DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application
2 This instant Office Action is in response to Original Filing filed on 1/10/2024.
3. This Office Action is made Non-Final.
4. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
5. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 1/26/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
1. Claims 1-12, and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by ENOMOTO et al. US 20180063778 hereafter Enomoto.
As to Claim 1. Enomoto discloses a terminal [i.e. UE/User Equipment] roaming control method, comprising [Abstract, 0097: Provided are a communication control method in which selection by a terminal of an access network is controlled using a policy for selecting an access network. A case, where the UE receives the policy from a home mobile operation that is a roaming destination]:
obtaining, by a gateway device [i.e. ANDSF-20], a roaming [i.e. Roaming/Switch/Handoff(over)] policy library [Figs. 4-6 (Depicts Tables/storage (i.e. library) of Policies), Sections 0009, 0405, 0687: The UE notified by the ANDSF, of the ANDSF policy determines in a case where the ANDSF policy is applied, switches (i.e. roam) to that access system. The ANDSF-20 transmit ANDSF policy for the UE which is stored in the ANDSF policy-242 (i.e. library), and multiple policies are included. More precisely, depending on the availability of the roaming that is included in the ANDSF policy from the ANDSF-20, the UE can switch the access system. Noted: ANDSF apparatus associated with path between UE and PDN and acts as a relay/gateway see sections (0053, 0116, 0240)];
obtaining, by the gateway device [i.e. ANDSF-20] based on the roaming [i.e. Roaming/Switch/Handoff(over)] policy library [Fig. 5], a first roaming policy matching a first terminal [i.e. UE] communicatively connected to the gateway device [Figs. 4-6 (Depicts Tables/storage (i.e. library) of Policies), Sections 0401-0402, 0405, 0687: The UE transmit a control message for establishing a secure communication path (i.e. connection) to the ANDSF-20. When ensuring the secure communication path between the UE and the ANDSF-20, the UE 10 transmits a request for the access network information to the ANDSF. The ANDSF-20 transmit ANDSF policy for the UE which is stored in the ANDSF policy-242 (i.e. library). Depending on the availability of the roaming that is included in the ANDSF policy, the UE can switch the access system];
and controlling, by the gateway device [i.e. ANDSF-20], the first terminal to roam [i.e. Roaming/Switch/Handoff(over)] according to the first roaming policy [Figs. 4-6, Sections 0176, 0226, 0687-0688: Furthermore, the UE store approval information that differs from one policy to another; for example, where two ANDSF policies are stored, for the first policy, the approval information 1 value may be stored as being approved. Accordingly, the UE switches (i.e. roam) a communication path using the UE policy is described. Furthermore, the enabling of the roaming, the ANDSF-20 can cause (i.e. control) the UE to execute the policy and to switch the access system. The ANDSF 20 can cause the UE to execute the policy and to switch the access system, that is indicated, and included in the ANDSF policy from the ANDSF].
As to Claim 2. Enomoto discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the roaming [i.e. Roaming/Switch/Handoff(over)] policy library [Figs. 4-6 (Depicts Tables/storage (i.e. library) of Policies)] comprises roaming sub-policies [i.e. Types/policies of different types] respectively corresponding to different values [Information elements that includes value, or OPI or Threshold] of each piece of roaming capability information of the first terminal [Figs. 5 (Depicts different sub-policies and values/threshold), Sections 0117, 0139, 0167, 01334: FIG. 5 illustrates ANDSF policy types, the UE is able to store and retain multiple ANDSF policies of different types. Included in the types are one or several pieces of information elements. Furthermore, threshold is a condition for switching (roaming) the communication path; the information element, such as an OPI (offload preference indicator) with regard to the types 1 to 4 or a value that varies (i.e. different) from one policy to another stored as an information element. The Capability flag is information indicating the capability of the UE to be able to determine the switching of the access network using the ANDSF policy]
and wherein the obtaining the first roaming policy matching the first terminal comprises [Sections 0176, 0687: Furthermore, the UE store the approval information that differs from one policy to another; for example, in a case where two ANDSF policies are stored, for the first policy, the approval information 1 value may be stored as being approved. Furthermore, the enabling of the roaming, the ANDSF-20 can cause (i.e. control) the UE to execute the policy and to switch the access system]
determining, based on the roaming sub-policies [i.e. Types/policies of different types] respectively corresponding to the different values [Information elements that includes value, or OPI or Threshold] of each piece of roaming capability information of the first terminal, a plurality of roaming sub-policies corresponding to the first terminal; and obtaining the first roaming policy based on the plurality of roaming sub-policies corresponding to the first terminal [Figs. 4, 5 (Depicts different sub-policies and values/threshold), and Fig. 6, Sections 0117, 0139, 0167, 01334: FIG. 5 illustrates ANDSF policy types, the UE is able to store and retain multiple ANDSF policies of different types. Included in the types are one or several pieces of information elements. Furthermore, threshold is a condition for switching (roaming) the communication path; the information element, such as an OPI (offload preference indicator) with regard to the types 1 to 4 or a value that varies (i.e. different) from one policy to another stored as an information element. The Capability flag is information indicating the capability of the UE to be able to determine the switching of the access network using the ANDSF policy].
As to Claim 3. Enomoto discloses the method of claim 2, wherein the roaming sub-policies respectively corresponding to the different values [Information elements that includes value, or OPI or Threshold] of each piece of roaming capability information of the first terminal [Figs. 5 (Depicts different sub-policies and values/threshold), Sections 0117, 0139, 0167, 01334: FIG. 5 illustrates ANDSF policy types, the UE is able to store and retain multiple ANDSF policies of different types. Included in the types are one or several pieces of information elements. Furthermore, threshold is a condition for switching (roaming) the communication path; the information element, such as an OPI (offload preference indicator) with regard to the types 1 to 4 or a value that varies (i.e. different) from one policy to another stored as an information element. The Capability flag is information indicating the capability of the UE to be able to determine the switching of the access network using the ANDSF policy]
comprise at least one of the following: first roaming sub-policies respectively corresponding to different values of mobility of the first terminal, wherein the first roaming sub-policy indicates whether the terminal roams; second roaming sub-policies respectively corresponding to different values of a radio frequency capability of the first terminal, wherein the second roaming sub-policy indicates a roaming parameter used when the terminal roams; third roaming sub-policies respectively corresponding to different values of a roaming protocol capability of the first terminal, wherein the third roaming sub-policy indicates a roaming protocol or a switching mode of the terminal; fourth roaming sub-policies respectively corresponding to different values of a roaming behavior of the first terminal after switching, wherein the fourth roaming sub-policy indicates whether the terminal roams and the switching mode used when the terminal roams; or fifth roaming sub-policies respectively corresponding to different values of an autonomous switching capability of the first terminal, wherein the fifth roaming sub-policy indicates a switching subject of the terminal during roaming [Note: the phrase at least one of recited above referring to a choice between first and fifth roaming policies limitations: Figs. 4, 5 (Depicts different sub-policies and values/threshold), and Fig. 6, Sections 0117, 0139, 0167, 0426: The UE is able to store and retain multiple ANDSF policies of different types. Included in the types are one or several pieces of information elements. Furthermore, threshold is a condition for switching (roaming) the communication path; the information element, such as an OPI (offload preference indicator) with regard to the types 1 to 4 or a value that varies (i.e. different) from one policy to another stored as an information element. More precisely, the UE can identify protocol type in the IP flow that is included in the ANDSF policy from the ANDSF 20, and can switch the access system].
As to Claim 4. Enomoto discloses the method of claim 2, wherein the obtaining the first roaming policy based on the plurality of roaming sub-policies corresponding to the first terminal comprises [Figs. 4-6, Sections 0117, 0139, 0176, 0687: The UE is able to store and retain multiple ANDSF policies of different types. Included in the types are one or several pieces of information elements. Furthermore, the UE store the approval information that differs from one policy to another; for example, in a case where two ANDSF policies are stored, for the first policy, the approval information 1 value may be stored as being approved. Furthermore, the enabling of the roaming, the ANDSF-20 can cause (i.e. control) the UE to execute the policy and to switch the access system]:
when all roaming sub-policies corresponding to the first terminal indicate roaming, determining, from the plurality of roaming sub-policies corresponding to the first terminal, at least one of the roaming protocol, the roaming parameter, the switching mode, or the switching subject during roaming, to obtain the first roaming policy [Figs. 4-6, Sections 0053, 0226, 0418, 0426: The policy may be information that is associated with a method of using a communication path, such as switching of the communication path established by the UE using a wireless access system. According, a procedure in which the UE switches a path using the UE policy. Furthermore, a communication path to a switching destination for performing the switching determined based on the ANDSF policy. More precisely, the UE can identify protocol type in the IP flow that is included in the ANDSF policy from the ANDSF 20, and can switch the access system].
As to Claim 5. Enomoto discloses the method of claim 2, before the obtaining the first roaming policy matching the first terminal, the method further comprising [Sections 0176, 0687: Furthermore, the UE store the approval information that differs from one policy to another; for example, in a case where two ANDSF policies are stored, for the first policy, the approval information 1 value may be stored as being approved. Furthermore, the enabling of the roaming, the ANDSF-20 can cause (i.e. control) the UE to execute the policy and to switch the access system]:
obtaining a device index [i.e. IP address and/or UE ID] of the first terminal; and determining the roaming capability information of the first terminal based on the device index of the first terminal [Sections 0234, 0251, 01334: Furthermore, the UE transmit identification information for identifying the UE. Additionally, receive the UE identification information and the IP address that is allocated to the UE. The Capability flag is information indicating the capability of the UE to be able to determine the switching of the access network using the ANDSF policy].
As to Claim 6. Enomoto discloses the method of claim 2, wherein the roaming capability information comprises at least one of the following: the mobility, the radio frequency capability, the roaming protocol capability, the roaming behavior after the switching, or the autonomous switching capability [Sections 0118, 0403, 0426: A condition for switching the access system is with an Inter-System Mobility Policy (ISMP). At this time, location information of an access system that is available for the UE and capability information (capability) of the UE may be included. More precisely, the UE can identify protocol type in the IP flow that is included in the ANDSF policy from the ANDSF-20, and can switch (i.e. roam) the access system].
As to Claim 7. Enomoto discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the roaming policy library comprises a correspondence between a device index [i.e. IP address and/or UE ID] and a roaming policy; and wherein the obtaining the first roaming policy matching the first terminal comprises [Sections 0234, 0407, 0687: Furthermore, the UE transmit identification (ID/index) information for identifying the UE. The ANDSF-20 transmit ANDSF policy for the UE which is stored in the ANDSF policy-242 (i.e. library), and multiple policies are included. Furthermore, the enabling of the roaming, the ANDSF-20 can cause (i.e. control) the UE to execute the policy and to switch the access system],
obtaining a device index of the first terminal; and determining, based on the correspondence between the device index and the roaming policy, the first roaming policy corresponding to the device index of the first terminal [Sections 0097, 0234, 0251: A case, where the UE receives the policy from a home mobile operation that is a roaming destination. Furthermore, the UE transmit identification information for identifying the UE. Additionally, receive the UE identification information and the IP address that is allocated to the UE].
As to Claim 8. Enomoto discloses the method of claim 5, wherein the device index comprises at least one of a device model or a media access control (MAC) address [Sections 0234, 0251: Furthermore, the UE transmit identification information for identifying the UE. Additionally, receive the UE identification information and the IP address that is allocated to the UE].
As to Claim 9. Enomoto discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the controlling the first terminal to roam according to the first roaming policy comprises [Figs. 4-6, Sections 0687-0688: Furthermore, the enabling of the roaming, the ANDSF-20 can cause (i.e. control) the UE to execute the policy and to switch the access system. The ANDSF 20 can cause the UE to execute the policy and to switch the access system, that is indicated, and included in the ANDSF policy from the ANDSF]:
when the first terminal meets a roaming switching condition in the roaming policy, controlling the first terminal in at least one of the following manners, so that the first terminal roams: controlling the first terminal to change a channel, reducing management power of the first terminal, or forcibly disconnecting the first terminal [Fig. 5, Sections 0118, 0136, 0688: For example, a condition for switching all the communications that are performed by the UE, each information element for switching (i.e. change/roam) the communication path (i.e. link/channel) is included. Moreover, UE make a determination in the case of received power that is lower than the RSRP, a connection to the WLAN access network is made. The ANDSF 20 can cause the UE to execute the policy and to switch the access system, that is indicated, and included in the ANDSF policy from the ANDSF].
As to Claim 10. Enomoto discloses a roaming policy library [Figs. 4-6 (Depicts Tables/storage (i.e. library) of Policies)], generation method, comprising: obtaining, by a network management device, roaming data [Figs. 2, 4-6, Sections 0053, 0184, 0405, 0687: The ANDSF-20 performs management of a policy that is configured by the home mobile operator and can be managed. More specifically, the contents of each element of the ANDSF policy may be created/updated by an administrator (i.e. network management device) for the home operator. The ANDSF-20 transmit ANDSF policy for the UE which is stored in the ANDSF policy-242 (i.e. library), and multiple policies are included. More precisely, depending on the availability of the roaming that is included in the ANDSF policy from the ANDSF-20, the UE can switch the access system],
and generating, by the network management device, a roaming policy library based on the roaming data, wherein the roaming policy library is used by a gateway device [i.e. ANDSF-20] to obtain a first roaming policy matching a first terminal and to control the first terminal to roam according to the first roaming policy [Figs. 4-6 (Depicts Tables/storage (i.e. library) of Policies), Sections 0184, 0400, 0687-0688: More specifically, the contents of each element of the ANDSF policy may be created/updated by an administrator (i.e. network management device) for the home operator. A specific example for receiving the operator policy in which the UE secure communication with the ANDSF 20 on the PDN. Furthermore, the enabling of the roaming, the ANDSF-20 can cause (i.e. control) the UE to execute the policy and to switch the access system. The ANDSF 20 can cause the UE to execute the policy and to switch the access system, that is indicated, and included in the ANDSF policy from the ANDSF]
wherein the first terminal is a terminal communicatively connected to the gateway device [Figs. 4-6 (Depicts Tables/storage (i.e. library) of Policies), Sections 0401-0402, 0405: The UE transmit a control message for establishing a secure communication path (i.e. connection) to the ANDSF-20. When ensuring the secure communication path between the UE and the ANDSF-20, the UE 10 transmits a request for the access network information to the ANDSF. The ANDSF-20 transmit ANDSF policy for the UE which is stored in the ANDSF policy-242 (i.e. library)].
As to Claim 11. Enomoto discloses the method of claim 10, wherein the roaming [i.e. Roaming/Switch/Handoff(over)] policy library [Figs. 4-6 (Depicts Tables/storage (i.e. library) of Policies)] comprises roaming sub-policies respectively corresponding to different values [Information elements that includes value, or OPI or Threshold] of each piece of roaming capability information of the first terminal; and wherein the generating the roaming policy library based on the roaming data comprises [Figs. 5 (Depicts different sub-policies and values/threshold), Sections 0117, 0139, 0167, 01334: FIG. 5 illustrates ANDSF policy types, the UE is able to store and retain multiple ANDSF policies of different types. Included in the policy types are one or several pieces of information elements. Furthermore, threshold is a condition for switching (roaming) the communication path; the information element, such as an OPI (offload preference indicator) with regard to the types 1 to 4 or a value that varies (i.e. different) from one policy to another stored as an information element. The Capability flag is information indicating the capability of the UE to be able to determine the switching of the access network using the ANDSF policy]:
constructing a terminal roaming behavior [i.e. capability] library based on the roaming data, wherein the terminal roaming behavior library comprises pieces of roaming capability information of a plurality of terminals and roaming fingerprints [i.e. IP address and/or UE ID] of the plurality of terminals [Figs. 4-6, Sections 0234, 0403, 0435, 0554: Furthermore, the UE(s) transmit identification (i.e. fingerprint) information for identifying the UE (s). At this time, capability information of the UE(s) indicating LTE and WLAN available access system (i.e. systems available for roaming). Furthermore, access ID is included in the routing rule (i.e. policy), the ANDSF-20 can cause the UE to switch the data transmission and reception that is identified with the IP flow also based on the ANDSF policy from the ANDSF-20. Moreover, the eNB transmit the policy to multiple terminals in a manner that performs the broadcasting],
and determining, based on the pieces of roaming capability information and the roaming fingerprints of the plurality of terminals, roaming sub-policies respectively corresponding to the different values of each piece of roaming capability information of the first terminal [Fig. 5, Sections 0139, 0167, 0554, 01335: Included in the types of policies are one or several pieces of information elements. Furthermore, threshold is a condition for switching (roaming) the path; the information element, such as an OPI with regard to the types 1 to 4 or a value that varies (i.e. different) from one policy to another stored as an information element. Moreover, the eNB transmit the policy to multiple terminals in a manner that performs the broadcasting. More precisely, the Capability flag that the UE includes is included as well].
As to Claim 12. Enomoto discloses the method of claim 10, the method further comprising: obtaining device information and roaming behavior records of the plurality of terminals; determining the pieces of roaming capability information of the plurality of terminals based on the device information and the roaming behavior records of the plurality of terminals [Figs. 4-6, Sections 0139, 0403, 0554: Included in the types of policies are one or several pieces of information elements. At this time, capability information of the UE(s) indicating LTE and WLAN available access system (i.e. systems available for roaming). Moreover, the eNB transmit the policy to multiple terminals in a manner that performs the broadcasting],
generating a correspondence between a device index and roaming capability information based on device indexes [i.e. IP address and/or UE ID] in the device information of the plurality of terminals; and sending the correspondence between the device index and the roaming capability information to the gateway device for determining the roaming capability information of the first terminal [Sections 0234, 0251, 0554, 01335: Furthermore, the UE transmit identification information for identifying the UE. Additionally, receive the UE identification information and the IP address that is allocated to the UE. Moreover, the eNB transmit the policy to multiple terminals in a manner that performs the broadcasting. More precisely, the Capability flag that the UE includes is included as well].
As to Claim 14. Enomoto discloses the method of claim 10, wherein the roaming capability information comprises at least one of the following: mobility, a radio frequency capability, a roaming protocol capability, the roaming behavior after the switching, or an autonomous switching capability [Sections 0118, 0403, 0426: A condition for switching the access system is with an Inter-System Mobility Policy (ISMP). At this time, location information of an access system that is available for the UE and capability information (capability) of the UE may be included. More precisely, the UE can identify protocol type in the IP flow that is included in the ANDSF policy from the ANDSF-20, and can switch (i.e. roam) the access system].
As to Claim 15. Enomoto discloses the method of claim 10, wherein the roaming policy library comprises a correspondence between a device index [i.e. IP address and/or UE ID] and a roaming policy; and wherein the generating the roaming policy library based on the roaming data comprises [Sections 0234, 0407, 0687: Furthermore, the UE transmit identification (ID/index) information for identifying the UE. The ANDSF-20 transmit ANDSF policy for the UE which is stored in the ANDSF policy-242 (i.e. library), and multiple policies are included. Furthermore, the enabling of the roaming, the ANDSF-20 can cause (i.e. control) the UE to execute the policy and to switch the access system].
constructing a terminal roaming behavior library based on the roaming data, wherein the terminal roaming behavior library comprises pieces of roaming capability information and roaming fingerprints that are of a plurality of terminals; determining, based on the pieces of roaming capability information and the roaming fingerprints of the plurality of terminals, roaming sub-policies respectively corresponding to different values of each piece of roaming capability information of the first terminal [Figs. 4-6, Sections 0167, 0234, 0403, 0435, 0554: Furthermore, threshold is a condition for switching (roaming) the communication path; the information element, such as an OPI (offload preference indicator) with regard to the types 1 to 4 or a value that varies (i.e. different) from one policy to another stored as an information element. Furthermore, the UE(s) transmit identification (i.e. fingerprint) information for identifying the UE (s). At this time, capability information of the UE(s) indicating LTE and WLAN available access system (i.e. systems available for roaming). Furthermore, access ID is included in the routing rule (i.e. policy), the ANDSF-20 can cause the UE to switch the data transmission and reception that is identified with the IP flow also based on the ANDSF policy from the ANDSF-20. Moreover, the eNB transmit the policy to multiple terminals in a manner that performs the broadcasting],
determining, based on the roaming sub-policies respectively corresponding to the different values of each piece of roaming capability information of the first terminal, a plurality of roaming sub-policies corresponding to a third terminal in the plurality of terminals, wherein the third terminal is any terminal in the plurality of terminals [Figs. 5 (Depicts different sub-policies and values/threshold), Sections 0117, 0139, 0167, 0554: FIG. 5 illustrates ANDSF policy types, the UE is able to store and retain multiple ANDSF policies of different types. Included in the policy types are one or several pieces of information elements. Furthermore, threshold is a condition for switching (roaming) the communication path; the information element, such as an OPI (offload preference indicator) with regard to the types 1 to 4 or a value that varies (i.e. different) from one policy to another stored as an information element. Moreover, the eNB transmit the policy to multiple terminals in a manner that performs the broadcasting];
obtaining a roaming policy of the third terminal based on the plurality of roaming sub-policies corresponding to the third terminal; and associating the roaming policy of the third terminal with a device index of the third terminal, to obtain the correspondence between the device index and the roaming policy [Sections 0139, 0234, 0251, 0554: Included in the types are one or several pieces of information elements. Furthermore, the UE transmit identification information for identifying the UE. Additionally, receive the UE identification information and the IP address that is allocated to the UE. Moreover, the eNB transmit the policy to multiple terminals in a manner that performs the broadcasting].
As to Claim 16. Enomoto discloses the method of claim 12, wherein the device index comprises at least one of a device model or a media access control (MAC) address [Sections 0234, 0251: Furthermore, the UE transmit identification information for identifying the UE. Additionally, receive the UE identification information and the IP address that is allocated to the UE].
As to Claim 17. Enomoto discloses the method of claim 10, the method further comprising: sending the roaming policy library to the gateway device [Figs. 2, 4-6, Sections 0184, 04057: More specifically, the contents of each element of the ANDSF policy may be created/updated by an administrator (i.e. network management device) for the home operator. The ANDSF-20 transmit ANDSF policy for the UE which is stored in the ANDSF policy-242 (i.e. library), and multiple policies are included].
As to Claim 18. Enomoto discloses a terminal [i.e. UE/User Equipment] roaming control apparatus, comprising [Abstract, 0097: Provided are a communication control method in which selection by a terminal of an access network is controlled using a policy for selecting an access network. A case, where the UE receives the policy from a home mobile operation that is a roaming destination]:
a processor [Control Unit-100]; and a non-transitory memory [Storage Unit-140] coupled to the processor and storing program instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the terminal roaming control apparatus to [Figs. 3, 6, Sections 0083-0084, 0178: The UE includes a storage unit-140 connected to a control unit-100 through a bus. The control unit realizes various processing operations by reading and executing various programs that are stored in the storage unit. The ANDSF includes control unit and a storage unit]:
obtain a roaming [i.e. Roaming/Switch/Handoff(over)] policy library [Figs. 3, 4-6 (Depicts Tables/storage (i.e. library) of Policies), Sections 0009, 0405, 0687: The UE notified by the ANDSF, of the ANDSF policy determines in a case where the ANDSF policy is applied, switches (i.e. roam) to that access system. The ANDSF-20 transmit ANDSF policy for the UE which is stored in the ANDSF policy-242 (i.e. library), and multiple policies are included. More precisely, depending on the availability of the roaming that is included in the ANDSF policy from the ANDSF-20, the UE can switch the access system. Noted: ANDSF apparatus associated with path between UE and PDN and acts as a relay/gateway see sections (0053, 0116, 0240)];
obtain, based on the roaming policy library, a first roaming policy matching a first terminal, wherein the first terminal is a terminal communicatively connected to the terminal roaming control apparatus [Figs. 3, 4-6 (Depicts Tables/storage (i.e. library) of Policies), Sections 0401-0402, 0405, 0687: The UE transmit a control message for establishing a secure communication path (i.e. connection) to the ANDSF-20. When ensuring the secure communication path between the UE and the ANDSF-20, the UE 10 transmits a request for the access network information to the ANDSF. The ANDSF-20 transmit ANDSF policy for the UE which is stored in the ANDSF policy-242 (i.e. library). Depending on the availability of the roaming that is included in the ANDSF policy, the UE can switch the access system];
and control the first terminal to roam according to the first roaming policy [Figs. 3, 4-6, Sections 0176, 0226, 0687-0688: Furthermore, the UE store approval information that differs from one policy to another; for example, where two ANDSF policies are stored, for the first policy, the approval information 1 value may be stored as being approved. Accordingly, the UE switches (i.e. roam) a communication path using the UE policy is described. Furthermore, the enabling of the roaming, the ANDSF-20 can cause (i.e. control) the UE to execute the policy and to switch the access system. The ANDSF 20 can cause the UE to execute the policy and to switch the access system, that is indicated, and included in the ANDSF policy from the ANDSF].
As to Claim 19. Enomoto discloses the apparatus of claim 18, wherein the roaming policy library comprises roaming sub-policies respectively corresponding to different values of each piece of roaming capability information of the first terminal; and wherein the program instructions, when executed by the processor, further cause the terminal roaming control apparatus to: determine, based on the roaming sub-policies respectively corresponding to the different values of each piece of roaming capability information of the first terminal, a plurality of roaming sub-policies corresponding to the first terminal; and obtain the first roaming policy based on the plurality of roaming sub-policies corresponding to the first terminal [Figs. 3, 6, and See Claim 2 rejection because both claims have similar subject matter therefore similar rejection applies herein].
As to Claim 20. Enomoto discloses the apparatus of claim 18, wherein the roaming policy library comprises a correspondence between a device index and a roaming policy; and wherein the program instructions, when executed by the processor, further cause the terminal roaming control apparatus to: obtain a device index of the first terminal; and determine, based on the correspondence between the device index and the roaming policy, the first roaming policy corresponding to the device index of the first terminal. [Fig. 3, 6, and See Claim 7 rejection because both claims have similar subject matter therefore similar rejection applies herein].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2. Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ENOMOTO et al. US 20180063778 hereafter Enomoto in view of Mildh et al. US 20170180997 hereafter Mildh.
As to Claim 13. Enomoto discloses the method of claim 12, wherein the determining the pieces of roaming capability information of the plurality of terminals based on the device information and the roaming behavior [i.e. capability] records of the plurality of terminals comprises [Figs. 4-6, Sections 0234, 0403, 0435, 0554: Furthermore, the UE(s) transmit identification information for identifying the UE (s). At this time, capability information of the UE(s) indicating LTE and WLAN available access system (i.e. systems available for roaming). Furthermore, access ID is included in the routing rule (i.e. policy), the ANDSF-20 can cause the UE to switch (i.e. roam) the data transmission and reception that is identified with the IP flow also based on the ANDSF policy from the ANDSF-20. Moreover, the eNB transmit the policy to multiple terminals in a manner that performs the broadcasting],
sending an instruction to the gateway device, wherein the instruction instructs the gateway device to control [Sections 0008, 0687, 01348: Furthermore, ANDSF is used as a procedure in which the UE switches to the access system; the ANDSF detecting and selecting one access system from among multiple access systems. Furthermore, the enabling of the roaming, the ANDSF-20 can cause (i.e. control) the UE to execute the policy and to switch the access system. The functions are realized by performing processing in conjunction with instructions], when signal strength of the second terminal is less than a threshold, the second terminal to disconnect a network; and if the second terminal switches successfully after disconnecting the network, determining that the roaming behavior of the second terminal after the switching is normal roaming [Sections 0136, 0453, 0457: Furthermore, information for the UE (or a UE) to determine switching depending on Reference Signal Received Power (RSRP), Reference Signal Received Quality (RSRQ) and that in the case of the received power that is lower (i.e. less) than the RSRP, a connection to the WLAN access network is made. The RSRP is included in the threshold in the RAN policy, in response to the RSRP, cause the UE to switch. At this point, in a case where the threshold is included in the ANDSF policy and the threshold is included in the RAN policy],
Enomoto does not explicitly state determining, based on at least one of the device information or the roaming behavior records of the plurality of terminals, a second terminal in the plurality of terminals that does not support a fast roaming agreement; and determining, in the following manner, a roaming behavior in pieces of roaming capability information of the second terminal after switching: if the second terminal is still connected to an original access device, determining that the roaming behavior of the second terminal after the switching is a roaming behavior of a sticky terminal; or if the second terminal cannot normally access the network, determining that an access problem exists in the roaming behavior of the second terminal after the switching.
However, Mildh teaches determining, based on at least one of the device information or the roaming behavior records of the plurality of terminals [Sections 0050, 0057: The Inter-System Mobility Policies (ISMP) guide the UE to select the most preferable 3GPP access and ISMP are used for UEs (i.e. terminals) and specifies the behavior of UEs. In order to get a consistent behavior for roaming UEs which receive ANDSF policies from their home operator, it would be required different OPI values, information about the usage of OPI within the network of operator provided as part of Service Layer Agreements (SLAs) between operators],
a second terminal in the plurality of terminals [Section 0151: In various embodiments a second category of communication devices comprises communication devices in a roaming state] that does not support a fast roaming agreement [Section 0074: Offloading or roaming based on mobility patterns in which a terminal move slowly and not fast]; and determining, in the following manner, a roaming behavior in pieces of roaming capability information of the second terminal after switching: if the second terminal is still connected to an original access device, determining that the roaming behavior of the second terminal after the switching is a roaming behavior of a sticky terminal; or if the second terminal cannot normally access the network, determining that an access problem exists in the roaming behavior of the second terminal after the switching [Sections 0036, 0084, 0096, 0102: A network for a UE that has a subscription; the UE may roam between different networks and may have a roaming agreement with the operator of the visited network. There is a risk of faulty and/or unwanted terminal behavior in such cases, e.g., arising from a terminal incorrectly interpreting the bitstring. The network makes sure that UEs which are roaming receives ANDSF policies associated with the OPI. The UE checks if it is roaming or not, e.g. by checking the current PLMN ID of the network or operator].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to have combined the methods/systems of Enomoto relating to comparing the signal strength with a threshold for making a roaming determination; when terminals roams they disconnect from one network and connect to another network, capability/behavior of UEs/terminal are used for roaming with the teaching of Mildh relating to behavior of roaming UEs (includes second terminal) and UEs can determine risk or faulty (i.e. problems) with access network, and ability to receive ANDSF policies. By combining the method/systems, the UEs (either first or second terminals/UE) can determine roaming behaviors, determine problems and perform roaming/switching of networks based on policies and roaming agreements/contracts.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record Qiao et al. US 20230007556 and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Furthermore, each additional prior arts cited on PTO-892 but not applied in rejection contains a disclosed description related to the claimed subject matter found either in the Figures, description summary and/or disclosure.
April 14, 2026
/JAEL M ULYSSE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477