DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is a response to communications dated 01/09/2024. Claims 1-30 are pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 6-7, 13, 17, 22, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ren et al. (US 2023/0269611) (hereinafter “Ren”).
The applied reference has a common assignee with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
Regarding claim 1, in accordance with Ren reference entirety, Ren discloses an
apparatus (FIG. 14) for wireless communications (FIG. 1, 2 or 13), comprising: memory (FIG. 14; 1405 and 1406); a transceiver (FIG. 4; 1410); and at least one processor (FIG. 14; 1404) of a first user equipment (UE) (UE 106), the at least one processor (FIG. 14; 1404) coupled with the memory (FIG. 14; 1405 and 1406) and the transceiver (FIG. 4; 1410) (see FIG. 14 for connection details) and configured to cause the apparatus to:
transmit, via the transceiver and from the first UE (FIG. 13; UE 1304) to a network entity (FIG. 13; UE 1302), a relay report (reports the results of the measurement) associated with operation of the first UE (FIG. 13; UE 1304) in a full duplex mode to relay one or more reverse link messages from a second UE (FIG. 13; UE 1306 or 1308 or 1310) to the network entity (FIG. 13; UE 1302), the one or more reverse link messages for receipt by the first UE (FIG. 13; UE 1304) via sidelink signaling from the second UE (FIG. 13; UE 1306 or 1308 or 1310) and transmission by the first UE (FIG. 13; UE 1304) via uplink signaling to the network entity (FIG. 13; UE 1302) (para [0119]: "The CLI measurement procedure may include the following operations, with reference to the UE1 and the UE2 of FIGS. 4-6. The UE1 conducts an uplink transmission to its serving base station on a particular resource. The UE2 is configured with a corresponding CLI measurement resource. For example, the base station may send a CLI configuration to the UE2 that specifies a CLI resource that corresponds to the same time and frequency resources that are used by the UE1 for its uplink transmission. Based on the CLI configuration, the UE2 measures CLI on the configured resource. For example, the UE2 may measure RSSI and/or RSRP. The UE2 then reports the results of the measurement to the network (e.g., the base station)." Or FIG. 15 and para [0181]: “… At block 1502, a UE (e.g., the UE1 described above) may receive a cross-link interference (CLI) configuration from a base station.” Furthermore; para [0185]: "In some examples, the method may further include receiving a CLI measurement report from the second UE after transmitting the CLI configuration to the second UE, determining that the CLI measurement report is for the base station, and transmitting the CLI measurement report to the base station after determining that the CLI measurement report is for the base station." Moreover; para [0128]: "The disclosure thus relates in some aspects to using sidelink signals to configure and conduct CLI measurements for UE positioning applications. For example, a UE (e.g., referred to as a positioning UE) may act as a coordinator to schedule CLI measurements on one or more sidelink channels. Here, both the CLI scheduling and the CLI measurements may be conducted on sidelink resources, thereby preserving Uu resources for other uses. In some aspects, this sidelink-based UE positioning technique may enhance the coverage of the CLI measurements (e.g., since UEs that are out of coverage of the network may still conduct CLI measurements) and save the resource costs of the CLI resource configuration (e.g., by avoiding using Uu resources for at least some of the CLI measurements.");
receive, via the transceiver and while operating in the full duplex mode, a reverse link message (CLI measurement report) for the network entity via the sidelink signaling from the second UE (UE2) (para [0185]: "... receiving a CLI measurement report from the second UE"); and
transmit, via the transceiver and in accordance with the full duplex mode and the relay report, the reverse link message (CLI measurement report) to the network entity (base station) via the uplink signaling while continuing to receive the sidelink signaling from the second UE (para [0185]: "… the method may further include receiving a CLI measurement report from the second UE after transmitting the CLI configuration to the second UE, determining that the CLI measurement report is for the base
station, and transmitting the CLI measurement report to the base station after determining that the CLI measurement report is for the base station. In some examples, the CLI measurement report indicates a signal measurement by the second UE on at least one CLI resource specified by the CLI configuration. In some examples, the at least one CLI resource may include a resource allocated to the first UE for an uplink transmission to the base station. In some examples, the at least one CLI resource may include a resource allocated to a third UE for an uplink transmission to the base station.").
Regarding claim 6, in addition to features recited in base claim 1 (see rationales discussed above), Ren also discloses transmit, via the transceiver and via the relay report, an indication of one or more sidelink measurement resources for performing cross-link interference measurements by the network entity (para [0107] and thereinafter: "As discussed in more detail herein, the base station 402 (or the associated network) may instruct the victim UE 406 to perform measurements of the CLI and report the measurements to the base station 402. Upon receiving a CLI measurement report from the UE 406, the base station 402 may take measures to mitigate the CLI. For example, the base station 402 may configure the slot format for the aggressor UE 404 and/or the slot format for the victim UE 406 such that UL transmissions and DL receptions do not collide or coincide in the time-domain. As another example, the base station 402 may reduce the UL transmit power of the aggressor UE 404 to reduce the CLI to the victim UE 406. Other CLI mitigating measures may be taken by the base station 402.").
Regarding claim 7, in addition to features recited in base claim 6 (see rationales discussed above), Ren also discloses transmit, via the transceiver and to the second UE, an indication of the one or more sidelink measurement resources or of sidelink beams via which the second UE is to transmit sidelink reference signals associated with the cross-link interference measurements (para [0128]: "The disclosure thus relates in some aspects to using sidelink signals to configure and conduct CLI measurements for UE positioning applications. For example, a UE (e.g., referred to as a positioning UE) may act as a coordinator to schedule CLI measurements on one or more sidelink channels. Here, both the CLI scheduling and the CLI measurements may be conducted on sidelink resources, thereby preserving Uu resources for other uses. In some aspects, this sidelink-based UE positioning technique may enhance the coverage of the CLI measurements (e.g., since UEs that are out of coverage of the network may still conduct CLI measurements) and save the resource costs of the CLI resource configuration (e.g., by avoiding using Uu resources for at least some of the CLI measurements.").
Regarding claim 13, in addition to features recited in base claim 6 (see rationales discussed above), Ren also discloses receive, via the transceiver and from the network entity, control signaling scheduling periodic or aperiodic reporting indicating whether the first UE is capable of supporting full duplex relaying, wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the apparatus to transmit the relay report based at least in part on receiving the control signaling (para [0118]: "In view of the above, CLI measurements may be used for Uu interference management to address DL/UL symbol pattern differences between UEs ( e.g., as shown in FIG. 6). For example, a base station may configure UEs to monitor for CLI on a periodic or other time and frequency basis, as discussed further herein. Thus, a victim UE may perform CLI measurement on a CLI resource specified in a CLI configuration (e.g., generated by a base station) where the CLI resource corresponds to the resource that the aggressor UE uses for a transmission.").
(Note: Claim 17 and its dependent claims appear to call for apparatus having limitations variously and essentially reversal mirrored functional limitations of apparatus of claim 1 and dependent claims of claim 1. They are therefore anticipated by Ren for the same rationales as discussed above and hereinbelow.)
Regarding claim 17, in accordance with Ren reference entirety, Ren discloses an apparatus (FIG. 18) for wireless communications (FIG. 1, 2 or 13), comprising: memory (FIG. 18; 1805 and 1806); and at least one processor (FIG. 18; 1804) of a network entity (FIG. 1, 2, or 13; Base Station 104; 210 to 216), the at least one processor (FIG. 18; 1804) coupled with the memory (FIG. 18; 1805 and 1806) (see FIG. 18 for connection details) and configured to cause the apparatus to:
receive, from a first user equipment (UE), a relay report associated with operation of the first UE in a full duplex mode to relay one or more reverse link messages from a second UE to the network entity, the one or more reverse link messages for receipt by the first UE via sidelink signaling from the second UE and transmission by the first UE via uplink signaling to the network entity (para [0119]: "The CLI measurement procedure may include the following operations, with reference to the UE1 and the UE2 of FIGS. 4-6. The UE1 conducts an uplink transmission to its serving base station on a particular resource. The UE2 is configured with a corresponding CLI measurement resource. For example, the base station may send a CLI configuration to the UE2 that specifies a CLI resource that corresponds to the same time and frequency resources that are used by the UE1 for its uplink transmission. Based on the CLI configuration, the UE2 measures CLI on the configured resource. For example, the UE2 may measure RSSI and/or RSRP. The UE2 then reports the results of the measurement to the network (e.g., the base station)." Or FIG. 15 and para [0181]: “… At block 1502, a UE (e.g., the UE1 described above) may receive a cross-link interference (CLI) configuration from a base station.” Furthermore; para [0185]: "In some examples, the method may further include receiving a CLI measurement report from the second UE after transmitting the CLI configuration to the second UE, determining that the CLI measurement report is for the base station, and transmitting the CLI measurement report to the base station after determining that the CLI measurement report is for the base station." Moreover; para [0128]: "The disclosure thus relates in some aspects to using sidelink signals to configure and conduct CLI measurements for UE positioning applications. For example, a UE (e.g., referred to as a positioning UE) may act as a coordinator to schedule CLI measurements on one or more sidelink channels. Here, both the CLI scheduling and the CLI measurements may be conducted on sidelink resources, thereby preserving Uu resources for other uses. In some aspects, this sidelink-based UE positioning technique may enhance the coverage of the CLI measurements (e.g., since UEs that are out of coverage of the network may still conduct CLI measurements) and save the resource costs of the CLI resource configuration (e.g., by avoiding using Uu resources for at least some of the CLI measurements.");
transmit an uplink grant to the first UE based at least in part on receiving the relay report, the uplink grant indicating uplink resources for the uplink signaling, the uplink resources at least partially overlapping in time with one or more sidelink resources for the sidelink signaling (para [0185]: "... receiving a CLI measurement report from the second UE"); and
receive, from the first UE via one or more of the uplink resources associated with the uplink grant, the uplink signaling comprising a reverse link message from the second UE for the network entity (para [0185]: "… the method may further include receiving a CLI measurement report from the second UE after transmitting the CLI configuration to the second UE, determining that the CLI measurement report is for the base station, and transmitting the CLI measurement report to the base station after determining that the CLI measurement report is for the base station. In some examples, the CLI measurement report indicates a signal measurement by the second UE on at least one CLI resource specified by the CLI configuration. In some examples, the at least one CLI resource may include a resource allocated to the first UE for an uplink transmission to the base station. In some examples, the at least one CLI resource may include a resource allocated to a third UE for an uplink transmission to the base station.").
Regarding claim 22, in addition to features recited in base claim 1 (see rationales discussed above), Ren also discloses transmit, to the first UE based at least in part on the relay report, a cross-link interference measurement report corresponding to cross-link interference associated with signaling from the second UE (para [0185]: "… the method may further include receiving a CLI measurement report from the second UE after transmitting the CLI configuration to the second UE, determining that the CLI measurement report is for the base station, and transmitting the CLI measurement report to the base station after determining that the CLI measurement report is for the base station. In some examples, the CLI measurement report indicates a signal measurement by the second UE on at least one CLI resource specified by the CLI configuration. In some examples, the at least one CLI resource may include a resource allocated to the first UE for an uplink transmission to the base station. In some examples, the at least one CLI resource may include a resource allocated to a third UE for an uplink transmission to the base station.").
Regarding claim 25, in addition to features recited in base claim 17 (see rationales discussed above), Ren also discloses transmit, to the first UE, control signaling scheduling periodic or aperiodic reporting indicating whether the first UE is capable of supporting full duplex relaying, wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the apparatus to receive the relay report based at least in part on transmitting the control signaling (para [0118]: "In view of the above, CLI measurements may be used for Uu interference management to address DL/UL symbol pattern differences between UEs ( e.g., as shown in FIG. 6). For example, a base station may configure UEs to monitor for CLI on a periodic or other time and frequency basis, as discussed further herein. Thus, a victim UE may perform CLI measurement on a CLI resource specified in a CLI configuration (e.g., generated by a base station) where the CLI resource corresponds to the resource that the aggressor UE uses for a transmission.").
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 26-30 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: The prior art of record, considered individually or in combination, appears to fairly show or suggest a claimed invention comprising, among other limitations novel and unobvious limitations of “receive, via the transceiver and based at least in part on transmitting the full duplex capability report, control signaling indicating a sidelink resource pool comprising a plurality of sidelink symbols, wherein each sidelink symbol of the plurality of sidelink symbols corresponds to a full duplex format; and transmit, via the transceiver, sidelink signaling via one or more symbols of the plurality of sidelink symbols according to the full duplex format,” as recited in claims 26-29; “transmit, based at least in part on receiving the full duplex capability report, control signaling indicating a sidelink resource pool comprising a plurality of sidelink symbols, wherein each sidelink symbol of the plurality of sidelink symbols corresponds to a full duplex format supporting sidelink transmission via a final symbol of a sidelink allocation,” as recited in claim 30, structurally and functionally interconnected in a manner as claimed.
Claims 2-5, 8-12, 14-16, 18-21, and 23-24 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The applied art of record, considered individually or in combination, appears to fail to fairly show or suggest a claim invention of base claims 1 and 17 and further limits with novel and unobvious limitations as presented of dependent claims 2-5, 8-12, 14-16, 18-21, and 23-24, structurally and functionally interconnected with other limitations in a manner as claimed.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Zhou et al. (US 2024/0333363).
Bai et al. (US 2023/0328564).
Zhang et al. (US 2023/0155711).
Kuo (US 2021/0409936).
Zhang et al. (US 2021/0351838).
Ryu et al. (US 2021/0321250).
Applicant is encouraged to submit a written authorization for Internet communications (PTO/SB/439, http://www.uspto.gov/sites/default/files/documents/sb0439.pdf) in the instant patent application to authorize the examiner to communicate with the applicant via email. The authorization will allow the examiner to better practice compact prosecution. The written authorization can be submitted via one of the following methods only: (1) Central Fax which can be found in the Conclusion section of this Office action; (2) regular postal mail; (3) EFS WEB; or (4) the service window on the Alexandria campus. EFS web is the recommended way to submit the form since this allows the form to be entered into the file wrapper within the same day (system dependent). Written authorization submitted via other methods, such as direct fax to the examiner or email, will not be accepted. See MPEP § 502.03.
/FRANK DUONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2474 January 8, 2026