DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to set forth the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites that the sensing part of the induction piece includes a “magnetic control induction switch” that cooperates with metal sheets provided on the first and second hinged pieces. The claim does not specify the structure or type of the “magnetic control induction switch,” and whether it refers to a reed switch, a Hall-effect sensor, an inductive proximity sensor, or another form of magnetic or inductive sensing device, each of which operates according to different physical principles and structural implementations. Claim 5 does not specify whether the metal sheets are required to be magnetized nor does it clarify how the metal sheets interact with the magnetic control induction switch to effect sensing and or control. As a result, claim 5 is unclear with respect to the nature of the magnetic interaction and the manner in which the sensing function is performed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 6-8, and 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chiu et al. U.S. Pub. No. 6013121, January 11, 2000 (hereinafter “Chiu”) in view of Dermody U.S. Pub. No. 20040201485 A1, October 14, 2004 (hereinafter “Dermody”).
Regarding claim 1, Chiu discloses an air filter with a life-indicating mechanism. Chiu teaches an air cleaning device including a housing that retains a removable filter cartridge 36 (fig. 3). A grille work defining an air inlet 14 positioned at one end of the housing 12 adjacent to the filter cartridge 36, the grille work being removable to permit access to the filter cartridge (fig. 3, col. 3, line 47-60). Chiu further discloses a filter change indicator 26 mounted within the housing 12 for indicating when the filter cartridge requires replacement, the indicator being responsive to operating conditions of the filter and thereby providing a life timing device for the filter (col. 1, lines 38-49). The indicator by Chiu includes a tubulation 78 and an indicator 26 member retained within the housing 12 by internal support structures fixed to an inner wall of the housing 12 (col. 4, lines 8-15; col. 4, lines 35-39), A first component defining a pressure sensing path through the tubulation and a second component comprising a movable indicator member disposed within the tubulation, the first and second components operating together to provide the filter change indicator 26 (col. 4, lines 18-43).
Additionally, Chiu discloses that the indicator system is electrically coupled to the air cleaning device through control circuitry and powered operation, thereby disclosing electrical coupling between the sensing component and the device electronics (col. 5, lines 1-14). The movable indicator member of Chiu is supported and guided by the tubulation and internal brackets 94 such that it moves relative to the housing-mounted sensing structure (col. 4, lines 33-49), and the indicator member is disposed adjacent a viewing window 24 located on an exterior-facing control panel of the housing 12 (fig. 8, col. 4, lines 7-18). The airflow through the air inlet 14 grille and filter produces a pressure condition that causes the indicator member to move into an indicating position visible though the viewing window, thereby activating the filter change indication corresponding to the operational life of the filter (col. 6, lines 15-37).
Chiu does not expressly disclose a timer for initiating life timing of the filter. However, Dermody discloses an air filter timer that is affixed to an air filter body, includes a timing circuit, and is activated to initiate life timing corresponding to a preselected service interval (fig. 2, paragraph 0021). Dermody also discloses activation of the timing circuit, e.g., via a start control, and optional display of elapsed or remaining time (paragraph 0024). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chiu’s electrically integrated filter change indicator to include the express timer and timing circuit taught by Dermody, so as to initiate and track life timing of the filter/grille upon engagement or activation of the indicator system.
Regarding claim 2, Chiu discloses an air filter device including a housing retaining a removable filter cartridge and an internal filter change indicator comprising cooperating components mounted within the housing, including a sensing structure and a movable indicator member that changes position relative to the sensing structure in response to filter operating conditions (figs. 6-8, col. 4, lines 12-38). Chiu discloses that the indicator system is electrically integrated with the device via control circuitry and switches (col. 5, lines 45-54). Dermody discloses an electrical timing circuit for an air filter that is activated to initiate life timing of the filter upon user actuation or engagement of a control element, such as a start button or equivalent activation structure (paragraph 0007 and 0021). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the movement-responsive interaction taught by Chiu using a contact plate on the movable induction piece arranged to physically engage a sensing part on the first induction piece so as to initiate the timer taught by Dermody.
Regarding claim 6, Chiu discloses housing-integrated mechanical retaining and stopping structures that limit movement of the removable grille or door relative to the filter body to prevent over-travel and to maintain proper positioning of the filter during operation (col. 4, lines 1-7, figs. 1-3). Providing a discrete limit buckle or stop member at the rear end of the filter body to perform the same movement-limiting function would have been an obvious design choice to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 7, Chiu discloses that the indicator provides a user-perceivable output through a viewing window disposed on an exterior-facing portion of the housing to inform the user when the filter requires replacement (fig. 8, col.4, lines 16-23). Chiu fails to disclose the filter body couples to a display screen to display a life time of the timer, and an adjustment button couples to the display screen to enable manual adjustment of the life time of the timer. However, Dermody discloses an air filter timer that includes a display for showing elapsed time or remaining service life of the filter, the display being driven by a timing circuit associated with the filter (paragraph 0024, fig. 2). Dermody teaches that the display may present remaining days until service is required, thereby providing a clear visual indication of filter life to the user.
Dermody further discloses one or more adjustment buttons 254 configured to allow user to change or set the service life period of the timing circuit, the adjustments buttons operating in cooperation with the display to modify the life timing of the filter (paragraph 0026). It would have been to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electrically integrated filter change indicator of Chiu to include the displayed life-timing information taught by Dermody, in order to provide a clearer and more informative indication of filter replacement timing to the user.
Regarding claim 8, Chiu discloses an air filter in which the filter body comprises a filter box (housing) and a fan (blower) installed in the housing. The housing defining an air inlet and an air outlet with an air flow path there between, and a blower disposed within the housing for drawing air through the filter (fig. 4, col. 4 lines 1-55). Chiu discloses that a front end of the housing includes an air inlet defined by grille work (fig. 1-2, col. 3, lines 44-55). A filter cartridge (first filter screen) is installed in the air inlet/air flow path such that air is drawn through the filter cartridge and into the housing by operation of the blower (fig. 3-4, col. 4 lines 1-7, col. 6, lines 7-15).
Regarding claim 11, Chiu discloses a method of operating an air filter device that includes a housing that retains a removable filter cartridge 36 (fig. 3). A grille work defining and air inlet 14 positioned at one end of the housing 12 adjacent to the filter cartridge 36, the grille work being removable to permit access to the filter cartridge (fig. 3, col. 3, line 47-60). Chiu further discloses a filter change indicator 26 mounted within the housing 12 for indicating when the filter cartridge requires replacement, the indicator being responsive to operating conditions of the filter and thereby providing a life timing device for the filter (col. 1, lines 38-49). A first component defining a pressure sensing path through the tubulation and a second component comprising a movable indicator member disposed within the tubulation, the first and second components operating together to provide the filter change indicator 26 (col. 4, lines 18-43).
Additionally, Chiu discloses that the indicator system is electrically coupled to the air cleaning device through control circuitry and powered operation, thereby disclosing electrical coupling between the sensing component and the device electronics (col. 5, lines 1-14). The airflow through the air inlet 14 grille and filter produces a pressure condition that causes the indicator member to move into an indicating position visible though the viewing window, thereby activating the filter change indication corresponding to the operational life of the filter (col. 6, lines 15-37).
Chiu does not expressly disclose a timer for initiating life timing of the filter. However, Dermody discloses an air filter timer that is affixed to an air filter body, includes a timing circuit, and is activated to initiate life timing corresponding to a preselected service interval (fig. 2, paragraph 0021). Dermody also discloses activation of the timing circuit, e.g., via a start control, and optional display of elapsed or remaining time (paragraph 0024). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chiu’s electrically integrated filter change indicator to include the express timer and timing circuit taught by Dermody, so as to initiate and track life timing of the filter/grille upon engagement or activation of the indicator system.
Regarding claim 12, Chiu fails to disclose the method of mounting a display on the filter body; coupling the timer to the display; and providing an indication of the life timing on the display. However, Dermody discloses a method of coupling the air filter timer that includes a display for showing elapsed time or remaining service life of the filter, the display being driven by a timing circuit associated with the filter (paragraph 0024, fig. 2). Dermody teaches that the display may present remaining days until service is required, thereby providing a clear visual indication of filter life to the user. It would have been to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electrically integrated filter change indicator of Chiu to include the displayed life-timing information taught by Dermody, in order to provide a clearer and more informative indication of filter replacement timing to the user.
Regarding claim 13, Chiu discloses a method where the grill work defining an air inlet 14 positioned at one end of the housing 12 adjacent to the filter cartridge 36, the grill work being removable to permit access to the filter cartridge (fig. 3, col. 3, line 47-60). Chiu fails to disclose a signal to the timer to reset life timing of the filter grille in response to disengaging the contact plate of the second induction piece from the sensing part. However, Dermody discloses an air filter timer with an alarm for signaling the need to service or change the air filter (paragraph 0008 and 0022). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the air filter of Chiu to include a signal for changing the filter and resting the life timing, in order to alert users to know the filter is due for change.
Regarding claim 14 and 15, Chiu discloses an air filter device that includes a housing that retains a removable filter cartridge 36 (fig. 3). A grille work defining and air inlet 14 positioned at one end of the housing 12 adjacent to the filter cartridge 36, the grille work being removable to permit access to the filter cartridge (fig. 3, col. 3, line 47-60). Chiu further discloses a filter change indicator 26 mounted within the housing 12 for indicating when the filter cartridge requires replacement, the indicator being responsive to operating conditions of the filter and thereby providing a life timing device for the filter (col. 1, lines 38-49). A first component defining a pressure sensing path through the tubulation and a second component comprising a movable indicator member disposed within the tubulation, the first and second components operating together to provide the filter change indicator 26 (col. 4, lines 18-43).
Additionally, Chiu discloses that the indicator system is electrically coupled to the air cleaning device through control circuitry and powered operation, thereby disclosing electrical coupling between the sensing component and the device electronics (col. 5, lines 1-14). The airflow through the air inlet 14 grille and filter produces a pressure condition that causes the indicator member to move into an indicating position visible though the viewing window, thereby activating the filter change indication corresponding to the operational life of the filter (col. 6, lines 15-37).
Chiu does not expressly disclose a timer for initiating life timing of the filter. However, Dermody discloses an air filter timer that is affixed to an air filter body, includes a timing circuit, and is activated to initiate life timing corresponding to a preselected service interval (fig. 2, paragraph 0021). Dermody also discloses activation of the timing circuit, e.g., via a start control, and optional display of elapsed or remaining time (paragraph 0024). Dermody discloses a method of coupling the air filter timer that includes a display for showing elapsed time or remaining service life of the filter, the display being driven by a timing circuit associated with the filter (paragraph 0024, fig. 2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chiu’s electrically integrated filter change indicator to include the express timer and timing circuit taught by Dermody, so as to initiate and track life timing of the filter/grille upon engagement or activation of the indicator system.
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chiu et al. and Dermody, as applied to claim 2 above, in further view of Zhang CN 205425382 U, August 03, 2016 (hereinafter “Zhang”).
Chiu and Dermody are relied upon as above.
Regarding claim 3, Chiu fails to disclose a torsion spring installed between the first induction piece and the second induction piece, such that the torsion spring is operable to move the contact plate in a direction away from the sensing part. However, Zhang discloses a mechanical assembly in which a torsion spring is disposed between two cooperating components arranged about a pivot or shaft, the torsion spring 42 (fig. 1, paragraph 0029) biasing one component away from another to return the components to a disengaged or default position after actuation (paragraph 0031). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to incorporate the torsion spring biasing arrangement taught by Zhang into the cooperating induction pieces in Chiu in order to provide reliable restoring force that moves the contact plate away from the sensing part when engagement is released.
Regarding claim 4, Chiu fails to disclose the first induction piece engages an inner wall of the filter body through a connecting piece, wherein the first induction piece includes a first hinged piece, wherein the second induction piece includes a second hinged piece that mates with the first hinged piece, and wherein the first hinged piece and the second hinged piece mate by rotatably hinged together with a shaft. However, Zhang discloses a hinge structure comprising first and second mating hinged members (fig. 1, first hinged piece 33, first hinged piece 36) connected by a rotatable shaft or pin (fig. 1, rotating shaft 24 and 26), allowing relative rotational movement between the hinged members (fig. 1, paragraph 0031). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the relative movement between the first and second induction pieces of Chiu using hinged-piece and shaft structure taught by Zhang, in order to provide a simple, reliable, and well-understood mechanism for rotational engagement and disengagement between induction pieces.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chiu et, Dermody, and Zhang, as applied to claim 4 above, in further view of Hong U.S. Pub. No. 20190001249 A1, January 03, 2019 (hereinafter “Hong”).
Chiu is relied upon as above.
Regarding claim 5, Chiu fails to disclose the pressure plate, the contact plate and the second hinged piece are integrally coupled metal sheets, and wherein the sensing part of the first induction piece includes a magnetic control induction switch operative to be activated in response to contact plate being disposed in close proximity to the sensing part. However, Hong discloses the coupling sensing unit 1210 (fig. 28, paragraph 0266) may sense the coupling to the first air purifying unit 101. In an exemplary embodiment, the coupling sensing unit 1210 may be realized as a reed switch disposed in the coupling portion 1266 and sensing a physical contact with the first air purifying unit 101, or a magnetic sensor sensing a magnet attached to the cavity of the first air purifying unit 101, and may output to the second controlling unit 1250 by generating a coupling sensing signal (paragraph 0268).
Hong teaches the use of magnetically responsive sensing structures within an air purification device to detect coupling or positional states of components and to generate control signals in response thereto. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the induction piece arrangement of Chiu to employ the integrally coupled sheets for the pressure plate, contact plate, and second hinged piece as taught by Hong, in order to provide a robust and simplified mechanical structure. Also, it would have been obvious to employ a magnetic control induction switch as a sensing part of the first induction piece to detect the proximity of the metal contact plate, thereby providing a reliable sensing mechanism for detecting mounting or engagement of a filter component.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chiu et and Dermody, as applied to claim 8 above, in further view of Hong U.S. Pub. No. 20190001249 A1, January 03, 2019 (hereinafter “Hong”).
Regarding claim 9, Chiu fails to disclose a second filter screen is disposed adjacent a rear of the fan, and wherein the filter grille, the first induction piece and the second induction piece are disposed at a rear portion of the second filter screen. However, Hong discloses an air purifier including multiple filter stages, with downstream filter screen disposed after a fan in the air flow direction, the downstream filter being positioned adjacent a rear side of the fan to further process air after fan-driven movement (figs. 6-9, paragraph 0066-0073). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cleaning device of Chiu to include a second filter screen disposed adjacent a rear of a fan, as taught by Hong, in order to provide additional air filtration after fan driven airflow.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chiu et al. U.S. and Dermody, as applied to claim 8 above, in further view of Qi et al. CN 111921112 A, November 13, 2020 (hereinafter “Qi”).
Chiu is relied upon as above.
Regarding claim 10, Chiu fails to disclose an upper end of the filter box is installed with a rotatable handle. However, Qi discloses a handle 13 (fig. 1, paragraph 0033) that is rotatably connected to the top of the upper housing. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to add a handle to the air filter taught by Chiu to enable ease of movement/transportation of the device.
Conclusion
/M.N.E./Examiner, Art Unit 1776 /Jennifer Dieterle/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1776