DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-7,14-17 and 20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 5, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Medina Barcia et al. (US 20200103445, hereafter Medina et al.) in view of Yoscovich et al. (US 20170207746).
Regarding claims 1 and 19, Medina et al. teach An apparatus comprising:
a pulse generator (94, par. 0032, Fig. 2, also Note TDR transmits voltage) configured to apply a voltage change across a series connection of a plurality of devices (combination of SSPC’s, 72, 74 and 76, par. 0032 Fig. 2, wires 86 and loads 52 and Fig. 2) wherein each device of the plurality of devices comprises at least one of a plurality of impedances; (88, 90, Fig. 2)
a receiver configured to receive, based on the applied voltage change, a plurality of reflections; (reflection line 100, par. 0032 and Fig. 2) and
circuitry configured to: estimate, based on an initial part of reflections (examiner’s position is that the reflection implicitly has a beginning part (initial) and ending part), a first set of estimates impedances associated with the plurality of impedances; ([0036] The delivery of the predetermined identifying pattern on the conductor 86 and the electrical load 52, 56 will result in the modifying or altering of the predetermined identifying pattern of the reflected incident signal based on the first impedance 88 of the respective conductor 86 or the second impedance 90 of the respectively electrical load 52, 56. In this sense, the reflectometry module 92 or the controller module 95 can be configured or adapted compare the initial predetermined identifying pattern sent out via line 102 with the reflected incident signal received at line 100, and determine an impedance network characteristic of that the first impedance 88 of the respective conductor 86 or the second impedance 90 of the respectively electrical load 52, 56, or a combination thereof. ) ( [0038] The determined impedance network characteristics can be saved and stored over time in the memory of the controller module 95.)
after estimating the first set of estimated impedances and based on a later part of the plurality of reflections, (examiner’s position is that the reflection implicitly has a beginning part and ending (later) part) estimate a second set of estimated impedances associated with the plurality of impedances; ([0036] The delivery of the predetermined identifying pattern on the conductor 86 and the electrical load 52, 56 will result in the modifying or altering of the predetermined identifying pattern of the reflected incident signal based on the first impedance 88 of the respective conductor 86 or the second impedance 90 of the respectively electrical load 52, 56. In this sense, the reflectometry module 92 or the controller module 95 can be configured or adapted compare the initial predetermined identifying pattern sent out via line 102 with the reflected incident signal received at line 100, and determine an impedance network characteristic of that the first impedance 88 of the respective conductor 86 or the second impedance 90 of the respectively electrical load 52, 56, or a combination thereof. ) ( [0038] The determined impedance network characteristics can be saved and stored over time in the memory of the controller module 95.)
detect an arc condition based on the second set of estimated impedances deviating from the first set of estimated impedances by greater than a threshold amount; (Note par. 0040, he maintenance system 60, or components 108, 110, 112 thereof, can receive the determined impedance network characteristics data, and can, for example, determines present or predicted conductor 86 fault (e.g. wire arc faults), electrical load 52, 56 issues, or the like. In one non-limiting instance, the determining or predicting the faults or issues can be based upon, or correlate with the determined impedance network characteristics data. For example, a trend or change over time of the impedance network characteristic data, or a changing of the data relative to similarly-situated conductors 86 and electrical loads 52, 56 can be indicative of faults, issues, or the like. ) and
Medina et al. does not teach outputting, based on the detected arc condition, a control signal configured to disconnect at least one device of the plurality of devices.
Yoscovich et al. teach outputting, based on the detected arc condition, a control signal configured to disconnect at least one device of the plurality of devices. (Note claim 20, wherein the controller is further configured to cause a disconnection of at least one photovoltaic panel associated with the detected arc condition.)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Medina et al. to include the teaching of teach outputting, based on the detected arc condition, a control signal configured to disconnect at least one device of the plurality of devices to prevent further damage to the system.
Regarding claims 5 and 20, Medina et al. teach the pulse generator (94, par. 0032, Fig. 2, also Note TDR transmits voltage) is configured to apply a second voltage change (note par. 0037, repeat) across the series connection of the plurality of devices; configured to apply a voltage change across a series connection of a plurality of devices (combination of SSPC’s, 72, 74 and 76, par. 0032 Fig. 2, wires 86 and loads 52 and Fig. 2) and
the receiver is configured to receive, based on the applied second voltage change, the later part of the plurality of reflections; (reflection line 100, par. 0032 and Fig. 2) Examiner interprets the reflection as having an ending portion which is interpreted as a later part .
wherein each set of estimated impedances of the estimated second set of impedances comprises a plurality of estimated impedance values respectively associated with corresponding set of impedances of the plurality of impedances. ([0036] The delivery of the predetermined identifying pattern on the conductor 86 and the electrical load 52, 56 will result in the modifying or altering of the predetermined identifying pattern of the reflected incident signal based on the first impedance 88 of the respective conductor 86 or the second impedance 90 of the respectively electrical load 52, 56. In this sense, the reflectometry module 92 or the controller module 95 can be configured or adapted compare the initial predetermined identifying pattern sent out via line 102 with the reflected incident signal received at line 100, and determine an impedance network characteristic of that the first impedance 88 of the respective conductor 86 or the second impedance 90 of the respectively electrical load 52, 56, or a combination thereof. ) ( [0038] The determined impedance network characteristics can be saved and stored over time in the memory of the controller module 95.)
Regarding claim 2, Medina et al. wherein each voltage change of the plurality of voltage changes across the series connection causes pulses across each device of the plurality of devices, (Note SSTDR par. 0006, which implicitly teaches pulse) and wherein each pulse comprises a rise time and a decay time. (Note SSTDR par. 0006, which implicitly teaches pulse) Examiner’s position is that pulses have a rise time and decay time.
Claims 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Medina et al. (US 20200103445, hereafter Medina et al.) in view of Yoscovich et al.(US 20170207746) in view of Furse et al. (US 20140266238).
Medina et al. teach the plurality of impedances, see claim 1 rejection above.
Regarding claim 3, Medina et al. does not teach wherein each impedance of the plurality of impedances comprises a real impedance component and an imaginary impedance component.
Furse et al. teach a real impedance component and an imaginary impedance. (Note par. 0089, Both the S and ABCD approaches fully capture the frequency-dependent complex impedances (magnitude and phase) in the circuit and its elements.) Examiner’s position is that the complex impedance has real and imaginary components.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Medina et al. to include the teaching of a real impedance component and an imaginary impedance to allows for easy computation of connected components. (Note Furse et al. par. 0089)
Regarding claim 4, Medina et al. teach determining, based on the first set of estimated impedances and the second set of impedances, an impedance change in the plurality of impedances, wherein the determined impedance change in the plurality of impedances comprises at least one of: an increase of the real impedance component, an increase of the imaginary impedance component, a decrease of the real impedance component, or a decrease of the imaginary impedance component. ([0040] The maintenance system 60, or components 108, 110, 112 thereof, can receive the determined impedance network characteristics data, and can, for example, determines present or predicted conductor 86 fault (e.g. wire arc faults), electrical load 52, 56 issues, or the like.) Examiner’s position is that one of the above components would implicitly be taught in order for the determination of arc faults.
Medina et al. does not teach wherein the outputting the control signal based on the determined impedance change in the plurality of impedances.
Yosovich et al. teach wherein the outputting the control signal based on the determined impedance change in the plurality of impedances. (Note claim 20 and par. 0013)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Medina et al. to include the teaching of outputting the control signal based on the determined impedance change in the plurality of impedances to disconnect devices and prevent further damage to the system.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Medina Barcia et al. (US 20200103445, hereafter Medina et al.) in view of Yoscovich et al.(US 20170207746) in view of Francis-Buller et al. (US 20150212025, hereafter Francis et al.).
Medina et al. teach the instant invention except the following claim limitations.
Regarding claim 6, Medina et al. does not teach determining, based on the plurality of sets of estimated impedances, an increase in magnitude of the plurality of impedances, wherein the sending the notification is based on the increase in the magnitude.
Francis et al. teach determining, based on the first sets of estimated impedances and the second set of estimated impedances, an increase in magnitude of the plurality of impedances, ([0039] After the reflectometry system 51 scans each electrical path (i.e., generates and transmits an input signal or signals and receives the reflected signals), a set of scanned impedance data for the corresponding electrical path may be generated. The network manager 55 may compare the scanned impedance data to corresponding baseline impendence data for that electrical path. If the scanned data deviates from the baseline data by more than a predetermined amount, the network manager 55 may generate an alert signal and record details associated with the scanned data including the time and operating conditions or state of the machine 10 at the time the data was generated. Such operating conditions or state of the machine 10 may include the status of all of the systems, the function(s) being performed, the temperature of various fluids of the machine, the speed at which the machine is operating, as well as any other desired information.) (also Note par. 0070, The controller is also configured to repeat steps (c)-(g) until each of the plurality of electrical paths of the wiring harness assembly has been scanned, and identify portions of the electrical schematic related to the location along the selected one of the plurality of electrical paths of the wiring harness assembly corresponding to the impedance deviation.) Examiner’s position is that multiple scans are performed whiich suggest first and second set of estimated impedances)
wherein the outputting the control signal based on the increase in the magnitude. ([0040] In one example, the network manager 55 may generate an alert and record information related to a deviation from the baseline data if any of the peaks of the scanned data change by more than a predetermined amount (e.g., the change is greater than a predetermined percentage or greater than a predetermined number) as compared to the baseline data. Referring to FIG. 6, the dotted line at 103 reflects an increase in impedance of one of the preexisting impedance mismatches in the baseline data. As an example, such an increase in impedance at a preexisting impedance mismatch may be the result of a fault at a preexisting connection between components such as at a connection at an electrical connector 45 as identified in FIG. 4 by dotted circle 104.)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify to include the teaching of teach determining, based on the plurality of sets of estimated impedances, an increase in magnitude of the plurality of impedances, wherein the sending the notification is based on the increase in the magnitude to indicate a fault. (Note Francis et al. par. 0041)
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Medina Barcia et al. (US 20200103445, hereafter Medina et al.) in view of Yoscovich et al.(US 20170207746) in view of Le Canut et al. (US 20070259256).
Medina et al. teach the instant invention except the following claim limitations.
Regarding claim 7, Medina et al. does not teach determining based on the first set of estimated impedances and the second set of the estimated impedances, an increase in phase angle of the plurality of impedances,
Le Canut et al. teach determining based on the first set of estimated impedances and the second set of the estimated impedances, (Note par. 0078, The test controller 300 then receives measurements related to the impedance of a particular cell, a group of cells and/or the fuel cell stack as a whole for one or more frequencies.) an increase in phase angle of the plurality of impedances, wherein the outputting the control signal is based on the increase in the phase angle.([0139] At step 19-4, it is determined whether or not the impedance phase angle has increased or decreased at the low and medium frequencies. )
wherein the outputting the control signal is based on the increase in the phase angle.
([0017] According to some aspects of the invention, the method further comprises providing an indication that a corresponding fault has been detected if at least one respective fault criterion has been satisfied when the measured impedance signature is compared with the reference impedance signature.)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Medina et al. to include the teaching of determining based on the first set of estimated impedances and the second set of the estimated impedances, an increase in phase angle of the plurality of impedances, wherein the outputting the control signal is based on the increase in the phase angle. (Note Le Canut et al. par. 0017)
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Medina Barcia et al. (US 20200103445, hereafter Medina et al.) in view of Yoscovich et al.(US 20170207746) in view of Tsuda et a. (US 20170033735).
Medina et al. teach the instant invention except the following claim limitations.
Regarding claim 14, Medina et al. does not teach the plurality of devices comprises a series string of a plurality photovoltaic (PV) modules and a plurality of connectors; each set of estimated impedance of the plurality of sets of estimated impedances is associated with a PV module of the plurality PV modules or a connector of the plurality of connectors; and a power device performs the method.
Tsuda et al. teach the plurality of devices comprises a series string of a plurality photovoltaic (PV) modules (11, Fig. 14) and a plurality of connectors (cables 14, Fig. 14); each set of estimated impedance of the plurality of sets of estimated impedances is associated with a PV module of the plurality PV modules or a connector of the plurality of connectors; (For all solar cell modules 11, junction boxes 15a, 15b, and 15c described in the third embodiment (hereinafter, junction boxes 15 when referred to collectively) and impedance measuring devises 16a, 16b, and 16c (hereinafter, impedance measuring devices 16 when referred to collectively) are installed. ) [par. 0096] and a power device (27, computer, Fig. 14, par. 0096) performs the method. Examiner’s position is the computer is powered and is broadly interpreted as a power device.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Medina et al. to include the teaching of teach the plurality of devices comprises a series string of a plurality photovoltaic (PV) modules and a plurality of connectors; each set of estimated impedance of the plurality of sets of estimated impedances is associated with a PV module of the plurality PV modules or a connector of the plurality of connectors; and a power device performs the method to quantitatively detect the degree of degradation of a sealing material in addition to degradation of solar cells and resistance failure of electrodes and wiring portions of the module. (Note Tsuda et al. par. 0009)
Claims 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Medina Barcia et al. (US 20200103445, hereafter Medina et al.) in view of Yoscovich et al.(US 20170207746) in view of Takehara et al. (US 20100198424)
Medina et al. teach the instant invention except the following limitations.
Regarding claim 15 Medina et al. does not teach comparing the first set of estimated impedances of the plurality of sets of estimated impedances with the second set of estimated impedances of the plurality of sets of estimated impedances, wherein the outputting the control signal is further based on the comparing.
Takehara et al. teach comparing the first set of estimated impedances of the plurality of sets of estimated impedances with the second set of estimated impedances of the plurality of sets of estimated impedances, (Note par. 0035 For example, in some variations of the method, load impedances are measured at different times and an amount of change in load impedance is determined. ) wherein the outputting the control signal is further based on the comparing (Then, in step 312, the measured amount of change is evaluated to determine if the configuration of the PV array should be changed. If the amount of change in a parameter correlates more closely with a new PV array configuration than with the current PV array configuration, then in step 314, connections between the intelligent nodes are reconfigured according to the new PV array configuration related to the changed parameter values from step 312.) Examiner’s position is that the reconfiguring is initiated by a control signal.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Medina et al. to include the teaching of comparing the first set of estimated impedances of the plurality of sets of estimated impedances with the second set of estimated impedances of the plurality of sets of estimated impedances, wherein the outputting the control signal is further based on the comparing to initiate reconfiguring to a new configuration. (Note Takehara et al. par. 0035.)
Regarding claim 16, Medina et al. does not teach wherein the comparing comprises determining a difference between the first set of estimated impedances of the plurality of sets of estimated impedances and the second set of estimated impedances of the plurality of sets of estimated impedances.
Takehara et al. teach wherein the comparing comprises determining a difference between the first set of estimated impedances of the plurality of sets of estimated impedances and the second set of estimated impedances of the plurality of sets of estimated impedances. (For example, in some variations of the method, load impedances are measured at different times and an amount of change in load impedance is determined.) [par. 0035] Examiner’s position is that the change in impedance is interpreted as determining a difference.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Medina et al. to include the teaching of teach wherein the comparing comprises determining a difference between the first set of estimated impedances of the plurality of sets of estimated impedances and the second set of estimated impedances of the plurality of sets of estimated impedances to initiate reconfiguring to a new configuration. (Note Takehara et al. par. 0035.)
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Medina Barcia et al. (US 20200103445, hereafter Medina et al.) in view of Yoscovich et al.(US 20170207746) in view of Takehara et al. (US 20100198424) further in view of Serra et al. (CN 102918571 A).
Medina et al. teach the instant invention except the following claim limitations.
Regarding claim 17, Medina et al. does not teach subtracting a first value associated with the first set of estimated impedances of the plurality of sets of estimated impedances from a second value associated with the second set of estimated impedances of the plurality of sets of estimated impedances.
Serra et al. teach subtracting a first value associated with the first set of estimated impedances of the plurality of sets of estimated impedances from a second value associated with the second set of estimated impedances of the plurality of sets of estimated impedances. ( At step 267, the sensed impedance may be compared to previously stored impedance values stored in the memory of the microprocessor 21 (step 269). The comparison may be a subtraction of the impedance sensed in step 267 from a previously stored impedance value stored in a memory of the microprocessor 21 to produce a difference value. At decision block 271, the difference may then be above or below a certain threshold, in which case an alarm is raised regarding theft (step 273 ), otherwise the detector signal continues to be transmitted at step 265 .) (Note par. 105)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Medina et al. to include the teaching of subtracting a first value associated with the first set of estimated impedances of the plurality of sets of estimated impedances from a second value associated with the second set of estimated impedances of the plurality of sets of estimated impedances to judge whether an alarm should be initiated. (Note Serra et al. par. 105)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-13 and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 8, collecting a set of system parameters associated with the plurality of devices, the set of system parameters comprising at least one of: voltage, current, or power; and grouping, based on ranges of the set of system parameters, at least a first set of estimated impedances and the second set of estimated impedances into at least two different groups of a plurality of groups.
Regarding claim 11, each device of the plurality of devices comprises a power device and at least one connector through which each device is connected in series with another device of the plurality of devices;
each set of estimated impedance of the first set of estimated impedances and the second set of estimated impedances is associated with a power device of a device of the plurality of devices or a connector of a device of the plurality of devices;
the applying, the receiving, the determining the first set of estimated impedances, the determining the second set of estimated impedances, the detecting the arc condition and the outputting are performed by a system power device.
Regarding claim 12, each power device, of each device of the plurality of devices, is connected to a respective photovoltaic (PV) module of a plurality of PV modules, each power device, of each device of the plurality of devices, comprises input terminals and output terminals, a first output terminal of the output terminals of the power device is coupled to a second output terminal of output terminals of another power device of another device of the plurality of devices, and the input terminals of the power device are coupled to the respective PV module of the plurality of PV modules.
Regarding claim 18, determining a plurality of adjusted sets of estimated impedances by: discarding a set of estimated impedances from the first set of estimated impedances and the second set of estimated impedances, wherein the outputting the control signal is based on the plurality of adjusted sets.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DEMETRIUS R PRETLOW/Examiner, Art Unit 2858
/LEE E RODAK/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858