration modes based on the preset decoupling curves are stored and automatically selected when the vehicle meets the requirements of slope state and location state of the stored curve.
The applicant continues that Zhang does not teach location data, and only discloses environment data. However, Zhang’s description of the environment includes location of the vehicle - “Furthermore, based on the above-described embodiments, the slope determination unit acquires environmental data surrounding the vehicle in at least one of the following ways: [0084] Data is collected through millimeter-wave radar, image sensors, and high-precision maps.” (par 84-85, Zhang). The use of a map would include location of the vehicle.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 16, 17, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Shashua (US 10082798 B2) in view of Zhang CN 112061106 A) and in further view of Gesang (US 20230303052 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Shashua teaches an entry landmark marking a defined down-hill entry section of a ramp as a first ramp section, (see at least [6, 706]; "the disclosed systems and methods may provide navigation based on recognized landmarks,… In one example, non-road area 6710 may be a non-paved area, a sidewalk, or a beginning of a hill.") Shashua teaches a landmark, to include an entry landmark, of a defined down-hill entry section, or beginning of a hill, as a first ramp section.
the entry landmark being located in advance of the start of the ramp and configured to be detectable by the utility vehicle, the utility vehicle comprising: (see at least [194, 6]; "As described in connection with FIGS. 5A-5D below, monocular image analysis module 402 may include instructions for detecting a set of features within the set of images, such as lane markings, vehicles, pedestrians, road signs, highway exit ramps, traffic lights, hazardous objects, and any other feature associated with an environment of a vehicle…. For example, the disclosed systems and methods may provide navigation based on recognized landmarks") Shashua teaches a landmark, to include and entry landmark, located in advance of the start of the ramp that is detectable by the utility vehicle.
a detector for detecting a landmark, (see at least [364]; "In the mapping phase, the disclosed systems (e.g., vehicles or server) may detect feature points (FPs) and compute their descriptors (e.g. using the FAST/BRISK/ORB detectors and descriptors or a detector/descriptor pair that was trained using the database discussed below).") Shashua teaches a detector for detecting a landmark.
a location meter for measuring a location value of the utility vehicle, (see at least [29]; "reception of global positioning system (GPS) data representing a location of the host vehicle,") Shashua teaches a location meter for measuring a location value of the utility vehicle.
a speedometer for measuring a speed value of the utility vehicle, (see at least [94]; " The at least one sensor may include a speedometer associated with the vehicle") Shashua teaches a speedometer for measuring a speed value of the utility vehicle.
a computer unit, whereby the computer unit is configured to perform detection of the landmark when approaching the landmark, (see at least [101]; " a computer-implemented method for determining a lane assignment for an autonomous vehicle along a road segment may include the following operations performed by one or more processors: receiving from a camera at least one image representative of an environment of the vehicle; analyzing the at least one image to identify at least one recognized landmark;") Shashua teaches a computer method, which would involve a computer unit, whereby the computer unit is configured to perform detection of the landmark when approaching the landmark.
(see at least [34]; "Navigation between recognized landmarks may include integration of vehicle velocity to determine a location of the vehicle along the predetermined road model trajectory. ") Shashua teaches the location state based on at least on location value.
Shashua does not explicitly disclose start of a ramp travelling vehicle assistance function in response to the detection, whereby in course of the ramp travelling vehicle assistance function there is a repeated measurement of the vehicle's slope value and location value, a repeated determination of a vehicle's: slope state based on multiple slope values and location state with respect to a ramp section based on at least one location value, and based on a repeated measurement of vehicle speed values, a control of the vehicle's speed with regard to a defined, in particular ramp section specific, speed limit, whereby the ramp travelling vehicle assistance function provides different speed control modes which are automatically selectable depending on the determined slope state and location state.
However, Zhang teaches start of a ramp travelling vehicle assistance function in response to the detection, (see at least [0009]; "The driving initiation module is used to activate the ramp automatic driving mode when the vehicle is on a ramp;") Zhang teaches the start of a ramp traveling vehicle assistance function in response to the detection.
whereby in course of the ramp travelling vehicle assistance function there is a repeated measurement of the vehicle's slope value and location value, (see at least [0064, 0063, 0066, 0041]; "; if the slope is greater than 3%, the slope change rate ζ, where the slope change rate can be the difference between the slope value of the current calculation period and the slope value of the previous calculation period per unit time…. Referring to Figure 4, an exemplary implementation includes the following steps:… Real-time monitoring of vehicle driving slope status…Among them, environmental data can be data about the environment in which the vehicle is located, including lane data, road sign data, and landscape data. ") Zhang teaches the Riemann function which takes repeated measurements of the slope value for the ramp traveling vehicle assistance function, as well as describes obtaining the environmental data to include the location value.
a repeated determination of a vehicle's: slope state based on multiple slope values and location state with respect to a ramp section based on at least one location value, and (see at least [0009, 0064, 0041]; "The driving initiation module is used to activate the ramp automatic driving mode when the vehicle is on a ramp; …1. The vehicle determines its current status and whether the slope of its lane exceeds the longitudinal slope of a typical road by 3%. If the slope is less than 3%, the vehicle can activate the hill start assist function normally; if the slope is greater than 3%, the slope change rate ζ, where the slope change rate can be the difference between the slope value of the current calculation period and the slope value of the previous calculation period per unit time. When the longitudinal slope gradient is less than ζ<sub>0</sub>, the vehicle enters the driving state of the slope section;…Among them, environmental data can be data about the environment in which the vehicle is located, including lane data, road sign data, and landscape data. ") Zhang teaches a repeated determination of a vehicle's slope state and location value based on multiple slope values with respect to a ramp section from the Riemann function.
based on a repeated measurement of vehicle speed values, a control of the vehicle's speed with regard to a defined, in particular ramp section specific, speed limit, whereby the ramp travelling vehicle assistance function provides different speed control modes which are automatically selectable depending on the determined slope state and location state. (see at least [0033, 0053, 0034, 0041]; "In this embodiment, the preset decoupling curve can also be related to the vehicle's current speed, allowing for continuous monitoring of the vehicle's real-time speed…Hill acceleration can be the acceleration required to drive a vehicle uphill or downhill, driving torque can be the torque used to drive the vehicle, and braking torque can be the torque used to decelerate the vehicle. In this embodiment of the invention, information reflecting the current driving state of the vehicle can be collected and input into the vehicle's controller. The target acceleration required by the vehicle under the current driving state can be found through the calculation formula or parameter calibration table stored in the controller, and the target acceleration can be used as the vehicle's ramp acceleration. Since the driving torque and braking torque required for a vehicle to travel on a slope will change with the slope gradient, the driving torque and braking torque required to achieve the slope acceleration under the current driving state can be determined based on the preset decoupling curve. Among them, the preset decoupling curve can store curves showing the relationship between the distribution of driving torque and braking torque under different slopes and speeds. The distribution relationship between driving torque and braking torque corresponding to slope acceleration is different at different speeds and slopes. It can be understood that multiple preset decoupling curves can be stored in the vehicle…Specifically, the vehicle can detect the lane it is in and, if it is on a slope, it can activate theslope autonomous driving function, allowing the vehicle to drive autonomously on slopes..Among them, environmental data can be data about the environment in which the vehicle is located, including lane data, road sign data, and landscape data.") Zhang teaches a control of the vehicle's speed with regard to a defined, in particular ramp section specific, speed limit, whereby the ramp travelling vehicle assistance function provides different speed control modes which are automatically selectable depending on the determined sloped state and location state.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Shashua to incorporate the teachings of Zhang which teaches a ramp travelling vehicle assistance function that takes repeated measurements of the vehicles slope and location in order for the vehicle to be able to gauge the settings it would need in order to safely drive up or down the ramp.
Zhang does not explicitly disclose a slope meter, in particular comprising a GNSS receiver, for measuring a slope value of the utility vehicle.
However, Gesang teaches a slope meter, in particular comprising a GNSS receiver, for measuring a slope value of the utility vehicle (See at least [0101]; "The ACE HDT further comprises a Global Navigation Satellite System (GNSS) which is a dual-antenna carrier phase real-time kinematic (RTK) differential receiver, capable of calculating the longitude, latitude, altitude, longitudinal slope, linear velocity and other parameters of a longitudinal road in the running process of the vehicle in real time;") Gesang teaches a slope meter comprising a GNSS receiver for measuring a slope value of the utility vehicle.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Shashua to incorporate teachings of Gesang which teaches a GNSS receiver for measuring a slope value of the utility vehicle in order to have a high precision reading of the slope to ensure the vehicle can adapt it’s settings to traverse the slope.
Regarding claim 4, Shashua fails to disclose The vehicle assistance system according to claim 1, wherein the location state is defined as the vehicle being inside or outside a ramp section.
However, Zhang teaches The vehicle assistance system according to claim 1, wherein the location state is defined as the vehicle being inside or outside a ramp section. (see at least [0031]; "Specifically, the vehicle can detect the lane it is in and, if it is on a slope, it can activate the slope autonomous driving function, allowing the vehicle to drive autonomously on slopes.")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Shashua to incorporate the teachings of Zhang which teaches a vehicle assistance system wherein the location state is defined as the vehicle being inside or outside a ramp section in order to determine whether or not the vehicle assistance system needs to enable the ramp assistance function in order to be able to traverse the slope of a ramp.
Regarding claim 5, Shashua fails to disclose The vehicle assistance system according to claim 3, wherein the computer unit is configured, in response to the detection of the exit landmark, to perform an amendment of the ramp travelling vehicle assistance function to function without slope and/or slope state determination and/or without speed control.
However, Shashua teaches The vehicle assistance system according to claim 3, wherein the computer unit is configured, in response to the detection of the exit landmark, to perform an amendment of the ramp travelling vehicle assistance function to function without slope and/or slope state determination and/or without speed control. (see at least [0060, 0089]; "When exiting the automatic driving state on the slope, a reminder message can be issued to the driver. After obtaining the driver's confirmation information, the automatic driving state on the slope is exited…The memory 61, as a computer-readable storage medium, can be used to store software programs, computer-executable programs, and modules, such as program instructions/modules corresponding to the autonomous driving control method in the embodiments of the present invention (e.g., driving start module 301, torque determination module 302, and vehicle control module 303 in the autonomous driving control device). The controller 60 executes various vehicle functions and data processing by running software programs, instructions, and modules stored in the memory 61, thereby realizing the abovementioned autonomous driving control method.")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Shashua to incorporate the teachings of Zhang which teaches the vehicle assistance program to function with slope or speed determination in order to prevent an error in the vehicle’s functionality because the end of the slope would not be able to provide a slope angle.
Regarding claim 6, Shashua fails to disclose The vehicle assistance system according to claim 3, wherein the computer unit is configured to perform a determination of a ramp left state as location state with respect to the exit section and to end the execution of the ramp travelling vehicle assistance function in response thereto.
However, Zhang teaches The vehicle assistance system according to claim 3, wherein the computer unit is configured to perform a determination of a ramp left state as location state with respect to the exit section and to end the execution of the ramp travelling vehicle assistance function in response thereto. (see at least [0060, 0089]; "When exiting the automatic driving state on the slope, a reminder message can be issued to the driver. After obtaining the driver's confirmation information, the automatic driving state on the slope is exited…The memory 61, as a computer-readable storage medium, can be used to store software programs, computer-executable programs, and modules, such as program instructions/modules corresponding to the autonomous driving control method in the embodiments of the present invention (e.g., driving start module 301, torque determination module 302, and vehicle control module 303 in the autonomous driving control device). The controller 60 executes various vehicle functions and data processing by running software programs, instructions, and modules stored in the memory 61, thereby realizing the abovementioned autonomous driving control method.")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Shashua to incorporate teachings of Zhang which teaches the computer unit to shut off assistance on the exit landmark is detected in order to prevent damage to the engine if the settings for the ramp were to continue while the vehicle was in a flat setting.
Regarding claim 7, Shashua fails to disclose The vehicle assistance system according to claim 1, wherein the slope state as well as the location state are discrete and discontinuous.
However, Zhang teaches The vehicle assistance system according to claim 1, wherein the slope state as well as the location state are discrete and discontinuous. (see at least [0064]; "If the slope is less than 3%, the vehicle can activate the hill start assist function normally; if the slope is greater than 3%, the slope change rate ζ, where the slope change rate can be the difference between the slope value of the current calculation period and the slope value of the previous calculation period per unit time.") The Riemann function shown by Zhang is a discrete and discontinuous mathematical function.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Shashua to incorporate teachings of Zhang which teaches the vehicle assistance system requiring readings that are discrete and discontinuous in order to anticipate a larger change such as a hole, abrupt change in angle, or end of the slope and enable the vehicle to be able to function throughout these occurrences.
Regarding claim 8, Shashua fails to disclose The vehicle assistance system according to claim 7, wherein the slope state is defined as the vehicle having a slope with regard to the horizontal within a preset slope interval.
However. Zhang teaches The vehicle assistance system according to claim 7, wherein the slope state is defined as the vehicle having a slope with regard to the horizontal within a preset slope interval. (see at least [0064]; "1. The vehicle determines its current status and whether the slope of its lane exceeds the longitudinal slope of a typical road by 3%.")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Shashua to incorporate teachings of Zhang which teaches the slope state being defined as being within an interval when compared to a horizontal because a relatively flat surface can have some amount of slope, therefore in order to only enact the assist system when appropriate, the interval needs to be set.
Regarding claim 9, Shashua fails to disclose The vehicle assistance system according to claim 8, wherein the determination of the slope state comprises a location dependent state verification such that the slope state is considered determined only if at least an averaged slope value is within the according slope interval considering a minimal confidence threshold.
However, Zhang teaches The vehicle assistance system according to claim 8, wherein the determination of the slope state comprises a location dependent state verification such that the slope state is considered determined only if at least an averaged slope value is within the according slope interval considering a minimal confidence threshold. (see at least [Figure 2]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Shashua to incorporate teachings of Zhang which teaches determining the slope state comprises of a location state dependent verification with an averaged slope value in order to ensure the vehicle assistance system is enabled when it is appropriate.
Regarding claim 10, Shashua teaches The vehicle assistance system according to claim 1, wherein the determination of the slope state with respect to location state comprises determination and consideration of a slope value history with respect to location value history. (see at least [727]; "In some situations, vehicle navigation can be based on dead reckoning (for example, at least for short segments) where the vehicle determines its current location based on its last known position, its speed history, and its motion history.")
Regarding claim 11, Shashua fails to disclose The vehicle assistance system according to claim 1, wherein the speed control modes comprise a: driver warning mode for signalling to a driver a present overspeed and/or a nearing speed limit and/or a nearing down-hill ramp section and a speed regulation mode for actively limiting or reducing the speed.
However, Zhang teaches The vehicle assistance system according to claim 1, wherein the speed control modes comprise a: driver warning mode for signalling to a driver a present overspeed and/or a nearing speed limit and/or a nearing down-hill ramp section and a speed regulation mode for actively limiting or reducing the speed. (see at least [19, 17]; "The vehicle assistance system may further comprise a warning system configured for generating a warning signal based on a map of the construction site or mining site provided by the computer, further based on the assistance signal and on a history of data records of vehicles that drove on the construction site or mining site, wherein the warning signal warns a driver of the first or second vehicle of a potential risk….Based on the expected time and expected location, the computer can now generate adaptation data which are indicative for an adaptation of either: (a) a route parameter of any vehicle's route, such as a redirection, offerings of alternative route(s) or a waiting position; or (b) a driving parameter of any vehicle, such as the travel speed or the steering angle.")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Shashua to incorporate teachings of Zhang which teaches signaling a driver that an overspeed or limit is being approached in the event the driver needs to take over in order to prevent damage to the vehicle or driver should an overspeed occur.
Regarding claim 12, Shashua teaches The vehicle assistance system according to claim 1, wherein: the landmark comprises a physically detectable feature and the detector comprises a sensor adapted thereto and/or the landmark comprises a radio signal transmitter and the detector comprises a radio signal receiver adapted thereto and/or the landmark is virtual and comprises as a stored position stored on a permanent storage of the computer unit and the detector comprises an algorithm for detection of the landmark by comparing a vehicle's actual location value with the stored landmark position. (see at least [18, 22, 23]; "The position of the at least one landmark may be determined based on position measurements performed using sensor systems associated with the plurality of vehicles…. In some embodiments of the method, the one or more sensors may include a speed sensor. The one or more sensors may include an accelerometer. The one or more sensors may include the camera. The at least one navigational constraint may include at least one of a barrier, an object, a lane marking, a sign, or another vehicle. The camera may be included in the vehicle.
(23) In some embodiments, a system for identifying a landmark for use in autonomous vehicle navigation may include at least one processor programmed to: receive at least one identifier associated with the landmark; associate the landmark with a corresponding road segment; update an autonomous vehicle road navigation model relative to the corresponding road segment to include the at least one identifier associated with the landmark; and distribute the updated autonomous vehicle road navigation model to a plurality of autonomous vehicles.")
Regarding claim 13, Shashu teaches The vehicle assistance system according to claim 1, wherein: a respective landmark comprises a code detectable by the detector for encoding an individual landmark and/or a type of landmark and therewith an individual ramp and/or type of ramp and the speed control modes or parameters thereof are selectable depending on the detected code. (see at least [259, 260]; " Landmarks may also include beacons that may be specifically designed for usage in an autonomous vehicle navigation system. For example, such beacons may include stand-alone structures placed at predetermined intervals to aid in navigating a host vehicle. Such beacons may also include visual/graphical information added to existing road signs (e.g., icons, emblems, bar codes, etc.) that may be identified or recognized by a vehicle traveling along a road segment. Such beacons may also include electronic components. In such embodiments, electronic beacons (e.g., RFID tags, etc.) may be used to transmit non-visual information to a host vehicle. Such information may include, for example, landmark identification and/or landmark location information that a host vehicle may use in determining its position along a target trajectory.
(260) In some embodiments, the landmarks included in sparse map 800 may be represented by a data object of a predetermined size. The data representing a landmark may include any suitable parameters for identifying a particular landmark. For example, in some embodiments, landmarks stored in sparse map 800 may include parameters such as a physical size of the landmark (e.g., to support estimation of distance to the landmark based on a known size/scale), a distance to a previous landmark, lateral offset, height, a type code (e.g., a landmark type—what type of directional sign, traffic sign, etc.), a GPS coordinate (e.g., to support global localization), and any other suitable parameters. Each parameter may be associated with a data size..")
Regarding claim 14, Shashua teaches The vehicle assistance system according to claim 1, wherein the computer unit is configured, in response to the detection of the landmark, to control a further aspect of the vehicle, whereby: the control comprises to block or unblock a vehicle's working tool or body and/or the control of a further aspect is modifyable by modification of the landmark. (see at least [46, 112]; " In some embodiments of the system, the predetermined road model trajectory may include a three-dimensional polynomial representation of a target trajectory along the road segment. The two or more landmarks may include three or more landmarks. The at least one processor may be further programmed to transmit a control signal specifying the steering angle to a steering system of the vehicle…In some embodiments of the system, the navigational maneuver may be based on a recognized landmark identified in the at least one environmental image. The information relating to the user input may include information specifying at least one of a degree of a turn of the vehicle, an amount of an acceleration of the vehicle, and an amount of braking of the vehicle. The control system may include at least one of a steering control, an acceleration control, and a braking control.")
Regarding claim 16, Shashua teaches The vehicle assistance system according to claim 1, wherein the location meter is embodied as a travel meter for determining a travelled distance of the utility vehicle as location value. (see at least [24, 27]; " The at least one identifier may include a distance of the landmark relative to another landmark.… In some embodiments, a system for determining a location of a landmark for use in navigation of an autonomous vehicle may include at least one processor programmed to: receive a measured position of the landmark; and determine a refined position of the landmark based on the measured position of the landmark and at least one previously acquired position for the landmark. The measured position and the at least one previously acquired position may be determined based on acquisition, from a camera associated with a host vehicle, of at least one environmental image associated with the host vehicle, analysis of the at least one environmental image to identify the landmark in the environment of the host vehicle, reception of global positioning system (GPS) data representing a location of the host vehicle, analysis of the at least one environmental image to determine a relative position of the identified landmark with respect to the host vehicle, and determination of a globally localized position of the landmark based on at least the GPS data and the determined relative position.")
Regarding claim 17, Shashua fails to disclose The vehicle assistance system according to claim 1, wherein the speed control is dependent on at least one of: slope state, vehicle payload or weight, daytime, proximity of another off-road user, planned vehicle destination
However, Zhang teaches The vehicle assistance system according to claim 1, wherein the speed control is dependent on at least one of: slope state, vehicle payload or weight, daytime, proximity of another off-road user, planned vehicle destination. (see at least [0037]; "In this embodiment, by activating the ramp autonomous driving state when the vehicle is on a slope, the ramp acceleration is determined based on the vehicle's current driving information, and the driving torque and braking torque corresponding to the ramp acceleration are determined through a preset decoupling curve. The vehicle is then controlled to drive according to the driving torque and braking torque, thereby realizing autonomous driving of the vehicle on a slope.")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Shashua to incorporate teachings of Zhang which teaches the speed control being dependent on at least a slope state, vehicle payload or proximity of another off road user in order to ensure the safety of the vehicle and drivers.
Regarding Claim 19, Shashua teaches An off-road ramp travelling vehicle assistance method for a utility vehicle, comprising automatically: detecting an entry landmark when approaching the landmark with the utility vehicle, (see at least [194, 6]; "As described in connection with FIGS. 5A-5D below, monocular image analysis module 402 may include instructions for detecting a set of features within the set of images, such as lane markings, vehicles, pedestrians, road signs, highway exit ramps, traffic lights, hazardous objects, and any other feature associated with an environment of a vehicle…. For example, the disclosed systems and methods may provide navigation based on recognized landmarks") Shashua teaches a vehicle assistance method for a vehicle that detects a landmark when approaching a landmark, to include an entry landmark.
the entry landmark defining a down-hill entry section of a ramp as a first ramp section, (see at least [6, 706]; "the disclosed systems and methods may provide navigation based on recognized landmarks,… In one example, non-road area 6710 may be a non-paved area, a sidewalk, or a beginning of a hill.") Shashua teaching an entry landmarks defining a down-hill entry, or beginning of a hill, as a first ramp section.
being located in advance of the start of the ramp and configured to be detectable by the utility vehicle, (see at least [194, 6]; "As described in connection with FIGS. 5A-5D below, monocular image analysis module 402 may include instructions for detecting a set of features within the set of images, such as lane markings, vehicles, pedestrians, road signs, highway exit ramps, traffic lights, hazardous objects, and any other feature associated with an environment of a vehicle…. For example, the disclosed systems and methods may provide navigation based on recognized landmarks") Shashua teaches a landmark including being located in advance of the start of the ramp and configured to be detectable by the utility vehicle.
Shashua teaches the limitation of claim 19 as discussed above, Shashua does not disclose repeatedly measuring a vehicle's slope value and a vehicle's location value, repeatedly determining a vehicle's: slope state based on multiple slope values and location state with respect to a ramp section based on at least one location value, selecting a speed control mode from different speed control modes depending on the determined slope state and location state and controlling the vehicle's speed with regard to a defined, in particular ramp section specific, speed limit according to the selected speed control mode and based on a repeated measurement of speed values.
However, Zhang teaches repeatedly measuring a vehicle's slope value and a vehicle's location value, (see at least [0009, 0064, 0041]; "The driving initiation module is used to activate the ramp automatic driving mode when the vehicle is on a ramp; …1. The vehicle determines its current status and whether the slope of its lane exceeds the longitudinal slope of a typical road by 3%. If the slope is less than 3%, the vehicle can activate the hill start assist function normally; if the slope is greater than 3%, the slope change rate ζ, where the slope change rate can be the difference between the slope value of the current calculation period and the slope value of the previous calculation period per unit time. When the longitudinal slope gradient is less than ζ<sub>0</sub>, the vehicle enters the driving state of the slope section; …Among them, environmental data can be data about the environment in which the vehicle is located, including lane data, road sign data, and landscape data.") Zhang teaches repeatedly measuring a vehicles slope value and location value with use of the Rhiemann function.
repeatedly determining a vehicle's: slope state based on multiple slope values and location state with respect to a ramp section based on at least one location value, (see at least [0064, 0063, 0066, 0041]; "; if the slope is greater than 3%, the slope change rate ζ, where the slope change rate can be the difference between the slope value of the current calculation period and the slope value of the previous calculation period per unit time…. Referring to Figure 4, an exemplary implementation includes the following steps:… Real-time monitoring of vehicle driving slope status…Among them, environmental data can be data about the environment in which the vehicle is located, including lane data, road sign data, and landscape data. ") Zhang teaches repeatedly determining a vehicles slope value and location value with respect to a ramp section.
selecting a speed control mode from different speed control modes depending on the determined slope state and location state and controlling the vehicle's speed with regard to a defined, in particular ramp section specific, speed limit according to the selected speed control mode and based on a repeated measurement of speed values. (see at least [0033, 0053, 0034, 0041]; "In this embodiment, the preset decoupling curve can also be related to the vehicle's currentspeed, allowing for continuous monitoring of the vehicle's real-time speed…Hill acceleration can be the acceleration required to drive a vehicle uphill or downhill, driving torque can be the torque used to drive the vehicle, and braking torque can be the torque used to decelerate the vehicle. In this embodiment of the invention, information reflecting the current driving state of the vehicle can be collected and input into the vehicle's controller. The target acceleration required by the vehicle under the current driving state can be found through the calculation formula or parameter calibration table stored in the controller, and the target acceleration can be used as the vehicle's ramp acceleration. Since the driving torque and braking torque required for a vehicle to travel on a slope will change with the slope gradient, the driving torque and braking torque required to achieve the slope acceleration under the current driving state can be determined based on the preset decoupling curve. Among them, the preset decoupling curve can store curves showing the relationship between the distribution of driving torque and braking torque under different slopes and speeds. The distribution relationship between driving torque and braking torque corresponding to slope acceleration is different at different speeds and slopes. It can be understood that multiple preset decoupling curves can be stored in the vehicle…Specifically, the vehicle can detect the lane it is in and, if it is on a slope, it can activate the slope autonomous driving function, allowing the vehicle to drive autonomously on slopes…Among them, environmental data can be data about the environment in which the vehicle is located, including lane data, road sign data, and landscape data.") Zhang teaches a control of the vehicle's speed with regard to a defined, in particular ramp section specific, speed limit, whereby the ramp travelling vehicle assistance function provides different speed control modes which are automatically selectable depending on the determined sloped state and location state.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Shashua to incorporate the teachings of Zhang which teaches a ramp travelling vehicle assistance function that takes repeated measurements of the vehicles slope and location in order for the vehicle to be able to gauge the settings it would need in order to safely drive up or down the ramp.
Regarding claim 20, Shashua teaches a computer program product having computer-executable instructions stored in a non-transitory machine readable medium implemented for executing the method according to claim 19, when run on a computer unit. (see at least [61]; " In some embodiments, a non-transitory computer readable medium may store instructions causing at least one processor to perform sparse map autonomous navigation of a vehicle along a road segment, which may include receiving a sparse map of the road segment")
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Shashua (US 10082798 B2) in view of Zhang CN 112061106 A) and Gesang (US 20230303052 A1) in further view of Lewis (US 10330481 B2).
Regarding claim 2, Shashua fails to disclose The vehicle assistance system according to claim 1, wherein the vehicle assistance system is embodied as a mining vehicle assistance system, in particular as a mining truck vehicle assistance system.
However, Lewis teaches The vehicle assistance system according to claim 1, wherein the vehicle assistance system is embodied as a mining vehicle assistance system, in particular as a mining truck vehicle assistance system. (see a least [12]; "In one implementation, the present invention is a system for navigating a haul truck through a mining environment to a target destination ")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Shashua to incorporate the teachings of Lewis which teaches the vehicle assistance system embodied as a mining vehicle assistance system because the vehicles in mining encounter slopes with valuable and heavy payloads, the assistance ensures a safer and more efficient method of operation.
Claims 3 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Shashua (US 10082798 B2) in view of Zhang CN 112061106 A) and Gesang (US 20230303052 A1) in further view of Chai (CN 112229411 B).
Regarding claim 3, Shashua fails to disclose The vehicle assistance system according to claim 1, wherein the system comprises an exit landmark for defining a down-hill exit section of the ramp as a second, non-final ramp section, located in advance of the end of the ramp and configured to be detectable by the utility vehicle.
However, Chai teaches The vehicle assistance system according to claim 1, wherein the system comprises an exit landmark for defining a down-hill exit section of the ramp as a second, non-final ramp section, located in advance of the end of the ramp and configured to be detectable by the utility vehicle. (see at least [0027,0049, 0057, 0058]; "Obtain the second elevation information corresponding to the entrance road sign element, and use the second elevation information as a reference to perform elevation calibration on the map elements in the map data..In practical applications, vehicles can collect map data for the area where they are located in real time, such as map elements in a parking lot area, and upload them to the server…Thus, the entrance road sign element can be determined by identifying the map element that is merged most frequently in the map data."
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Shashua to incorporate the teachings of Chai which teaches an exit landmark for defining a downhill section of a ramp as a second nonfinal ramp so that the vehicle and driver are aware of their status along the ramps and do not disengage prematurely which could be a hazard.
Regarding claim 18, Shashua fails to disclose The vehicle assistance system according to claim 1, wherein the defined down-hill entry section of the ramp comprises a non-down-hill entry stretch.
However, Chia teaches The vehicle assistance system according to claim 1, wherein the defined down-hill entry section of the ramp comprises a non-down-hill entry stretch. (see at least [0052, 0013]; "As an example, the waypoint element can be a point on a road in the map data. For example, roads can be divided according to a preset distance, resulting in multiple road segments and their endpoints. The road sign element can include elements such as speed bumps, entry points, exit points, entry points, exit points, entrances, and parking spaces in the map data…Based on the slope information, determine the target path point element corresponding to the flat terrain mode;")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Shashua to incorporate the teachings of Chia which teaches a defined down hill entry section of the ramp comprising of a non down hill entry stretch in order to give the driver and vehicle assistance system a segue between the normal functional road and the ramp section in order to allow for a safe and smooth transition to the slope.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Shashua (US 10082798 B2) in view of Zhang CN 112061106 A) and Gesang (US 20230303052 A1) in further view of Shinji (JP 4895531 B2).
Regarding claim 15, Shashua fails to disclose The vehicle assistance system according to claim 1, wherein the landmark comprises a vehicle detector for detection of an approaching utility vehicle and the system comprises a landmark computer unit configured to control a ramp installation in response to the detection.
However, Shinji teaches The vehicle assistance system according to claim 1, wherein the landmark comprises a vehicle detector for detection of an approaching utility vehicle and the system comprises a landmark computer unit configured to control a ramp installation in response to the detection. (see at least [0004]; "That is, a first aspect of the parking lot gate control device according to the present invention is a parking lot gate control device that uses a loop sensor to detect the approach of a vehicle and controls the opening and closing of a parking lot gate, characterized in that an optical sensor is provided at a position a predetermined distance from the loop sensor, and the loop sensor and the optical sensor detect the direction of movement of the vehicle and control the gate based on the detection result. A second aspect of the present invention is a parking lot gate control device that comprises a first sensor and a second sensor that detect the presence or absence of a vehicle positioned at a predetermined distance, movement direction detection means that detects the forward or backward movement of the vehicle based on the detection signals of the first sensor and the second sensor, and gate control means that controls the opening and closing of the parking lot gate based on the detection result of this detection means, characterized in that when the gate is opened and the vehicle leaves the parking lot,")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Shashua to incorporate the teachings of Shinji which teaches the landmark detecting an oncoming vehicle and being controlled in order to facilitate the operations of a mining vehicle by allowing the appropriate vehicles through at a desired interval.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HANA VICTORIA HALL/Examiner, Art Unit 3664
/RACHID BENDIDI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3664