Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: “a tab 644” mentioned on page 5, paragraph [0044], line before last. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 is generally vague and indefinite for the reason that applicant inferentially claims that a gap is between a wider width server rack and the standard width server type information handling system. There’s insufficient structure recited to define the existence of a gap. Claims 2-6 are also rejected as dependent from rejected claim 1.
With respect to claim 2, the following lack proper antecedent basis; “the left rail bracket assembly” on line 4 and “the right rail bracket assembly” on line 9.
Additionally, claim 2 is vague and indefinite in the recitations of “the left rail front wall component and the left rail rear wall component providing the left rail bracket assembly with the width designed to fill the portion of the gap between the wider width server rack and the standard width information handling system” since the left rail front wall component (320, figure 3) and the left rail rear wall component (322) DOES NOT provide the left rail bracket assembly with the width designed to fill the portion of the gap between the wider width server rack and the standard width information handling system. Such width is defining gap is between “the left rail front and rear wall components” and the server (314, figure 3) or between “the right rail front and rear wall components” and the server (314, figure 3). Claim 3 is rejected since it depends from rejected claim 2. The same issues are found in claims 8 and 14 which recites the same limitations as claim 2.
The metes and bounds of claim 5 is vague and indefinite in the recitation “the power bracket assembly facilitating connection of the information handling system with a server rack power source”. The recitation positively recites connection of the information handling system with a server rack power source which is not commensurate with claim 1 from which claim 5 depends where the information handling system is recited as intended use (see claim 1, lines 1-2) which is not a positively claim component per se. Thus it is unclear whether or not claim 5 is claiming the combination of information handling system and a server rack power source with the mounting width conversion bracket system. The same issues are found in claims 11 and 17 which recites the same limitations as claim 5.
With respect to claim 7, “a wider width server rack” is vague and indefinite as to “wider” than what element. Claims 8-12 are rejected since they depend from rejected claim 7. Additionally, Claim 7 is generally vague and indefinite for the reason that applicant inferentially claims that a gap is between a wider width server rack and the standard width server type information handling system. There’s insufficient structure recited to define the existence of a gap.
Claim 13 is generally vague and indefinite for the reason that applicant inferentially claims that a gap is between a wider width server rack and the standard width server type information handling system. There’s insufficient structure recited to define the existence of a gap. Claims 14-18 are also rejected since they depend from rejected claim 13.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-7, 10-13, 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by White et al (US Patent no. 11044827).
With respect to claim 1, White discloses a mounting width conversion bracket system (100) for a server type information handling system, comprising: a left rail adapter assembly (151, figure 1), the left rail adapter assembly having a width designed to fill a left portion of a gap between a wider width server rack (OCP rack) and a standard width information handling system (19 inch rack, White discloses in column 3, lines 22-26, “Embodiments of the 19 inch Server Adapter for an OCP (Open Compute Project) open rack described herein are expected to allow use of 19 inch gear in 21 inch rack, or similar techniques may be applied to adapt between other formats”, the gap is provided during the “use of 19 inch gear in 21 inch rack” discussed in White); and, a right rail adapter assembly (150, figure 1), the right rail adapter assembly (150) having a width designed to fill a right portion of the gap between the wider width server rack and the standard width information handling system.
With respect to claim 4, White discloses the mounting width conversion bracket system of claim 1, wherein the left rail adapter assembly (151, figure 1) includes a left rail outside wall component (126, figure 1) and a left rail inside wall component (127, figure 2), the left rail outside wall component (126) and the left rail inside wall component (127) extending substantially parallel; and the right rail adapter assembly (150, figure 1) includes a right rail outside wall component (124, figure 1) and a right rail inside wall component (123, figure 1), the right rail outside wall component (124) and the right rail inside wall component (123) extending substantially parallel.
With respect to claim 5, White discloses the mounting width conversion bracket system of claim 1, further comprising: a power connector bracket assembly (129, 130, or 360, figure 3) extending between the left rail adapter assembly (150) and the right rail adapter assembly (151), the power bracket assembly facilitating connection of the information handling system with a server rack power source (column 7, lines 7-27).
With respect to claim 6, White discloses the mounting width conversion bracket system of claim 5, wherein the power connector bracket assembly includes a busbar clip (130 or 330).
With respect to claim 7, White discloses a server rack comprising: a wider width server rack (the OCP rack as discussed in claim 1 above and in White in column 3, lines 22-26) , the wider width server rack including a left rack component and a right rack component; and, a mounting width conversion bracket system (100) for a standard width server type information handling system (19 inch rack discussed in claim 1), comprising: a left rail adapter assembly (151, figure 1), the left rail adapter assembly having a width designed to fill a left portion of a gap between the wider width server rack and the standard width server type information handling system (see claim 1 discussion above regarding the gap); and a right rail adapter assembly (150, figure 1), the right rail adapter assembly having a width designed to fill a right portion of the gap between the wider width server rack and the standard width server type information handling system (see claim 1 discussion above regarding the gap).
With respect to claim 10, White discloses the mounting width conversion bracket system of claim 7, wherein the left rail adapter assembly (151, figure 1) includes a left rail outside wall component (126, figure 1) and a left rail inside wall component (127, figure 2), the left rail outside wall component (126) and the left rail inside wall component (127) extending substantially parallel; and the right rail adapter assembly (150, figure 1) includes a right rail outside wall component (124, figure 1) and a right rail inside wall component (123, figure 1), the right rail outside wall component (124) and the right rail inside wall component (123) extending substantially parallel.
With respect to claim 11, White discloses the mounting width conversion bracket system of claim 7, further comprising: a power connector bracket assembly (129, 130, or 360, figure 3) extending between the left rail adapter assembly (150) and the right rail adapter assembly (151), the power bracket assembly facilitating connection of the information handling system with a server rack power source (column 7, lines 7-27).
With respect to claim 12, White discloses the mounting width conversion bracket system of claim 11, wherein the power connector bracket assembly includes a busbar clip (130 or 330).
With respect to claim 13, White discloses a rack mounting environment comprising: a standard width information handling system chassis (to be placed in the area 122, figure 1); and a mounting width conversion bracket system (100) comprising:a left rail adapter assembly (151, figure 1), the left rail adapter assembly having a width designed to fill a left portion of a gap (see claim 1 discussion above regarding the gap) between a wider width server rack (OCP rack discussed in claim 1) and the standard width server type information handling system (19 inch as discussed in claim 1); and a right rail adapter assembly (150, figure 1), the right rail adapter assembly having a width designed to fill a right portion of the gap between the wider width server rack and the standard width server type information handling system (see claim 1 discussion above regarding the gap).
With respect to claim 17, White discloses the mounting width conversion bracket system of claim 13, further comprising: a power connector bracket assembly (129, 130, or 360, figure 3) extending between the left rail adapter assembly (150) and the right rail adapter assembly (151), the power bracket assembly facilitating connection of the information handling system with a server rack power source (column 7, lines 7-27).
With respect to claim 18, White discloses the mounting width conversion bracket system of claim 13, wherein the power connector bracket assembly includes a busbar clip (130 or 330).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 3, 8, 9, and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over White in view of Carver et al (US Pub. No. 20210051814)
With respect to claim 2, White discloses the mounting width conversion bracket system of claim 1 as discussed above except for wherein: the left rail adapter assembly includes a left rail front wall component and a left rail rear wall component, the left rail front wall component and the left rail rear wall component providing the left rail bracket assembly with the width designed to fill the portion of the gap between the wider width server rack and the standard width information handling system; and, the right rail adapter assembly includes a right rail front wall component and a right rail rear wall component, the right rail front wall component and the let rail rear wall component providing the right rail bracket assembly with the width designed to fill the portion of the gap between the wider width server rack and the standard width information handling system.
Carver teaches in a conventional rack support for computing devices comprising : the left rail adapter assembly includes a left rail front wall component (LF, SEE EXAMINER’S MARKUP ABOVE) and a left rail rear wall component (LR), the left rail front wall component and the left rail rear wall component providing the left rail bracket assembly (LB) with the width designed to fill the portion of the gap between the wider width server rack and the standard width information handling system; and, the right rail adapter assembly includes a right rail front wall component (RF) and a right rail rear wall component (RR), the right rail front wall component and the let rail rear wall component providing the right rail bracket assembly (RB) with the width designed to fill the portion of the gap between the wider width server rack and the standard width information handling system.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to have mounted the mounting width conversion bracket system of White to the conventional rack assembly wherein the left rail adapter assembly includes a left rail front wall component and a left rail rear wall component, the left rail front wall component and the left rail rear wall component providing the left rail bracket assembly with the width designed to fill the portion of the gap between the wider width server rack and the standard width information handling system; and, the right rail adapter assembly includes a right rail front wall component and a right rail rear wall component, the right rail front wall component and the let rail rear wall component providing the right rail bracket assembly with the width designed to fill the portion of the gap between the wider width server rack and the standard width information handling system as demonstrated by Carver.
With respect to claim 3, White and Carver combined discloses the mounting width conversion bracket system of claim 2 as discussed above, wherein Carver further teaches the left rail front wall component (LF) comprises a left bracket assembly server attachment feature (apertures on LF); and the right rail front wall component (RF) comprises a right bracket assembly server attachment feature (apertures on RF).
Claims 8 and 14 depending from 7 and 13 recites the exact limitation as claim 2. For the sake of brevity, applicant is directed to refer to claim 2 discussion above.
Claims 9 and 15 depending from 8 and 14 recites the exact limitation as claim 3. For the sake of brevity, applicant is directed to refer to claim 3 discussion above.
With respect to claim 16, White and Carver combined discloses the mounting width conversion bracket system of claim 14, wherein White further discloses the left rail adapter assembly (151, figure 1) includes a left rail outside wall component (126, figure 1) and a left rail inside wall component (127, figure 2), the left rail outside wall component (126) and the left rail inside wall component (127) extending substantially parallel; and the right rail adapter assembly (150, figure 1) includes a right rail outside wall component (124, figure 1) and a right rail inside wall component (123, figure 1), the right rail outside wall component (124) and the right rail inside wall component (123) extending substantially parallel.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The remaining prior art of record demonstrate computer racks of interest.
/Ko H Chan/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3631
Khc