DETAILED ACTION
Allowable Subject Matter
1a. Claims 3-8, 11-16 and 19-20 are objected to as dependent upon rejected claims, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2a. Claims 1-2, 9-10 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsumura (US 20250007679 A1) in view of Bai (US 2023/0032365 A1).
2b. Summary of the Cited Prior Art
Matsumura discloses a method for beam failure detection and recovery.
Bai discloses a method for beam failure detection and new beam selection.
2c. Claim Analysis
Regarding Claim 1, Matsumura discloses:
A user equipment (UE) (Fig 26, User Terminal, 20), comprising:
a transceiver (Fig 26, RF Section, 222) configured to:
transmit a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) (Fig 8, S104; see: [0187] The BFRQ may be transmitted by using at least one of an uplink control channel (Physical Uplink Control Channel (PUCCH)) including a first reference signal (RS) index (Fig 8, S101; see: Information related to the Beam Failure Detection RS BFD-RS (for example, indices, in [0179]) for a first beam failure recovery request (Fig 8, S104; the UE that has identified the new candidate beam transmits a beam recovery request (Beam Failure Recovery reQuest (BFRQ)), in [0186]) associated with a first beam failure detection (BFD) RS set (Fig 8, S102; see: The RS measured at step S101 may be referred to as an RS for beam failure detection (Beam Failure Detection RS (BFD-RS), in [0173]);
receive a response (Fig 8, S105, Response) to the first beam failure recovery request (Fig 8, S105; see: the base station that has detected the BFRQ transmits a response signal, [0193]);
receive (Fig 8, PDCCH S105) first information (RS (reference Signal) functions as first information, see in [0160]) for reception of a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) (Fig 8. S105; see: [0160] If an active TCI state for PDCCH reception includes only one RS, the UE uses the RS provided for the active TCI state for PDCCH reception, for RLM) and;
receive (Fig 8, PDCCH S105) second information (DCI functions as second information, see in [0129]) for reception of a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) (Fig 8. S105; see: A plurality of PDSCHs from the multi-TRP may be scheduled by using one piece of DCI, in [0129]); and
a processor (Fig 26, Baseband Section 221) operably coupled to the transceiver (Fig 26, RF Section, 222), the processor configured to:
determine, based on the response (Fig 8, S105, Response) and the first information (RS (reference Signal) functions as first information, see in [0160]), whether to apply a first spatial domain filter (see: update and activation of a common TCI state ID for providing at least one of common QCL information for UE-dedicated PDCCH/PDSCH and a common UL TX spatial filter, in [0104]) according to the first RS index (see: the RS indices in the RS set indicated by a TCI state (TCI-State) for the corresponding CORESET, in [0212]; Examiner’s Note: each TCI state is associated with RS, as known in the art) for reception of the PDCCH (Fig 8. S105; see: [0160] If an active TCI state for PDCCH reception includes only one RS, the UE uses the RS provided for the active TCI state for PDCCH reception, for RLM); and
determine, based on the response (Fig 8, S105, Response) and the second information (DCI functions as second information, see in [0129]), whether to apply a second spatial domain filter (see: update and activation of a common TCI state ID for providing at least one of common QCL information for UE-dedicated PDCCH/PDSCH and a common UL TX spatial filter, in [0104]) according to the first RS index (see: the RS indices in the RS set indicated by a TCI state (TCI-State) for the corresponding CORESET, in [0212]; Examiner’s Note: each TCI state is associated with RS, as known in the art) for reception of the PDSCH (Fig 8. S105; see: A plurality of PDSCHs from the multi-TRP may be scheduled by using one piece of DCI, in [0129]).
Matsumura does not elaborate about PDSCH scheduling.
However, Bai discloses:
receive second information for reception of a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) (Fig 7, PDSCH; see: [0094] …. a single PDCCH may be used to schedule downlink data communications for a single PDSCH. Examiner’s Note: PDCCH includes DCI that provide information about PDSCH scheduling).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to integrate Matsumura’s method for beam failure detection and recovery with Bai’s method for beam failure detection and new beam selection with the motivation being to improve spectral efficiency and lowering costs (Bai, [0004]).
Regarding Claim 2, Matsumura discloses:
wherein the response (Fig 8, S105) corresponds to a PDCCH reception with a downlink control information (DCI) format that (see: [0194] … The response signal may be notified by using a PDCCH (DCI))
(i) schedules a PUSCH transmission with a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) process number used for transmitting the PUSCH and (ii) includes a toggled new data indicator (NDI) field value. (see: [0412] … the last symbol in a DCI format scheduling a PUSCH with the same HARQ process number as the HARQ process number of a first PUSCH and including a toggled new data indicator (NDI) field in BFR MAC CE based BFR (Rel. 16) in an SCell).
Regarding Claims 9-10, the base station claims disclose similar features of Claims 1-2, and are rejected accordingly. Further, Claims 9-10 disclose the same operations of Claims 1-2, but are performed by a base station.
Regarding Claims 17-18, the user equipment claims disclose similar features of Claims 1-2, and are rejected accordingly.
Conclusion
/JUNG LIU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2473