DETAILED ACTION
Priority
2. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
3. The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Information Disclosure Statement
4. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 1/11/2024 and 7/16/2024 was filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
7. Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by LG ELECTRONICS: "Discussion on unlicensed band URLLC/IIOT", 3GPP DRAFT; R1-2008059, 3RD GENERATION PARTNERSHIP PROJECT (3GPP), MOBILE COMPETENCE CENTRE ; 650, ROUTE DES LUCIOLES ; F-06921 SOPHIA-ANTIPOLIS CEDEX ; FRANCE, vol. RAN WG1, no. e-Meeting; 20201026 - 20201113 24 October 2020 (2020-10-24), XP051946561 (presented by applicant, hereafter referred to as 3GPP).
Regarding claim 1, 3GPP teaches A first node for wireless communications (see at least Figs. 6-7, and pg. 9 line 16- pg. 11 line 9), characterized in comprising:
a first receiver, which receives a first signaling, the first signaling used for determining a first periodic value and M1 candidate Hybrid Automatic Repeat reQuest (HARQ) Process IDs, M1 being greater than 1, the first periodic value being a length of period of a configured assignment, and any of the M1 candidate HARQ Process IDs being a non-negative integer (see at least Fig. 6 and pg. 9 line 16-pg. 10 line 10; the configuration corresponds to the resource allocation associated with the NR-U configured grant, CG, indicating a first periodic value with a length of 1 slot, i.e., 2 half slots, as well as M1=nrofHARQProcesses=8 candidate HARQ process IDs); and
a first transceiver, which receives a first bit block in a first time unit, or, which transmits a first bit block in a first time unit, the first time unit being one of M2 candidate time units, M2 being a positive integer greater than 1 (see at least Figs. 6-7 and pg. 10 lines 1-1010; the first block corresponds to the TB sent in the first half slot of any one of Figs. 6-7, which corresponds to one of the M2=HPN interval = 2candidate half slots allocated for PUSCH transmission);
wherein the first bit block is associated with a first HARQ Process ID, the first HARQ Process ID being one of the M1 candidate HARQ Process IDs; a first value and a second value are used together to determine the first HARQ Process ID from the M1 candidate HARQ Process IDs; a time interval length between any two candidate time units among the M2 candidate time units is no larger than the first periodic value; the first periodic value and M2 are used together to determine the first value; a target value is used to determine the second value, and the target value is related to a time-domain position of the first time unit among the M2 candidate time units (see at least fig. 7 as well as line 1, page 10 - line 9, page 11; in fig. 7 the first HARQ process ID associated with the first PUSCH transmission equals 0, i.e., is one of the M1=nrofHARQProcesses=8 candidate HARQ process IDs, which is determined according to the expression provided in line 4 of page 10 as well as lines 1-3 of page 11 and which is dependent on 1) a second value "n" indicating the time-domain position of the first PUSCH transmission among the M2=HPN Interval=2 candidate half slots allocated within each CG periodic value of 2 half slots as well as a first value equal to "(symbol index / periodicity)*HPN interval" with "periodicity" corresponding to the first periodic value of1 slot, i.e., 2 half slots, and the parameter "HPN interval" corresponding to
M2=2 half slots).
Regarding claim 2, 3GPP teaches the first node according to claim 1. In addition, 3GPP teaches characterized in that the first HARQ Process ID is equal to a result yielded by a sum of the first value and the second value modulo M1 (see at least pg. 10 line 1-pg. 11 line 9).
Regarding claim 3, 3GPP teaches the first node according to claim 2. In addition, 3GPP teaches characterized in that the sentence that the first periodic value and M2 are used together to determine the first value includes a meaning that: a number of time units corresponding to the first periodic value and M2 are used together to determine the first value (see at least fig. 7, and at least line 16, page 9 -line 9, page 11; the first PUSCH transmission over the first time unit of fig. 7 has a first HARQ process ID equal to O, which is determined according to the expression provided in line 4 of page 10 as well as lines 1-3 of page 11 and which is dependent on a first value equal to "(symbol index / periodicity) * HPN interval" with "symbol index" equal to the index associated with the first time unit, with "periodicity" corresponding to the number of time units defined for the period of the configured assignment associated with the first time unit and with the parameter "HPN interval" corresponding to the number M2 of 2 half slots existing within a first period of the configured assignment associated with the first time unit).
Regarding claim 4, 3GPP teaches the first node according to claim 3. In addition, 3GPP teaches characterized in that the first value is equal to a product of a result obtained by rounding down a ratio of an index of the first time unit to the number of the time units corresponding to the first periodic value to a nearest integer and M2 (see at least fig. 7, and at least line 16, page 9 - line 9, page 11; the first PUSCH transmission over the first time unit of fig. 7 has a first HARQ process ID equal to 0, which is determined according to the expression provided in line 4 of page 10 as well as lines 1-3 of page 11 and which is dependent on a first value equal to "(symbol index / periodicity) * HPN interval" with "symbol index" equal to the index associated with the first time unit, with "periodicity" corresponding to the number of time units defined for the period of the configured assignment associated with the first time unit and with the parameter "HPN interval" corresponding to the number M2 of 2 half slots existing within a first period of the configured assignment associated with the first time unit).
Regarding claim 5, 3GPP teaches the first node according to claim 3. In addition, 3GPP teaches characterized in that the second value is linear with the target value, the target value being equal to a sequential order number of the first time unit among the M2 candidate time units (see at least fig. 7, and at least line 16, page 9 - line 9, page 11; In fig. 7 of D1 the first HARQ process ID associated with the first symbol of the first PUSCH transmission, i.e., of the first bit block, equals 0, which is determined according to the expression provided in line 4 of page 10 and at least lines 1-3 of page 11 and which is dependent on a second value "n" modulo N, wherein N=nrofHARQProcesses=M1 denotes the number of candidate HARQ processes. Further, the second value "n" equals, and therefore, is linearly related to the time-domain position of the first PUSCH transmission among the M2=HPN Interval=2 candidate half slots allocated, i.e., configured, within each period of 2 halt slots that is set by the resource allocation, i.e., the IE ConfiguredGrantConfig, associated with an UL configured grant, CG, as anticipated in line 16, page 9 - line 10, page 10.).
Regarding claim 6, 3GPP teaches the first node according to claim 5. In addition, 3GPP teaches characterized in that the first bit block comprises one or two TBs, and a said time unit comprises one or more symbols (see at least fig. 7, and at least line 16, page 9 - line 9, page 11; In fig. 7 of D1 the first HARQ process ID associated with the first symbol of the first PUSCH transmission, i.e., of the first bit block, equals 0, which is determined according to the expression provided in line 4 of page 10 and at least lines 1-3 of page 11 and which is dependent on a second value "n" modulo N, wherein N=nrofHARQProcesses=M1 denotes the number of candidate HARQ processes. Further, the second value "n" equals, and therefore, is linearly related to the time-domain position of the first PUSCH transmission among the M2=HPN Interval=2 candidate half slots allocated, i.e., configured, within each period of 2 halt slots that is set by the resource allocation, i.e., the IE ConfiguredGrantConfig, associated with an UL configured grant, CG, as anticipated in line 16, page 9 - line 10, page 10.).
Regarding claim 7, 3GPP teaches the first node according to claim 6. In addition, 3GPP teaches characterized in that the configured assignment is a configured uplink grant (see at least fig. 7, and at least line 16, page 9 - line 9, page 11; In fig. 7 of D1 the first HARQ process ID associated with the first symbol of the first PUSCH transmission, i.e., of the first bit block, equals 0, which is determined according to the expression provided in line 4 of page 10 and at least lines 1-3 of page 11 and which is dependent on a second value "n" modulo N, wherein N=nrofHARQProcesses=M1 denotes the number of candidate HARQ processes. Further, the second value "n" equals, and therefore, is linearly related to the time-domain position of the first PUSCH transmission among the M2=HPN Interval=2 candidate half slots allocated, i.e., configured, within each period of 2 halt slots that is set by the resource allocation, i.e., the IE ConfiguredGrantConfig, associated with an UL configured grant, CG, as anticipated in line 16, page 9 - line 10, page 10.).
Regarding claim 8, 3GPP teaches A second node for wireless communications (see at least Figs. 6-7, and pg. 9 line 16- pg. 11 line 9), characterized in comprising:
a second transmitter, which transmits a first signaling, the first signaling used for determining a first periodic value and M1 candidate Hybrid Automatic Repeat reQuest (HARQ) Process IDs, M1 being greater than 1, the first periodic value being a length of period of a configured assignment, and any of the M1 candidate HARQ Process IDs being a non-negative integer (see at least Fig. 6 and pg. 9 line 16-pg. 10 line 10; the configuration corresponds to the resource allocation associated with the NR-U configured grant, CG, indicating a first periodic value with a length of 1 slot, i.e., 2 half slots, as well as M1=nrofHARQProcesses=8 candidate HARQ process IDs ); and
a second transceiver, which transmits a first bit block in a first time unit, or, which receives a first bit block in a first time unit, the first time unit being one of M2 candidate time units, M2 being a positive integer greater than 1; wherein the first bit block is associated with a first HARQ Process ID, the first HARQ Process ID being one of the M1 candidate HARQ Process IDs; a first value and a second value are used together to determine the first HARQ Process ID from the M1 candidate HARQ Process IDs; a time interval length between any two candidate time units among the M2 candidate time units is no larger than the first periodic value; the first periodic value and M2 are used together to determine the first value; a target value is used to determine the second value, and the target value is related to a time-domain position of the first time unit among the M2 candidate time units (see at least fig. 7 as well as line 1, page 10 - line 9, page 11; in fig. 7 the first HARQ process ID associated with the first PUSCH transmission equals 0, i.e., is one of the M1=nrofHARQProcesses=8 candidate HARQ process IDs, which is determined according to the expression provided in line 4 of page 10 as well as lines 1-3 of page 11 and which is dependent on 1) a second value "n" indicating the time-domain position of the first PUSCH transmission among the M2=HPN Interval=2 candidate half slots allocated within each CG periodic value of 2 half slots as well as a first value equal to "(symbol index / periodicity) *HPN interval" with "periodicity" corresponding to the first periodic value of 1 slot, i.e., 2 half slots, and the parameter "HPN interval" corresponding to M2=2 half slots ).
Regarding claim 9, 3GPP teaches the second node according to claim 8. In addition, 3GPP teaches characterized in that the first HARQ Process ID is equal to a result yielded by a sum of the first value and the second value modulo M1 (see at least pg. 10 line 1-pg. 11 line 9).
Regarding claim 10, 3GPP teaches the second node according to claim 9. In addition, 3GPP teaches characterized in that the sentence that the first periodic value and M2 are used together to determine the first value includes a meaning that: a number of time units corresponding to the first periodic value and M2 are used together to determine the first value (see at least fig. 7, and at least line 16, page 9 – line 9 pg. 11; the first PUSCH transmission over the first time unit of fig. 7 has a first HARQ process ID equal to 0, which is determined according to the expression provided in line 4 of page 10 as well as lines 1-3 of page 11 and which is dependent on a first value equal to "(symbol index / periodicity) * HPN interval" with "symbol index" equal to the index associated with the first time unit, with "periodicity" corresponding to the number of time units defined for the period of the configured assignment associated with the first time unit and with the parameter "HPN interval" corresponding to the number M2 of 2 half slots existing within a first period of the configured assignment associated with the first time unit).
Regarding claim 11, 3GPP teaches the second node according to claim 10. In addition, 3GPP teaches characterized in that the first value is equal to a product of a result obtained by rounding down a ratio of an index of the first time unit to the number of the time units corresponding to the first periodic value to a nearest integer and M2 (see at least pg. 10 line 1-pg. 11 line 9).
Regarding claim 12, 3GPP teaches the second node according to claim 10. In addition, 3GPP teaches characterized in that the second value is linear with the target value, the target value being equal to a sequential order number of the first time unit among the M2 candidate time units (see at least fig. 7, and at least line 16, page 9 - line 9, page 11; the first PUSCH transmission over the first time unit of fig. 7 has a first HARQ process ID equal to O, which is determined according to the expression provided in line 4 of page 10 as well as lines 1-3 of page 11 and which is dependent on a first value equal to "(symbol index / periodicity) * HPN interval" with "symbol index" equal to the index associated with the first time unit, with "periodicity" corresponding to the number of time units defined for the period of the configured assignment associated with the first time unit and with the parameter "HPN interval" corresponding to the number M2 of 2 half slots existing within a first period of the configured assignment associated with the first time unit).
Regarding claim 13, 3GPP teaches the second node according to claim 12. In addition, 3GPP teaches characterized in that the first bit block comprises one or two TBs, and a said time unit comprises one or more symbols (see at least fig. 7, and at least line 16, page 9 - line 9, page 11; the first PUSCH transmission over the first time unit of fig. 7 has a first HARQ process ID equal to 0, which is determined according to the expression provided in line 4 of page 10 as well as lines 1-3 of page 11 and which is dependent on a first value equal to "(symbol index / periodicity) * HPN interval" with "symbol index" equal to the index associated with the first time unit, with "periodicity" corresponding to the number of time units defined for the period of the configured assignment associated with the first time unit and with the parameter "HPN interval" corresponding to the number M2 of 2 half slots
existing within a first period of the configured assignment associated with the first time unit).
As to claims 14-20, see rejection of claim 1-7, except this is a claim to a method with the same limitations as claims 1-7.
Conclusion
8. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to NATASHA W COSME whose telephone number is (571)270-7225. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 7:30-4. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Ayman Abaza can be reached at 571-270-0422. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/NATASHA W COSME/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2465