DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed December 23, 2025 has been entered. Claims 1 and 4-16 remain pending in the application. Applicant’s amendments to the Specification have overcome each and every objection previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed September 24, 2025.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed December 23, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant argues that the cited references do not teach “at least part of the second objects overlaps with each other, and each of the second objects is displayed in a wobbling manner.” The examiner agrees that Schwegler does not directly teach that at least part of the second objects overlaps with each other. However, it still would have been obvious to try overlapping the second objects, as there are a finite number of potential solutions known to persons of ordinary skill in the art for arranging objects in a display. The solutions being: overlapping objects, non-overlapping objects. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Schwegler to have part of the second objects overlap each other, because if there is not a lot of space on the display or if a comparison of the amount of each type of air quality needs to be made, then the objects can be placed on top of one another to save space or to perform easier comparison. Furthermore, when there are objects in a display, there is a finite number of ways to arrange them; either they can be overlapping or not overlapping. One of ordinary skill in the art could have made the objects overlap with a reasonable expectation of success and would have done so for the benefit of saving screen space or comparing the amount of each air quality type. Therefore, it would have been obvious to try the solution of having part of the second objects overlap.
Additionally, regarding the limitation of each of the second objects being displayed in a wobbling manner, the examiner agrees that neither Schwegler nor Chen teaches the limitation. However, it is taught by Du, as explained in the 103 rejection of previous claim 3 in the Non-Final Office Action filed September 24, 2025. Du teaches each of the second objects is displayed in a wobbling manner (Paragraph 0016, 0075 – “the selected entry includes: icons and components…If the current wind force is greater than the predetermined wind force threshold, the selected entry (e.g., icon, component) generates a dynamic display effect of shaking and twisting corresponding to the current wind force and wind direction, wherein the greater the wind force, the greater the degree of shaking and twisting, and the direction of shaking and twisting is consistent with the current wind direction”; Note: the second objects are taught by Schwegler in the rejection of claim 1, and they are the “icons” in this case). See 103 rejection of claim 1 below for more details.
Claim Objections
Claims 4-5 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 4 line 2, “of an outer edges” should read “of outer edges”.
In claim 5 line 3, “of an outer edges” should read “of outer edges”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-5, and 8-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schwegler et al. (US 20190277530 A1), in view of Chen et al. (Indoor Air Quality Monitoring System for Smart Buildings) and Du et al. (CN 104932793 A), hereinafter Schwegler, Chen, and Du respectively.
Regarding claim 1, Schwegler teaches a display method (Paragraph 0308 – “In FIGS. 57-59, interfaces 5700-5900 are shown for displaying air quality information to a user, according to an exemplary embodiment”) comprising:
an evaluation step of evaluating states of air quality for each type of the air quality on a basis of detection values of an air quality sensor that detects the states of the air quality of target space (Paragraph 0303, 0308 – “When the setting 4604 is turned on, the thermostat controller 720 can be configured to record air quality data (e.g., the air quality data of the air quality sensor 736)…The indoor air quality interface 5700 can be generated based on VOC values, CO2 values, an RH values measured by one or more sensors, e.g., the air quality sensor 736”);
and a display step of displaying by a terminal device (Fig. 7, Paragraph 0307 – “The first time the user interacts with the thermostat 400 to view air quality data, the user may be presented with air quality coachmarks shown in FIGS. 55 and 56”; Note: the thermostat is a terminal device, and it has display 402, shown in Fig. 7), a plurality of first objects indicating the states of the air quality on a basis of evaluation results in the evaluation step (Fig. 61 and 64, Paragraph 0308 – “The indoor air quality interface 5700 can be generated based on VOC values, CO2 values, an RH values measured by one or more sensors, e.g., the air quality sensor 736. The bubbles displaying each air quality value may move up and down based on the value of the air quality value which the bubble represents”; Note: in Fig. 61 and 64, the big circle on the left is equivalent to the first object; see modified screenshots of Fig. 61 and 64 below. There are two of them, one for indoor air quality and another for outdoor air quality), wherein each of the plurality of first objects is a combination of a plurality of second objects indicating the states of the air quality for each type of the air quality (Fig. 61 and 64, Paragraph 0308, 0311 – “The indoor air quality interface 5700 can be generated based on VOC values, CO2 values, an RH values measured by one or more sensors, e.g., the air quality sensor 736. The bubbles displaying each air quality value may move up and down based on the value of the air quality value which the bubble represents…The interface 6400 indicates that the pollen, pollution, and UV levels are at a good level, i.e., they are all below a first predefined amount”; Note: in Fig. 61, the bubbles labelled VOC, CO2, and RH are second objects; see modified screenshot of Fig. 61 below. In Fig. 64, the bubbles are also second objects),
Modified screenshot of Fig. 61 (taken from Schwegler)
Modified screenshot of Fig. 64 (taken from Schwegler)
and in the display step, an interface is displayed in colors corresponding to the evaluation results in the evaluation step for each of the second objects (Paragraph 0212, 0310 – “based on the levels of the indoor and/or outdoor air quality values, the display screen can include elements of various colors, e.g., dark green, lighter green, orange, and red… Interface 6100 is an example of an interface that can be displayed by the thermostat 400 when the indoor air quality is good. None of the air quality data, displayed by the bubbles, is above a first predefined amount and therefore the green interface with the “Good” indicator is shown. In FIG. 62, the VOCs levels are above the first predefined amount but below a second predefined amount. In this regard, the VOC bubble is displayed in interface 6200 with an increased size, the yellow/orange interface is shown with the ‘Fair’ indicator. Finally, in the interface 6300, the VOCs value is above the second predefined amount and is illustrated with a large bubble. The indicator ‘Poor’ is shown and the interface is shown in red”).
Schwegler does not directly teach in the display step, the second objects are displayed in colors corresponding to the evaluation results in the evaluation step for each of the second objects. Instead, Schewegler teaches the interface displayed in colors corresponding to the evaluation results in the evaluation step for each of the second objects (Paragraph 0212, 0310 – “based on the levels of the indoor and/or outdoor air quality values, the display screen can include elements of various colors, e.g., dark green, lighter green, orange, and red… Interface 6100 is an example of an interface that can be displayed by the thermostat 400 when the indoor air quality is good. None of the air quality data, displayed by the bubbles, is above a first predefined amount and therefore the green interface with the “Good” indicator is shown. In FIG. 62, the VOCs levels are above the first predefined amount but below a second predefined amount. In this regard, the VOC bubble is displayed in interface 6200 with an increased size, the yellow/orange interface is shown with the ‘Fair’ indicator. Finally, in the interface 6300, the VOCs value is above the second predefined amount and is illustrated with a large bubble. The indicator ‘Poor’ is shown and the interface is shown in red”). Based on how the color of the interface in Schwegler changes depending on the air quality, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Schwegler to color the second objects based on the state of the air quality, because if the different types of air quality have different states, then in order for the states to be distinguished for each type, each type should have its own state indicator, which can be color. For example, if the CO2 values are normal, then the corresponding CO2 object can be colored green, while if the RH values are poor, then the corresponding RH object can be colored red. This is more effective in showing the user the different air quality states than making the entire interface one color. Furthermore, when adding color to a display based on the state of the air quality, there is a finite number of ways to add the color; either they can be added to the interface or the objects on the interface. One of ordinary skill in the art could have made the objects have color corresponding to the air quality state with a reasonable expectation of success and would have done so for the benefit of clarifying the condition of each type of air quality. Therefore, it would have been obvious to try the solution of coloring the second objects based on the state of the air quality.
Additionally, Schwegler does not directly teach that at least part of the second objects overlaps with each other. Instead, Schwegler teaches the second objects not overlapping each other (Fig. 61 – The figure shows the second objects do not overlap each other; see modified screenshot of Fig. 61 above). However, it still would have been obvious to try overlapping the second objects, as there are a finite number of potential solutions known to persons of ordinary skill in the art for arranging objects in a display. The solutions being: overlapping objects, non-overlapping objects. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Schwegler to have part of the second objects overlap each other, because if there is not a lot of space on the display or if a comparison of the amount of each type of air quality needs to be made, then the objects can be placed on top of one another to save space or to perform easier comparison. Furthermore, when there are objects in a display, there is a finite number of ways to arrange them; either they can be overlapping or not overlapping. One of ordinary skill in the art could have made the objects overlap with a reasonable expectation of success and would have done so for the benefit of saving screen space or comparing the amount of each air quality type. Therefore, it would have been obvious to try the solution of having part of the second objects overlap.
Moreover, Schwegler does not teach displaying by a terminal device, a first object indicating the states of the air quality in a spatial image indicating the target space on a basis of evaluation results in the evaluation step. However, Chen teaches displaying the states of the air quality in a spatial image indicating the target space on a basis of evaluation results (Fig. 3, Paragraph 5 in 1st Col. of Page 2, Paragraph 1 in 2nd Col. of Page 2 – “Figure 3 A) visualizes the 2D map of Microsoft campus in Beijing, where 8 sensors have been deployed on different floors of the two towers (four sensors in each tower). The figure on each floor represents the location ID of a deployed sensor, with a color representing its AQI (Air Quality Index) level, e.g. ‘green’ means ‘good’ and ‘yellow’ denotes ‘moderate’ in Chinese AQI standard [14]”; Note: the 2D map is a spatial image indicating the target space; see modified screenshot of Fig. 3 below showing the target space and spatial image).
Modified screenshot of Fig. 3 (taken from Chen)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Schwegler to incorporate the teachings of Chen to have a spatial image indicating the target space for the benefit of knowing the air quality state corresponding to specific areas. If the air quality in one area is bad and the air quality in another area is good, then it is important to distinguish those different areas and know where they are so that the issues can be addressed.
Finally, Schwegler modified by Chen still does not teach each of the second objects is displayed in a wobbling manner. However, Du teaches each of the second objects is displayed in a wobbling manner (Paragraph 0016, 0075 – “the selected entry includes: icons and components…If the current wind force is greater than the predetermined wind force threshold, the selected entry (e.g., icon, component) generates a dynamic display effect of shaking and twisting corresponding to the current wind force and wind direction, wherein the greater the wind force, the greater the degree of shaking and twisting, and the direction of shaking and twisting is consistent with the current wind direction”; Note: the second objects are previously taught by Schwegler in this rejection of claim 1, and they are the “icons” in this case). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Schwegler to incorporate the teachings of Du to the second objects wobble for the benefit of enhancing the user experience by providing a visualization of the wind strength, instead of merely giving them statistics, which may be harder to comprehend for some users. It can also be used to draw attention to the objects for the user’s safety.
Regarding claim 4, Schwegler in view of Chen and Du teaches the display method according to claim 1. Schwegler does not teach wherein a degree of wobbling of the outer edges of the second objects is a degree in accordance with wind speed around a position where the air quality sensor is provided. However, Du teaches wherein a degree of wobbling of outer edges of the second objects is a degree in accordance with wind speed (Paragraph 0075 – “If the current wind force is greater than the predetermined wind force threshold, the selected entry (e.g., icon, component) generates a dynamic display effect of shaking and twisting corresponding to the current wind force and wind direction, wherein the greater the wind force, the greater the degree of shaking and twisting, and the direction of shaking and twisting is consistent with the current wind direction”) around a position where the air quality sensor is provided (Paragraph 0037-0039 – “obtaining current weather information of a designated area; The designated area may be any geographical area designated by the user, for example, the location of the device…The above-mentioned meteorological information may include: weather conditions and degree, temperature, humidity, air quality,…wind and wind speed and direction”; Note: the air quality sensor was previously taught by Schwegler in the rejection of claim 1 and is the “device” in this case). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Schwegler to incorporate the teachings of Du to have second objects wobble based on the wind speed of an area around the sensor for the benefit of providing air flow information for a specific area. This is useful for circumstances where a user may want to decrease the power in the air conditioning in one room because the wind speed feels too high, without interfering with the air conditioning in another room.
Regarding claim 5, Schwegler in view of Chen and Du teaches the display method according to claim 1. Schwegler further teaches wherein the target space is indoor (Paragraph 0308 – “The indoor air quality interface 5700 can be generated based on VOC values, CO2 values, an RH values measured by one or more sensors, e.g., the air quality sensor 736”; Note: the air quality is detected for the indoors). Schwegler does not teach a degree of wobbling of the outer edges of the second objects is a degree in accordance with outdoor wind speed. However, Du teaches a degree of wobbling of outer edges of the second objects is a degree (Paragraph 0075 – “If the current wind force is greater than the predetermined wind force threshold, the selected entry (e.g., icon, component) generates a dynamic display effect of shaking and twisting corresponding to the current wind force and wind direction, wherein the greater the wind force, the greater the degree of shaking and twisting, and the direction of shaking and twisting is consistent with the current wind direction”) in accordance with outdoor wind speed (Paragraph 0037-0039 – “obtaining current weather information of a designated area; The designated area may be any geographical area designated by the user, for example, the location of the device. The weather information of the specified area can be obtained periodically, and the weather information stored in the device can be updated with the latest weather information obtained.…The above-mentioned meteorological information may include: weather conditions and degree, temperature, humidity, air quality,…wind and wind speed and direction”; Note: the weather information, including the wind, pertains to the outdoors). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Schwegler to incorporate the teachings of Du to have second objects wobble based on the wind speed of the outdoors for the benefit of allowing users to better understand the weather conditions outside and determine if it is safe to go outside or not. Additionally, it may be beneficial when determining the safety of a building, because strong wind speeds outside can compromise building integrity.
Regarding claim 8, Schwegler in view of Chen and Du teaches the display method according to claim 1. Schwegler does not teach wherein the air quality sensor is provided in each of a plurality of areas within the target space, and in the display step, the first object is displayed in each of the plurality of areas within the target space indicated by the spatial image. However, Chen teaches wherein the air quality sensor is provided in each of a plurality of areas within the target space (Paragraph 5 in 1st Col. of Page 2, Paragraph 1 in 2nd Col. of Page 2 – “Figure 3 A) visualizes the 2D map of Microsoft campus in Beijing, where 8 sensors have been deployed on different floors of the two towers (four sensors in each tower). The figure on each floor represents the location ID of a deployed sensor, with a color representing its AQI (Air Quality Index) level, e.g. ‘green’ means ‘good’ and ‘yellow’ denotes ‘moderate’ in Chinese AQI standard [14]”), and in the display step, the first object is displayed in each of the plurality of areas within the target space indicated by the spatial image (Paragraph 5 in 1st Col. of Page 2, Paragraph 1 in 2nd Col. of Page 2 – “Figure 3 A) visualizes the 2D map of Microsoft campus in Beijing, where 8 sensors have been deployed on different floors of the two towers (four sensors in each tower). The figure on each floor represents the location ID of a deployed sensor, with a color representing its AQI (Air Quality Index) level, e.g. ‘green’ means ‘good’ and ‘yellow’ denotes ‘moderate’ in Chinese AQI standard [14]”; Note: the first object was previously taught by Schwegler in the rejection of claim 1, and it is the location ID with its corresponding color, in this case. The first object is displayed in the areas in the 2D map). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Schwegler to incorporate the teachings of Chen to provide air quality sensors in multiple areas for the benefit of being able to detect the air quality in all the inhabited areas within a building, which would make the building safer for people since the air quality would be known. It also would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Schwegler to incorporate the teachings of Chen to display air quality indication objects in the areas of the spatial image for the benefit of making it easier for the user to see what the air quality is in each individual area. If the air quality is poor in one area, then the ventilation or purifier can be turned on for that specific area without having to turn it on for the entire building, which helps save energy.
Regarding claim 9, Schwegler in view of Chen and Du teaches the display method according to claim 8. Schwegler does not teach wherein in the display step, an area image indicating the plurality of areas is displayed, and in a case where one of the plurality of areas is selected in the area image, the detection values of the air quality sensor provided in the selected area are displayed for each type of the air quality. However, Chen teaches wherein in the display step, an area image indicating the plurality of areas is displayed (Paragraph 1 in 2nd Col. of Page 2 – “users can add the location they are concerned with into a location list demonstrated in Figure 3 B), by clicking on the floor shown on the 2D map. In Figure 3 B), each banner represents a location, e.g. Engineering Office and Gym”; Note: the location list is equivalent to the area image; see modified screenshot of Fig. 3 above), and in a case where one of the plurality of areas is selected in the area image, the detection values of the air quality sensor provided in the selected area are displayed for each type of the air quality (Fig. 3, Paragraph 1 in 2nd Col. of Page 2 – “users can add the location they are concerned with into a location list demonstrated in Figure 3 B), by clicking on the floor shown on the 2D map. In Figure 3 B), each banner represents a location, e.g. Engineering Office and Gym…After clicking a specific banner, a user can check the trend of indoor and outdoor air quality, as shown in Figure 3 C)”; Note: the air quality values are displayed after area selection; see modified screenshot of Fig. 3 above). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Schwegler to incorporate the teachings of Chen to provide a selectable area image and display air quality data for the selected area for the benefit of a user-friendly interface that provides information based on the user’s choices. This makes it easier for the user to navigate and retrieve the desired information.
Regarding claim 10, Schwegler in view of Chen and Du teaches the display method according to claim 9. Schwegler further teaches wherein in the display step, the second objects corresponding to types of the air quality are displayed in association with the detection values of the air quality sensor for each type of the air quality (Fig. 61, Paragraph 0308 – “The indoor air quality interface 5700 can be generated based on VOC values, CO2 values, an RH values measured by one or more sensors, e.g., the air quality sensor 736. The bubbles displaying each air quality value may move up and down based on the value of the air quality value which the bubble represents”; Note: in Fig. 61, the bubbles labelled VOC, CO2, and RH are second objects; see modified screenshot of Fig. 61 above).
Regarding claim 11, Schwegler in view of Chen and Du teaches the display method according to claim 1. Schwegler does not teach wherein shapes of the second objects are different for each type of the air quality. Instead, Schwegler teaches wherein shapes of the second objects are the same for each type of the air quality (Fig. 61, Paragraph 0308 – “The indoor air quality interface 5700 can be generated based on VOC values, CO2 values, an RH values measured by one or more sensors, e.g., the air quality sensor 736. The bubbles displaying each air quality value may move up and down based on the value of the air quality value which the bubble represents”; Note: in Fig. 61, the bubbles labelled VOC, CO2, and RH are second objects, and they are all circle shapes; see modified screenshot of Fig. 61 above). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Schwegler to have the shapes of the second objects be different for each type of air quality, because if a user is taking a quick glance at the display, further distinguishing the objects by shape, rather than merely labels, makes it easier for the user to gather the desired air quality data. Furthermore, when there are objects in a display, there is a finite number of ways to design their shape; either they can have the same shape or different shapes. One of ordinary skill in the art could have made the objects have different shapes with a reasonable expectation of success and would have done so for the benefit of further distinguishing between the air quality types. Therefore, it would have been obvious to try the solution of having the shapes of the second objects be different for each type of air quality.
Regarding claim 12, Schwegler teaches a terminal device (Fig. 7, Paragraph 0307 – “The first time the user interacts with the thermostat 400 to view air quality data, the user may be presented with air quality coachmarks shown in FIGS. 55 and 56”; Note: the thermostat is a terminal device, and it has display 402, shown in Fig. 7) comprising:
a display control unit (Paragraph 0305 – “the thermostat controller 720 can cause the thermostat 400 to display the interface”; Note: the thermostat controller is equivalent to the display control unit) that displays a plurality of first objects indicating states of air quality using a display unit on a basis of evaluation results (Fig. 61 and 64, Paragraph 0265, 0308 – “the air quality manager 706 can be configured to generate interfaces and display the generated user interfaces on the display 402 for communicating air quality conditions to a user…The indoor air quality interface 5700 can be generated based on VOC values, CO2 values, an RH values measured by one or more sensors, e.g., the air quality sensor 736. The bubbles displaying each air quality value may move up and down based on the value of the air quality value which the bubble represents”; Note: in Fig. 61 and 64, the big circle on the left is equivalent to the first object; see modified screenshots of Fig. 61 and 64 above. There are two of them, one for indoor air quality and another for outdoor air quality) by an evaluation unit that evaluates the states of the air quality for each type of the air quality on a basis of detection values of an air quality sensor that detects the states of the air quality of a target space (Paragraph 0263, 0265, 0303, 0308 – “The air quality manager 706 can be configured to communicate with an air quality sensor 736 of the thermostat 400 to receive indoor air quality data…the air quality manager 706 can be configured to generate interfaces and display the generated user interfaces on the display 402 for communicating air quality conditions to a user…When the setting 4604 is turned on, the thermostat controller 720 can be configured to record air quality data (e.g., the air quality data of the air quality sensor 736)…The indoor air quality interface 5700 can be generated based on VOC values, CO2 values, an RH values measured by one or more sensors, e.g., the air quality sensor 736”; Note: the air quality manager is equivalent to the evaluation unit), wherein each of the plurality of first objects is a combination of a plurality of second objects indicating the states of the air quality for each type of the air quality (Fig. 61 and 64, Paragraph 0308, 0311 – “The indoor air quality interface 5700 can be generated based on VOC values, CO2 values, an RH values measured by one or more sensors, e.g., the air quality sensor 736. The bubbles displaying each air quality value may move up and down based on the value of the air quality value which the bubble represents…The interface 6400 indicates that the pollen, pollution, and UV levels are at a good level, i.e., they are all below a first predefined amount”; Note: in Fig. 61, the bubbles labelled VOC, CO2, and RH are second objects; see modified screenshot of Fig. 61 above. In Fig. 64, the bubbles are also second objects), and the display control unit displays an interface in colors corresponding to the evaluation results by the evaluation unit for each of the second objects (Paragraph 0212, 0265, 0310 – “based on the levels of the indoor and/or outdoor air quality values, the display screen can include elements of various colors, e.g., dark green, lighter green, orange, and red… the air quality manager 706 can be configured to generate interfaces and display the generated user interfaces on the display 402 for communicating air quality conditions to a user…Interface 6100 is an example of an interface that can be displayed by the thermostat 400 when the indoor air quality is good. None of the air quality data, displayed by the bubbles, is above a first predefined amount and therefore the green interface with the “Good” indicator is shown. In FIG. 62, the VOCs levels are above the first predefined amount but below a second predefined amount. In this regard, the VOC bubble is displayed in interface 6200 with an increased size, the yellow/orange interface is shown with the ‘Fair’ indicator. Finally, in the interface 6300, the VOCs value is above the second predefined amount and is illustrated with a large bubble. The indicator ‘Poor’ is shown and the interface is shown in red”).
Schwegler does not directly teach displaying the second objects in colors corresponding to the evaluation results by the evaluation unit for each of the second objects. Instead, Schewegler teaches the interface displayed in colors corresponding to the evaluation results by the evaluation unit for each of the second objects (Paragraph 0212, 0310 – “based on the levels of the indoor and/or outdoor air quality values, the display screen can include elements of various colors, e.g., dark green, lighter green, orange, and red… Interface 6100 is an example of an interface that can be displayed by the thermostat 400 when the indoor air quality is good. None of the air quality data, displayed by the bubbles, is above a first predefined amount and therefore the green interface with the “Good” indicator is shown. In FIG. 62, the VOCs levels are above the first predefined amount but below a second predefined amount. In this regard, the VOC bubble is displayed in interface 6200 with an increased size, the yellow/orange interface is shown with the ‘Fair’ indicator. Finally, in the interface 6300, the VOCs value is above the second predefined amount and is illustrated with a large bubble. The indicator ‘Poor’ is shown and the interface is shown in red”). Based on how the color of the interface in Schwegler changes depending on the air quality, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Schwegler to color the second objects based on the state of the air quality, because if the different types of air quality have different states, then in order for the states to be distinguished for each type, each type should have its own state indicator, which can be color. For example, if the CO2 values are normal, then the corresponding CO2 object can be colored green, while if the RH values are poor, then the corresponding RH object can be colored red. This is more effective in showing the user the different air quality states than making the entire interface one color. Furthermore, when adding color to a display based on the state of the air quality, there is a finite number of ways to add the color; either they can be added to the interface or the objects on the interface. One of ordinary skill in the art could have made the objects have color corresponding to the air quality state with a reasonable expectation of success and would have done so for the benefit of clarifying the condition of each type of air quality. Therefore, it would have been obvious to try the solution of coloring the second objects based on the state of the air quality.
Additionally, Schwegler does not directly teach that at least part of the second objects overlaps with each other. Instead, Schwegler teaches the second objects not overlapping each other (Fig. 61 – The figure shows the second objects do not overlap each other; see modified screenshot of Fig. 61 above). However, it still would have been obvious to try overlapping the second objects, as there are a finite number of potential solutions known to persons of ordinary skill in the art for arranging objects in a display. The solutions being: overlapping objects, non-overlapping objects. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Schwegler to have part of the second objects overlap each other, because if there is not a lot of space on the display or if a comparison of the amount of each type of air quality needs to be made, then the objects can be placed on top of one another to save space or to perform easier comparison. Furthermore, when there are objects in a display, there is a finite number of ways to arrange them; either they can be overlapping or not overlapping. One of ordinary skill in the art could have made the objects overlap with a reasonable expectation of success and would have done so for the benefit of saving screen space or comparing the amount of each air quality type. Therefore, it would have been obvious to try the solution of having part of the second objects overlap.
Moreover, Schwegler does not teach displaying a plurality of first objects indicating the states of the air quality in a spatial image indicating the target space on a basis of evaluation results. However, Chen teaches displaying the states of the air quality in a spatial image indicating the target space on a basis of evaluation results (Fig. 3, Paragraph 5 in 1st Col. of Page 2, Paragraph 1 in 2nd Col. of Page 2 – “Figure 3 A) visualizes the 2D map of Microsoft campus in Beijing, where 8 sensors have been deployed on different floors of the two towers (four sensors in each tower). The figure on each floor represents the location ID of a deployed sensor, with a color representing its AQI (Air Quality Index) level, e.g. ‘green’ means ‘good’ and ‘yellow’ denotes ‘moderate’ in Chinese AQI standard [14]”; Note: the 2D map is a spatial image indicating the target space; see modified screenshot of Fig. 3 above showing the target space and spatial image). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Schwegler to incorporate the teachings of Chen to have a spatial image indicating the target space for the benefit of knowing the air quality state corresponding to specific areas. If the air quality in one area is bad and the air quality in another area is good, then it is important to distinguish those different areas and know where they are so that the issues can be addressed.
Finally, Schwegler modified by Chen still does not teach each of the second objects is displayed in a wobbling manner. However, Du teaches each of the second objects is displayed in a wobbling manner (Paragraph 0016, 0075 – “the selected entry includes: icons and components…If the current wind force is greater than the predetermined wind force threshold, the selected entry (e.g., icon, component) generates a dynamic display effect of shaking and twisting corresponding to the current wind force and wind direction, wherein the greater the wind force, the greater the degree of shaking and twisting, and the direction of shaking and twisting is consistent with the current wind direction”; Note: the second objects are previously taught by Schwegler in this rejection of claim 12, and they are the “icons” in this case). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Schwegler to incorporate the teachings of Du to the second objects wobble for the benefit of enhancing the user experience by providing a visualization of the wind strength, instead of merely giving them statistics, which may be harder to comprehend for some users. It can also be used to draw attention to the objects for the user’s safety.
Regarding claim 13, Schwegler teaches a display system (Fig. 7 – The figure shows a display system, including a thermostat with a display) comprising:
a display unit (Paragraph 0265 – “Based on the indoor air quality data and the outdoor air quality data, the air quality manager 706 can be configured to generate interfaces and display the generated user interfaces on the display 402 for communicating air quality conditions to a user”; Note: the display 402 is equivalent to the display unit);
an evaluation unit that evaluates states of air quality for each type of the air quality on a basis of detection values of an air quality sensor that detects the states of the air quality of target space (Paragraph 0263, 0265, 0303, 0308 – “The air quality manager 706 can be configured to communicate with an air quality sensor 736 of the thermostat 400 to receive indoor air quality data…the air quality manager 706 can be configured to generate interfaces and display the generated user interfaces on the display 402 for communicating air quality conditions to a user…When the setting 4604 is turned on, the thermostat controller 720 can be configured to record air quality data (e.g., the air quality data of the air quality sensor 736)…The indoor air quality interface 5700 can be generated based on VOC values, CO2 values, an RH values measured by one or more sensors, e.g., the air quality sensor 736”; Note: the air quality manager is equivalent to the evaluation unit);
and a display control unit (Paragraph 0305 – “the thermostat controller 720 can cause the thermostat 400 to display the interface”; Note: the thermostat controller is equivalent to the display control unit) that displays a plurality of first objects indicating the states of the air quality using the display unit on a basis of evaluation results by the evaluation unit (Fig. 61 and 64, Paragraph 0265, 0308 – “the air quality manager 706 can be configured to generate interfaces and display the generated user interfaces on the display 402 for communicating air quality conditions to a user…The indoor air quality interface 5700 can be generated based on VOC values, CO2 values, an RH values measured by one or more sensors, e.g., the air quality sensor 736. The bubbles displaying each air quality value may move up and down based on the value of the air quality value which the bubble represents”; Note: in Fig. 61 and 64, the big circle on the left is equivalent to the first object; see modified screenshots of Fig. 61 and 64 above. There are two of them, one for indoor air quality and another for outdoor air quality), wherein each of the plurality of first objects is a combination of a plurality of second objects indicating the states of the air quality for each type of the air quality (Fig. 61 and 64, Paragraph 0308, 0311 – “The indoor air quality interface 5700 can be generated based on VOC values, CO2 values, an RH values measured by one or more sensors, e.g., the air quality sensor 736. The bubbles displaying each air quality value may move up and down based on the value of the air quality value which the bubble represents…The interface 6400 indicates that the pollen, pollution, and UV levels are at a good level, i.e., they are all below a first predefined amount”; Note: in Fig. 61, the bubbles labelled VOC, CO2, and RH are second objects; see modified screenshot of Fig. 61 above. In Fig. 64, the bubbles are also second objects), and the display control unit displays an interface in colors corresponding to the evaluation results by the evaluation unit for each of the second objects (Paragraph 0212, 0265, 0310 – “based on the levels of the indoor and/or outdoor air quality values, the display screen can include elements of various colors, e.g., dark green, lighter green, orange, and red… the air quality manager 706 can be configured to generate interfaces and display the generated user interfaces on the display 402 for communicating air quality conditions to a user…Interface 6100 is an example of an interface that can be displayed by the thermostat 400 when the indoor air quality is good. None of the air quality data, displayed by the bubbles, is above a first predefined amount and therefore the green interface with the “Good” indicator is shown. In FIG. 62, the VOCs levels are above the first predefined amount but below a second predefined amount. In this regard, the VOC bubble is displayed in interface 6200 with an increased size, the yellow/orange interface is shown with the ‘Fair’ indicator. Finally, in the interface 6300, the VOCs value is above the second predefined amount and is illustrated with a large bubble. The indicator ‘Poor’ is shown and the interface is shown in red”).
Schwegler does not directly teach displaying the second objects in colors corresponding to the evaluation results by the evaluation unit for each of the second objects. Instead, Schewegler teaches the interface displayed in colors corresponding to the evaluation results by the evaluation unit for each of the second objects (Paragraph 0212, 0310 – “based on the levels of the indoor and/or outdoor air quality values, the display screen can include elements of various colors, e.g., dark green, lighter green, orange, and red… Interface 6100 is an example of an interface that can be displayed by the thermostat 400 when the indoor air quality is good. None of the air quality data, displayed by the bubbles, is above a first predefined amount and therefore the green interface with the “Good” indicator is shown. In FIG. 62, the VOCs levels are above the first predefined amount but below a second predefined amount. In this regard, the VOC bubble is displayed in interface 6200 with an increased size, the yellow/orange interface is shown with the ‘Fair’ indicator. Finally, in the interface 6300, the VOCs value is above the second predefined amount and is illustrated with a large bubble. The indicator ‘Poor’ is shown and the interface is shown in red”). Based on how the color of the interface in Schwegler changes depending on the air quality, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Schwegler to color the second objects based on the state of the air quality, because if the different types of air quality have different states, then in order for the states to be distinguished for each type, each type should have its own state indicator, which can be color. For example, if the CO2 values are normal, then the corresponding CO2 object can be colored green, while if the RH values are poor, then the corresponding RH object can be colored red. This is more effective in showing the user the different air quality states than making the entire interface one color. Furthermore, when adding color to a display based on the state of the air quality, there is a finite number of ways to add the color; either they can be added to the interface or the objects on the interface. One of ordinary skill in the art could have made the objects have color corresponding to the air quality state with a reasonable expectation of success and would have done so for the benefit of clarifying the condition of each type of air quality. Therefore, it would have been obvious to try the solution of coloring the second objects based on the state of the air quality.
Additionally, Schwegler does not directly teach that at least part of the second objects overlaps with each other. Instead, Schwegler teaches the second objects not overlapping each other (Fig. 61 – The figure shows the second objects do not overlap each other; see modified screenshot of Fig. 61 above). However, it still would have been obvious to try overlapping the second objects, as there are a finite number of potential solutions known to persons of ordinary skill in the art for arranging objects in a display. The solutions being: overlapping objects, non-overlapping objects. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Schwegler to have part of the second objects overlap each other, because if there is not a lot of space on the display or if a comparison of the amount of each type of air quality needs to be made, then the objects can be placed on top of one another to save space or to perform easier comparison. Furthermore, when there are objects in a display, there is a finite number of ways to arrange them; either they can be overlapping or not overlapping. One of ordinary skill in the art could have made the objects overlap with a reasonable expectation of success and would have done so for the benefit of saving screen space or comparing the amount of each air quality type. Therefore, it would have been obvious to try the solution of having part of the second objects overlap.
Moreover, Schwegler does not teach displaying a plurality of first objects indicating the states of the air quality in a spatial image indicating the target space on a basis of evaluation results. However, Chen teaches displaying the states of the air quality in a spatial image indicating the target space on a basis of evaluation results (Fig. 3, Paragraph 5 in 1st Col. of Page 2, Paragraph 1 in 2nd Col. of Page 2 – “Figure 3 A) visualizes the 2D map of Microsoft campus in Beijing, where 8 sensors have been deployed on different floors of the two towers (four sensors in each tower). The figure on each floor represents the location ID of a deployed sensor, with a color representing its AQI (Air Quality Index) level, e.g. ‘green’ means ‘good’ and ‘yellow’ denotes ‘moderate’ in Chinese AQI standard [14]”; Note: the 2D map is a spatial image indicating the target space; see modified screenshot of Fig. 3 above showing the target space and spatial image). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Schwegler to incorporate the teachings of Chen to have a spatial image indicating the target space for the benefit of knowing the air quality state corresponding to specific areas. If the air quality in one area is bad and the air quality in another area is good, then it is important to distinguish those different areas and know where they are so that the issues can be addressed.
Finally, Schwegler modified by Chen still does not teach each of the second objects is displayed in a wobbling manner. However, Du teaches each of the second objects is displayed in a wobbling manner (Paragraph 0016, 0075 – “the selected entry includes: icons and components…If the current wind force is greater than the predetermined wind force threshold, the selected entry (e.g., icon, component) generates a dynamic display effect of shaking and twisting corresponding to the current wind force and wind direction, wherein the greater the wind force, the greater the degree of shaking and twisting, and the direction of shaking and twisting is consistent with the current wind direction”; Note: the second objects are previously taught by Schwegler in this rejection of claim 13, and they are the “icons” in this case). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Schwegler to incorporate the teachings of Du to the second objects wobble for the benefit of enhancing the user experience by providing a visualization of the wind strength, instead of merely giving them statistics, which may be harder to comprehend for some users. It can also be used to draw attention to the objects for the user’s safety.
Regarding claim 14, Schwegler teaches a non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing a program for causing a processor of a terminal device to function as (Paragraph 0338 – “The embodiments of the present disclosure may be implemented using existing computer processors, or by a special purpose computer processor for an appropriate system, incorporated for this or another purpose, or by a hardwired system. Embodiments within the scope of the present disclosure include program products comprising machine-readable media for carrying or having machine-executable instructions or data structures stored thereon. Such machine-readable media can be any available media that can be accessed by a general purpose or special purpose computer or other machine with a processor. By way of example, such machine-readable media can comprise RAM, ROM, EPROM, EEPROM, CD-ROM or other optical disk storage, magnetic disk storage or other magnetic storage devices”; Note: optical and magnetic disks are non-transitory):
a display control unit (Paragraph 0305 – “the thermostat controller 720 can cause the thermostat 400 to display the interface”; Note: the thermostat controller is equivalent to the display control unit) that displays a plurality of first objects indicating states of air quality using a display unit on a basis of evaluation results (Fig. 61 and 64, Paragraph 0265, 0308 – “the air quality manager 706 can be configured to generate interfaces and display the generated user interfaces on the display 402 for communicating air quality conditions to a user…The indoor air quality interface 5700 can be generated based on VOC values, CO2 values, an RH values measured by one or more sensors, e.g., the air quality sensor 736. The bubbles displaying each air quality value may move up and down based on the value of the air quality value which the bubble represents”; Note: in Fig. 61 and 64, the big circle on the left is equivalent to the first object; see modified screenshots of Fig. 61 and 64 above. There are two of them, one for indoor air quality and another for outdoor air quality) by an evaluation unit that evaluates the states of the air quality for each type of the air quality on a basis of detection values of an air quality sensor that detects the states of the air quality of a target space (Paragraph 0263, 0265, 0303, 0308 – “The air quality manager 706 can be configured to communicate with an air quality sensor 736 of the thermostat 400 to receive indoor air quality data…the air quality manager 706 can be configured to generate interfaces and display the generated user interfaces on the display 402 for communicating air quality conditions to a user…When the setting 4604 is turned on, the thermostat controller 720 can be configured to record air quality data (e.g., the air quality data of the air quality sensor 736)…The indoor air quality interface 5700 can be generated based on VOC values, CO2 values, an RH values measured by one or more sensors, e.g., the air quality sensor 736”; Note: the air quality manager is equivalent to the evaluation unit), wherein each of the plurality of first objects is a combination of a plurality of second objects indicating the states of the air quality for each type of the air quality (Fig. 61 and 64, Paragraph 0308, 0311 – “The indoor air quality interface 5700 can be generated based on VOC values, CO2 values, an RH values measured by one or more sensors, e.g., the air quality sensor 736. The bubbles displaying each air quality value may move up and down based on the value of the air quality value which the bubble represents…The interface 6400 indicates that the pollen, pollution, and UV levels are at a good level, i.e., they are all below a first predefined amount”; Note: in Fig. 61, the bubbles labelled VOC, CO2, and RH are second objects; see modified screenshot of Fig. 61 above. In Fig. 64, the bubbles are also second objects), and the display control unit displays an interface in colors corresponding to the evaluation results by the evaluation unit for each of the second objects (Paragraph 0212, 0310 – “based on the levels of the indoor and/or outdoor air quality values, the display screen can include elements of various colors, e.g., dark green, lighter green, orange, and red… Interface 6100 is an example of an interface that can be displayed by the thermostat 400 when the indoor air quality is good. None of the air quality data, displayed by the bubbles, is above a first predefined amount and therefore the green interface with the “Good” indicator is shown. In FIG. 62, the VOCs levels are above the first predefined amount but below a second predefined amount. In this regard, the VOC bubble is displayed in interface 6200 with an increased size, the yellow/orange interface is shown with the ‘Fair’ indicator. Finally, in the interface 6300, the VOCs value is above the second predefined amount and is illustrated with a large bubble. The indicator ‘Poor’ is shown and the interface is shown in red”).
Schwegler does not directly teach displaying the second objects in colors corresponding to the evaluation results by the evaluation unit for each of the second objects. Instead, Schewegler teaches the interface displayed in colors corresponding to the evaluation results by the evaluation unit for each of the second objects (Paragraph 0212, 0310 – “based on the levels of the indoor and/or outdoor air quality values, the display screen can include elements of various colors, e.g., dark green, lighter green, orange, and red… Interface 6100 is an example of an interface that can be displayed by the thermostat 400 when the indoor air quality is good. None of the air quality data, displayed by the bubbles, is above a first predefined amount and therefore the green interface with the “Good” indicator is shown. In FIG. 62, the VOCs levels are above the first predefined amount but below a second predefined amount. In this regard, the VOC bubble is displayed in interface 6200 with an increased size, the yellow/orange interface is shown with the ‘Fair’ indicator. Finally, in the interface 6300, the VOCs value is above the second predefined amount and is illustrated with a large bubble. The indicator ‘Poor’ is shown and the interface is shown in red”). Based on how the color of the interface in Schwegler changes depending on the air quality, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Schwegler to color the second objects based on the state of the air quality, because if the different types of air quality have different states, then in order for the states to be distinguished for each type, each type should have its own state indicator, which can be color. For example, if the CO2 values are normal, then the corresponding CO2 object can be colored green, while if the RH values are poor, then the corresponding RH object can be colored red. This is more effective in showing the user the different air quality states than making the entire interface one color. Furthermore, when adding color to a display based on the state of the air quality, there is a finite number of ways to add the color; either they can be added to the interface or the objects on the interface. One of ordinary skill in the art could have made the objects have color corresponding to the air quality state with a reasonable expectation of success and would have done so for the benefit of clarifying the condition of each type of air quality. Therefore, it would have been obvious to try the solution of coloring the second objects based on the state of the air quality.
Additionally, Schwegler does not directly teach that at least part of the second objects overlaps with each other. Instead, Schwegler teaches the second objects not overlapping each other (Fig. 61 – The figure shows the second objects do not overlap each other; see modified screenshot of Fig. 61 above). However, it still would have been obvious to try overlapping the second objects, as there are a finite number of potential solutions known to persons of ordinary skill in the art for arranging objects in a display. The solutions being: overlapping objects, non-overlapping objects. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Schwegler to have part of the second objects overlap each other, because if there is not a lot of space on the display or if a comparison of the amount of each type of air quality needs to be made, then the objects can be placed on top of one another to save space or to perform easier comparison. Furthermore, when there are objects in a display, there is a finite number of ways to arrange them; either they can be overlapping or not overlapping. One of ordinary skill in the art could have made the objects overlap with a reasonable expectation of success and would have done so for the benefit of saving screen space or comparing the amount of each air quality type. Therefore, it would have been obvious to try the solution of having part of the second objects overlap.
Moreover, Schwegler does not teach displaying a plurality of first objects indicating the states of the air quality in a spatial image indicating the target space on a basis of evaluation results. However, Chen teaches displaying the states of the air quality in a spatial image indicating the target space on a basis of evaluation results (Fig. 3, Paragraph 5 in 1st Col. of Page 2, Paragraph 1 in 2nd Col. of Page 2 – “Figure 3 A) visualizes the 2D map of Microsoft campus in Beijing, where 8 sensors have been deployed on different floors of the two towers (four sensors in each tower). The figure on each floor represents the location ID of a deployed sensor, with a color representing its AQI (Air Quality Index) level, e.g. ‘green’ means ‘good’ and ‘yellow’ denotes ‘moderate’ in Chinese AQI standard [14]”; Note: the 2D map is a spatial image indicating the target space; see modified screenshot of Fig. 3 above showing the target space and spatial image). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Schwegler to incorporate the teachings of Chen to have a spatial image indicating the target space for the benefit of knowing the air quality state corresponding to specific areas. If the air quality in one area is bad and the air quality in another area is good, then it is important to distinguish those different areas and know where they are so that the issues can be addressed.
Finally, Schwegler modified by Chen still does not teach each of the second objects is displayed in a wobbling manner. However, Du teaches each of the second objects is displayed in a wobbling manner (Paragraph 0016, 0075 – “the selected entry includes: icons and components…If the current wind force is greater than the predetermined wind force threshold, the selected entry (e.g., icon, component) generates a dynamic display effect of shaking and twisting corresponding to the current wind force and wind direction, wherein the greater the wind force, the greater the degree of shaking and twisting, and the direction of shaking and twisting is consistent with the current wind direction”; Note: the second objects are previously taught by Schwegler in this rejection of claim 14, and they are the “icons” in this case). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Schwegler to incorporate the teachings of Du to the second objects wobble for the benefit of enhancing the user experience by providing a visualization of the wind strength, instead of merely giving them statistics, which may be harder to comprehend for some users. It can also be used to draw attention to the objects for the user’s safety.
Regarding claim 15, Schwegler in view of Chen and Du teaches the display method according to claim 1. Schwegler further teaches wherein the type of the air quality represented by one of the second objects is humidity, temperature, concentration of C02, concentration of PM2.5, concentration of microorganisms, or odor (Fig. 61, Paragraph 0308 – “The indoor air quality interface 5700 can be generated based on VOC values, CO2 values, an RH values measured by one or more sensors, e.g., the air quality sensor 736. The bubbles displaying each air quality value may move up and down based on the value of the air quality value which the bubble represents”; Note: there is a second object showing CO2; see modified screenshot of Fig. 61 above).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schwegler in view of Chen, Du, and Delaruelle (US 20170274737 A1), hereinafter Delruelle.
Regarding claim 6, Schwegler in view of Chen and Du teaches the display method according to claim 1. Schwegler further teaches wherein in the display step, in a case where the detection values of the air quality sensor include a detection value equal to or greater than a threshold, an indicator is displayed (Paragraph 0310 – “in the interface 6300, the VOCs value is above the second predefined amount and is illustrated with a large bubble. The indicator ‘Poor’ is shown and the interface is shown in red”; Note: the predefined amount is a threshold). Schewgler does not teach in a case where the detection values of the air quality sensor include a detection value equal to or greater than a threshold, an alert is displayed in association with the first object. However, Delaruelle teaches in a case where the detection values of the air quality sensor include a detection value equal to or greater than a threshold, an alert is displayed in association with the first object (Fig. 5E-5F, Paragraph 0074 – “FIG. 5E shows a display 700 that alerts PM.sub.2.5 NOx and ozone concentrations are high. The display 700 may be presented to the driver after the driver starts the vehicle. The vehicle may be connected to the telematics server as described in FIG. 1 which provide information on the air quality or information needed to estimate the air quality. The air pollution reacting system may estimate the air pollution level in the surrounding area of the vehicle based on information stored in the air pollution reacting system and/or information from an air quality service. When PM.sub.2.5, NOx and ozone concentrations reach a certain level, the air pollution reacting system may instruct the driver to drive less or no driving before the driver leaving his or her residence”; Note: Fig. 5E and 5F show alerts associated with air quality indications; see screenshots of Fig. 5E and 5F below. The alerts appear after the air quality reaches a certain level, which is a threshold).
Screenshots of Fig. 5E and 5F (taken from Delaruelle)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Schwegler to incorporate the teachings of Delaruelle to display an alert after the air quality values reach or surpass a threshold because “it may be desirable for the drivers to obtain the accurate information on the air pollution in their immediate surrounding atmosphere during their travel and to be alert of high air pollution level. Further, the inventor has recognized that it may be desirable that a vehicle may be operated to reduce air pollutants from the vehicle emission and to reduce the drivers' exposure to the air pollution in response to the real time air pollution level” (Delaruelle: Paragraph 0004). While Delaruelle’s air quality system is for vehicles, the concept can be applied to all indoor spaces, as it is important for safety purposes to be aware of air quality.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schwegler in view of Chen, Du, and Mathews et al. (AiR: An Augmented Reality Application for Visualizing Air Pollution), hereinafter Mathews.
Regarding claim 7, Schwegler in view of Chen and Du teaches the display method according to claim 1. Schwegler further teaches wherein the air quality sensor detects concentration of an air-polluting substance that pollutes air of the target space (Paragraph 0303, 0308 – “When the setting 4604 is turned on, the thermostat controller 720 can be configured to record air quality data (e.g., the air quality data of the air quality sensor 736)…The indoor air quality interface 5700 can be generated based on VOC values, CO2 values, an RH values measured by one or more sensors, e.g., the air quality sensor 736”; Note: the air quality sensor detects CO2 values, which is a type of air pollution). Schwegler does not teach wherein in the display step, third objects indicating the air-polluting substance are displayed in the second objects, the number of the third objects corresponding to the concentration of the air-polluting substance detected by the air quality sensor. However, Mathews teaches objects indicating the air-polluting substance are displayed, the number of the third objects corresponding to the concentration of the air-polluting substance detected (Paragraph 3 in 2nd Col. of Page 3 – “On each query, an airspace of 10mx10mx5m(500m3) around the user is used to visualize air pollution. Number of particles of each pollutant is determined by checking its deviation from the mean. The application currently caps the maximum count of particles to prevent glitches on older devices. The pollutants are randomly distributed into this airspace based on the air pollution data”; Note: particles are displayed to indicate pollution, and the amount displayed correspond to the actual air pollution amount). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Schwegler to incorporate the teachings of Mathews to display objects representing pollution because it “allows the user to experience this simulation and visualize the perspective through their own device and move around instilling a broader sense of involvement” (Mathews: Paragraph 3 in 2nd Col. of Page 3). In other words, it enhances the user experience by providing a visualization that makes it easy to understand the state of the air quality and its severity level. For example, seeing many pollution objects on the screen may cause a user to become more alarmed about the air quality condition. Furthermore, while Mathews shows the objects being displayed all around the screen, when modifying Schwegler, it would have been obvious to put the pollution objects within the second objects of Schwegler for the benefit of matching the pollution objects with the air quality type, which would make it easier to distinguish the kind of pollution that is in the air.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schwegler in view of Chen, Du, and Gossett et al. (Paint Inspired Color Compositing), hereinafter Gossett.
Regarding claim 16, Schwegler in view of Chen and Du teaches the display method according to claim 1. Schwegler does not teach wherein a color of an overlapping region where the second objects overlap with each other is set to a mixed color of the second objects overlapping with each other. However, Gossett teaches wherein a color of an overlapping region where the second objects overlap with each other is set to a mixed color of the second objects overlapping with each other (Paragraph 2 in 1st Col. of Page 1, Fig. 4 – “In the event that spatially displayed data has overlapping regions of differing attributes, color compositing can be used to communicate multiple channels of information to the viewer”; Note: Fig. 4 shows how an overlapping region of two objects (squares) have a mixed color; see screenshot of Fig. 4 below. The second objects are previously taught by Schwegler in the rejection of claim 1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Schwegler to incorporate the teachings of Gossett to mix the colors in an overlapping region of the objects for the benefit of improving “visualization where color is used to convey multiple data properties” (Gossett: Paragraph 1 in 1st Col. of Page 2). Additionally, “Color compositing is a commonly used operation in computer graphics. In the specific area of visualization, color is often used to convey information” (Gossett: Paragraph 2 in 1st Col. of Page 1). In other words, color compositing helps the user better visualize the data. For instance, if a red CO2 bubble overlaps with a yellow VOC bubble, then having an orange overlap would help indicate to the user that the averaged air pollution of CO2 and VOC is moderately poor.
Screenshot of Fig. 4 (taken from Gossett)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Lu et al. (An Interactive Web Mapping Visualization of Urban Air Quality Monitoring Data of China) teaches a user interface that visualizes air quality using maps and time data. Kim et al. (Designing an Indoor Air Quality Monitoring App for Asthma Management in Children: User-Centered Design Approach) teaches a user interface that tracks the state of the indoor air quality using user-friendly icons.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHELLE HAU MA/Examiner, Art Unit 2617 /KING Y POON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2617