DETAILED ACTION
Preliminary Amendment Acknowledgement
The Preliminary Amendment filed on 03/01/2024 has been acknowledged and considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 and 6-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Liu et al. (Pub. No. US 2019/0150094).
Regarding claim 1, (Currently Amended) Liu teaches a communication method (Liu, the Abstract), comprising:
receiving a first signal (Liu, Fig. 4, pp [86]-[87]: wake up signal 403);
receiving a second signal based on the first signal, wherein the second signal indicates paging-related first information (Liu, Fig. 4, pp [86]-[87]: wake up signals are transmitted to a UE periodically in WUS periods to inform of paging information 420); and
in response to not receiving the first signal in a first time period, receiving a third signal, wherein the third signal indicates paging-related second information (Liu, Fig. 4, pp [86]-[87]: there is/are event(s) if missed wake up signal(s) then a new wake up signal is sent next).
Regarding claim 15. (Currently Amended) Liu teaches a communication apparatus (Liu, the Abstract), comprising
a processor, configured to execute a computer program or instructions stored in a memory to cause the processor to perform operations (Liu, Fig. 2, pp [16]), comprising:
receiving a first signal (Liu, Fig. 4, pp [86]-[87]: wake up signal 403);
receiving a second signal based on the first signal, wherein the second signal indicates paging-related first information (Liu, Fig. 4, pp [86]-[87]: wake up signals are transmitted to a UE periodically in WUS periods to inform of paging information 420); and
in response to not receiving the first signal in a first time period, receiving a third signal, wherein the third signal indicates paging-related second information (Liu, Fig. 4, pp [86]-[87]: there is/are event(s) if missed wake up signal(s) then a new wake up signal is sent next).
Regarding claim 19. (Currently Amended) Liu teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, wherein the computer-readable storage medium stores a computer program or instructions, and in response to the computer program or the instructions being run on a computer (Liu, the Abstract), the computer is enabled to perform operations comprising:
receiving a first signal (Liu, Fig. 4, pp [86]-[87]: wake up signal 403);
receiving a second signal based on the first signal, wherein the second signal indicates paging-related first information (Liu, Fig. 4, pp [86]-[87]: wake up signals are transmitted to a UE periodically in WUS periods to inform of paging information 420); and
in response to not receiving the first signal in a first time period, receiving a third signal, wherein the third signal indicates paging-related second information (Liu, Fig. 4, pp [86]-[87]: there is/are event(s) if missed wake up signal(s) then a new wake up signal is sent next).
Regarding claim 2. (Currently Amended) Liu teaches the method according to claim 1, further comprising:
in response to receiving the second signal in the first time period, receiving the third signal, or performing random access (Liu, Fig. 3, pp [83]-[85]: receiving multiple wake up signals; Fig. 4, pp [86]-[87]).
Regarding claim 3.(Currently Amended) Liu teaches the method according to claim 1, further comprising:
in response to receiving the first signal but not receiving the second signal in the first time period, receiving the second signal (Liu, Fig. 4, pp [86]-[87]: there is/are event(s) if missed wake up signal(s) then a new wake up signal is sent next).
Regarding claim 4. (Currently Amended) Liu teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the receiving the first signal and the receiving the second based on the first signal include:
receiving a waveform of the first signal that is the same as a waveform of the second signal, and/or receiving a modulation scheme of the first signal that is the same as a modulation scheme of the second signal (Liu, pp [53], [65]-[66], [96]).
Regarding claim 6. (Currently Amended) Liu teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the receiving the first signal and the receiving the second based on the first signal include:
receiving the first signal transmitted at a first frequency location, and receiving the second signal transmitted at a second frequency location (Liu, pp [65], [69]-[71]);
wherein the first frequency location is the same as the second frequency location, or the first frequency location is different from the second frequency location (Liu, pp [65], [69]-[71]).
Regarding claim 7. (Currently Amended) Liu teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the receiving the first signal includes receiving:
the first signal that is a tracking area specific signal (Liu, Fig. 3, pp [83]-[85]; Fig. 4, pp [86]-[87]); or
the first signal that is a signal specific to one or more cells (Liu, Fig. 3, pp [83]-[85]; Fig. 4, pp [86]-[87]); or
the first signal that is a signal specific to one or more network devices (Liu, Fig. 3, pp [83]-[85]; Fig. 4, pp [86]-[87]); or
the first signal that is a signal specific to one or more terminal devices (Liu, Fig. 3, pp [83]-[85]; Fig. 4, pp [86]-[87]); or
the first signal that is a signal specific to one or more time periods (Liu, Fig. 3, pp [83]-[85]; Fig. 4, pp [86]-[87]).
Regarding claim 8. (Currently Amended) Liu teaches the method according to claim 7, wherein the receiving the first signal that is a signal specific to one or more time periods includes:
receiving one or more time periods including comprise a second time period, and the second time period is within the first time period (Liu, Fig. 3, pp [83]-[85]; Fig. 4, pp [86]-[87]); and wherein the receiving the second signal comprises includes:
receiving the second signal in the second time period (Liu, Fig. 3, pp [83]-[85]; Fig. 4, pp [86]-[87]).
Regarding claim 9. (Currently Amended) Liu teaches the method according to claim 8, wherein the one or more terminal devices comprise includes a terminal device; and
after the receiving a first signal, the method further comprises:
receiving, by the terminal device, a fourth signal, wherein the fourth signal indicates a terminal device other than the one or more terminal devices to receive the second signal or the third signal, wherein the second time period is a time period between a moment at which the terminal device receives the first signal and a moment at which the terminal device receives the fourth signal (Liu, Fig. 3, pp [83]-[85]: multiple signals sent periodically; Fig. 4, pp [86]-[87]).
Regarding claim 10. (Currently Amended) Liu teaches the method according to claim 7, wherein the one or more terminal devices includes a terminal device, and the method further comprises:
in response to the terminal device receiving the first signal in the first time period, receiving, by the terminal device, a fourth signal, wherein the fourth signal indicates a terminal device other than the one or more terminal devices to receive the second signal or the third signal (Liu, Fig. 3, pp [83]-[85]; Fig. 4, pp [86]-[87]); or
in response to the terminal device receiving a fourth signal in the first time period, receiving, by the terminal device, the first signal, and/or no longer receiving, by the terminal device, the second signal in a third time period (Liu, Fig. 3, pp [83]-[85]; Fig. 4, pp [86]-[87]); or if the terminal device does not receive a fourth signal in the first time period, receiving, by the terminal device, the third signal (Liu, Fig. 3, pp [83]-[85]; Fig. 4, pp [86]-[87]), wherein
the third time period is a time period after a moment at which the terminal device receives the fourth signal and before a moment at which the terminal device receives the first signal (Liu, Fig. 3, pp [83]-[85]; Fig. 4, pp [86]-[87]).
Regarding claim 11. (Currently Amended) Liu teaches the method according to claim 1, further comprising:
in response to not receiving the first signal in the first time period, performing radio resource management RRM measurement, or performing cell reselection (Liu, pp [92]-[94]).
Regarding claim 12. (Currently Amended) Liu teaches the method according to claim 1, further comprising:
in response to not signal quality of a serving cell in a fourth time period being greater than or equal to a second threshold (Liu, Fig. 3, pp [83]-[85]; Fig. 4, pp [86]-[87], [90]), or in response to a signal quality variation of the serving cell in the fourth time period being less than or equal to a third threshold, receiving the second signal (Liu, Fig. 3, pp [83]-[85]; Fig. 4, pp [86]-[87], [90]).
Regarding claim 13. (Currently Amended) Liu teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the receiving the second signal based on the first signal, wherein the second signal indicates the paging-related first information includes:
receiving information about one or more terminal devices that need to receive paging, and/or information about one or more terminal devices that do not need to receive paging (Liu, Fig. 3, pp [83]-[85]; Fig. 4, pp [86]-[87]).
Regarding claim 14. (Currently Amended) Liu teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the receiving the third signal includes receiving the third signal that is any one of the following:
a paging early indication PEI, a paging physical downlink control channel paging PDCCH, or a paging message paging message (Liu, pp [72]-[73], pp [83]-[85]).
Regarding claim 16. (Currently Amended) Liu teaches the apparatus according to claim 15, further comprising the memory (Liu, pp [126]-[127]).
Regarding claim 17. (Currently Amended) Liu teaches the apparatus according to claim 15, further comprising a communication interface, and the communication interface is coupled to the processor (Liu, pp [126]-[127]);
wherein the communication interface is configured to input and/or output information (Liu, pp [128], [131]).
Regarding claim 18. (Original) Liu teaches the apparatus according to claim 15, wherein the apparatus is a chip (Liu, pp [204]).
Regarding claim 20. (Currently Amended) Liu teaches the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 19, wherein the operations further comprise:
in response to receiving the second signal in the first time period, receiving the third signal, or performing random access (Liu, pp [47]-[48]; or
in response to receiving the first signal but not receiving the second signal in the first time period, receiving the second signal (Liu, Fig. 3, pp [83]-[85]; Fig. 4, pp [86]-[87]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (Pub. No. US 2019/0150094) and further in view of Iyer et al. (Pub. US No. 2022/0039009).
Regarding claim 5. (Currently Amended) Liu does not teach the method according to claim 4, wherein the receiving the modulation scheme of the first signal that is the same as the modulation scheme of the second signal includes:
receiving the modulation scheme of the first signal and/or the modulation scheme of the second signal that are/is on-off keying OOK; and/or receiving the waveform of the first signal and/or the waveform of the second signal that are/is the OOK.
Iyer teaches “the receiving the modulation scheme of the first signal that is the same as the modulation scheme of the second signal includes: receiving the modulation scheme of the first signal and/or the modulation scheme of the second signal that are/is on-off keying OOK; and/or receiving the waveform of the first signal and/or the waveform of the second signal that are/is the OOK.” (Iyer, pp [167]-[169]: wake up signals are under OOK modulation schemed).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the affective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Liu by incorporating teachings of Iyer, method and system for power saving mechanism in new radio network wherein the method applies on-off keying signals as wake-up signal preambles to improve optimal power savings by reducing false wake-up alarms and maximizing bandwidth resources utilization in situation of resources limited with multiple UEs may share the same OOK.
Reference(s) related but not used in the rejection
Bhattad et al. (Pub. No. US 2018/0332533), teaches a method for communication includes a user equipment (UE) periodically awakening to monitor for a wake-up signal (WUS) in a wake-up signal search space, the wake-up signal having a shorter length than a length of a control channel communication to allow the UE to determine whether the UE should monitor for the control channel communication.
Conclusion
/HUY C HO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2644