Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Applicant Arguments, filed 3/25/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-22 under Kasuga (US 20150370034) in view of Lu (US 8493676)
have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Iwata et al (US 20150264265) in view of KR 20220038634 A.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5,8,9,12,13, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Iwata et al (US 20150264265) in view of (KR 20220038634 A) and in view of Lu (US 8493676)
Regarding Claim 1,
Iwata et al discloses (Fig. 1) A lens module, comprising: a lens barrel (21) that accommodates at least one lens (11); and a lens holder (19) that is coupled to the lens barrel (21) and includes a holder member (19) comprising a first material and a yoke member (24) that is disposed on the holder member along an inner edge of the holder member (19).
Iwata et al does not disclose the yoke member comprises a second material that is different from the first material of the holder member and wherein a first groove is disposed at an inner circumferential surface of the yoke member.
(KR 20220038634 A) discloses a first groove (escape groove) is disposed at an inner circumferential surface of the yoke member (“… The cover member 60 may be integrally formed with an inner yoke 61 at a position corresponding to the receiving groove. According to this embodiment, the inner yoke 61 has one side of the coil unit 31 . It may be spaced apart from the bobbin by a certain distance, and the other side may be disposed to be spaced apart from the bobbin 30 by a certain distance. Also, the inner yoke 61 may be formed at four corners of the housing member 40 . The inner yoke 61 may be bent inward from the upper surface of the cover member 60 in a direction parallel to the optical axis. Although not shown, an escape groove may be formed in the inner yoke 61 at a position close to the bent portion. These escape grooves may be formed as a pair or symmetrically, and the bent portion where the escape groove is formed forms a bottleneck section. Due to this escape groove forming section, when the bobbin 30 moves up and down, the inner yoke 61 and the bobbin ( 30) can be minimized. That is, it is possible to prevent the bobbin 30 from being partially damaged due to the interference of the edge of the inner yoke when the bobbin 30 moves upward. The end of the inner yoke 61 needs to be spaced apart from the bottom surface of the groove 33 at a reference position by a certain distance, which is the highest position when the bobbin 30 reciprocates. This is to prevent contact or interference between the end of the groove and the bottom surface of the groove 33 . In addition, the end of the inner yoke 61 may serve as a stopper for regulating the movement of the bobbin 30 to a section other than the design specification. In addition, when there is no separate housing member 40 , the magnet 41 may be directly bonded and fixed to the side or corner of the cover member 60 . Also, the magnetization direction of the magnet 41 may be a side facing the bobbin 30 and a side facing the cover member 60 . However, the present invention is not limited thereto, and the magnetization direction may be changed according to design…”)(third paragraph under Description)
Lu discloses the yoke member (the metal frame surrounding the fixed lens holder) comprises a second material that is different from the first material of the holder member. (column 2, lines 31-42)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Iwata et al to include (KR 20220038634 A)’s groove in the yoke motivated by the desire to prevent the bobbin from being partially damaged due to the interference of the edge of the inner yoke when the bobbin moves forward to further include Lu’s yoke member (the metal frame surrounding the fixed lens holder) comprises a second material that is different from the first material of the holder member motivated by the desire to have a metal frame (yoke) surrounding and fixed to a lens holder having different materials such as a metal structural component around a plastic holder for reasons of strength and assembly.
Regarding Claim 2,
In addition to Iwata et al, (KR 20220038634 A) and Lu, (KR 20220038634 A) discloses wherein the holder member (30) has a second groove that corresponds to the first groove disposed at the yoke member, and the second groove on a surface of the holder member that is opposite to the yoke member. .(“… The cover member 60 may be integrally formed with an inner yoke 61 at a position corresponding to the receiving groove. According to this embodiment, the inner yoke 61 has one side of the coil unit 31 . It may be spaced apart from the bobbin by a certain distance, and the other side may be disposed to be spaced apart from the bobbin 30 by a certain distance. Also, the inner yoke 61 may be formed at four corners of the housing member 40 . The inner yoke 61 may be bent inward from the upper surface of the cover member 60 in a direction parallel to the optical axis. Although not shown, an escape groove may be formed in the inner yoke 61 at a position close to the bent portion. These escape grooves may be formed as a pair or symmetrically, and the bent portion where the escape groove is formed forms a bottleneck section. Due to this escape groove forming section, when the bobbin 30 moves up and down, the inner yoke 61 and the bobbin ( 30) can be minimized. That is, it is possible to prevent the bobbin 30 from being partially damaged due to the interference of the edge of the inner yoke when the bobbin 30 moves upward. The end of the inner yoke 61 needs to be spaced apart from the bottom surface of the groove 33 at a reference position by a certain distance, which is the highest position when the bobbin 30 reciprocates. This is to prevent contact or interference between the end of the groove and the bottom surface of the groove 33 . In addition, the end of the inner yoke 61 may serve as a stopper for regulating the movement of the bobbin 30 to a section other than the design specification. In addition, when there is no separate housing member 40 , the magnet 41 may be directly bonded and fixed to the side or corner of the cover member 60 . Also, the magnetization direction of the magnet 41 may be a side facing the bobbin 30 and a side facing the cover member 60 . However, the present invention is not limited thereto, and the magnetization direction may be changed according to design…”)(third paragraph under Description)
Regarding Claim 3,
In addition to Iwata et al, (KR 20220038634 A) and Lu, (KR 20220038634 A) discloses wherein the second groove is recessed in a direction of an optical axis from an upper surface of the holder member. (third paragraph under description)
Regarding Claim 4,
In addition to Iwata et al, (KR 20220038634 A) and Lu, (KR 20220038634 A) discloses wherein the holder member has a plurality of corner regions, the first groove comprises a plurality of first grooves and each of the plurality of first grooves is disposed at the corner regions of the holder member which is obvious to do (third paragraph under descriptions)
Regarding Claim 5,
In addition to Iwata et al, (KR 20220038634 A) and Lu, (KR 20220038634 A) discloses wherein each of the plurality of first grooves is disposed to face each other in a diagonal direction of the yoke member. (third paragraph under descriptions)
Regarding Claim 8,
In addition to Iwata et al, (KR 20220038634 A) and Lu, (KR 20220038634 A) discloses (Fig. 2) wherein the yoke member (31) has a ring shape.
Regarding Claim 9,
In addition to Iwata et al, (KR 20220038634 A) and Lu, (KR 20220038634 A) discloses wherein an adhesive is filled in the first groove (obvious to hold the parts inside the groove together).
Regarding Claim 12,
In addition to Iwata et al, (KR 20220038634 A) and Lu, (KR 20220038634 A) discloses wherein a bottom surface of the first groove is flat.
Regarding Claim 13,
In addition to Iwata et al, (KR 20220038634 A) and Lu, (KR 20220038634 A) discloses wherein the first groove is recessed outward in a radial direction of the yoke member (61,31).
Claim(s) 14,15,17-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Iwata et al (US 20150264265) in view of (KR 20220038634 A) and in view of Lu (US 8493676).
Regarding Claim 14,
Iwata et al discloses (Fig. 1) A camera module (10), comprising: a lens module (1); a housing (1) that accommodates the lens module (1); a cover (19) that covers an outer surface of the housing (1); and a circuit board (chip), coupled to a lower portion of the housing (lower part of 19), and having an image sensor (CMOS sensor) mounted thereat, wherein the lens module (1) comprises a lens barrel (21) that accommodates at least one lens (11), and a lens holder that is coupled to the lens barrel (21) and comprises a holder member (19) comprising a first material and a yoke member (24) disposed on the holder member along an inner edge of the holder member,
Iwata et al does not disclose the yoke member comprises a second material that is different from the first material of the holder member and wherein a first groove is disposed at an inner circumferential surface of the yoke member.
(KR 20220038634 A) discloses a first groove (escape groove) is disposed at an inner circumferential surface of the yoke member (“… The cover member 60 may be integrally formed with an inner yoke 61 at a position corresponding to the receiving groove. According to this embodiment, the inner yoke 61 has one side of the coil unit 31 . It may be spaced apart from the bobbin by a certain distance, and the other side may be disposed to be spaced apart from the bobbin 30 by a certain distance. Also, the inner yoke 61 may be formed at four corners of the housing member 40 . The inner yoke 61 may be bent inward from the upper surface of the cover member 60 in a direction parallel to the optical axis. Although not shown, an escape groove may be formed in the inner yoke 61 at a position close to the bent portion. These escape grooves may be formed as a pair or symmetrically, and the bent portion where the escape groove is formed forms a bottleneck section. Due to this escape groove forming section, when the bobbin 30 moves up and down, the inner yoke 61 and the bobbin ( 30) can be minimized. That is, it is possible to prevent the bobbin 30 from being partially damaged due to the interference of the edge of the inner yoke when the bobbin 30 moves upward. The end of the inner yoke 61 needs to be spaced apart from the bottom surface of the groove 33 at a reference position by a certain distance, which is the highest position when the bobbin 30 reciprocates. This is to prevent contact or interference between the end of the groove and the bottom surface of the groove 33 . In addition, the end of the inner yoke 61 may serve as a stopper for regulating the movement of the bobbin 30 to a section other than the design specification. In addition, when there is no separate housing member 40 , the magnet 41 may be directly bonded and fixed to the side or corner of the cover member 60 . Also, the magnetization direction of the magnet 41 may be a side facing the bobbin 30 and a side facing the cover member 60 . However, the present invention is not limited thereto, and the magnetization direction may be changed according to design…”)(third paragraph under Description)
Lu discloses the yoke member (the metal frame surrounding the fixed lens holder) comprises a second material that is different from the first material of the holder member. (column 2, lines 31-42)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Iwata et al to include (KR 20220038634 A)’s groove in the yoke motivated by the desire to prevent the bobbin from being partially damaged due to the interference of the edge of the inner yoke when the bobbin moves forward to further include Lu’s yoke member (the metal frame surrounding the fixed lens holder) comprises a second material that is different from the first material of the holder member motivated by the desire to have a metal frame (yoke) surrounding and fixed to a lens holder having different materials such as a metal structural component around a plastic holder for reasons of strength and assembly.
Regarding Claim 15,
In addition to Iwata et al, (KR 20220038634 A) and Lu, (KR 20220038634 A) discloses wherein the first groove comprises a plurality of first grooves (33) and each of the plurality of first grooves is disposed to face each other in a diagonal direction of the yoke member.
Regarding Claim 17,
In addition to Iwata et al, (KR 20220038634 A) and Lu, (KR 20220038634 A) discloses wherein the yoke member (61) has a ring shape.
Regarding Claim 18,
In addition to Iwata et al, (KR 20220038634 A) and Lu, (KR 20220038634 A) discloses wherein an adhesive is filled in the first groove (obvious to hold the parts inside the groove together).
Regarding Claim 19,
In addition to Iwata et al, (KR 20220038634 A) and Lu, (KR 20220038634 A) discloses wherein a bottom surface of the first groove (33) is flat.
Regarding Claim 20,
In addition to Iwata et al, (KR 20220038634 A) and Lu, (KR 20220038634 A) discloses wherein the first groove (33) is recessed outward in a radial direction of the yoke member (61).
Regarding Claim 21,
In addition to Iwata et al, (KR 20220038634 A) and Lu, Iwata et al discloses a carrier that accommodates the lens module; and an autofocus [0040] driving portion disposed outside the carrier and configured to move the lens module and the carrier in a direction of an optical axis.
Claim(s) 6, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iwata et al (US 20150264265) and of (KR 20220038634 A) and of Lu (US 8493676) in view of Kim et al (US 20220252964)
Regarding Claim 6,
Iwata et al, (KR 20220038634 A) and Lu discloses everything as disclosed above.
Iwata et al, (KR 20220038634 A) and Lu does not disclose wherein a thermal conductivity of the yoke member is higher than a thermal conductivity of the holder member.
Kim et al discloses wherein a thermal conductivity of the yoke member is higher than a thermal conductivity of the holder member [0053].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Iwata et al, (KR 20220038634 A) and Lu to include Kim et al’s thermal conductivity of the yoke member is higher than a thermal conductivity of the holder member motivated by the desire improve thermal flow in a camera module.
Claim(s) 7, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iwata et al (US 20150264265) and of (KR 20220038634 A) and of Lu (US 8493676) in view of Renaud (US 20140168507)
Regarding Claim 7,
Iwata et al, (KR 20220038634 A) and Lu discloses everything as disclosed above.
Iwata et al, (KR 20220038634 A) and Lu does not disclose a value obtained by multiplying a density of the second material by a specific heat of the second material is greater than a value obtained by multiplying a density of the first material by a specific heat of the first material.
Renaud discloses a value obtained by multiplying a density of the second material by a specific heat of the second material is greater than a value obtained by multiplying a density of the first material by a specific heat of the first material. Choosing materials with higher specific heat and/or thermal mass for thermal control is well known design practice. Renaud teaches the concept of material selection for thermal performance in imaging modules [0002-00011].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Iwata et al, (KR 20220038634 A) and Lu to include Renaud’s value obtained by multiplying a density of the second material by a specific heat of the second material is greater than a value obtained by multiplying a density of the first material by a specific heat of the first material motivated by the desire to improve heat dissipation in an imaging module, indicative of design choices based on thermal properties such as thermal conductivity and heat capacity. A person of ordinary skill would understand that selecting materials with desirable density x specific heat (thermal mass and heat capacity) to manage temperature behavior is a routine design choice in thermal management.
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iwata et al (US 20150264265) and of (KR 20220038634 A) and of Lu (US 8493676) in view of Renaud (US 20140168507)
Regarding Claim 16,
Iwata et al, (KR 20220038634 A) and Lu discloses everything as disclosed above.
Iwata et al, (KR 20220038634 A) and Lu does not disclose a value obtained by multiplying a density of the second material by a specific heat of the second material is greater than a value obtained by multiplying a density of the first material by a specific heat of the first material.
Renaud discloses a value obtained by multiplying a density of the second material by a specific heat of the second material is greater than a value obtained by multiplying a density of the first material by a specific heat of the first material. Choosing materials with higher specific heat and/or thermal mass for thermal control is well known design practice. Renaud teaches the concept of material selection for thermal performance in imaging modules [0002-00011].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Iwata et al, (KR 20220038634 A) and Lu to include Renaud’s value obtained by multiplying a density of the second material by a specific heat of the second material is greater than a value obtained by multiplying a density of the first material by a specific heat of the first material motivated by the desire to improve heat dissipation in an imaging module, indicative of design choices based on thermal properties such as thermal conductivity and heat capacity. A person of ordinary skill would understand that selecting materials with desirable density x specific heat (thermal mass and heat capacity) to manage temperature behavior is a routine design choice in thermal management.
Claim(s) 10,11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iwata et al (US 20150264265) and of (KR 20220038634 A) and of Lu (US 8493676) in view of Fournand et al (US 20070201150)
Regarding Claim 10,
Iwata et al, (KR 20220038634 A) and Lu discloses everything as disclosed above.
Iwata et al, (KR 20220038634 A) and Lu does not disclose wherein the first material comprises polycarbonate (PC)
Fournand et al disclose [0015-0017] wherein the first material comprises polycarbonate (PC)(plastic materials having properties/function similar to polycarbonate).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Iwata et al, (KR 20220038634 A) and Lu to include Fournand et al’s first material comprises polycarbonate (PC) which is a well known material for similar applications requiring workability and structural performance. Polycarbonate is a routine design choice in optical holder manufacturing.
Regarding Claim 11,
Iwata et al, (KR 20220038634 A) and Lu discloses everything as disclosed above.
Iwata et al, (KR 20220038634 A) and Lu does not disclose wherein the second material comprises stainless steel.
Fournand et al disclose wherein the second material comprises stainless steel as possible metal for the conductive/coating portions of the lens holder arms.[0012-0015]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Iwata et al, (KR 20220038634 A) and Lu to include Fournand et al’s second material comprises stainless steel as possible metal for the conductive/coating portions of the lens holder arms.[0012-0015] stainless steel which is a well known material for similar applications requiring workability and structural performance. Polycarbonate is a routine design choice in optical holder manufacturing.
Claim(s) 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iwata et al (US 20150264265) and of (KR 20220038634 A) and of Lu (US 8493676) in view of Seo et al (US 20220155652)
Regarding Claim 22,
Iwata et al, (KR 20220038634 A) and Lu discloses everything as disclosed above.
Iwata et al, (KR 20220038634 A) and Lu does not disclose a frame disposed on one surface of the lens holder (8); and an optical image stabilization (OIS) driving portion disposed outside the lens holder and configured to move the frame and the lens holder in a direction perpendicular to a direction of an optical axis.
Seo et al discloses a frame disposed on one surface of the lens holder (8); and an optical image stabilization (OIS) driving portion disposed outside the lens holder and configured to move the frame and the lens holder in a direction perpendicular to a direction of an optical axis [0114].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Iwata et al, (KR 20220038634 A) and Lu to include Seo et al’s frame disposed on one surface of the lens holder (8); and an optical image stabilization (OIS) driving portion disposed outside the lens holder and configured to move the frame and the lens holder in a direction perpendicular to a direction of an optical axis [0114] motivated by the desire to improve camera performance [0005].
Conclusion
/LUCY P CHIEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871