DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 1/10/2024 has been entered and considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-12) in the reply filed on 5/7/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 13-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 5/7/2026.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “repeater modules” and “repeater units” in claim 1. The corresponding structure for such “repeater modules” and “repeater units” appears to be recited in at least paragraph [0059] of Applicant’s specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Regarding claim 1, the claim also recites “among the N repeater modules, M (M is an integer greater than or equal to 1 but less than N) repeater modules are repeater units that amplify a signal transmitted through the cable.” Such claim language appears to require that only some of the N repeater modules (i.e., those that are M repeater units) perform signal amplification. However, a person having ordinary skill in the art would understand a repeater to amplify a signal (e.g., such that it may be transmitted further). It is therefore unclear if such claim language is intended to imply that the “N repeater modules” that are not “M repeater units” do not perform any signal amplification. If the repeater modules that are not “repeater units that amplify a signal transmitted through the cable” are not intended to perform any signal amplification, it is unclear if such “repeater modules” are required to perform any sort of repeater function at all. If at least some of the N repeater modules do not perform repeater functionality, the label “repeater module” appears to be contrary to what a person having ordinary skill in the art would understand a repeater to be. Furthermore, the claim also recites “among the N repeater modules, L (L is an integer equal to N-M) power units are power units that supply power for an operation of the repeater units.” However, it is unclear what effect the claim language “among the N repeater modules” is intended to have. For instance, it is unclear if such claim language is intended to imply that the L “power units” are “repeater modules” or if some other interpretation is intended. Claim 1 is thus indefinite. For the purpose of this examination, the Examiner will interpret the claim language as allowing for all of the “N repeater modules” to perform repeater functionality such as amplification. The Examiner will also interpret the “among the N repeater modules” as not explicitly requiring that the power units are repeater modules because such a requirement is not clearly stated. Regarding claim 3, the claim recites “a power line disposed within the cable passes through the N repeater modules without being connected to the connector.” However, the claim limitation “the connector” lacks antecedent basis and is therefore unclear. For instance, it is unclear if “the connector” is intended to be the same or different from “N connect pins.” Claim 3 is thus indefinite. For the purpose of this examination, the Examiner will interpret “the connector” as being potentially the same or different from “N connect pins.” Regarding claims 4-5, 8, and 12, the claims recite “the repeater unit,” but claim 1 from which claim 12 depends appears to allow for more than one “repeater unit” with the claim language “wherein among the N repeater modules, M (M is an integer greater than or equal to 1 but less than N) repeater modules are repeater units.” It is therefore unclear if the singular term “the repeater unit” is intended to refer to only one “repeater unit” or to all “repeater units” when multiple “repeater units” are present. Claims 4-5, 8, and 12 are thus indefinite. For the purpose of this examination, the Examiner will interpret “the repeater unit” as potentially referring to only one “repeater unit” or to all “repeater units” when multiple “repeater units” are present. Regarding claims 2-12, the claims are rejected because they depend from rejected claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 and 7-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Decrock et al. (US 2013/0002046, Decrock hereinafter). Regarding claim 1, Decrock teaches a multi-faceted signal amplification repeater comprising: N (N is an integer of 3 or more) repeater modules (Embodiments are described wherein at least two repeaters are used, which may be interpreted as including three or more repeater modules; Decrock; Figs. 1-7; [0012]-[0014], [0029]-[0035]) surrounding a cable for signal transmission between a transmitting end and a receiving end (As can be seen in at least Figs. 1-2, the repeater may surround a cable for signal transmission between a transmitting end and a receiving end; Decrock; Figs. 1-7; [0012]-[0014], [0029]-[0035]); and N connect pins connecting the N repeater modules to each other (The repeaters are described as being comprised of pins that are connected at least to electrical conductors. The N repeater modules may thus be interpreted as being connected at least by N connect pins; Decrock; Figs. 1-7; [0029]-[0035], [0044]), wherein among the N repeater modules, M (M is an integer greater than or equal to 1 but less than N) repeater modules are repeater units that amplify a signal transmitted through the cable (As is discussed in the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection above, it is unclear if such claim language is intended to require that only the M repeater modules perform signal amplification. As is also discussed in the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection above, the Examiner is interpreting all of the N repeater modules as potentially performing repeater functionality including signal amplification because they are described as repeater modules and a person having ordinary skill in the art would understand repeaters to perform such signal amplification. The N repeater modules are described as performing signal amplification. Such N repeater modules may also be interpreted as being M repeater units that amplify a signal transmitted through the cable; Decrock; Figs. 1-7; [0005]-[0007], [0012]-[0014], [0029]-[0035]), and among the N repeater modules, L (L is an integer equal to N-M) power units are power units that supply power for an operation of the repeater units (As can be seen in at least Fig. 2, at least a power line may provide electrical power for the repeaters. L power units may thus be interpreted as supplying power for an operation of the repeater units among the N repeater modules; Decrock; Figs. 1-7; [0029]-[0035]). Regarding claim 2, Decrock teaches the limitations of claim 1. Decrock further teaches a connector connecting at least one of the M repeater units and a communication line disposed in the cable to each other (As can be seen in at least Figs. 1-2, the repeater(s) may be connected to a communication line in the cable by a connector; Decrock; Figs. 1-7; [0012]-[0014], [0029]-[0035]). Regarding claim 3, Decrock teaches the limitations of claim 1. Decrock further teaches a power line disposed within the cable passes through the N repeater modules without being connected to the connector (As can be seen in at least Fig. 2, at least a power line may provide electrical power for the repeaters. As can also be seen in at least Fig. 2, the power line connects to the repeater separately from the data lines 5, and thus the power line may be interpreted as not being connected to the connector; Decrock; Figs. 1-7; [0012]-[0014], [0029]-[0035]). Regarding claim 4, Decrock teaches the limitations of claim 1. Decrock further teaches the power unit supplies power to the repeater unit using power used in the transmitting end or the receiving end (As can be seen in at least Fig. 2, at least a power line may supply power to the repeater unit. The power line may also be connected to at least one end (i.e., the transmitting end or the receiving end); Decrock; Figs. 1-7; [0012]-[0014], [0029]-[0035]). Regarding claim 5, Decrock teaches the limitations of claim 4. Decrock further teaches the power unit supplies power to the repeater unit through the connect pin (The printed circuit board 13 may comprise electrical conductors 14 which are connected to pins of the chip housing 12 and to endings of the data lines 5, 55 and the power line 7. The power unit may thus be interpreted as supplying power to the repeater unit through the connect pin; Decrock; Figs. 1-7; [0012]-[0014], [0029]-[0035]). Regarding claim 7, Decrock teaches the limitations of claim 1. Decrock further teaches an insertion hole is formed by the N repeater modules arranged to surround the cable, and the cable is inserted into the insertion hole (The repeaters may be interpreted as having an insertion hole wherein at least the data lines enter the repeater such that the repeaters surround the cable; Decrock; Figs. 1-7; [0012]-[0014], [0029]-[0035]). Regarding claim 8, Decrock teaches the limitations of claim 1. Decrock further teaches a size of the repeater unit is greater than a size of the power unit (The repeaters (e.g., repeater 4) depicted in at least Figs. 1-2 may be interpreted as being greater in size than the power unit (e.g., power line 7); Decrock; Figs. 1-7; [0012]-[0014], [0029]-[0035]). Regarding claim 9, Decrock teaches the limitations of claim 1. Decrock further teaches M is greater than or equal to L (Multiple repeaters (i.e., repeater units) may be interpreted as existing whereas only one power unit may be interpreted as existing. M may thus be interpreted as being greater than or equal to L; Decrock; Figs. 1-7; [0012]-[0014], [0029]-[0035]). Regarding claim 10, Decrock teaches the limitations of claim 1. Decrock further teaches when N is 4 or more and M is 2 or more (More than two repeaters are described as being used, and thus N may be interpreted as being 4 or more and M may be interpreted as being 2 or more; Decrock; Figs. 1-7; [0012]-[0014], [0029]-[0035]), one of the M repeater units is arranged to face another one of the M repeater units (When multiple repeaters are used, one of the M repeater units may be interpreted as being arranged to face another one of the M repeater units; Decrock; Figs. 1-7; [0012]-[0014], [0029]-[0035]). Regarding claim 11, Decrock teaches the limitations of claim 1. Decrock further teaches when N is 3 or more and L is 1 or more (Multiple repeaters (i.e., repeater modules) may be interpreted as existing whereas only one power unit may be interpreted as existing. N may thus be interpreted as being 3 or more and L may be interpreted as being 1 or more; Decrock; Figs. 1-7; [0012]-[0014], [0029]-[0035]), L power units are arranged so that the repeater units are located on both sides of the L power units (As can be seen in at least Fig. 2, a power line 7 may be connected to one side of each repeater and a power line 57 may be connected to the other side of each repeater. A power line (i.e., a power unit) may thus be interpreted as being located between at least two repeaters and thus power units may be interpreted as being arranged so that the repeater units are located on both sides of such power units; Decrock; Figs. 1-7; [0012]-[0014], [0029]-[0035]). Regarding claim 12, Decrock teaches the limitations of claim 1. Decrock further teaches a distance between the repeater unit and the cable is less than a distance between the power unit and the cable (As can be seen in at least Fig. 2, data lines (e.g., the cable) may be connected directly to the repeaters whereas the power line is not connected directly to such data lines. A distance between the repeater unit and the cable may thus be interpreted as being less than a distance between the power unit and the cable; Decrock; Figs. 1-7; [0012]-[0014], [0029]-[0035]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Decrock et al. (US 2013/0002046, Decrock hereinafter) in view of Vavik (US 2011/0103274). Regarding claim 6, Decrock teaches the limitations of claim 1. However, Decrock does not specifically disclose at least one of the N repeater modules includes a terminating resistance having a resistance matched to the impedance of the cable. Vavik teaches at least one of the N repeater modules includes a terminating resistance having a resistance matched to the impedance of the cable (Repeaters may be connected to a cable using at least a matching device that may perform impedance matching. At least one of the N repeater modules may thus be interpreted as including a terminating resistance having a resistance matched to the impedance of the cable; Vavik; [0035]). Therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings as in Vavik regarding use of repeaters with the teachings as in Decrock use of repeaters. The motivation for doing so would have been to increase performance by achieving improved isolation (Vavik; [0035]).
Conclusion
/ERIC MYERS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2474