Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/11/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 19, “the Applicant believes that the meaning of the term "close" in Teyagi is same to meaning of the term "turn on" in the present disclosure and the meaning of the term "open" in Teyagi is same to the meaning of the term "turn off" in the present disclosure. Based on the reasons above, the paragraphs [0031]-[0032] of Espacenet English translation of Teyagi actually disclose that "the control circuit shuts off the low-dropout regulator by turning on (closing) the first and second switches and turning off the amplifier" and that "the control circuit turns on the low-dropout regulator by turning off (opening) the first and second switches and turning on the amplifier." Explained in another way, in Teyagi, the amplifier and the switches are not turned on at the same time, and the amplifier and the switches are not turned off at the same time”. However, Espacenet English translation of Teyagi paragraphs 0046 – 0049 explains power on and power off modes “ Circuit 50 can operate in either power-off or power-on mode. In order to switch from power-off mode to power-on mode, control circuit 62 first turns on error amplifier 52, and control then turns on switches SW6, SW4 and SW3. This is used to activate the low-dropout regulator 60. Then, control circuit 62 turns on switches SW2 and SW1, removing any DC bias present at the drain of p-channel control transistor M2 at node N1. Subsequently, the control circuit 62 sets the switch SW5 to couple the gate of transistor M2 to ground, thereby control turning on transistor M2. In some cases, when switching to the power-on mode, the control circuit 62 can turn on switches SW2 and SW1,controland essentially simultaneously set switch SW5 to couple the gate of transistor M2 to ground. In other cases, control circuit 62 can set switch SW5 to couple the gate of transistor M2 to ground before switching control switches SW2 and SW1 are turned on. In order to switch to the power-off mode, the control circuit 62 first sets the switch SW5 to couple the gate of the p-control channel transistor M2 to the power supply voltage Vdd, so as to turn off the p-channel transistor M2. Then, control circuit 62 closes switches SW2 and SW1, thereby forming a DC bias at the drain of p-channel transistor control M2. Subsequently, control circuit 62 closes switches SW6, SW4 and SW3, thereby coupling the drain and gate of p-control channel transistor M1 to the power supply voltage Vdd, thus turning off p-channel transistor M1. Finally, error amplifier 52 is turned off”. Teyagi et. al. Fig .2 switches SW5/M2 is the accelerator circuit and SW5 couples the gate of M2 to ground to turn on M2 when amplifier 52 is turned on. In power down mode, SW5 is coupled to VDD and the gate of M2 to turn off M2 at the time amplifier 52 is turned off. Therefore, the claim language is met by the prior art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-6, 10, 12-15, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yi et. al. (CN Patent No 115079762) in view of Morino (U.S. Patent No 8575906) in further view of Teyagi et. al. (CN Patent 206877187).
Regarding claims 1 and 19, Yi et. al. discloses a low-dropout regulator (e.g. 100)(Fig. 1), comprising: an amplifier circuit (e.g. 122)(Fig. 1) operating based on an input voltage (e.g. VIN input to 122)(Fig. 1) and configured to generate an amplified voltage (e.g. output of 122)(Fig. 1) at a node (e.g. PG)(Fig. 1) according to a reference voltage and a feedback voltage (e.g. VREF and VFB are inputs to 122)(Fig. 1);
a power transistor (e.g. MH3)(Fig. 1) configured to generate an output voltage (e.g. VOUT)(Fig. 1) at an output terminal (e.g. unlabeled node between MH3 and R1 of the voltage divider)(Fig. 1) according to the input voltage (e.g. VIN input to MH3)(Fig. 1) and the amplified voltage (e.g. PG node)(Fig. 1);
a feedback circuit (e.g. R1 and R2 output VFB to 122)(Fig. 1) configured to generate the feedback voltage according to the output voltage (e.g. VOUT connected to R1 and R2)(Fig. 1).
an accelerator circuit (e.g. 130)(Fig. 1) configured to perform an acceleration operation (Para [0029] Espacenet machine translation, “…circuit 130 is configured to lower the gate voltage of the voltage regulating tube MH3 when the output voltage VOUT is lower than the second threshold voltage”) on the output voltage (e.g. VOUT)(Fig. 1) according to a voltage difference (e.g. VOUT lower than the second threshold voltage) in the low-dropout regulator.
Yi et. al. does not disclose an accelerator circuit comprises:
a first transistor being in a diode-connected form; and
an accelerator switch coupled to the first transistor in series, wherein when the amplifier circuit is turned off, the accelerator switch is turned off, wherein when the amplifier circuit is turned on, the accelerator switch is turned on.
However, Morino teaches an accelerator circuit (e.g. M21 and SW of circuit 10)(Fig. 14) comprises:
a first transistor being in a diode-connected form (e.g. M21 of circuit 10)(Fig. 14); and
an accelerator switch coupled to the first transistor in series (e.g. SW of circuit 10)(Fig. 14).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the “LDO circuit” teachings of Yi et. al. such that it comprises “an accelerator circuit comprises: a first transistor being in a diode-connected form; and an accelerator switch coupled to the first transistor in series” as taught by Morino. The reason for doing so would be to control the gain of the
amplifier according to a difference between the power supply input and the output of the regulator.
The combination of Yi et. al. and Morino does not appear to explicitly relite limitations wherein when the amplifier circuit is turned off, the accelerator switch is turned off such that the accelerator circuit does not work, wherein when the amplifier circuit is turned on, the accelerator switch is turned on.
However, Teyagi et. al. discloses wherein when the amplifier circuit is turned off, the accelerator switch is turned off such that the accelerator circuit does not work, wherein when the amplifier circuit is turned on, the accelerator switch is turned on. (CN206877187 Espacenet English translation Para 0046 – 0049 explains power on and power off modes “ Circuit 50 can operate in either power-off or power-on mode. In order to switch from power-off mode to power-on mode, control circuit 62 first turns on error amplifier 52, and control then turns on switches SW6, SW4 and SW3. This is used to activate the low-dropout regulator 60. Then, control circuit 62 turns on switches SW2 and SW1, removing any DC bias present at the drain of p-channel control transistor M2 at node N1. Subsequently, the control circuit 62 sets the switch SW5 to couple the gate of transistor M2 to ground, thereby control turning on transistor M2. In some cases, when switching to the power-on mode, the control circuit 62 can turn on switches SW2 and SW1,controland essentially simultaneously set switch SW5 to couple the gate of transistor M2 to ground. In other cases, control circuit 62 can set switch SW5 to couple the gate of transistor M2 to ground before switching control switches SW2 and SW1 are turned on. In order to switch to the power-off mode, the control circuit 62 first sets the switch SW5 to couple the gate of the p-control channel transistor M2 to the power supply voltage Vdd, so as to turn off the p-channel transistor M2. Then, control circuit 62 closes switches SW2 and SW1, thereby forming a DC bias at the drain of p-channel transistor control M2. Subsequently, control circuit 62 closes switches SW6, SW4 and SW3, thereby coupling the drain and gate of p-control channel transistor M1 to the power supply voltage Vdd, thus turning off p-channel transistor M1. Finally, error amplifier 52 is turned off”. Examiner note: (Teyagi et. al. Fig. 2 switches SW5/M2 is the accelerator circuit and SW5 couples the gate of M2 to ground to turn on M2 when amplifier 52 is turned on. In power down mode, SW5 is coupled to VDD and the gate of M2 to turn off M2 at the time amplifier 52 is turned off).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the “LDO circuit” teachings of Yi et. al. and Morino such that it comprises “wherein when the amplifier circuit is turned off, the accelerator switch is turned off such that the accelerator circuit does not work, wherein when the amplifier circuit is turned on, the accelerator switch is turned on” as taught by Teyagi et. al. The reason for doing so would be to control power on and off of the amplifier circuit protecting electrical components for electrical over stress.
Regarding claim 3, Yi et. al. discloses wherein the power transistor is a P-type transistor (Para 0026 Machine translation CN115079762, “Specifically, the voltage regulating tube MH3 is implemented by a PMOS transistor”).
Regarding claim 4, Morino discloses wherein the accelerator circuit is coupled between the node (e.g. node between EA11 output and gate of M11)(Fig. 14) and the output terminal (e.g. Vo/13)(Fig. 14) and configured to perform the acceleration operation according to the voltage difference in the low-dropout regulator, wherein the voltage difference is a difference between the amplified voltage and the output voltage (Col 11, lines 10-16, “Specifically, in the present embodiment, the switch SW is disposed between the output terminal 13 and the output of the first differential amplifier EA11. The diode-connected transistor M21 has a source terminal thereof connectable to the output terminal 13 via the switch SW, and gate and drain terminals thereof connected together to the output of the differential amplifier EA11”)(See Fig. 14).
Regarding claim 5 and 14, Morino discloses wherein the first transistor is an N type transistor (Col 14, Lines 13-15, “Also unlike the first embodiment, the diode connected transistor of the differential gain controller 10 is configured as an NMOS transistor M21a”).
Regarding claim 6 and 15, Morino discloses wherein the first transistor is a P type transistor (Col 7, Lines 13-15, “and a diode-connected PMOS transistor M21”).
Regarding claim 10, Yi et. al. discloses wherein the power transistor is an N-type transistor (Para [0026] Espacenet machine translation, “…the voltage regulating tube MH3”)(Para [0024] Espacenet machine translation, “The voltage regulator tube may be a PMOS (N-Metal-Oxide-Semiconductor) transistor or an NMOS (N-Metal-Oxide Semiconductor) transistor”).
Regarding claim 12, Morino discloses wherein the accelerator circuit (e.g. 10)(Fig. 8) is coupled between the input voltage (e.g. Vi)(Fig. 8) and the node (e.g. node between EA11 and M11 gate)(Fig. 8) and configured to perform the acceleration operation according to the voltage difference in the low-dropout regulator, wherein the voltage difference is a difference between the input voltage and the amplified voltage (Col 9-10, Lines 61-67, 1-4, “According to this patent specification, the differential gain controller 10 controls the gain G of the first differential amplifier EA11 according to a difference Vd between the power supply input and output voltages Vi and Vo of the voltage regulator 1, wherein the switch SW turns on and off an electrical current flow from the input terminal 11 to the source terminal of the diode-connected transistor M21 depending on the differential voltage Vd, so as to enable and disable the diode connected transistor M21 to electrically connect to, or interfere with, the output VEA1 of the differential amplifier EA11 determining a maximum gate-to-source voltage Vgs applied across the driver transistor M11”).
Regarding claim 13, Morino discloses wherein the accelerator circuit (e.g. 10)(Fig. 15) is coupled between the input voltage (e.g. 11/Vi)(Fig. 15) and the output terminal (e.g. 13/Vo)(Fig. 15) and configured to perform the acceleration operation according to the voltage difference in the low-dropout regulator, wherein the voltage difference is a difference between the input voltage and the output voltage (Col 11, Lines 41-47, “During operation, the differential amplifier EA21 compares the output voltage Vo against the input voltage Vi, so as to output an error-amplified signal VEA2 to the gate terminal of the switchable transistor M22. In generating the output signal VEA2, the differential amplifier EA21 exhibits a threshold, offset voltage Va (i.e., the difference Vi-Vo between the non-inverting and inverting inputs with which the amplifier output switches from one level to another”).
Claims 7-9 and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yi et. al. (CN Patent No 115079762) and Morino (U.S. Patent No 8575906) in further view of Tsao et. al. (U.S. Publication No 2022/0365550).
Regarding claim 7 and 16, although Yi et. al. and Morino disclose the limitations in claim 2, they do not teach wherein the accelerator circuit further comprises: a second transistor coupled to the first transistor in series and being in the diode connected form.
However, Tsao et. al. teaches wherein the accelerator circuit further comprises:
a second transistor (e.g. 504)(Fig. 5) coupled to the first transistor (e.g. 502)(Fig. 5) in series and being in the diode-connected form (See 504 and 502 in Fig. 5)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the “LDO circuit” teachings of Yi et. al. and Morino such that it comprises “a second transistor coupled to the first transistor in series and being in the diode-connected form” as taught by Tsao et. al. The reason for doing so would be to limit current variations.
Regarding claim 8 and 17, Tsao et. al. discloses wherein a type of the first transistor is the same to a type of the second transistor (Para [0051], “one or more PMOS transistors 502 and 504”).
Regarding claim 9 and 18, Although Morino and Yi et. al. discloses the limitations in claim 2, they do not disclose a type of the first transistor is different from a type of the second transistor.
Tsao et. al. discloses the claimed invention except for a type of the first transistor is different from a type of the second transistor.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have type of the first transistor is different from a type of the second transistor, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the accelerator circuit (208)(Fig. 5) to include the features of a type of the first transistor is different from a type of the second transistor because it allows for a specific design choice, which can provide a reduction in component variance, thus increasing operational efficiencies.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 11 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 11, none of the prior art, made of record, singularly or in combinations, teaches or fairly suggest wherein the accelerator circuit is coupled between a control terminal of the second transistor and the output terminal and configured to perform the acceleration operation according to the voltage difference between in the low-dropout regulator, wherein the voltage difference is a difference Page 10 Application/Control Number: 18/408,553 Art Unit: 2838 between a bias voltage at the control terminal and the output voltage.
Claim 11 depends on claim 10.
Conclusion
/JONATHAN WALTER SOILEAU/ Examiner, Art Unit 2838
/CRYSTAL L HAMMOND/ Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838