DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections – 35 USC§ 103
Claims 1-3, 9-11, 13 and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Westerberg et al (US 2024/0291733 A1) in view of Young et al(US 2022/0124547 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 9, Westerberg ‘733 teaches, a system ([0063]-[0064] and Figs. 2, 4-5, communication system 10), the system comprising: a network slice controller including at least one electronic processor configured to perform operations([0008], [0018], [0064] and Figs. 2, 4-5, communication system 10 comprising processor 38 which includes intent handler 24 for controlling partitioning of common radio resource (Fig. 2, slicing limit)), the operations comprising: determining that one or more reduced capability devices are using a network slice([0008], [0017], and Figs. 2, 4-5, fixed wireless access (FWA) device or an IoT device including wireless device (WD) capable of machine to machine communication (M2M), low-cost and/or low-complexity WD( reduced capability devices) sharing the common pool of frequency resources with the mobile broadband(MBB) devices(Fig. 2 slicing)); and
reducing a radio resource partitioning (RRP) ratio of the one or more reduced capability devices to non-reduced capability devices ([0008], [0092] and Figs. 2, 8, changing the RRP ratio of FWA to MBB devices by allocating more resources for MBB devices (e.g. increasing the allocation from 60% to 70%) which in turn decreases FWA to MBB ratio as MBB increases). Westerberg ‘733 further teaches, determining that a spectral efficiency of the network slice (common frequency resource) has dropped below a spectral efficiency threshold ([0018], [0091] and Figs. 2, 8, setting a target value for any measurable communication parameter in the communication system related to the performance/usage of the common resource pool (spectral efficiency) by the FWA and MBB devices, and detecting when a measured intent value is below the target values).
Westerberg ‘733 does not explicitly teach, a spectral efficiency of the network slice.
Young ‘547 teaches, a spectral efficiency of the network slice ([0051], [0052], estimating carrier spectral efficiency for a network slice).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication system of Westerberg ‘733 by incorporating the teaching of Young ‘547, since such modification would enable to automat network slice admission control in an orchestration framework for a wireless communication network to efficiently meet SLAs, assure performance, and enable on-demand rapid service offering and deployment of network slices, as suggested by Young ‘547([0017]).
Regarding claims 2 and 10, the combination of Westerberg ‘733 and Young ‘547 teaches all of the claim limitations, Westerberg ‘733 further teaches, monitoring a service level of the one or more reduced capability devices ([0092], [0092], [0096] and Figs. 2, 5, 8, intent handler monitors service level for both MBB and FWA devices); and
upon determining that the service level of the one or more reduced capability devices has dropped below a service level threshold, increasing the RRP ratio of the one or more reduced capability devices to non-reduced capability devices ([0092], [0092], [0096] and Figs. 2, 5, 8, intent handler monitors service level for both MBB and FWA devices and when a service level value is below a target value it provides new configuration value for the RRP ratio (e.g. 60% to 70%)).
Regarding claims 3, 11 and 17, the combination of Westerberg ‘733 and Young ‘547 teaches all of the claim limitations, Westerberg ‘733 further teaches, wherein the service level threshold is 5 Mbps([0009], [0088] and Fig. 2, the RRP ratio is configurable between 0% and 100% [0009] to correspond to throughput target value(intent metrics) such as the example provided “no less than 2 Mbps” [0088], thus Westerberg ‘733 target value for FWA devices could be configured to 5 Mbps by varying the RRP ratio).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Westerberg ‘733 and Young ‘547 teaches all of the claim limitations, Westerberg ‘733 further teaches, wherein reducing the RRP ratio of the one or more reduced capability devices to non-reduced capability devices comprises setting the RRP ratio to 5% reduced capability devices and 95% non-reduced capability devices( [0009], [0088] and Fig. 2, the RRP ratio is configurable between 0% and 100% [0009] to correspond to throughput target value(intent metrics) such as the example provided “no less than 2 Mbps” [0088]).
Regarding claim 15, Westerberg ‘733 teaches, a method of improving spectral efficiency([0008], [0091], [0092] and Figs. 2, 4-5, efficient usage of radio frequency resources disclosed), the method comprising: monitoring a service level of one or more reduced capability devices using a network slice([0092], [0092], [0096] and Figs. 2, 5, 8, intent handler monitors service level for FWA devices within the common pool of frequency resources (Fig. 2 slicing)); incrementally reducing a radio resource partitioning (RRP) ratio of the one or more reduced capability devices to non-reduced capability devices until the service level of the one or more reduced capability devices decreases to a service level threshold([0008],[0088], [0092] and Figs. 2, 8, changing the RRP ratio of FWA to MBB devices by allocating more resources for MBB devices (e.g. increasing the allocation from 60% to 70%) which in turn decreases FWA to MBB ratio as MBB increases, until throughput target value(intent metrics) reaches the 2 Mbps [0088]), Westerberg ‘733 further teaches, determining that a spectral efficiency of the network slice(common frequency resource) has dropped below a spectral efficiency threshold ([0018], [0091] and Figs. 2, 8, setting a target value for any measurable communication parameter in the communication system related to the performance/usage of the common resource pool (spectral efficiency) by the FWA and MBB devices, and detecting when a measured intent value is below the target values).
Westerberg ‘733 does not explicitly teach, a spectral efficiency of the network slice.
Young ‘547 teaches, a spectral efficiency of the network slice ([0051], [0052], estimating carrier spectral efficiency for a network slice).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication system of Westerberg ‘733 by incorporating the teaching of Young ‘547, since such modification would enable to automat network slice admission control in an orchestration framework for a wireless communication network to efficiently meet SLAs, assure performance, and enable on-demand rapid service offering and deployment of network slices, as suggested by Young ‘547([0017]).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Westerberg ‘733 and Young ‘547 teaches all of the claim limitations, Westerberg ‘733 further teaches, wherein an increment for decreasing the RRP ratio of the one or more reduced capability devices to non-reduced capability devices is by 5%( [0009], [0088] and Fig. 2, the RRP ratio is configurable between 0% and 100% [0009] to correspond to throughput target value(intent metrics) such as the example provided “no less than 2 Mbps” [0088], thus Westerberg ‘733 RRP could be reduced in 5% increment based on operators configuration).
Claims 4, 12 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Westerberg ‘733 and Young ‘547 as applied to claims above, and further in view of Murray et al (US 2023/0156583 A1).
Regarding claims 4, 12 and 18, the combination of Westerberg ‘733 and Young ‘547 teaches all of the claim limitations, Westerberg ‘733 further teaches, the method further comprising: monitoring a service level of the one or more reduced capability devices([0092], [0092], [0096] and Figs. 2, 5, 8, intent handler monitors service level for both MBB and FWA devices).
Young ‘547, monitoring a usage level of the network slice([0019], [0051], estimating resource load and projected resource load of the network slice); and upon determining that the usage level of the network slice is above a saturation threshold([0054], [0055] comparing the total resource load to the total capacity to determine if the satisfy admission criteria)
and the service level of the one or more reduced capability devices is below a service level threshold([0017], [0055], determining whether the network can meet service level agreement and identifying if resources are not sufficient to meet the required performance).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication system of Westerberg ‘733 by incorporating the teaching of Young ‘547, since such modification would enable to automat network slice admission control in an orchestration framework for a wireless communication network to efficiently meet SLAs, assure performance, and enable on-demand rapid service offering and deployment of network slices, as suggested by Young ‘547([0017]).
The combination of Westerberg ‘733 and Young ‘547 does not explicitly teach, offloading one or more of the reduced capability devices to a second network slice.
Murray ‘583 teaches, offloading one or more of the reduced capability devices to a second network slice([0089], [0202], [0209], the network offloading UEs including RedCap UEs from one network slice to another network slice).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combined communication system of Westerberg ‘733 and Young ‘547, by incorporating the teaching of Murray ‘583, since such modification would provide mechanisms to allow a UE to quickly and efficiently determine the slice(s) available in a cell, as suggested by Murray ‘583([0055]).
Claims 5-8, 14, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Westerberg ‘733 and Young ‘547 as applied to claims above, and further in view of Lei et al(US 2023/0036057 A1).
Regarding claims 5, 14 and 19, the combination of Westerberg ‘733 and Young ‘547 teaches all of the claim limitations except, wherein the one or more reduced capability devices have a downlink limited to a maximum of 2 MIMO layers.
Lei ‘057 teaches, wherein the one or more reduced capability devices have a downlink limited to a maximum of 2 MIMO layers ([0054], [0074], [0095] and Fig. 2, a NR RedCap UE may have only one or two reception antennas).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combined communication system of Westerberg ‘733 and Young ‘547, by incorporating the teaching of Lei ‘057, since such modification would provide a user equipment (UE) that includes determining a configuration from stored configuration information, where the configuration specifies a subset of features that a new radio (NR) UE with reduced capabilities is to support, and communicating according to the configuration, as suggested by Lei ‘057( [0006]).
Regarding claims 6 and 20, the combination of Westerberg ‘733 and Young ‘547 teaches all of the claim limitations except, wherein the one or more reduced capability devices have a maximum bandwidth of 20 MHz.
Lei ‘057 teaches, wherein the one or more reduced capability devices have a maximum bandwidth of 20 MHz ([0095], [0096], NR RedCap UE, wearables and surveillance cameras may support a maximum bandwidth (DL or UP) of 20 Mhz).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combined communication system of Westerberg ‘733 and Young ‘547, by incorporating the teaching of Lei ‘057, since such modification would provide a user equipment (UE) that includes determining a configuration from stored configuration information, where the configuration specifies a subset of features that a new radio (NR) UE with reduced capabilities is to support, and communicating according to the configuration, as suggested by Lei ‘057( [0006]).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Westerberg ‘733 and Young ‘547 teaches all of the claim limitations except, wherein the one or more reduced capability devices have a maximum downlink modulation order of 64 QAM.
Lei ’057 teaches, wherein the one or more reduced capability devices have a maximum downlink modulation order of 64 QAM([0091], [0096], NR RedCap UE may support a modulation order less than 64 QAM).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combined communication system of Westerberg ‘733 and Young ‘547, by incorporating the teaching of Lei ‘057, since such modification would provide a user equipment (UE) that includes determining a configuration from stored configuration information, where the configuration specifies a subset of features that a new radio (NR) UE with reduced capabilities is to support, and communicating according to the configuration, as suggested by Lei ‘057( [0006]).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Westerberg ‘733 and Young ‘547 teaches all of the claim limitations except, wherein the one or more reduced capability devices have a maximum uplink modulation order of 64 QAM.
Lei ’057 teaches, wherein the one or more reduced capability devices have a maximum uplink modulation order of 64 QAM([0091], [0096], NR RedCap UE may support a modulation order less than 64 QAM for uplink).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combined communication system of Westerberg ‘733 and Young ‘547, by incorporating the teaching of Lei ‘057, since such modification would provide a user equipment (UE) that includes determining a configuration from stored configuration information, where the configuration specifies a subset of features that a new radio (NR) UE with reduced capabilities is to support, and communicating according to the configuration, as suggested by Lei ‘057( [0006]).
Internet Communications
Applicant is encouraged to submit a written authorization for Internet communications (PTO/SB/439, which can be found: http://www.uspto.gov/sites/default/files/documents/sb0439.pdf) in the instant patent application to authorize the examiner to communicate with the applicant via email. The authorization will allow the examiner to better practice compact prosecution. The written authorization can be submitted via one of the following methods only: (1) Central Fax which can be found in the Conclusion section of this Office action; (2) regular postal mail; or (3) EFS WEB. Written authorization submitted via other methods, such as direct fax to the examiner or email, will not be accepted. See MPEP § 502.03.
/AWET HAILE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2474