DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements filed 01/10/2024 and 05/21/2026 is acknowledged by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 and 11-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wexler et al. (US 6123295) in view of Cartwright (US 5929325).
Regarding claims 1 and 11, Wexler et al. discloses a liquified gas fuel tank (30) incorporated into an aircraft (10), wherein liquified gas fuel tank comprises: a plurality of compartments (30a, 30b), wherein each compartment of the plurality of compartments comprises: a cross-section comprising a continuously convex differentiable curve (as seen in fig. 4); and an inner volume configured to contain fuel (Abstract), wherein each inner volume of each compartment of the plurality of compartments are fluidly connected (via openings in walls of 32a as seen in fig. 5); one or more septa (wall having openings that separates each lobe compartment) configured to structurally support each compartment of the plurality of compartments, wherein each compartment of the plurality of compartments is oriented vertically (note the orientation can be considered vertical, as it could change depending on the orientation of the vehicle).
Regarding claims 2 and 12, Wexler et al. discloses wherein the plurality of compartments are aligned along a centerline of the aircraft (30a and 30b are aligned on each side of a centerline when viewed as in fig. 6, and aligned on the centerline when viewed in a side view).
Regarding claims 3 and 13, Wexler et al. discloses, wherein the plurality of compartments are located within a center bay of the aircraft (the compartment are throughout the aircraft body, including the center section of the body).
Regarding claims 4 and 14, Wexler et al. discloses wherein the plurality of compartments are at least partially located within an outer mold line of the aircraft (as seen in figs. 2, 3).
Regarding claims 5 and 15, Wexler et al. discloses wherein each compartment of the plurality of compartments are pressure vessels (each lobe compartment is able to withstand the stresses of internal liquid hydrogen).
Regarding claims 6 and 16, Wexler et al. discloses wherein each compartment of the plurality of compartments comprises at least one insulation layer (external skin plus insulation needed for the vehicle to be able to orbit and return).
Regarding claims 9 and 19, Wexler et al. discloses wherein the one or more septa (wall having openings that separates each lobe compartment) comprises one or more apertures configured to enable fluid communication between the plurality of compartments (via openings in walls of 32a as seen in fig. 5).
Wexler et al. do not disclose a sensing component comprising one or more sensors, wherein the sensing component additionally comprises: a gas evacuation element, wherein the gas evacuation element is configured to identify a gas concentration within at least one compartment of the plurality of compartments; a controller communicatively connected to the gas evacuation element, wherein the controller is configured to: receive an indication from the one or more sensors; wherein the sensing component additionally comprises one or more pumps configured to displace the fuel within the plurality of compartments as a function of the indication; and toggle the gas evacuation element as a function of the indication; and wherein each compartment of the plurality of compartments comprises one or more conduit lines, wherein the one or more conduit lines are configured to receive boiled-off gas as a function of the gas evacuation element.
Cartwright teaches a system and method for containing and handling toxic gas and is applied to a storage tank having a first inner container 20. Cartwright includes a system having the capability of sensing, evacuating and controlling fluid from an inner container, the sensing including a sensing component or components (multiple pressure gauges 79 as shown in fig. 1 and 4, pressure sensor 71a as shown in fig. 4 which is in electrical communication to controllers 80, 95 as shown in fig. 1). The sensing component (system) of Cartwright comprises a gas evacuation element (multiple ball valves 77, vacuum valves 71 as shown in fig. 1 and 4 and vacuum pump 75 shown in fig. 1), one or more sensors (multiple pressure gauges 79 as shown in fig. 1 and 4, pressure sensor 71a as shown in fig. 4 which is in electrical communication to controllers 80, 95 as shown in Fig. 1), and a controller (controllers 80, 95), wherein the gas evacuation element is communicatively connected to the controller (electrical connection of controllers 80, 95 to pump 75, pressure sensor 71a and vacuum valves 71), and wherein the gas evacuation element is configured to sense a gas concentration and purge gas from the interstitial space. Cartwright teaches a plurality of conduit lines connected to the sensing component via the gas evacuation element, and wherein the plurality of conduit lines is configured to receive a boiled-off gas.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to add the sensing component and system having the capability of sensing, evacuating and controlling fluid in the tank, the sensing including a sensing component or components, to add the sensing component which comprises a gas evacuation element, one or more sensors, a controller, and one or more pumps, wherein the gas evacuation element is communicatively connected to the controller, and wherein the gas evacuation element is configured to sense a gas concentration and displace the gas from the tank compartments and to add a plurality of conduit lines connected to the sensing component via the gas evacuation element, and wherein the plurality of conduit lines is configured to receive a boiled-off gas in order to sense a gas leak, evacuate the leaked gas and control the leaked gas to alleviate a hazardous gas build-up and reduce the possibility of an explosion.
Claims 10 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wexler et al. (US 6123295) in view of Cartwright (US 5929325) further in view of Schumacher et al. (US 20150336680).
Wexler et al. taken with Cartwright disclose the invention as essentially claimed, except for wherein the one or more apertures comprises one or more actuatable vents.
Schumacher teaches a related aircraft tank system comprised of pressure vessels, wherein valves interconnect the individual pressure vessels to achieve selective emptying to provide more precise control of managing high pressure within the pressure vessel [0016].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to further modify the invention of Wexler et al. taken with Cartwright, wherein the one or more apertures comprises one or more actuatable vents, as taught by Schumacher, to achieve selective emptying to provide more precise control of managing high pressure within the pressure vessel.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 20200011483 A1 discloses valves between walls in a tank. US 3955784 A, DE 3634101 A1, and US 3979005 A each disclose related tank systems.
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisors can be reached by phone. Tom Barrett can be reached at 571-272-4746, Ken Rinehart can be reached at 571-272-4881, and Craig Schneider can be reached at 571-272-3607. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/MARINA A TIETJEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753