DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 05/22/2026 have been fully considered but they are moot and not persuasive for the following reasons.
Moot: because claims 1-2, 4-5, 7, 12-13, 15 and 19 are currently amended with the new features and limitations and new set of claims 21-31, thus it necessitates a new ground of rejection.
Not persuasive: because Liu teaches the followings:
receiving a first signal (Liu, Figure 2, pp [75]-[76]: a base station also sends synchronization signals, e.g., primary synchronization signals PSS or secondary synchronization signals SSS, in combination with wake-up signals WUS to ensure sufficient synchronization performance; Fig. 3, pp [83]-[85]: a UE 115 is configured to receive a WUS occasion 303);
receiving a second signal based on the first signal, wherein the second signal is a wake-up signal (WUS) (Liu, Figure 2, pp [75]-[76]: a base station also sends synchronization signals, e.g., primary synchronization signals PSS or secondary synchronization signals SSS, in combination with wake-up signals WUS to ensure sufficient synchronization performance; Fig. 3, pp [83]-[85]: a UE 115 is configured to receive a WUS occasion 303); and
in response to not receiving the first signal in a first time period, receiving a third signal, wherein the third signal is any one of a paging early indication (PEI) or a paging physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) (Liu, Fig. 3, pp [83]-[85]: in regarding of a missed WUS 325, the UE wakes up from a sleep state to receive paging information 320-a).
Liu teaches from Figure 2, pp [75]-[76] that a base station send data and information messages to a UE in a downlink control channel via paging occasions Pos in periodic intervals. The messages comprise wake-up signals WUS that may serve to optimize power consumption at the UE before wakes up from sleep mode to receive paging messages. The base station also sends synchronization signals, e.g., primary synchronization signals PSS or secondary synchronization signals SSS, in combination with wake-up signals WUS to ensure sufficient synchronization performance (Liu, Figure 2, pp [76]). Therefore, Liu teaches and suggests of the argued limitations and features, i.e., “receiving a first signal, receiving a second signal based on the first signal, wherein the second signal is a wake-up signal (WUS)”
Liu further teaches from Figure 3, pp [83]-[85], that the UE is configured to monitor in the downlink channel PDCCH or PDSCH for wake-up signals 315 and paging information 320. Liu clearly teaches the situation where the UE however may miss detecting the wake-up signal WUS 325, the UE still proceed to wake up from a sleep state to receive a paging information 320-a (Liu, Fig. 3, pp [85]). Therefore, Liu teaches and discloses the argued limitations and features above, i.e., “in response to not receiving the first signal in a first time period, receiving a third signal, wherein the third signal is any one of a paging early indication (PEI) or a paging physical downlink control channel (PDCCH)”.
As such, the argued features and limitations were written such that they read upon the cited reference Liu as explained in the above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, 7, 12-13, 21-24 and 26-31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Liu et al. (Pub. No. US 2019/0150094).
Regarding claim 1, (Currently Amended) Liu teaches a communication method (Liu, the Abstract), comprising:
receiving a first signal (Liu, Figure 2, pp [75]-[76]: a base station also sends synchronization signals, e.g., primary synchronization signals PSS or secondary synchronization signals SSS, in combination with wake-up signals WUS to ensure sufficient synchronization performance; Fig. 3, pp [83]-[85]: a UE 115 is configured to receive a WUS occasion 303);
receiving a second signal based on the first signal, wherein the second signal is a wake-up signal (WUS) (Liu, Figure 2, pp [75]-[76]: a base station also sends synchronization signals, e.g., primary synchronization signals PSS or secondary synchronization signals SSS, in combination with wake-up signals WUS to ensure sufficient synchronization performance; Fig. 3, pp [83]-[85]: a UE 115 is configured to receive a WUS occasion 303); and
in response to not receiving the first signal in a first time period, receiving a third signal, wherein the third signal is any one of a paging early indication (PEI) or a paging physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) (Liu, Fig. 3, pp [83]-[85]: in regarding of a missed WUS 325, the UE wakes up from a sleep state to receive paging information 320-a).
Regarding claim 15. (Currently Amended) Liu teaches a communication apparatus (Liu, the Abstract), comprising
a processor, configured to execute a computer program or instructions stored in a memory to cause the processor to perform operations (Liu, Fig. 2, pp [16]), comprising:
receiving a first signal (Liu, Figure 2, pp [75]-[76]: a base station also sends synchronization signals, e.g., primary synchronization signals PSS or secondary synchronization signals SSS, in combination with wake-up signals WUS to ensure sufficient synchronization performance; Fig. 3, pp [83]-[85]: a UE 115 is configured to receive a WUS occasion 303);
receiving a second signal based on the first signal, wherein the second signal is a wake-up signal (WUS) (Liu, Figure 2, pp [75]-[76]: a base station also sends synchronization signals, e.g., primary synchronization signals PSS or secondary synchronization signals SSS, in combination with wake-up signals WUS to ensure sufficient synchronization performance; Fig. 3, pp [83]-[85]: a UE 115 is configured to receive a WUS occasion 303); and
in response to not receiving the first signal in a first time period, receiving a third signal, wherein the third signal is any one of a paging early indication (PEI) or a paging physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) (Liu, Fig. 3, pp [83]-[85]: in regarding of a missed WUS 325, the UE wakes up from a sleep state to receive paging information 320-a).
Regarding claim 19. (Currently Amended) Liu teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, wherein the computer-readable storage medium stores a computer program or instructions, and in response to the computer program or the instructions being run on a computer (Liu, the Abstract), the computer is enabled to perform operations comprising:
receiving a first signal (Liu, Figure 2, pp [75]-[76]: a base station also sends synchronization signals, e.g., primary synchronization signals PSS or secondary synchronization signals SSS, in combination with wake-up signals WUS to ensure sufficient synchronization performance; Fig. 3, pp [83]-[85]: a UE 115 is configured to receive a WUS occasion 303);
receiving a second signal based on the first signal, wherein the second signal is a wake-up signal (WUS) (Liu, Figure 2, pp [75]-[76]: a base station also sends synchronization signals, e.g., primary synchronization signals PSS or secondary synchronization signals SSS, in combination with wake-up signals WUS to ensure sufficient synchronization performance; Fig. 3, pp [83]-[85]: a UE 115 is configured to receive a WUS occasion 303); and
in response to not receiving the first signal in a first time period, receiving a third signal, wherein the third signal is any one of a paging early indication (PEI) or a paging physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) (Liu, Fig. 3, pp [83]-[85]: in regarding of a missed WUS 325, the UE wakes up from a sleep state to receive paging information 320-a).
Regarding claim 2. (Currently Amended) Liu teaches the method according to claim 1, further comprising:
in response to receiving the second signal, receiving the third signal (Liu, Fig. 3, pp [83]-[85]: receiving multiple wake up signals; Fig. 4, pp [86]-[87]).
Regarding claim 4. (Currently Amended) Liu teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein:
a modulation scheme of the first signal is the same as a modulation scheme of the second signal (Liu, pp [66], [190]).
Regarding claim 7. (Currently Amended) Liu teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein:
the first signal that is a synchronization signal (Liu, pp [32], [55]-[56], [90]).
Regarding claim 12. (Currently Amended) Liu teaches the method according to claim 1, further comprising:
in response to signal quality of a serving cell in a fourth time period being greater than or equal to a second threshold (Liu, pp [11], [55]-[56], [90]).
Regarding claim 13. (Currently Amended) Liu teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein:
the second signal includes information about a terminal devices that need to receive paging, (Liu, Fig. 3, pp [83]-[85]; Fig. 4, pp [86]-[87]).
Regarding claim 21. (New) Liu teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the receiving the third signal in response to not receiving the first signal in the first time period comprises:
in response to energy of the first signal in the first time period being less than a first threshold, receiving the third signal (Liu, pp [11], [55]-[56], [90]).
Regarding claim 22. (New) Liu teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the receiving the second signal based on the first signal comprises:
in response to energy of the first signal in the first time period being greater than a fourth threshold, receiving the second signal (Liu, pp [11], [55]-[56], [90]).
Regarding claim 23. (New) Liu teaches the apparatus according to claim 15, the operations further comprises:
in response to receiving the second signal, receiving the third signal (Liu, Figure 2, pp [75]-[76]; and Fig. 3, pp [83]-[85]).
Regarding claim 24. (New) Liu teaches the apparatus according to claim 15, wherein a modulation scheme of the first signal is the same as a modulation scheme of the second signal (Liu, pp [66], [190]).
Regarding claim 26. (New) The apparatus according to claim 15, wherein the first signal is a synchronization signal (Liu, pp [32], [55]-[56], [90]).
Regarding claim 27. (New) Liu teaches the apparatus according to claim 15, the operations further comprise:
in response to signal quality of a serving cell in a fourth time period being greater than or equal to a second threshold, receiving the second signal (Liu, pp [11], [55]-[56], [90]).
Regarding claim 28. (New) Liu teaches the apparatus according to claim 15 wherein the second signal includes information about a terminal devices that need to receive paging (Liu, Figure 2, pp [75]-[76]).
Regarding claim 29. (New) Liu teaches the apparatus according to claim 15, wherein the receiving the third signal in response to not receiving the first signal in the first time period comprises:
in response to energy of the first signal in the first time period being less than a first threshold, receiving the third signal (Liu, pp [11], [55]-[56], [90]).
Regarding claim 30. (New) Liu teaches the apparatus according to claim 15, wherein the receiving the second signal based on the first signal comprises:
in response to energy of the first signal in the first time period being greater than a fourth threshold, receiving the second signal (Liu, pp [11], [55]-[56], [90]).
Regarding claim 31. (New) Liu teaches the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 19, wherein the first signal is a synchronization signal (Liu, pp [10]-[11], [32], [55]-[56], [90]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 and 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (Pub. No. US 2019/0150094) and further in view of Iyer et al. (Pub. US No. 2022/0039009).
Regarding claim 5. (Currently Amended) Liu does not teach the method according to claim 1, wherein:
the modulation scheme of the first signal and the modulation scheme of the second signal are on-off keying OOK.
Iyer teaches “the modulation scheme of the first signal and the modulation scheme of the second signal are on-off keying OOK” (Iyer, pp [167]-[169]: wake up signals are under OOK modulation schemed).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the affective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Liu by incorporating teachings of Iyer, method and system for power saving mechanism in new radio network wherein the method applies on-off keying signals as wake-up signal preambles to improve optimal power savings by reducing false wake-up alarms and maximizing bandwidth resources utilization in situation of resources limited with multiple UEs may share the same OOK.
Regarding claim 25. (New) Liu does not teach the apparatus according to claim 15, wherein the modulation scheme of the first signal and the modulation scheme of the second signal are on-off keying (OOK).
Iyer teaches “the modulation scheme of the first signal and the modulation scheme of the second signal are on-off keying OOK” (Iyer, pp [167]-[169]: wake up signals are under OOK modulation schemed).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the affective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Liu by incorporating teachings of Iyer, method and system for power saving mechanism in new radio network wherein the method applies on-off keying signals as wake-up signal preambles to improve optimal power savings by reducing false wake-up alarms and maximizing bandwidth resources utilization in situation of resources limited with multiple UEs may share the same OOK.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HUY C HO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2644