DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
This office action is in response to the amendment filed 02/02/26. Claims 1, 6, 15, and 24 have been amended, no new claims have been added, and no claims have been cancelled. Thus, claims 1-28 are presently pending in this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 15, and 24 recites the limitation "the lower body" in lines 10, 12, and 10, respectively. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
All remaining claims are rejected based on their dependency of a rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-6, 14-16, and 24-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sankai (2014/0058299).
Annotated fig 8 of Sankai.
With respect to claim 1, Sankai discloses a walk-about platform (214/215/242, fig 8) in support of an exoskeleton (wearable motion assist device; 100, fig 8), the walk-about platform comprising a conveyance system (200, fig 8) operable to facilitate movement of the walk-about platform about a ground surface (see [0111-113]), the conveyance system comprising a plurality of rollers (240,241, fig 8), and at least one actuator (motor, 218, fig 2) operable to actuate one or more of the plurality of rollers to facilitate the movement of the walk-about platform about the ground surface (see [0112]); a user input interface (structures and sensors 10,60,31-32, 21-22, 41-44 in fig 5 and harness of body weight support 220, fig 8) operable to control the conveyance system (see 100 with control unit 110 for control the drive unit, fig 2), wherein the user input interface is operable to interface with an upper body of an operator (see harness of 220 attached to the upper body of the interface in fig 8), such that the lower body of the operator is decoupled from the user input interface (see the user input interface as defined above is not attached to the lower leg (below the knee)) during use; and a bi-pedal locomotion zone (see annotated fig 8 of Sankai) defined, at least in part, by the plurality of rollers (see the annotated zone in between the rollers in fig 8), the bi-pedal locomotion zone providing clearance for bi-pedal locomotion of an operator donning the exoskeleton (see user P in fig 8 in the zone between the rollers), wherein the at least one actuator actuates the one or more of the plurality of rollers based on the bi-pedal locomotion of the operator donning the exoskeleton (see [0112]).
With respect to claim 2, Sankai discloses the plurality of rollers comprises front rollers (240, fig 8) and rear rollers (241, fig 8).
With respect to claim 5, Sankai discloses a user input interface (input unit; 230, fig 2) communicatively coupled to the conveyance system (see connection to motor 218 in fig 2), the user input interface being operable to provide one or more inputs to the conveyance system to facilitate the movement of the walk-about platform about the ground surface (see [0035]).
With respect to claim 6, Sankai discloses the user input interface comprises a harness (support device; 220, fig 8) that is coupled to the exoskeleton (see coupling as part of exoskeleton 100 in fig 8), the harness being configured to interface with the operator (harness is attached to operator P in fig 8).
With respect to claim 14, Sankai discloses the user input interface comprises a manual user input device (230, fig 2 allows the user to manually input information) operable to receive manual user input to facilitate operation of the conveyance system (see [0035]).
With respect to claim 15, Sankai discloses a walk-about exoskeleton system (1, fig 2) comprising an exoskeleton (motion assist device; 100, fig 8), a walk-about platform (214/215/242, fig 8) in support of the exoskeleton (see 214 supporting 100 in fig 8); a conveyance system (218, 240, 241, fig 8) operable to facilitate movement of the walk-about platform about a ground surface (see [0111-113]), the conveyance system comprising a plurality of rollers (240,241, fig 8), and at least one actuator (motor, 218, fig 2) operable to actuate one or more of the plurality of rollers to facilitate the movement of the walk-about platform about the ground surface (see [0112]); a user input interface (structures and sensors 10,60,31-32, 21-22, 41-44 in fig 5 and harness of body weight support 220, fig 8) operable to control the conveyance system (see 100 with control unit 110 for control the drive unit, fig 2), wherein the user input interface is operable to interface with an upper body of an operator (see harness of 220 attached to the upper body of the interface in fig 8), such that the lower body of the operator is decoupled from the user input interface (see the user input interface as defined above is not attached to the lower leg (below the knee)) during use; and a bi-pedal locomotion zone (see annotated fig 8 of Sankai) defined, at least in part, by the plurality of rollers (see the annotated zone in between the rollers in fig 8), the bi-pedal locomotion zone providing clearance for bi-pedal locomotion of an operator donning the exoskeleton (see user P in fig 8 in the zone between the rollers), wherein the at least one actuator actuates the one or more of the plurality of rollers based on the bi-pedal locomotion of the operator donning the exoskeleton (see [0112]).
With respect to claim 16, Sankai discloses the plurality of rollers comprises front rollers (240, fig 8) and rear rollers (241, fig 8).
With respect to claim 24, Sankai discloses a method of maneuvering (see fig 7 and [0090-0105]) a walk-about exoskeleton system (1, fig 2) about a ground surface (see [0111-113]), the method comprising moving into a bi-pedal locomotion zone (see annotated fig 8 of Sankai) of the walk-about wearable exoskeleton system, the bi-pedal locomotion zone defined, at least in part, by a walk-about platform that provides clearance for bi-pedal locomotion (see the annotated zone in between the rollers in fig 8); interfacing with an exoskeleton (100, fig 8) of the walk-about exoskeleton system; providing a motion input (speed or weight) to the walk-about platform via a user input interface (structures and sensors 10,60,31-32, 21-22, 41-44 in fig 5 and harness of body weight support 220, fig 8) that facilitates actuation of a conveyance system of the walk-about platform (see [0035-36] and 220 related to control unit 110 for control the drive unit, fig 2]); wherein the user input interface is operable to interface with an upper body of an operator (see harness of 220 attached to the upper body of the interface in fig 8), such that the lower body of the operator is decoupled from the user input interface (see the user input interface as defined above is not attached to the lower leg (below the knee)) during use; and moving the walk-about wearable exoskeleton system about the ground surface based on the motion input (see [0112]).
With respect to claim 25, Sankai discloses providing the motion input comprises applying a force (weight applied, see [0035]) to a harness (220, fig 8) via bi-pedal locomotion about the ground surface within the bi-pedal locomotion zone (see [0035]).
With respect to claim 26, Sankai discloses providing the motion input comprises initiating a manual user input (see [0035]) via a manual user input device (230, fig 2).
Claim(s) 27-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee (9,789,023).
With respect to claim 27, Lee discloses a device (1, fig 1) capable of performing the method of maneuvering a walk-about exoskeleton system (1, fig 1) about a ground surface (see device 1 on the ground via wheels 33), the method comprising facilitating a connection (wireless) between the walk-about exoskeleton system and a remote navigation system (5, fig 1 and 4) comprising and in control of one existing robotic asset of a different type (moving unit; 56/561, fig 4; note the robotic asset of a different type is a drive motor which is different from all other structure), the connection enabling the walk-about exoskeleton to be in operable communication with the remote navigation system (see col. 7, lines 23-59) and to be controlled in conjunction with the existing robotic assets (see col. 7, lines 23-59); receiving at the walk-about exoskeleton, from the remote navigation system, at least one motion input (position) that facilitates actuation of a conveyance system ( of the walk-about exoskeleton (see col. 7, lines 28-34); and moving the walk-about exoskeleton system about the ground surface based on the one or more motion inputs (see fig 4 and col. 7, lines 28-59).
With respect to claim 28, Lee discloses the at least one motion input comprises one or more commands to control the walk-about exoskeleton system (see fig 4 and col. 7, lines 28-59); and the connection between the walk-about exoskeleton system and the remote navigation system is facilitated via an interface (display 7 and processing unit 141, fig 1 and 4) associated with the walk-about exoskeleton system.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-4, 13, and 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sankai as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Rodetsky (2009/0298653).
With respect to claims 3 and 17, the modified Sankai shows front and rear rollers (see claims 2 and 16 above) but lacks the front rollers and the rear rollers comprise omnidirectional wheels.
However, Rodetsky teaches a mobile gait device (elements of fig 1 not including the person (1)) with front rollers (only one side of the device is shown in fig 10 but would have two front wheels 23-1, fig 10) and rear rollers (only one side of the device is shown in fig 10 but would have two rear wheels 24-1, fig 10) comprising omnidirectional wheels (see [0065]) wherein at least one actuator actuates the omnidirectional wheels to facilitate the movement about the ground surface (see [0074]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the front and rear rollers of Sankai to include omnidirectional wheels as taught by Rodetsky so as to simulate normal walking patterns as the user walks forward, backward or makes turns (see [0011] of Rodetsky).
Annotated fig 10 of Rodetsky.
With respect to claims 4 and 18, the modified Sankai shows the plurality of rollers comprises omnidirectional tracks (see fig 10 of Rodetsky where the omnidirectional wheels comprise multiple rollers per wheel 23-1 on a track (see annotated fig 10 of Rodetsky where the multiple wheels as labeled form a track).
With respect to claim 13, Sankai shows all the elements as claimed above but lacks the user input interface comprises a transceiver operable to communicate with a mobile device.
However, Rodetsky teaches a mobile gait device (elements of fig 1 not including the person (1)) with an input interface (motion control and monitoring block; 13, fig 15) comprising a transceiver (not explicitly stated but the wireless signals from the remote device are received by 13, see [0074]) operable to communicate with a mobile device (remote control; 27, fig 15 and [0074]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the user input interface of Sankai to include a transceiver as taught by Rodetsky so as to enable the user to bring the apparatus from a remote location out of user's sight and serves as a communication device for a remote assistance, if necessary, the assistant can remotely take control over the apparatus (see [0014] of Rodetsky).
With respect to claim 19, the modified Sankai shows the user input interface (input unit; 230, fig 2 of Sankai) is communicatively coupled to the conveyance system (see connection to motor 218 in fig 2 of Sankai), the user input interface being operable to provide one or more inputs to the conveyance system to facilitate the movement of the walk-about platform about the ground surface (see [0035] of Sankai).
Claim(s) 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sankai as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Takenaka (2022/0314428).
With respect to claim 7, the modified Sankai shows all the elements as claimed above but lacks the user input interface further comprises a force sensor.
However, Takenaka teaches a mobile device (51, fig 3) with a user input interface (90, fig 5) comprising a force sensor (81R, 81L, fig 3) to detect a force exerted by the operator (see [0133]) via a harness (70, fig 3), and wherein the conveyance system facilitates the movement of the device about the ground surface based on the detected force (see [0133]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the user input interface of Sankai to include a force sensor as taught by Takenaka so as to control movement of the device based on detected data in addition to manual inputs.
With respect to claim 8, the modified Sankai shows the force sensor comprises a six degree of freedom force moment sensor (see [0133] of Takenaka).
Claim(s) 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sankai as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Ang (12,036,158).
With respect to claim 9, the modified Sankai shows all the elements as claimed above but lacks the user input interface comprises a position sensor.
However, Ang teaches a mobility aid (200, fig 2C) with a user input interface (230, fig 2C) comprises a position sensor (col. 19, lines 49-55) operable with a harness (232, fig 2C) to detect a position of the operator (col. 19, lines 55-63), and wherein a conveyance system facilitates the movement of the mobility aid about the ground surface based on the detected position (col. 20, lines 2-10).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the user input interface of Sankai to include a position sensor as taught by Ang so as to an ease of movement of the device based on the user rather than only manual inputs.
With respect to claim 10, the modified Sankai shows the position sensor comprises a displacement sensor (see col. 19, lines 56-58 of Ang).
Claim(s) 11-12 and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sankai as applied to claims 5 and 15 above, and further in view of Lee (9,789,023).
With respect to claim 11, the modified Sankai shows all the elements as claimed above but lacks the user input interface comprises an ultrasonic sensor.
However, Lee teaches a walking assist device (1, fig 1) with a user interface (5, fig 1) comprises an ultrasonic sensor (54, fig 1) operable to sense a position of the operator (col. 7, lines 41-53), and wherein a conveyance system facilitates the movement (for controlling speed of movement) of the device about the ground surface based on the detected position (col. 7, lines 41-53, where the sensor detects the distance i.e., a position of the user from the main navigation device).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the user input interface of Sankai to include an ultrasonic sensor on a base (216, fig 8 of Sankai) as taught by Lee so as to allow for automatic navigation of the device and to avoid objects in the path of movement.
With respect to claim 12, the modified Sankai shows the ultrasonic sensor is disposed on a walk-about base of the walk-about platform (see modification by Lee in claim 11 above), and wherein the optical or ultrasonic sensor detects a leg position of the operator (the modification by Lee would provide the leg position since the sensor determines the distance which would provide the location of the leg).
With respect to claim 23, the modified Sankai shows an interface (input unit; 230, fig 2 of Sankai) but lacks the interface that connects the walk-about exoskeleton to a remote navigation system.
However, Lee teaches a walking assist device (1, fig 1) with a user interface (5, fig 1) connecting an exoskeleton (3, fig 1) to a remote navigation system (5, fig 1) wherein a conveyance system is operably integrated with the remote navigation system via the interface (col. 7, lines 23-28), and the remote navigation system is configured to facilitate movement of the walk-about platform about the ground surface in an autonomous mode (col. 7, lines 23-39).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the user input interface of Sankai to include a navigation system as taught by Lee so as to allow the user to move about to a desired location on their own.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sankai and Rodetsky as applied to claim 19 above, and further in view of Takenaka (2022/0314428).
With respect to claim 20, the modified Sankai shows all the elements as claimed above but lacks the user input interface further comprises a force sensor.
However, Takenaka teaches a mobile device (51, fig 3) with a user input interface (90, fig 5 comprising a force sensor (81R, 81L, fig 3) to detect a force exerted by the operator (see [0133]) via a harness (70, fig 3), and wherein the conveyance system facilitates the movement of the device about the ground surface based on the detected force (see [0133]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the platform of Sankai to include a force sensor as taught by Takenaka so as to control movement of the device based on detected data in addition to manual inputs.
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sankai and Rodetsky as applied to claim 19 above, and further in view of Ang (12,036,158).
With respect to claim 21, the modified Sankai shows all the elements as claimed above but lacks the user input interface comprises a position sensor.
However, Ang teaches a mobility aid (200, fig 2C) with a user input interface (230, fig 2C) comprises a position sensor (col. 19, lines 49-55) operable with a harness (232, fig 2C) to detect a position of the operator (col. 19, lines 55-63), and wherein a conveyance system facilitates the movement of the mobility aid about the ground surface based on the detected position (col. 20, lines 2-10).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the user input of Sankai to include a position sensor as taught by Ang so as to an ease of movement of the device based on the user rather than only manual inputs.
Claim(s) 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sankai and Rodetsky as applied to claim 19 above, and further in view of Lee (9789023).
With respect to claim 22, the modified Sankai shows all the elements as claimed above but lacks the user input interface comprises an ultrasonic sensor.
However, Lee teaches a walking assist device (1, fig 1) with a user interface (5, fig 1) comprises an ultrasonic sensor (54, fig 1) operable to sense a position of the operator (col. 7, lines 41-53), and wherein a conveyance system facilitates the movement (for controlling speed of movement) of the device about the ground surface based on the detected position (col. 7, lines 41-53, where the sensor detects the distance i.e., a position of the user from the main navigation device).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the user input interface of Sankai to include an ultrasonic sensor on a base (216, fig 8 of Sankai) as taught by Lee so as to allow for automatic navigation of the device and to avoid objects in the path of movement.
Response to Arguments
The arguments to the newly added claim limitations in claims 1-28 have been addressed in the above rejections.
Applicant's arguments filed 02/02/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. On pg. 10 of the remarks Applicant argues "the walk-about exoskeleton system 100 of the present application is not a typical robotic asset of the preexisting remote navigation system 195, but rather a completely separate and independent system comprising components that enable it to be integrated into the preexisting remote navigation system having robotic assets of a different type.” This is not persuasive since the claim language does not require completely separate components but rather different types, which is read on by the prior art since the assets are different as seen in the rejection above. Therefore, the rejection stands.
Conclusion
/KELSEY E BALLER/Examiner, Art Unit 3785
/TU A VO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3785